Skip to main content

Full text of "A topographical history of Surrey"

See other formats


V 



I . 




r&lexa nbcr JD t.yo n . 



HE 



A TOPOGRAPHICAL 




t'gtorg o£ gsutvtg: 



^ 



BY 



EDWr WEDLAKE BRAYLEY, F.S.A., &c. 

t • * 
LISTED BY JOHN BRITTON, F.S.A., &C, and E. W. BRAYLEY, J t'X., I .L.S. 

and F.G.S. 



2TJ)c ffieologtcal Section, 



BY 



GIDEON MANTELL, LL.D., F.R.S. &c, 

dTfjc Jllustratiue department 

UNDER THE SUPERINTENDENCE OF THOMAS ALLOM, M, LB. A. 

VOLUME IV. 







LONDON: 

WILLIS, GREAT PIAZZA. COVENT GARDEN, 

42, CHARING CROSS, 

KAY in; ll \i> also of TIIK phi \cl r\i. BOOK8ELL1 R8 IK THE COl NT! >i Bl BBS1 



MDCCCL. 



rv 






T 



I 



1 




TO 
THE MOST NOBLE 

HENRY CHARLES HOWARD, 

DUKE OF NORFOLK, EARL-MARSHAL AND HEREDITARY MARSHAL OF ENGLAND 
EARL OF ARUNDEL, SURREY, AND NORFOLK ; BARON FITZ-ALAN, CLUN, 
AND OSWALDESTRE ; MASTER OF THE HORSE, AND ONE OF HER 
majesty's MOST HONOURABLE PRIVY COUNCIL, 

®&te Volume of tt»c ncto f£?tetors of Sucres, 



IN WHICH COUNTY HIS GRACE'S ANCESTORS HAVE HELD ESTATES DURING MANY 

CENTURIES, IS, WITH THE KIND PERMISSION OF HIS GRACE, 

OBEDIENTLY INSCRIBED BY THE 

AUTHOR, 

EDWARD WEDLAKE BRAYLEY. 



A NEW 



TOPOGRAPHICAL HISTORY OF SURREY. 



HUNDRED OF WALLINGTON, OR CROYDON. 

PARISHES IN THE FIRST DIVISION : 

ADDINGTON. — CHALDON. — COULSDON. — CROYDON. — SANDERSTEAD. — 

WOODMANSTON. 

SECOND DIVISION : 

BEDDINGTON, WITH WALLINGTON HAMLET. — CARSHALTON. — CHEAM. — 

MITCHAM. MORDON. SUTTON. 

allington Hundred, some- 
times called the Hundred of 
Croydon, from its principal 
town, is styled in the Domes- 
day book Waleton, and now 
((£ Wallington, from a place in 
the parish of Beddington, sup- 
posed to have been a Roman 
settlement. This division of 
the county is bounded on the 
north by the hundred of Brix- 

f^'^ii ton ' on tne east ' ky tne county 
i£3^P of Kent ; on the south, by the 

hundreds of Tandridge and Reigate ; and on the west, by Copthorne 
and Kingston. 

In the 20th of Richard the Second, the Prior of Bermondsey 
obtained a grant, under letters patent, of the right of return and 
execution of the king's writs in this hundred, as well as in that of 
Brixton ; and the privilege was confirmed in the 23rd of Henry the 
Sixth. — When a commission of Array was issued in 1545 (the 36th of 
Henry the Eighth,) "for the preparacion and furnyshyng of 400 able 
men, with their Capitaynes," in the county of Surrey, for the king's 
service, in the wars with France and Scotland, the quota required from 
the hundred of Wallington consisted of four archers and twenty bill- 
men. 

VOL. IV. B 







2 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

An act of parliament, to facilitate the recovery of small debts in 
certain parts of Kent, which was passed in 1765, was in the following 
year extended to the hundred of Wallington ; and it was subsequently 
amended by enactments in 1770, and 1807. 

CROYDON. 

This parish is bounded on the north by Lambeth and Streatham ; 
on the east, by the hamlet of Penge, the parishes of Beckenham and 
West Wickham, in Kent, and that of Addington in Surrey; on the 
south, by Addington, Sanderstead, and Coulsdon ; and on the west, 
by Beddington and Mitcham. It is very extensive, being about 
thirty-six miles in circumference ; and the soil, as might be expected, 
varies greatly in different parts of it, consisting of chalk, gravel, sand, 
clay, and peat. Lysons mentions a large chalk-pit, about a mile from 
the town, near the road to Addington, which afforded a great variety 
of extraneous fossils. The river Wandle rises in the lower part of the 
town, near the church. 

This is a place of great antiquity, and about a mile in length. 1 That 
part now called High-street was formerly only a bridle-road through 
fields. The old or lower town, called Old Croydon, was situated 
farther from London, towards Beddington ; and there were ruins of it 
remaining in 1783. Gale, in his Commentary on the Itinerary of 
Antoninus, says, that a Roman road passed through Old Croydon, 
from Woodcote to Streatham ; and the first-mentioned place has been 
supposed by some antiquaries to be the site of the station called 
Noviomagus. Both Camden and Gale notice a tradition that there 
was anciently a royal palace, westward of the town, next Haling. 2 

Croydon is seldom mentioned in history, and the events relating to 

1 Respecting the etymology of its name, we have no positive information. Its ancient 
orthography is various. Camden, from the Saxon, writes Cradidon ; others have it, 
Croindene, Crondon, Croiden, &c. Within our own recollection, though written Croydon, 
it was usually, especially by the common people, pronounced Craydon. As there is no 
chalk in Surrey before we reach Croydon, from the metropolis, the name is thought, by 
some, to be derived from the old Norman or French word, Craye, or Craie, chalk ; and 
the word Dun, a hill ; indicating a town near the chalk hill. Others, though less 
satisfactorily, derive the name from Crone, sheep, and Dene, a valley. 

2 In the reign of Queen Elizabeth, "the streets were deep hollow ways, and very dirty; 
the houses generally with wooden steps into them, — and the inhabitants in general were 
smiths and colliers ;" that is, charcoal burners, a calling for which they have been 
celebrated by several of our early poets. 

In the ancient tragedy of Locrine, occurs the well-known distich, — 

" The Colliers of Croydon, 
The Rustics of Roydon ;" 

and there is a comedy, written in 1662, intituled "Grim, the Collier of Croydon, or the 
Devil and his Dame," &c. — Those who are here called Colliers would, in our time, be 



COLLIERS, OR CHARCOAL-BURNERS. 3 

it are of little importance. In May, 1264, a body of troops who had 
fought under the Earl of Leicester, consisting of Londoners, returning 
home after the battle of Lewes, and having taken up their quarters at 
Croydon, were attacked by the disbanded royalists who had formed 
the garrison of Tunbridge castle, when many of them were killed, and 
the assailants are said to have obtained a great booty. 3 

In December, 1286, " William Warren, son and heir of John 
Warren Earle of Surrey, in a turneament at Croyden, was by the 
challenger intercepted, and cruelly slaine." 4 

In the month of September, 1550, Grig, a poulterer of Surrey, 
regarded among the people for a prophet, in curing divers diseases by 
words and prayers, and saying he would take no money, was by com- 
mandment of the Earl of Warwick and others of the king's council, 
set on a scaffold in the town of Croydon, with a paper on his breast, 

called Charcoal-burners, for that was evidently their trade ; as may he evinced by the 
following extracts from a very scarce satirical and descriptive poem, written by P. Hannay, 
gent., and published about the time of the restoration of Charles the Second: — 

'* In midst of these stands Croydon, cloth'd in blacke, 

In a low bottome sink of all these hills ; 
And is receipt of all the durtie wracke, 

Which from their tops still in abundance trills ; 

The unpav'd lanes with muddie mire it fills : 
If one shower falls, or if that blessing stay, 
You well may scent, but never see your way. 

And those that there inhabit, suiting well 
With such a place, doe either Nigros seeme, 

Or harbingers for Pluto, prince of Hell ; 

Or his fire-beaters one might rightly deeme : 
Their sight would make a soul of hell to dreame ; 

Besmear'd with sut, and breathing pitchie smoake, 

Which, save themselves, a living wight would choke. 

These, with the Demi-gods still disagreeing, 
(As vice with virtue ever is at jarre,) 

With all who in the pleasant woods have being, 
Doe undertake an everlasting warre, 
Cut down their groves, and often doe them skarre ; 

And in a close pent fire their arbours burne, 

While— as the Muses can do nought but mourne.— 

To all proud Dames, I wish no greater hell, 
Whoe doe disdaine of chastly profered love. 

Than to that place confin'd there ever dwell ; 

That place their pride's dear price might justly prove : 
For if (which God forbid) my dear should move 

Me not come nie her, — for to passe my troth, — 

Place her but there, and I shall keep mine oath." 

3 Matt. Paris, Hist. Angl. Contin. p. 964. 4 Stow, Ciiron. p. 311. 

B2 



4 HISTORY OF SURREY. WELLINGTON HUNDRED. 

wherein was written his deceitful and hypocritical dealings. He was 
afterwards put in the pillory at Southwark, during the Lady-day fair.* 

Stow says that, on the 25th of May, 1551, about noon, an earth- 
quake was felt at Croydon and several neighbouring places. Fuller, 
in his Church History of Britain, after mentioning the Black Assizes 
at Oxford, in 1577, adds, — "The like chanced some four years since 
(1652?) at Croydon in Surrey, where a great depopulation happened 
at the assizes of persons of quality, and the two judges, Baron 
Yates, and Baron Rigby, died a few days after. Mr. Lysons remarks, 
that it does not appear by the Register, there was any great mortality 
at Croydon about that time. 6 The plague visited this town in 1603; 
and between July the 20th that year, and April the 16th, 1604, one 
hundred and fifty-eight persons died of it; and the disease proved 
fatal to many people here in 1625, 1626, 1631, 1665, and 1666. 

The parish Registers record a monstrous birth, from the body of 
Rose Eastman, wife of John Eastman, being a child with two heads, 
four arms, four legs, one body, one navel, and distinction of two male 
children, born the 27th of January, 1721-2. 

On the 12th of May, 1728, so violent a storm of hail and rain, with 
thunder and lightning, fell at Croydon, as to strike the hail-stones, 
which were from eight to ten inches round, some inches into the 
earth. The cattle were forced into the ditches and drowned, windows 
were shattered, and great damage done. Great damage in and near 
Croydon was, also, done by a storm of thunder and lightning in 1744. 7 

This parish contains the hamlets of Addiscombe, Croham, Coombe, 
Haling, Shirley, Woodside, Waddon, Thornton-Heath, Broad-Green, 
Barrack-Town; the manors of Waddon, Bencham, or Whitehorse, Nor- 
bury, Haling, and Croham, and a part of that of Norwood. Within the 
parish and manor of Croydon are seven boroughs, namely ; Coombe, 
Selsdon, Bencham or Bunchesham, Addiscombe, Woodside, Shirley, 
and Croham ; and for each of these a constable is appointed annually, 
at the court-leet for the manor of Croydon held in Easter week, when 
a head constable, two petty constables, and two headboroughs,*are 
nominated for the last-mentioned of these places. 

Manor of Croydon. — The manor of Croydon is thus described 
in the Domesday book, among the lands of the archbishop of Canter- 
bury: — "In the hundred of Waleton (Wallington) Archbishop Lan- 
franc holds Croindene in demesne. In the time of King Edward, it 
was assessed at 80 hides : now at 16 hides, and 1 virgate. The arable 
land amounts to 20 carucates. There are in the demesne 4 carucates ; 
and forty eight villains, and twenty five bordars, with 34 carucates. 

1 Stow, p. 1020. 6 Lysons, Environs, p. 172. 7 Steinraan, Croydon, pp. 28, 29. 



MANOR OF CROYDON. ARCHIEPISCOPAL PALACE. 5 

There is a church; and one mill, at 5 shillings; and 8 acres of 
meadow. The wood yields two hundred swine. Of the land bclono-- 
ing to this manor, Restold holds of the Archbishop 7 hides; and 
Ralph 1 hide; and thence they have 7 pounds, 8 shillings rent. 
The whole manor, in the time of King Edward, was valued at 12 
pounds: now at 27 pounds to the Archbishop; and 10 pounds, 10 
shillings, to his men." 

This manor is said to have been given by William the Conqueror 
to Archbishop Lanfranc, who is supposed to have founded the archi- 
episcopal palace ; though Robert Kilwardby is the first prelate who is 
certainly known to have resided at Croydon. He resigned the metro- 
politan dignity on being made a cardinal, in 1278, and went to Rome, 
leaving the castles and mansions belonging to the See in such a 
dilapidated state that Archbishop Peckham, his successor, found it 
necessary to expend three thousand marks in repairs; though it is 
uncertain what part of this sum may have been laid out at Croydon. 
The manor continued to belong to the see of Canterbury until the 
suppression of episcopal government in the church, in the seventeenth 
century, when the revenues of the archbishopric were seized by the 
parliament. The annual value of the manor, palace, and land, was 
then estimated at 274Z. 19s. 9^d., exclusive of the timber. 

Archiepiscopal Palace — There is no evidence that any arch- 
bishop of Canterbury resided at Croydon before Kilwardby above 
mentioned ; but it may be concluded that he had a palace or mansion 
here; as he dated from this place, September 4th, 1273, a mandate 
for holding a convocation at the New Temple, in London. 8 Several 
succeeding prelates, in the same and the following century, were 
occasionally resident here ; and among them, Archbishop Courtney, 
who is recorded to have received the pall, with great solemnity, in the 
principal chamber, or great hall, (in camera jjrincipali) of his manor of 
Croydon, May the 14th, 1382. 9 Thomas Arundel, the next arch- 
bishop, probably built a room, called the guard-chamber, as his arms 
were displayed in the interior. Cardinal Stafford, who obtained the 
see in 1443, resided during his primacy chiefly at Croydon and 
Lambeth : he either rebuilt or repaired the great hall. Archbishop 
Cranmer, also, appears to have repaired the palace. While this pre- 
late presided over the diocese of Canterbury, Croydon became the 
scene of the trial or judicial examination of John Frith, 10 accused of 

8 Wilkins : Concilia, vol. ii. p. 26. 9 Recist. Courtnei. f. 9, a. 

10 See Fox's Acts and Monuments, vol. iii. p. 192 : Stow, Chronicle, p. 962. This 
was by no means the only occasion on which Cranmer acted as the subservient instrument 
of a lawless tyrant. Bishop Burnet, one of the chief Protestant writers who have 
laboured to place his character in a favourable point of view, has erroneously stated that 



HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

heresy before Cromwell, Cranmer, and others, for maintaining certain 
doctrines, which the archbishop himself, secretly, and afterwards 
openly, professed. Frith, refusing to recant, was burnt in Smithfield, 
on the 22nd of July, 1534. 

Archbishop Parker entertained Queen Elizabeth at his palace of 
Croydon, for seven days, in July, 1573; and there is reason to believe 
that she visited the palace again in the ensuing year. In April, 1587, 
Sir Christopher Hatton was appointed Lord-chancellor, through the 
recommendation of Archbishop Whitgift, and the great seal was de- 
livered to him in the gallery of the palace at Croydon. 

During the Interregnum, the palace and lands were let, for forty 
pounds a year, to Charles, earl of Nottingham, who held on lease the 
manor of Haling; and on the 17th of March, 1646, a survey of the 
premises was made, preparatory to an intended sale, which however 
did not take place ; for the commissioners of the parliament granted 
the estate to Sir William Brereton, bart., who had been a general 
officer during the civil war, and was one of the council of state 
appointed under the Protectorate, in 1652." 

After the restoration, Archbishop Juxon repaired and restored the 

palace ; and several of his successors expended considerable sums on 

the building, especially Archbishop Herring, by whom it is stated to 

have been vastly improved and adorned. This prelate appears to 

have been the last who resided at Croydon; and the palace, after 

having been deserted more than twenty years, becoming greatly 

dilapidated, in 1780 an act of parliament was obtained, by which the 

premises were vested in trustees for sale ; and in the preamble to that 

enactment it is alleged, that the palace was in a low, unwholesome 

he retired to Croydon when the Bill of Attainder against the Duke of Norfolk passed in 
parliament ; and Hume, heedlessly following Burnet, says — " Cranmer, though engaged 
for many years in an opposite party to Norfolk, and though he had received many and 
great injuries from him, would have no hand in so unjust a prosecution ; and he retired 
to his seat in Croydon." But a recent historian more correctly asserts that Cranmer, after 
being present in the House of Lords on the three several days on which the iniquitous 
bill against the Duke was read, [as well as on the day it received the royal assent by 
commission, viz. January 27th, 38 Henry VIII.], had retreated for quiet to Croydon ; 
where he was when he received a summons to attend his royal master in his last 
agonies. — See Lingard's England, vol. iv. p. 354 ; and Pictorial History of England, 
vol. ii. p. 451. 

11 This gentleman was rewarded by the Parliament, for his services, with the sequestra- 
tion of Cashiobury and other lands of Lord Capel, the chief forestership of Macclesfield, 
and the stewardship of that hundred, besides the sequestrations of the lands and tene- 
ments pertaining to the see of Canterbury at Croydon. He died April 7th, 1661. His 
having turned the chapel at Croydon into a kitchen while he held the palace, induced a 
contemporary pamphleteer to remark, that he was " a notable man at a thanksgiving 
dinner, having terrible long teeth, and a prodigious stomach, to turn the archbishop's 
chapel into a kitchen, and to swallow up that palace and lauds at a morsel." — Lysons, 
Environs, vol. i. p. 175. 



MANORS SUBORDINATE TO CROYDON. / 

situation, and so incommodious as to be unfit for the residence of the 
archbishops ; and that certain funds existed which might be appro- 
priated to the erection or purchase of a more suitable mansion. The 
fee-simple of the capital messuage, with the appurtenances and lands 
belonging to it, was consequently sold, by auction, October 10th, 1780, 
to Abraham Pitches, esq. (afterwards knighted,) for the sum of 2520/.; 
and the mansion and estate of Addington Park were bought in lieu of 
it. The palace was then turned into an establishment for printing 
linens ; and the garden was made a bleaching ground ; but the demesne 
having been subsequently resold, in lots, the buildings were converted 
into separate dwellings. 12 

Croydon Park, or Park-hill. — This estate was held by the arch- 
bishops of Canterbury till the time of Henry the Eighth; when 
Cranmer surrendered it to the king in exchange for other lands ; but 
it was restored to the same prelate, by a grant of Edward the Sixth, 
in the beginning of his reign. The office of keeper of Croydon park 
was granted, for life or terms of years, to various individuals, at 
different periods ; and among them was William Walworth, mayor of 
London, whose spirited conduct contributed greatly to the extinction 
of the rebellion under Wat Tyler, in the reign of Richard the Second. 
Walworth was appointed to the keepership by Archbishop Courtney, 
in 1 382. The mansion here was the property and residence of Robert 
Boxall, esq., who died in 1807; and in 1818 it belonged to P. F. 
Barraud, esq. 13 

Manor of Waddon, — This manor, anciently styled Woddens, is 
situated on the road to Beddington, about half a mile from the town 
of Croydon. It formerly belonged to the crown; and in 1127, it was 
given by Henry the First to the monastery of Bermondsey. In 1391, 
Archbishop Courtney obtained this estate in exchange for the appro- 
priation of the church of Croydon ; and it has ever since (except 
during the Interregnum,) pertained to the metropolitan see. In the 
time of Archbishop Parker it was valued at 227. 6s. 8d. 

Manor of Bunchesham. — This manor lies north of the town, to- 
wards Norwood. 14 Peter Chaceport had a grant of free-warren here 

12 Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 537. 

13 Garrow, History of Croydon, p. 33. 

14 The hamlet of Norwood, one of the most delightful villages in the vicinity of the 
metropolis, lies partly in the parish of Croydon, and partly in Lambeth, Streatham, and 
Camberwell. It will be described in our account of the Hundred of Rrixton. In a 
survey, dated 1646, it is mentioned as containing "830 acres, in which the inhabitants of 
Croydon have herbage for all manner of cattle, and mastage for swine without stint." At 
no very remote period, the whole of this waste appears to have been covered with wood. 
Aubrey mentions a large and remarkable tree, called Vicar's Oak, at which the four 
parishes of Battersea, Camberwell, Streatham, and Croydon, meet in a point. Connected 



8 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALL1NGTON HUNDRED. 

in the 37th of Henry the Third ; and in 1299, 27th Edward the First, 
a similar grant was obtained by Richard de Gravesend, bishop of 
London. In 1338 Stephen de Gravesend, also bishop of London, 
died seised of this manor, which he had held of the archbishop of 
Canterbury, as of his manor of Croydon, for his life, at a rent of 21s. 
a year, and suit of court. It then comprised a messuage, two hundred 
acres of arable land, eight acres of meadow, and twenty acres of 
pasture, with underwood ; besides rents of assise, and pleas and per- 
quisites of courts. After repeated transfers to different persons, the 
manor, in the 41st of Edward the Third, was held by Walter White- 
horse, the king's shield-bearer ; and from him, apparently, it has since 
been called the Manor of Whitehorse. 

At length, this estate became the property of Sir Robert Morton, 
knt., nephew of Cardinal Morton, archbishop of Canterbury, who 
died seised of it in the 6th of Henry the Eighth. William Morton, 
esq., a relative of this gentleman, held it in 1566 ; and Thomas 
Morton, the grandson of William, died in 1678, leaving five daughters 
his coheirs. Four of the shares of these ladies were purchased by 
John Barrett, esq. in 1712; and his grandson, to whom the property 
descended, bought the fifth share in 1787 ; shortly after which, he 
disposed of the whole to John Cator, esq., of Beckenham in Kent. 
It belonged, in 1809, to John Cator, esq., nephew of the preceding; 
and he sold it to John Davidson Smith, esq. 

Manor of Croham. — This manor, likewise named Cronham, and 

Cranham, consists of a messuage and farm comprising about four 

hundred acres of arable and wood land ; and it extends over Crome- 

hurst for about a mile from the town towards the south-east. It forms 

a part of the endowment of the Hospital founded at Croydon by 

Archbishop Whitgift. In 1368 it was alienated by a person named 

Chireton to Walter Whitehorse, above mentioned ; but it appears to 

have reverted to the family of Chireton. It belonged to the crown 

in the beginning of the reign of Henry the Fourth, who gave the 

custody of the manor to William Oliver. Dame Anne Peche held it 

with the history of the " sacred tree," this note affords the opportunity of epitomizing, 
from the same author, some remarkable instances of superstitious belief, evidently 
traceable to the Druids. Norwood is said to have consisted wholly of oaks, " and among 
them was one that bore mistletoe, which some persons were so hardy as to cut, for the gain 
of selling it to the apothecaries of London, leaving a branch of it to sprout out. But 
they proved unfortunate after it ; for one of them fell lame, and the other lost an eye. 
At length, in the year 1678, a certain man, notwithstanding he was warned against it 
upon the account of what the others had suffered, adventured to cut the tree down, and 
he soon after brake his leg. To fell oaks hath long been counted fatal, and such as 
believe it produce the instance of the Earl of Winchelsea, who having felled a curious 
grove of oaks, soon after found his Countess dead in her bed suddenly, and his eldest son, 
the Lord Maidstone, was killed at sea by a cannon bullet." 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF HALING. 9 

in the time of Henry the Seventh; and under his successor, it be- 
longed to Sir John Danet, knt., in right of his wife, the daughter of 
Thomas Elynbrigge, esq. The manorial estate was afterwards held 
by Sir Olliph Leigh, of Addington ; by whom it was sold to Arch- 
bishop Whitgift. Courts are occasionally held for this manor, which 
extends into the adjoining parish of Sanderstead. 

Manor of Haling. — Haling House is situated at the southern ex- 
tremity of the town, in the midst of a pleasant park ; the plantations 
in which formed the subject of a poetical " Epistle from a Grove in 
Derbyshire to a Grove in Surrey"; with the answer, by William 
Whitehead, formerly poet-laureate. 15 

In the reign of Edward the Fourth, this manor belonged to Thomas 
Warham, who held it of the archbishop of Canterbury, at the rent of 
21s. \d. He died about 1478; and the lease is supposed to have 
passed to William Warham, archdeacon of Canterbury, and nephew 
of the primate of that name ; of whom Henry the Eighth obtained 
the estate in exchange for other lands. Queen Mary, in the early part 
of her reign, granted the manor, by letters patent, to Sir John Gage, 
K.G. ; who died seised of it in 1557, leaving four sons; of whom 
Robert, the third, held Haling. He died in 1587 ; and was succeeded 
in the possession of this property by his son, John Gage, who was the 
father of Sir Henry Gage, knt., colonel in the army, and governor of 
Oxford, in the service of Charles the First, and who lost his life in a 
skirmish at Culhambridge, near Abingdon, January the 7th, 1644. 
Robert Gage, the uncle of Sir Henry, was executed as an accomplice 
in the conspiracy of Babington and others against Queen Elizabeth, 
in September, 1586; and his brother, John Gage of Haling, incurred 
imprisonment and forfeiture of his lands and tenements, for harbouring 
G. Beesley, a missionary priest. The manor of Haling thus becoming 
vested in the crown, was granted on lease, under letters patent of the 
34th of Elizabeth, to Charles Howard, earl of Nottingham ; who died 
at this place, December the 14th, 1624. Notwithstanding the pro- 
ceedings against Mr. Gage, and the consequent forfeiture of his 

15 The following lines may serve as a specimen of the versification : — 
" I envy not, I swear and vow, 
The temples or the shades of Stow ; 
Nor Java's groves, whose arms display 
Their blossoms to the rising day ; 
Nor Chili's woods, whose fruitage gleams, 
Ruddy beneath his setting beams ; 
Nor Teneriffa's forests shaggy, 
Nor China's varying Sharawaggi : 
Nor all that has been sung or said 
Of Pindus, or of Windsor's shade." 

VOL. IV. C 



10 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

estates, they were probably restored ; for his son, Sir Henry, having 
voluntarily demised the reversion of Haling house to his father, the 
latter, in the 2nd of Charles the First, alienated it to Christopher 
Gardiner, esq. ; to whose family it belonged until 1707 ; when it was 
conveyed to Edward Stringer, esq. That gentleman, having no issue, 
left it to his widow; and from her, it descended to her grandson, (by 
a second husband), William Parker Hammond, esq. ; whose son and 
heir, of the same name, held the estate in 1833. 18 More recently, it 
was in the occupation of James Penlees, esq. ; and it is now in the 
possession of Ralph Fenwick, esq. 

Manor of Norbury. — This manor, also called Northborough, is 
situated on the western side of the road to London, extending over a 
part of Thornton heath. Nicholas Carew, of Beddington, keeper of 
the privy-seal, in the 48th of Edward the Third, obtained a grant of 
free-warren for all his lands in Croydon ; and died August 17th, 1391, 
seised, inter alia, of the manor of Norbury. It remained in the 
possession of the Carews until the attainder and execution of Sir 
Nicholas Carew, in 1539 ; 17 and Henry the Eighth afterwards annexed 
it to the Honour of Hampton-court. Edward the Sixth, in 1547, 
granted this manor, together with Pyrle mead in Croydon, to the 
archbishop of Canterbury, in exchange for other landed property ; 
but Queen Mary, in the second year of her reign, restored to Sir 
Francis Carew the forfeited estates of his father ; and from this gentle- 
man Norbury, with Beddington, &c, descended to the late Admiral 
Sir Benjamin Hallowell Carew, G.C.B. ; whose son, Capt. Chas. H. 
Carew, R.N., is the present owner. 13 Norbury is now the residence 

of Arthur Kett Barclay, esq. 

The manors, or reputed manors, of Ham, Palmers, and Selhurst, are 

now incorporated with the principal manor of Croydon, belonging to 

the archbishop of Canterbury. 

The manor, or estate called Ham, situated on the eastern side of 
the parish, towards Beckenham, was granted by Queen Mary to 
Anthony Browne, Viscount Montague; and in 1809, it belonged to 
Lord Gwydir, who inherited it from his grandfather, Peter Burrell, 
esq., of Beckenham.' 9 

Addiscombe. — This place, formerly called Adgcomb, and Adscomb, 

is about one mile and a half from the town of Croydon, on the road 

to Wickham. In the reign of Henry the Eighth, this estate belonged 

to Thomas Heron, esq.; who died in 1518, leaving two sons, who 

held it in succession ; and Sir Nicholas Heron, the younger, died in 

16 Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 542, 543. Steinman, Hist, of Croydon, pp. 38 — 45. 
" See Account of Beddiugton. 

18 Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 541. Steinman, pp. 36—38. 

19 Manning, u. a. p. 544. 



DESCENT OF THE ADDISCOMBE ESTATE. 11 

1568, and was interred in Heron's chapel, in die parish church. 
Addiscombe afterwards became the residence of Sir John Tunstal, 
gentleman-usher and esquire of the body to Anne of Denmark, con- 
sort of James the First; and his eldest son, Henry, who dwelt here, was 
in 1647 appointed one of the Committee of Inquiry concerning the 
conduct of the clergy in Surrey. Sir Purbcck Temple, knt., a mem- 
ber of the Privy-council of Charles the Second, held this estate ; and 
dying without issue, in 1695, it came into the possession of his widow, 
who died in February, 1700; having left Addiscombe to her nephew, 
William Draper, esq., a son-in-law of the celebrated John Evelyn. 20 
Mr. Draper rebuilt the mansion, which was begun in June, 1702 ; the 
masonry consisting of brick-work, cased with Portland stone. Sir 
John Vanbrugh is said to have been the architect ; and the walls and 
ceilings of the staircase and saloon were ornamented by the pencil of 
Sir James Thornhill. In the course of the eighteenth century, Addis- 
combe House was successively occupied by the Lord-Chancellor 
Talbot, who died here in 1737 ; — Lord Grantham, who died in 1786; 
— and Charles Jenkinson, first earl of Liverpool, who had a lease of 
the estate for life, and died in 1808. 

The Addiscombe estate had previously become the property of 
Charles Clarke, esq., through an heiress of the Draper family ; and 
his grandson, Charles John Clarke, lost his life, in consequence of the 
fall of a scaffold, at some public exhibition at Paris, whither he had 
gone after the peace of Amiens. He was married, but leaving no 
issue, his estates devolved on his sister, Anne Millicent Clarke, the 
wife of Emilius Henry Delme, who assumed the name of Radcliffe. 
This gentleman was master of the stud to King George the Fourth, 
and his successor. In 1809, Mr. Radcliffe sold Addiscombe to the 
East India Company, who founded there a Military College for the 
education of cadets for the engineers and artillery ; and in 1825, the 
plan of the institution was extended, so as to furnish instruction for 
candidates for the infantry service in general. On the front of the 
mansion is the following inscription: — " Non faciam vitio culpave 
minorem" The premises have been considerably improved by the 
addition of several detached buildings since the establishment of the 
military college. 

Many of the walks and rides in the environs of Croydon are very 
beautiful. Amongst the seats may be mentioned the following. — 

Coombe House, a noble mansion, which was sold by Mr. James 
Matthias, in 1761, to James Bourdieu, esq. ; in whose family it still 
remains. 

20 See Evelyn's Diary : and Steinman's Croydon, pp. 50, 51. 

C 2 



12 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Shirley House, about a mile and a half to the eastward of Croy- 
don, was built by John Claxton, esq., in the year 1720, on an 
elevated site. It has a fine lawn, and a piece of water in front. 
Some years ago, it came into the possession of John Maberley, esq. ; 
and by the assignees of that gentlemen it was afterwards sold to 
S. Skinner, esq. Two or three years since, Mr. Skinner disposed of 
the estate to the Earl of Eldon; and it is now (1843) in the occupa- 
tion of Martin Smith, esq., banker, of London. 

The Rectory and Manor of the Rectory of Croydon. — This 
rectory belonged to the archbishops of Canterbury till 1391, when, 
under the authority of a Bull of Pope Boniface the Ninth, dated 
the 27th of September that year, it was appropriated to the monastery 
of Bermondsey, in exchange for the manor of Waddon ; but the 
patronage of the living remained with the archbishop. On the 
dissolution of the convent, in 1538, this manor became vested in the 
crown; and in 1550, Edward the Sixth granted the rectory, with 
other estates in Surrey, to Thomas Walsingham, esq., of Chiselhurst, 
and Robert Moyse, esq., of Banstead. 

In 1727 this estate belonged to James Walsingham, esq.; who, 
by will dated August 16th that year, gave it to his sister, Lady 
Osborne; at whose death, in 1733, it was divided between the coheirs 
of Mr. Walsingham, of whom that lady was one ; and she left her 
portion of the property to Henry Boyle, esq., who took the name of 
Walsingham. He conveyed it, in 1770, to Anthony Joseph, Viscount 
Montague, descended from Barbara, a second sister of James Walsing- 
ham ; and his lordship, having purchased the remainder of the rectorial 
estate, died seised of it in 1787, and was succeeded by his son, George 
Samuel, Viscount Montague ; whose trustees sold part of the tithes to 
Lord Gwydir, and other landowners. This young nobleman was 
drowned during his travels in Switzerland, in October, 1793, in an 
attempt to pass in a boat down the fall of the Rhine, at Schaffhausen. 
He had conveyed this manor, and the remainder of the tithes, to 
Robert Harris, esq., who died in 1807 ; and the trustees under his 
will transferred the estate, by sale, to Alexander Caldecleugh, or 
Coldcleugh, esq., to whom it still belongs. 

In the Taxation of Pope Nicholas, the Rectory of Croydon is 
valued at sixty marks, and the Vicarage at fifteen marks ; and in the 
King's books, the vicarage, discharged of the payment of First Fruits, 
is rated at 21Z. 18s. 10c?. 

There were anciently two Chantries in the parish church. One of 
these, dedicated to St. Mary, was founded in the fourteenth century, 
by Reginald, Lord Cobham, of Sterborough Castle ; and it was valued 



DESCRIPTION OF ST. JOHN'S CHURCH, CROYDON. 13 

in the 26th of Henry the Eighth, at 13/. 8s. ]d. The other chantry, 
dedicated to St. Nicholas, was founded for the repose of the souls of 
John Stafford, bishop of Bath and Wells, (which see he vacated in 
1443, on being translated to that of Canterbury,) and William Oliver, 
vicar of Croydon. It was valued at 8/. 10s. A.d. 

The Church. — There is known to have been a church at Croydon 
in the Saxon era ; as, in Lambard's " Perambulation of Kent" we find 
a copy of "the will of Byrhtric and /Elfwy, made anno 960," a wit- 
ness to which was "iElffie, the priest of Croydon." The present 
church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, and regarded as one of the 
finest examples of ecclesiastical architecture in the county, is supposed 
to have been commenced by Archbishop Courtney, who became 
primate in 1381, and died in 1396; but it does not appear to have 
been completed until the days of Archbishop Chicheley, who ex- 
pended on it large sums of money. 81 He was, observes Stow, ("Annals" 
p. 631,) "the new builder, or especial repairer of Croydon church, as 
appeareth by his arms graven on the walls, steeple, and porch." The 
arms (argent, a chevron, gules, between three cinquefoils of the last,) 
are yet to be seen, terminating on one side the spandril of the arch 
over the west or principal entrance. This noble edifice, situated at 
the bottom of the town, near the source of the Wandle, and adjoining 
the palace lands, is of stone and flint, and exceedingly well propor- 
tioned, in the pointed style. It consists of a nave, three aisles, and 
two chancels. At the west end is a handsome square tower, rising to 
the height of four stories. The tower is supported by strong but- 
tresses, and adorned at the summit by battlements, and crocketted 
pinnacles issuing from octagonal turrets. It contains a good ring of 
eight bells, cast in 1738, with chimes, which play a psalm tune every 
sixth hour. The first bell is thus inscribed : — 

" My voice I will raise, 

And sound to my subscribers' praise 

At proper times. — Thomas Lister made me, 1738." 

The entire length of the church, exclusively of the tower, is one 
hundred and thirty feet ; and the breadth, seventy-four feet. It con- 
tains 2,400 sittings. The nave is separated from the aisles by light 
clustered columns, with pointed arches, between which are grotesque 
heads and other ornaments. The pulpit, hexagonal in form, is of 
painted oak, slightly carved: the reading-desk is quite plain. An old 
marble font, at the west end of the south aisle, is said to be of the 
time of Archbishop Chicheley : its form is octagonal, with quatrcfoil 
panels on its sides, ornamented with roses and grotesque heads. In 

21 The most ancient inscription in the church is one on a brass-plate in the chancel, 
to the memory of " Egidius Seymor." It bears the date of 1390 — incorrectly printed, 
in Grtrrow's Croydon, 1380. 



14 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

the middle chancel are some ancient wooden stalls. — The Registers 
of this church are complete from the year 1538. 

Aubrey relates that, in the time of " the rebellion, one Blesse was 
hired, for half-a-crown per day, to break the painted glass windows, 
which were formerly fine." In front of the altar stands a brass eagle, 
with extended wings. The Organ, a very fine one, by Avery, was 
erected in the year 1794. 

Croydon church is unusually rich in monumental brasses and in- 
scriptions ; and, even on the exterior, and in the church-yard, are 
many interesting memorials for the dead. 22 The inscriptions, down to 
1782 inclusive, are preserved at length in Ducarel's History of Croy- 
don, and in the Bibliotheca Topographica Britannica ; those of more 
modern date are given in Steinman's History of Croydon. 

We shall indicate some of the more important monuments ; re- 
gretting want of space for their inscriptions. 

In the middle chancel, on a sarcophagus within an arched recess, 
the entablature of which is supported by Corinthian columns, lies the 
painted effigies of Archbishop Grindall, in his scarlet robes. Sur- 
mounting the entablature are three armorial shields : the centre shield 
bearing the arms of the see of Canterbury ; the dexter shield, those 
of the see of York ; and the sinister shield, those of the see of London. 
The archbishop died on the 6th of July, 1583, aged 83 years. 

In the south-east corner of St. Nicholas's chantry, is a splendid 

22 The following beautiful inscription in memory of Mr. William Burnet, who died 
in October, 1760, in his seventy-fifth year, was formerly in the church-yard ; but Stein- 
man (Hist, of Croydon, p. 210 : 1833), states it to be now lost. — 

" What is Man ? 

To-day he's drest in Gold and Silver bright ; 

Wrapt in a Shroud before to-morrow night : 

To-day he's feasting on delicious food ; 

To-morrow, nothing eat can do him good : 

To-day he's nice, and scorns to feed on crumbs ; 

In a few days, himself a dish for worms : 

To-day he's honour'd, and in great esteem ; 

To-morrow not a beggar values him : 

To-day he rises from a velvet bed ; 

To-morrow lies in one that's made of lead : 

To-day his house, tho' large, he thinks too small ; 

To-morrow can command no house at all : 

To-day has twenty servants at his gate ; 

To-morrow scarcely one will deign to wait : 

To-day perfumed, and sweet as is the rose ; 

To-morrow, stinks in ev'ry body's nose : 

To-day he's grand, majestic, all delight ; 

Ghastly and pale before to-morrow night. 

Now, when you've wrote and said whate'er you can, 

This is the best that you can say of Man." 



MONUMENTS IN ST. JOHN'S CHURCH, CROYDON. 15 

monument to the memory of Archbishop Sheldon, representing the 
recumbent effigies of the prelate in his arehiepiseopal robes and mitre. 
The altar-tomb, on which the archbishop appears in repose, is of black 
marble. Its panels are enriched by some finely-carved osteology. The 
figure itself is of statuary marble, beautifully sculptured : the left hand 
sustains the head ; in the right, is a crosier. Above the figure is an 
inscription, surmounted by cherubim supporting an armorial shield. 
Evelyn estimated the cost of this monument, which was designed by 
Joseph Latham, the city mason, and entirely executed by him and his 
English workmen, at from 700/. to 800Z. The archbishop died at 
Croydon, Nov. 9th, 1677, in the eightieth year of his age. 

On the north side of the altar, within separate recessed arches, are the 
sculptured effigies of a man and woman kneeling before desks. This 
monument, with its quaint inscriptions, is a curious specimen of the 
taste of the sixteenth century. It commemorates "Maister Henry 
Mill, Citizen and Grocer of London famous Cittie, Alderman and 
sometime Shrive:" ob. 21 Jan. 1573, setat suae 69. 

In St. Nicholas's chantry are, also, the tombs of the archbishops, 
Wake, Potter, and Herring, who succeeded each other, and died, 
respectively, in the years 1736, 1747, and 1757. 

On the east wall of St. Mary's chancel is a beautiful monument of 
white marble, to the memory of Ann, wife of Mr. James Bowling, of 
Southwark : she died on the 26th of April, 1808. The sculpture is 
by Flaxman ; and represents an angel bearing up a female. 

On the north wall of the same chancel, is a large white tomb for 
the Heron family, and of the sixteenth century. It is ascended by 
three steps, and bears the figures of a man in armour, in alto-relievo, 
attended by his five sons, and a woman, attended by eight daughters. 

Near this, is an altar-tomb to the memory of Ellis Davy, (who 
died in 1459,) the founder of an almshouse in Croydon, which will be 
hereafter noticed. 

Here, also, is Archbishop Whitgift's monument, greatly resem- 
bling that of Archbishop Grindall. It is a sarcophagus, supported by 
Corinthian columns of black marble. It presents the recumbent 
effigies of the prelate in sable robes, with his hands in the act of 
prayer. Three shields bear, respectively, the arms of the see of 
Canterbury, the see of Worcester, and the deanery of Lincoln. On 
the panels of the sarcophagus are the armorial bearings of the see of 
Lincoln, and of the colleges of Trinity, Pembroke, and Peter-house. 
The inscriptions on this monument were from the pen of Dr. Benjamin 
Chartier, one of the archbishop's chaplains. His Grace died on the 
28th of February, 1604, and he was buried here on the second day 



16 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

after: his funeral was solemnized on the 27th of March, in a manner 
suitable to the splendour in which he had lived. 

On the south wall of the east end of the nave, is an elegant marble 
column, supporting a funereal urn. It was designed by Glover, the 
author of "Leonidas," and bears an inscription to the memory of 
Philippa, wife of James Bourdieu, esq., of Coombe in this parish, who 
died in June, 1780. A marble tablet beneath commemorates the death 
of James Bourdieu, esq. ; and in a similar situation to Philippa Bour- 
dieu's monument, on the opposite side of the nave, is a column of white 
marble supporting an urn, with an inscription to the memory of Anne, 
wife of John Bourdieu, of Golden-square, London: ob. 1798. 

It appears by the parish Registers, that Alexander Barkley, or 
Barclay, celebrated in his day as the author of " The Ship of Fools," 
founded on a satirical poem entitled " Navis Stultifera," written by 
Sebastian Brandt, a German, was buried in Croydon church-yard on 
the 10th of June, 1552. 23 

Of the vicars of Croydon, Roland Phillips, D.D., collated June 
the 4th, 1497, is entitled to notice, were it only for one memorable 
expression. Preaching at St. Paul's (of which he was one of the 
canons) against printing, he exclaimed — " We (the Roman Catholics) 
must root out printing ; or printing will root out us !" Dr. Phillips 
was considered as " a great and a renowned clerk," as " a famous and 
notable preacher, and a forward man in the convocation of the clergy." 

William Clewer, D.D., collated in 1660, "at the recommendation 
of Charles II., who had been imposed upon with regard to his charac- 
ter," "was notorious for his singular love of litigation, unparalleled 
extortions, and criminal and disgraceful conduct," which eventually 
caused his ejectment from this benefice in 1684. 24 

23 It has not been ascertained whether England or Scotland were the country of Barkley's 
nativity. According to his own representation, he lived at Croydon in the early part of 
his life. He studied at Oriel College, Oxford ; and was afterwards successively a Bene- 
dictine monk at Ely, and a Franciscan at Canterbury. Besides his " Ship of Fools," — a 
spirited picture of familiar manners and popular customs, — he was the author of several 
Eclogues, — of Lives of some of the Saints, — of a pamphlet against Shelton, the poet- 
laureate, — of several translations, &c. 

24 Vide "Case of the Inhabitants of Croydon," quoted by Garrow, in his "Appendix," 
pp. 304 — 309. The subjoined anecdote, from Captain Smith's "Lives of Highwaymen," is 
offered as a slight — very slight — illustration of the character of this divine : — 

" O'Bryan, meeting with Dr. Clewer, try'd once and burnt in the hand at the Old Bailey 
for stealing a silver cup, coming along the road from Acton, he demanded his money ; but 
the reverend doctor having not a farthing about him, O'Bryan was for taking his gown. 
At this our divine was much dissatisfied ; but, perceiving his enemy would plunder him, 
quoth he, ' Pray, Sir, let me have a chance for my gown ;' so, pulling a pack of cards out 
of his pocket, he farther said — ' We'll have, if you please, one game of all-fours for it, 
and if you win it, take it and wear it.' This challenge was readily accepted by the foot- 
pad, but being more cunning than his antagonist at slipping and palming the cards, he 
won the game, and the doctor went contentedly home without his canonicals." 



VICARS OF CROYDON. NEW CHAPELS. 17 

John Ireland, D.D., collated in 1793, wrote "Five Discour 
containing certain arguments for and against the reception of Chris- 
tianity by the ancient Jews and Greeks, 1796." This divine was 
afterwards dean of Westminster. 

John Cutts Lockwood, M.A., was (on the resignation of Dr. 
Ireland) collated in 1816. He was rector of Coulsdon, in Surrey. 

The present vicar is Henry Lindsay, M.A., perpetual curate of 
Wimbledon in this county. He was collated by the archbishop on 
the 4th of November, 1830. Distinguished as the author of "Prac- 
tical Lectures on the Historical Books of the Old Testament," he has 
always shewn himself anxiously disposed to promote not only the 
cause of religion, but of literature and the fine arts, as calculated to 
improve and elevate the human mind. 

The vicarage-house adjoins the church-yard. It was erected, on 
the ancient site, by Archbishop Wake, in 1730. 

The increased population of Croydon rendering necessary additional 
places of worship for the Established church, it was determined some 
years since, to erect two Chapels-of-Ease. Accordingly, two grants 
of 3,500Z. were obtained from the commissioners for the building of 
new churches ; partly from which, and partly from loans to be paid off 
by instalments, the determination was carried into effect. On the 
16th of May, 1827, the first stone of St. James's Chapel was laid, on 
what was formerly known as Croydon Common, by the Rev. J. C. 
Lockwood. The consecration was performed by His Grace the Arch- 
bishop of Canterbury, on the 31st of January, 1829. The building, 
of pale brick, is in the pointed style of architecture, from a design by 
Mr. R. Wallace, architect. It consists of a nave and aisles, with a 
chancel, and a small but rather lofty campanile tower at the west end. 
The tower has pinnacles at the angles, with three pointed windows in 
each face. The nave has six windows ; and the chancel, three. The 
galleries are supported on square piers. The Font is a marble vase, 
brought from the mother church. In its general effect, this building 
is meagre, and deficient in dignity. The architect's estimate was 
7,500/. The chapel contains twelve hundred sittings ; four hundred 
of which are free. The south aisle is appropriated to the students of 
the military college at Addiscombe. This chapel, as well as All-Saints', 
is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of the vicar of Croydon for 
the time being. The Rev. George Coles is curate of St. James's. 

Of All-Saints' Chapel, on Beulah-hill, Norwood, which was erected 
from the designs of J. Savage, architect, the foundation-stone was laid 
on the 12th of November, 1827. This building consists of a nave, 
aisles, and a chancel; and it contains eight hundred sittings, h has 

VOL. IV. D 



18 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

a small tower at each extremity; the west front is adorned with several 
richly-crocketted pinnacles ; and in the centre are three pointed win- 
dows. The aisles are divided by buttresses into six compartments; 
and in each compartment is a pointed window. Occupying an elevated 
site, and having recently received the addition of a spire, ascending 
from its western tower, this elegant little structure is seen to advantage 
from several parts of the county. The Rev. Edmund Harden holds 
the curacy of All-Saints' chapel. 

Several denominations of Dissenters have Chapels and Meeting- 
houses at Croydon. A chapel at North-End was erected for the Wes- 
leyan-Methodists in 1829. The Anabaptists have one at Pump-Pail. 
On the 21st of June, 1843, a new chapel, (Salem,) occupying the site 
of a former one, was opened for the Independents in George-street. 

In Park-lane, the Society of Friends have a large establishment, 
supported by subscriptions, and providing for the maintenance and 
education of one hundred and fifty boys and girls. It was in 1825 
that this excellent institution was removed hither from Islington, where 
it had existed upwards of a century. 

Whitgift's Hospital. — This, the noblest benefaction that Croydon 
ever enjoyed, was founded in the reign of Elizabeth, by Archbishop 
Whitgift, "for the maintenance of a warden, schoolmaster, and twenty- 
eight men and women, or as many more under forty as the revenues 
would admit." The present number of inmates is thirty-four. 

The Hospital, situated at the entrance of the town from London, is 
an unpretending brick edifice, of the Elizabethan style of architecture, 
and of a quadrangular form. Over the entrance are the armorial 
bearings of the see of Canterbury, surmounting this inscription : — 
QVI DAT PAVPERI NON INDIGEBIT. 

The pious and benevolent founder, having obtained letters patent, 
with license of mortmain, from the queen, dated November the 22nd, 
1596, commenced the building on the 14th of February following; and 
finished it on the 29th of September, 1599; having expended on the 
works the sum of 2716Z. lis. \\d. The original yearly revenue of the 
institution, arising chiefly from the archbishop's endowment, was only 
185/. 4s. 2c?.; but having been greatly increased by fines on the 
renewal of leases, and by sundry benefactions, it amounted, in 1817, 
to more than 480Z. ; and (fixed rents having been substituted in lieu 
of all fines) it is now upwards of 2000/. per annum. 

According to the original statutes of the hospital, the nomination of 
the brethren and sisters is vested in the see of Canterbury: the parties 
eligible for selection are, — first, from the household of the archbishop ; 
secondly, from the parishes of Croydon and Lambeth ; thirdly, from 



WIIITGIFT S HOSPITAL AND SEAL. 



19 






parishes in Kent, the benefices of which are annexed to the see. 
number of women was not to exceed half that of the men. Each 
brother and sister, whose respective 
ages must not be under sixty, is to 
receive the sum of 51. per annum, 
besides wood, corn, and other pro- 
visions. Amongst the crimes to be 
punished by expulsion are, "obsti- 
nate heresye, soicerye, any kind of 
charmynge, or witchcrafte." The 
schoolmaster, who is also chaplain, 
is to receive 20/. per annum ; and 
the warden, 11/. The Rev. George 
Coles, curate of St. James's chapel, 
is the present chaplain. 

The chapel of the hospital, a small 
apartment, forming the south-east 
angle of the building, was con- 
secrated on the 10th of July, 1599, 
by the name of " The Chapel of the 
Holy Trinity." On the outside, over 
the window bearing the founder's 
arms, is this inscription on Portland 

stone : — 

Eboracencis 25 

Hanc Fenestram 

Fieri Fecit, 

1597. 



The 
poor 




SEAL OF WHITGIFT'S HOSPITAL. 



In the chapel are some interesting remains : amongst them, is a por- 
trait of the archbishop, painted on board, and inscribed, above : — 



Below : — 



" Feci quod potui ; potui quod, Christe, dedisti : 
Improba, fac melius, si potes, Invidia." 

" Has Triadi Sanctse primo qui struxerat sedes, 
Illius en veram Praesulis effigiem." 28 



Also, a portrait of a lady in a ruff, dated a.d. 1616, aetat. 38, and 
supposed to be one of the archbishop's daughters. 

25 Supposed to be Michael Murgatroid, Whitgift's secretary. 

26 The following translations have been given of each distich : — 

" My all I did ; the all allow'd by Heaven : 
Envy, do more ; if more to thee be given." 
" The Primate's breathing Image here you see, 
Who built this Structure to the Holy Three." 

D 2 



20 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

In this chapel is an outline delineation, framed, of Death, as a 
skeleton and grave-digger; which has been erroneously described as 
the " Dance of Death." There are, likewise, in frames, two long 
elegiac inscriptions, one in Latin, the other in English, in commemo- 
ration of the character and virtues of Archbishop Whitgift. 

Over the outer gate, in an upper room called the Treasury, are 
preserved, amongst other documents, the original letters patent to the 
founder, embellished with a drawing of Queen Elizabeth, on vellum ; 
and the archbishop's deed of foundation, with a drawing of himself, 
very beautifully executed. 

In the Hall, on the north side of the inner porch, where the inmates, 
both male and female, dine together, three times yearly, is a folio 
Bible, in black letter, with wooden covers mounted with brass, and a 
Latin inscription commemorating its presentation by the Rev. Abra- 
ham Hartwell, M.A., secretary to Archbishop Whitgift, and author of 
several literary works. It has Cranmer's preface, and w r as printed in 
1596. Here, also, formerly, were three antique wooden goblets, (now 
lost), one of which, holding about three pints, bore this inscription : — 

" What, sirrah ! hold thy pease ; 
Thirst satisfied, cease !" 

Contiguous to the hospital are the School-house and the Master's 
residence. " The howse which I have builded for the sayde schoole 
howse," said the founder, "and also the howse which I have buylded for 
the schoolemaster, shal be for ever imployde to that use onlye, and to 
no other." Notwithstanding this, the school-house has been appro- 
priated to the children of the National school. The master's house, 
however, is still used in conformity with the founder's intention. 27 

Archbishop Tenison's School. — For the endowment of this insti- 
tution at North-End, in 1714, Archbishop Tenison purchased a farm 
and lands at Limpsfield, in this county, of the then yearly value of 
42/., and bequeathed to it the sum of 400/., to be laid out in land for 
the extension of the charity. The school was originally established 
for ten poor boys and an equal number of girls; now, from the 
increase of the revenues to about 130/. per annum, the entire number 

The National, or parish charity School, alluded to above, as occupying the school- 
house adjoining and belonging to Archbishop Whitgift's Hospital, was established in 
1812, upon the principle of the late Dr. Bell. 

Here is, also, a school upon the Lancastrian system, established in the same year, for 
education of indigent children of all persuasions. The present school-house, situated at 
North-End, was built in 1829. 

Besides these, there is a School of Industry for girls, conducted in the palace chapel ; 
and an Infants' school, under the patronage of the ladies. These establishments are all 
supported by voluntary contributions. 



davy's almsuouse. 21 



is twenty-eight, with a joint yearly salary of 50/. to the master and 
mistress. The present school-house, a substantial brick building, was 
erected in 1791-2, through a legacy of 500/. from Mr. James Jenner; 
300Z. from Mr. Wm. Heathfield, of London ; and donations by the 
Rev. J. Heathfield, of Northam, Herts., and other charitable persons. 

Ellis Davy's Almshouse. — Under letters patent from Henry the 
Sixth, Archbishop Stratford, and the Abbot and Convent of St. Saviour, 
Bermondsey, Ellis Davy, citizen and mercer of London, in 1447, 
founded an almshouse in Croydon, for seven poor people, men and 
women ; six of whom were to receive lOd. per week each, and the 
seventh, to be called the tutor, Is. It was endowed with 18Z. per 
annum, with the rents of four neighbouring cottages for repairs. The 
vicar, churchwardens, and four of the principal inhabitants of Croy- 
don, were appointed governors ; the masters and wardens of the 
Mercers' Company, overseers. The founder required that the clothes 
of the tutor and poor of his almshouse should be " darke and browne 
of colour, and not staring, neither biasing, and of easy price cloth, 
according to their degree"; that they should attend divine service 
daily in the church of Croydon, and there "pray upon their knees, for 
the King, in three Paternosters, three Aves, and a Credo, with 
special and hortily recommendations" of the founder to God and the 
Virgin Mary; that they should also say, for "the estate of all the 
so wis abovesaid," daily at their convenience, one ave, fifteen pater- 
nosters, and three credos ; and that after the death of the founder, 
provided he should be buried at Croydon, they and their successors 
should appear daily before his tomb, and there say the psalm " De 
Profundis? or three paternosters, three aves, and a credo. 28 

The present building, situated near the church, and plain and 
humble in appearance, was raised about seventy years ago. The 
revenues may now be estimated at 180/. per annum. 

Besides Ellis Davy's foundation, there are what are termed the 
Little Almshouses, in which the parish poor are usually placed. They 
must have been originally built previously to 1528, as in that year a 
rent-charge of twenty shillings was given to them by Joan Price. In 
1629, Arnold Goldwell gave forty pounds towards their re-erection; 
in 1722, they were described as "nine small low inconvenient houses"; 
and, in 1775, they were enlarged by the addition of two new buildings 
for twelve poor residents, with funds supplied by the then Earl of 

28 The Statutes of Davy's almshouse, which exhibit a curious picture of the moral and 
religious feeling of the times, may be found at length in Steinman's Croydon - , Appendix 
VII., page 267 ; in Archbishop Morton's Register ; and in the Appendix to DucareTs 
History of Croydon. 



22 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Bristol, and a subscription raised amongst the inhabitants. These 
almshouses are situated near the church. 

Amongst the numerous benefactions to the parish may be mentioned 
that of 10/. 10s. per annum, from Archbishop Laud, for apprenticing 
poor boys. 

The town of Croydon had a market on Wednesdays, obtained by 
Archbishop Kilwardby in the reign of Edward the First ; and a fair, 
which began on the eve of St. Botolph, and lasted nine days. Another 
market, on Thursdays, was granted to Archbishop Reynolds, by 
Edward the Second ; and a fair, on the eve and morrow of St. 
Matthew. A third market, on Saturdays, (the only one now con- 
tinued,) was granted by Edward the Third, to Archbishop Stratford ; 
and a fair, on the festival of St. John the Baptist. Of the fairs, only 
the two last are now held. The Michaelmas fair is chiefly for horses. 
As a pleasure fair, it is much frequented by Londoners, whose 
favourite viands on the occasion are, roast-geese, roast-pork, and wal- 
nuts, all then just coming into season. 

By the Reform act, (2 Wm. IV. c. 45,) Croydon was appointed one 
of the polling places for the eastern division of the county. 

The Court-house is a neat stone edifice, with columns of the Doric 
order in the lower part, and of the Ionic in the upper. It is sur- 
mounted by a cupola, with a turret and clock ; its upper story com- 
prising a court for the trial of civil causes, at the assizes, (held alter- 
nately here and at Guildford), with rooms for the judges, sheriff, and 
grand jury. Here is also held, every alternate week, a Court of 
Requests for the recovery of debts under five pounds. The ground- 
floor is reserved for a corn-market; but during the assizes, it is 
occupied as the Criminal court. This building, (first opened in 1809, 
and repaired in 1829,) was erected from a design by the late Mr. 
Samuel Pepys Cockerell. The expense, upwards of 8,000/., was 
defrayed from the proceeds of certain waste lands belonging to the 
parish, and disposed of, by act of parliament, in 1806. 

The old market-house, for butter, poultry, &c, built in 1566, at the 
cost of Francis Tirrell, citizen and grocer, a native of Croydon, was 
pulled down in 1807. The present structure (situated in High-street) 
was raised in 1808, at an expense of 1,219/., derived from the same 
source as that of the Court-house. 

The Prison, which occupies the site of the old town-hall, at the 
back of the corn-market, is a substantial brick building, erected by 
subscription in 1803. 

The Workhouse, accommodating upwards of one hundred and sixty 
persons, stands on Duppa's-hill, to the westward of the town. It was 



PUBLIC BUILDINGS. — RAILWAY. 23 

built about the year 1727, on a piece of ground given in 1629, by 
Sir William Walter, to the inhabitants of Croydon, for the purpose of 
digging gravel for the repair of the parish roads, &c. 

The Barracks, built in 1794, at the entrance of the town from 
Mitcham, were originally intended only as a temporary station for 
cavalry. However, they contain accommodation for three troops, with 
an "hospital for 34 patients, stabling for 192 horses, a store-room for 
1000 sets of harness, with field equipments, riding-house, and the 
accustomed offices." 

A Canal was opened at Croydon on the 22nd of October, 1809. 
After running from the north end of the town through Norwood, 
Penge-common, Sydenham, Forest-wood, and New-cross, it united 
with the Thames at Rotherhithe. Not paying its expenses, it was 
purchased by the Croydon Railway company ; and the upper part, 
having been filled up, now forms a portion of the railway line. 

The Railway from London to Croydon, laid down at the expense 
of a joint-stock company, was opened in June, 1839. Its London 
terminus is in Tooley-street, near the southern foot of London bridge; 
that of Croydon is at North-end, at the entrance of the town. 
The Croydon railway trains run, for a short distance from the metro- 
polis, on the same line as those of the Greenwich company, to which 
it pays a toll of four-pence-halfpenny for each passenger, &c. The 
trains of the Brighton and of the Dover companies run on the same 
line as those of the Croydon company ; the proprietors of the two 
former paying to those of the latter, a fixed toll of one shilling for 
each passenger, according to the act. The Brighton company, how- 
ever, has a station of its own, eastward of Whitgift's hospital, on 
what is termed the Addiscombe road. 

Like most other towns of note, Croydon has a Literary and Scientific 
Institution, which was founded about the year 1838. Having for its 
patron, the Archbishop of Canterbury, and for its president, the Earl 
of Eldon, it appears, though yet in its infancy, and requiring stimuli, 
to be in a tolerably flourishing condition. It has a reading room, a 
lecture room, a library of reference, a library of circulation, the 
nucleus of a geological collection, and various advantages, for the 
comparatively small subscription of ten shillings annually. Institu- 
tions so extensively useful in their nature cannot be too liberally 
patronized by the inhabitants of all classes. The building, with a 
plain stuccoed front, is on the hill descending towards the church. 
It was originally erected (in 1800) for theatrical performances; but, 
for some years, not having proved successful as a theatre, it was 
converted to its present purpose. It is occasionally let for concerts, 



24 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

lectures, exhibitions, &c. The more fashionable assemblies of the 
town have been, for many years, held at the Greyhound inn. 

Tradition states, that King James the First, the first institutor of 
regulations respecting horse-racing, held Croydon and Enfield chase 
in great estimation as resorts for his favourite pursuit. 

Croydon Gas Works. — These useful and extensive works were first 
established by Messrs. Barnard and Defriese in the year 1829 ; but 
the speculation proving unsuccessful, the entire concern was purchased 
by Mr. Henry Overton, an enterprising and spirited person ; who, 
on taking possession, removed the whole of the apparatus, and placed 
in its stead, at a vast expense, entirely new and superior machinery. 
He likewise laid down pipes, erected posts and columns, and put the 
works into such an efficient condition, as to enable him not only to 
supply the tradespeople with gas, but also to light the town and its 
environs to an extent of more than five miles, viz. to a limit which 
was prescribed by an act of parliament, obtained by the town com- 
missioners in 1823. 29 The railway station at Croydon is also lighted 
with gas from these works. 30 

ADDINGTON. 

Addington is situated on the eastern confines of the county, about 
three miles east-south-east from Croydon, at the foot of a range of 
hills to which it gives the name of Addington Common. The parish 
borders on that of Croydon, on the west and north ; on Beckenham 
and West Wickham, in Kent, on the east ; and on Farley and Sander- 
stead, on the south. The soil is, in general, gravelly ; but in some 
places, consists of clay or chalk. 

Antiquaries may feel interested in the fact, that, in the common 
above the village of Addington, might be traced, not long since, about 
five-and-twenty tumuli ; out of which, fragments of urns, &c. have 
occasionally been taken. Most of the tumuli were small ; but one of 
them was nearly forty feet in diameter. 

29 Entituled " An Act for lighting, watching, and improving the Town of Croydon, in 
the County of Surrey ; for providing Lodgings for the Judges, at the Assizes holden in 
the said Town, and for other purposes relating thereto." 

30 On these premises, hut on a part not occupied by the works, the river Wandle has 
one of its first springs. The water, as it issues from a mass of very minute pebbles, 
rises and falls in perpetual succession, assuming in its upward motion the general form of 
a mole-hill. 

In the Appendix to Garrow's History of Croydon is a long list of Rare Plants 
growing in this vicinity ; and, also, another list of various Fossils found in the chalk at 
the gravel-pits at Croydon. 



ACCOUNT OF THE MANORS OF ADDINGTON. 25 

Various circumstances induce belief in a tradition of the inhabitants, 
that Addington was formerly of much greater extent and importance 
than it is at present. In the year 1278 (55 Henry III.) Robert, the 
son of William de Aguilon, who had served the office of sheriff of 
the county of Surrey from 1261 to 1266, and part of 1267, and was 
then made governor of Guildford Castle, obtained the royal license 
to embattle his house at this place ; the king, at the same time, grant- 
ing him free-warren in his manor of Addington. Agreeably with this 
statement, a hill, at a little distance from the church, retains the name 
of Castle-hill ; and formerly, timbers and other remains of ruined 
buildings were occasionally discovered by the plough. The castle, or 
mansion, of Robert de Aguilon, is believed to have been continued 
as the manorial residence until the close of the fourteenth century ; 
and it appears from the following inscription, over the principal 
entrance, that a new house was erected on the same spot, between the 
years 1400 and 1403 ; — but the latter structure, (composed of flints 
and chalk), was pulled down about the year 1780 : — 

" In fourteen hundred and none 
There was neither stick nor stone ; 
In fourteen hundred and three 
The goodly huilding which you see." 

Here were two manors, each named Eddintone, at the time of the 
Domesday survey, which are thus described : — 

" In Waleton Hundred, Albert the Clerk holds of the King Eddintone, which was held 
by Osward of King Edward. It was then assessed at 8 hides ; now, at 2 hides. The 
arable land amounts to 4 carucates. Two are in the demesne ; and five villains, and four 
cottars, with one carucate and a half. The wood yields twenty swine. In the time of 
King Edward, as at present, it was valued at 100s." 

" Tezelin the Cook holds of the King Edintone, which Godric held of Edward the 
Confessor. It was then assessed at 8 hides ; now, at one hide. The arable land consists 
of 4 carucates. There are in the demesne 2 carucates ; and eight villains, and nine 
cottars, with 2 carucates and a half. The wood yields twenty swine. It was and is 
worth 100s." 

The manor of Addington held by the king's cook furnishes an 
example of the tenure of estates by serjeanty ; which has been con- 
tinued to the present time. From the Testa de Nevill, (which may be 
regarded as the most valuable record of the state of landed property 
in England, next to the Domesday book), we learn that Bartholomew de 
Chennay, or Chesnaye, held of the king a certain part of Addington, 
per serjanciam Coquince ; that Richard the First had given the manor 
to Peter Fitz-Alwin, with the daughter of Bartholomew ; and that 
King John bestowed it on Ralph Parmentar, with the daughter of 
Peter: in the time of Henry the Third, it had fallen into the hands 
of the king. In another part of the same record it is stated, that 

VOL. IV. E 



26 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

William Aguilon held certain land in Addington by the serjeanty of 
making hastias in the king's kitchen, on the day of his coronation ; or 
providing some one, as his deputy, to make a dish called Girunt, and 
if suet was added, it was called Malpigernoun. 1 

The manorial estate passed from the family of Aguilon by the 
marriage of Isabel, the daughter of Robert Aguilon, with Hugh 
Bardolf; whose descendants held it until the time of Henry the 
Fourth. Philippa, queen of Edward the Third, received the profits 
of this manor, by the grant of her husband, from the death of John 
Bardolf, in 1364, to the time of her decease, in 1369; after which, the 
king enjoyed the profits during the minority of William, son of the 
aforesaid John Bardolf. In 1367, the queen granted the wardship 
and marriage of this William Bardolf to Sir Michael Poynings, with 
the view of his marrying Agnes, the daughter of Sir Michael. This 
he afterwards did, and had livery of his lands. Thomas, Lord Bar- 
dolf, his son, joined the Earl of Northumberland and others in an 
insurrection against Henry the Fourth, in 1404. They were attacked 
by the king's troops, under the sheriff of Yorkshire, Sir Thomas 
Rokeby, near Thirsk ; when Northumberland fell in the field ; and 
Bardolf, being wounded and taken prisoner, died soon after. His 
body was quartered and set on the gates of several towns; but at length, 
his widow obtained the king's leave to take the quarters down and 
bury them. He was attainted, and his great estates were seized ; but 
he had previously settled the manor of Addington on his younger son, 
William. Soon after the year 1424, the manor became vested in 
William Uvedale ; but whether as a purchaser, or as a trustee for the 
two daughters of William Bardolf, does not appear. It next passed, 
by purchase, to John Legh, Leigh, or At Lee ; who had other posses- 
sions in the parish : he died in 1479. Nicholas, his grandson, married 

1 The dish is mentioned hy various names ; and it was to be prepared, we are told, in 
olla lutea. By some, it is called giranit, or gyroun ; and if seym (a Saxon word for fat) 
were put in, it was called malpigernoun. When the manor was held by the Bardolfs, in 
the reign of Edward the Third, it was said, in stating the service, that the lord " was to 
provide three dishes ; one for the King, one for the Archbishop of Canterbury, and the 
other for whoever the King pleased." Lysons, in his "Environs," observes that he cannot 
find that there exists any ancient receipt for making the mess, unless it be that called 
Bardolf, in a collection of ancient cookery receipts in the fourteenth century, printed 
at the end of the " Royal Household Establishments," published by the Society of 
Antiquaries of London, in 1790. It was called a pottage ; and consisted of almond milk, 
brawn of capons, sugar, and spices, chicken parboiled and chopped, &c. The service, as 
we have said, is still kept up ; and "a dish of pottage" is always presented, by the lord 
of the manor of Addington, to the Sovereign, at his or her coronation. It appears, from 
an account of the coronation of King James the Second, that it was customary for the 
king, on receiving the dish, to confer the honour of knighthood on the lord of the manor 
of Bardolf. — Vide Lysons, Environs, vol. i. pp. 5 and 6. 



ACCOUNT OF THE MANORS OF ADOINGTON. 27 

Ann, the eldest daughter of Sir Nicholas Carew. John, the son of 
Nicholas, built the mansion called Addington-Place, in 1544. He 
married Joan, the daughter of James Olliph, of West Wickham; and, 
dying in 1576, was succeeded by his eldest son, Sir Olliph Leigh; 
from whom the manor descended to Sir John Leigh, who died without 
surviving issue, in November, 1737 ; and a will which he had made 
in favour of the relations of his second wife being set aside, his 
estates, by a decree of the House of Lords in 1744, were given to 
Mrs. Bennett and Mrs. Spencer, the daughters of his uncle, Wolley 
Leigh, esq. In 1767, an act of parliament was obtained for vesting 
these estates in trustees, for the purpose of making a division ; in con- 
sequence of which, Addington, with other property, was assigned to 
Mrs. Spencer, in January, 1768. In the same month, this lady and 
her eldest son (Wolley Leigh Spencer) sold the manor of Addington, 
the mansion, rectory, and advowson of the vicarage, with all the farms 
and lands, to Barlow Trecothick, esq., one of the aldermen of London, 
(and lord-mayor in 1770), for 38,500/. In the particulars of sale, the 
lands were computed at five thousand acres ; of which, about five 
hundred were wood, and one thousand waste. 2 

In 1770, Mr. Trecothick, having lost his first wife, 3 married Ann 
Meredith, of Henbury in Cheshire, and settled on her an annuity for 
life, payable out of this estate. Leaving no issue, Mr. Trecothick 
devised the Addington property to his nephew, James Ivers, who took 
the name and arms of Trecothick. The alderman died in 1775. In 
1803, his nephew sold this estate in lots; when the manor, mansion- 
house, rectory, advowson, and some of the lands, were sold to — . 
Coles, esq.; who, in 1807, transferred the same, by sale, to the trustees 
of the archbishop of Canterbury ; and Addington park thus became 
the property of the primate for the time being, instead of the old 
palace at Croydon, which was sold under the authority of an act of 
parliament. 

There was another manor in the parish of Addington, which Mr. 
Manning represents as being the same with that held by Albert the 
Clerk at the time of the Domesday survey. This statement, at best, 
is doubtful, for that manor was held of the king, in capite, whilst the 
manor to which the Surrey historian refers was, as he himself informs 
us, subordinate to that of Croydon, belonging to the See of Canter- 
bury. Walter de Merton gave this manor to the Knights Templars, 

- On the inclosure of Croydon common, in 17'.»7, a large part of the common between 
Addiscombc and Addington was claimed by Mr. Trecotbick, in right of his manor of 
Addington ; and, on a trial, the claim was admitted to be just. 

3 There is a white marble monument in the churcb, to the memory of Mr. Trecotbick's 
first wife, Grizzdl, who died at Addington July 31st, 1769, aged forty-one. 

E 2 



28 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALL1NGTON HUNDRED. 

to hold of the archbishop's manor of Croydon, by the payment of a 
rent of thirty-two shillings and one penny. This religious order 
having been dissolved in the reign of Edward the Second, an act of 
parliament was passed in 1324, whereby the estates of the Templars 
in this country were granted to the Hospitallers or Knights of St. John 
of Jerusalem, who held Addington till the suppression of their order 
in England, in 1540. A lease of this manor had been granted in 
1523 to a person named Middle ton ; who, in 1540, sold it to Nicholas 
Leigh, esq., who held the other manor of Addington, and he obtained 
from the king a grant in fee of this manor, dated June 25th, 1545. 

There was a third manor or estate here, belonging to the monastery 
of St. Mary Overie, in Southwark ; to which was annexed the rectory 
and advowson of the church. It was rated at ten shillings. Twelve 
acres of land in this parish were held by that convent, on condition 
of keeping a lamp burning every night in the church. This estate, 
including the advowson, is said to have been the gift of Bartholomew 
de Kaisnet, 4 probably the person who, in the Testa de Nevill, is called 
Bartholomew de Chesney, lord of the principal manor held of the 
crown by serjeanty : and hence it may be concluded, that the land 
was originally a portion of that manor, which, reverting to the king 
when the convent was suppressed, was included with the manor of 
the Templars in the grant of Henry the Eighth to Nicholas Leigh, esq. 

Addington Park. — Addington park and mansion, the country 
residence of the archbishops of Canterbury, with several farms and 
woods, were purchased, as already stated, in the year 1807, by Arch- 
bishop Sutton, with trust-moneys of the see which had been assigned 
for the purpose ; and contiguous lands have been added by purchases 
made with similar funds by His Grace the most Rev. William Howley, 
D.D., the present primate. 

The mansion was built by Mr. Alderman Trecothick about seventy 
years ago; but, in 1829 and 1830, a chapel, a library, and many other 
suitable apartments, were added ; and the residence was, in every 
respect, greatly improved. These improvements were designed and 
executed by Henry Harrison, esq., architect; the expenses being 
defrayed, chiefly, by money raised by a mortgage of the revenues of 
the archiepiscopal see, and a fund which was applicable to the erection 
of a chapel. Altogether, this mansion is now one of the most con- 
venient houses, for a large family, that could well be contrived. The 
rooms, though not very large, are of good proportion, well arranged, 
and furnished in a style of elegant simplicity. 

The archbishop passes about half the year at Addington ; and he 

4 Dugdale's Monasticon. 



DESCRIPTION OF ADDINGTON CHUIICH. 29 

employs many of the villagers in the improvement of the park, which 
is beautifully situated near the far-famed Addington hills. From many 
parts of the park delightful views are commanded, in both Surrey and 
Kent. It is considered to be eminently salubrious ; and as there is 
no public road or path through the park, it seems to be a retirement 
admirably calculated for its dignified owner. 

The Rectory, Vicarage, and Church. — Although not mentioned in 
the Domesday survey, it is supposed that there was a church at 
Addington previously to the Conquest. The rectory, with the church, 
and the chapel of All-Saints (formerly annexed to it, and the patron- 
age of which belonged to Reginald de Edintone, or Edindone), was 
given by Bartholomew de Chesney to the priory of St. Mary Overie. 
In the sixteenth century, it was granted to Nicholas Leigh; and has 
passed with the principal estate ever since. 

The benefice is now a vicarage in the deanery of Ewell, in the 
diocese of Winchester, and in the patronage of the archbishop of 
Canterbury. It "is assessed at 10 marcs in the Valor of Edward L; 
is rated in the King's Books at 41. 16s. 5^d.; and pays for synodals 
to the bishop 2s. Id. The vicar had, formerly, half of the small 
tithes of Aguilon's manor, and the 20th of the sheaves belonging to 
the manor of St. Mary Overie, but nothing from the Templars' manor, 
nor from the 12 acres of which the Priory of St. Mary Overie kept a 
lamp burning in the church."* 

The Church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a small structure, "originally 
of flint, with the window-cases of friable stone, and the roof covered 
with tiles." This description applies now only to the chancel ; the 
exterior walls of the body of the church having been rebuilt with 
brick, by Alderman Trecothick, about the year 1773. At the west 
end is a large, low, square tower, embattled, and containing four bells : 
this was originally of flint, but has been mostly renewed with brick- 
work. A small south aisle is separated from the nave by three plain 
pointed arches, supported by four massy pillars of rude workmanship ; 
two of which are round, and two octagonal. These, with the chancel, 
are thought to be coeval with the original building ; the windows in 
the north wall appear to be of the time of Edward the Third, when 
the church is understood to have been in a great measure rebuilt. 
In the chancel are several lancet windows ; and there are two others 
in the south aisle. The windows at the east end of the chancel are 
blocked up by a large monument for Mr. Alderman Trecothick, 
who was a liberal benefactor to the church ; and, besides rebuilding 
the outer walls, as already mentioned, he new-pewed the edifice 

throughout. 

5 Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 563. 



30 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

In the summer of 1843, Addington church was thoroughly re- 
paired — it may almost be said, renovated — internally and externally, 
at the expense of the present archbishop. The outer walls were 
cleansed, and newly pointed; and the tower was neatly stuccoed. 
The interior, also, was cleansed and white-washed ; the old pews have 
been replaced by backed seats, affording accommodation for about two 
hundred and sixty persons; and there is a new stone font. 

Of the numerous old monuments with which this structure was 
formerly enriched, many are entirely lost; and most of those that 
remain are in a very dilapidated state. 

Against the north wall is a costly monument, of alabaster and black 
marble, superior in execution to most of the remains of the same 
period. It was erected by Sir Olliph Leigh, knt., in memory of his 
father and mother. In the upper part are two arches ; under one of 
which are kneeling figures of John Leigh, esq. (father of Sir Olliph), 
who died on the 31st of March, 1576, and his wife Joan, daughter 
and heir of Sir John Olliph, knt. Under the other arch are figures in 
the same posture, of Nicholas Leigh, the grandfather, who died in 
1565, and his wife Anne, daughter of Sir Nicholas Carew. The 
figures are in the habits of their time, and in proper, but now faded, 
colours. — Underneath, is a recumbent statue of Sir Olliph Leigh, 
who erected the monument, and who died on the 14th of March, 
1612. He is represented as completely armed, and reclining upon his 
elbow. In a lower compartment, are the effigies of his wife, Jane, 
daughter of Sir Thomas Browne, of Betchworth, knt, leaning on her 
right hand, with a book in her left. 

In the north-east corner of the chancel is an altar-tomb, of Sussex 
marble, on which are engraved Brasses of a man and woman in a 
standing posture, with their hands closed as in prayer, and supplicatory 
labels issuing from their lips: 6 beneath, are the figures of five children. 
The slab is decorated with the arms and quarterings of the Leighs 
andHarveys; the whole being surrounded with an inscribed border of 
brass, shewing that this tomb was raised in memory of John Leigh, 
esq., who died on the 23rd of April, 1509; and Isabell his wife, the 
sister of Sir George Harvey, knt. ; ob. Jan. 8th, 1544. — Above this 
tomb is the monument of Sarah, wife of Sir Francis Leigh, and of 
her mother, Elizabeth Lovel, sister of Henry Guy, esq., of Tring in 
Hertfordshire, who died in 1691. 

On a slab near the communion table, is a brass figure of a man in 
armour; and underneath an inscription, in black letter, to Thomas 

6 Bearing a remarkable resemblance to these, are two small detached Brasses, preserved 
in the neighbouring church of Sanderstead. 



ACCOUNTS OF SHIRLEY AND CHALDON. 31 

Hatteclyff, esq., "su'tymc one ofy e fowre masters of the howsholde 
to our sov'aigne Lord Kyng Henry y e VIII."' — Amongst the other 
memorials are some neat mural tablets of modern date. 

Various hatchments, commemorative of honourable persons interred 
here, appear in the chancel ; together with some miserable relics of 
streamers, armour, &c, which belonged to the Leigh family. — The 
Registers of this church commence in the year 1559. 
Vicars of Addington in and since 1800: — 

Thos. M c Culloch. 

George Edmonstone. 

Henry James Todd, A.M. Resigned. 

John Collinson Bissett ; instituted January 3rd, 1821. 

Matthew Thomas Farrer, (half-brother of the present Earl 
of Eldon); instituted in April, 1843. 
In the little district of Shirley, situated between the village of 
Addington and the town of Croydon, is a new district Chapel, dedi- 
cated to St. John, which was built by local subscriptions, aided by 
the Church-Building Society, at the cost of 1,300/. It was con- 
secrated by the archbishop of Canterbury, in the year 1835. It is 
a plain but neat structure, with sittings for two hundred and thirty 
persons. The Rev. Matthew Thomas Farrer, vicar of Addington, is 
the perpetual curate. — Near Shirley chapel is a good house for the 
residence of the curate ; and a small school for children. 

The number of acres in this parish, estimated and titheable, is 
3900; of which, 1995 are arable, 548 meadow, 592 woodlands, and 
765 waste and roads. The commuted rent-charge is as follows : — 
rectorial tithes, 600Z. ; vicarial ditto, 208/. 5s. About half an acre of 
glebe land belongs to this vicarage ; but there is no glebe house. 

CHALDON. 

This parish, lying on the north side of the transverse range of 
chalk-hills which intersects the county, is bounded on the north by 
Coulsdon ; on the east, by Caterham ; on the south, by Blcchinglcy ; 
and on the west, by Merstham and Chipstead. Through the parish 
extends a road called in old deeds the " ancient Stansted," supposed 
to have been originally of Roman construction. At the foot of the 
hill, in Chaldon, are stone quarries, which, in the time of Edward the 
Third, belonged to the crown, and were considered of so much 
importance, that they were placed under the charge of a bailiff specially 
appointed. 1 They are not now worked. 

7 Many of the inscriptions, no longer visible in the church, are preserved in Manning 
and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 363 — 365. 

1 Vide Rot. Pat. 33 Edward III. pt. 3. 



32 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

The manor is thus described in the Domesday book : — 
" The same Ralph [de Felgeres] holds of the Bishop (of Baieux) Calvedone, 2 which 
Derinc held of King Edward. It was then assessed at 2 hides : now at the same. The 

arable land amounts to 2 carucates : and there are in the demesne ; and there is a 

Church. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 40 shillings ; afterwards at 20 ; 
and now at 4 pounds." 

In the reign of Henry the Second, this manor, with the advowson 
of the living, belonged to Sir Richard Covert, said to have been the 
son of Bartholomew Covert, who came into England with the Norman 
Conqueror, and obtained from him large estates in Sussex. Roger 
Covert, or de Covert, the sixth in descent from Sir Richard, conveyed 
the estate to Sir John Haunsard and Gundreda his wife, for their joint 
lives, in 1275 ; and it reverted to the Covert family in or before 1298; 
when Roger de Covert died seised of it. From an inquiry which took 
place in the 28th of Edward the First, it appears that the manor of 
Chalvedon was held of the king, in socage, and not by knights' 
service. In the fifteenth century, it was sold by William Covert of 
Sullington, who died in 1444 ; and his grandson, William Covert of 
Slaugham, in 1476, released all his right in the manor of Chalvedon, 
to certain persons who were probably trustees for Ann, the widow of 
John Elmebrigge ; whose son, Thomas Elmebrigge, left a daughter 
his sole heiress, who became the wife of Sir John Dannett. The 
estate was sold by Leonard Dannett, (supposed to have been the son 
of Sir John,) to John Southcott, a serjeant-at-law, and afterwards a 
Justice of the King's Bench, who died in 1585 ; and from his family 
it was transferred, by sale, to Paul Docminique, esq.; who died March 
the 17th, 1734-5. He was succeeded by his only surviving son, 
Charles, who dying without issue in 1745, left it to his cousin, Paul 
Humphreys, esq. That gentleman died a bachelor, in 1751 ; and his 
sister and heiress settled this and other estates on her second husband, 
the Rev. John Tattersall ; who, having no children, bequeathed the 
property to his brother, the Rev. Jas. Tattersall, rector of Streatham ; 
and he, dying in 1784, devised it to trustees for sale. This estate, 
consisting of Chaldon Court-house and Tolsworth farms, was then 
purchased by William JollifFe, esq., grandfather of the present pro- 
prietor, Sir William George Hylton Jolliffe, bart., of Merstham in 
this county. 8 The lordship of this manor is, we understand, contested 

2 In the facsimile of Domesday (Surrey) in Manning, the name is written Salvedone, 
probably by mistake. 

8 This gentleman, created a baronet on the 20th of August, 1821, is the eldest son of 
the Rev. William Jolliffe, by Julia, daughter of Sir Abraham Pytches, knt., of Streatham 
in this county, and grandson of William JollifFe, esq. M.P. (the descendant of an ancient 
Staffordshire family, originally called Jolly), and his wife, Eleanor, daughter and heiress 
of Sir Richard Hylton, baronet, of Hayton Castle, in the county of Cumberland. 



ESTATES IN CHALDON PABI8H. 

between Sir W. Jolliffc, hart., and Sir William Clayton, hart., of 
Morden park in this county. 

The manor and farm of Tolsworth, or Tullesworth, in Chaldon and 
Merstham, formerly belonged to the Prior and canons of Merton. 
Queen Elizabeth, in 1602, granted it to John and Thomas Roche ; 
and after repeated transfers, it was bought, in 1724, by Paul Doc- 
minique, esq. ; and subsequently passed as above stated. 

The Manor of Willey. — In the 6th of Edward the Third, John 
de Warblington died seised of a tenement in Chalvedon called Will- 
n-i/ke; and his son and heir, of the same name, in 1368, obtained a 
grant of free-warren in this manor. Margaret de Warblington held 
it in 1485. John Cooke, in 1552, conveyed the estate to Sir Thomas 
Cawarden of Blcchinglcy, who had the right of frce-Avarren confirmed, 
by a grant from Queen Mary, in the beginning of her reign. Sir 
Thomas left it, by will, to John Brown and Alice his wife ; whose son 
conveyed it to Richard Betenson, esq. ; and one of his descendants, 
Sir Edward Betenson, bart., died seised of it in 1733. He had 
suffered a recovery of this estate in 1691 ; and leaving no issue, 
Willey, on his death, came into the possession of Albinia, the eldest 
of his four sisters, who married Brigadier-General Selwyn. In 1734, 
that lady sold the property to Sir William Clayton, hart.; whose 
collateral descendant, the present Sir Wm. Clayton, bart., is now owner. 

Stansted. — This estate, formerly, was the property of a family 
which took its name from the place. George Roffey, esq., of Cam- 
berwell, in 1708, gave by will, farms and lands called Stansted, alios 
Fryerne, in Chaldon, to his daughter Joanna, and the heirs of her 
body ; with remainder to his nephew, George Roffey, and his heirs 
male ; remainder to his own heirs. The estate came into the posses- 
sion of the last-named George Roffey ; whose two sons and daughter, 
in 1770, joined in a sale to Matthew Robinson; who, in 1781, resold 
Stansted to Richard Hewetson of Croydon ; and he, dying in 1799, 
devised it to his nephew, Henry Hewetson, esq., to whom it now 
belongs. 

This Living is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell. According to 
Ecton, it is dedicated to St. Peter ; to St. John, according to Willis ; 
but, from the will of Isabel, widow of Baldwin Covert, dated Septem- 
ber the 8th, 1440, it appears to have St. Peter and St. Paul for its 
patron saints. 4 In the 20th of Edward the First, Chaldon rectory 
was valued at fifteen marks. It pays 2*. Id. for synodals ; and 7s. 7 hi. 
for procurations. 

' By the will above-mentioned, the body of Isabel Covert was ordered " to be buried 
in the Church of St. Peter and St. Paul in Chalvedon, next the tomb of lier husband." 
VOL. IV. F 



34 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Rectors of Chaldon in and since 1800 : — 

Robert Welton. Instituted on the 8th of June, 1780. 

Thomas Welton. Instituted on November the 8th, 1811. 

James Legrew, M.A. Instituted on the 30th of March, 1830. 
The Church, occupying a slightly-elevated site, with the command 
of agreeably-varied scenery, is believed to have been founded, at least, 
eight hundred years ago. It has a nave, a south aisle the length of the 
building (forty-two feet), and a north aisle not so long. Two arches, 
on each side, resting on round columns, divide the nave from the 
aisles. The chancel, which was efficiently restored in the year 1807, 
is separated from the nave by a low pointed arch. A small vestry, 
lighted by a window, where probably a north door formerly existed, 
was built in 1842. Originally, this edifice had neither tower nor 
spire ; although, from an existing basement suitable for the former, the 
builder appears to have contemplated such an erection at a future 
period. Accordingly, in the summer and autumn of 1843, the de- 
ficiency was supplied, at an expense of about two hundred pounds, 
defrayed by the rector and the principal inhabitants. The tower, 
built of stone from the Merstham quarries, is surmounted by a small 
shingled spire, rising together to the height of about fifty feet, and 
constituting an agreeable object in the distance. There is one bell, 
which is hung in the church roof. The most remarkable monument 
here, is a freestone tablet, within a niche, on the north side of the 
chancel : it is fixed between pilasters, surmounted by a pediment ; in 
the centre of which is the sun with a human face, thus surrounded: — 

R 

1562. 

The inscription, though not divided into lines, is of rude rhythmical 

construction, viz. — 

Good Redar, warne all men and women whil they he here to he ever good to the 
poore and nedy, the poore ever in thys worlde shall ye have, God grante us sumwhat in 
stoore, for to save the cry of the poore is extreme and very sore. God graunte us to he 
goode evermore in this worlde we run oure rase. God graunte us to he with Christ m 
tyme and space. 5 

Against the north wall, near the vestry door, is a neat white marble 

tablet; on which, between two pillars, surmounted by a pediment, 

with a white shell over its apex, is the following inscription : — 

Near this marhle lye the remains of Christian, the wife of John Home, a woman of 
great natural sagacity, sincerity of heart, and firmness of mind. She suffered shipwreck, 



5 All trace of the family to which this monument relates has long been lost ; and their 
hurial-place has been in consequence appropriated to the Tomlins' family, now holding 
possessions in the parish ; and of which there are several memorials in the church. 



FARMS IN CHALDON I'.UUSH. :).'> 

and narrowly escaped with life in crossing the seas to her husband in Jamaica. She 
made a second attempt and arrived in that unhealthy island, when- she In t a I, .,. 
constitution. Her latter years proved her an uncommon pattern of exemplary patience, 
having long sustained with decency and temper all the severities of a painfull and hopeless 
disease. She was born in Scotlutid 22nd July, 1710, and died 29ili December, 17.">^. 

Just to thy worth, lie whom thou most held dear, 

Inscribes thy tomb, and drops a tender tear. 

Here also are deposited the remains of the above-mentioned Joint Home, lie died 
21st April, 1770, aged 70 years. The love and esteem of all who knew him is the besl 
testimony of his real character. 

The pulpit, hexagonal in form, is inscribed, " Patience Lambert, 
1657." The font is an ancient square basin, with an octagon shaft, of 
Merstham freestone. Here are sittings for about two hundred persons. 
The children of the poor are educated and clothed in a small free 
School, chiefly supported by the rector. 

Strictly speaking, there are no gentlemen's seats in Chaldon ; 
neither is there a public-house, nor a shop, of any description. Large 
numbers of sheep are bred and grazed here. The whole parish is 
disposed in four large farms, and one small one, as follows : — 

Chaldon Court.— Owner, Sir W. G. H. Jolliffe, bart. In the occupation of Mr. 

Hoare. 
Tolesworth. — Owner, Sir W. G. H. Jolliffe, bart. In the occupation of Mr. Budgen. 
Quarry and "Willey Farms.— Owner, Sir William Clayton, bart., of Morden park. 

In the occupation of Mr. Langford. 
Fryerne Farm (said to have once belonged to the Friars of Bermoudsey). — Owner, 

Henry Hewetson, esq. 
New House.— Owner, R. Roffey, esq. In the occupation of Mr. Richmond. 

The entire number of acres in Chaldon parish is 1653 . 1 . 10; of 
which the appropriation follows: — arable, 1105.1.12; meadow, 
114 . . 9 ; wood, 347 . 2 . 35 ; common, 84 . 2 . 28 ; parsonage 
garden, &c, 1.2.6. In this parish, says Aubrey, " are two Free- 
stone Quarries, from whose Meanders the Country people pretend to 
draw stone with their Oxen and Hurdles for above half a mile." ' 

COULSDON. 

This parish is situated on the central chalk-hills of Surrey, border- 
ing on the north, on Croydon ; on the east, on Sanderstead ; on the 
south, on Caterham ; and on the west, on Chipstead and Reddington. 
The land is partly arable, with wood lands, and open downs adapted 
for the pasturage of sheep, many of which are bred here. Formerly, 
at Hartley-down, there was a rabbit warren of seventy-seven acres; 
but it was inclosed, and converted into arable land, in 1760. The 
entire number of acres in this parish, has been estimated at 4,403, and 

6 Aubrey, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 95, 

F 2 



36 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

classed as follows: — arable, 2600 .1.0; meadow and pasture, 543.3.0; 
wood, 202 .3.0; down, 550 .0.0; orchards and gardens, 28.3.0; 
glebe, 84 . . ; waste, 398 . . 0. 

Various ancient remains, some of them probably British, others 
Roman, are still perceptible in this parish. The Roman road called 
the Stane-street, passed through Coulsdon, from Sussex ; and the name 
of Wall-street is also mentioned in the Chertsey Ledger-book, as in 
Coulsdon. At the entrance of Farthing down are faint traces of 
three dykes, which extend about a quarter of a mile, and seem to have 
been thrown up as a barricade. On the hill, ascending from Smitham- 
bottom, are several small barrows ; in one of which, opened about 
eighty years ago, a complete skeleton is said to have been found. 1 

There were two manors in the parish of Coulsdon at the time of 
the Domesday survey, which are thus described : — 

" The Abbey of Certesy holds Colesdone. 2 In the time of King Edward, it was 
assessed at 20 hides : now at 3| hides. The land is 10 carucates. One carucate is in 
demesne : and there are ten villains, and four cottars, with 6 carucates. There is a 
church. The wood yields three swine. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 
6 pounds : now at 7 pounds." 

(Whattington, or Waddon, in Coulsdon.) 

" The same Abbey holds Watendone, which in the time of King Edward was assessed 
at 20 hides ; but now at 5 hides. The arable land amounts to eight carucates. There is 
1 carucate in demesne ; and there are seventeen villains, and two cottars, with 5 caru- 
cates. There is a church. The wood yields six swine for pannage. In the time of 
King Edward it was valued at 6 pounds : now at 7 pounds." 

Roger de Home and Maud his wife, in 1269, purchased 161^- acres 
of land in Cullesdon, which Sir John Home, knt., in 1 307, conveyed to 
trustees, for the foundation of a chantry in Chertsey abbey, and the 
support of a secular chaplain. In 1321, Roger Home, the son of Sir 
John, released the same lands to Charles de Seggeford, rector of 
Cullesdon, who conveyed them to the abbey for the purpose just men- 
tioned. The estate was held of the manor of Coulsdon, as one-eighth 
of a knight's fee. Lands, also, belonging to this manor, which had 
been given at different times, and by different donors, were held of 
the abbot and convent of Chertsey, by the master and brethren of 

1 " At the entrance of Hooley-lane from Smitham-bottom a double bank and double 
ditch come down the hill from a little wood on the left to the road in Hooley-lane, now 
(1805) a good deal of them has been removed, but enough still remains to shew them 
clearly ; on the top of the opposite hill they appear again, and are now the more visible 
from their ends having been lately cut off in making a new chalk-pit. On Riddles-down 
are similar banks and ditches descending from the top of the hill to the inclosures below, 
where, the land being arable, they are lost. Their direction points to those in Hooley- 
lane. This ditch seems to be that which in the Chertsey Ledger-booh is called Newediclt 
or Widcdieh."— Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 448.; 

: There are, at least, sixteen different ways of spelling the name of this parish ; but 
that of Coulsdon has obtained for a long series of years. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF COULSDON. 'M 

the Hospital of St. Thomas of Aeon, in London; and by the abbot 
and convent of Waltham, in Essex. 

In 1538, the abbot of Chertsey sold this manor, with those of 
Epsom, Sutton, and Ilorley, to King Henry the Eighth ; who, in the 
same year, granted them to Sir Nieholas Carew of Beddington, then 
in high favour with his capricious sovereign. The disgrace and death 
of this courtier, with the forfeiture of his estates, and their restoration 
to his family by Queen Mary, will be found related in the account of 
Beddington. Sir Francis Carew, the son of Sir Nieholas, died un- 
married, seised, inter alia, of this manorial estate, which, according to 
a settlement made in 1609, came into the possession of Sir Robert 
Darcy, descended from a sister of Sir Francis Carew. Sir Edward 
Darcy held Coulsdon in 1668 ; and, probably, sold it to Sir Richard 
Mason, to whom it belonged in 1670. He left the estate, by will, in 
1685, to his wife and daughter; who, in 1688, executed a joint con- 
veyance to Sir Edw r ard des Bouveries, an eminent Turkey merchant, 
whose son and successor, Sir William, was created a baronet in 1714. 
He had two sons, the elder of whom having died without issue, this 
property devolved on his brother, Jacob de Bouverie, who, in 1747, 
was created Baron Longford, and Viscount Folkestone. This noble- 
man was very active in the formation of the Society for the En- 
couragement of Arts, Manufactures, and Commerce, of which he was 
president in 1753; and he held the office until his death, which 
happened on the 17th of February, 1761. His son and heir, William, 
who Avas made earl of Radnor in 1765, sold the manor and estate 
of Coulsdon, in 1782, to Thomas Byron, esq. ; whose son, Thomas 
Byron, esq., is the present possessor. — The manor of Coulsdon in- 
cludes the whole parish ; and at the court-leet a tithing-man is 
appointed for Chipstead. The metes and bounds of the manor are 
fully described in the Chertsey Ledger-book. 3 

3 "A Court Roll of this manor (observes Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 448.) contains 
many curious particulars, some are such as I do not remember to have seen in any other. 
Amongst them actions of trespass were here tried. In 13 Richard II. 13 ( .I0, Richard 
Chapelet brought an action of trespass against William Lorkyn for taking away Katha- 
rine his wife, with divers goods and chattels to the value of £10, to his damage of 100 
shillings. And he brought another action against the same for detaining a hog, value 
3s. Id. These disputes were perhaps amicably settled, for there is no further entry 
relating to them. In another action, damages were taxed at one bushel sprygg [a species 
of corn] price "d. ; in another at one bushel of oats price 3d. 15 Richard II. 1392, the 
tallage of the customary tenants this year was 20s.; the pannage of the hogs 2s. 5}d. 
19 Richard II. 1396, a man being admitted to a copyhold found pledges for his residing 
in the house and doing no waste. Joh'es atte Brome refused to sell ale w ithout shewing 
a sign, therefore he is in mercy. Jno. Prymine who held of the Lord a tenement and 
half a virgate of native hind to him and his, has removed out of the lord&hip and refused 
to hold the land, whereupon there happened to the Lord for a heriot a heifer which 



38 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

The chief residence in the parish is Hurtley, occupied by Thomas 
Byron, esq., son of the present lord of the manor. — Coulsdon Court, 
close to the church, is tenanted by Charles Bleaden, esq. — Hooley 
House was recently purchased by Richard Shuter, esq., of London. — 
Wood Place, supposed to be "La Wode, in Colesden," (mentioned in the 
Bishop's Register, Edindon, II. 37. a.) where, in 1357, Peter at Wode 
had the bishop's license for an oratory in his house, is occupied by Mr. 
Oades. — PortnalVs Farm, the property of Sir Nicholas Carew, in the 
time of Charles the First; of Sir John Stanley, in 1762 ; and of John 
Hibbert, esq., in 1808 ; is in the occupation of Mr. Thomas Barrett. — 
Fountains Farm is tenanted by Mr. Robert Russell. 

Whattington, Wodindon, or Waddington, described in the Domesday 
book, under the name of Watendone, as a distinct manor, has long- 
since been united with that of Coulsdon. King Henry the Eighth 
obtained, by way of exchange, a part of the estate here of the abbot 
of Chertsey, called Welcomb's and Lawrence's, and other lands in 
Whattingdon, which he annexed to the Honour of Hampton-court. 
In 1546, he granted this estate to Sir Richard, Sir John, and William 
Gresham ; in whose family it continued, at least, until the early part 
of the seventeenth century. It afterwards passed to several successive 
proprietors, until, in 1800, it was bought by Christopher Saville, esq.; 
which name he had assumed in place of that of Atkinson. Joel de 
Garston and Philippa his wife were owners of land in Coulsdon in 
1269, and also of a tenement in Whatingdon called Garston. — Garston 
Hall is now in the ownership and occupation of — . Castledick, esq. 

The benefice of Coulsdon is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell, and 
in the patronage of the archbishop of Canterbury. In the 20th of 
Edward the First, 1292, it was valued at 25 marks : in the King's 
books at 21Z. 16s. 5^d. ; paying for synodals, 2s. Id. ; and for pro- 
curations, 7s. 7^d. 

Rectors of Coulsdon in and since 1800: — 

Henry Goodricke, B.D. Instituted on the 23rd of June, 
1774: died in 1807. 

remains in the Lord's hands. 14 Henry IV. 1413, tallage 2s. 6d. pannage 8|d. 3 Henry 
VI. 1425, John Syrede of Croydon, husbandman, espoused Agnes daughter of William 
Toller, one of the Lord's villans in gross, without license ; he came and paid 6s. 8d. 
John Combe, Prior of the Holy Cross of Reygate, who held a tenement and lands in 
Horlee by the Common Seal, is dead, whereupon happened to the Lord for a relief certain, 
after the death or cession of every Prior there, 10s. 9 Henry VI. 1431, Alice, daughter 
of Richard Colgrymme, one of the Lord's villans in gross, remains at Chalvedon with 
Richard Aleyn without chivage, [i.e. money paid by a bondman for leave to go out of a 
manor], and without license: two others the same; they are ordered to be seized. Thomas 
Basset came, and gives to the Lord for the chivage of Richard Colgrymme the Lord's 
bondman, for license to stay with him till Michaelmas next, 8d. Other niefs or bondmen 
ordered to be seized." 



DESCRIPTION OF COULSDON CHURCH. 39 

Henry John Todu, A.M. Instituted in 1807 : resigned. 
John Cutts Lockwood. Instituted December 7th, 1820. 
William Wood, B.D. Instituted November 25th, 1830. 
George Randolph. Instituted in 1841. 

The Church, situated about a mile from the Stoat's-Nest station, on 
the Brighton railway, is dedicated to St. John the Evangelist. It is 
built of stone and flint ; and at the west end is an embattled tower, 
surmounted by a small shingled spire, and containing five bells. The 
exterior of the church having been lately rough-cast, presents a re- 
markably neat and clean appearance. It has a nave, and a chapel or 
short aisle on each side ; each of which is separated from the nave by 
two obtuse-pointed arches ; and a similar arch divides the nave from 
the chancel. In the south wall of the chancel are two stone seats, 
under pointed arches, separated by small round pillars standing clear 
from the wall. Eastward of these seats was a piscina, (now filled up,) 
under an arch of similar character, supported by short round pillars. 
Formerly, in the south chapel, also, was a stone seat under an obtuse- 
pointed arch; eastward from which, were two other seats, under 
niches, as in the chancel, one lower than the other ; and, still farther 
to the east, was a piscina under a similar arch. These have all been 
removed. Indeed, the church has been greatly altered since it was 
visited and described by Mr. Bray, about the year 1805. 4 It was 
extensively repaired in 1807 ; and about fourteen or fifteen years ago, 
a gallery, over what is now the western and only entrance, was re- 
moved. Other repairs and alterations were afterwards effected ; and, 
in the autumn of 1843, the entire building was thoroughly cleaned, 
and a substantial drain carried round the exterior. 

Beneath the pulpit, which is on the left of the entrance, stands the 
font, consisting of a stone pillar and basin ; within the latter is a 
smaller, and very neat, circular basin, with a cover. A small organ 
was placed here in the summer of 1843. Of the ancient painted 
glass in the chancel window described by Aubrey, and vaguely referred 
to, as of the time of King John, there are some slight remains. 

During the different repairs and alterations of the church, many of 
the old monuments appear to have been taken down and lost sight of. 
On the south wall, however, although sadly disfigured by whitewash, is 
one well entitled to the attention of the curious. It consists of the 
figure of a woman under an arch, standing on a human skull, beneath 
which are bones banded together. On each side is a cherub. The 
woman's right hand is on her breast ; her left holds a globe ; she is 
looking up to heaven, in which appears a rising sun, bearing the name 

* Vide Manning and Bray, SURREY, vol. ii. p. 454. 



40 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALEINGTON HUNDRED. 

Jehovah. From the several inscriptions about this monument, the 
principal of which are acrostic verses, it would seem that the person 
thus represented was Grace Rowed, the wife of Thomas Wood', and 
that she died on the 10th of November, 1635. 5 

Coulsdon parsonage is a handsome stone building, erected in 1841. 
There is a small School in this parish for the younger children of the 
poor. 

Whattington Chapel. — In a record of the 13th of Edward the Third, 
(a deed of John de Passele, relating to Aldebury in Merstham), John 
de Cattesfield is described as "parson of Wattington;" and the pre- 
sentations of the church of Coulsdon have sometimes been "cum 
Capelld Wliatingdow" but no institutions are found in the Bishops' 
Registers. The chapel referred to escaped the first scramble in the 
time of Henry the Eighth ; but, in the 2nd of Edward the Sixth, it 
was granted, with other chapels, to Henry Polsted, esq. The church 
of Coulsdon was included in that grant, but Polsted never obtained 
possession of the latter. In the following year, William Worde was 
said to hold the chapel of Whattington in socage. Many years ago, 
the building was converted into a barn ; and, about the year 1780, it 
was accidentally destroyed by fire. In the Domesday book it is 
noticed as a Church. 

SANDERSTEAD. 

This parish is situated about three miles to the south-east of Croy- 
don ; by which, and that of Addington, it is bounded on the east : it 
adjoins Warlingham on the south, and Coulsdon on the west. The 
soil is calcareous, with a superficial stratum of gravel towards the 
south. Sanderstead contains, by computation, about 2,200 acres, chiefly 
arable; with 150 of down, and 156 of wood, known as Sanderstead- 
wood. The downs are private property ; there is no common. 

Sanderstead is thus described in the Domesday survey : — 

" The Abbey of St. Peter of Winchester holds Sanderstede. It the time of King 
Edward it was assessed at 18 hides: now at 5 hides. The arable land amounts to 10 
carucates. One is in demesne ; and there are twenty-one villains, and one cottar, with 8 
carucates. There are four bondmen. The wood yields thirty swine. In the time of 
King Edward it was valued at 100 shillings : afterwards at 7 pounds : now at 12 pounds ; 
and yet it produces 15 pounds." 

This manor appears to have been given to the abbot and convent 
of Hyde, near Winchester, by Ethelfleda, the first wife of the Anglo- 
Saxon king Edgar, and mother of Edward the Younger, called the 
Martyr. In the reign of John, or Henry the Third, Watkin Saunders 

8 The inscriptions are given at length, in Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 456. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF SANDERSTEAD. 41 

of Sandcrstede, who died without issue, is said to have left this manor, 
and the advowson of the parish church, to the abbey of Hyde ; but 
as the manor belonged to that monastery before the Norman Con- 
quest, it may be concluded that Saunders held it on lease, and that he 
only bequeathed his interest in the property. Henry the Eighth, in 
1539, granted to the abbot and convent of Hyde a license to alienate 
to Sir John Gresham the manors of Sandersted and Langhurst ; but 
the dissolution of monasteries supervening shortly after, Sir John 
obtained from the king a grant, under letters patent, dated November 
4th, 1540, of all the monastic possessions in this and some neighbour- 
ing parishes. He died in 1556, seised of the manor of Sandersted, 
with the rectory and advowson, and the burgh of Langhurst, valued 
at 20/. 0s. 9^d. per annum, held with other estates of the crown, in 
capite, by knight's service, as the twentieth part of a fee. This estate 
descended to Richard Gresham, esq.; who, in 1591, sold Sandersted, 
with Warlingham, to John Ovvnsted, esq. of Addington, serjeant of 
the carriages to Queen Elizabeth. This transfer of property held by 
a feudal tenure having taken place without a royal license, the estates 
were seized by the officers of the crown, and Mr. Ownsted was sub- 
jected to a fine ; which being paid, and license granted, the bargain 
was ratified, and in 1594, a release from Gresham to Ownsted was 
duly executed. 

Mr. Ownsted was twice married, but died without issue in 1600; 
having devised his estates in Surrey, after the decease of his second 
consort, to his cousin, Harman Attwoodd, and his two sisters. 1 Mr. 
Attwoodd, who was an attorney of Clifford's Inn, London, purchased 
the shares of the legatees, and thus became proprietor of Sanderstead, 
as well as other estates which had belonged to Mr. Ownsted. The 
property was held in succession by several members of the Attwoodd 
family, until the death of John Atwood, esq., in 1759, who having no 
children, gave it to his nephew, Thomas Wigsell, attorney-at-law, New 
Inn, London. This gentleman died in 1778, having devised his estates 
to his nephew, Atwood Wigsell, who died unmarried ; and his brother 
and successor, the Rev. Thomas Wigsell, having no issue, settled the 
property on his sister, Susanna Wigsell, for life ; with remainder to 
Atwood Wigsell Taylor, on whom it devolved in 1807, and who 
assumed the name and arms of Wigsell, in pursuance of the will of 
the devisee. This gentleman was a minor at the time of his accession 

1 From the monumental inscriptions in the church and church-yard, it appears that 
the family of Mr. Atwood (whose name has been thus spelt for several generations,) had 
long been settled here. In the adjoining parish of Coulsdon, the name is found as early 
as the time of Edward the Second. 

VOL. IV. G 



42 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

to the property. He died in 1821; and, within six weeks after his 
death, was born (in August,) his son and successor, Atwood Dalton 
Wigsell, the present lord, who holds a commission in the army; and is 
owner of nearly the whole of Sanderstead parish. 

Purley. — Purley, or Pirley, is an estate in this parish formerly be- 
longing to a family to whom it gave name. William de Pirelea, son 
of Osbert de Pirelea, had a grant from John, abbot of Hide, of the 
moiety of a wood called Nithea in the manor of Sanderstead ; and he 
purchased other lands here, held of the abbot and convent. In 1332, 
Reginald de Pirle obtained a license from the bishop of Winchester to 
have divine service celebrated in his oratory in Sanderstead ; and in 
1346, a similar license was granted to John de Purle. The estate 
remained in the possession of the Purleys until the reign of Edward 
the Fourth, when it appears to have been divided into two parts, called 
respectively, East and West Purley. 

East Purley. — In the time of Queen Elizabeth this estate belonged 
to Sir Thomas Saunder, remembrancer of the Exchequer ; who, on 
his marriage with the daughter of Sir Edmund Walsingham, settled it 
on her in dower. In 1580, their son and heir, Edmund Saunder of 
Charlwood, conveyed the reversion of the estate (or manor) of Purley, 
alias East Purley, to Arnold King, of Beckenham in Kent ; who, in 
the same year, transferred it to Edmund Gresham ; and he is supposed 
to have sold it to Mr. Harman Atwood, sen., to whom it belonged in 
1619. East Purley, or Purley Oaks, is now in the occupation of Mr. 
John Walter, farmer. 

West Purley. — The family of Purley probably became extinct 
before the middle of the fifteenth century. In 1442, Margaret Kiriel 
and Johanna Frollebury, who may have been coheiresses of that 
family, granted the lands of North Ridle and West Purle to John 
Stopynton (master of the Rolls) and John Kiriel; and four years 
later, Kiriel granted Pirle to Richard Colkote and William Elenbrig. 
This estate subsequently belonged to the family of Ive, who held it as 
late as 1538 ; soon after which, it was the property and residence of 
Henry Polsted, sen. ; who, jointly with his son, in 1554, conveyed it 
to Humphrey Cavell. It then passed in succession to several pro- 
prietors ; and in the reign of Charles the First, Ralph Hawtrey, who 
died seised of it, left several sons, who conveyed it to Lewis Audeley, 
esq. This gentleman, who had married the widow of Mr. Hawtrey, 
held the commission of Major in the army of the Parliament during 
the civil war, and was appointed by Oliver Cromwell, a commissioner 
for the regulation of church benefices. It is said that through his 
interest, the Rev. King Atwood, rector of Sanderstead, was allowed 



PURLEY HOUSE, ETC. — DIVERSIONS OF PURLEY. 43 

to continue the service of the established church in his parish during 
the interregnum." In 1661, Major Audeley conveyed this estate to 
llarman Atwood, the younger, who also obtained a further conveyance 
from the heirs of Ralph Hawtrey ; thus he became possessed of both 
East and West Purley, as well as Sanderstead ; and the whole property 
subsequently descended through the Wigsells to the present owner, 
Atwood Dalton Wigsell, esq. — West Purley is now tenanted by Edward 
Bedwell Kemble, esq. 

Purley House, on this estate, was formerly the property and 
residence of the late John Home Tooke, esq. ; whose celebrated 
philological work intituled, " Eitea Utepoenta, or the Diversions of 
Purley," was written here, and first published, in octavo, in 1786. 3 

Sanderstead House, or Place, which is the manorial residence, 
is at present occupied by George Clive, esq., a police magistrate of 
Wandsworth. The house, a spacious brick-built mansion, stands in a 
park of between fifty and sixty acres in extent (adjoining the church), 
in which are some large and stately elms ; and, behind the house, is a 
remarkably fine cedar of Lebanon. 4 

The Living of Sanderstead is a rectory, valued in the Taxation of 
Pope Nicholas at 1HL 13s. 4d.; and in the King's books at 71. 9s. 8^.: 
paying 7s. 7\d. for procurations, and 2s. Id. for synodals. The advow- 
son, which anciently belonged to the abbot of Hyde, near Winchester, 
was granted with the manor, by King Henry the Eighth, to Sir John 
Gresham ; and the patronage is now vested in Atwood Dalton Wig- 
sell, esq., as lord of the manor. 

2 For an account of the share of Major Audeley in the defeat of the Royalists at 
Kingston, in 1648, see Vol. i. p. 64. 

3 That work was afterwards enlarged into two vols., 4to., hut never completed. In the 
introduction the author, with reference to his own political opinions, has humourously 
alluded to Purley having been once the seat of Bradshaw, president of the High-Court 
of Justice at the trial of Charles the First. Mr. Tooke died at Wimbledon, in March, 
1812, and was buried at Ealing; yet it had long been his intention to be interred in his 
own garden, and he had a vault and tomb-stone prepared for that purpose under his own 
direction : on the latter was engraven this epitaph : — 

John Horne Tooke, 

Late Proprietor, and now Occupier, 

Of this spot, 

Was born in June 1736 ; 

Died in 

Aged years ; 

Contented and Grateful. 

* Some forty or fifty years ago, a good house, called the Place House, was bouglit of Sir 
John Stonchouse, by the Wigsells, by whom it was pulled down, and the ground laid into 
their park. 

G 2 



44 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Rectors of Sanderstead in and since 1800 : — 
John Courtney, A.M. 

Atwood Wigsell Wigsell, A.M. Died July the 5th, 1821.* 
John Courtney, A.M. Instituted August the 3rd, 1821. 
Sanderstead Church is dedicated to All-Saints, and consists of a 
nave and chancel, with north and south aisles extending the length of 
the nave only, separated by obtuse arches. It is substantially built 
with flint ; having stone quoins and window frames. At the west end 
is a slender tower, rough-cast, with two bells, and a shingled spire. 
The whole is in a state of excellent repair ; which was partly effected 
in 1828, and partly in 1832; in which latter year, the chancel was 
completely renovated by the Rev. John Courtney, the present in- 
cumbent. The only entrance is by a large south porch. In the east 
window, which is of the pointed form, and in three divisions, are 
some slight remains of painted glass ; but the symbol of the Trinity 
(mentioned by Manning) has been removed. 6 

There are many hatchments and monuments in this church ; to- 
gether with various old Brasses, some of which are in their original 
positions, and others detached : those most entitled to notice are the 
following. 

Against the north wall is a monument of white marble, shewing the 
effigy (under an arch), of a man in armour, kneeling before a desk, on 
which lies an open book : beneath, is this inscription : — 

Here lieth the bodie of John Ownsted Esquyer [of Sanderstede-corte], 
servaunt to the most excellent Princess and our dread Soveraigne Queene 
Elizabeth, and Serjant of her Ma lies Carriage by y e space of 40 yeres. He 
died in y e 66 yere of his age on the 9 th of August 1600. 

At the east end of the south aisle is a low altar-tomb, on which is 
the full-length statue (in white marble), of a lady in a winding-sheet, 
lying upon a mat ; her head on a cushion, and her right hand placed 
over the heart. The execution of the figure is unusually good ; and 
from the inscription, which is in Latin, we learn that it was sculptured 
in memory of Mary, daughter of Matthew Bedell, esq., and the wife, 
in succession, of Ralph Hawtrey, and Lewis Audeley, esqrs. ; 
both of whom were owners of this manor. She died on the 29th of 
June, 1655, at the age of forty-five. 

Of several memorials for the mercantile family of Mellish, the most 
striking is a black marble tablet placed against the south wall, between 
two Corinthian columns of white marble. It bears a long Latin in- 
scription to the memory of George Mellish, esq., of London, and of 
Sanderstead, who died on the 10th of May, 1654. Another inscrip- 

5 The widow of this gentleman died at Florence, in the August following, in child-birth, 
of a posthumous son and heir. c Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 572. 



MONUMENTS IN SANDERSTEAD CHURCH. \'< 

tion, on a white marble tablet affixed to a pillar on the north side of 

the church, records the death of Henry Mellish, merchant, of the 

Levant, " a person truely generous, who having with great vertue and 

Industrie indured the inconveniencies of several years travell in foreign 

countries, which contracted a lingering weakness on his body," died 

on the 24th of June, 1677, aged fifty-four. Beneath, are these 

verses : — 

" Even such is Time, who takes in trust 

Our youth, our joys, and all we have, 
And payes us home with earth and dust, 

Within a dark and silent grave ; 
When we have travelled all our wayes 
Shuts up the glory of our dayes : 
From all which earth, and grave, and dust, 
The Lord shall raise me up I trust." 

On the north wall is a marble monument (surmounted by the arms 

of Mellish), presenting the bust of a young man, with a large flowing 

wig. Beneath, are the following somewhat outrageously laudatory 

lines : — 

" Here lies a Youth who virtue's race had run, 
When scarce his yeares of manhood were begun : 
So swift a progress called for early rest, 
And plac'd his soul betimes among the blest. 
Another such our age despairs to find, n 

Of charming person and accomplish'd mind, > 

Where's manly sense and sweetest temper join'd. J 
But Fame's large volume would be fill'd to tell 
Those qualities in which he did excell ! 
Then, Reader, dropp a tear, and only say, 
Death saw the virtuous youth prepar'd to pay 
Great Nature's debt, and call'd before its day.'" 

Amongst the monuments to the Wirjsell family, is a white marble 
tablet in the chancel, inscribed to the memory of the Rev. Atwood 
Wigsell Wigselu, M.A., rector of this parish, who died in his twenty- 
seventh year, on the 5th of July, 1821. 

In the south aisle is a mural monument to the memory of George 
Smith, esq., of Selsdon, brother of Robert, Lord Carrington, nearly 
forty years M.P., and director of the East India Company. He died 
on the 26th of December, 1836. The monument was erected by his 
" widow and thirteen surviving sons and daughters." 

In the church-yard are several altar-tombs, and flat stones, to the 
memory of the Atwood family, who have a burial place here, sur- 
rounded by an iron-railing. — Much stained by exposure to the weather, 
is a coarse marble tomb, in memory of "Thomas Knight, late Mason- 
in-Chicf to the City of London, who dyed the 11th of June, 1680, 
aged fourty-three years." Some quaint verses conclude the inscription. 



46 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Nearly in the centre of the church-yard, is a remarkably fine old 
yew-tree ; and there are two or three smaller ones which, from their 
appearance, are yet more ancient. The parsonage is a plain brick 
building, of the date of 1680. 

WOODMANSTERNE. 
Woodmanston, or, as written by the parochial authorities, Woodman- 
sterne, is bounded, on the north and east, by Carshalton ; on the south, 
by Chipstead; and on the west, by Banstead. It is a small parish, 
partly consisting of downs, used for sheep walks, and reported to be the 
highest land in the county except Leith-hill. 1 The soil is chalk, with 
much flint. It is described as follows in the Domesday book : — 

" Richard (de Tonbridge holds in demesne Odemerestor. Azor held it of King Edward; 
and it was then assessed at 15 hides, and is now at the same, but never paid the geld. 
[nunquam geldum dedit.~] The arable land amounts to 3 carucates. There are 2 carucates 
in the demesne ; and one villain, and twelve cottars, with 3 carucates. There are eighteen 
bondmen : and a church ; and a mill at 20 shillings ; and 4 acres of meadow. The wood 
yields ten swine. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 10 pounds ; subsequently, 
at 100 shillings ; and now, at 8 pounds." 3 

Nigel de Mowbray, who lived in the reign of Henry the First, 
appears to have held this manor ; and he gave to the canons of St. 
Mary Overy, in Southwark, the church of Woodmansterne, with some 
others ; which grant was confirmed by the bishop of Winchester, in 
1174. The manor afterwards belonged to William de Ferrers, earl of 
Derby, who died 1254, leaving, by his first wife Sibil, daughter of 
William Marshall, earl of Pembroke, seven daughters ; one of whom, 
Maud, was thrice married; and by her first husband, William de Kyme, 
she had two daughters ; Mabil, the eldest of whom, was the wife of 
Fulk de Archiaco, who held the manor as her inheritance, and died 
seised of it, in or before 1304. This estate afterwards became the 
subject of controversy between his descendants, and their representa- 

1 The site of the parsonage, a most lovely spot, though by no means the most elevated 
land in the parish, is said to be on a level with the cross of St. Paul's cathedral. 

2 The designation in the record has been thought by some to be a mistake for Ode- 
mereston. The late Dr. Buchanan, (rector of the parish for more than half a century), 
was, however, accustomed to observe that Ode is the Anglo-Saxon Wode, omitting the 
W ; that Mere is to this day a lake, or pond, in the north of England ; that this parish, 
high as the ground is, has a great deal of wood, and several ponds, one of which is called 
Mere Pond ; that the two first syllables, therefore, give a plausible etymology for that 
part of the name ; but that the last wants explanation, unless Tor may be taken (and 
apparently it may) as a reference to the height of the ground. In the Taxation of Pope 
Nicholas, the parish is styled Wodemerethorne ; and in the Inquisitiones post Mortem, in 
the time of Edward the Second, Wodemerston, and Wodemerethorne. — (Manning, Surrey, 
vol. ii. p. 460.) We are informed, however, that in a deed of the 29th of Edward the 
First (1301), extant among the papers of the Lambert family of this parish, the ortho- 
graphy is the same as that which is now locally used — Woodmansterne. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF WOODMANSTERNE. 47 

tives, and those of his wife's sister, Cecily, the widow of John Beau- 
champ, of Ilacche, who ultimately vindicated their claim to the 
property. Woodmansterne appears to have been transferred, together 
with the Beauchamp estate at Chipstead, to successive proprietors of 
different families, till about the middle of the sixteenth century; and 
both were then held by the Scotts of Camberwell, who, however, had 
only a share of the Woodmansterne property. John Scott died in 
1558, seised of two-thirds of the manor of Woodmansterne. Robert 
Harrys, or Harris, had an interest in this manorial estate ; and in 
1608, Richard Eliot, esq., died seised of a purparty of the manor. 
How the several shares became united is uncertain; but in 1653, 
William Paynter, esq. of Gillingham in Kent, whose mother was the 
daughter of Robert Harris, conveyed the manor of Woodmansterne, 
the site of the manor, and lands here, to Sir Edmund Bowyer of 
Camberwell; and this estate afterwards passed, with the Bowyer 
property at Camberwell, to Joseph Windham, esq., who had married 
the neice of Edmund Bowyer, esq., the last heir-male of that family. 
From the Windham family it passed to that of Sir — . Smith, bart.; 
but is now said to be the property of the Rev. John George Storie, 
vicar of Camberwell. The manor-house is in the occupation of 
George Reid, esq. (brother of Sir John Rae Reid, bart., of Ewell- 
Grove, in this county), a principal landowner in the parish. 

The Lambert family has had a house with land here, which is said 
to have passed in regular descent, ever since the Conquest. The 
present house, near the church, is in the occupation of its owner, Mrs. 
Lambert. Its age is evidently considerable ; and it contains an old 
oak-room, regarded as curious. 

The advowson of this living was given to the priory of St. Mary 
Overy, in Southwark, by Nigel de Mowbray, early in the twelfth 
century ; but it appears from the Valor of the 20th of Edward the 
First, that the monks of Bee, in Normandy, derived a pension of 30s. 
from its revenues. It was then valued at 13 marks; and in the King's 
books, at 11/. 7 s. 6d. ; paying 8s. 9d. for procurations and synodals. 
It is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell. The Registers commence in 
1566, but are not complete. The patronage is vested in the crown. 

Hectors of Woodmansterne in and since 1800: — 

Gilbert Buchanan, LL.D. Instituted on the 2nd of January, 

1784: died in 1833, or 1834. 
C. Maitland Long. Instituted early in 1834. He held the 
living not more than three months, and was never resident. 
Charles John Crawford, M.A. Instituted on the 29th of 
May, 1834. 



48 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

The Church is dedicated to St. Peter, and consists of a nave and 
chancel, which are mostly of flint : the whole is rough-cast. A very 
small wooden tower, with two bells, rises through the roof, at the west 
end, and is surmounted by a shingled spire. 

This edifice was repaired in 1829 ; and a small vestry was erected a 
few years ago, on the south of the chancel ; the interior is narrow and 
dark, but kept remarkably neat. Its entire length is about seventy- 
five feet; and its breadth, twenty feet. The chancel is wainscotted : 
the pews at the east end, the pulpit, and reading-desk, are also of oak. 
At the west end is a gallery, and a small organ, given by George Reid, 
esq. The font is a neat basin of grey marble, on a stone shaft. In 
the east window, which is separated by mullions into three principal 
lights, are small figures of St. Peter and St. Paul in painted glass ; the 
former of which was presented about forty years ago, by Joseph Wind- 
ham, esq., when lord of the manor: the latter is mentioned by Aubrey, 
among the " Vestigia''' which, in his time, ornamented the chancel 
windows. 3 — Some considerable repairs, and improvements of the in- 
terior of this church, are shortly to be commenced. 

Against the north wall of the chancel are two oval tablets of white 
marble ; the first being inscribed to the memory of the Rev. Joseph 
Casberd, A.M., " Prebendary of Bristoll xxxiv years, minister of St. 
Thomas, in Southwark, xxxv years, and rector of this church xxi 
years," who died on the 30th of August, 1751, in his sixty-first year; — 
and the other, in commemoration of Jane, the wife of William Lam- 
bert, esq., of this parish, who died October the 29th, 1791, aged thirty 
years : also, of William Lambert, esq., who died November the 5th, 
1838, aged seventy-seven years; and of Jane, their daughter, who died 
December the 20th, 1837, aged fifty years. Over the latter tablet 
are the arms of Lambert impaling those of Le Grand. 

In the church-yard is the tomb of Captain Jacob Barbar, and 
Susanna his wife ; the former of whom died in March, 1717, aged 
sixty-one; and the latter in May, 1718, in her forty-fifth year. 
Aubrey states, that the lady married him from gratitude, the Captain 
having saved her life by swimming, in a shipwreck, " to the manifest 
danger of his own life." 

Formerly, the farmers in this parish had great difficulty to obtain a 
sufficiency of manure ; and their poorer lands were kept in saintfoin, 

3 Aubrey, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 83, 84. Above the figure of St. Peter are the arms of 
Scott and Bretinghurst, viz. — Quarterly, 1st and 4th, Arg. on a Fess, Sab. 3 Boars' Heads, 
couped, Or ; 2nd and 3rd, Az. on a Fess dancette, Arg. three Martlets, Gu. The same 
arms are mentioned by Lysons as being engraved on brass, on the monument of John 
Scott, esq. (in Camberwell church), who was a Baron of the Exchequer in the reign of 
Henry the Eighth. 



THE OAKS. A FETE CHAMPETRE. 49 

seven or eight years, before being broken up for wheat, which was 
then sown without dressing. Of late years, however, the principal 
landowners have, in despite of a heavy expense, obtained manure 
from the metropolis; and it seems to have answered their purpose. 
Some of the downs have, also, been broken up, and put under tillage. 
The Oaks. — This delightful residence, long the favourite hunting- 
seat of the late Earl of Derby, the founder of the Oaks and Derby 
stakes at Epsom races, is in the parish of Woodmansterne, about two 
miles south from the village of Carshalton, and on the verge of Ban- 
stead downs. It is understood to have taken its name from a grove of 
ancient oaks, called "Lambert's Oaks," still preserved in the demesne. 
The house, in its original form, was built by a society of gentlemen 
known as "the Hunters' Club," to whom the land was leased by 
Mr. Lambert, whose family had been owners for many generations. 
Intended as a place of festivity in the hunting season, it was occupied, 
in succession, by Mr. Simmons ; Sir Thomas Gosling, the banker ; and 
Colonel, afterwards Lieut. -general, Burgo} r ne ; by the latter of whom, 
the house and grounds were much improved, and a dining-room built, 
(42 feet by 21 feet 6 inches), with an arched ceiling and coved elliptical 
ends, enriched by a cornice supported by twenty-eight small Corinthian 
columns, a sculptured chimney-piece, medallions, and other decora- 
tions: a better proportioned apartment, or one more pleasing in its 
general effect, can rarely be seen. Burgoyne sold the lease to Edward, 
11th earl of Derby, whose youngest daughter, the lady Charlotte, he 
had secretly married, when yet a subaltern. Whilst the oaks belonged 
to that nobleman, a most splendid Fete Champetre was given here in 
June, 1774, in honour of the approaching nuptials of his grandson, 
lord Stanley, with the lady Betty Hamilton, (the " Queen of the 
Oaks"), the only daughter of the duke of Hamilton and Brandon and 
the duchess of Argyle. 4 

* Lord Stanley was married at Argyle-house, in London, on the 23rd of June, 1774 ; 
but the festival at the Oaks took place on the 9th of that month, just a fortnight previous 
to the wedding. On that occasion, a magnificent pavilion of the Corinthian order was 
erected in the gardens from the designs of Robert Adam, esq., architect, (one of the 
builders of the Adelphi); which included a state-room one hundred and twenty feet long; 
with corresponding ball and supper rooms ; all which were superbly decorated. Among 
the invited company (who were arrayed in fancy dresses), were nearly three hundred of 
our principal nobility ; and many thousand persons were admitted into the grounds to 
witness the entertainments ; the report of which had excited great interest, this being the 
first Fete Champetre given in this country. All the arrangements were conducted by 
General Burgoyne, who wrote a Sylvan Masque for this festival, the music of which was 
composed by Bartholomew, and was afterwards introduced at Drury-lane theatre, in 
Burgoyne's once-popular drama, called "The Maid of the Oaks." The rooms and 
gardens were, at night, most splendidly illuminated; and the trees wore hung \\ ith festoons 
of beautiful flowers. Rural games were introduced on the principal lawn; and dances, 
VOL. IV. II 



50 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

On the decease of his grandfather in February, 1776, Lord Stanley, 
the late earl, succeeded to the estates and honours of his family ; and 
his lordship having acquired the fee-simple of this property in the 
year 1788, inclosed much of the common-field, and made a plantation 
about two miles in circumference ; the whole at this time comprising 
upwards of one hundred and eighty acres, in park and wood, shrubbery 
and garden, arable and pasture. Lord Derby also added, at the west 
end, a large brick building, with a circular tower at each angle ; a 
similar erection at the east end, but of less elevation, rendering the 
structure somewhat uniform. Thus, although without any pretension 
to architectural elegance, the effect of the exterior, in many parts 
richly mantled with ivy, is extremely pleasing. The drawing-room, 
contiguous to that appropriated to the festive board, is of handsome 
proportions, (thirty-nine feet by thirty-three, and about twenty in 
height), with a French window opening to the lawn. Lord Derby, 
who was remarkable for his hospitality, had a pack of stag-hounds on 
this establishment, and could accommodate his guests with upwards of 
fifty bed-chambers. 

After the decease of the earl, on October 21st, 1834, this estate was 
transferred to Sir Charles Grey; and whilst in his possession, was 
offered for sale by auction in June, 1840, but as no sufficient bidding 
was obtained, it remained unsold until the autumn of 1842. It was 
then disposed of, by private contract, to two gentlemen, Joseph Smith, 
esq., and John Jones, esq. ; who, at considerable expense, have placed 
the mansion in a state of complete repair. Having married two 
sisters, they have converted the house into distinct residences, but 
without in the slightest degree injuring its effect, either en masse, or 
in detail. 

both serious and comic, were performed under the direction of the ballet-master of the 
Opera-house; independently of minuets and country dances by the assembled company. — 
The lady for whose entertainment these joyous scenes had been devised, died on the 14th 
of March, 1797 ; and the earl married 2ndly, on the 1st of May following, the celebrated 
actress, Miss Farren, who died on the 23rd of April, 1829. 

Two cleverly-executed engravings, by Caldwell and C. Grignion, (each 22 inches by 
I63 inches), of the interiors of the ball and supper rooms in the pavilion, were published 
in 1780. They give a fair idea of the gay dresses of the company, and of the rich effect 
of the architectural arrangements and decorations. A detailed description of the Fete 
was published in the "Gentleman's Magazine" for June, 1774 ; and a more brief account 
in the "Annual Register" for the same year. — During the American war General Bur- 
goyne led the army which was to penetrate from Canada into the revolted provinces. He 
experienced serious reverses; and was obliged to surrender his entire force to the 
Americans at Saratoga. Being disgusted with his reception from government, after his 
return from America, he resigned his military employments. " The Maid of the Oaks " 
was not the only dramatic production of his pen : he wrote, also, " The Heiress," and 
" Richard, Cceur de Lion ;" and converted Beaumont and Fletcher's " Custom of the 
Country" into "The Lord of the Manor." He died suddenly in June, 1792, and was 
interred in the cloisters of Westminster abbey. 



PARISH OF BEDDINGTON. — ROMAN REMAINS. . ') 1 

The views in this demesne are finely diversified; the gardens — 
fruit, flower, and vegetable, (with conservatories, peach-houses, &c.) — 
are extremely well laid out; and the lawns are spacious, and command 
extensive and varied prospects over many parts of Surrey, Kent, and 
Middlesex. 5 

BEDDINGTON. 

This parish is bounded on the north by Mitcham ; on the east, by 
Croydon ; on the south, by Coulsdon and Woodmansterne ; and on 
the west, by Carshalton. It contains about three thousand eight 
hundred acres of land ; of which, upwards of three thousand acres 
are under tillage ; and the remainder, pasture and gardens. Even in 
the Conqueror's time, there were twenty-five plough-lands in the two 
manors, noticed under Beddingtone in the Domesday book, and which 
appear to correspond with those afterwards called Home-Beddington, 
or West-court, and Huscarle's manor. Within this parish, also, is the 
manor of Wallington, which gave name to the hundred, and the 
reputed manors of Bandon, or Forester's, Freres, and the archbishop of 
Nazareth's. 1 

Within this parish, and especially at Woodcote, urns and other 
antique relics, apparently of Roman origin, have been found. The 
ancient road called Stane-street, crossing this county from south to 
north, appears to have passed by Woodcote, which is supposed by 
Talbot (the commentator on the Itinerary of Antoninus), to have been 
the site of the station called Noviomagus ; 8 and Camden and other 
learned antiquaries have advanced the same opinion. Salmon states 
that foundations of buildings have been discovered, and urns, spear- 
heads, and other ancient remains disinterred, both at Beddington and 
Wallington. 

5 The pleasure grounds, which contain some fine cedars, American oaks, and other 
exotics, are also remarkable for many ancient beeches. In one of these trees, near the 
mansion, there was said to be a spring, as it was always found to contain water, although 
the well, by which the house is supplied, is three hundred feet deep. The statement is 
evidently a fallacy ; and the alleged phenomenon is readily accounted for. The branches 
of this magnificent tree are intertwisted together in a most extraordinary manner, form- 
ing capacious hollows in the trunk ; those hollows receiving and retaining the rain which, 
from time to time, may be said to distil from the branches. From the well, which adjoins 
the house, the water is raised by machinery, worked by a horse, and conveyed to the top 
of the building. The supply is copious, and of the finest quality. 

1 In the 2Gth of Edward the Third's reign, the archbishop of Nazareth demised "his 
manor of Beddington" to John Burgeys, citizen of London, for thirteen yearsi but 
Manning, with much probability, considers that this was nothing more than a house 
belonging to the archbishop, the houses of the Religious [Ecclesiastics] being at that time 
frequently called manors.— Surrey, vol. ii. p. - r >28. 

2 See Leland, Itinerary, vol. iii. p. 136, and 157. 

u '1 



52 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Manor of Home-Beddington. — 

" Robert de Watevile holds of Richard [de Tonbridge] Beddingtone, which Azor held 
of King Edward. It was then assessed at 25 hides: now at 3 hides. The arable land 
consists of 6 carucates. One carucate is in demesne ; and there are sixteen villains, and 
fourteen cottars, with 5 carucates. There is a church ; and five bondmen ; and two mills 
at 40 shillings ; and 24 acres of meadow. The wood yields five swine. Fifteen houses 
in London pertain to this manor, paying 12 shillings and 4 pence. In the time of King 
Edward it was valued at £10, and the same at present ; but when received, at £6." 

The de Wateviles, by purchase or otherwise, subsequently obtained 
full possession of this manor, and held it immediately of the crown, 
by the service of rendering, annually, a wooden cross-bow. 

In 1159, Ingelram de Funteneys [Fontibus] and Sibyl de Watevile, 
sister of William de Watevile, and wife of Alan Pirot, gave the advow- 
son of the church of Beddington to the priory of Bermondsey. 3 In 
1196, the estate had fallen into the hands of the king; for in that 
year the sheriff of Surrey rendered an account of 8/. for the firm of 
Bedinton, which had belonged to Ingelram de Fontibus ; and from the 
Testa de Nevill we find that Richard the First gave ten shillings rent in 
Beddington to William de Es. His son, Eustace de Es, died in 1205 ; 
and the land again reverted to the crown. Henry the Third, in 1245, 
granted to Raymund de Laik, or Lucas, and his heirs, all the lands in 
Beddington which had been held by the family of Eys, or Es, to hold 
by the service of presenting a wooden bow at Pentecost. 4 Isabella, 
the daughter and heiress of Raymund de Laik,married Reginald Gace- 
lin; and dying in 1262, left a son called John de Roges, or Rogers, 
whose legitimacy was disputed ; but afterwards, in 1287, he paid 20s. 
for the relief of the lands held by Isabel of the king in capite, at the 
time of her decease. He died without issue in 1302; when the manor 
escheated to the king, Edward the First; who, in the same year, 
granted it to Thomas Corbet, his valet (valectus suus), to hold on the 
same terms as the preceding tenants. The estate remained in the 
possession of the Corbets until the 12th year of Edward the Third; 
when Thomas de Merle, who had probably bought it of the Corbet 
family, obtained the king's license to hold it under the same condition 
as it had been previously held. 

Some irregularities in the transfer of the manor (1st, to Thomas de 
Brayton, clerk, and 2ndly, to Richard de Wyloghby, or Willoughby, 
sen.) soon after took place; and in 1345, the king granted his pardon 
for an alienation without license, on the payment of a fine of 100s. 
Sir Richard de Wyloghby had an only daughter, named Lucy, who 
was first married to Sir Thomas Huscarle, and afterwards to Nicholas 

3 Dugdale, Monasticon, vol. v. p. 97. 

4 Cart. Antiq. K. K. 7. 29 Hen. III.; in Harl. MS. No. 85. 



DESCENT OF THE MANORS OF BEDDINGTON. 53 

Carreu ; to the latter of whom, and his heirs, the fee-simple of this 

manor was alienated by his wife's father, about the year 1360, it being 

then of the annual value of 100s. Shortly after, Carreu purchased 

the other manor called Huscarle'' s ; and hence, both manors became 

consolidated, and (with a short intermission,) have ever since been 

held by the Carew family. 

Manor of Beddington-Huscarle. — This manor is thus described 

in the Domesday book : — 

" Milo Crispin holds Beddingtone, and William the son of Turold holds it of him. Ulf 
held it of King Edward ; and it was then assessed at 25 hides ; now at 3 only. There 
are 6 carucates of arable land. One is in demesne ; and thirteen villains, and thirteen 
cottars have 6 carucates. There is one bondman, and two mills at 35 shillings, and 20 
acres of meadow. The wood yields five hogs. In the time of King Edward the manor 
was valued at £10; afterwards at £6; and now at £9 10s. Twenty one houses, (13 in 
London, and 8 in Sudwerche, Southwark), belonging to this manor, which paid 12 shillings, 
have been detached, and are held by Earl Roger [de Montgomery]." 

This manor appears to have been held by the Huscarles as early 
as the reign of King John; who, in his 17th year, granted to 
Dionysius, his chaplain, land at Bedington, which had belonged to 
William Huscarle. The lady Beatrice Huscarle was in possession in 
1321 ; and in 1348, (21st Edward the Third,) Bishop Edindon granted 
license to Sir Thomas Huscarle, and Lucy his wife (the daughter of 
Sir Richard Wyloghby), to have a private chapel in their manor-house 
at Beddington. In the following year, it was found that Simon at 
Woodcote held a toft and six acres of land here, of Thos. de Huscarle, 
by the service of one rose, of the value of three shillings per annum. 
After the decease of Sir Thomas, his relict, as before stated, married 
Nicholas de Carreu, who subsequently obtained releases, from the 
several coheirs of Sir Thomas Huscarle, of all their respective claims 
and rights as to this property. 

Nicholas de Carew was a person of considerable talent. In 1362, 
he was one of the knights of the shire for Surrey; and in 1372, he 
was made keeper of the privy-seal, by Edward the Third, who likewise 
appointed him one of his executors. He died in 1391 (14th Richard 
the Second), seised of the manors of IIome-Beddington and Hus- 
carles, and several other manors and portions of manors in the neigh- 
bouring parishes.* 

Nicholas, his son and heir, was sheriff of Surrey in the 15th of 

s By his will, dated at Beddington in 1387, he directed that his body should be interred 
between the grave of his brother John and the south door of the church of St. Mary at 
Beddington : and he devised considerable legacies to that church, and for other religious 
purposes. He gave to his daughter Margaret Turbevyle, 100 marks; to his daughter 
Lucie, prioress of Roosparre [Rasper, in Sussex], £10 ; to Joan Huscarle, a nun, 40s.; 
leaving the residue of his property between his son Nicholas de Carru and Nicholas de 
Mockyng. 



54 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Richard the Second ; and again in the 2nd of Henry the Fourth : he 
also represented this county in several parliaments. In the 9th of 
Henry the Fifth (1422), he made a settlement of his estates; from 
which it appears that he had manors and possessions in, at least, 
eighteen different parishes in Surrey. 6 Dying in 1432, he bequeathed 
this manor to Nicholas, his second son, (his eldest having previously 
deceased), who was sheriff of Surrey in the 19th of Henry the Sixth. 
He married Margaret, daughter of Sir Roger Fienes, knt. ; by whom 
he had two sons, Nicholas and James ; of whom the former succeeded 
him in 1458. He died in 1466, leaving an only son, a minor; after 
whose decease, without issue, this property descended to Richard 
Carew, who was the only son of the above James, by his wife 
Eleanor; a daughter of Thomas, lord Hoo and Hastings, and of his 
second wife, Eleanor, daughter of Leonard, lord Welles, of which 
family her issue were also coheirs. Richard Carew was made a knight 
banneret at the battle of Blackheath in 1497 ; in 1501, he was sheriff 
of Surrey ; and he held the high office of lieutenant of Calais in the 
reigns of Henry the Seventh and Henry the Eighth. He officiated 
as sewer at the enthronization of Archbishop Warham in 1504-5; and 
dying on the 18th of May, 1520, was interred in the church at Bed- 
dington. 

Sir Nicholas Carew, son and heir of the preceding, succeeded his 
father in the lieutenancy of Calais. Having been introduced at 
court when young, he became a great favourite with Henry the 
Eighth, who appointed him one of the gentlemen of his privy-cham- 
ber ; and he was for several years the almost constant companion of 
the king, " and a partaker with him in all justs, tournaments, masques, 
and other diversions of the same kind, with which that reign abounded," 
and which are so minutely described in Hall's Chronicle. In 1523, 
he was raised to the high office of master of the horse; and afterwards 
created a knight of the Garter. Notwithstanding his great obligations 
to his master, he appears to have engaged in a conspiracy with the 
Marquess of Exeter; Henry Pole, lord Montacute; Sir Edward Neville, 
and others (all zealous Catholics), to overthrow his government, and 
seat Cardinal Pole upon the throne. The plot was discovered through 
the agency of Sir Geoffrey Pole, lord Montacute's brother, and after 
a summary trial, all the conspirators were executed ; Sir Nicholas, 
himself, was beheaded on Tower-hill, the 3rd of March, 1539, at the 
age of forty-three ; when, according to Holinshed, he made " a godly 
confession, both of his fault and superstitious faith." He was buried 
in the church of St. Botolph, Aldersgate ; in which there is a small 

6 Vide Rot. Claus. 9th Henry V. m. 6. 



SOME ACCOUNT OF THE CAREW FAMILY. 55 

monument inscribed with his name, and of others of his family who 
were interred there. 7 

Having been attainted of treason, the forfeited estates of Sir 
Nicholas were seized by the crown, and the custody of the manor- 
house at Beddington was entrusted to Sir Michael Stanhope. 8 The 
manor was subsequently granted, for life, to Walter Gorges, who died 
in 1553 (6th of Edward the Sixth); and in the same year, the king 
regranted this and other estates, the property of the Carews, to 
Thomas, lord Darcy, of Chiche, (then lord-chamberlain), in exchange 
for manors and lands in Essex, which he had previously bestowed upon 
that nobleman. 

Sir Francis Carew, the only son of Sir Nicholas, by Elizabeth his 
wife, daughter of Sir Thomas Brian, knt., was in the service of Queen 
Mary, through whose favour he obtained the restitution of his ancestral 
inheritance, under a grant made by the Queen in July, 1554, and who 
had taken a reconveyance from Lord Darcy, of all the Carew estates 
which had been given to him by her brother. For greater security, 
however, Sir Francis himself took a new conveyance, by purchase, 
from that nobleman, under a license granted in the 2nd and 3rd of 
Philip and Mary. After being thus secured in the full possession of 
his estate, this gentleman erected a magnificent mansion at Bedding- 
ton : in which he had the honour of being twice visited by Queen 
Elizabeth, in the years 1599 and 1600. He died, unmarried, on the 
16 th of May, 1611, at the age of eighty-one, having bequeathed this 
and other estates to Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, the youngest son of 
his sister Anne, whom he had adopted ; and who, in consequence, 
assumed the name and arms of Carew. He died in 1644; and his 
son and successor, Sir Francis Carew, K.B., died in 1649. From that 
time, the inheritance descended regularly to Sir Nicholas Carew, who 
was created a baronet in 1714; and elected a knight of the shire for 

7 The following traditionary anecdote relating to Sir Nicholas Carew, is given by- 
Fuller : — " Tradition in this family reporteth, how King Henry, then at bowls, gave this 
Knight opprobrious Language, betwixt jest and earnest, to which the other returned an 
Answer more true than discretionary, as more consulting therein his own Animosity than 
Allegiance. The King, who in this kind would give and not take, being no Good Fellow 
in tart Repartees, was so highly offended thereat, that Sir Nicholas fell from the top of 
his Favour to the bottom of his Displeasure, and was bruised to Death thereby. This 
was the true cause of his Execution, though in our Chronicles all is scored on his com- 
plying in a Plot with Henry, marquess of Exeter, and Henry, Lord Montague." — Fuller, 
Worthies, vol. ii. p. 379 ; edit. 1811. 

8 Among the Harleian manuscripts is a volume containing an Inventory of the Ward- 
robe of King Henry the Eighth, including " The Guarderobe at the Mannour of Beding- 
ton in the Countie of Surrey, in the Charge of Sir Michael Stanhopp Knight. Reaper of 
the same House." In this inventory is mentioned, a press, made with drawers, full of 
Evidences, Court-rolls, and other writings, "as well concerning Sir Nicholas Carew, his 
landes, as other men's landcs." — Vide 1Iakm;ian MSS. No. L419, art. 30, fol. 373. 



56 HISTORY OF SURREY. — "W ALDINGTON HUNDRED. 

Surrey in 1722. He died in March, 1726-7, and was succeeded by 
his grandson, Sir Nicholas Hacket Carew, bart. ; whose decease 
occurred on the 8 th of August, 1762. By his will, dated on the 1st 
of July in the same year, he devised all his estates to Mr. William 
Pellatt, an attorney in trust, to permit his only surviving daughter, 
Catherine, to hold the manor of Beddington for life, and to pay her 
the net amount of the rents, if she continued single ; but on her death, 
or marriage, the estate was to devolve on the eldest and other sons of 
his cousin, Dr. John Fountain, dean of York, in tail-male ; remainder 
to the eldest son of his kinsman, William Farrer, in tail-male ; re- 
mainder to the eldest son of Richard Gee, esq., of Orpington in Kent, 
descended from Philippa Carew, an aunt of Sir Nicholas Carew, bart., 
mentioned above. Miss Catherine Carew died unmarried in 1769; 
and the only son of the dean of York having died in 1780, before he 
had attained the age of twenty-five, at which he was to inherit, the 
estate came into the possession of Richard Gee, esq. ; who, in 1780, 
obtained an act of parliament, authorizing him to take the name and 
arms of the family of Carew. 9 

The Manor of Wallington. — This manor, called Waleton in the 
Domesday book, gave name to the hundred, and is thus described : — 

"The King holds Waleton in demesne. It was assessed at 11 hides in the time of King 
Edward, as at present. The arable land consists of 1 1 carucates, one of which is in 
demesne ; and there are fifteen villains, and fourteen bordars, with ten carucates. There 
are three bondmen ; and two mills, at 30 shillings ; and 8 acres of meadow. The wood 
belonging to it is in Kent. Richard de Tonbridge holds of this manor one virgate, with 
the wood, whence he removed a countryman, who dwelt there. Now it yields to the 
Sheriff 10 shillings a year. The whole manor, in the time of King Edward, was valued 
at 15 pounds; now at 10 pounds." 

It is stated in the Testa de Nevill that Henry the Second granted a 
part of the manor of Waletun, in the hundred of Waletun (or Walling- 
ton), to Maurice de Creon ; who gave it, with his daughter, to Guy 
de la Val ; and he, according to Manning, having joined the barons 
in the war against King John, 10 his estate was seized by the officers of 

9 Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 527. See, also, the Pedigree of Carew, in the same 
volume. — Further particulars of the descent will be annexed to the account of the manor- 
house. 

10 Banks, (Dormant and Extinct Baronage, vol. i. p. 66,) probably on the authority 
of Dugdale, says — " This Guy, who married the daughter of Maurice de Creon, died in 
the first of John ; and was succeeded by Gilbert de la Val, said to have been in arms 
against King John, in the 17th of his reign." — Matt. Paris (Hist. Angl. p. 252,) mentions 
Gilbert de la Val as one of the twenty-five barons appointed to secure the performance of 
the stipulations contained in the Great Charter and the Forest Charter, extorted from 
King John ; and he appears to have been a prominent member of the confederacy against 
that tyrannical prince. Gilbert de la Val, therefore, who may have been the brother or 
nephew of Guy, must have been the baron whose estate at Waletun was seized by King 
John, and thus permanently alienated. 



MANORS OF WALLINGTON AND BANDON. 57 

the crown; and John Fitz-Lucy, who subsequently obtained a grant 
of it, incurred a forfeiture by remaining in Normandy : the king then 
gave it to Eustace de Curtenay, or Courtenay. It subsequently be- 
longed to the families of Salinis, Walter de la Lynde, and Lodelawe ; 
and Katharine, widow of Thomas Lodelawe, died seised of this manor 
in 1394, 17th of Richard the Second. On her decease, the reversion 
devolved on Margaret, daughter of Thomas Lodelawe the younger, 
and wife of Sir John Dymock ; whose descendants held Tooting, and 
probably Wallington also, until the 35th of Elizabeth ; about which 
time, Sir Edward Dymock sold this manor to James Harrington, esq. 
(afterwards knighted) ; who appears to have transferred it, in 1596, to 
Sir Francis Carew. His family continued owners until 1684 ; when 
Sir Nicholas Carew granted it for a term of five hundred years from 
Michaelmas 1683, to Robert Spencer, Anthony Bowyer, and John 
Spencer. Afterwards, this estate was conveyed to William Bridges, 
esq., surveyor-general of the Ordnance; and he, dying in 1714, 
devised it to his sister, Elizabeth Bridges, spinster, who resided at 
Wallington-House. She died in 1745, having by her will, dated in 
April, 1743, bequeathed this property to her great-nephew, Bridges 
Baldwin, esq. (afterwards knighted) ; with remainders, on failure of 
his issue-male, to two other great-nephews ; in consequence of which, 
the estate descended to Win. Bridges, esq., who, dying in 1805, devised 
it to Brook Bridges, esq. ; and his son John is the present owner. 

The Manor of Bandon. — But few notices of this manor are found 
in ancient records. Lysons says — " It probably took its name from 
Margery de Bandon, or some one of that name, whose property it 
was : her land is mentioned in an old rental of Reginald Forester's." 
It is more probable, however, that the family to which this lady 
belonged was named from the manor ; over which seignorial jurisdic- 
tion was claimed by Edmund, earl of Cornwall, in 1279. In the 3rd 
of Edward the Second, Simon Stowe appears to have had property 
here ; for in that year, he obtained a writ, ad quod Damnum, for the 
brethren of the Hospital of St. Thomas, Southwark, relative to the 
transfer of a messuage and lands in Bedyngton, Bandon, and other 
places in Surrey. Early in the reign of Edward the Third, Reginald 
le Forester held a messuage and eighty acres of land in Bandon and 
Beddington of Thomas Corbet, as of his manor of Beddington, by 
the service of 8s. 4d. a year ; and the grant was confirmed by letters 
patent, dated 13th of Edward the Third. The manor of Bandon, 
together with Beddington, at length came into the possession of the 
Carew family; and Nicholas Canu, in 1448, obtained a grant of the 
leet of Bandon and Beddington, at an annual rent of 6a. 8(£; and the 

VOL. IV. I 



58 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

property has since descended, with the other estates of the Carews, to 
their present representative." 

The Living of Beddington is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell ; 
valued in the Taxation of Pope Nicholas at 40 marks, from which 
was deducted 100s. payable to the prior of Bermondsey ; to whom 
the advowson had been given by Sibylla de Wateville and Ingram de 
Fountenays, (the owners of the manor), in 1159; and in 1530, Sir 
Nicholas Carew presented to the rectory, on demise from the abbot 
and convent. On the subsequent dissolution of the monastery, and 
the attainder of Carew, the patronage beqame vested in the crown ; 
but Sir Francis Carew having procured a reversal of his father's 
attainder, and recovered the family estates, had this advowson also, and 
it still remains annexed to the manor. In the King's books the value 
of the living is stated at 13Z. 16s. 8c?.; paying for synodals, 9s. 8|c?. 12 — In 
1841, the tithes were commuted for a rent-charge of 1212/. per annum. 

11 Of the other manors, or reputed manors in this parish, but little information can be 
obtained. — That called Foresters may have been so designated from Reginald le Forester, 
who held lands in Bandon and Beddington in the 3rd of Edward the Third ; in which 
year he probably died. Reginald le Forester, who had a license for an oratory in his 
manor-house in the parish of Beddington, in 1347, may have been the son of this gentle- 
man. The manor appears, at length, to have been united with that of Bandon ; for 
Nicholas Carew, esq., who died in 1467, is stated (in the Inquisitiones post Mortem, for 
the 6th of Edward the Fourth,) to have been seised, inter alia, of the manor of Bandon, 
alias Forsters. 

The estate here belonging to the brethren of the Hospital of St. Thomas, Southwark, 
already noticed in the account of Bandon, was styled the manor of the Freres, Friars, or 
Brethren. In the reign of Richard the Second, it was granted to Nicholas Carreu, in 
exchange for some lands at Lambeth, as appears from the Patent-rolls of the second year 
of that king. 

The Prior and Convent of Merton held lands and tenements in Beddington, Bandon, 
and Wallington, in the reign of Edward the Third. It appears from the valuation of 
ecclesiastical property made in the 32nd of Henry the Eighth, that there was a fee farm- 
rent of 6s. 8d. from lands at Bedyngton ; 2l. from Cross lands in Wallyngton, and 2s. from 
a mill there, belonging to the priory at its dissolution. — Dugdale, Monast. vol. vi. p. 248. 

12 In the year 1454 a Commission was issued to inquire into the value of this rectory ; 
and in the certificate returned to the bishop ( Waynflete) was a specific statement, both of its 
revenues, and its reprises, or deductions. We gather from it, that, at the time, wheat was 
at 5s. a quarter ; barley at 3s. a quarter ; amLoats at 20 pence a quarter • — that the value 
of a lamb was sixpence ; and a fleece of wool, 2~d.: the tithe of the mill was 16s. 8d.; 
that of the rabbits and doves of Nicholas Carew, 13s. 4d. ; and of the rabbits of Synclo 
(probably Saintlow), 2s.: the offerings amounted to 18s. — The total of the revenues was 
21/. 2s. 3d.; and that of reprises — which included the charges for collecting, carrying, 
and thrashing the corn, for collecting the wool and lambs, for bread, wine, frankincense 
and wax (3s. 4i.), for annual repairs (1/.), and the abbot of Bermondsey's pension (5?.), 
amounted to 11?. 15s. 4§d. Lysons, Environs, vol. i. pp. 62, 63 ; from Regist. Winton. 

A distinct portion of the revenues of this living, forming a sinecure benefice, was 
detached from it at an early period, the patronage of which was annexed to the manor of 
Beddington-Huscarle. Its emoluments in 1473, estimated at 40s. nett, principally arose 



RECTORS OF BEDDINGTON. BEUDINGTON CHURCH. 



59 



The Registers commence with the year 1538. Among the entries is 
the following: — "William Stuart, commonly called Old Scott, aged one 
hundred and ten years and two months, was buried Jan. 31, 1704-5." 
Rectors of Beddington in and since 1800: — 

John Bromfield Ferrers, A.M. Instituted in January, 1783: 
died on the 6th of June, 1841, at the age of eighty-three; 
having held the living fifty-eight years. 
James Hamilton, A.M. Instituted in August, 1841. 

Among the rectors of Beddington was John Leng, D.D., who in 1723 was made 
bishop of Norwich, and held this living, in commendam, until his death, at the age of 
sixty-two, occasioned by the small-pox, which he caught at the coronation of George the 
Second, in 1727. This prelate preached the Sermons at Boyle's Lecture in Bow church, in 
1719, afterwards published : he likewise published other Sermons, and was the editor of 
two of the Comedies of Aristophanes, and of the six Comedies of Terence. He was 
buried at St. Margaret's, Westminster. 




BEDDINGTON CHURCH. 



Beddington Church is mentioned in the Domesday book ; but no 
part of the present structure can be referred to the remote era of that 
record. It would seem, indeed, from the style of the architecture, to 
have been erected during the reign of Richard the Second ; a surmise, 
receiving corroboration from a bequest made by Nicholas de Carreu, 

from the tithes of two hundred acres of land, called Huscarles Feod (fee), on the north 
side of the church ; and from a house and twenty acres of land on the south side. The 
Rev. Charles Carew, who held the superior rectory of Beddington from March 1530 to 
1540, was also the portionist, or holder of this free benefice. After his attainder and 
execution, as an accomplice in the plot for which his relation (Sir Nicholas Carew) 
suffered, the king, in August 1540, presented this sinecure to Richard Benese; who is the 
last portionist whose name occurs in the registers of the diocese. He had been a canon 
of Merton priory ; and was the author of a treatise on the .Mensuration of Land, of which 
an early edition was printed in St. Thomas' Hospital, South wark. In the King's books, 
this portion is valued at 8l. 12s. Id.: it accounted for two minks to Bermondsey abbey. 

I 2 



60 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

(the first lord of Beddington of that name), in 1390, of 207. " to the 
building of the church." — This edifice is dedicated to St. Mary ; and 
consists of a nave and aisles, a chancel, and, at the west end, a massive 
tower ; together with a large south porch, and a monumental chapel 
for the Carew family attached to the chancel, and opening into it, on 
the south side. The tower, which is supported by strong buttresses 
at the angles, being in a dangerous state, was partly rebuilt on the old 
plan about the year 1829, at an expense of 3507. ; and in 1839, a rate 
(amounting to 1607.) was granted by the parish for repairing the roof 
and interior of the church : to that sum, 2317. was added by subscrip- 
tion, which enabled the committee, under whose direction the work 
was done, not only to execute all the necessary repairs, but likewise, 
to annex new galleries, and substitute new pewing on the same 
principle for rich and poor, instead of the old square pews which 
had previously encumbered the area. In the same year, 2277. was 
subscribed for a new Organ, which has been erected in place of the 
old one, under a high-pointed arch that opens from the tower. 13 

In the singers' gallery, which partly occupies the space behind the 
organ, are four old wooden stalls, having turn-up seats, or miseries, 
ornamented with foliage, shields, a female head in a reticulated head- 
dress, and other carvings. 14 The entrance doorway to the tower is 
formed by a high-pointed arch, over which is a very large and 
handsome window, comprising three tiers of trefoil-headed lights, 

13 The following particulars respecting the Charities in this parish are inscribed on 
the front of the organ -gallery : — 

" Donations and Bequests to the parish of Beddington and Wallington. 

" December 5th, 1825, Mrs. Ann Paston Gee bequeathed by her Will 1000/., to be 
invested in the funds, the interest thereof to be given to the poor on Christmas eve, in 
every year." — The interest (30?.) is expended in clothing, &c, which is distributed among 
the poor, by the rector and churchwardens. 

1625. *' Henry Smith, by will, bequeathed 2/. per year to the poor of Beddington." — 
Expended on the aged and infirm, and in apprenticing poor children. 

" February 6th, 1830, John Bristow, esq., 100/. interest." 

" Several allotments of land were awarded by the Commissioners under the Beddington 
Inclosure Act, [52nd Geo. III. c. 208], for the use of the poor. They also awarded a 
piece of land, called Church Mead, to Beddington Church, 1 acre and 29 perches." 

" Mrs. Ann Paston Gee gave a piece of land called Cats Brains, containing 3 acres and 
5 perches, in exchange for cottages and land on Chats Hill, also belonging to Beddington 
Church." 

" William Bridges, esq., gave 200/., 3 per cent, consolidated Bank annuities, to the poor 
of the hamlet of Wallington ; on account of the inclosure of a piece of land in the same 
hamlet." 

11 It seems probable, that the above Stalls were originally provided for the "four fit 
Chaplains," which Sir Nicholas de Carreu, in his will (before noticed), dated in 1387, 
and proved at Croydon in Sept. 1390, directs "should be found, one of them for ever, and 
the others for five years, to pray for his soul, and all Christian souls, in the church of 
Beddington." — Lambeth, Register, Courtney, f. 147, b. 



MONUMENTS IN BEDIHNGTON CHURCH. 61 

progressively rising to the apex. — The materials of this edifice are 
principally stone, Hints, and rubble-work; and the roofs are tiled. 
The entrance from the porch is by a pointed arch, with deep cavettos 
in the mouldings, and quatrefoils in the spandrils. At the angles of 
the Carew chapel, which was erected about the year 1520, are strong 
but ill-formed buttresses. 

The nave is surrounded by galleries, and closely pewed : the roof 
is waggon-shaped, but devoid of ornament. There is a dial in front 
of the organ-gallery ; and beneath it, is an ancient dipping font, of a 
square form, but with a circular basin : it is supported by a central, 
and four smaller columns, standing on a low plinth. The pulpit and 
reading-desk are placed near the chancel, on the north side ; and in 
the angle opposite the pulpit, is the handsome monument of Nicholas 
Carew, esq. (the second son of Sir Nicholas Carew, bart.), who died 
on the 11th of January, 1721-22, aged fifty-three; and his wife, Ami, 
daughter of Sir Stephen Lennard, bart., of Wickham-court in Kent : 
she died in August, 1722, and was buried here in the same vault with 
her husband. It is of white marble, and consists of a large inscribed 
tablet, in Latin, surrounded by pendant drapery, and crowned by a 
helmet and shield of arms, viz. — Carew, impaling Or, on a fess Gu. 
three Fleurs-de-lis of the Field, for Lennard. 

The altar-piece, which is of wainscot, and ornamented by the figures 
of Moses and Aaron in stone colour, together with tables of the Deca- 
logue, Creed, &c, was given by the gallant Admiral Sir John Leake, 
in 1710, whilst residing in this parish. 

In the chancel, on the south side, are neat mural tablets in memory 
of John Tritton, esq., who died on the 19th of January, 1832, in 
his forty-fourth year ; and Eliz. Mary, his widow, who deceased in 
1834, aged thirty-nine. — John Walton, esq., ob. 19th of April, 1802, 
aged sixty-three ; Anne, his relict, ob. August loth, 1816, aged sixty; 
and Anne, his sister, who died on the 11th of July, 1823, in her 
seventy-second year: the latter is ornamented with an enwreathed 
urn. — On the north side, is a handsome monument of white marble, 
on a dove-coloured ground, in memory of William Bridges, esq., of 
Wallington-house, who died on the 21st of November, 1805, aged 
eighty-seven : this was executed by the younger Bacon, and is orna- 
mented by an enriched urn, having the arms of the deceased sculptured 
on its pedestal. Near it, is another attractive memorial, in a Grecian 
style of design, by Henry Wcstmacott, commemorative of Elizabeth, 
daughter of Chas. Proby of Chatham, and wife of Paul Tchitchagoff, 
superintendent of naval affairs in Russia: she died in 1811, at the age 
of thirty-six. 



62 



HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 




Against the same wall 
is affixed a large upright 
monument of an architec- 
tural kind, having Corin- 
thian pilasters at the sides, 
and a cornice above, upon 
which, between two flam- 
ing urns, is a shield of 
arms, crest, and mantling. 
The inscription is in Latin, 
and records the piety and 
virtues of Elizabeth, wife 
of Wm. Chapman, gent., 
and daughter of John 
Neather, esq., of Walling- 
ton : she died at Bath, on 
the 10th of November, 
1718, in her fortieth year. 
In the pavement, im- 
mediately in front of the 
altar steps, but protected 
by a mat, is a slab of black 
marble, nine feet long, and 
four feet in breadth, which 
is inlaid with full-length 
Brasses, in excellent pre- 
servation, of Nicholas 
Carreu, (the second of 
that name who settled at 
Beddington), and Isabella, 
his first wife, who died 
many years before him. 

They are standing under a rich Gothic canopy, as shewn in the 

annexed wood-cut. The inscription is as follows : — 

En gracia et miseritortiia Bei rjic taunt corpora iSkfjoIai ffiarreu, 

armigcri, ft IB'ni qttonltam fyutus bilk, Esabclle uxorts sue, et 

Nicholas Carreu "i 3Irjome ttltt eortt'tlcm ; qui quittem $icrjolai's senei et plcnus 

flier' in pace qtticbit quarto tJie mensis Scptcmbris, ^nno 

. Domini J¥l tccc mii° . 



Grave-stone 
of 



AND 

his Lady. 



At the corners were the symbols of the Evangelists, and above and 
below the canopy, these arms, viz. — Or, three Lions passant, Sab. for 
Carew ; and Carew imp. Gu. two Lions passant, Arg. for Delamar. 



MONUMENTS IN BEDDINGTON CHURCH. 63 

In the Carew Chapel, which is partly separated from the chancel by 
a wooden screen, and has a distinct entrance, are several interesting 
monuments, the oldest being that of the founder, Sir Richard Carew, 
knt. banneret, governor of Calais, and his wife, Malyn, or Magdalen, 
who, according to the Carew Pedigree in Lysons's " Environs" was 
a daughter of Sir Robert Oxenbridge, knt. It consists of an altar- 
tomb of freestone, surmounted by a kind of frame-work, ornamented 
with vine branches, armorial bearings, &c, and inclosing a recessed 
elliptical arch enriched with Gothic panelling. On the tomb were, 
formerly, small Brasses of a knight in armour and his lady, now gone, 
and along the verge an inscription in black letter, of which the latter 

part only remains, viz.: ivhiche S r Richard decessyd the xxiii 

day of May, Anno dm M" V e xx; 8f the said dame Malyn dyed y e 
day of An" M" V e xx . 

Over this monument is an upright memorial of much elegance for 
Sir Nicholas Carew, bart., who died on the 18th of August, 1742; 
his relict, Catherine, and their daughter of the same name ; — and also 
of Richard Gee, of Orpington in Kent, esq., who took the name of 
Carew on succeeding to the Beddington property in 1780, and died 
on the 18th of December, 1816, aged seventy-one years. It consists 
of a framed tablet, surmounted by a beautifully-wrought canopy, 
ornamented with vine branches, &c, in open-work sculpture, above 
which is the emblem of the Holy Spirit. Over the inscription are 
the arms, supporters, and crest of the Carew family, in relief. The 
whole is of pure white marble, on a dove-coloured back-ground, and 
was executed by Henry Westmacott. 

Near the above, is a small but very neat mural monument, inscribed 
by Sir Francis Carew, K.B., to Mary, (daughter of Sir George More, 
of Loseley), his "Deare Mother the Lady Carew, late wife of Sir 
Nicholas Carew, of Beddington, 

" Whose virtuous life doth memory deserve, 

Who taught her children, Heaven's Great God to serve." 

She died on the 4th of December, in the year 1633. 

Further eastward, and guarded by iron rails, is the costly monument 
of Sir Francis Carew, knt., which is wrought of different coloured 
marbles, and must be regarded as a fine example of the sepulchral 
style of James the First's reign. It consists of a long altar-tomb, upon 
which, between two Corinthian columns of black marble, supporting 
an enriched entablature, lies a full-length statue of the deceased, 
sculptured in alabaster, upon a mat. He is represented in complete 
armour, but with a scull-cap, instead of the helmet: his hands arc as 



64 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

in prayer, At the back are two framed tablets, each of which is 

boi'dered by six small shields of arms, viz. — 

On the left: 1st, Quarterly, Sab. and Arg. for Hoo; impaling Or, a Lion 
rampant, double- queued, Sab. Welles. 2nd, Or, three Lions passant, Sab. Carew; 
imp. Gu. a Lion rampant Arg. within a border Az. bezanty ; Oxenbridge. 3rd, 
Arg. three Snakes, nowed, Prop, for Odron (an Irish barony); imp. Gu. a dexter 
Arm, Prop, habited with a Maunch, Erm. holding a Fleur-de-lis, Or, Mohun. 
4th, Carew, imp. Hoo. 5th, Carew, imp. Arg. three Piles, wavy, issuing out of 
the chief, and nearly meeting in base, Vert, within a border Az. bezanty ; Bryan. 
6th, Carew, imp. Az. on a Cross Arg. five Martlets, Sab. More, of Loseley. 15 

In front of the tomb, on a low plinth, and kneeling upon cushions, 

are small figures of a Knight in armour, and his lady in a ruff and 

long cloak, together with five sons and two daughters; the latter 

wearing ruffs and farthingales. These, as we learn from an affixed 

tablet, represent Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, alias Carew, who erected 

this monument "to the memorie of his deare and well deserving 

unckle"; Mary, his wife, eldest daughter of Sir Geo. More, of Loseley, 

knt. ; and their issue, namely, " Francis, Nicholas, George, Edmund, 

Oliphe, Elizabeth, and Marie." — At each end, over the entablature, is 

an obelisk, and in the middle, crowning the whole, a large shield, with 

mantling and helmet, of the Carew arms and quarterings, viz. : — 

1st, Carew ; 2nd, Odron ; 3rd, Mohun ; 4th, Hoo ; (all as before described); 
5th, Gu. a Fess checkie, Sab. and Arg. betw. six Cross crosslets of the first. 
6th, Az. three sinister Hands, couped at the wrists, Arg. Malmains. 7th, Erm. 
on a Chief, Az. three Cross pattees, Arg. Wichingham. 8th, Az. a Frett, Arg. 
9th, Welles. 10th, Gu. a Fess dancette, betw. six Cross crosslets, Or. 11th, 
Barry of Six, Erm. and Gu. over all three Crescents, Arg. 12th, Bryan. 



15 The inscriptions are as follow ; the one being in English ; the other, which is 
sufficiently laudatory, in Latin : — 

Here resteth Sir Francis Carew, Knight, sonne and heire of Sir Nicholas 
Carew, Knight of the honorable Order of the Garter, Maister of the Horse, and 
Privye Councellour to King Henry the VIII. The said Sir Francis living 
unmarried, adopted Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, sonne of Anne Throckmorton, 
his sister, to be heire of his estate, and to beare his surname ; and having lived 
lxxxj yeares, he in assured hope to rise in Christ ended this transitory life the 
xvj day of May mdcxi. 

Virtutis splendore, et equestri clarus honore, 

Franciscus Carew conditur hoc tumulo, 

Principibus fidus, percharus amicus amicis, 

Pauperibus largus, munificusq' bonis. 

Hospitio excepit Reges, proceresq' frequenter, 

Hospitibus cunctis semper aperta domus. 

Innocui mores niveo candore politi, 

Lingua dolo caruit, mens sine fraude fuit. 

Laudatam vitam laudanda morte peregit, 

Solus in extremis anchora Christds erat. 

Avunculo optime merito Nepos mcestissimus 

Hoc monumentum honoris et memoriae ergo posuit. 



MONUMENTS IN BEDDINGTON CHURCH. 65* 

Below the east window is a neat monumental sarcophagus, inscribed 
to the memory of the late Admiral Sir Benjamin Hallowell Carew, 
G.C.B., who was born on the 1st of January, 1761 ; and died on the 
2nd of September, 1834. It is decorated with a flag (the staff 
broken), a naval sword, a branch of laurel, and the word Nile; in 
which battle, fought under Nelson, the bravery and talents of Sir 
Benjamin were eminently conspicuous. — Another elegant memorial, 
on the north side of the window, records the decease of William 
Gee, esq. (of Beddington), on the 3rd of August, 1815, aged sixty- 
nine ; and, also, of his relict, Ann Paston Gee, (by whom this monu- 
ment had been erected), on the 28th of March, 1828, aged seventy- 
one. The inscriptive tablets are surmounted by the arms and crest 
of the deceased, the whole being inclosed in a border of vine-branches, 
rising from the plinth, which is supported by blank shields. 16 

Affixed to the wall under the north gallery, is a wooden frame, 

inclosing a brass tablet, thus inscribed : — 

Mors Svper Virides Montes 
Thos. Greenhill Borne & Bredd in y e famoves University of Oxon Bachelor 
of Artes & sometymes Student in Magd. Coll. Steward to y e noble S r Nicholas 
Carew of Beddington: who deceasd Sept. 17th day An 1633. Aged 33 years. 

Will. Greenhill, Master of Artes, his brother, and Mary his sister, to his 
memory erected this : 

Vnder thy feete interrd is here 
A native born in Oxfordsheere, 
First, life and learning Oxford gave 
Surrey to him his death and grave. 
Hee once a Hill was fresh and Greene 
Now wither'd is not to bee seene. 
Earth in Earth shovel'd is shut 
A Hill into a Hole is put. 
Dan. xii. 3. But darksome Earth by Power Divine 
Mar. xiii. 43. Bright at last as a Sun may shine. 

W.G. 

At the top is a skull and cross-bones ; on each side a skeleton ; and 

at the bottom, a winged hour-glass and this sentence : — 

Sicvt Hora Sic Vita. 

There are many tombs and other sepulchral memorials in the 

church-yard; the principal of which are in memory of different 

individuals of the Bridges family, of Wallington-house. Against the 

chancel wall, on the south side, is an inscribed tablet commemorative of 

16 The arms of Gee, as certified at the College of Arms in May, 1779, are — Quarterly, 
1st and 4th, Gu. a Sword in Bend, Ppr. hilt and pomel, Or ; 2nd and 3rd, Quarterly, Arg. 
and Gu. on the second and third quarters, a Fret, Or; over all, on a Bend Sab. three 
Escallops of the First. Crest, a gauntlet, erect, Ppr. grasping a Sword of the last, hilt 
and pomel, Or. — On the monument, these arms are impaled with the following, namely, 
On a Chev. betw. three Roses, three Trefoils slipped. 

VOL. IV. K * 



66* HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

the Rev. J. B. Ferrers, A.M., the late rector, who died at the age of 
eighty-three, in June, 1841. — The aisles are partly shrouded with ivy; 
and some noble elms, and a wide-spreading yew tree, overshadow the 
graves in this inclosure. 

Beddington House, the long-continued residence of the ancient 
family of the Carews, (originally from Devonshire), and now the seat 
of Capt. Charles Hallowell Carew, R.N., is situated in an extensive 
and pleasant park, immediately adjacent to the church, and at the 
distance from Croydon of about one mile and a half. 17 — It has already 
been stated, that Richard Gee, esq., on whom this property devolved 
in 1780, took the name and arms of Carew, under the authority of an 
act of parliament. That gentleman, dying (unmarried), in December, 
1816, aged seventy-one, demised his entire property, both real and 
personal, to Mrs. Ann Paston Gee, the widow of his brother, Wm. Gee, 
who had been resident at Beddington, and had died there on the 3rd 
of August, 1815, Mrs. Gee died on the 28th of March, 1828; and 
having no issue, she bequeathed all her estates in Kent and Surrey to 
her first cousin, Admiral Sir Benjamin Hallowell, G.C.B. (born in 
Canada), who, pursuant to her will, assumed the name and arms of 
Carew, by royal license, dated on the 18 th of June in the same 
year. 18 On the admiral's decease in September, 1834, he was suc- 
ceeded by his eldest son, Capt. Charles Hallowell, who also took the 
name and arms of Carew, by royal license, in 1835. The Surrey 

17 Aubrey, after describing Beddington as a small village, "noted for little but the 
family and name of Carew" proceeds thus : — 

" The seat of this family stands low, in a moorish soil, but much assisted by art : it is a 
handsome pile of building, having before it neat gardens, not yet finished, with several 
canals, and an orchard ; but what more particularly deserves our notice, is the fine 
Orangerie, where are several Orange-trees, (transplanted from the warmer breezes of 
Italian air, into our more inclement climate), planted in the open ground, where they 
have throve to Admiration for above a whole Century ; but are preserved during the 
Winter Season, under a moveable [shed, or] Covert. They were brought from Italy by 
Sir Francis Carew, knt. (who built the old mansion-house), and it was the first attempt of 
the kind that we hear of." — Aubrey, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 159, 160. 

In the Biographia Britannica, article Ralegh, is a somewhat different account of 
these orange trees : the Editors relate "from a tradition preserved in the family, that 'they 
were raised by Sir Francis Carew from the Seeds of the first Oranges which were 
imported into England by Sir Walter Ralegh, who had married his niece, the daughter of 
Sir Nicholas Throckmorton.' It has been stated that most of the trees were thirteen feet 
high in 1690, and that at least 10,000 oranges were gathered from them in that year. 
They continued to flourish for about a century and a half, but were destroyed by the hard 
frost in the winter of 1739-40." — Lysons, Environs, vol. i. p. 57. 

13 After receiving the congratulations of a friend on his accession to the Carew 
property, the gallant admiral pensively remarked — " Half as much twenty years ago had 
indeed been a blessing ; but I am now old and crank." He was then in his sixty-eighth 
year. — Neither Mrs. Gee, nor himself, had any connexion in blood with the ancient 
family of the Carews. 



BEDDINGTON HOUSE DESCRIBED. IJ7* 

estates are understood to be entailed on the Admiral's sons, in succes- 
sion, and their male issue. 

Of the original mansion erected by Sir Francis Carew, and in 
which he had twice the honour to receive the visits of Queen Eliza- 
beth, (as alluded to in the panegyrical verses on his monument), 19 not 

19 Rowland Whyte, writing to Sir Robert Sydney from Nonsuch "this Saturday Noone, 
18 August 1599," says — "Her Majestie hath been at Benington, Thursday and Friday, and 
returned Yesternight hither." — In another letter to the same person, dated Saturday, the 
16th of August, 1600, he says — " Her Majestie is very well, I thanckeGod; for, since 
Wednesday, she hath bene at Bedington ; vpon Thursday, she dined at Croiden with my 
Lord of Canterbury, and this day returns to Nonsuch again." Vide Sydney Papers, 
vol. ii. pp. 118 and 210. 

Sir Hugh Piatt, in his " Garden of Eden," (p. 165), relates an anecdote which shews 
the flattering attention which Sir Francis bestowed on his royal visitor. — " Here I will 
conclude," he says, " with a conceat of that delicate knight Sir Francis Carew, who for 
the better accomplishment of his royal entertainment of our late Queen Elizabeth of 
happy memory, at his house at Bedington, led her Majesty to a Cherry-tree, whose 
fruit he had of purpose kept back from ripening, at the least one month after all cherries 
had taken their farewell cf England. This secret he performed by so raising a tent or 
cover of canvas over the whole tree, and wetting the same now and then with a scoop or 
horn, as the heat of the weather required ; and so by withholding the sun-beams from 
reflecting upon the berries, they grew both great, and were very long before they had 
gotten their perfect cherry colour: and when he was assured of her Majesty's coming, he 
removed the tent, and a few sunny days brought them to their full maturity." At that 
time, as appears from Aubrey, there was a Summer house in the grounds, at the top of 
which was painted the '■Spanish Livasion.' The Queen's Oak and her favourite walk are 
still pointed out. 

The following particulars relating to the " Guarderobe," or Wardrobe, which belonged 
to Sir Nicholas Carew, of Beddington, and was seized with his other property by King 
Henry the Eighth, have been extracted from the manuscript account in the Harleian 
Library, already referred to in page 55, note 8. — 

" Hangings of Tapstry, olde and soore worne. 

" First, Oone peace of Tapstry of a Queue sittinge vnder a clothe of estate, having a 
grene gowen of redde braunches, and ij boies at her feete, conteynyng in length iiij 
yards di. and in debthe iij yards iij quarters, having a.hoole in thone side. 

" Item, Oone pece of Tapstry w' a white Lyon in hit, and a King sittyng in his Ma ,ie 
and ij quenes kneling before hym in grene gownes, th'one full of red harth, [harts?] cont.in 
lengthe v yards iij qrt. and in depthe iij yards iij qrters." 

Thirty pieces of tapestry are described, displaying little variety in the subjects. 

One piece exhibited a Fountain with Cupids at the top, and divers Musicians playing 
and singing, having a Scutcheon under the Fountain, with a Herpe [harp] in it: in 
another was represented a Man in harness, pulling a woman to him, and divers other 
harnessed men taken women by violence; but in most of the tapestries Kings and other 
personages appeared sitting in state. 

" Hanging of Verdours." — These, from the description, appear to have been Hunting- 
pieces. There were four sets of these hangings, the first of which is thus described : — 

" Five old pieces of Verdours, with beasts and fountains, — quarter lined, and all burnt, 
moth-eaten, and perished, with holes in the bottom. There were three other sets of 
Hangings, of a different kind. 

" Carpel ts"; nine in number, among them four old coarse Carpets of Verdours, with a 
small scutcheon in them. 

" Cheyres. Firste, Oone olde Chaier of wood covered with grene velvet, lacking the 

K *2 



68* HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

any part remains except the Great hall. 20 The present house was built 
about the year 1709 ; at which time Beddington was in the possession 
of Sir Nicholas Carew, who was created a baronet by Queen Anne. 
It is a brick edifice, with stone dressings, and consists of a centre and 
two deep wings, forming three sides of a square ; the intermediate 
area being inclosed from the grounds by iron railings. The north 
wing is not habitable, the whole interior having been destroyed by fire 
soon after it was finished, and never restored. The Great hall, which 
forms the central part of the building, and is an admirable specimen 
of the domestic architecture of the Elizabethan age, is entered from 
the fore court by a handsome portal of stone ; surmounted by a 
decorated turret in the Italian style of architecture. The roof is 
constructed of oak in the manner of our college halls ; the principal 
ribs spring from large carved brackets, gilt, and form an equilateral 
pointed arch, which being underset with smaller ribs, assumes the 
trefoil character : over each arch is a strong beam, forming a brace 

backe. — It'm, Oone other old Chaier of wood, covered w e p'rple velvet pirled, the seate 
blewe velvet." 

" Cusshions" of cloth of gold and silver, velvet, and satin. Four sets are described, 
some of them pieced and sore worn. 

"Beddestedes w l thapparell." — Two are noticed at some length. They were ornamented 
with black velvet, and cloth of gold and silver. — Beddes and Pillowes are also mentioned. 

" Spavars." — Three of Sey and cloth, and one of black satin. 

" Counterpointes." — Seven are described, with the subjects represented on them. 

"Fustyans." — With these are included, One low stool, for a woman, very mean, covered 
with purple velvet " fremyd " with Venice gold, old and very mean ; and one piece of 
arras. 

" Sondry Percelles.'" — The items under this head require no notice except the last, 
relating to the Library, which is somewhat curious, viz.: — 

" It'm, A great booke of parchement, written and lymned w ' gold of graver's worke, 
De Confessione Amantis, w th xviij other bookes written and prynted of dyvers histories, 
viz. le p'imer volume de Launcelot, le p'imer volume de Enguerram de Monstrellet, le 
ij de volume de Enguerram de Monstrellet, le premier volume de Frosart, le ij de volume de 
Frosart, le thirde volume de Frosart, le ij de volume de Orose, le tres volumes des 
Cronesques de Fraunce ; ensuyment les Faictz l'Ordeny des Christyans, le graunt vioge 
de Herusalem." — From the repetition of the entries it seems that there must have been 
two or more copies of the Histories of Froissart and Orosius. 

It appears from some Council books preserved in the Library of the Marquis of Buck- 
ingham, at Stow, that King Henry the Eighth held a council in the old manor-house at 
Beddington in 1541 ; about two years after he became possessed of the estate by the 
attainder of Sir Nicholas Carew. 

20 The length of this noble apartment, from the door to the fire-place, is sixty-one feet 
six inches ; and the breadth, between the skirtings, is thirty-two feet. The thickness of 
wall, measuring from the inner face to the windows, is eight feet six inches. The height 
of the hall, from the floor to the centre of the roof, is forty-six feet; and from the floor 
to the brackets from which the arched ribs spring, thirty-five feet two inches. The 
principal windows are eighteen feet high, and six feet six inches wide. The other 
windows are about twelve feet high. 



BEDDINGTON HOUSE DESCRIBED. 69* 

with the rafters. The flooring is composed of lozenge-shaped slabs of 
black and white marble ; and the walls arc wainscotted with oak, in 
panels : those above the windows are decorated with paintings of 
military and naval trophies, executed in imitation of bronze. Over the 
door on the south side, is a large boldly-carved and finely-emblazoned 
shield of the Carew arms (in twelve quarterings), supporters, and 
crest, together with an escutcheon of pretence on the nombril point, 
viz. — Arg. three Fleurs-de-lis, in bend, between two cotises, Gu. ; 
and the motto, Nil Conscire Sibi. 21 On the opposite wall, above the 
fire-place, is a carved trophy in very bold relief, which exhibits almost 
every kind of military implement, whether of ancient or modern war- 
fare, known in Elizabeth's reign. The old fire-place has been filled 
in with coving, &c, and andirons (three feet six inches in height) 
substituted ; the ends are of brass, and each ornamented with a demi- 
savage, supporting an eagle. The piers between the windows are 
hung with portraits; among which is a head, painted on board, of 
Sir Nicholas Carew, knt., who was decapitated in the reign of Henry 
the Eighth ; and whole-lengths of Frederick, prince of Wales, and 
his consort, Augusta, princess of Saxe-Gotha ; the parents of George 
the Third. On the great-entrance door is a very curious Lock, of the 
same age as the hall ; it is wrought of iron, and covered with elaborate 
Gothic tracery, richly gilt : the key-hole is concealed by a shield of 
the royal arms, which moves in a groove, and slides down on touching 
a knob in the form of a monk's head. 

The lower story of the south wing contains the dining and drawing 
rooms, and other large apartments, (most of which were repaired and 
modernized in 1817), together with a long gallery that extends 
through its entire length. In the dining-room are various half-length 
portraits of naval officers, the brave associates of the late Admiral Sir 
Benjamin Hallowell : that of Lord Hood is particularly fine. There 
are many family portraits of the Carews, and of persons connected 
with them, in the gallery. 

The grounds retain many characteristics of the old school of 
gardening ; among which, towards the east, is a waterfall, supplied by 
the river Wandle, which intersects the park in its course to the 
Thames. There is, also, a spacious canal on the west, derived from 
the same stream, and ornamented on each side by a row of venerable 
elms; parallel with which, is a fine avenue of chestnut trees of stately 

21 The supporters are, — Antelopes, Gu. armed and ungated Arg., orignally Or. The 
crest is, a Demi-lion rampant, betw. six half-pikes, all issuant from the round-top of a 
mainmast, Or. Aubrey remarks, that this noble family having had the honour of the 
peerage in it, still retains the same form of bearing with Supporter*, an honour not 
annexed to the baronetship. — Surrey, vol. ii. p. L68. 



70* 



HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 



growth ; and near the house, on the north-west, are some remarkably 
large walnut trees. The park, which is between three and four miles 
in circumference, is well-wooded, and abounds with deer. 




THE BEDDINGTON AND WALLINGTON NATIONAL SCHOOLS. 



This handsome building, which stands on the left of the road from 
Beddington to Wallington, was erected in the summer of 1843, from 
the designs of Mr. John Brown, architect, of Norwich, and first 
opened on the 28th of October, the same year. 82 Its length is rather 
more than ninety feet; and it consists, in the central part, of two 
school rooms, (for boys and girls respectively), each thirty feet long, 
by twenty feet wide, and separated by a wooden partition, which may 
be removed at pleasure. A class-room is attached to either school, 
which communicates with the dwellings of the master and mistress at 
each extremity. These schools are supported by annual subscriptions. 

At a short distance from this edifice, a new and pleasant Rectory- 
house has been recently built, from designs in the Tudor style. 

The principal landowners in this parish are, Capt. Hallowell Carew, 
Beddington-park ; Sir Henry Bridges, Beddington-house ; John 
Bridges, esq., Wallington-house ; Joseph Laurence, esq. ; and James 
Burchell, esq. — The Woodcote (or Woodcott) farm, comprising about 
eight hundred acres, is occupied by Thomas Neall, esq. 

22 The expenses, amounting to 1326?. 2s. 6d., were defrayed by private subscriptions, 
grants, &c. ; the chief donors being as follow : — the Rev. James Hamilton, rector, 100/. ; 
Committee of Council on Education, 120/.; Miss Loraine, 200/. ; R. G. Loraine, esq., 100/.; 
Capt. Hallowell Carew, R.N., Barwell Browne, esq., Miss Browne, Joseph Laurence, esq., 
and the National Society, 50/. each; John Miles, esq., 21/.; Sir Henry Bridges, Rev. 
E. T. Beynon, and John Bridges, William Bristow, James Burchell, Thos. Wm. Good, and 
Thos. Weall, esqrs., 20/. each. The sum of 129/. was, also, collected at the opening of 
the Schools, after a sermon by Mr. Archdeacon Wilberforce, A.M. 



WALLINGTON CHAPEL; AND FIELD GARDENS. 71' 

In the hamlet of Wallington, which is about half a mile from the 
scattered village of Beddington, and full twice as extensive in build- 
ings and population, was an ancient Chapel, standing in a field near 
the public road, and latterly used as a stable and cart-house. It was 
built of stone and flints : on each side of the east window was a niche 
of rich Gothic architecture ; and at the south-east corner was another 
niche for holy water. From the total silence of the records in the 
Registry of Winchester concerning this structure, Mr. Lysons regarded 
it as a mere private chapel ; but others have surmised that it was a 
chapel-of-ease, originally built for the convenience of the inhabitants 
of Wallington. About the year 1791, it was pulled down by the then 
proprietor, in opposition to the expressed desire of the parishioners. 23 

Beddington and Wallington Field Gardens. — The working classes in 
this parish have been greatly benefitted by the establishment here, in 
July, 1835, of a " Labourer s Friend Society" for the adoption of the 
Allotment and Cottage garden system ; that is, by letting small 
quantities of land to the day-labourer, at a fair rental, calculated upon 
the average value of the farming land in the neighbourhood. 24 This 
most praiseworthy institution was suggested by Nicholas Carlisle, esq., 
K.H. (secretary to the Society of Antiquaries), when a resident here; 
and that gentleman, with John Bridges, esq. (lord of the manor of 
Wallington), the Rev. Thomas King, and William Scott Preston, esq., 
formed the first committee of management ; and a piece of land 
adjacent to the Hollow-road, connected with the open common-fields, 
was appropriated by Mr. Bridges for commencing the experiment. The 
success attending it has induced the Rev. James Hamilton, the present 
rector, to apportion some of the glebe land for the same purpose, thus 
extending the whole to thirty acres. — Every allotment is confined to 

- 3 Lysons, Environs, vol. i. p. 66 ; and vol. vi. (Supplement), p. 7. 

24 In the Report made by the Select Committee of the House of Commons appointed 
to inquire into " the Results of the Allotment System," &c., which was communicated to 
the Lords and ordered to be printed in August, 1843, the great advantages of this System 
are strikingly shewn, and its general extension throughout the kingdom particularly 
recommended. The Report states that the Evidence which the Committee received was 
of uniform tenor, and " led them to conclude that the Tenancy of Land under the Garden 
Allotment System is a powerful Means of bettering the Condition of those Classes who 
depend for Livelihood upon their Manual labour, whether in Manufacturing or Agri- 
cultural Employment ; and it has this peculiar Merit, that its Benefits are not obtained 
at the Expense of any other class, nor accompanied by any consequent Disadvantage." 
In another part it is remarked, that "the System of Garden Allotments has proved an 
unmixed Good. It has increased the Produce, and enlarged the general Stock of Labour 
to be expended on the Soil [from Spade cultivation]. It has enabled the Labouring man 
to turn his leisure moments to profitable Account in raising wholesome Food for his 
Family, a Rood of Land frequently producing Vegetables enough for Six Months' con- 
sumption. It has also supplied sound Industrial training for the Children under their 
Parents' I've." 



72* HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

a rood (or rod) of land ; which must be cultivated by Spade husbandry, 
and kept " in a neat and husband-like manner." Not more than one 
half of each allotment is allowed to be cropped with potatoes in each 
year : and no tenant is to labour on Sundays, Good Friday, or Christ- 
mas-day. The rent must be duly paid, half-yearly, on the first 
Mondays in January and July, under the obligation of a small weekly 
fine. No lot is to be underlet ; and certain regulations are enforced 
to ensure sobriety, honesty, and general good conduct. About fifty 
allotments are now under cultivation. 

Much additional good has arisen from the institution, in 1841, of a 
Provident Fund, under the direction of the rector and other gentle- 
men; and it is found, that the poor gladly avail themselves of its 
advantages. In 1842, the sum of 180/. 145. 8d. was deposited by 
194 persons (chiefly in weekly pence), to which 71/. 19s. Id. being 
added by the subscriptions of the richer inhabitants, the whole was 
expended in clothing, coals, bacon, potatoes, &c, for the use of the 
depositors. 

It has already been mentioned (vide p. 51), that Camden and 

several other antiquaries agree in fixing the station which Ptolemy 

calls Noiomagus, and Antoninus Noviomagus, at Woodcote, where, 

says Camden, " are evident traces of a small town, and several walls 

formed of flints ; and the neighbours talk much of its populousness, 

and wealth, and many nobles:" its distance from London, also, he 

considers to strengthen this conjecture. Dr. Gale, in his Commentary 

on Antoninus, expresses a similar opinion, and conceives that the 

established tradition of this being formerly a place of much consequence 

is sufficiently corroborated by the several vestiges of antiquity at 

different times discovered here; "such as foundations of houses, tracts 

of streets, hewn stones, tiles, and above all, the number of wells here 

met with, and some of an extraordinary depth." Horsley, likewise, 

(in his Britannia Romano), after referring to the different opinions 

on the subject, concurs with the above authorities in considering 

Woodcote as the site of the Noviomagus of the Itinerary. 23 

25 In that part of the second Iter of Antoninus, which lies between London and the 
terminus, (says the above author), " we have three stations which are mentioned in no 
other Iter; the first of which is Noviomagus, at ten miles distance from Londinium, 
according to the Itinerary. This must be the same with Neomagus in Ptolemy, which he 
places nearly south from London, a little inclining to the west, and is the only or principal 
place he mentions among the liegni. Ptolemy's position and the Itinerary distance would 
direct to the neighbourhood of Croydon or Woodcote, where Camden long ago, and Dr. 
Gale more recently, have placed Noviomagus ; where both saw some remains of an old 
town, but I think no proper Roman antiquities. — Upon the whole, I confess myself most 
inclined to continue Noviomagus at Woodcote, — not far from Croydon." — Britannia, 
pp. 423, 424, and 373. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF CARSH ALTON. 65 



CARSHALTON. 

This parish, on the north side of the Downs, adjoins Bcddington on 
the east ; Sutton, on the west; Mitcham, on the north; and Wood- 
mansterne, on the south. In contains about 2,200 acres ; nearly in 
the proportion of seven of arable land to one of pasture. 

Carshalton, (the Aultone, or Old Town, of the Domesday survey), is 
evidently a place of considerable antiquity. According to the probable 
conjectures of Salmon, Manning, and others, it acquired " the addition 
of Cross, Cross-Aulton, from some Cross in the neighbourhood, such 
being frequently to be met with at the intersection of great roads ; and 
the rather, as there are lands in this parish, and partly in Bcddington 
and Wallington, which were known by the name of Cross-lands" It 
appears that about the reign of King John, Cross-Alton had become 
Kresalton : the orthography has since varied in the records to Cross- 
alton, Kersalton, and Carsalton ; but it has, for nearly two centuries, 
been uniformly written Carshalton. — The Roman road, called the 
Stane-street, passes through this parish. 

The manor is thus described in the Domesday survey : — 

" Goisfrid [or Geoffrey] de Manneville holds Aultone. Five free men held it of King 
Edward ; and they could remove at pleasure. One of these men held 2 hides ; and four 
of them 6 hides each. There were then five manors : now there is hut one. It was then 
assessed at 27 hides : now at 3£ hides. The arable land amounts to 10 carucates. One 
carucate is in demesne ; and there are nine villains, and nine cottars, with 5 carucates. 
There is a Church: and seven bondmen; and 12 acres of meadow. The men of the 
County, and of the Hundred, say they never saw writ or officer of the King, to give 
Goisfrid seisin of this manor. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 20 pounds ; 
when Goisfrid took possession, at 100 shillings ; and now at 10 pounds. 

" Of these hides, Wesman holds 6 of Goisfrid the son of Earl Eustace, to whom Gois- 
frid de Manneville gave this land, with his daughter (in marriage). There is 1 carucate 
in the demesne ; and three villains, and one cottar, with 3 carucates : and one mill at 35 
shillings; and 3 bondmen; and 10 acres of meadow. The wood yields two swino 
for pannage. The arable land amounts to 2 carucates. In the time of King Edward it 
was valued at 4 pounds; afterwards at 40 shillings; now at 110 shillings. Of these hides 
a certain King's Smith hath half a hide, which he received with his wife, in the time of 
King Edward ; but he never did service for it." 

The manor of Carshalton, or Kersalton, was held in the reign of 
Stephen by Geoffrey de Magnaville, a grandson of the holder at the 
time of the Domesday survey. He was in high favour with the king ; 
but being induced to desert his service for that of the empress Maud, 
his estates were confiscated, and this manor was given to Pharamus 
de Bolonia, nephew of the queen-consort of Stephen. Sibylla, the 
daughter and sole heir of Pharamus, transferred this estate, by 
marriage, to Ingclram de Fielnes, or Fiennes, although the superiority 
was vested in the Bohuns, carls of Hereford, who held the Honour of 

VOL. IV. K 



66 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Magnaville, or Mandeville. William de Fielnes, (descended from 
Ingelram and Sibylla,) in 1270, being about to go to the Holy Land, 
appears to have mortgaged Kersalton to his attorney, William de 
Ambesas ; and his son, John de Fielnes, transferred his interest in the 
manor to William Medburn. The manorial estate, burthened with 
the rent of twenty marks, which William de Fielnes had reserved 
when he conveyed it to Ambesas, came into the possession of Nicholas 
de Carreu, who had a grant of free-warren for his lands here in the 
48th of Edward the Third; and in the 14th of Richard the Second, he 
died, seised of the manor, which was returned as of no value on account 
of the reserved rent charged on it. 1 It probably passed from the 
Carews, in consequence of the marriage of John St. John with the 
daughter of Sir Richard Carew. John St. John, the son of that lady, 
sold a moiety of the manor to Richard Burton, esq., in 1580; and is 
supposed to have sold the other moiety to W. Cole. After several 
transfers, the latter moiety was conveyed, in 1655, to Thomas Twisden 
and others, as trustees for Sir Edmund Hoskins, serjeant-at-law; whose 
representatives, in 1696, sold it to Sir William Scawen; and he, about 
1712, purchased the share which had belonged to the Burtons. Sir 
William died without issue, in 1722, and left the whole estate to his 
nephew, Thomas Scawen, esq. ; whose son and heir, James Scawen, 
M.P. for Surrey, conveyed it to trustees for sale in 1781 ; and it was 
bought by George Taylor, esq,, who died in 1834, and was succeeded 
by his nephew, John Taylor, esq., the present lord. 

Carshalton Park, with the mansion called Mascalls, belonged to 
Richard Burton, esq. ; and being sold by one of his family to Sir 
Edmund Hoskins, it passed again by sale to Sir William Scawen. 2 
His nephew and successor, Thomas Scawen, projected the building 
of a magnificent house here ; and Leoni, an architect of some note 
in the earlier part of the last century, was employed in making designs 
for the mansion, which he published in his edition of the Architecture 

1 Escheats, 14 Rich. II. 

2 Sir Wm. Scawen was an eminent merchant in London, descended, as the inscription 
on his monument in the church states, of a Cornish family. He acquired a large fortune, 
and was elected one of the knights of the shire for this county in the 4th, 6th, and 7th of 
Queen Anne. He had risked nearly the whole of his property in the cause of William 
the Third. After having retired many years from his mercantile pursuits, " he one day, 
to the astonishment of every one, appeared again upon 'Change, when a hroker asked him 
if there was any thing he could do for him ? ' You may,' said Sir William, ' get me 
some bills upon Holland.' Sir William did not despond. He went to the siege of Namur. 
The King hearing of it, sent to him, and said, ' Sir William, what do you do here ?' Sir 
William replied, « Please your Majesty, it matters not what becomes of me, if your 
Majesty should not return safe to England.' The King returned safe, to the immense 
gain of Sir William."— Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 510. 



DESCENT OF STONE COURT, IN CAKSIIALTON. 67 

of Leo Baptista Albcrti, about the year 1742; but Mr. Scawen did 
not carry his plan into execution. 3 Carshalton park, with the manorial 
estate, is now in the occupation of James Aitkin, esq. The wall sur- 
rounding it, which is about two miles in extent, commences not far 
from the church, on the right hand of the road to Beddington. 

Stone Court. — This appears to have been the estate of Bartholo- 
mew, Lord Burghershe, who, in the 18th of Edward the Third, 
obtained a grant of the right of free-warren for all his demesne lands 
in Kersalton. It afterwards belonged to the Gaynsfords of Crowhurst, 
and from them was called Gaynsford's Place. Nicholas Gaynsford, 
sheriff of Surrey in the 38th of Henry the Sixth, was a partizan of 
the house of York, and was appointed an esquire of the body to 
Edward the Fourth, on his accession to the throne ; but having in- 
curred suspicion of treason against the new king, a writ was issued 
for the seizure of his manor of Burghershe alias Kersalton, and, also, 
that of Shalford Clifford, which Edward had bestowed on him. He 
recovered possession of the former estate, though not of the latter ; 
and he repeatedly held the office of sheriff of Surrey in the reigns of 
Edward the Fourth and Richard the Third. After the accession of 
Henry the Seventh, he acquired the favour of that prince, who made 
him one of the esquires of his body ; and he was one of the principal 
attendants on the queen, in her procession from the Tower to West- 
minster, previously to her coronation. Henry Gaynsford, who held 
this estate in the 38th of Henry the Eighth, alienated about three 
hundred acres to Sir Roger Copley : he also demised the site of the 
manor of Stone Court to Walter Lambard, for ninety-nine years, 
reserving a rent of \2d. Lambard erected a handsome house here, 
which became the property of Sir Henry Burton, and afterwards of 
Joseph Cator, who (in 1729) sold it to Thomas Scawen, esq.; and 
the trustees of his son, James Scawen, transferred it by sale to William 
Andrews, esq., in 1781. 4 The house, which had retained the name of 
Gaynsford's Place, was pulled down about the year 1800. 

The manor of Kymersley, which, at one time, belonged to the 
Burtons, and an estate named Crossc-lands, held by the same family 
in the time of Henry the Eighth, cannot be traced in modern times. 5 

Carshalton, celebrated by Fuller for "trout and walnuts," obtained 
from Henry the Third the grant of a weekly market on Tuesday ; and 
an annual fair for three days, on St. Mary's day, the vigil, and day 
following. 8 The Wandle, still abounding with trout, passes through 

'■' Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 507 — 511. 

4 Id. vol. ii. pp. 511, 512. * Id. p. 512. 

6 Cart. 43 Henry the Third, in. 4. 

K2 



68 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

the parish ; and, increased by other streams, and several springs which 
rise there, forms a large pool of remarkably clear water, nearly in the 
centre of the village. On the banks of the stream are ten mills : four 
of them for flour ; two for the purposes of leather-dressing ; two snuff 
mills ; one flax mill ; and one paper mill. The following is their order 
on the stream ; with their respective purposes, the names of their 
owners and occupiers, &c. — 

1. A snuff-grinding mill; very powerful at times: the property of Jonah Cres- 
singham, esq. of Carshalton ; occupied by Francis Phillips. 

2. A hemp-spinning mill, of small power : the property of Mr. Andrews, of Bath ; 
occupied by George Kinnell. 

3. A flour-mill, with five pair of stones, &c. : bought by Mr. Newton, of Wands- 
worth, and believed to be the property of Robert Connington, the occupier. 

4. A paper-mill, with five vats : the property of the occupier, Mr. John Muggridge, 
of Carshalton. 

5. A snuff-grinding mill, of 16-horse power for twelve hours: the property of 
Edward Tyrrell, esq., the City Remembrancer ; occupied by Robert Ansell. 

6. A flour-mill, of 16-horse power for twelve hours: also the property of Mr. 
Tyrrell ; occupied by John Ashby. 

7. A leather-dressing mill: the property of Miss Shipley, of Wandsworth ; occupied 
by William M c Ray. 

8. A flour-mill, with three pair of stones : the property of Mr. Thomas Reynolds, 
of Wallington ; unoccupied. 

9. A leather-dressing mill, powerful : the property of Mrs. Esther Reynolds, of 
Trawling ; occupied by William M c Ray. 

10. A flour-mill, with three pair of stones: the property of Mrs. Spencer , of 
Banstead-Park ; occupied by John Searle. 

Nearly close to the western boundary of the churchyard, is a neatly- 
kept well of the purest water, which tradition has connected with the 
memory of Anne Boleyn. According to report, the spring arose 
suddenly from a hole into which her horse had accidentally struck its 
foot whilst pacing here. 

The principal mansion in this parish is Carshalton House, occupy- 
ing the site of a residence built by the celebrated Dr. Radcliffe, 7 and 
purchased about four years ago by Edward Simeon, esq., nephew of 
the late Rev. Charles Simeon, of Cambridge, and brother of Sir 
Richard Simeon, bart., of Ryde in the Isle of Wight. It is a good 
specimen of the old English brick mansion. 

7 Dr. Radcliffe, remembered for his eccentricities, and as the founder of the Radcliffe 
Library, at Oxford, for which he bequeathed forty thousand pounds, was one of the 
physicians of William the Third, and of the Princess (afterwards Queen) Anne. He 
died in 1714, at the age of sixty -four. His house at Carshalton was sold for 3,500/. to Sir 
John Fellowes, sub-governor of the South-Sea Company, by whom it was rebuilt ; at 
which time, says Aubrey's Editor, (Surrey, vol. ii. p. 174.) in levelling the ground to 
make an avenue, many bones, supposed to be human, were found. The house afterwards 
belonged to the Lord-Chancellor Hardwicke ; then to the Hon. Thomas Walpole, who 
sold it to John Hodson Durand, esq. ; of whom it was purchased by David Mitchell, esq. 
At the time when Lysons wrote, it was the property of Theodore Broadhead, esq. 



DESCRIPTION OF CARSII ALTON CHURCH. 69 

The Rectory, which was given by Pharamus de Bolonia to the 
Prior and convent of Merton, was vested in the crown in 15-19. Sir 
William Goring held it in 1554 ; and John Fromond in 1568. It 
passed from the heirs of the latter to the family of Bynde, or Byne. 
Henry Byne, of Carshalton, who died in 1697, gave a moiety of the 
tithes to the vicar of the parish ; and his son Henry, by will dated 
March 26th, 1723, settled the remainder in the same manner, subject 
to the life-interest of his wife. 8 The patronage is now vested in John 
Cator, esq. 

Rectors of Carshalton in and since 1800: — 

William Rose, M.A. Instituted in January, 1777 : died on 
the 10th of April, 1829. 

Charles Cator (now rector of Stokesley in Yorkshire). In- 
stituted in 1829 : resigned. 

William Hardy Vernon, B.A. Instituted July 15th, 1835. 
The Church, which is in the deanery of Ewell, and situated on a 
rising ground near the centre of the village, is dedicated to All-Saints. 
In the Valor of 20th Edward the First, the rectory is rated at twenty- 
one marks ; the vicarage, at six marks and forty pence. It is dis- 
charged in the King's books ; but pays for procurations 7s. 6^d., and 
for synodals, 2s. Id. In its present state, the church consists of a 
nave, with a chancel, two aisles, and a low embattled tower (containing 
eight bells) between the chancel and the nave. There can be no 
doubt, however, that what is now the chancel was originally the entire 
church, having the tower at the west end. The chancel, composed 
of rubble-stones and flint, is unquestionably ancient. The aisles are 
separated from the nave by ancient and dissimilar columns, of rude 
workmanship, supporting three pointed arches on each side : their 
capitals are enriched with sculptured foliage. The upper parts of 
both aisles were rebuilt with brick, and raised for the purpose of 
erecting galleries, about the beginning of the last century, chiefly at 
the expense of Sir John Fellowes and Sir William Scawen : the upper 
part of the tower is of freestone. In 1811, the church underwent a 
thorough repair; and, about seven or eight years ago, during the 
residence of the present incumbent, several important alterations and 
improvements were effected. Amongst others, a screen was erected 
in front of the altar-piece ; by which means, the eastern end of the 
chancel was converted into a large, light, and commodious vestry ; 
and what was formerly the vestry, at the west end, was taken into 
the body of the church. At the same time, the organ-gallery was 
brought considerably forward: additional room was thus gained ; and 
8 Manning, Subkky, vol. ii. pp. 513, 514. 



70 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

the church, which is ninety-nine feet in length, by thirty-seven feet 
and a half in breadth, now accommodates a congregation of about 
nine hundred persons. 9 

In this church are some fine brasses, ancient monuments, and in- 
scriptions ; accounts of which are preserved in Manning and Bray : 10 
several others that were in existence in Aubrey's time, are now lost. — 
Against the wall, on the north side of the altar, in what is now the 
vestry, is an altar-tomb of Purbeck marble; over which, affixed 
against the wall, is a large slab of the same material, inlaid with the 
brass figures of a man and woman at prayer. The man is in armour, 
on one knee, with his gauntlet and sword at his feet ; and behind him, 
are his four sons ; the eldest in armour as an esquire ; the second, 
habited as a priest ; and the third and fourth, as merchants. Before 
the woman is a desk, with an open book upon it ; behind, are her 
four daughters. Beneath, is the following inscription: — 

^rap for tlje Soulps of ifrtcfjolas ffiapncsfortf, sometime lEsqper for tfye botlp 
of the most noble primes 1£tJt»artt the IEEE. anB l^enrp the UEE. antt J^largaret 
his topfe, also one of the Gentiltopmmen of the most noble p'nccsses lElt?abeth 
antf "Elizabeth, topfes of tije forsaitl most noble p'nces fepnges. ©he mfticfj 
Jlicholas BecesiTJ the tiap of in the pere of ourc ICorH (Soft 

a mttcc , anti the forsaiU JUaigaret UistesrjU the Hap of in 

the pere of ottre liortJ €Go"B a thotosanti tea . @n tohoos sotolles 3J'bu habe 
mercp. ?lmen. 11 

Traces of the gilding and painted fillings-up of the brass figures 
on the slab are still visible. The lady's head-dress, remarkable for its 
size, corresponds with other specimens of the same date ; her robe, 

9 Lysons has expressed an opinion, but we feel his reasoning to be contradictory rather 
than conclusive, that the church was built in the reign of Richard the Second. The data 
on which he founds this opinion are, that previously to the alterations during the 
eighteenth century, there were, in the windows of the north aisle, the arms of Burley 
and Sarnesfield, with the Order of the Garter, and those of John Beaufort, earl of 
Somerset, without that distinction ; that Simon, Richard, and John Burley were elected 
knights of the Garter in the reign of Richard the Second; and that the Earl of Somerset 
was afterwards of that Order, but not elected till the reign of Henry the Fourth. The 
architecture of the chancel, he says, confirms the above conjecture ; but the columns 
which separate the nave from the aisles, appear to be of a more remote age ; and, further, 
he states that, in the Registry at Winchester, there is a commission, dated in 1324, for 
reconciling the church of Carshalton which had been polluted by the death of Thomas 
Gruton. [Environs, vol. i. p. 126]. Now, Richard the Second did not begin to reign until 
the year 1378. The chancel, which (as we have already remarked) is the most ancient 
portion of the building, and originally constituted the entire church, is of a much earlier 
period. It is probable, however, that additions were made in the reign of Richard the 
Second. 

10 Surrey, vol. ii. p. 514, et seq. 

11 It is remarkable, that there are other monuments in this church in which blanks 
have been left for the dates, as though they had been prepared in the life-time of those 
whom they commemorate, and the dates never supplied. 



MONUMENTS IN CARSHALTON CHURCH. 71 

which has close sleeves, is red, edged with gold. Over the heads of 
the figures are some armorial bearings in brass. 18 

On the south wall of the vestry (or chancel), is a small mural monu- 
ment, of black marble, equally curious for the facts which it records, 
and for the style of the record. The inscription is as follows : — 

M.S. 
Under the middle stone y l guards y c ashes of a certai/ne fryer, sometime Vicar 
of this place, is raked up y e duste of William Quelchk, B.D. who ministred 
in y c same since the Reformac'on. His lott was, through God's mercy, to hurne 
incense here about 30 y r > and ended his course Aprill the 10, an D'ni 1054, 
being aged 64 years. 1 Reg. 13, 31. 

Quos bifrons templo divisit cultus in uno 

Pacificus tumulus jam facit esse pares ; 
Fcelix ilia dies, quae cultus semina solvit, 

Quae placida fidei media condit humo. 
Hie sumus ambo pares, donee cineremq ; fidemq ; 

Discutiat reddens Christus utriq ; suum. 

Those whom a two fac't service here made twaine, 
At length a friendly grave makes one again. 

Happy that day that hides o r sinful jarrs, 
That shutts up al o r shame in earthen barrs : 
Here let us sleepe as one, till C ye juste 
Shall sever both o r service, faith, and duste. 

Near the above-mentioned, tablet, is a monument of a costly and 
imposing character, to the memory of Henry Herringman, (citizen 
and stationer of London), and Alice his wife, who " were married 
September 29th, 1650, and lived 58 years and upwards very happily 
and comfortably together, and dyed within six weeks and two days of 
one another.'" 3 

On the opposite side of the vestry is a mural monument of the 
Taylors, lords of the manor. Also, one to the memory of the Rev. 
William Rose, who died on the 10th of April, 1829 ; having been 
" fifty-two years rector of Carshalton, and of Beckenham, in Kent." 

At the east end of the north aisle is a large, massive, tasteless 
monument of veined marble, to the memory of Sir John Fellowes, 
bart., who died in July, 1724, at the age of fifty-three. — In a corres- 
ponding situation, at the end of the south aisle, is a handsome monu- 
ment, supported by Corinthian columns and pilasters, to the memory 
of Sir William Scawen, M.P., who died at the age of seventy-five, 
on the 17th of October, 1722; and is represented by a statue of 
white marble, in a loose robe and flowing peruke, reclining on his 

12 For a coloured engraving of these brasses see Lysons's Environs, vol. i. p. 128. 

13 The value of this monument has been estimated, by a sculptor of the present day, at 
one thousand guineas. The artist's name was Kidwell. 



72 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

left arm. — In the south aisle, also, is a monument of black marble, 
supported by columns of the Ionic order, to the memory of Sir 
Edmund Hoskins, knt., serjeant-at-law, who died in 1664. 

On a stone in the north aisle, commemorating Johan, the wife of 
Henry Burton, esq., who died in 1624, is a brass figure of a woman 
praying, with a scroll issuing from her mouth, inscribed — 

O blessed Lady of pittie, p'y for me, y l my soule savyd may be. 

On the right and left of the entrance to the chancel from the nave, 
are two small but beautifully-executed mural monuments, in white 
marble, by Physick. The former represents a youthful female, attendant 
on the death-bed of her brother, Michael Shepley, esq., who died 
on the 21st of March, 1837: this monument was erected by the sisters 
of the deceased. The monument on the left, to the memory of 
Susanna Shepley, (one of the sisters), who died February the 19th, 
1840, represents a female resting, mournfully, on a cenotaph sur- 
mounted by an urn. 

There are various other monuments in this church well deserving; 
of notice, but of which our limits will not admit particulars. 14 — The 
pulpit and reading-desk are of oak and plain ; the former is of an 
hexagonal form. The font, standing in front of the communion-table, 
is small and of stone. 

The Registers of this parish, commencing in the year 1538, are 
comprised in two books ; the first of which appears to have been well 
kept, excepting that (owing to the troubles of the times) it contains no 
entries from 1644 to 1651. The more modern book begins in 1703 ; 
and, from 1708, it has been kept with great accuracy. The date of 
birth, as well as of baptism, is entered ; a system which, whenever it 
be practicable, ought to be enforced. In the old register is an entry, 
under the date of March the 3rd, 1569-70, referring to the celebration 
of the funeral here, of Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, knt. ; who had an 
occasional residence at Carshalton, but the actual place of his inter- 
ment was in London, in the church of St. Catherine Cree, where a 

14 Lysons has preserved the following inscription, from the tomb, or grave-stone, of 
Thomas Humphreys, a barber, (noted equally for his corpulence and his activity as a 
dancer), in the churchyard : — 

" Tom Humphreys lies here, by death beguil'd 
Who never did harm to man, woman, or child ; 
And since without foe, no man was e'er known, 
Poor Tom was nobody's foe but his own ; 
Lay light on him earth, for none would than he 
(Though heavy his bulk) trip it lighter on thee. 

" Died Sept. 4, 1742, aged 44 years." 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF CHEAM. 73 

splendid monument of alabaster was erected to his memory, lie was 
celebrated both as a soldier and statesman ; and acquired so much of 
the royal favour of queen Elizabeth, that the earl of Leicester 
regarded him as a formidable rival, and is suspected to have hastened 
his death by poison, " as he died suddenly at the earl's house, near 
Temple Bar, after eating a hearty supper." IS 

The only dissenting place of worship in Carshalton is a small chapel 
for Wcsleyan-methodists. 

CHEAM. 

This parish is bounded by Maldon on the north ; by Sutton, on the 
east ; by Banstead, on the south ; and by Cuddington, on the west. 
It contains about 1850 acres of land ; the northern portion of which 
is argillaceous, and the southern, calcareous. The commons, waste 
lands, and common-fields, were inclosed, under an act of parliament 
passed in 1806. 1 

Mr. Manning says, — "In 1018 Cheyham was given by King Athel- 
stan to Christchurch, Canterbury": and for this statement, he refers 
to Somner's Canterbury, p. 217 ; and to a Chartulary of Canterbury, 
in the Bodleian Library. 2 Here is a most egregious mistake, which, 
whether it originated with Somner or Manning, requires some ex- 
planation. King Athelstan died in 940 ; and, therefore, could not 
have been the donor of this manor. Some extracts from a Chronicle 
of Gervase of Canterbury, in manuscript in the Cottonian Library, 
are published in Dugdale's Monasticon, (new edit. vol. i. p. 95), where 
it is stated, that in 1018 " Mestcham and Cheyham, two vills in the 
region of Surrey, were given by Ethelstan to the monastery of Christ- 
church." No title distinguishes the donor ; but there can hardly be 
a doubt, but that he was Ethelstan, or Athelstan, a younger son of 
kino- Ethelred the Second, and brother of Edmund Ironside, whose 

15 Lysons, Environs, vol. i. p. 133.— His death occurred on the 12th of February, 
1569-70. He left a large family by Anne his wife, who was the daughter of Sir Nicholas 
Carew, of Beddington. — Another entry in the Carshalton register records the marriage, 
on the 7th of June, 1576, of " The right honorable Lorde Thomas Howard, Viscount of 
Bindon, and Mistres Mabell Burton."— Frances, an offspring of this union, was the 
beautiful but vain duchess of Richmond ; of whom Wilson, in his " Life of James the 
First," has spoken so largely. She was thrice married ; her first match being with 
Henry Prannel, the son of a vintner ; her second, with the earl of Hertford ; and the last, 
with the duke of Richmond. Being again left a widow, she aspired to the hand of the 
king himself; but the British Solomon, in this instance, was too discreet to gratify her 
ambition. 

1 A notice occurs in a Court-roll of the manor of Fast Cheam of a place called Ljftice's 
Corner, where stood a Cross, marking the concurrence of the three hundreds of Kingston, 
Copthorne, aud Wellington; and of the parishes of Cheam, Cuddington, and nfaldon. 

2 Manning, Suhhey, vol. ii. p. 468. 

VOL. IV. L 



74 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

name and designation ("Ethelstan Filius Regis") appear among those 
of the witnesses to the charter granted by Ethelred himself to the 
monastery of Burton-on-Trent, in 1004. (See Stow, Chron. p. 115). 
Prince Athelstan also bestowed on the monks of Canterbury, Holing- 
burne in Kent, towards the support of their table. 3 

In the Domesday book this manor is thus described, among the 
lands of the archbishop of Canterbury, who held "Ceiham" for the pro- 
vision of the monks — "de victu monachorum" : — 

" In the time of King Edward it was assessed at 20 hides : now at 4 hides. There 
are 14 carucates of arable land. Two carucates are in demesne, and twenty-five villains, 
and twelve cottars, with 15 carucates. There is a Church; and there are five bondmen, 
and 1 acre of meadow. The wood yields twenty-five swine. In the time of King 
Edward, and subsequently, it was valued at 8 pounds : now at 14 pounds." * 

According to Somner, the archbishops of Canterbury held the 
estates of the church in common with the monks of Christchurch, till 
Lanfrank, who presided over the See from 1070 to 1089, built a palace 
for himself, and made a division of the revenues ; in consequence of 

3 According to the Great Chartulary of the See of Canterbury, (referred to above), the 
grant of the manor of Cheam to the monks exempted them from the payment of all 
taxes, except for the repairing of bridges and fortresses, and defraying the expense of the 
king's expeditions. Like an epigram, the grant carries a sting in its tail ; concluding with 
this benevolent expression, levelled against those who might presume to infringe its 
terms — " Excommunicatus cum diabolo societur." 

4 Manning and Bray record some remarkable particulars, but without quoting their 
authority, connected with the early history of Cheam, or Kaham, as here called. 

" A certain Vavassor who held (Vavassoriam) land in Kaham of Ralph de Kaham, was 
disseised for some crime which he had committed. He had a female cousin, by whom 
William Postell, then parson of the church of Kaham, had four daughters ; of whom 
three were married, one remained single. Postell took this land to farm of Ralph de 
Kabam, but a Chaplain, cousin of the Vavassor, sued Postell for the land, and proceeded 
so far that battle was gaged in Ralph's Court ; Postell, however, by means of a present to 
Ralph, got him to avow that he had given the land to Postell in frank almoigne with the 
Church of Kaham, and so that suit was ended. 

" Afterwards Robert de Cirsurandus, cousin of the Chaplain and the Vavassor, brought 
a fresh suit in the King's Court for the advowson of the Church, which was settled 
between Robert and the Monks of Merton. 

" After this, Ralph de Gremville, being a married man, but his wife languishing in 
sickness, took to him the unmarried daughter of Postell ; by her had two sons, Robert 
and Ralph, born in his wife's life-time. He and the woman were summoned to the 
Chapter of Merton, when she was excommunicated, and died under that sentence. 
Robert and Ralph being adults in the time of Henry II., brought their suit to recover the 
inheritance as well of the said Gremville, as of their grandfather Postell, whereupon a 
jury was summoned, who awarded to them the inheritance of their father, and would have 
awarded to them the Church of Kaham, but it being objected that they were bastards, 
the King ordered that though the jury was summoned, if bastardy could be proved, they 
should lose as well their father's inheritance as the advowson. They hearing this would 
not prosecute their suit for the advowson, but confined themselves to the claim of their 
father's land, which they contended was given them by deed." — Manning, Surrey, 
vol. ii. p. 468. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF CHEAM. 7 ■'> 

which, Cheam was separated into two portions, called East Cheam 
and West Cheam, which constituted distinct manors, now considered 
to be united, in the possession of Edward Richard Northey, esq. 
Lanfrank kept East Cheam, with the advowson of the living, for 
himself and his successors, and assigned West Cheam to the monks. 5 
In the Taxation of Pope Nicholas, the manor of East Cheam is valued 
at 10/.; and the other manor at 61. 13s. 4d. 

Manor of East Cheam. — This manor continued to form a part of 
the estates of the archiepiscopal prelates until the reign of Henry the 
Eighth ; who, wishing to annex it to the Honour of Hampton-court, 
obtained it from Archbishop Cranmer, in exchange for Chislet park 
in Kent; and the transfer was accordingly made, by a deed dated 
June the 30th, 1539. In the beginning of the reign of Philip and 
Mary, a grant of the estate was made to Anthony Browne, Viscount 
Montague ; who, in 1583, sold it to Henry Fitz-Alan, earl of Arundel ; 
from whom it passed to John, lord Lumley, who married Jane, a 
daughter and coheiress of Lord Arundel. 

Manor of West Cheam. — The Prior and convent of Christchurch 
retained possession of this manorial estate until the dissolution of 
monasteries, when it became vested in the crown ; and Henry the 
Eighth granted it on lease, at a reserved rent of 5/., to Ralph Gold- 
smith. Queen Elizabeth, in 1585, granted the reversion of the 

5 Referring to the manor of West Cheam, the subjoined extract will be found to 
contain some curious information as to the " customary services" of tenants under the 
feudal system : — 

" Amongst the Records in the Treasury of the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury is the 
following account of the services to be done by their customary tenants here, of whom 
there were seven : each was to plough half an acre or give 5c/. : every one having a horse 
was to harrow oats one day : they were to perform in the whole 602 days work, or to pay, 
if the Lord pleased, 25s. Id., the price of two works being Id., except two weeks at 
Christmas, one at Easter, and one at Pentecost, in which weeks no works were to be 
required ; each was to work two days in a week during the five weeks of harvest, if it 
lasted so long. 

" The Cotters (Cotmanni, the number not mentioned), were to do 688 works (except 
in the weeks above mentioned), or to give, if the Lord pleased, 19s. 2d., the price of three 
works being Is. In harvest they were to do 150 works ; the mowing one acre of wheat 
or oats was to be considered as two works, and one acre of barley, pease, or tares, as four 
works. — From certain seven acres of land was to be paid yearly three quarters and a half 
of barley, which is called Cherchshot, — The Customary Tenants were to thrash nine 
bushels for eight of every kind of grain. The Bailiff was to be allowed his rent and 
works which were due from him, because he received no wages, except by favour of the 
Lord.— The Customary Tenants were also to have one bushel of rye or barley when they 
did their services, herrings to the value of 12</., and cheese •'!</. ; the llarrowers to have 
one bushel of barley, and in herrings to the value of 6<f. — The land of the Smith was 
discharged because it was part of the demesne, value 2s. Gil." — Register 2.cccxxxiii or 
243 (the pages having two sets of numbers). — Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 469. 

L 2 



76 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

premises formerly belonging to Christchurch priory, and afterwards 
annexed to the Honour of Hampton-court, together with reserved 
rent of 51. and the manor of West Cheam, with all the rents, services, 
and emoluments belonging to it, with the exception of the lead 
and bells, and the advowsons of churches, of the yearly value of 
9/. I65. 2\d., to John, lord Lumley, to hold of the Honour of Hamp- 
ton-court in free socage, and not in capite, by fealty only for all 
services. 

This nobleman having acquired the manor of East Cheam, as above 
stated, by marriage, became owner of both these estates. He died in 
1609; and although twice married, had no surviving issue; two sons 
and a daughter, whom he had by his first consort, having all died in 
infancy. His estates, consequently, devolved on his nephew, Henry 
Lloyd, son of the learned antiquary, Humphrey Lloyd (or Lhwyd), by 
Barbara, his lordship's sister. 

The manors of East and West Cheam descended to the Rev. 
Robert Lumley Lloyd, D.D., who claimed the barony of Lumley, 
which had been forfeited by the attainder of George Lumley, the 
father of his maternal relation, and, as he alleged, restored by the 
grant to that personage in 1547 ; but the committee of the House of 
Lords decided against the claim, on the ground that when John, lord 
Lumley, was restored in blood, (after the attainder of his father,) by 
Edward the Sixth, he was not restored to the ancient barony, which 
was held in fee, but made a baron by a new creation, which dignity 
was limited to the heirs of his body, and could not, therefore, descend 
to the posterity of his sister. 

Dr. Lloyd died in 1729; having bequeathed his estate at Cheam to 
John, duke of Bedford, to whom he had been indebted for preferment 
in the church. In 1755, the duke sold the manors of East and West 
Cheam to Edward Northey, esq., whose son and heir (William) died 
in 1808, and was succeeded by his cousin, William Northey, esq. 
M.P. for Newport in Cornwall. That gentleman was succeeded, about 
the year 1826, by his nephew, Edward Richard Northey, esq., the 
present lord. 

Lower Cheam. — The mansion, or manor-house, of East Cheam, or 
Lower Cheam, was held on lease from the crown, by the family of 
Fromond, before the manor was granted to Viscount Montague. The 
Fromonds appear to have obtained a property in the estate, in fee- 
simple, although at what period is uncertain. Their estate, consisting of 
a capital messuage in Cheam, with nine acres of land called Lampland 
and Lightland, tenements in West Cheam, and other places in Surrey 
and Kent, passed by the marriage of an heiress to the family of 



BENEFICE AND REGISTERS OF CHEAM. 77 

Walmcsley. Bartholomew Walincsley, who died seised of the estate 
in 1701, leaving a son, who died young, the inheritance devolved on 
Catherine VValraesley, his daughter, who (in 1712), when only fifteen, 
married Robert, lord Petre, who died the following year, leaving his 
widow pregnant. In 1733, she re-married Charles Stourton, who 
succeeded to the barony of Stourton, but died without issue. His 
lady survived till 1785 ; when this estate came into the possession of 
her grandson, Robert Edward, lord Petre ; by whom the house was 
sold to Mr. Bullock ; and of him it was purchased by the late John 
Antrobus, esq., who rebuilt it. Lord Petre sold most of the land to 
John Ililbert, esq. ; to whom it belonged in 1808. This gentleman 
was succeeded in the East Cheam estate by his nephew, John Hilbert 
Tate, esq., of Epsom, the present owner, in the year 1819. 

The principal seat in the parish is that of Sir Edmund William 
Antrobus, bart., occupying the site of the ancient mansion of the 
Fromonds, and erected, as mentioned above, about forty-six years ago, 
by the late John Antrobus, esq., who died in 1813. 6 

North Cheam Park, the seat of Archdale Palmer, esq., is a pleasant 
residence, occupying the locality indicated by its name. Mr. Palmer 
has, on various occasions, proved himself a most liberal benefactor to 
the parish. 

The benefice of Cheam is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell, and 
in the peculiar jurisdiction of the archbishop of Canterbury. It is 
valued in the Liber Regis at 17/. 5s. 5d.; paying for procurations, 
6.5. 8d. The patronage went with the manor of East Cheam, and 
thence to the crown, and was granted out on lease. In 1585, Queen 
Elizabeth granted the reversion in fee to Sir Christopher Hatton. It 
belonged afterwards to Lord Lumley ; and descended, with his estate, 
to his nephew, Henry Lloyd; who, with his son, conveyed it, in 1638, 
to Benjamin Holford ; by whom it was transferred, in the same year, 
to the College of St. John, Oxford, (in which it continues), for the 
consideration of 380/. — The Registers commence with the year 1 538, 
and have few deficiencies. 

6 Edmund Antrobus, esq. (fourth son of Philip Antrobus, esq. of Congleton, in the 
county of Chester, by Mary, daughter of Thomas Rowley, esq. of Overton, in the county 
of Stafford), was created a baronet on the 22nd of May, 1815; with remainder to his 
nephews, Edmund William Antrobus, and Gibbs Crawford Antrobus, esqrs., the sons of 
his brother, John Antrobus, esq. of Cheam, by Anne, only daughter of Gibbs Crawford, 
esq. Sir Edmund died without issue in 1826, when, agreeably to the patent of creation, 
the title devolved upon his elder nephew, the present baronet. This gentleman, born in 
1792, married (in 1817) Anne, daughter of the Hon. Hugh Lindsay, brother of Alexander, 
sixth earl of Balcarras ; by whom he has several children. His eldest son, Edmund, 
born in 1818, is one of the representatives in parliament of the eastern division of this 
county. 



78 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Rectors of Cheam. — It is remarkable, that of six successive rectors 
of Cheam, in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, five should have 
become bishops. 7 There have been only three rectors here since the 
year 1747, viz. — 

James King, D.D. Instituted on the 3rd of December, 1747 : 

died in 1780. 
Henry Peach, B.D. Instituted on the 3rd of June, 1780 : 

died in 1813. 
William Bennett, B.D. Instituted September 6th, 1813. 

7 1. Anthony Watson, instituted in 1581, was promoted to the see of Chichester in 
1596, and held Cheam in commendam till his death, in 1605 ; at which time he was almoner 
to King James. He was buried at Cheam. 

2. Lancelot Andrews, the then bishop of Chichester, was instituted, in 1609, to the 
rectory of Cheam ; which he resigned within a few months on his promotion to Ely. He was 
afterwards translated to Winchester. This prelate was celebrated both as a preacher and a 
writer. Fuller said, that they who stole his sermons could not steal his manner. Queen 
Elizabeth gave him the deanery of Westminster ; which laid the foundation of his pro- 
motion under her successor, King James. He had a considerable share in the translation 
of the Bible. He is said to have understood fifteen languages. The following lines were 
applied to him : — 

" If ever any merited to be 

The Universal Bishop, this was he ; 

Great Andrews, who the whole vast sea did drain 

Of learning, and distilPd it in his brain : 

Those pious drops are of the purest kind, 

Which trickled from the limbeck of his mind." 

Bishop Andrews died in 1626, and was buried in St. Saviour's church, Southwark. 

3. George Mountain, or Mountaigne, was instituted to the rectory of Cheam on 
Bishop Andrews's translation to Ely in 1609; was promoted to Lichfield and Coventry in 
1611 ; he resigned Cheam on his translation to Lincoln in 1617 ; he afterwards became, 
successively, Bishop of London and of Durham, and in 1628, Archbishop of York. He 
died in the same year, at the age of fifty-nine, and was buried at Cawood in Yorkshire, 
the place of his nativity. 

4. Richard Senhouse was instituted to the rectory of Cheam on the promotion of 
Bishop Mountain. He resigned in 1624, when made Bishop of Carlisle. He died in 
1628. 

5. John Hacket obtained the living of Cheam on the promotion of Bishop Senhouse. 
His motto was, " Serve God and be cheerful." At the breaking out of the civil wars, he 
was chosen by the clergy to be their advocate against the bill for taking away the church 
government. While in retirement at Cheam, he continued to read the Common Prayer, 
until he was enjoined by the Surrey Committee to forbear, and found himself under the 
necessity of omitting such parts as were most offensive to the government. Soon after 
the restoration, while holding the living of St. Andrew's, Holborn, having received notice 
for the interment of a fanatic, he committed the burial service to memory. "As he was 
a great master of elocution, and was himself always affected with the propriety and 
excellence of the composition, he delivered it with such emphasis and grace, as touched 
the hearts of every one present, and especially of the friends of the deceased, who 
unanimously declared, that they had never heard a finer discourse. But how were they 
astonished, when they were told that it was taken from our liturgy ; a book which, though 
they had never read, they had been taught to regard with contempt and detestation !" — 
Dr. Hacket, during his retirement with his pupil, Sir John Byron, at Newstead Abbey 



CHURCH, AND MONUMENTS AT CHEAM. 



79 




CHEAM CHURCH. 



The Church, dedicated to St. Dunstan, consists of a nave ; north 
and south aisles ; a chancel ; and a low square tower, embattled, at the 
west end, in which are six bells. According to a note on a pane of 
glass taken out of the old palace at Croydon, " the church of Cheme 
was burnt by lightning in the year 1639." The destruction, however, 
could have been only partial, as the tower and part of the chancel 
walls, built of flint and stone, and of a far more ancient date, remain ; 
these are now rough-cast : the external walls of the body of the 
church are of brick. About four years ago an enlargement of the 
church, with many improvements, was effected on the north side, at 

wrote a Latin comedy, entitled " Loyola" which was twice acted before King James the 
First. — He resigned the rectory of Cheam in 1662, after holding it nearly forty years. 
This was the year after he had been promoted to the see of Lichfield and Coventry. He 
expended twenty thousand pounds on the repairs and improvements of his cathedral ; he 
made additions to Trinity College. Cambridge, at a cost of twelve hundred pounds ; and 
he left his valuable library, and various other benefactions, to the University. He died at 
Lichfield in 1670, and lies buried in the cathedral, under a handsome tomb erected by his 
eldest son, Sir Andrew Hacket, master in Chancery. 

The rector of Cheam, between Bishop Watson and Bishop Andrews, was Thomas 
Playfkre, Margaret professor of divinity at Cambridge. He was instituted in 1605; 
died in 1609 ; and was buried in St. Botolph's cliurch, Cambridge, "where there is an 
inscription to his memory full of the most extravagant praises." 

The first rector presented to Cheam by St. John's College was Edward Bernard, a 
learned linguist, critic, chronologist, and astronomer. He was instituted in 107:2 ; and he 
resigned in the following year, and was appointed Savilian Professor of Astronomy at 
Oxford. He died in 1697 ; and was buried in the chapel of St. John's college. 



80 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

an expense of seven hundred pounds; which was defrayed by the 
principal inhabitants, without a rate, or any extraneous aid whatever. 
The church is well pewed ; and, with galleries on the south, west, 
and north sides, is at once handsome and commodious; accommodation 
being afforded for between seven and eight hundred persons. The 
pulpit and reading-desk are painted in imitation of wainscot, thus 
harmonising with the other wood-work of the edifice. The font is a 
plain circular basin of stone, standing on a pedestal, in front of the 
communion-table. Part of the gallery on the south is appropriated to 
the organ and singers. " Dr. Mayo's gallery," at the west end, is a 
"faculty," granted to the school at Cheam, by the payment of five 
shillings for the admission of each pupil, on his first coming to school : 
this is paid to the churchwardens, towards the repairs of the church. 
The monuments, (some of which, in the nave and aisles, were changed 
in position at the time of the recent improvements), are mostly of a 
superior description, and in excellent preservation. 

The chancel is separated from the nave by a round arch; the ceiling 
of which, extending eastward, is enriched with popinjays and quatre- 
foils. 8 The upper portions of the chancel window are ornamented 
with modern-painted glass. At the end of the south aisle is a small 
chancel, or chapel, called Fromonds', in which the family of that name 
are buried. This chapel, dedicated to St. Mary, was originally built 
previously to the year 1449 ; as John Yerde, in his will of that date, 
directed his body to be buried therein. 9 Lady Stourton, a descendant 
of the Fromonds, rebuilt the chapel in 1750; but, as the floor was not 
disturbed, the grave-stones, the brasses of which are much worn and 
partially destroyed, remain as they were originally placed. 

In the chancel are noble and costly monuments, to the memory of 
John, Lord Lumley, who died in 1609 ; 10 — of his first wife, Jane, 
eldest daughter and coheir of Henry Fitz-Alan, earl of Arundel, who 
died in 1577 ; — and of his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of John, 

8 The popinjays, or parrots, for Lumley ; the quatrefoils, for Darcy/ 

9 John Yerde bequeathed his estates in Surrey, after the death of his wife, to his second 
son, John ; to whom, also, he left " 400 muttons ; 20s. to the repair of the church ; and 
20s. to the high altar." — Regist. Lamb. Stafford, f. 188, b. 

10 Of the above nobleman, Camden says — " He was one of entire virtue, integrity, and 
innocence ; and in his old age, a complete pattern of true nobility. Having so great a 
veneration for the memory of his ancestors that he caused monuments to be erected for 
them, in the collegiate church of Chester le Street (opposite Lumley Castle) in the order 
as they succeeded one another, from Liulphus down to his own time; which he had either 
picked out of the demolished monasteries, or made new." He was High-steward of the 
University of Oxford ; and, having a taste for literature, he collected a fine library, in 
which he was assisted by his brother-in-law, Humphrey Lloyd. After his death, the 
books were purchased by King James ; and they became the foundation of the Royal 
Library, which now forms part of the collection in the British Museum. 



MONUMENTS OF THE LUMLEYS, CI1EAM. 81 

lord D'Arcy, of Chichc. Lord Lumlcy's monument is on the north 
side of the chancel : it is of white marble, supported by two columns 
of the Corinthian order; and on the sides are sculptured and em- 
blazoned the armorial bearings of the Lumleys, and of the families 
with whom they had intermarried, on nineteen shields. On it is the 
family motto of the Lumleys: — Murus ceneus conscientia sana. On a 
marble tablet below, is a very long Latin inscription, tracing the 
family of the Lumleys from their Anglo-Saxon origin, until the decease 
of Lord Lumlcy, in 1609. 1 ' 

The monument of Jane, Lady Lumley, Lord Lumley's first wife, a 
woman greatly distinguished by learning and talent, 18 is on the south 
side of the chancel. In the upper part is the effigy of the deceased, 
kneeling, in basso relievo. Beneath, is a large altar-tomb, of marble 
and alabaster, covered with a slab of black marble (fractured), eight 
feet five inches in length, and four feet two inches and a half in 
breadth. On the front, in two compartments, are the two sons and 
the daughter of the deceased, richly sculptured in alabaster, kneeling. 
At each end are the arms and quarterings of Fitz-Alan and Lumley. 
At the top is a horse with a branch of a tree in his mouth, a crest of 
Fitz-Alan ; and below, in a small oval, is St. George on foot fighting 
with the dragon. At each corner is a hawk. 

The monument of Lord Lumley's second w T ife, Elizabeth, daughter 
of John, lord D'Arcy, of Chiche, is on the north side of the chancel, 
westward from that of her husband. Within a recess lies the effigy 
of the deceased, in alabaster, at full length. At the head and feet are 
the arms of Lumley and D'Arcy; above, is a brief inscription. 13 

11 This monument, with its inscriptions, is engraved in Sandford's Genealogical History. 
The inscriptions are also preserved in Lysons's Environs, vol. i. p. 141 ; and in Manning 
and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. p. 474. 

Liulph, the ancestor of the Lumleys, was a baron of great consideration in the time of 
Edward the Confessor. According to Dugdale, Camden, and others, the family took its 
surname from Lumley Castle, on the Wear, at the commencement of the Norman era. 
John, Lord Lumley, to whom this note refers, was the only son of the Honourable George 
Lumley, who had been attainted and executed for high-treason in the 29th of Henry the 
Eighth: on his own death, without surviving issue, the new barony of Lumley expired. Sir 
Richard Lumley, who inherited under his will, was created, in 1623, Viscount Lumley of 
Waterford. He was the great-great-great grandfather of the present John Lumley Savile 
Saunderson, earl of Scarborough. 

12 She translated thelphigenia of Euripalcs, and some of the Orations of [socratks, into 
English ; and one of the latter, into Latin. The manuscripts are in the British Museum. 
— Vide Walpole, Royal and Noble Authors; Lysons, Environs, vol. i. p. 144. In 
the latter work, is an engraving of the upper compartment of the monument, including 
the figure of Lady Lumley. 

13 By deed, dated April 30th, 1597, made between John, Lord Lumley, of the one 
part, and William Fromond and other inhabitants of Cheam, of the other part, his 
lordship states that "he had caused three monuments to be erected in West Cheam, for 

VOL. IV. M 



82 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

In Fromond's chapel are several memorials of that family. On the 

south wall is a brass-plate (imperfect), on which is a representation of 

the Father crowned, in the act of blessing, with his left hand on a 

crucifix, and the dove hovering above his head. There are, also, a 

man and a woman, (the latter, with a head-dress resembling that of 

Margaret Gaynsford, at Carshalton,) each before an altar, attended by 

six sons and four daughters, with the following inscription : — 

IPrarj for the soulles of Hfiomas JFromonO TEsqurjer antr !Eli?abetI) his tnrjffe, 
Baugljter anB fteper of 3oI;n ]9ertJe lEsqurnr, toftiche Stomas Becessptt tfte nf st 
Sao of Jffilarche, the ne r of o T J.otXi ffioB JfWU c X£IEE, antf in the mitt d gere of 
the reijgne of IKunge l|cnrp tfte ITEEEth. ©it mhose soulles 3Thu ha&e mercrj, a. 

In different parts of the church are various handsome memorials of 
the Pybus and Small families. Against one of the piers which divide 
the nave from the north aisle, is a pyramid of grey marble, faced with 
an oval tablet of white, with a long inscription to the memory of John 
Pybus, son of Captain Bryan Pybus, of Dover. He was chief of 
Masulipatam ; a member of the council at Madras ; ambassador to the 
king of Ceylon ; and the first Englishman received in a public 
character at that prince's court. Having, during a period of five-and- 
twenty years, filled these and other public offices in India, he returned 
to England in 1768 ; and died in 1789, in the sixty-second year of his 
age. He married (in 1753) Martha, the youngest daughter and 
coheiress of Charles Small, esq., of Lewisham, in the county of 
Kent ; by whom he had two sons and six daughters ; whose births, 
marriages, &c, are recorded on the monument. 

Another monument, similar in style, on the eastern side of the 
pillar entering the chancel on the right, preserves the memory of 
Martha, widow of John Pybus, esq., who died in 1802; and of 
Charles Small Pybus, esq., their eldest son, M.P. for Dover, and one 
of the lords of the admiralty, who died in 1810. 

Against the same pillar, on its western side, is an urn of yellow 

himself, Lady Jane his wife deceased, and Lady Elizabeth then his wife ; he hopes they 
may be preserved, and that there is not any person of godly disposition, humour, or 
condition, who will deface, destroy, or take away the same ; and in consideration that the 
clerk be careful to sweep and rub the said monuments, and that the parson shall call on 
the clerk to perform this, and for relief of the poor, he grants to Fromond and the others a 
yearly rent-charge of 40s. issuing out of his estate here, to be paid at Lady-day only in 
every year; of which 6s. 8d. was to be paid to the parson, 13s. 4c?. to the clerk, and 2s. 
a piece to 10 poor people."— This trust was said, by Manning, to have been renewed. It 
does not appear that these interesting memorials have suffered from either neglect or ill- 
treatment ; but, even now, the hand of time is busy with them. They are, though not 
rapidly, falling to decay. A very small sum, judiciously expended, might arrest the 
progress of the destroyer. It would be creditable to the Earl of Scarborough, the present 
noble representative of the Lumleys, to attend to the honours of his house, by preserving 
these memorials. 



MONUMENTS IN CIIEAM CHURCH. 83 

marble partly covered with white, to the memory of Ann, Lady 

Fletcher, second daughter of John Pybus, esq., and widow of Brigadier 

General Sir Robert Fletcher, knt., commander-in-chief of the British 

forces on the coast of Coromandel. She died suddenly on the 16th 

of February, 1791 ; and her remains were interred in the vault of the 

Pybus family. 

In the middle of the south aisle, on descending the steps from 

Fromond's chapel, 14 is a stone, the central brass of which is gone ; but 

there are two shields remaining, with chevrons and fleurs-de-lis, and a 

plate, inscribed — 

33arth'us ^romounUcs films ct hcrcs ^Thorns' ^fromountJc rtupcr tie GEfiegft'm 
in com. Surr. Gen. obiil scpttmo tne 3ulij anno D'ni 1579. IS 

Near the west end of the north aisle, on a brass-plate, is the subjoined 

inscription, in capitals, and in perfect preservation : — 

Reader, this marble will consume like the bodies it covers ; but while it 
endures know that it preserves the memorie of a saint departed, Edmund 
Barret, Esq. Serjeant of the wine-cellar to King Charles, who rendered his 
soule to God in the 65th yeare of his age, Aug. 17, 1631 ; and this portion of 
sacred earth hath received his body, which is sequestered for the resurrection. 
He was happy in two wedlocks ; and both were fruitful to him. His former 
wife, Dorotlty Apssley, did bear him three sonns, Thomas, Edmund, and John, 
and one daughter, Constance. His second wife, Ruth Causten, brought him three 
sonns into the world, Robert, Francis, and Edward, and two daughters, Ruth 
and Margaret: many of these he left behind, and a good name to honour him. 
His eldest sonne, Thomas Barret, Gent, sometime Clerk of the Wardrobe to 
King Charles, bequeathed his spirit to Jesus Christ, and his bodie to this same 
earth, shortly after the decease of his father, for he finished his days Aprill 28, 
1632, in the 36 yeare of his age, leaving the sorrow for his departure to many 
friends, chiefly to his loving wife, Man/ Purton, by whom hee had no issue. 
Thus father and sonn are composed together in the grave of corruption. Loving 
they were in their lives ; and in their death they are not divided. Reader, praise 
God for the happy departure of his faithful servants ; and fare thee well. 

Extending westward from Barret's grave, is a similar stone, with 
by-asses of a man and woman, partly covered by the flooring of one of 
the pews. 

On a black marble in the floor, near the south wall, is an inscription, 
(reflecting honour upon all the parties concerned), to the memory of 
Jane Pattinson, waiting woman to her Grace Diana, first wife of John, 

H Formerly, against the north wall, but removed at the time of the enlargement of the 
church, to the left of the gallery over Fromond's chapel, was a white marble monument to 
the memory of Fanny Maria Davenport, wife of Richard Davenport, esq., of Court 
Garden, in the county of Bucks, and eldest daughter of Edmund and Maria Sanxay, of 
Cheam. In the church and church-yard are numerous memorials of the Sanxay family, 
long settled at Cheam, and connected, by blood, with that of Antrobus ; Mrs. .Maria 
Sanxay, here mentioned, having been the sister of Edmund Antrobus, esq., of Spring- 
Gardens, Westminster, who died at Cheam in I* 

15 Jane, one of the daughters of Bartholomew Fromond, married the celebrated Dr. Dee. 

M 2 



84 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

duke of Bedford. In consideration of her faithful services, her noble 
mistress, on her death-bed, in 1735, recommended her to the duke's 
favour ; and from his Grace she received quarterly, to the day of her 
death, in 1755, an allowance of 500/. a year. "Enabled by so 
generous a benefaction, she testified the goodness of her heart by 
frequent acts of charity to the poor, by distinguished gratitude to her 
relations and friends, and liberal donations to many publick societies." 

Amongst the more modern memorials may be especially mentioned 
that of the late Philip Antrobus, esq. (on the south wall of the 
chancel), of Lower Cheam, which is of white marble, projecting 
from a grey marble back-ground, and supported by brackets. His 
decease, on the 27 th of January, 1816, at the age of sixty-one, is 
recorded on a tablet, affixed beneath a sculptured pediment, supported 
by two fluted columns ; as, also, is that of Sir Edmund Antrobus, 
bart., of Eaton-hall in Cheshire, who died on the 6th of February, 
1826, aged seventy-five years. 

Against the south wall, at the east end of the aisle, in the gallery 
over Fromond's chapel, is a neat tablet of white marble, inscribed to 
the memory of the Rev. Henry Peach, thirty-three years rector of 
this parish, who died March the 10th, 1813, aged seventy-two years; 
and also, of his wife, a daughter, and two sons. 

Against the same wall, but nearer to the chancel, are two other 
white marble tablets, exactly corresponding in size and style : the first 
is commemorative of John Antrobus, esq., who died in 1813 ; the 
second, of Clement Kinnersley, esq., of Loxley-park in the county 
of Stafford, and of Carshalton in Surrey, who died in 1815; and of 
his daughter, the wife of Thomas Sneyd, esq., of Loxley-park, who 
died in 1808. 

The church-yard is neatly kept. Near the north side of the tower 

is an obelisk, within rails, marking the burial place of the Farmer 

family. On the south side of the church-yard is a black-marble tomb 

covering the remains of Henry Neal, of Christiana his wife, and of 

their daughter, Eliza Dutton. The inscription is interesting only from 

its reference to the remarkable fact, that the daughter, " Eliza Dutton, 

was murdered, on the 13th of July, 1687, by her neighbour, while 

endeavouring to make peace between him and his wife." 

" Here lyes the best of wives, of mothers, and of friends, 
Whose soul, too good for earth, in heaven attends, 
With joy and comfort till the day of doome, 
When all her virtuous deeds shall thither come : 
To save her neighbour she has spilt her blood, 
And like her Saviour died for doing good. 
May that curs'd hand forget itself to feed 
That made its benefactour thus to bleed !" 



SCHOOLS AT CHEAM. — WHITEHALL HOUSE. s .', 

National and Sunday schools, for Cheam and Cuddington, were 
established here by voluntary subscriptions, in the year 1826. Arch- 
dale Palmer, esq., of North Cheam park, gave the ground for the 
building ; and was, also, a liberal contributor to the cost of the 
foundation. About one hundred and fifty boys and girls are educated 
here ; the school-master and mistress enjoying a liberal salary, with an 
excellent house and garden. 16 

Near the church is an ancient timber-built house, to which tradition 
gives a date (erroneously we conceive) of more than four hundred 
years. It is known by the name of Whitehall-house ; and one of its 
rooms, called the Council chamber, is said to have been used by 
Queen Elizabeth, when at the palace of Nonsuch, in Cuddington, for 
state purposes. Its present owner and occupant is Mr. James Killick ; 
in whose family it has been upwards of a century." 

During the time of the great plague, in 1666, several persons sent 
their children to Cheam, to a gentleman who kept a small school in 
Whitehall-house. The school afterwards became eminent ; and 
amongst those who were educated there was Dr. Charles Davenant, 
son of Sir William Davenant the poet. The establishment appears to 
have existed continuously down to the time when the master was the 
Rev. Dr. Sanxay, who built the present school, on a lease of ninety- 
nine years, which expired about the year 1818. It is a substantial, 
well-located residence, with large, lofty, and airy rooms. Dr. Sanxay 
was succeeded by his son, the Rev. James Sanxay; who, on acceptance 
of the adjoining living of Sutton, resigned the school to the Rev. Wm. 
Gilpin, subsequently vicar of Boldre (in Hants), and prebendary of 

16 The school children are not clothed ; hut there is a clothing cluh, to which they pay 
one penny a week each, and which is doubled at the end of the year, to supply clothing. 

At the time of the incorporation of the parish of Cheam with the Epsom Union, sundry 
tenements, which were called almshouses, in the hands of the churchwardens and overseers 
for the time being, and which were occupied by the parish poor, were sold, to assist in 
discharging the expense of incorporation. They are now the property of a Mrs. Griffin. 

17 Beneath a portion of the building (now removed) was a vault cut out of the sand 
rock, twenty-seven feet in length, fourteen in breadth, and eleven in height; with a 
descent of twenty steps. It was arched at the top with brick ; and at its extremity was 
another flight of steps, leading to a smaller vault, or cave. The origin of these vaults, 
which are still partially in existence, and employed for menial purposes, is uncertain ; but 
there is an idle tradition, that one Mr. Bovey, who lived in the house, and who died about 
the year 1700, made use of them for the coining of money ; and it is added, by way of 
corroboration, that he spent great part of his time in them, and that he paid all his hills 
in new coin!— Between eighty and ninety years ago, acoording to Manning and Uray, a 
bricklayer, in repairing the pavement of the wash-house belonging to Whitehall-house, 
found a vault arched over, and in it an iron chest, which he earned away, telling the 
owner that there was nothing in it ; but, from being ■ poor man, he toon after bought 
houses at Sutton.— There is a monument in the church to the memory of .lames Bovey, 
esq., who died in L695, and his wife Margaretta, who died in 1714. 



86 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Salisbury. 18 To the Rev. Wm. Gilpin, on his removal to Hampshire, 
succeeded his son, of the same name, now rector of Pulverbatch, near 
Shrewsbury. On his leaving the school for Somersetshire, the Rev. 
James Wilding, then curate of Cheam, but now holding the living of 
Chirbury, near Montgomery, North Wales, succeeded. Mr. Wilding, 
being then a young man, associated with him the Rev. Joseph Wilson. 
After a few years, those gentlemen dissolved their connexion, and Mr. 
Wilding occupied the school till 1826. He then disposed of the good- 
will of the establishment to the Rev. Dr. Mayo, of Epsom, the present 
master. The school now averages about sixty pupils, who are success- 
fully educated by Dr. Mayo, on the Pestalozzi system. 19 — There is 
another school in the parish, of about thirty pupils, conducted by the 
Rev. — . Brown. 

M I T C H A M. 

The straggling, scattered village of Mitcham, designated Michelham, 
or the Great Dwelling, 1 in the Domesday survey, is bounded on the 
north by Merton ; on the east, by Streatham ; on the south, by 
Croydon ; and on the west, by Mordon. The soil is principally a rich 
black mould ; and, for the last eighty or ninety years, an extensive 

18 The Rev. Wm. Gilpin was the lineal descendant of the celebrated Bernard Gilpin, 
who lived in the times of Elizabeth, Mary, and Edward the Sixth, and was termed the 
" Northern Apostle." William Gilpin was born at Carlisle, in 1724 ; and he received his 
education at Queen's College, Oxford. He published the " Life of Bernard Gilpin," his 
ancestor; the "Lives of Latimer, Wickliff, Huss, and Cranmer"; an " Exposition of the 
New Testament"; "Observations relative to Picturesque Beauty"; a "Tour to the 
Lakes"; " Remarks on Forest Scenery"; " Sermons to a Country Congregation"; "Moral 
Contrasts"; the "Life of John Trueman and Richard Atkins, for the Use of Servants' 
Halls, Farm-houses, and Cottages," &c. He died on the 5th of April, 1804; leaving the 
profits of his publications for the endowment of a school at Boldre. Sawrey Gilpin, the 
well-known animal painter, who died in 1807, was his younger brother. 

,9 Henry Pestalozzi, the originator of a new system of education, was born at 
Zurich (in Switzerland) in 1745. His method turns on the idea of communicating all 
instruction by immediate address to the sensations, or conceptions, and effecting the 
mental formation of the pupil by constantly calling all his powers into exercise. Pestalozzi 
commenced his career of instruction by the admission of the children of the poor into his 
house; and, in 1798, the Directory of Switzerland invited him to establish a house at 
Stanz, where he became the instructor of eighty poor children. War destroyed this 
establishment ; and Pestalozzi then took charge of a school at Burgdorf. This institution 
flourished; and, in 1804, he removed it to Yverdun, in the Canton de Vaud, where he 
occupied the castle given to him by the government, and resumed his labours for the 
instruction of the higher and middle classes of society. He died on the 17th of February, 
1827, at the age of eighty-two. A brief memoir of his life was inserted in the Gentle- 
man's Magazine for the above year. 

1 In early records, and in many of more recent date, it is written Mice ham, or 3 ficham: 
the present mode of spelling, which is farther from its etymology, was not universally 
adopted earlier than the midde of the last century. 



MITCIIAM, FROM THE DOMESDAY BOOK. 87 

portion of the land, (three hundred acres or more), has been appro- 
priated to the culture of peppermint, lavender, wormwood, camomile, 
aniseed, rhubarb, liquorice, and other medicinal plants. 

At the time of the Domesday survey, there appear to have been 
five manors in the parish ; there are now only three : Mitcham, or 
Canon ; Biggin and Tamworth ; and Ravensbury. 

The following extracts from the Domesday book will be found to 
refer to the respective manors : — 

"In Waleton hundred, the Canons of Baieux hold of the Bishop (Odo) Michelham as 
5 hides. Brictric held it of King Edward. He had 6| hides ; but Otbert had possession 
of 1 hide, which his predecessor held of Brictric, as security for half a mark of gold. In 
the land of the Canons are four villains, and one cottar, with 2 carucates ; and one bond- 
man, and 40 acres of meadow. The arable land amounts to 2 carucates. It was and is 
valued at 40 shillings. In the land of Otbert are 4 acres of meadow, worth 7 shillings ; 
and nothing further. 

" Ansgot holds half a hide of the Bishop. It is valued at 5 shillings. 

" In the same manor, the Canons hold of the Bishop 2 J hides, which two men held of 
King Edward. There is in the demesne 1 carucate ; with one villain, and two bordars ; 
and one bondman ; and half a carucate (of arable land), and 12 acres of meadow. It 
has always been valued at 20 shillings. 

" William (Fitz-Ansculf) holds Michelham, which Lemar held of King Edward. Then, 
as at present, it was assessed at 2 hides, and 1 virgate. There are two villains, and six 
cottars ; and half a mill, at 20 shillings. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 
40 shillings : now at the same : when received, at 13 shillings and 4 pence. 

" The Canons of Baieux also hold of the Bishop Witford, 2 which Edmer held of King 
Edward. It was then, as at present, assessed at 3 hides. The arable land is 2 carucates. 
There is one carucate in the demesne ; and two villains, and six cottars, with 2 carucates, 
and 4 acres of meadow. It has been valued in the time of King Edward, and now, at 
30 shillings : when received, at 10 shillings. 

" William Fitz-Ansculf holds Witford; and William the Chamberlain holds it of him. 
Lanch held it of King Edward, when it was assessed at 2 hides ; now at 1. The arable 
land is . One carucate is in the demesne ; and there are two villains, with 1 

carucate ; and a mill at 20 shillings ; and 24 acres of meadow. In the time of King 
Edward it was valued at 50 shillings : afterwards at 22 shillings : now at 60 shillings." 

The manors of Michelham and Witford, held by the canons of 
Baieux, are supposed by Manning to have been retained by them 
until Edward the Third, on declaring war against France, in 1338, 
confiscated all the estates belonging to foreign ecclesiastical establish- 
ments in this country ; and that he then gave Mitcham to the prior of 
St. Mary Overy, in Southwark, who had previously held the advow- 
son of the living. On the suppression of monasteries in the reign of 
Henry the Eighth, this manorial estate falling into the hands of the 
king, he granted it, by letters patent in the 36th year of his reign, to 
Nicholas Spakman and Christopher Ilarbottell, citizens of London. 

- Between Upper and Lower Mitcham is Wykford (or Witford) Lane ; but of the 
.Manors of Witford there are no other traces remaining. — Manning, Surrky, vol. ii. 
p. 495. 



88 HISTORY OF SURREY. — "WELLINGTON HUNDRED. 

In 1552, they conveyed the estate to Lawrence Warren; by whom it 
was sold in the following year, to Nicholas Burton, of Carshalton. 
In 1619, Sir Henry Burton, K.B., the grandson of Nicholas, trans- 
ferred (by sale) the manor of Mitcham or Canon, with the rectory and 
advowson, to Sir Nicholas Carew, alias Throckmorton; whose son 
and heir, Sir Francis, in 1645, settled it on his daughter Rebecca, on 
her marriage with Thomas Temple, esq.; and in 1647, in conjunction 
with his son-in-law, he mortgaged the estate to Thomas Hamond, esq. 
In 1656 and 1657, the parties joined in a sale to Robert Cranmer 
(said to have descended from the family of Archbishop Cranmer), of 
London, merchant ; who, in 1659, purchased the parsonage (or manor) 
house, which had been separated from the rest of the estate. Mr. 
Cranmer died in 1665 ; and his grandson, James Cranmer, esq., left 
this property to his sister, Esther Maria, the wife of Captain Dixon, 
for her life ; with remainder to her son, the Rev. Richard Dixon, who 
assumed the surname of Cranmer; and to him the Mitcham estate 
belonged in 1809. It is now the property of William Simpson, esq. 

The Manor of Biggin and T am worth. — This was, probably, one 
of the manors held by Fitz-Ansculf at the time of the Domesday 
survey. The fee afterwards belonged to the Clares and their suc- 
cessors, earls of Gloucester ; for Hugh de Audele, earl of Gloucester 
in right of his wife Margaret de Clare, died sefsed of it in 1347 ; but 
it was held as of the Honour of Gloucester, by the prior and canons 
of Merton. Soon after the suppression of that priory, Henry the 
Eighth granted the manors of Byggin and Tamworth, with other 
lands and tenements, to Robert Wylford, citizen of London, and Joan 
his wife. She appears to have survived her husband, and is supposed 
to have remarried John, lord Mordaunt, who was lord of the manor 
in 1567. This estate afterwards came into the possession of the two 
daughters and coheirs of Wylford ; and Henry Whitney, who married 
one of them, having purchased the other share, conveyed the whole 
to Sir Francis Carew, in 1583 ; who sold it, in 1603, to Sir John 
Caryll, sen. Sir Nicholas Carew, alias Throckmorton, obtained it in 
1614; and his son, Francis Carew, conveyed it to trustees for Edward 
Thurland, of Reigate, afterwards knighted; who by will, in 1687, 
gave it to his son Edward. He died in 1731, having devised this 
manorial estate, (subject to his wife's life-interest), to three nieces ; of 
whom it was purchased, in 1744, by John Manship, esq. He held it 
until his death, in 1 749 ; and his only son and heir, of the same name, 
transferred the property (by sale) to James Moore, esq., the chief pro- 
prietor of the extensive plantations of medicinal herbs, at Mitcham. 3 
3 Manning and Bray, Surrey, voL ii. p. 498. 



RAVENSBURY, IN MITCHAM. DR. DONXE. K!> 

The Manor of Ravensbury. — This appears to have been the same 
with the manor of Witford, held, according to the Domesday record, 
of William Fitz-Ansculf, by William the Chamberlain. In the reign 
of Henry the Third, Alexander de Witford held one knight's lee in 
Mitcham, of Roger de Somerie, as of the Honour of Dudley, which 
had been the principal seat of the Fitz-Ansculf family. In 1250, 
William de la Marc was lord of the manor, which seems to have been 
retained by persons of the same family for more than a century. Sir 
Nicholas Carreu had a grant of free-warren in all his demesne lands 
here in 1375. Sir John Burghersh, lent., held land at Mitcham 
called Allmannesland, with the manor of Ravensbury, in the 15th of 
Richard the Second; and John Arundel, esq., in right of his marriage 
with Margaret, eldest daughter of Sir John, held the same manor 
and land in the 2nd of Henry the Sixth. 4 The manor belonged, 
in the reign of Henry the Seventh, to John de la Pole, earl of 
Lincoln; after whose attainder, it was granted to Simon Digby. 
Subsequently, it became the property of Charles Brandon, duke of 
Suffolk ; who, in 1531, sold it to Sir Nicholas Carew; and it has since 
been transferred with Beddington, — Captain Charles H. Carew, R.N., 
son of the late Admiral Sir Benjamin Hallowell Carew, being the 
present lord of the manor. 

This parish is divided into Upper and Lower Mitcham ; between 
which is a lane, called Wykford-lane, the only trace we have of what 
was formerly called Wykford, or Witford. The run of water from 
the common, about eighty or ninety years ago, formed a washway 
through that part of the village to Merton ; but it has been long since 
confined in a channel, and partly covered over. 

Figges Marsh, a small common here, at the entrance from London, 
derives its name from William Fige, or Figge, who, in the time of 
Edward the Third, was owner of part of the land held of the king, 
by the service of finding a pound in which to keep his distresses. 5 

Mitcham, "noted," say the biographers of Dr. Donne, 6 "for good 
air and choice company," has been, at different times, the residence of 

4 Calend. Inquis. post Mortem, vol. iii. p. 133; and vol. iv. p. 79. 

5 Escheats, 23 Edw. III., p. 2, n. 15. 

6 Of the celebrated Dr. Donne, dean of St. Paul's, who lived BOmetime :it Mitcham, 
copious and very curious particulars may be found in the Biographia lint, tunica, and in 
Fuller's EnglatuTs Worthies. Dryden said he was " the greatest wit, though not the 
greatest poet, of our nation"; and Dr. Johnson termed him the founder of the meta- 
physical school of poetry. Dr. John Barwiek, in his "Life of Bishop Morton," states 
that he saw a portrait of Donne at Lincoln's Inn, "all enveloped with a darkish Bhadow, 
his face and features hardly discernible, with this ejaculation and wish written thereon — 
• Domine illiuiuni tenebrcu mats' ; and that this wish was afterwards accomplished, when, 
at the persuasion of King James, he entered into holy orders." Granger also tells us, 

VOL. IV. ' N 



90 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

several persons of consideration. Sir Walter Raleigh had a house 
and an estate here, in right of his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Sir 
Nicholas Carew, alias Throckmorton, who had been maid of honour 
to Queen Elizabeth. He sold the property when he went on his 
expedition to Guiana. His mansion was at the corner of Wykford- 
lane ; and, until within these few years, it was known, while occupied 
as a boarding-school, by the name of Raleigh-house. Sir Julius 
Caesar, master of the Rolls, also had a residence here ; and, in 1598, 
he was honoured by a visit from Queen Elizabeth, which he thus 
recorded: — 

" Tuesday, Sept. 12, the Queen visited my house at Mitcham, and supped and lodged 
there, and dined the next day. I presented her with a gown of cloth of silver richly 
embroidered ; a black net- work mantle with pure gold ; a taffeta hat, white, with several 
flowers, and a jewel of gold set therein with rubies and diamonds. Her Majesty removed 
from my house after dinner the 13th of September to Nonsuch, with exceeding good 
contentment ; which entertainment of her Majesty, with the former disappointment 
[believed to have been an expected visit from the Queen in September, 1596, but which 
was not made], amounted to 700/. sterling, besides mine own provisions, and what was 
sent by my friends." 7 

Mitcham Grove, a delightful villa on the north side of the road to 
Sutton, with a branch of the river Wandle meandering through its 
plantations, was (many years since) purchased by Lord Clive, and 
presented to Alexander Wedderburn, esq. (afterwards Lord-chancellor 
Loughborough), in return for his celebrated defence of that nobleman 
in the House of Commons. Lord Loughborough sold it to Henry 

that, " some time before his death, when he was emaciated with study, and sickness, he 
caused himself to be wrapped up in a sheet, which was gathered over his head, in the 
manner of a shroud ; and having closed his eyes, he had his portrait taken ; which was 
kept by his bed-side, as long as he lived, to remind him of mortality. The effigy on his 
monument, in (old) St. Paul's church, was done after this portrait." — See Dugdale's History 
of that Cathedral, p. 62. Ob. 31 March, 1631. 

Another phenomenon in the literary world, an inhabitant of Mitcham, was Moses 
Mendez, a rich poet (!) of Jewish extraction. He is said to have been the son of a 
stock-broker, or notary. Educated at Oxford, he took the degree of M.A. in 1750. At 
the time of his death, in 1758, he was reported to be worth 100,000?. He was the 
intimate friend of the author of "The Seasons"; and he himself wrote four little 
dramatic pieces : The Chaplet, — The Shepherd's Lottery, — Robin Hood, — and 71ie Double 
Disappointment; besides a poem called Henry and Blanche, &c. Some of his productions 
are to be found in Dodsley's Collection. 

7 Manuscript of Sir Julius Caesar, Brit. Mus. No. 4160, Ayscouglis Catalogue. Sir 
Julius Caesar, descended, by the female line, from the Duke de Caesarini, in Italy, is said 
to have been " not only one of the best civilians, but also one of the best men of his time. 
He died the 28th of April, 1639, and was buried in the church of Great St. Helen's, near 
Bishopsgate, London. His monument, designed by himself, represents a scroll of parch- 
ment. The inscription, in which he engages himself willingly to pay the debt of nature 
to his Creator, is in the form of a bond ; appendant to -which is his seal, a coat of arms, 
with his name affixed." — Granger, Biographical History, vol. i. p. 390. 



ADVOWSON AND REGISTERS OF MITCH AM. 91 

Hoare, esq.; from whom it passed to Sir John William Lubbock, hart., 
its present owner. It was advertised for sale a year or two ago ; but 
without finding a purchaser. 

An object of some interest to the antiquary is an ancient House in 
this parish, formerly the property of Mrs. Sarah Chandler. This 
house, in which are the remains of a chapel, is conjectured to have 
been (at a very early period) the property of Henry Strete, "who 
had a license for an oratory in his house at Mitcham, in the year 1348. 
It is held under the Dean and chapter of Canterbury ; and its pro- 
prietors claim a right to the north aisle of the church. 9 

This benefice is a vicarage in the deanery of Ewell. The advowson 
belonged to the priory of St. Mary Overy as early as the year 1260, 
when a fine was levied of it to the prior and convent. In 1315, they 
are said to have held it as of the Honour of Gloucester, After the 
dissolution, both the rectory and the advowson of the vicarage were 
granted with the manor of Mitcham Canon. The great tithes were 
sold by Robert Cranmer, esq., as mentioned in a preceding page ; but 
the vicarage remained with the manor. In the Valor of Edward the 
First, the rectory was valued at twenty marks ; the vicarage at eight. 
In the King's books, Mitcham is reckoned amongst the discharged 
livings, and is rated at 10Z. Os. lOd. It pays for synodals, 2s. Id. ; for 
procurations, 7 s. 7\d.\ and a quit-rent of 8d. to the church of Canter- 
bury. In 1734, the Rev. Dr. Monckton gave 200/., and in 1735, 
Mr. Charles Dubois gave 200/., to purchase Queen Anne's bounty. 
Lysons states, that the income of the vicarage has been much im- 
proved of late years, by the extension of the physic gardens, the tithes 
of which constitute a principal part of its revenues. The village of 
Mitcham, which is of considerable extent, is partly situated on the 
skirts of the high-road leading from London to Reigate. The houses 
are irregular, but include many respectable and pleasant residences. 
A small bridge crosses the Wandle near Mitcham Grove. 

There are several Registers belonging to this parish, which com- 
mence with the year 1563, and are nearly complete from that date. 
Among the entries are the two following : — 

" Anne the daughter of George Washford, who had twenty-four fingers and 
toes; baptized Oct. 19, 1690." 

" Widow Durant, aged one hundred and three years, buried Sep. 23, 1711." 



H In support of this claim, it appears that the family of Illyngwortli, who were buried 
in the north aisle in the sixteenth century, held a house and lands under the church of 
Canterbury in the time of Edward the Fourth. — E» HEATS, L6 Edw. IV. No. 30. For 
an account of some brasses and inscriptions (now lost) of the Illyngworths, in the north 
aisle, see Aubrey, Sukrey, vol. ii. p. 144 ; also Manning, SuBBBT, vol. ii. p. 503. 

N 2 



92 HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Vicars of Mitcham in and since 1800: — 

Streynsham Derbyshire Myers, A.M. Instituted January 

the 1st, 1779: died September the 17th, 1824. 
Richard Cranmer, LL.B. Instituted on the 13th of October, 
1824: died in December, 1828. This gentleman was a 
descendant of Archbishop Cranmer. 
James Henry Mapleton, B. LL. Instituted in 1829: re- 
signed. 
J. C. Prichard, A.M. Instituted in 1833. 
The old Church, dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul, was built 
chiefly of flint. It consisted of a nave, two aisles, and a chancel ; with 
a square embattled tower, crowned with a turret, at the east end of 
the south aisle. In 1637, according to Aubrey, it was greatly injured 
by lightning, and had ten bells melted. 9 About sixty years ago, the 
lightning entered through the south wall of the tower, but without 
doing much damage. 

The old church remained until the present century ; when, from the 
increase of the population, it became desirable to raise a new structure 
upon an enlarged scale. Accordingly, an act of parliament was 
obtained for the purpose; and on the 2nd of August, 1819, the first 
stone, marking the boundary of the church northward, was laid by 
the Rev. S. D. Myers, A.M., the vicar. The building, the estimate 
for which was 8000/., was completed in 1822. By the enlargement 
of the ground-plan, additional sittings were obtained for five hundred 
and fifty-five persons ; and in consequence of a grant from the Society 
for the enlargement of churches and chapels, five hundred and twenty- 
one sittings were declared free and unappropriated for ever. 

The rebuilding of the church is further commemorated by the 
following inscription on the north side of the chancel : — 

" In token of respect, gratitude, and affection to one of the most excellent of 
mothers, Mrs. Hester Maria Cranmer, late patroness of this vicarage church of 
Mitcham, who died the 17th of January, 1819, and -with whom the rebuilding of 
this sacred edifice originated, this stone was laid on the 27th of August, 1819, by 
the present impropriator, the Rev. Richard Cranmer, LL.B. George Smith, archi- 
tect. John Chart, builder. 

" The boundary of this chancel extends thirty-four feet seven inches west- 
ward, from the centre of this stone." 

The present church, which is a large and somewhat imposing, but 
rather heavy structure, in the pointed style of architecture, consists of 
a nave and side aisles, a chancel, a north aisle, and an embattled 
tower. Excepting the lower part of the tower, which is a relic of the 

9 It is stated by Aubrey, that thirteen churches in the county of Surrey suffered, more 
or less, from the same storm. — Surrey, vol. ii. p. 143. 



DESCRIPTION OF MITCHAM CHURCH. 93 

ancient edifice, and composed of flint, the materials are what builders 
technically term "brick and compo." The tower, which stands at 
the east end of the south aisle, and contains eight bells, is in four 
stories, with octagonal buttresses, terminating in crocketted stone 
pinnacles, with large finials : its finish is a pierced battlement. 10 

In the western front, the aisles produce an unusual and by no 
means a pleasing effect, by coming farther forward than the nave. 
They have buttresses; the centre or principal portion rising to an 
apex, with three pinnacles. The east end of the chancel, also, rises 
to an apex, and has crocketted pinnacles, one on each side, and one in 
the centre. The principal window of the chancel is pointed, of five 
lights, with a transom in the recess of the arch. The south side of 
the chancel is, in a great measure, concealed by a large vestry, which 
has a pointed doorway, and windows similar to those of the aisles. 

Exteriorly, the south aisle is formed into five divisions by buttresses: 
in the westernmost is a doorway ; and in the remainder, are windows 
of three lights each, with a transom in the sweep of the arch : the 
arches of the respective windows spring from grotesque heads. The 
north side of the church is similar to the south, excepting the tower, 
instead of which are pointed windows. The clerestory of the nave 
has four small windows, of two lights each, with cinquefoil heads. 

Beneath the great west window, in a recess formed by a large 
pointed arch, is a monument to the memory of Sir Ambrose Crowley, 
alderman of London, and his lady; the former of whom died in 1713, 
and the latter in 1727." 

The interior of this church is remarkably neat, and more in accord- 
ance with the principles of good taste than the exterior. The nave 
is divided from the aisles by four pointed arches resting upon columns, 
formed by an union of cylinders with plain capitals. Three of the 
cylinders of each column rise to the roof, which is groined, and adorned 
with bosses of foliage, &c. At the west end, where the organ is 
placed, and on the north and south sides of the nave, are neat galleries: 
the south aisle is broken by the tower. The chancel is divided from 
the nave by a narrow pointed arch, and has a gallery on the north side. 

The altar-piece, which is plain but neat, consists of four pointed 

10 On the right of the entrance to the tower, from the south, is a relic of " the olden 
time." It consists of a pointed niche in the wall, divided into two compartments hy a 
shelf. In the lower compartment was a piscina j in the upper, a lamp was accustomed to 
be kept burning. 

11 In the old church, this monument occupied a space in the north chancel. In ridicule 
of the bribery resorted to in city elections, Sir Richard Steele has, in the 73rd Number of 
The Ttttkr, fired off a squib at the expense of Sir Ambrose Crowley, under the name of 
Sir Humphrey Greenhat. 



94 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

panels, inscribed with the Decalogue, Creed, &c. The pulpit, placed 
in the centre of the nave, with the reading-desk opposite, is hexagonal, 
and painted in imitation of wainscot, corresponding with the galleries 
and pews. The font is a square stone basin, supported by four small 
pillars, and ornamented with tracery in the pointed style. 

Nearly all the monuments in the old church, (chiefly of a mural 
character), have been transferred to the present structure, and arranged 
with great propriety. Those of more modern date are disposed with 
equal judgment. Only three or four can be here noticed. 

On the north side of the entrance to the chancel, is a marble slab, 
to the memory of the Rev. S. D. Myers, A.M., forty-five years vicar, 
who died on the 17th of September, 1824, aged seventy-three. 

At the west end of the church, is an elegant tablet, with an urn, 
and a bas-relief bust of the deceased, J. Hyde, esq., who died on the 
11th of January, 1810, aged seventy. 

In different parts of the church are memorials of the Tate family, 
who, for several generations, have been great benefactors of the parish. 
One in the north aisle, to Mrs. Elizabeth Tate, who died on the 
6th of July, 1821, at the age of eighty-four, is very chaste and 
beautiful : it is by Westmacott, and represents a female figure, with a 
cup in the left hand, and pointing to the skies with the right. — Nearly 
adjoining, is an elegant tablet of white marble, in memory of George 
Tate, esq., who died on the 15th of May, 1822, aged seventy-seven. 

Among the tombs in the church-yard is that of Mrs. Anne Hallam, 
a favourite actress of the early part of the last century, who acquired 
celebrity by her admirable performance of two very opposite charac- 
ters, namely, Lady Macbeth, and Lady Touchwood. She died in 
1740, at the age of forty-four years. 

Mitcham, as will be seen by the subjoined list, has various benefac- 
tions : — 

1626. Henry Smith, esq., of London, gave 4/. per annum, which is laid out in great 
coats, and given every Christmas, hy the churchwardens, to six poor housekeepers, not 
receiving alms. 12 

1639. Thomas Plummer, esq., left 4/. per annum, which is laid out in bread, and given 
at the church every Sunday morning, by the churchwardens, to the poor of the parish. 

1709. Mrs. Ellen Fisher, of Hammersmith, left 200/. to be laid out in lands of 
inheritance, the rent thereof, being 14/. per annum, to be given every Whit-Monday, by 
the minister, churchwardens, and trustees, to 24 poor housekeepers not receiving alms. 

1792. Mrs. Rosamond Oxtoby left 2/. 12s. per annum, to be laid out in bread, and 
distributed at the church every Sunday morning, by the churchwardens, to the poor of 
the parish. 

12 Aubrey (Surrey, vol. ii. p. 142), has given currency to the idle tale that, " In the 
diffusive Charity bestowed on the largest part of this county, this Town was excepted 
by Mr. Smith, because he was whipp'd as a common Vagrant by the Inhabitants here ;" — 
to which the above announcement is an effectual refutation. 



CHARITIES OF MITCH AM. — MORDON. 95 

1815. Mrs. llebecca Cranmer left 400/., 3 per cent, consols, to the minister and 
churchwardens on trust, the dividends to be expended in the purchase of certain arti. 
of clothing, for six poor widows of the parish, annually on St. Thomas's day. 

1817. Mrs. Ann Tate left 500/. ; and, in 1821, her sister, Elizabeth Tate, left 1000/, ; 
to be laid out in stock ; the dividends to be expended in the purchase of provisions, to be 
distributed annually, on Christmas eve, amongst the poor of the parish not receiving 
alms. 

In the year 1782, a large Workhouse was built on the side of 
Mitcham common, at the expense of 1200Z. — A Sunday School was 
established here, on an extensive plan, and a school-house built in 
1788. It has an endowment of 627. lis. 10c?. per annum, arising from 
accumulated savings to the amount of 1600/., vested in the 3 per 
cent, consols, and from donations. At present the average number of 
attendants at the Sunday and National schools is about two hundred. 

In 1829, a neat row of Almshouses, in the style prevalent in the 
latter part of the sixteenth century, from designs by Buckler, was 
built, at the expense of Miss Tate, on the south side of the Lower 
green. These houses were endowed by the founder for twelve poor 
widows, or unmarried women of respectable character, members of 
the church of England ; to each of whom is appropriated an allowance 
of three shillings per week. 13 

There are two dissenting places of worship at Mitcham : one, for 
Wesleyan-methodists, built about the year 1789; and the other, for 
Independents, erected two or three and twenty years ago. 

MORDON, or MORDEN. 

The parish of Mordon, (anciently written Mordone, or Mordune, 
from mor and dune, signifying a hill), is bounded on the north by 
Merton ; on the east, by Mitcham ; on the south, by Carshalton ; and 
by Cheam and Maldon, on the west. The soil is a stiff clay, and the 
land partly arable and partly meadow. The only manufactories are 
two small snuff-mills. 

In the Domesday book, the manor is described among the lands of 
the monks of Westminster, viz. : — 

" The Abbot of St. Peter, Westminster, holds Mordone, which in the time of King 
Edward, was assessed at 12 hides : now at 3 hides. The arable land amounts to 
There are 3 carucates in the demesne ; and eight villains, and five cottars, with 4 caru- 
cates. There is one bondman j and a mill, at 40 shillings. In the time of King Edward 
it was valued at 6 pounds, now at 10 pounds, and yet it is worth 15." (or it produces 15 
pounds.) 



13 To be eligible for this benevolence, the women must have a legal settlement at 
Mitcham, have resided there five years, be fifty years old or upwards, and not have 
received parochial relief within five years of their admission. The charity is under the 
management of trustees; amongst whom are usually (he vicar, the lord of the manor, and 
two or three of the principal inhabitants. 



96 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

This manor belonged to the abbey of Westminster prior to the 
conquest, and is mentioned among the monastic estates in the charter 
of confirmation granted by Edward the Confessor ; as it is, also, in 
the charters of William the Conqueror, and Edward the First. At 
the era of the dissolution, the manor became vested in the crown, and 
remained so until the 7 th of Edward the Sixth, when it was granted, 
under letters patent, to Lionel Ducket and Edward Whitchurch ; and 
of them it was purchased by Richard Garth, esq., in 1553. From 
him, the estate descended to Richard Garth, who died in 1641, seised 
of the manor, mansion, and lands here, and of other messuages and 
estates at Merton, Maldon, and Carshalton ; leaving a son and heir, 
George Garth, esq., who was married, first, to Anne, sister and coheir 
of Sir George Carlton, bart., who died in 1655; and secondly, to Jane, 
daughter of Sir Humphrey Bennet, knt„, who survived him ; he having 
died in 1676, and his widow in 1699. By his first wife Mr. Garth 
had Richard, his successor in this estate, and several daughters ; and 
by his second, Jane, he had a son named Henry, and a daughter, 
Elizabeth : the latter became the wife of Samuel Gawden, esq., and 
after his decease, of William Gardiner, esq., whom she also outlived ; 
and dying in 1719, gave by will the sum of 3007. for the foundation 
and support of a school for poor children belonging to this parish. 

Richard Garth, esq., a descendant of George Garth above-men- 
tioned, died in 1787, leaving three daughters. He devised his estates 
to his eldest daughter, Clara, the wife of OwenPutland Meyrick, esq.; 
with remainder to her second son ; and in default of such son, with 
similar remainders to his daughter Elizabeth, wife of William Lowndes 
Stone, esq., and to his youngest daughter, Mary, the wife of Sir John 
Frederick, bart. Clara, Meyrick's wife, dying without issue-male, the 
estate descended, in January, 1837, to Richard, the second son of 
William Lowndes Stone, esq., and Elizabeth his wife ; who was, upon 
his succession, to take the name and arms of Garth. This gentleman, 
the Rev. Richard Stone Garth, of Farnham, is the present lord of the 
manor, and patron of the living. 1 — The old manor-house, about a mile 
eastward from the church, is now called Mordon-hall Academy, and is 
kept by a gentleman of the name of White. 

An estate here appears to have belonged to Isabella de Caron, in 
the time of King John ; for in the 5 th year of his reign, she obtained 
a charter for the right of free-warren in her lands at Mordon. — There 
was, also, an estate called Spital, held before the reformation, by the 

1 It is a mistake in the Liber Regis, that the patronage of the living is alternately in 
the Garths and the Trittons : it has been invariably in the Garths, from the purchase of 
the manor by Richard Garth, esq., in the reign of Queen Mary. 



ADVOWSON, AND RECTORS OF MORDON. 97 

prior of Merton, which Queen Elizabeth, in 1602, granted in fee to 
John and Thomas Roche. Richard Garth, esq. died seised of it in 
1641, and left it to be sold, for the payment of his debts and legacies. 
The prior of Leedes (in Kent) had lands at Mordon. 

John Ewart, esq., erected a handsome house, and inclosed land for 
a paddock, which he held on lease, for a long term, of Mr. Garth ; but 
having purchased Bysshe Court, in the parish of Home, in 1 788, he 
sold his house and grounds at this place, which afterwards belonged 
to Thomas Conway, esq.; and subsequently, to Edward Polhill, esq.; 
and more recently, to George Cooper Ridge, esq., whose widow is the 
present occupant ; her late husband having become its owner about 
thirty-five years ago. This estate, known by the name of Mordon 
Park, lies to the north-west of the church. The house is seated on 
an eminence, amidst extensive pleasure-grounds, diversified by planta- 
tions, sheets of water, and other objects. 

Advowson, &c. — This living is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell ; 
and in the Valor of Edward the First, it is valued at twenty marks. 
In the year 1283, the Abbey of Westminster attempted an appropria- 
tion of the benefice, but were unable to accomplish that object until 
1300; in 1331 they endowed it as a vicarage, with a house, a garden, 
thirteen acres of arable land, and one acre of meadow. At the dis- 
solution, it was granted with the manor, and has been held by the 
Garth family nearly three centuries. In 1631, Richard Garth, esq., 
as stated by Lysons, (Environs, vol. i. p. 363), "converted the vicarage 
into a rectory, by endowing it with the great tithes and 14 acres of 
glebe." In the Liber Regis, the living is charged at 77. 12s. lid.; 
paying for procurations and synodals, 8s. 9d. — The present commuted 
rent-charge, estimated on 1343^ acres (inclusive of 51. on the glebe), 
is 4:251. The arable land is about 785 acres ; the meadows, 455 acres ; 
and the woodlands and commons, about 90 acres. The Registers, 
which commence in the year 1634, were begun by the Rev. William 
Booth, A.M., the first rector, who was instituted in June, 1634. 
Rectors of Mordon in and since 1800: — 

John Witiierington Peers, D.C.L. This gentleman, having 

been instituted in 1778, held the living more than fifty-seven 

years : he died at the age of ninety, on the 29th of April, 

1835. 
Robert Tritton, A.M., of St. John's college, Cambridge ; 

rural dean, commissary, and surrogate. Instituted May the 

13th, 1835. 
Mordon Church, a long and narrow fabric, dedicated to St. Laurence, 
was rebuilt with brick about the year 1636, "probably," as Manning 

VOL. IV. O 



98 



HISTORY OF SURREY. WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 



says, " at the expense of Richard Garth, esq., who restored the great 
tithes to the living"; and who was buried here in November, 1639. 
The ancient windows, however, which are of stone, and in the pointed 
style, appear to have been preserved and refixed: that at the east 
end is designed with much elegance. This building consists of a nave 
and chancel, (separated only by a raised step in the floor) ; with a low 
embattled tower at the west end, (containing three bells) ; and a small 
south porch, forming the chief entrance. The east window is splen- 
didly decorated with stained and painted glass; of which the principal 
subject, viz., Moses and Aaron supporting the Decalogue, (with smaller 
figures of Zacharias coming to the High Priest, and Jonah escaped 
from the Whale's belly), is from the design of a former age, being 
mentioned by Aubrey. The dove and cherubim in the upper com- 
partments, which were executed after the designs of Mrs. Lancelot 
Chambers, an accomplished lady long resident in this parish, are 
much and deservedly admired. — The pulpit, octagonal in form, with 
a handsome sounding-board, is of oak ; and, in a gallery, at the west 
end, erected in 1791, is a small but neat organ. Here, also, is a new 
and elegant stone font, of an octagonal form, with quatrefoil ornaments 
sunk in the panels, supported by a pedestal. 3 The sittings afford 
accommodation for about three hundred and fifty persons. 



'!->" 




MORDON CHURCH. 



Within this church are numerous monuments, grave-stones, and 
inscriptions on brass, to the memory of the Garth, Gardiner, Leheup, 
Carlton, Meyrick, Loivndes, Batts, and other families. Those of a 
2 Mr. James Legrew, a pupil of Chantrey's, was the artist. 



CHARITABLE BENEFACTIONS TO MORDON. 99 

mural character are neat, handsome, and in excellent preservation ; 
but the inscriptions have no general interest. 

Against the north wall, almost contiguous to the pulpit, westward, 
is a chaste white tablet, projecting from a black marble, to the memory 
of the late Henry Hoare, esq., and different members of his family. 

In the church-yard are a few old tombs of the Maucillains, High- 
lords, and others ; with modern burial-places and monuments of the 
Conway, Ridge, and Tritton families. 

The benefactions to this parish, as appears from inscriptions in front 
of the gallery, have been numerous, viz. : — 

1625. Henry Smith esq., 20s. annually, payable from an estate atBexhill, Sussex, to 
be distributed amongst the poor of the parish not receiving alms. 

1718. Mrs. Elizabeth Gardiner, widow, by will, 300/. for building and endowing a 
free school in this her native parish, for the children of the poor. 

1731. Mrs. Elizabeth Garth, lady of the manor, gave the land on which the school- 
house was erected. 

1776. Mrs. Elizabeth Garth, lady of the manor, the interest of 100?. Old South-sea 
Annuities, to increase the salary of the master of the free school founded by Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Gardiner. 

1787. Mrs. Mary Garth, of Kensington, Middlesex, spinster, the interest of 100/. 
Old South-sea Annuities, to be divided equally, on Christmas eve, amongst six poor 
housekeepers. 

1795. Mrs. Elizabeth's Gardiner's bequest of 300/. for the free school having been 
increased to 600/., the said sum was laid out in the purchase of 895/. 105. 6c/. Old South- 
sea Annuities. 

1810. Mrs. Mary Batts, of Merton, spinster, 7/. 10s. annually, to be distributed 
amongst the poor, not receiving parochial relief, on Candlemas day. 

1822. John Francis Fuller, esq., the interest of 125/. lis. 9c/. to be distributed 
annually, in meat and peas, amongst the poor. 

1825. Owen Putland Meyrick, esq., the interest of 118/. 17s. 5c/. to be disbursed 
annually in the same manner. 

1826. Edward Polhill, esq., the interest of 1000/., 3 per cent, consols, for perpetuating 
the Sunday school. 

1827. Mrs. Clara Meyrick, widow, and lady of the manor, 228/. 18s., the interest of 
which to be expended annually in the purchase of blankets for distribution amongst the 
poor at Christmas. 

The Free school, mentioned above as built by Mrs. Elizabeth 
Gardiner, daughter of George Garth, esq., is at a short distance from 
the church. It was originally founded for the education of twelve 
children belonging to the parish. For some time it has been united 
with the National Day-school, and includes about forty boys. — A 
Sunday school, instituted in 1791, in which tuition is given to about 
ninety or one hundred boys and girls, is supported chiefly by volun- 
tary subscriptions. 

This parish is incorporated with the Epsom Union. The poor- 
house, as part of the manorial property, is now let out in tenements. 

o 2 



100 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

SUTTON. 

The parish of Sutton, (that is, South-town), is bounded on the north 
by Mordon; on the east, by Carshalton; on the south, by Banstead ; 
and on the west, by Cheam. The land is chiefly arable ; with exten- 
sive downs, on which between two and three hundred sheep, remark- 
able for smallness of size and superiority of flavour, are annually 
reared. The soil, in the northern part, is clay; in the south, chalk, 
with an intervening narrow tract of sand. At the last survey of the 
parish, in 1840, the quantity of land, including pleasure-grounds, 
orchards, gardens, &c, was calculated at 1768a. Or. 13p. 

Sutton Common has been inclosed from the year 1810. A portion 
of it was then set apart to the highest bidder ; and the proceeds are 
annually applied to the purchase of coals, and distributed amongst the 
poor housekeepers, in compensation for their loss of common-rights. 
Bonnell-Common, in this parish, is now let at the annual rent of 50/. 
for the breeding and preservation of game ; but the copyholders have 
the privilege of cutting bushes thereon, from Michaelmas to March, 
to be used or consumed on their respective premises. — The Chalk-pit, 
on the road from Sutton to Carshalton, mentioned by Manning and 
Bray, as yielding a variety of extraneous fossils, is still worked ; but 
no fossils are known to have been recently discovered. 

The manor is thus described in the Domesday book, among the 
lands of the abbot and convent of Chertsey : — 

" The Abbey holds Sudtone. In the time of King Edward, it was assessed at 30 hides : 
now, at 8| hides. The arable land amounts to 15 carucates. There are 2 carucates in 
the demesne ; and twenty-one villains, and four cottars, with 13 carucates. There are 
two Churches: 1 and two bondmen; and 2 acres of meadow. The wood yields ten 
swine. In the time of King Edward, it was valued at 20 pounds : now, at 15 pounds." 

The name of Sutton-Abbot was sometimes given to this manor, 
from its monastic proprietors, who, as lords of the fee, had a right to 
erect a gallows, a pillory, and a cucking-stool. In 1538, the manors 
of Sutton, Epsom, Coulsdon, and Horley, were purchased of the 
abbot of Chertsey by King Henry the Eighth, who, the same year, 
granted them to Sir Nicholas Carew, of Beddington ; but on his 
attainder in the following year, Sutton, with other estates, escheated 
to the crown. These estates were granted and transferred, as stated 
in the account of Coulsdon, 2 until they came into the possession of 
Sir Robert D'Arcy, to whom they were given by his grand uncle, Sir 
Francis Carew. D'Arcy died in 1625, leaving a son and heir, named 

1 Mr. Manning says, though " two Churches are mentioned in Domesday, there is no 
trace of any other than the present one." 

2 See under Coulsdon, p. 37. 



MANORS IN SUTTON. — THE CHURCH. 101 

Edward, who married a daughter of Richard Evelyn, esq., of Wotton, 
but had no surviving issue. 

This manor must have subsequently reverted to the crown ; for 
Charles the Second, by letters patent, in 1663, granted the manor and 
the advowson of the church to Jerome Weston, earl of Portland, 
whose brother and ultimate successor, Thomas, earl of Portland, in 
June, 1669, sold Sutton to Sir Robert Long; of whom it was pur- 
chased, in the ensuing month, by Sir Richard Mason. He died in 
1685, leaving two daughters, his co-heiresses; one of whom, by 
marriage, conveyed the property to the family of Brownlowe ; and in 
July, 1716, Sir John Brownlowe transferred it, by sale, to Henry 
Cliffe, esq., a captain in the service of the East India company. His 
second son, Henry, who came into the possession of the manorial 
estate on the death of his elder brother, in pursuance of the will of 
his father, died in 1761, leaving a daughter, his sole heiress, Margaretta 
Eleanora; who, in 1785, married Thomas Hatch, esq., of New Wind- 
sor. That gentleman died in the year 1822, and was succeeded by 
his son, the Rev. Thomas Hatch, A.M., rector of Walton-on-Thames, 
the present lord ; who is also the patron of the church, the advowson 
having generally gone with the manor. 

There was in this parish a smaller manor, which, in the fourteenth 
century, was held under Chertsey abbey, by the family of Codyngton, 
or de Codyngton. — At present, the only seat of note in the parish is 
the residence of Francis Gosling, esq. 

Pope Alexander granted a bull, confirming to the abbey of Chertsey 
a moiety of the tithes of Sutton ; but it does not appear that the 
appropriation was ever carried into effect. The living, however, paid 
a pension of 13s. 4d. to the abbey. It is a rectory, in the deanery of 
Ewell. In the 20th of Edward the First, it was valued at 20 marks ; 
and it stands in the Liber Regis at 161. 8s. 4e?. ; paying 8s. 5d. for pro- 
curations and synodals. 

Rectors of Sutton in and since 1800 : — 

Giles Hatch, A.M. Instituted January the 8th, 1767 : died 
on the 4th of March, 1800. 

Charles Gardener, D.D. Instituted March the 11th, 1800: 
died on the 27th of December, 1830. 

Henry Hatch, (brother of the Rev. Thos. Hatch, A.M.) In- 
stituted May the 9th, 1831. 
The Church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, is a small structure, con- 
sisting of a nave and chancel only, sixty-nine feet in length, and 
thirty-six feet six inches in breadth. The chancel is raised three 
steps. A wooden tower, at the west end, was taken down many years 



102 HISTORY OF SURREY. W ALDINGTON HUNDRED. 

ago, and its place supplied with a square embattled one of brick, in 
which are two bells. The church has been thoroughly repaired and 
enlarged, with the erection of a new gallery on the north side, and 
the acquisition of one hundred and ninety additional sittings, of which 
one hundred and sixty-four are free : the aggregate number of sittings 
is now about four hundred. The expense of these improvements was 
defrayed by the inhabitants, and by a grant from the Society for pro- 
moting the enlargement of churches and chapels. The new entrance, 
with the exterior of the enlargement on the north, is stuccoed, and in 
good taste. There is a gallery at the west end, but no organ. The 
pulpit is square, painted in imitation of wainscot, and fixed against 
the south wall of the nave. A small stone font, or basin, is in one of 
the pews, near the vestry. The church altogether, having been 
recently newly-painted, &c, has a very neat appearance. 

Against the north wall of the chancel is a costly monument to the 
memory of " Dame Dorothy Brownlowe, wife of Sir William Brown- 
lowe, of Belton, in the county of Lincoln, bart., eldest daughter and 
coheiress of Sir Richard Mason, Knight and Clerk Controller of the 
Green Cloth to King Charles and King James 2nd ; and of Dame 
Ann his wife," who died in January, 1699-1700. The monument 
exhibits a full-length figure of the deceased, leaning on her left arm, 
with her three children, on a tomb. Two of the children are weep- 
ing ; the third is pointing to a Glory, surrounded with cherubim, &c, 
on a curtain. On each side is an urn ; and on an oval tablet beneath, 
is the inscription. 

On the north side of the window, in the chancel, is a neat mural 
monument to the memory of Sophia Annand, wife of Alexander 
Annand, esq., who died in 1826. — On the south of the chancel is 
another neat mural monument, to the memory of the Rev. James 
Sanxay, many years rector of this parish, who died July 21st, 1766. 
More to the west, against the same wall, is a remarkable monument 
of black marble, enchased in white : on the top, is a woman kneeling 
before a desk ; and behind, are her three daughters. On the inclosed 
marble, is the following inscription : — 

Death to me is gayne. 
Here underlyeth interred the corps of that vertuous & religious gentle-woman, 
and servant of God, Mrs. Sarah Glover, one of the daughters of Mr. Roger 
Owfeld, Citizen and Fishmonger of London, late wife of Mr. Joseph Glover, 
and Rector of Sutton, by whom she had three children, viz. Roger, Elizabeth, 
Sarah. She died the 10th of July, 1628, at her age of 30 yeares, in memory of 
whome, her said husband hath caused this monument to be erected, 24 May, 
An. Dom. 1629. 

On the white marble, below the above, are the following lines : — 



MONUMENTAL INSCRIPTIONS IN SUTTON CIIURCH. 103 

This monument presents unto your view, 

A woman rare, in Avhom all grace divine, 
Faith, love, zeale, piety, in splendid hue, 

With sound knowledge perfectly did shine. 
Since then examples teach, learne you by this, 
To mount the stepps of everlasting blisse. 

Still further to the west, against the south wall, is a handsome 
monument, inscribed to the memory of William, earl Talbot, son 
of the Lord-chancellor, and High-steward of the king's household, 
who died in 1782, and was interred here in the same vault with his 
mother, Cecil, daughter and heiress of Charles Matthews, esq., of 
Castlemerryck, in the county of Glamorgan. This monument consists 
of a pyramid of black marble, with the armorial bearings of Talbot, 
in white, and the motto, Humani nihil alienum. At the top is an 
elegant urn, depressed ; below, in white marble, are two flaming 
censers, placed in saltire, across a crown of laurel. 

On the north wall is a marble tablet, with the following inscription, 

now almost illegible : — 

In memory of Isaac Littlebury, whose liberal education, travels abroad, 
skill in divers languages, knowledge of history, and conversation with eminent 
men, rendered him a lover of public liberty and good order, which he endeavoured 
to promote by publishing severall excellent books. He was through the course 
of his life, just, open, modest, generous, mild, beneficent, frugal. He dyed the 
30th April, 1710, in his 53rd year. 3 

Near Littlebury's monument is a small white marble oval, on a 
black ground, "in memory of the Rev. Giles Hatch, formerly of 
Merton College, Oxford, A.M., thirty-three years rector of this parish, 
who departed this life the 4th of March, 1800, aged 58.'" 

In the church-yard, near the north-west corner of the church, is a 

tomb bearing the following inscription, on white marble : — 

In memory of Mrs. Cecil Talbot, only daughter and heir of Charles 
Matthews, of Castle-y-Merick, 5 in the county of Glamorgan, esq., and wife of 
Charles Talbot, Barrister at Law, 6 to whom she bore five sons, and left four 
surviving. 7 She died in this parish on the 13th of June, 1720, and chose this 
place for her grave in the 28th year of her age. 

3 Isaac Littlebury, whose learning and virtues are here recorded, is understood to 
have been the son of Mr. Thomas Littlebury, a bookseller in Little Britain, noted for his 
skill in languages ; and best known as a translator of Herodotus. 

4 Lysons and others describe a mutilated inscription, partly in French, partly in Latin, 
on the outside of a north window of the nave. The inscription is now lost; the window 
referred to having been removed some years ago, and a larger one fixed in its place. 

5 The orthography of the name of this place varies ; Castle-Meyrrick, Castle-Merick, 
Castle-y-Merick, &c. 

6 Afterwards Lord High-Chancellor of England ; created Baron Talbot, of Hensol, in 
1733; died in 1737. 

7 Her eldest son, Charles, to whose memory the author of " The Seasons " inscribed a 
monody, died unmarried in 1733. William, the second 6on, (whose tomb is described 
above), was raised to the dignity of an Earl in 1761 . 



104 HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

Manning and Bray describe this tomb as covered with ivy : it is 
now quite clear, and inclosed within iron rails apparently modern. 

At the western extremity of the church-yard "is an enormous rude 
mass of Portland stone, with rustic work at the corners, an urn at 
top, inclosed by iron rails," with an inscription to the memory of 
James Gibson, esq., late merchant and citizen of London ; for whom 
(and as a mausoleum for his family) it was erected in 1777. 

Amongst the rectors of this parish, who attracted notice in their 
day, may be mentioned Henry Wyche,* and William Stephens. 9 

The benefactions to the parish of Sutton have been numerous : — 

1613. Henry Smith, by will, \l. 19s. 10c?. annually, for the poor. 

1774. Elizabeth Stephens, by will, 6/. annually, to be distributed amongst poor widows 
and housekeepers. 

1782. Robert Holmes, esq., an equal sum, for the same purpose. 

1782. Elizabeth Stephens, 200?. stock, for cleaning and beautifying the church and 
chancel, and making good the public footpaths of the parish. 

1789. Mr. William Beek, 200/. South-sea Stock, the interest of which to be applied to 
the education of six poor children of the parish, at the discretion of the Rector and 
Churchwardens . 

1793. Mrs. Mary Gibson, by will, 500/. 3 per cent. Consolidated Bank Annuities, to 
be applied as follows : — 5/. to the minister of Sutton for the time being, for ever, for the 
preaching of a sermon on the 12th of August in every year; — 5/. to be distributed that 
day at church amongst the poor ; — l/. to the clerk of the said parish on that day ; — 4/. to 
be divided between the churchwardens on that day, on condition of their attending to the 
monument and family vault of the Gibsons, and seeing that it is kept in repair by the 
governors and guardians of Christ's Hospital. 

1823. Mrs. Bentley, two sums of 50/. each, producing 4/. 6s. 2c?. annually, towards 
the support of the parish schools. 

1829. Mrs. Lucy Manners, the annual interest of 700/. 3 per cent. Consols, to be 
applied towards the education of the children of the poor, at the discretion of the rector. 

The average number of children educated in the parish schools is 

about 170. — The only dissenting place of worship in this parish is a 

small chapel for Independent-methodists. 

8 " 10 June, 1636, Henry Wyche, being a Non Regent Maister of Arts in the University of 
Cambridge, was inducted by Thomas Pope into the rectory of Sutton June 10th, an. Dom. 
1636, after a resignation made of the same rectory by Joseph Glover, who was much beloved 
of most, if not of all, and his departure lamented by most, if not of all." — Parish Register. 

9 In the first leaf of the old Register is the following remarkable entry : — 

"7 May 1703, Mem. that this Register of Sutton was carried away into Lincolnshire 
by Mrs. Wyche, widow of Mr. Henry Wyche, Rector of this parish, and was restored 
to this parish by Mr. William Wyche, son to the said Henry, at the intercession of me 
William Stephens, now Rector of Sutton." 

Mr. Stephens distinguished himself on various occasions as a political writer against 
the Court. " In 1707 he published a Letter to the author of the Memorial of the Church 
of England, reflecting upon Secretary Harley and the Duke of Marlborough, for which he 
was indicted, fined 100 marcs, sentenced to stand twice in the pillory, and find sureties 
for his good behaviour for 12 months. The pillory was remitted, but not till he had been 
taken to a public house at Charing Cross and seen it prepared for him." — Manning, from 
Lysons's Environs, vol. i. pp. 495, 496. 







1 
















1 







A 



-; 



ACCOUNT OF THE SELSDON ESTATE. 105* 

3&t>rttHA : Wallington Hundred. — In Croydon parish, but immedi- 
ately adjoining Sanderstead, is Selsdon, which, in the tenth century, 
was the property of duke Elfred, a Saxon nobleman, from whose will 
Mr. Manning derived the following particulars: — " Duke Elfred died 
seised of 32 hides in Sanderstede and in Selesdune in Sanderstede, 
which he bequeathed, with the live stock and all the appurtenances, 
to Werburg his wife for life, and afterwards to Aldhryth his daughter 
and her issue, and if she had none, then to his next of kin by his 
father's side.'" 

There can be no doubt of the ancient estate called Selesdune having 
formed part of the manor of Sanderstead long before the Domes- 
day survey ; and it most probably formed a portion of the eighteen 
hides which were given to the abbey of Hyde, near Winchester, by 
Athelfleda, the wife and queen of king Edgar, and mother of St. 
Edward, king and martyr ; as stated in the list of the possessions of 
that house recorded in an ancient manuscript in the British Museum, 
quoted by Dugdale." After the dissolution of monasteries in the reign 
of Henry the Eighth, Sanderstead, with Selsdon, passed through some 
intermediate ownerships into the possession of John Ownsted, esq., 
of Sanderstead Court, " Serjent of Carriages " to queen Elizabeth, as 
stated in the inscription to his memory before noticed. 12 

At a subsequent period, Selsdon became the property of the Bowyer 
family; of whom Aubrey says, that Christopher Bowyer, gent., a 
generous hospitable person, "was interred at the east end of the 
church-yard of Sanderstead", but had no memorial erected over his 
grave. At that time, there was a small house belonging to the 
Bowyers on the site of the present mansion. After several inter- 
mediate transfers Selsdon came into the possession of Wm. Coles, esq., 
by whom, in 1809, it was sold to the late George Smith, esq., M.P., 
(second brother of Robert, 1st lord Carrington); who, dying in 1836, 
was interred in Sanderstead church. 13 His estates were inherited by 
his eldest son, Geo. Robert Smith, esq., late M.P. for Midhurst, and 
subsequently, for High Wycombe ; who resides at Selsdon. 

Selsdon House is a handsome building, situated on an eminence 
about three miles south-east of Croydon, and commanding extensive 
views over the counties of Surrey and Kent. It was much enlarged 
by the late proprietor, under the direction of an amateur architect, 
and now forms an example of the castellated gothic character. A 
few years ago, a Conservatory was erected by the present possessor, 

10 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 568. 

11 Dugdale's Monasticon, vol. ii. p. 336: new edit. 1819. 

12 See under Sanderstead, p. 44. I3 Id. p. 45. 

VOL. IT. * P 



106* HISTORY OF SURREY. — WALLINGTON HUNDRED. 

from the designs of Messrs. Wyatt and Brandon, in the Elizabethan 
style, which harmonizing well with the architecture of the mansion 
itself, has been much and deservedly admired. The gardens are 
arranged in natural terraces, and have also been much embellished 
and improved. In its general aspect, the surrounding home-scenery 
is singularly rural and retired. 

Chelsham Lodge (noticed in page 194), in which the late George 
Smith, esq., resided before he purchased Selsdon, and which still 
belongs to his son, has been let to Mr. Hales. The house is situated 
in a pleasant park, of about fifty acres, and overlooks the palace of 
Addington, from which it is distant about two miles. The attached 
farm is partly in Kent, and comprises about 350 acres. 

The manor of Addington, &c, (pp. 24 — 31), was purchased, in 
1807, by the trustees of the archbishop of Canterbury, (for the 
purpose of its conversion into a palatial abode), of William Coles, 
esq., the son of the person mentioned in page 27. Upon part of this 
estate, as held by Coles, there are, besides Selsdon, the following 
seats, viz. — Heathfield Lodge, the property of S. N. Cowley, esq. ; — 
and Bollards, the residence of Frederick Augustus Hoffman, esq. 

On Thunderfield Common, in Addington, is a circular encampment, 
encompassed by a double moat, inclosing about two acres of ground. 

Although so near the metropolis, Chaldon (pp. 31 — 35), is difficult 
of access ; there being no continuous hard road by which it can be 
reached: the only tolerable way for carriages from the north is by 
turning at Hooley-lane gate, or at Hooley-house, over the turf of 
Farthing down. From the west, the hard road is cut off at each end 
of Alderstead heath, which is only passable for a light carriage in 
summer. From Coulsdon, or Caterham, the approach is over the 
commons ; but from the south, there is a continuous tract up White 
hill, which, although improved, is still very steep and indifferent. — In 
pages 33 and 35, Marden park has been misprinted Morden park. 

Besides Hartley, erroneously spelt Hurtley, in Coulsdon (page 38), 
another place of note is Kenley House, which stands f on the hill 
opposite Riddles-down. This is the property and residence of Thos. 
F. Marson, esq., who is the owner of between six and seven hundred 
acres of land in this parish ; including Hayes farm, upon which is a 
good yeoman's residence. — Garston Hall is the property of Thomas 
Byron, esq., of Hartley, but has for a considerable time been occupied 
by the kennel and hunting establishment of the Subscription pack of 
the Old Surrey Fox-hounds, which was recently under the manage- 
ment of Mr. Castendieck. 



THE 



HUNDRED OF TAND RIDGE. 



PARISHES IN THE FIRST DIVISION, VIZ.: 

BLECHINGLEY- CROWHURST. GODSTONE. HORNE.- 

LINGFIELD. OXTED. TANDRIDGE. 



-LIMPSFIELD. 



IN THE SECOND DIVISION : 

CATERHAM. CHELSHAM. FARLEY. — TATSFIELD. TITSEY. 

WARLINGHAM. WOLDINGHAM. 



andridge Hundred derives 
its appellation from a small 
village of the same name, 
which, in ancient times, must 
have been a place of more 
importance than at present ; 
or, otherwise, it could not 
have obtained such distinc- 
tion as to give name to the 
district. In the Domesday 
book, both the manor and 
the hundred are called Tcn- 
rige. Salmon states, that * the 
Sheriff's Tourn for this hun- 
dred was held at Undersnow, 
where three ways meet, between Godstone and Oxted, at the south- 
eastern angle of Rooks'-nest Park, and is now called by old people 
Shreeves Turn.' ' The hundred of Tandridge, which forms the south- 
eastern angle of the county, is bounded by the hundred of Wallington, 
on the north ; by Kent, on the east ; by Sussex, on the south ; and by 
the hundreds of Reigate and Wotton, on the west. 

BLECHINGLEY. 

The small town of Blechingley, anciently Blechyngelegh, which was 
formerly a parliamentary borough, is situated not far from the central 
range of chalk-hills, in a parish of the same name. This parish is 

1 See Manning, Scjrrey, vol. ii. p. 289. 
VOL. IV. P 




LINGFIELD CHURCH. 



106 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

very extensive, containing, according to a survey made in 1680, six 
thousand, eight hundred, and sixty-nine acres of land. The present 
parish of Home anciently formed a part of Blechingley ; but it was 
constituted a distinct parish in the reign of Queen Anne. Blechingley 
is bounded on the north by Caterham and Chaldon ; on the east, by 
Godstone ; on the south, by Burstow and Home ; and on the west, by 
Nutfield and Merstham. The soil is calcareous in the higher part of 
the parish ; but in the lower portion, it consists of clay. Limestone 
is dug here, of various qualities, some being adapted for building, and 
some being burnt into lime. 

At the time of the Domesday survey, there were two manors here, 
which are thus described in the record, among the lands of Richard 
de Tonbridge : — 

" In Tandridge Hundred, Richard holds Civentone, which Alnod held of King Edward. 
It was then assessed at 20 hides : now at 6 hides. There are 12 carucates of arable land. 
Two carucates and a half are in the demesne ; and twenty three villains, and one bordar, 
with 9 carucates. There are nine bondmen ; and one mill, at 32 pence. The wood yields 
fifty swine for pannage ; and 12 swine for herbage ; and there are 16 acres of meadow. 
Of these hides, Roger holds half a hide ; and has there, in demesne, one carucate, with 
five bordars. In Southwark are three houses (liagce) at 15 pence ; and in London, two 
mansions (masurce) at 10 pence. In the time of King Edward the manor was valued at 
1 1 pounds ; afterwards at 6 pounds ; and now at 10 pounds. 

" Richard himself holds Blachingelei. iElfech, and Alwin, and Elnoth held it of King 
Edward, when it was assessed at 10 hides : now at 3 hides. The arable land amounts to 
16 carucates. The three manors are now united in one. Three carucates are in the 
demesne ; and twenty villains, and four bordars, with 9 carucates. There are seven 
bondmen ; and 14 acres of meadow. The wood yields forty swine for pannage ; and 
eighteen swine for herbage. In London and Southwark are seven mansions, at 5 shillings 
and 4 pence. Of these 10 hides, Odin holds 2 and a half, Lemei 2 hides, and Peter 1 and 
a half. There is one carucate in demesne ; and three villains, and two bordars, with 1 
carucate ; and 3 acres of meadow. The whole manor, in the time of King Edward, was 
valued at 13 pounds ; and afterwards at 8 pounds : now that which Richard holds is valued 
at 12 pounds ; and the land held by his men at 73 shillings and 4 pence." 

Civentone, which appears to have been the principal manor in the 
reign of William the First, has long since become a mere appendage 
to the manor of Blechingley. No traces of it now remain, excepting 
a farm called Chivington, in the eastern part of the parish, comprising 
between fifty and sixty acres of land. Mrs. Law had an estate for the 
term of her life in this farm ; the reversion of which was sold by 
auction, in 1803, to William Kenrick, esq. The Rev. Jarvis Kenrick, 
of Chilham, in Kent, held it in 1809 ; and a son of that gentleman is 
the present owner. The house is occupied by Mr. Hall ; and the 
land by Mr. Ware. 

The Manor of Blechingley. — This manor, twenty miles and a 
half in circuit, with many other estates which had been held by 



DESCENT OF T1IE MANOR OF BLECUINGLEY. 107 

Richard de Tollbridge, descended to the Clares, earls of Gloucester; 
and after the death of Earl Gilbert, in 1313, as he left no issue, the 
family inheritance was divided among his three sisters. 1 Margaret de 
Clare, the youngest of these ladies, (married first to Piers Gaveston, 
the favourite of King Edward the Second, and afterwards to Hugh de 
Audeley), obtained this manor, as part of her share of the property ; 
and her only daughter, by her second husband, transferred the Blech- 
ingley estate, by marriage, to the family of Stafford. Humphrey, earl 
of Stafford, who came into the possession of this manorial estate in 
1422, was created duke of Buckingham in the 23rd of Henry the 
Sixth ; and he lost his life in the service of that prince, at the battle 
of Northampton, in 1460. Blechingley, with various other estates, 
descended to Edward Stafford, duke of Buckingham, who, in 1521, 
suffered the penalty of treason for an alleged conspiracy against King 
Henry the Eighth ; and although the act of attainder subsequently 
passed was partly set aside by another act, for the restoration in blood 
of his son and heir, Henry, lord Stafford, yet that nobleman did not 
recover the lands and honours of his ancestors. 

Sir Nicholas Carew, of Beddington, had a grant of the manor of 
Blechingley in the 14th of Henry the Eighth ; but it reverted to the 
crown on his execution and attainder in 1539. The king, in 1541, 
settled on his late wife, Anne of Cleves, for her life, if she continued 
to reside in England, the manor of Blechingley with its appurtenances, 
&c, of the clear value of 421. 15s. 2d. a year. Sir Thomas Cawarden, 
master of the revels at court, obtained a grant in reversion of this 
estate, on which he dwelt, being bailiff and collector of the rents, and 
keeper of the parks here. 2 The ex-queen died in 1557 ; when Sir 

1 "25 Edward I., 1297, on an Inquisition taken at Bletchingly 3 July, it was found that 
John le Venur died seised of a tenement held of the heirs of Gilbert de Clare, sometime 
Earl of Gloucester, rendering yearly a bearded arrow, value one half-penny, for all 
services. It is described as a capital messuage, value Is.; 48 acres of arable land, at Ad. 
an acre, 16s. ; 1 acre and a half of meadow, at \2d., Is. 6d.; rents of assize, 1/. 3s. ■i\<l. 
And that Joint was his son and heir, of the age of 23. 

" 17 Edward II., 1324, this John died; his estate being described as a messuage in 
Blechingly, value per annum 2s. 92 acres of arable land, at 3d. per acre. 26 acres of 
wood, the value of the underwood and pasture, 6s. Gd. 1 acre and 3 roods of meadow, 
value 21</. Rents of assize, 21s. 6d. — Sum 2/. 14s. 9rf. Held of Margaret, sister and 
coheir of Gilbert, late Earl of Gloucester, as of the Honour of Clare, which Honour Mas 
then in the King's hands by reason of the forfeiture of Hugh de Audeley, who had 
married the said Margaret, by the service of one barbed Arrow, or one half-penny, per 
annum, and suit of court to Blechingh/, William \\as his son and heir, aged 16.— Of this 
estate we know no more." — Manning and Bray, SURREY, vol. ii. p. 306 : from the 
Escheats, 35 Edw. I. n. 8; and 17 Edw. IF. n. 58, Rot. Pip. 

- During his residence here, Sir Thos. < bwarden is said to have entertained King Henry 
the Eighth and his queen, Anne Bolcyn ; but there is little foundation for rach report, as 

Cawarden did not occupy this estate un il Borne years after the queen's decapitation. 

p 2 



108 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Thomas came into full possession of the fee-simple of the estate, which 
he held until his death, in 1559; and his widow, Elizabeth, who had a 
life interest in it, dying the following year, William Cawarden, esq., 
nephew and heir of Sir Thomas, had livery of the manorial estate in 
May, 1560. Shortly after, he procured a license to alienate the manor 
and its appurtenances to William, lord Howard, of Effingham, who 
died seised of it in 1574. His son and successor, Charles, afterwards 
earl of Nottingham, (celebrated for his naval triumph over the Spanish 
Armada), who died in 1624, some years previously gave the Blechingley 
estate to his son William, lord Howard ; on whose death, without male 
issue, in 1617, it came into the possession of his daughter Elizabeth, on 
whom he had settled it. Her uncle Charles, the second earl of 
Nottingham, instituted law-suits, in order to recover the property, but 
he was unsuccessful. The heiress of Lord Howard married John 
Mordaunt, earl of Peterborough, and having survived her husband, 
she settled this estate, in 1649, on her son Henry, the second earl of 
Peterborough, by whom it was vested in trustees for sale, under the 
sanction of an act of parliament passed in 1677. It was purchased by 
Sir Robert Clayton, knt., an alderman of London, (an eminent 
scrivener and conveyancer), and John Morris, esq., his partner. 3 The 
former was deeply implicated in the patriotic opposition made against 
the mis-government of Charles the Second ; and is said to have been 
preserved from the fate which befel several of his associates, through 
the influence of Judge Jefferies, who, in the early part of his pro- 
fessional career, had owed to Sir Robert his promotion to the office of 
Recorder of the city of London. Other estates were purchased, 

3 The subjoined statement of customs, peculiar to the manor of Blechingley, was 
presented at a court held by Sir Robert Clayton and John Morris, esq., on the 1st of 
October, 1677 :— 

" Free and customary tenants to do suit of court from three weeks to three weeks ; — 
Every tenant, as well free as customary, ought to pay for a relief on admission to the 
lands of their ancestors one penny and no more for all the lands they hold; — a customary 
tenant may aliene by a deed of release only with warranty or without, attested by two 
customary tenants, and not otherwise, and presented by the tenants who attest, at the next 
court, where it is to be inrolled ; and if any customary tenant convey by fine, feoffment, 
livery, or any other conveyance, he forfeits his customary land ; — he may lett leases 
without license from the Lord ; but if they exceed 21 years they must be attested and 
presented as releases are to be ; — recoveries of customary lands are suffered in the 
court ; — a Feme Covert seised of customary lands may with her husband convey by 
release, executed and inrolled as above, she being solely and secretly examined by the 
steward ; — nothing happens to the Lord on death of a free or customary tenant, but one 
penny for a relief; — customary lands descend to the heir; — the widow has no dower, 
thirds, or any interest in such lands, unless conveyed by deed as above ; — no customary 
lands can be extended or taken in execution on any judgment, statute, recognizance, or 
other record ; and they are not effects in the hands of the heir, whereby he shall be 
bound by the obligation of his ancestor." — Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 296. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF BLECH1NGLEY. 109 

jointly, by the same parties, and on a division being made, Bleching- 
ley, with other lands in Surrey, was allotted to Sir Robert. William 
Clayton, the nephew of the alderman, to whom he bequeathed his 
possessions, was created a baronet in 1732; and his grandson, Sir 
Robert Clayton, in 1788, sold the reversion of the manor and borough 
of Blechinglcy to his maternal relative, John Kenrick, esq. ; who, on 
the death of the vendor in May, 1799, came into possession of the 
property. Mr. Kenrick died in September the same year, having 
given it by will to his brother, the Rev. Matthew Kenrick, LL.D., 
then rector of the parish ; and on his decease in July, 1803, it passed 
in the same manner to another brother, the Rev. Jarvis Kenrick, who 
was rector of the parish thirty-five years, and who died on the 21st of 
November, 1838. In 1816, however, the manor, with the borough, 
&c., was sold to Matthew Russell, esq., of Portland-place, London ; 
and, on the 15th of September, 1835, after the decease of that gentle- 
man, the manor, quit-rents, &c, with great part of the town, were sold 
to John Perkins, esq., of Pendhill-court, its present owner, for 540/.; — 
a very trivial sum, when compared with its value before the Reform 
act was passed in 1832. 

The ancient manor-house, which stood in or near what is called 
Brewer-street, was pulled down by the Earl of Peterborough, men- 
tioned above. The porter's lodge, the only portion of the offices 
remaining, was long since converted into a farm-house ; which is now 
(February, 1844), with the land attached, in the occupation of Mr. 
John King, one of the churchwardens. 

The Manor of Garston, in Blechingley. — This manor, which be- 
longed to the priory of Tandridge, was given by Henry the Eighth, 
with other conventual estates, to John Rede, in exchange for the 
manor of Oatlands. 4 It came into the possession of Bartholomew 
Rede; who, in 1573, sold it to Henry Hay ward, or Haward; and it 
descended to Sir William Ilaward, by whom it was again sold to John 
Burrough, esq., in 1681. After other transfers, it was purchased by 
Sir Joseph Jekyll, who married a sister of the celebrated Lord Somers. 
He died, without issue, in 1738, having bequeathed to his lady the 
interest of'20,000/. stock, for her life, and the reversion of the principal 
to government, towards the payment of the national debt. His real 
estate, after the deduction of several legacies and annuities, he devised 
to twelve relations. 

This will became the subject of proceedings in the court of Chancery ; 
in consequence of which, its validity was established in the vear 
1740; but a decree for the sale of the estates was not obtained until 
* See account of Oatlands, vol. ii. p. 382. 



110 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

1749. The Garston estate was purchased by the lady of Sir Kenrick 
Clayton, the father of Sir Robert, to whom she gave it by will, and in 
failure of his issue, to her daughter Martha Clayton, in fee. The 
latter eventually became the proprietor ; and dying unmarried in 
1802, she devised it to her cousin, Sir VMlliam Clayton, the present 
baronet, whose property it still remains. Some years ago, it was 
leased to Benjamin Travers, M.D., of Bruton-street, London ; and 
more recently, the lease has been transferred, for twenty-one years, to 
a gentleman of the name of Wright, who resides on the estate. 5 

There is a vague tradition, that Blechingley once possessed seven 
churches ; but there is nothing in the appearance, or in the history 
of the place, to justify such a belief. 6 — Here was formerly a Castle, 
which stood at the west end of the town, on the brow of a hill, 
commanding an extensive prospect over Holmsdale. Aubrey says, 
that in 1673, the remains were visible; and he adds, — "This Castle 
(with great Graffs) is in a Coppice, and was heretofore a stately 
Fabrick, and pleasantly situated, but shews only now one piece 
of wall of five foot thick." 7 When Mr. Bray wrote, the foundations 
only remained, which being then traced, a slight plan was made, and 
published in the ' History of Surrey.' The date of its erection, and 
the name of its founder, are alike unknown. At the time of the 
Domesday survey, it belonged to Richard de Tonbridge, earl of Clare; 
in whose family it continued to the ninth generation. In 1263, whilst 
it was the property of Gilbert de Clare, earl of Gloucester, it was 
demolished by the king's forces commanded by Prince Edward (after- 
wards Edward the First), when he had routed the Londoners at Lewes, 
in Suffolk. It is understood to have been afterwards restored ; and 
was conveyed, by marriage, to the Staffords, dukes of Buckingham. 
Subsequently, it formed part of the settlement made by Hemy the 
Eighth, on his divorced queen, Anne of Cleves. The Howards, 
earls of Nottingham; 8 and the Mordaunts, earls of Peterborough, 

5 Aubrey mentions this manor (which he calls Gasson), as being the place " where the 
Spring of the River Medway rises, which, by so small a force as a Man's Hand, may be 
turn'd either into Medway in Kent, or the Thames ; and half a mile from the west side 
of Godstone, drives a Mill." — Surrey, vol. iii. p. 87. 

6 The belief, that this demesne was the retreat of Earl Godwin, after his lands in Kent 
had been swallowed by the sea, in the eleventh century, appears to rest upon no solid 
foundation. 

7 Aubrey, Surrey, vol. iii. p. 73. 

8 In periods when it was customary for provisions and other articles to be taken for 
the king's house by purveyors, Blechingley and Home, being on the borders of the woody 
country below, were bound to furnish wood and coal [charcoal?] ; but through the interest 
of the second Earl of Nottingham, lord of the manor, they had been for many years excused 
from the contribution ; so long, indeed, that when called upon, in the reign of James the 
First, they were unwilling to execute the service. In consequence of their refusal, the 



THE PENDUILL ESTATE, IN BLECHINGLEY. 1 1 1 

were successively owners of the estate. At what period it was 
separated from the manor is uncertain ; but it was, at one time, the 
property of a family named Cholmeley; and afterwards, of the Gayns- 
fords, of Crowhurst. It was next held by the family of Drake, of 
whom the Rev. Ralph Drake took the name of Brockman ; and his 
son, James Drake Brockman, sold the castle, or its site rather, in 
1793, to John Kenrick, esq.; after which, it belonged in succession 
to his brothers, the Rev. Dr. Matthew Kenrick, and the Rev. Jarvis 
Kenrick, in whose family it remains. 9 

Penduill. — Pendhill (or more properly Pen-dale) Court, taking its 
name from Pen, a head, and dell, a dale, is a spacious old mansion, the 
property and residence of John Perkins, esq., a gentleman w T ell known 
on the Stock Exchange, and who, a few years ago, projected and 
built, at an enormous expense, a new and extensive Cattle-market, at 
Ball's-pond, Islington. The speculation, however, the great object of 
which was to do away with the nuisance of Smithfield market, failed, 
with a heavy loss to the projector. 

In the seventeenth century, the Pendhill estate belonged to the 
family of Holman. The mansion, which is kept in an excellent state 
of preservation, was built by George Holman, esq., of Godstone, about 
the year 1624. His son, Richard Holman, of Pendhill, died in 1664, 
leaving two sons, who having died without issue, the estate devolved 
on Thomas Seyliard, of Penshurst in Kent, who had married their 
sister, Mary Holman. His great grand-daughter, and at length sole 
heiress, Ann Seyliard, having died at the age of twelve, in 1760, 
this estate passed to her cousin, Hester Wade Seyliard, who became 
the wife of George Scullard, esq., whom she survived, and having no 
issue, she gave the property to John Perkins, esq. ; whose father had 
married (secondly), the widow of Thomas Seyliard, and whose son 
and successor, of the same name, is the present owner. 10 

Another mansion here was erected by Richard Glyd, esq. in 1636, 

parishioners were summoned to appear before the Board of Green Cloth. However, on 
the 1st of October, 1616, the Lord Steward and Officers of the Board gave up the arrears, 
amounting to one hundred loads of wood and thirty loads of coal, on the undertaking 
of the parishioners to perform the required service in future. 

Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 303. 

10 There is a view of the mansion at Pendhill in Manning and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. p. 
306 ; and in vol. iii. plate xxvi., is a ground-plan of a Roman Hypocaust discovered in a field 
at a little distance north-east of the house, in the summer of 1813, by some of Mr. 
Perkins' workmen, in grubbing up a bank. "The field," says Mr. Bray, "is not far 
from the foot of the Chalk hill, called White hill, up which, and over Bansted Heath, 
the Roman road out of Sussex, by Godstone, passes in its way to Woodcote; and the 
fortified ground called the Curdiinil's ( W/», on the point of the hill in Caterham, overlooks 
this field." — Surrey, vol. iii.; Additions, p. exxi. 



112 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

(and, according to tradition), from a design of Inigo Jones." His son 
and heir, John Glyd, died unmarried ; and this house, with forty acres 
of land, was afterwards sold to Andrew Jelfe, a mason and architect ; 
of whose family it was purchased, in 1803, by Joseph Seymour Biscoe, 
esq., with whom it remained for some years, but is now the property 
of Mr. Perkins, of Pendhill. It is in the occupation of Mrs. Kenrick, 
widow of the late Rev. Jarvis Kenrick, and sister of Mr. Perkins. 

Near the road, is a house called Little Pendhill, which is said to 
have been built by Mr. Glyd, for a temporary residence, whilst the 
house mentioned above was in progress. It belonged, at one time, to 
Admiral Sir Edward Hughes, K.B. ; after whose death, in 1799, it 
was sold by his widow to Samuel Farmer, esq. ; and by him, to John 
Schneider, esq., to whom it belonged in 1808. It is now the property 
of Mr, Seawell. 

North Park, some distance from the town towards Godstone, is 
the residence of Mr. Webb, one of the churchwardens, bv whom it 
was purchased of Sir William Clayton about four years ago. 

The old mansion of Kentwaynes, or, as it was sometimes called, the 
Tan-house, was formerly a residence of the Cholmeleys; from whom it 
passed to the Gaynsfords ; and from them to the Drakes ; whose de- 
scendant, Mr. James Drake Brockman, sold it to John Kenrick, esq. 
It descended to the late Rev. Jarvis Kenrick, and is now the property 
of that gentleman's successor. The house (now a farm-house), with 
part of the land, is in the parish of Nutfield, although generally de- 
scribed as in Blechingley. The farm is in the occupation of Mr. 
Clements. 

Ham is described by Manning as a large old house, with about six 
hundred acres of land, at the south-west end of the parish, encom- 
passed by lands belonging to other parishes. It appears to have been 
the residence of the Turner family as early as the reign of Richard 
the Second, when Richard Turneur was representative of the borough 
of Blechingley. John Turner, the last heir-male, died in 1713; but 
the farm of Ham had been previously sold to Thomas Budgen, esq., 
chosen M.P. for Surrey in 1751 and 1754 ; and it was the property of 
his grandson in 1808. Very recently, it was purchased of the Budgen 
family by Mr. King, a cousin of Mr. King of Blechingley-house. 

" "In the Phoenix Britannicus is a copy of verses written by (as he is called) the 
ingenious Mr. Richard Glyd, of New College, Oxford, on " The Narrative of the Miraculous 
Deliverance of Anne Greene; who, being executed at Oxford, Dec. 14, 1650, was 
afterwards revived by Care of the Physicians." From the date of the building the house, 
the gentleman here mentioned must have been the son of the builder." — Manning, 
Surrey, vol. ii p. 308. 



STANGRAVE. BOROUGH OF BLECHINGLEY. H3 

Over the entrance gateway of the mansion, was the following inscrip- 
tion : — 

1611. 

Non Domo Dominus, sed Domino 

Domus honestanda est. 

I . E . T. 

In the upper part of the gateway was a room which seemed to have 
been used as a chapel. The ceiling was coved, and painted with stars. 
This relic of antiquity was pulled down by the new proprietor in the 
summer of 184:5. 

Stangrave.— On the road from Blechingley to Godstone, near 
Godstone-green, was a considerable mansion thus designated. In 
1326, Sir Robert de Stangrave had license for an oratory in his manor 
of Stangrave in Blechingley ; and, five years subsequently, he had a 
renewal of the license for two years. 12 In 1322, Robert le Botiller, 
son of Peter le Botiller, of Blechingley, demised to Robert de Stan- 
grave, knt., and Joan his wife, his right in lands in Blechingley ; 13 Sir 
Robert de Stangrave died in 1361, leaving Sir John Breton, his 
cousin and heir. The family of Beecher held Stangrave from 1580 
to 1676, when it came into the possession of Thomas Northey, citizen 
and apothecary of London. 

The old dwelling was taken down about the year 1740; and the 
existing edifice, now known by the name of Imj-lwuse, was erected by 
one of the Northeys. Milicent, the descendant of Thomas Northey, 
esq., mentioned above, and the wife of the Rev. John Parkhurst (of 
Epsom), together with her sisters, sold the estate, in 1759, to Sir 
Kenrick Clayton, whose relative, SirWm. Clayton, is its present owner. 
In 1348-9, there was another mansion in this parish, called Daferons, 
or Saferons, then belonging to William de Tudenham, who had license 
for his chapel therein; and his license was renewed in 1354. 

Blechingley was, formerly, both a market and a borough town ; but 
the market has been long discontinued, and the borough was dis- 
possessed of its privilege of returning members to parliament by the 
Reform act (2nd Win. IV. cap. xlv.), passed in June, 1832. Here 
are two annual fairs; one is held on the 10th of May, the other on 
the 2nd of November: to the latter, which was granted by Edward 
the First in 1283, great numbers of horses, hogs, and lean cattle, are 
brought from Scotland and Wales. The spring fair is, also, well 
attended with cart-colts, and stock of different kinds. 

The first return of members from this borough to parliament was 
made in the 23rd of Edward the First, 1294-5 ; and it retained the 

'- Rec.istkr, Stratford, Winchester, It", a, •', I a. 
" Rot. Claus. 5 Kdw. II [. p. :>, m. 45. 

VOL. IV. O 



1 14 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

privilege until 1832, as stated above. The nominal right of election 

was vested in the burgage-holders resident within the borough. In the 

21st of James the First, an attempt was made by Dr. Harris (the then 

rector of the parish), and others, to extend the elective franchise to all 

the inhabitants; but their endeavours proved unsuccessful. In the 

year 1623, observes Oldfield, "it was resolved by the House [of 

Commons] that the bailiff, who is appointed by the proprietor of the 

borough, has nothing to do with the election; it therefore follows, 

[but the inference is a non sequitur], that any other person may 

exercise the duties of that office." 14 — The elections took place in a 

large house called the Hall, previously to 1733 ; and after that date, 

at the White Hart Inn, which had been purchased by Sir William 

Clayton, the first baronet of that name, then lord of the manor. Sir 

Robert Clayton, the second in succession from Sir William, disposed 

of the reversion of the borough, in his life-time, to the Rev. Dr. 

Kenrick ; from whom it was inherited by William Kenrick, esq., who 

sold it, in 1816, to Matthew Russell, esq., for the sum, as recorded 

by Oldfield, of 60,000/. 15 In ancient times, the number of voters 

was reckoned at about one hundred and thirty ; more recently, the 

nominal right of election was in the holders of about ninety burgage 

tenures ; but latterly, the number of voters who actually attended the 

elections seldom amounted to more than eight or ten. In fact, it was 

one of the most scandalous of all the boroughs upon record, and could 

be paralleled only by Gatton (also in this county), and Old Sarum. 

Members of Parliament for Blechingley, in and since the year 1800. 

The dates here given are those of the first meeting of each parliament. 

September 27th, 1796. Sir Lionel Copley, bait. : vacated, for Tregony in Cornwall, 

and in February, 1797, 
Benjamin Hobhouse, esq., was elected. 
John Stein, esq., of Carron Mills. 



14 See Oldfield's " Representative History of Great Britain and Ireland," vol. iv. 
p. 608 ; 2nd edit. 1816. In that work, (and also in Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 295), 
will be found some curious particulars relating to the election above noticed. Dr. Harris, 
the then rector of Blechingley, was censured in the Report of the Committee of the 
House of Commons: — "on which Report, being called to answer to the House, and giving 
no satisfaction, it was resolved that he had committed several offences against their 
privileges, in attempting to hinder a due election, and to alter the ancient course of 
elections in the borough, and in scandalizing the proceedings and justice of the Com- 
mittee ; and he deserved the more punishment for having abused the pulpit to his private 
malicious ends ; and that he should be brought to the bar, be sharply admonished ; 
confess his fault on his knees, and ask pardon of the House ; and on the Sunday sen'night 
following, in the pulpit of his parish church, in the entrance of his sermon, again witness 

his fault, desiring the love of his neighbours, and promising reformation." " Which 

judgment," the Report adds, " was executed accordingly in all points." 

15 See Oldfield's History, &c, as above. 



BOUOUGII OF BLECIIINGLEY. 



115 



November 16th, 1802. James Milnes, esq.; on whose decease, in April, 1805, 

Nicholas Wm. Ridley Colborne, esq. was elected. 
John Benn Walsh, esq., created a baronet June 14th, 1804. 
December 15th, 1806. Josias Dupre Porcuer, esq., who accepted the Chiltern 

Hundreds, and in January, 1807, 
John Alexander Bannerman, esq. was elected. 
William Kenrick, esq. 

June 22nd, 1807 William Kenrick, esq. 

Thomas Heathcote, esq., who accepted the Chiltern 

Hundreds, and in January, 1809, 
Charles Cockerell, esq. was elected. 
November 24th, 1812. William Kenrick, esq., who accepted the Chiltern Hundreds, 

and in November, 1814, 
John Bolland, merchant, was elected. 
Sir Charles Talbot, bart., of Chart-park ; on whose decease 

before he had taken his seat, in December, 1812, 
Robert William Newman, esq. was elected. 
January 14th, 1819 .. Matthew Russell, esq., of Brancepath Castle ; vacated for 

Saltash, in Cornwall; and in February, 1819, 
Sir William Curtis, bart. was elected. 
George Tennyson, esq., who accepted the Chiltern Hundreds, 

and in March, 1819, 
The Most Hon. Wm. Henry Cavendish Bentinck, com- 
monly called the Marquis of Titchfield, was elected. 
April 21st, 1820 : — New Parliament on the decease of George the Third. 

The Most Hon. Wm. Henry Cavendish Bentinck, com- 
monly called the Marquis of Titchfield ; who accepted the 
Chiltern Hundreds in 1822, when 
The Right Hon. Francis Leveson Gower, commonly called 

Lord F. L. Gower, was elected. 
Hon. Edw. Henry Edwardes. 
November 14th, 1826. William Russell, esq., who accepted the Chiltern Hundreds, 

and in May, 1827, 
The Right Hon. William Lamb, of Brocket-hall, (now 
Lord Melbourne), was elected : he accepted the Chiltern 
Hundreds, and in July, 1828, 
William Ewart, esq., of the Middle Temple, was elected. 
October 26th, 1830. . . Charles Tennyson, esq. 

Robert William Mills, esq., who accepted the Chiltern 

Hundreds, and in February, 1831, 
Sir William Horne, knt., solicitor-general, was elected. 
January 14th, 1831 .. Hon. John George Brabazon Ponsonby, who accepted the 

Chiltern Hundreds, and in July, 1831, 
Thomas Hyde Villiers, esq. was elected. 
Charles Tennyson, esq. ; vacated for Stamford, in Lincoln- 
shire, when 
The Right Hon. Henry John Viscount Palmerston, Baron 
Temple, one of his Majesty's Secretaries of State, was 
elected. 
Disfranchised by the Reform Act in 1832. 

Wc learn from Howes' Chronicle, (London, 1611), that, on the 25th 
of May, 1551, the shoek of an Earthquake was felt at Blechingley ; 

Q2 



116 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

and also at Godstone, Titsey, Merstham, Reigate, Croydon, and other 
places in this county. 

The Advowson of Blechingley anciently belonged to the Clares, 
earls of Gloucester, and it appears to have been generally held by the 
lords of the manor, until Sir Robert Clayton sold it to Richard 
Troward, esq. 16 Subsequently, it became the property of the late 
Charles, eleventh duke of Norfolk ; after whose decease, in December, 
1815, it was purchased by — . Warde, esq. ; with whose heirs the 
presentation now rests. — This Rectory, which is in the deanery of 
Ewell, was valued in the Taxation of Pope Nicholas at 36 marks ; and 
in the King's books, at 197. 19s. \\d. The Registers, of which there 
were seven in number prior to the Act passed in 1813, (52 Geo. III. 
cap. 146), commence in the year 1538, and have few irregularities. 

Amongst the incumbents were, Thomas Herring, D.D., 11 afterwards 

16 The presentation has, however, been the subject of considerable legal dissension. 
" In 1745 Mr. Matthew Kenrick purchased the next presentation of Sir Kenrick Clayton, 
meaning it for his son Matthew (the late rector); but, on the promotion of Dr. Thomas 
to the bishopric of Rochester in 1774, the Crown claimed the presentation. Sir Robert 
Clayton, then owner of the Blechingley estate, had interest enough to get a presentation 
from the Chancellor (Lord Apsley) for his cousin, Matthew Kenrick, son of the gentle- 
man who had bought the next turn. This gave occasion to a curious question in law. 
Sir Robert Clayton, in 17**, sold this advowson to Richard Troward, esq. ; who, in 
1791, sold it to Mr. Cailland. Mr. Troward covenanted that he had a good title, free 
from incumbrances. Mr. Cailland, finding that Mr. Kenrick, though presented by the 
Crown, claimed the next presentation under the grant from Sir Kenrick Clayton, brought 
an action in the Common Pleas against Mr. Troward, to recover back his purchase money, 
and had judgment in his favour. This was removed by writ of error to the King's 
Bench, where the judgment of the other Court was affirmed in Michaelmas Term, 1795. 
It was thence carried to the House of Lords, where the former judgments were affirmed, 
16th May, 1796." — Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 315 : quoting from Term Reports, 
vol. iv. pp. 439, 778. 

17 Thomas Herring was the son of the Rev. John Herring, rector of Walsoken, in 
Norfolk, where he was born in 1693. He studied at Jesus College, and at Corpus Christi 
College, Cambridge. Having acquired the character of a popular preacher, Dr. Fleet- 
wood, bishop of Ely, made him his domestic chaplain, and presented him to the livings of 
Rettenden in Essex, and Barley in Hertfordshire. He was recommended to Sir William 
Clayton by Matthew Kenrick, esq., who had been his fellow collegian at Cambridge. 
On his presentation to the living of Blechingley, in 1731, he vacated that of Barley ; and 
in 1732, was installed dean of Rochester. He was preferred to the bishopric of Bangor 
in 1737, and removed to the archbishopric of York in 1743: there he expended a 
considerable sum in repairing and beautifying the episcopal palace. During the rebellion 
of 1745, he took an active part in the associations formed at York to resist the 
Pretender ; and he addressed the Duke of Cumberland on his return from the victory of 
Culloden. In 1747, he was translated to Canterbury. Being partial to Croydon palace, 
which he made his constant summer residence, he laid out much money in repairing and 
rendering it commodious. He printed seven single sermons. To the rebuilding Bene't 
College, of which he had been elected a fellow, he bequeathed 1000Z. He died in 1767, 
and was buried in Croydon church, having forbidden the erection of any monument to 
his memory. 



BLECIIINGLEY CHURCH. — CHURCHWARDENS' ACCOUNTS. 117 

archbishop of Canterbury, instituted in 1731 ; and his successor, John 
Thomas, D.D., who became bishop of Rochester, instituted in January, 
1737-8. 19 

Rectors of Blechingley in and since 1800: — 

Matthew Kenrick, LL.D. Instituted on the 2nd of May, 

1775: died on the 27th of August, 1803. 
Jarvis Kenrick. Instituted November the 8th, 1803 : died 

November the 21st, 1838. 
Wetenhall Sneyd. Instituted May the 10th, 1839 : died on 

the 24th of November, 1840., aged eighty-eight. 

Charles Fox Chawner, M.A. Instituted on the 28th of 

December, 1841. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a large edifice, the exterior 

of which is rough-cast, with a slated roof, and in good condition. It 

has a low and massive embattled tower, (extending thirty-one feet 

from east to west, and twenty-seven from north to south), containing 

a peal of eight bells. Formerly, the tower was surmounted by a lofty 

spire, supposed to have contained two hundred loads of oak timber, 

covered with shingles. This was destroyed by lightning in the year 

1606, and never rebuilt ; and the bells, then only five in number, were 

melted. 19 — The church " consists of a nave, with a south aisle, and a 

18 Dr. Thomas was installed Dean of "Westminster in 1768, on the resignation of Dr. 
Zachariah Pearee, who wished also to resign the bishopric of Rochester ; but, as this was 
not permitted, Dr. Thomas had to wait for the latter preferment until the decease of Dr. 
Pearee, which occurred in the year 1774. 

19 The following extracts from a Book of the Churchwardens' Accounts kept in the 
Parish Chest, beginning 10 Henry VIII., 1519, constitute curious records of the past, and 
serve to illustrate the price of labour, &c, more than three centuries ago : — 

" On new casting a bell the bell-founder was made to enter into an obligation of 
suretie of the bell; the scrivener for preparing it was paid Ad. The bell-founder's horse- 
meat, two days and a night, 6d. Horse-hire, Is. 8d. His man, meat, and drink, the 
same space, 8d. His cost, when he took the sound of our little bell, 6d. Carrying the 
bell to London, and re-carrying home, 6s. 8d. The clock-maker of Croydon, for new- 
trimming the clock, Is. 2d. Drynk when the Queen's Grace came to the Maid, 3d. Two 
years afterwards a gallon of ale was given to the ringers against the King's coming to 
the Maid, 2d. 13 Henry VIII. 1522, paid to Sir John, the brotherhood Priest, 6s. Ad. In 
1542, they bought a pair of organs at Lingfield for \l. 5s. 1545, the carriage home cost 
Is. 8d. Mr. How, organ-maker, was paid for coming with his servant for mending 
them, five days, 6s. 8d. Meat and drink for him and his servant those days, and for 
sawder, lether, glewe, wyers, and other things, 4s. An organ-maker that came to Mr. 
Cardyn's [Cawarden] to mend our organs, and stuff, Is. Ad. My expense to Cobham to 
deliver the money for the defence of the faith, lOd. 1546, for wasteiug of torches for the 
buryal of my ladye's Grace Prest, Is. Expenses of the Churchwarden's cost for ornaments 
at Black Friers, Is. Id. A joyner a second time he went for ornaments, it, \\d. 
1578, paid for ringing for the Queen 17 Nov. Gd. 1579, at the Visitation at St. Mary 
Overey's, for our dinner and horse-meat, 6(/. 1580, their charges at ditto, when Comfeld 
was excommunicated, 8</. 1534, the Rector's dinner at the Visitation, Is. 157'.), 8 cords 



118 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

double chancel, and a north transept called Ham Chapel. The nave 
is divided from the chancel by a pointed arch, and from the south 
aisle by clustered pillars supporting four pointed arches. The chan- 
cels are separated by two similar arches." !0 

To the north of the chancels is a light commodious vestry. Over 
the entrance, in the south aisle, is a small gallery ; and at the west 
end of the church, a singing gallery, but there is no organ: the 
pulpit is octagonal, and painted in imitation of wainscot. The 
font is a large and ancient octagonal stone basin, with two quatrefoils 
deeply cut in each face : it is supported by an octagonal column ; each 
face of which presents a deeply-sunk pointed arch. In the nave, near 
the entrance into Ham chapel, are the well-preserved remains of a 
piscina. Nearly opposite, in the south wall, is a small oaken door, 
bearing the date of 1641, and forming the entrance to a turreted 
building on the outside, within which is a circular staircase leading to 
the low leads of the church. Most of the pews are old, and greatly 
out of repair; some of them dating so far back as the year 1638. 
The number of sittings is between six and seven hundred. 

Over the communion-table, within framework newly-painted in 
imitation of wainscot, are the Decalogue, Creed, and Lord's Prayer. 
In the south window, near the monument of Sir Robert Clayton, are 
the armorial bearings of that gentleman, and of his lady, in painted 
glass. *' 

On the north side of the east window, is a small white marble 
tablet, on a black ground, erected to the memory of Caroline, daughter 
of Chas. Fox Chawner, M.A., rector of this parish, (and Marian his 
wife), who died September 28th, 1841, aged nine years. 

of wood, at 2s. a cord. 1543, an hour-glass for the Church, 7c?. 1560, paid for the 
King's Arms and bringing it down, 6?. Is. 6c?. A surplice, 2l. 10s. 6c?. 1565, a prayer- 
book used on the days of humiliation against the plague, Is. 1519, paid making the 
Easter light, 2s. 4c?. Romescot at Reigate, 2s. 4c?. Watching the Sepulchre, 4c?. BeriDg 
the Cross to Reigate, Ad. Wages, a carpenter and his men each per day, 3c?. Plumber, 
8c?. His man, 6c?. Tyler, 6c?. His man, 5c?. 1546, Mason's servant, a day, 7c?. Two 
Free-masons, 8c?. a day each. 1579, Nails, 3c?. a hundred. 1519, a Preeste for singing 
for the soul of Burningham a quarter of a year, \l. 13s. 4c?. 1519, a load of Horsham 
stone [used as slates for covering a roof], 7s. Three days carriage of timber, with two 
teems, 1?. 1537, paid to a man for the proof of a Clerk which was desired to come, 4c?- 
1581, a quart of wyne, 7c?. Ditto, Malmsey, 10c?. 1633, 24 quarries of glass, 2s. 500 
tiles, 3s. 1000 bricks, 14s. 1655, Collected for relief of the poor Protestants in the 
Dominions of the Duke of Savoy by a declaration of the Lord Protector, 6?. 16s. 8c?. 
1656, a collection made for two English gentlemen taken prisoners by the Turks. A 
collection made for Madam Frances Courtney and sister, and Mist[ress] Sarah Morris, the 
late wife of Simon Morris, Esq. 9s. A collection for an Irish gentleman." 

20 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 310. 

21 The red rose of Lancaster, mentioned by Manning and Bray as being in the north 
window opposite, has been taken away, and the lower part of the window is blocked up. 



MEMOIR AND EPITAPH OF SIR THOS. CAWARDEN. 119 

Similarly situated, on the opposite side of the window, is a small 
brass-plate, in a frame, thus inscribed : — 

The Glory be to God alone. 
To the memory of a good man, prudent as well as pious, one that in his time 
was very useful, being allways ready to do his good offices to all sorts of people, 
Richard Glyd, Esq. deceased, sometime of Pendhill, in this Parish of Bletch- 
ingly, and once a wealthy Treasurer of Christ Hospital, London, during 11 
years, who with Elizabeth {Evans) his wife lies buried here nigh. 22 . . . . 

On the north side of this chancel, is an old mural tablet of black 
marble, to the memory of " Nathanaell Harris, patre Ricardo 
Harris, magni nominis Conscionatore et Theologo, in agro Bucking - 
hamiensi natus, in celeberrimo WiccamicoruH Societate Wintonice 
priumum, dein Oxonice educatus," &c. He was presented to this 
rectory in September, 1609; and died, at the age of fifty-seven, in 
April, 1625. 

Between the two chancels is an altar-tomb of freestone, for Sir 
Thomas Cawarden, over which was, formerly, a stone canopy. At 
the west end are the Cawarden arms, viz., a bow between two pheons, 
argent, and the grapples used in boarding ; on each side are two large 
roses, in separate panels, deeply cut ; and at the base of the arch over 
the tomb, is an angel holding an escutcheon, on which a chevron 
appears. 

22 The remainder of the inscription, which extends to a considerable length, com- 
memorates various members of the Glyd family. 

23 It is remarkable that there never has been an inscription on this tomb ; nor was it 
known until lately that one had ever been prepared. In the " Loseley Manuscripts,'' 
however, edited by Alfred John Kempe, esq., F.S.A., and published in 1836, appears the 
following statement : — 

" In one of the old chests at Loseley, (where nothing for three centuries appears to have 
been destroyed,) was recently found a brass plate, on which were inscribed the lines which 
follow, provided, doubtless, by the care of his executor, Sir William More, but from 
some unknown circumstance not placed on his tomb : — 

The Epitaphe of Sir Thomas Cawarden, Knight, who dyed the 25th day 
of August, Anno Domini 1559. 

They that olde tyme preferre before our dayes, 

For courage, vertue, witte, or godly zeale, 
But hearing of Sir Thomas Caw'rden's preyse, 

In serving God, his Prince, the Common weale, 
Will yield to us, and saye was never none 
Paste him that lyeth underneath this stone : 

Which, leastehis foes should it denye for spighte, 
Thrice have accorded by rewardes to prove — 

King Henry, who for service made him knighte; 
His Country, which for justice geves him love ; 

And God, who for to make full recompence, 

To place in heaven with his did take him hence." 

Sir Thomas Cawarden was lineally descended from Sir John Cawarden, of a very 
ancient family in Cheshire, deriving their name from their place of residence, the Lord- 



120 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

The south chancel is wholly occupied by a most elaborate and 
costly monument, erected by the first Sir Robert Clayton, both for 
his own commemoration, and that of his lady, whose virtues are thus 

recorded : — 

To the pious memory of Dame Martha Clayton, daughter of Mr. Perient 
Trott, of London, Merchant, and wife of Sir Robert Clayton, Knt. Alderman, 
and sometime Lord Mayor of the City of London. This monument is erected 
by her surviving husband in testimony of her many admirable endowments and 
uncommon strictness in all moral virtues ; of her unfeigned piety towards 
Almighty God through the course of her whole life ; of her true conjugal 
affection during a happy partnership of xlvi years, and of her diffusive charity 
to all those whom poverty, or other necessities, made them any ways the objects 
of her relief. Having had only one son, who was christened Robert, and died 
very young, she departed this life the xxvth day of December, anno Dom. 
m.dccv. in the Lxmd year of her age, and is deposited in the adjoining 
vault, where the late dear companion of her life, when God shall call him out of 
this mournful state, desires to be interred by her. 

Over this inscription are whole-length figures of Sir Robert and his 
lady, in white marble, standing on the projecting base of the monu- 
ment. Sir Robert is in his robes, as lord-mayor of London, with the 
ensigns of his office. Under his figure are the words — " Non vultus 
instantis tyranniC under his lady's — "Quando ullam invenient iparemf 

ship of Cawarden in the parish of Tilston, near Malpas. He was strongly attached to 
the reformed religion, and high in favour with King Henry the Eighth, from whom, in 
posts of honour, and in extensive grants of lands, in Surrey and other counties, he 
received numerous proofs of regard. He was one of the gentlemen of the Privy 
Chamber, master of the Revels, and " Keeper of the King's Tents, Hales, and Toyles." 
He was, also, keeper of the parks, wardrobe, and palace of Nonsuch. At the siege of 
Boulogne, he had the honour of knighthood conferred upon him by his Sovereign. In 
the 1st of Edward the Sixth, he was Sheriff of the county of Surrey. In the reign of 
Queen Mary, he lost favour, and was five times indicted for heresy. He was, also, suspected 
as an accomplice in Wyatt's rebellion ; and all his armour and munition of war (a very 
formidable assortment) at the castle of Blechingley, were seized by the sheriff of the 
county, and carried off to the Tower. Immediately after the demise of Queen Mary, 
Elizabeth directed him to take into his custody, pro tempore, jointly with others, "that 
palatine citadel of the state, the Tower of London, the possession of which, by the 
hereditary prince, implies livery and seisen of the crown." 

Sir Thomas was buried in Blechingley church with the honours due to his rank ; 
having constituted, by his last will, made in June, 1559, Elizabeth, his wife, and 
William More, esq. (afterwards Sir William More), of Loseley, his executors. Lady 
Cawarden died on the 20th of February following. 

Tn the " Loseley Manuscripts" is given an engraving of Cawarden \s autograph ; with 
various particulars of his life, and many interesting documents relating to him and his 
affairs. Amongst the latter are, "A Note of the yerlye Expences of the howshold of Sir 
Thomas Cawarden, Knyght, an sec E. Sexti"; — "Curious old Parochial Accounts," 
concerning Blechingley, from Sir Thomas's papers ; — " Extracts from the Knight's 
Will"; — "a Statement of the Charges for Sir Thomas Cawarden's Funeral, amounting to 
96?. 15s. \hd"; — and a paper containing the particulars of the funeral banquet, amounting 
to 36Z. 16s. 8d. ; making the whole expenses of the knight's obsequies, 129/. lis. 9^d. 
Amongst the items of the funeral banquet, is half a tun of wine, charged 6/. 



MONUMENTS IN BLECUINGLEY CHUKCH. 121 

Between these statues is a curtain of white marble, thus inscribed : — 

Here rests what was mortal of Sir Robert Clayton, Knt. in the year 
mdclxxx Lord Mayor, and at his death Alderman and Father of the City of 
London, and near xxx years was one of its Representatives in Parliament. By 
the justest methods and skill in business he acquired an ample fortune, which 
he applied to the noblest purposes, and more than once ventured it all for his 
country. He fixed the seat of his family at Marden, where he hath left a 
remarkable instance of the politeness of his genius ; and how far Nature may 
be improved by Art. His relations, his friends, the Hospital of St. Thomas in 
Southwark (of which he was President), Christ-Church Hospital, and the 
Workhouse in London, were large sharers of his bounty. He lived in the Com- 
munion of the Church of England, and in the most perfect charity with all 
good men, however divided amongst themselves in opinions. The welfare of 
his country was the only aim of his public actions ; and in all the various efforts 
that were made in his time for preserving its Constitution he bore a great share, 
and acted therein with a constancy of mind which no prospect of danger could 
ever shake. It is but just [that] the memory of so good and so great a man should 
be transmitted to after-ages, since in all the private and public transactions of 
his life he has left so bright a pattern to imitate, but hardly to be outdone. He 
was born at Bui wick in Northamptonshire the xxixth day of September, anno 
Dom. mdcxxix, and died at Marden the xvi day of July, mdccvii. — Gulielmus 
Clayton Nepos et Hseres D.D. 24 

In the south aisle, close to the chancel, is a neat white marble 
tablet, surmounted by an urn, in " memory of the Rev. Jarvis 
Kenrick, 35 years Rector of this Parish, who died 21 Nov., 1838, in 
the 64th year of his age"; — and of "Frances, his youngest daughter, 
who died in Oct. 1834, in her 20th year." 

In the south aisle, is another chaste mural monument of white 
marble, surmounted by a falcon on a sheaf of arrows : at the bottom, 
a lion rampant, with the motto, — " Vertue is Honour.'''' The tablet is 

thus inscribed : — 

• 

In the vault beneath, rest the mortal remains of the Rev. Jarvis Kenrick, 
50 years Vicar of Chilham, Kent, died the 7th of May, 1809, aged 72. — Also 
of Dorothy his wife, daughter of William Seward, Esq., died the 8th Sept. 1803, 
aged 61. — Also of William, eldest son of the above, 17 years one of His 
Majesty's Justices of Great Sessions for North Wales ; died at Broome, in the 
Parish of Betch worth in this county, the 22d of October, 1829 ; leaving issue 
one son and three daughters. 

Against the north wall, near the singing gallery, is a white marble 

2 * By a codicil to the will of Sir Robert Clayton, dated May 22, 1707, "the heredita- 
ments and premises in Bletchingley, the reversion of which descended to him as heir at 
law of his brother, Thomas Clayton, were charged with the payment of such yearly and 
other sums of money, as should be fit, convenient, or necessary, for cleaning, repairing, 
and amending, as often as need should be, the monument which the said Sir Robert 
Clayton, Knt. was then erecting for himself and his then late wife, in the South Chancel 
of the Church of Bletchingley." — It does not appear, however, that any claim has ever 
been made in respect of the said monument, upon any of the property mentioned, since 
the same was purchased by the late Matthew Russell, esq., in 1816. 

VOL. IV. R 



122 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

tablet, to the memory of Mr. Thomas Northey, who died August 

30, 1753, aged seventy; and of his second wife, and third daughter. 

At the entrance of the chancel, on the north wall, is a white marble 

monument, with a boy leaning upon an urn, inscribed, — u Nec in morte 

disjuncta." Underneath, is this epitaph : — 

H.S.E. Anna D ni GuU- Clayton bar' filia natu 3 tia > primum nupta D'no Carolo 
Blackwell bar to - dein prope annos triginta (eheu quam fugaces!) Johanni Thomas 
LL.D., Westrnonasterii necnon honorat mi ordinis Balnei Decani, hujusque 
Ecclesiae Rectoris, uxor carissima, proba, pia. Monumentum hoc cryptamque 
infra conditam superstes maritus, tarn anteactee vitse felicitatis quam venturae 
felicioris memor, dilectissimse conjugi et sibi F. F. Obiit haec 7 mo die Julii 1772, 
an. 8Bt. 63°. Hie 22° die Aug. 1793, an. set. 82°. 

On a stone in the floor below: — 

In the vault beneath are interred the remains of Johx Thomas, LL.D. Bishop 
of Rochester, Dean of Westminster, Dean of the most hon ble Order of the Bath. 
He departed this life August 22d, 1793, aged 82 years. 

Amongst several mural monuments in what is called the north 

transept, or Ham chapel, is one, on the east side, of an emblematic 

character, executed by J. Bacon, jun., to the memory of Sir William 

Bensley, bart., an officer in the royal navy, and afterwards in the 

East India company's service ; and, also, one of the directors of that 

honourable company. 

He died 17th December, 1809, aged 73. He married 12th June, 1798, Mary, 
sister of Joseph Seymour Biscoe, Esq. of this parish, and daughter of Vincent 
John Biscoe, Esq., by Lady Mary Seymour, only daughter of Edward, 8th Duke 
of Somerset. 

On the floor in this chapel, are inlaid Brasses in memory of " Thomas 
Warde and Jone his wife, the which Thomas decessyd the xxj day of 
August, an dom' mv c xlj, o' who's soules Jim have marcy. Amen." 
The former is represented in a long gown ; and his wife, in the dress 
of the time : above, are two groups of six boys and six girls in each. 

Notwithstanding the wealth and great extent of property in 
Blechingley parish, the benefactions to the poor have been only of 
slight amount : — 

1633. William Evans, by will, 100/. with which lands called Norrys were purchased ; 
the produce of which was " to set poor people to work." [These lands now let for 
10/. 14s. per annum] 

1641. Henry Smith, by deed of settlement, a bullock, annually on St. Thomas's day, 
to be distributed amongst such poor persons as do not receive constant parochial relief. 

1699. The Rev. Dr. Hampton, by will, an annuity of \l. 6s. 8d. charged on Ban- 
Fields, for firing for the poor people in the almshouses. 

In the year 1640, John Evans, gent., of London, founded a Free- 
school for twenty poor boys of this borough, under the direction of 
eleven governors. He endowed the school with lands, to the extent of 
about thirty-two acres, in the adjoining parish of Nutfield, then let at 



CHARITIES AT BLECHINGLEY. GODSTONE UNION. 123 

the rent of 20/. per annum. Mr. Bostock, of Tandridge, gave a house 
and garden for the master, which Mr. Serjeant Fuller, his son-in-law, 
endeavoured to recover, but did not succeed. By the statutes, the 
master, if a clergyman, is prohibited from preaching in any other 
church than Blechingley. 

There is a house in the parish, with a field containing two acres of 
land, called ( lerk's Croft. The land is at present in the clerk's own 
hands; but there is an agreement with the Godstone Union for its 
sale, and the produce is to be applied to the purchase of an annuity 
for the clerk, for ever, for the time being. 

Ten Almshouses were built, chiefly by the parish, in 16G8, to which 
Dr. Charles Hampton, who was appointed rector in 1677, added 
another; and by his will, as stated in the list of benefactions above, he 
left II. 6s. 8d. a year, to be distributed in fagots amongst the inmates. 

At a short distance from the church, is a Union [Godstone] Work- 
house for the poor of fourteen parishes in this county, viz. — Blech- 
ingley, Caterham, Chelsham, Crowhurst, Farley, Godstone, Home, 
Limpsfield, Oxted, Tandridge, Tatsfield, Titsey, Warlingham, and 
Woldingham. The Union-house, built upon the clerk's field by Mr. 
Whichcord, architect, of Maidstone in Kent, is, in its construction and 
regulations, in accordance with the directions of the poor-law com- 
missioners. The arrangement appears to be exceedingly good. There 
is one master (Mr. Holyer) and mistress, and a school-mistress ; and 
under their directions, the paupers attend to the different wards, and 
perform all necessary duties. 

The parish of Blechingley has two guardians ; that of Caterham, 
one; Chelsham, one ; Crowhurst, one ; Farley, one; Godstone, two ; 
Home, one ; Limpsfield, two ; Oxted, two ; Tandridge, one ; Tats- 
field, one; Titsey, one ; Warlingham, one ; and Woldingham, one. 

The Board of guardians, attended by the magistrates, meets every 
Friday morning, at Godstone. 

There is a chapel for Independcnt-mcthodists in Blechingley ; but 
it is only occasionally used. 

CROWHURST. 

This paiish lies entirely in the deep clay ; adjoining to Godstone, 
Tandridge, and Oxted, on the north; to Limpsfield, on the east; to 
Lingfield, on the south : and to Blechingley, on the west. The Dover 
railway runs for some distance on its northern v(\^c ; but the nearest 
stations are those of Godstone, two miles and a half on the east, and 
Edenbridge, in Kent, upwards of three miles on the west. The 
Godstone station is, however, more than two miles from the town of 
that name. 

R 2 



124 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

This parish, as its name indicates, was, in former times, extensively 
wooded. The number of acres estimated and titheable is 2082 ; much 
of which is poor, but, on some of the land, good wheat is produced. 
Here are several substantial farm-houses ; including Crotvhurst-Place, 
formerly the seat of the Gaynsfords, and now in the occupation of 
Mr. Newington ; — a house near the church, which was the residence 
of the Angell family; 1 — Chellows-Park, the property of ■ — . Donovan, 
esq. ; — and the Moat-House, belonging to Mr. R. Kelsey. 

In former times, it was customary to appoint a constable for Crow- 
hurst at the " Sheriff's Tourn." 

No notice of Crowhurst is to be found in the Domesday book ; the 
land in this parish having, probably, belonged to the extensive manors 
of Oxted, Tandridge, or Limpsfield, at the time of the Norman sur- 
vey. In the early part of the fourteenth century, Crowhurst formed 
a distinct manor, in the tenure of Robert de Stangrave, who held an 
estate called Stangrave in the parish of Blechingley; and in the 31st 
of Edward the First, he obtained a grant of free-warren for his lands 
there, and at this place. In 1338, Robert de Stangrave (probably the 
son of the preceding) levied a fine, and granted the manor of Crow- 
hurst, with the rents and services of all the tenants, &c, to John 
Gaynsford, and Margery his wife. 2 In the 20th of Edward the Third, 
1347, John de Home granted to Gaynsford the rents and services of 
John At Grove, who was seised of a manor in the parish, called At 
Grove, which in the reign of Henry the Sixth, 1434, after having 
passed through several hands, was conveyed to John Gaynsford, a 
descendant from John above-mentioned. The manors of Crowhurst 
and At Grove then became united, or rather, the latter was absorbed 
by the former. 3 John Gaynsford, the son of the purchaser of At 
Grove, died in 1450, and was interred at Crowhurst. His son and 
heir, Sir John Gaynsford, knt., who was M.P. for this county in 1467, 
and sheriff four years later, married six wives, by whom he had twenty 
children. Thomas, his eldest son, had a son named John, and a 

1 Aubrey relates an idle and confused story of a spring, said to arise a little below the 
house of the Angells here, in a grove of yew trees within the manor of Warlingham, "on 
the approach of some remarkable alteration in Church or State," and which, after running 
an inexplicable course, disappears, and rises again at Croydon. The simple fact appears 
to be, that, in wet seasons, a bourn rises in Birch-wood, in Marden-park, on the north 
side of the chalk-hills, and runs into the valley which extends to Croydon. 

2 " 19 Edward III. 1346, the King assigned John de Gaynsford and John de Hardres- 
ham to enquire whether any treasure had been found at Crowhurst by John Rugges, of 
what value, and in whose possession. Orig. Exch. Rot. 18." — Manning, Sorrey, vol. iii. 
p. 800. 

3 " The manor of At Grove is now unknown, unless it is found in a farm called Black- 
grove, which was sold with Crowhurst Place to the Trustees of the Duchess of Marl- 
borough." — Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 363. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF CROWHUIIST. 1 25 

daughter Anne, as appears from an inquisition taken in 1554, in 
which it is stated that John Gaynsford the son was an idiot, whose 
sister was his heir. She, however, inherited a part only of the family 
estates ; for the manor of Crowhurst came into the possession of 
Erasmus Gaynsford, the eldest son of Sir John by his sixth wife. Mr. 
.Manning says — "there must have been a settlement of this estate, 
with limitation to the heirs male, as we do not find that Anne Gayns- 
ford or her children ever possessed it." 

From this Erasmus Gaynsford, Crowhurst descended to his grand- 
son of the same name, who died in 1672, having some years previously 
settled this and most of his estates on his only-surviving son John, on 
his marriage with Anne Gape. The issue of this union was one 
daughter, Elizabeth ; and John Gaynsford, having taken a second wife, 
had by her two sons, and a daughter, Mirabella. The sons died 
childless ; when a legal contest took place between the two daughters, 
which was ultimately decided in favour of Elizabeth, the offspring of 
the first wife, who had married Henry Christmas. The only son of 
Henry and Elizabeth having died without issue, his sister, Mary Christ- 
mas, obtained possession of this estate. In 1720, she entered into an 
agreement to sell the manor of Crowhurst, to Edward Gibbon, esq., a 
South-sea director ; but before the conveyance was completed, the 
financial speculations in which he was concerned failed, and Mr. 
Gibbon's estates, with those of other directors, were vested in trustees 
for the benefit of their creditors. However, Mary Christmas (then 
married to Thomas Bates,) having made her claim, the purchase-money 
was paid in 1722, and this manor was conveyed to Sir John Eyles 
and others, trustees, (under an act of parliament,) of the estates of the 
directors, who (in 1724) sold it to the duchess of Marlborough ; and 
she settled it as a part of the endowment of the house for the widows 
of officers in the army, which she had erected at St. Albans. 4 

The Manor of Newlands. — Of the manor, or reputed manor of 
Newlands, said to lie in Crowhurst, Tandridge, Lingfield, &c, little 
appears to be known. In 1316, Roger, son of Gilbert de Kugge, of 
Crowhurst, granted a messuage and certain lands in that parish to 
John de Neuman de la Sele and Beatrix his wife, for their lives; the 
reversion to Richard de Pympe and Margaret his wife. This grant 
was confirmed by John the son of Roger. In 1332, John de Neu- 
man granted to John Gaynsford all his lands, rents, &c, in Crowhurst, 
Walkensted, and Lingfield ; and in the next year, John, son of Ro»-er 
de Rugge, granted to John Gaynsford and Margaret his wife, the 
reversion thereof. In 13.37, there was a further confirmation by 

' .Maiming and Bray, SUBBEY, vol. ii. pp. 362 — 5. 



126 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Simon, another son of Roger. These notices are supposed to refer to 
the manor of Newlands. In the time of Henry the Sixth, that manor 
appears to have been in possession of William de Newdigate, who left 
it to Letice his wife (afterwards the wife of George Danyell, of Rick- 
mansworth, Herts.), for her life ; and after her death, to John de New- 
digate, his brother (or son); which John, in 1458, granted his reversion 
to James, his brother. This right was acknowledged by the aforesaid 
George Danyell and Letice his wife ; and they, in 1469, demised the 
manor to James Newdigate, of London, grocer, during the life of 
Letice, on his paying to them, yearly, in their manor of Woodwyk, 
Herts, ten marcs sterling. James Newdigate appears to have died 
soon after this; as, in 1471, John de Newdigate made a fresh grant 
of the reversion to James Bartelot the elder; by whom, conjointly 
with trustees, it was subsequently conveyed to John Gaynsfoixl and 
Ann his wife, and the heirs of John ; remainder to William Gayns- 
ford his brother, and his heirs male ; remainder to the right heirs of 
John. John, the son of the said John Gaynsford, granted the manor 
to Sir Richard Carru, who was created a banneret at the battle of 
Blackheath in 1497. On an inquisition on a commission of idiotcy 
taken at Southwark in 1554, it was found that John Gaynsford, an 
idiot, aged eighteen, son and heir of Thomas Gaynsford, esq., W'as 
possessed of this manor, and of lands called Dairelonds and Mote- 
londs, &c, in Tandridge and Godstone, held of the manor of God*- 
stone, Anne being his sister and heir, of the age of fifteen. In 1608 
(or 1610), Thomas Thorp died seised of lands and tenements called 
Newlands, in Tandridge, held of Sir Thomas Hoskyns as of his 
manor of Okested, leaving Richard his son and heir, aged fourteen. 5 

The Manor of Chellows. — This manor extends into the parishes 
of Lingfield and Limpsfield; but the manor-house is in Crowhurst. 
It belonged to the family of Gaynsford ; 6 and from John Gaynsford, 
who held it in 1360, it descended to Sir John Gaynsford, previously 
mentioned as the father of a numerous progeny by six wives. When 
the family estates were divided, after the death of his idiot grandson, 
John Gaynsford, the manor of Chellows, or Chellwys, was assigned as 
the share of his sister Anne, who married William Forster, esq. ; and 

5 Manning, Surrey, vol. iii. pp. 336, 367, and 379. 

6 In an inscription on the tomb of Erasmus Gaynsford, of Crowhurst-Place, esq., in 
the cemetery belonging to the parish church, he is styled — "the eldest descendant of that 
familie, residing there long before the Norman Conquest." Mr. Manning observes, 
relative to this statement of the antiquity of the family, that if it be correct, the residence 
must have been at Chellows, -which manor, as well as that of Blockfield in the parish of 
Lingfield, the Gaynsfords held in the time of Edward the Third, but how much earlier is 
not known. — Surrey, vol. ii. p. 362. 



ESTATES AT CUOWIIURST. — CR0WHUB8T-PLACE. 127 

it was released to her by her kinsman, Erasmus Gaynsford, in L560. 

She died in 1591 ; and her son and heir, Sir \\ illiam Forster, knt., in 
1612, sold this manorial estate to John Hatcher of Newdigate; who, 
in the next year, alienated it to John Courthopp, esq., of Lingfield. 
In 1700, John Courthopp, gent., then proprietor, suffered a recovery 
of this manor, which, in 171 L, he conveyed to Henry Shove, gent. ; who, 
in 1738, devised it to his nephew, Thomas Saunders, of Hookwood in 
Charlewood; by whom it was sold to Robert Burrow, esq. That 
gentleman, by will, vested it in trustees for sale; and in 1794, they 
conveyed it to Mr. (afterwards Sir) Thomas Turton ; who, in 1797, 
transferred it to John Nicholls, esq., in exchange for part of the 
rectory of Lingfield. 7 It was more recently the property of James 
Donovan, esq., who died on the 20th of November, 1831 ; and was 
succeeded by his son, — . Donovan, esq., the present owner. 

There was a family named Angell settled at Crowhurst before 1615, 
to which belonged John Angell, esq., caterer to James the First, 
Charles the First, and Charles the Second ; and chief porter at Wind- 
sor Castle, who died in 1675 : by his wife Elizabeth, the daughter of 
Sir Robert Edolph, of Kent, he had twenty children ; of whom, six 
sons and three daughters survived him. 8 In 1785, a gentleman named 
Angell died at Stockwell, having left a very singular will. It includes 
a bequest of part of his property to such person or persons as could 
produce sufficient evidence of descent from an ancestor of Mr. Angell 
who lived in the reign of Henry the Sixth ; and hence has ensued 
abundance of litigation, greatly to the profit of the retainers of the law. 
Among the claimants were persons who endeavoured to prove them- 
selves descended from some one of the twenty children of John Angell 
of Crowhurst. They who, through females, were more recently 
related to Mr. Angell of Stockwell, obtained possession of the property 
without any probability, as it appeared, of being further disturbed. 
Within these two or three years, however, a person of the name 
of Angell, in humble life, has established his claim to the contested 
property of an immense amount. The estate of the Angells at Crow- 
hurst has been many years in the possession of CJeorge Rush, esq., of 
Elscnham-hall, Hanstead, Essex, formerly a great vinegar-maker at 
Lambeth; and it docs not appear that his right therein has been 
affected by the new claim to other portions of the Angell property. 

CrOWHUBST-Place. — Crowhurst-Place, mentioned in a preceding 
page as the ancient seat of the Gaynsfords, stands nearly a mile south 
from the church. The house is partly of timber, in panels, Other por- 
tions having been bricked up ; and is chiefly covered with Horsham 
' Manning, Subset, vol. ii. pp. 305, 6. 8 See Epitaph, in Crowhurst church. 



128 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

slate. Much of the wall by which it was formerly surrounded remains; 
and the moat by which it was also encompassed, is still entire. It was 
long ago converted into a farm-house ; and is now, as such, in the 
occupation of Mr. Newington. 

The entrance is by a porch, but not, apparently, the original one. 
On the door is a circular iron-plate, with a ring attached, by which 
the latch is opened. This plate is ornamented with open-work, and 
had, formerly, under it a piece of red morocco leather, a relic of the 
costly style in which the house had been fitted up. 

The mansion chiefly consisted, so far as may be inferred from the 

present state of the building, of a large hall, reaching up to the roof; 

a small parlour on the left side ; and a large wainscoted parlour, with 

curiously-carved panels, on the right. Around the small parlour, 

which is about fourteen feet square, and now modernized as a family 

sitting-room, were formerly several fields of arms painted on small 

boards, and thus described, viz. : — 

" 1. A Pelican, with the breast bleeding. 2. France and England, impaling 
the arms of Anne of Ckves, or Catherine of Arragon (a Tower is in her arms). 
3. France and England quarterly. 4. Ditto, impaling arms, of which nothing 
is visible but a Bend Gu. 5. A Rose with a Crown over it. 6. A shield, with 
16 quarterings ; of which the 3rd, 8th, 9th, and 11th, are Sa. a Cross Gu. The 
4th, 7th, 9th, 13th, are Gu. a Fess Or, between 16 Billets, Louvaine; 7th, quar- 
terly, is Warren. 2. A Fret Gu. a Fess Or, charged with a Crescent Sa. below 
it 6 Cross Crosslets. 4. 1 and 4 Clare, and 2 and 3 " 9 

The large parlour is in a very dilapidated condition, and used as a 
mere lumber room. It must have been originally a splendid apart- 
ment; as the following extract will shew: — 

" The cornice round the great parlour is of open-work, in which are the initials of the 
name of Gaynsford, in modern Gothic letters, with the grapples (a device of the family) 
running round the room ; behind the open-work of the cornice is a crimson-coloured 
ground ; the ceiling consists of fluted girders and joists, which have been painted blue, 
studded with metal stars gilt." I0 

Much of this costly decoration may yet be traced. 
Over the hall, now appropriated as a kitchen, a floor has been con- 
structed, and chambers made above. Against the wall are some shields 
of arms, painted on small boards, as formerly in the little parlour. In 
the window were three shields, of painted glass, (two of which re- 
main), viz. : — 

" 1. Arg. a Chev. Gu. between 3 Greyhounds Sa. collared Arg. for Gayns- 
ford ; below which is a Cross Saltire Gu. within a bordure Sa. powdered with 
Pellets Or, both impaling Gu. a Chev. Arg. between 3 Birds standing Arg. 2. 
Gu. a Fess Ermine charged with an Annulet Sa. between 3 Martlets Or, im- 
paling Gaynsford as before. 3. A Grapple double-fluted Or, on a White ground, 
the Cable coiled up." 

9 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 362-3. I0 Id. vol. ii. p. 363. 



IlECTORY AND CHUBCH AT CKOWI1URST. 129 

The original timber root' of the mansion, elegantly formed and 

remarkably substantial, is in a perfect state, and, apparently, capable 
of enduring fur centuries. 

Henry the Eighth is understood to have repeatedly visited Crow- 
burst-Place in his way to Anne Boleyn, at I lever-Castle, four miles 
distant. The memory of his visits is preserved by a thick double 
yew-hedge in the garden, the planting of which has been idly assigned 
by tradition to the royal hand. — In the farm-yard is a barn of extra- 
ordinary magnitude and strength, covered with Horsham slate. 

The Moat-House, a handsome farm residence about half a mile 
from Crowhurst-Place, is remarkable as standing in the three parishes 
of Tandridge, Crowhurst, and Lingfield. It is the property of Mr. 
R. Kelsey, by whom it was purchased of Mr. Blackmore and Mr. 
Smith, executors of the late T. Lucas, esq., in 1842. 

The Rectory of Crowhurst was vested in the prior and convent of 
Tandridge before the year 1304 ; and, having never been appropriated, 
the ecclesiastical benefice has continued to be a curacy to the present 
time. In January, 1537-8, the rectory was granted by Henry the 
Eighth to John Rede, (a minor, in the guardianship of the Lord 
Cromwell), with that of Tandridge, and various other livings and 
estates, in Surrey and other counties, in exchange for Otelands, in 
Weybridge. John, the son of this John Rede, sold it, in 1576, to 
Richard Bostock, esq. ; by whom it was transferred, in 1577, to 
Edward Johnson ; who soon afterwards sold it to Francis Wallys. 
When the rectory came into the family of the Angells docs not 
appear; but George Rush, esq. (of Elsenham-hall, Hanstead, Essex), 
claiming through them, has been many years the impropriator; and 
now pays an annual stipend of 421. to the curate. The Rev. Robert 
Fitziierbert Fuller, A.M., instituted November the 23rd, 1819, is 
the present curate. His predecessor was the Rev. Wm. M'Kenstrey, 
who held the curacy nearly thirty years. — The Registers of baptisms 
and burials commence in the year 1567; those of marriages, in 1573. 
The Church, dedicated to St. George, is a small but substantial 
structure, in the deanery of Ewell. It is valued at one hundred 
shillings in the Valor of Edward the First; but is not now in charge. 
It consists of a nave and a chancel ; and a small south aisle, the 
length of the former. At the west end, is a wooden tower, with three 
bells, and a slender spire of the same material. The cut ranee is 
through a south porch ; the door of which is composed of five oaken 
planks, and has three iron bars across, an iron cross at the top, and 
large iron scrolls proceeding from the hinges. Interiorly, the church 
is very neat. The cast window is in the pointed form, and composed 

VOL. IV. S 



130 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

of three large trefoil-headed lights, and six smaller ones and a quatre- 
foil above, with considerable remains of painted glass. In the centre 
are the armorial bearings of the late James Donovan, esq., of 
Chellows-park, with the motto — Adjuvante Deo in Hoste. 

In the north window of the chancel are some imperfect remains of 
the Gaynsford arms, with other portions of painted glass. The pulpit, 
with its sounding-board, is hexagonal, and freshly-painted in imitation 
of wainscot. 

At the west end of the church, is a small gallery for the singers, but 
no organ. The font is a large, octagonal, stone basin, of coarse work- 
manship, supported by a central column, and a smaller one at each 
corner. There are thirteen pews, which, with the gallery, afford 
sittings for about two hundred persons. 

On the north side of the chancel is an altar-tomb, (ornamented with 

blank shields in front), with a whole-length figure in brass, and the 

following inscription : — 

l|ic jacet Sob'es €iapnesfortf senior, armiger, qui obiit xii° Hie men' Sulij anno 
©'ni mill'mo ecu" quinqttagessimo, cujus a'i'e p'picietur ©eus, 9 men. 

Corresponding with this memorial of the Gaynesfords, on the 
opposite side of the chancel, is another altar-tomb, " under a semi- 
circular arch in the wall; the border of which is ornamented with 
various sculptural devices ; such as, a grapple with a cable twisted 
around it, as in the window in Crowhurst Place, a branch of oak with 
acorns, a single oak -leaf, &c. In the centre are two grapples, their 
flukes set against each other, in one the fluke being double." On the 
covering slab of this tomb is a whole-length figure, in brass, of a man 
in armour, with his sword and spurs, his feet resting on a buck, and 
his head uncovered. On a brass-plate is the following inscription : — 

3|ic jacet iioh'es fljarmest'ortl avmig. et &nna ttx. ej' alia UUc'i 8(Bafceherst, 
q'i quttjem Soh'cs obiit i' festo ^Translac'o is S'ci ©home martiris a ©'ni 

JftSTcccc Tx. q°r ai' abs p'piciet'r ©'s. 

In the front of this tomb are three shields of arms, viz. : — 

"A chevron between three greyhounds for Gaynesford. 2. Quarterly one and 
4 the same as before ; 2 and 3 a Cross Saltire. 3. A chevron between three 
birds, being the same as are in the window in Crowhurst Place." 

Adjoining this monument, under an obtuse arch, westward, is 
another altar-tomb, (partly hidden by a pew,) ornamented with quatre- 
foils ; but it bears neither arms nor inscription. 

On a decayed grave-stone in the south aisle, are three shields of 

arms, with this inscription on a brass-plate : — 

l|ic jacet 3lnne (Karmcsforti nuper uxor 3tohannis (Eavmesforti tie drotoburst 
in Com. Stunt? armig. filia Sifto. Jfrmes militis ©'ni Safcer [©acre] cttjus 
anime propicietur ©cits, ^imen. 



MONUMENTS IN CBOWHUBST CHUBCH. 1 15 1 

Under an atchievemenl against the north wall of the church : — 

In memory of Nicholas Gaynksford, of Crowhurst Place in the County 
of Surrey, Gent (who married Margaret, daughter and heir of William Butler, 
in Northamptotuh, Esq.). He departed this life January the 25th, anno Domini 
1705, aged near 80 years. 

Beneath, is an inscription for "Mrs. Margaret Gaynesfurd, late wife 
to Nicholas Gaynesford, Gent." who died August the 19th, 1691, aged 
eighty-two years. 

In the floor of the chancel, on the south side of the altar, is an 
object of some curiosity : embossed, on a cast-iron plate, arc the 
figures of two boys, in one small square ; over them, W. 11. : in 
another square, two girls kneeling; in the middle, a figure in a winding- 
sheet ; and, towards the upper end, is this inscription : — 

F. 
HER : LIETH : ANNE LORST » 
R : DAUGHTER : AND 
HEYR : TO THOMAS : 
GAYNESFORD : ESQUIER 
DECEASED : XVIII : OF : 
JANUARII : 1591 : LEAVING 
BEHIND : HER : II : SONS : 
AND : V : DAUGHTERS. 

Several other memorials of the Gaynesfords and their connexions 
have been either partially or wholly lost ; and some yet remain in the 
church-yard. 

The monuments, atchievements, inscriptions, &c, of the Angell 
family are numerous. On the north wall of the chancel, is a black 
marble tablet, with two Ionic pillars of the same material, to the 
memory of Thomasine, wife of Richard Marry ott, of St. Clement 
Danes, Middlesex, and daughter of John Angell, of Crowhurst, who 
died on the 1st of July, 1675. 

On the south wall, opposite, is another black-marble tablet, with 
white and gilt frame-work, a scrolled pediment, and shield of arms, to 
the memory of Justin Angell, son of John Angell, of Crowhurst, 
&c, who died in October, 1680, at the age of forty -seven. 

" " F, reversed," observe Manning and Bray, in a note. Beneath the inscription " are 

two small shields of arms. On the one is, 1, a Lion rampant ; 2, ; 3, a 

Chevron between 3 Greyhounds ; i, " — " At Baynard's in Ewhurst there 

is a long cast-iron back in the chimney, with the same inscription and a duplicate, and 
the same mistake of reversing the F, in Forster, Over each, on a shield supported by a 
Lion and a Griffin, is a Rose in chief, and under it three Fleurs-de-lis. In the centre, 
between the two inscriptions, are the arms of England, and over them the date L59S. 
Others, from the same cast as to the letters, have been found in the neighbourhood. This 

method of publishing her claim as heir to the family of Gaynesford seems a novel one." — 

"M i.kkv, vol. ii. p. -ili'J. 

8 2 



132 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

The only modern monument in the church, is a handsome white- 
marble tablet in the chancel, on the north side of the east window, to 
the memory of Margaret Donovan, wife of James Donovan, esq., of 
C hello ws-park, who died June the 17th, 1826, aged eighty-two; and 
of James Donovan, esq., her husband, who died November the 20th, 
1831, aged eighty-five. 

Near the east end of the church, is a large and ancient yew-tree, 
measuring ten yards nine inches in girth, at the height of five feet 
from the ground. The interior is hollow, and has been fitted up with 
a table in the centre, and benches around. The roof, however, as it 
may be termed, has fallen in, and it is not now used. The tree is 
dead at the top ; and, although it has green and healthy-looking 
branches below, it is in a state of gradual decay. Some years ago, a 
cannon ball, still preserved at Crowhurst-place, was found in the body 
of this tree. 

Beneath the yew tree, are two large tombs, railed in, of the Kelsey 
family, formerly of Lingfield; and, further to the east, is a large 
tomb, also railed in, of the Wicking family. There are, also, several 
handsome tombs of the Heads, Turners, &c. 

The donations to this parish appear to have been all in land ; but, 
with the exception of Mr. Smith's, the dates are not preserved. 

1627. Henry Smith, esq., from land at Worth, in Sussex, 2/. to aged poor and large 
families, due annually, at Michaelmas. 

Thomas Sutton, esq., from a farm named Longhridge, in Lingfield, 10s. at Christmas, 
for poor widows. 

Nicholas Gaynesford, esq., from late Gatland's land in Crowhurst, 2/. at Michaelmas, for 
clothing the poor. 

Alexander Holloway, esq., from a farm named Holdfast, in Edenbridge, 10s. for a 
charity sermon on Palm Sunday, and 20s. to the poor. 

From time immemorial, a fair, or wake, has been held in the 
church-yard, on Palm Sunday. Formerly, excesses were frequently 
committed on the occasion, through the sale of liquors; but of late 
years, the fair has been conducted with great decorum. 

GODSTONE. 

This parish is bounded on the north by Caterham and Warlingham; 
on the east, by Tandridge ; by the county of Sussex, on the south ; 
and on the west by Home and Blechingley. It extends thirteen 
miles from north to south, but is not more than a mile in breadth ; 
and in one place it crosses the parish of Tandridge, dividing the 
northern part of that parish, where was formerly the manor of Tilling- 
don, from the remainder. The soil, towards the north, is calcareous; 



NEIGHBOURHOOD, AND MINERAL SPRING AT CROWHURST. 133 

around the village of Godstone, it is sandy and gravelly; and to the 
south of Tilburstow-hill, is deep clay. 

There is a quarry in the chalk-hill, on the estate of Sir William 
Clayton, whence is obtained a kind of calcareous sand-stone, which is 
very durable, if not exposed to alternations of dryness and moisture, 
and which is, therefore, used with advantage in building wet-docks, 
&c, or ovens.' 

The village of Godstone, which is more than two miles north from the 
Godstone station on the Dover railway, is situated on the high road, 
between Croydon and East Grinstead. This road anciently passed 
about half a mile eastward of the present line ; and, in consequence 
of the alteration, a village has been built beside the new road, and 
westward of the old village. An ancient road, supposed to be of 
Roman origin, passes through Godstone, from Sussex towards Croy- 
don ; and hence, probably, a stream which crosses it is called Stretton 
Brook ; and one of the divisions of this parish is styled Stanstreet, or 
Stretton Borough. 

Near the White Hart, eastward of the road from London, was a 
mansion called Godstone- Place, with the large town-pond behind. 
The mansion was pulled down some years ago, and a smaller house 
erected on its site. This is now in the occupation of — . Newberry, 
esq. 

On the north side of Godstone-green is a row of houses called the 
Bank, held of the manor of Blechingley. 

Formerly, a constable for Godstone, and a headborough for South- 
brook and Heath-hatch, were appointed at the " Sheriff's Tourn." 

Immediately in the vicinity of Godstone are several barrows, or 
tumuli : two small ones, on Godstone green, in the way to Blechingley; 
two, in the fields, on the north side of the green ; and a very large 
one, three miles east from Godstone, in the adjoining parish of Oxted. 

South-east of the church, at Leigh-place, an ancient seat of the 
Evelyns, is a hill named Castle-hill, on the top of which, on the east 
side, are a ditch and a bank, the remains of a fortification. The 
north-west and south sides are very steep. 

Near the south foot of Tilburstow-hill, more than two miles below 
the village, and near the railway station, is a mineral spring, which, 
on its discovery in the last century, was considered to be efficacious in 
cases of gout, bile, constipations, <!vc. After enjoying a temporary 
popularity, it fell into disuse, until, seventy or eighty years ago, cir- 
cumstances favoured its revival. At length, Richard Troward, esq., 
purchased the premises, and fitted up a neat house over the spring. 

1 See General History, vol. i. pp. 140, Ml. 



134 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

The house, however, is now in a ruinous condition, the well totally 
neglected, and the water not accessible. 8 

Godstone, anciently called Wachelestede, or Wolcnestede, is thus 
described in the Domesday book : — 

" The same Earl (Eustace of Bologne) holds Wachelestede, which Osward held of 
King Edward. It was then assessed at 40 hides : now at 6 hides. The arable land 
amounts to 30 carucates. There are 3 carucates in demesne ; and thirty-nine villains, 
and two hordars, with 22 carucates. There are ten bondmen; and one mill, at 6 shillings ; 
and 3 acres of meadow. The wood yields one hundred swine. To this manor belong 
fifteen mansions in Sudwerc and London, at 6 shillings, and 2000 herrings. In the time 
of King Edward it was valued at 20 pounds ; and afterwards at 16 pounds : now at 20 
pounds, yet it yields 28 pounds by weight." 

Among the records of the See of Rochester is the will of a Saxon 
named Byrhtric, and iElfrythe his wife ; in which is mentioned the 
bequest of Wolcnestede to Wulfstan Ucca, with a hatchet of three 
pounds; and of 10 ploughshares, at Stretton, 3 to the mynstre of 
Wolnestede. 4 

The earliest notice of this manor, after the Domesday survey, 
appears to be that in the Testa de Nevill, where it is stated, that 
Richard de Lucy held Wolcnestede, in capite, of the king, as of the 
Honour of Bologne ; and that he gave half of the vill to Odo de 
Damartyn, with his sister in marriage, to hold by the service of one- 
fourth of a knight's fee. According to Dugdale, de Lucy gave the 
other half of this vill to Roger de St. John, as the marriage portion 
of another sister. 5 The whole manor of Wolcnestede, or Godstone, 
appears to have soon become the property of the family of St. John, 
but under what circumstances is uncertain. John de St. John, in 
1317, died seised of a moiety of the manor, 6 held of the king in 
capite; and also of a tenement called Laggeham (Lagham), held of 
Alicia de Dammartin, by the service of a pair of gilt spurs value 6d. 
The estate descended to Roger de St. John, who died in 1353, having 

2 In the garden of a little ale-house grew a pear-tree, the fruit of which was so hard 
and worthless, that it acquired the name of the Iron pear-tree. Bonwick, the landlord, 
who was much troubled with the gout, brewed his own beer ; and, to avoid the trouble of 
fetching water from a distance, he sank a well near the pear-tree. After drinking the 
beer brewed with this water, he found himself cured of his complaint ; but, to persons 
not similarly afflicted, the beverage was distasteful. Subsequently, a man named Prentice, 
a jockey, who lived with the woman to whom the house then belonged, sent the water to 
London, and sold large quantities of it at the rate of sixpence a quart. After a time, 
however, the man ran away ; his paramour married ; the sides of the well fell in, and the 
water was no more thought of until its revival, as mentioned above. — Vide Manning and 
Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 322, 323. 

3 This place is still known by its ancient name, as noticed above. 

4 See Textus Roffensis, edited by Thomas Hearne, p. 110. 

5 See Banks' Dormant and Extinct Baronage, vol. i. p. 173. 

6 This moiety must have been what is afterwards called the manor of Marden. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR ESTATE AT C.ODSTONI . ] .", .", 

previously transferred all his right in the manors of Lagham and 
Marden to Sir Nicholas de Louvaine and Margaret his wife, who, in 
13o7, obtained a grant of free-warren in those manors. Lagham is 

now a farm, the property of VV. F. Gannil Farmer, esq., of Nonsuch 
park, in this county. 

The Godstone estate passed through female heirs to the families of 
Gage and Chamherleyne. In the reign of Henry the Eighth, it 
belonged to Sir David Owen, said to have been a natural son of Owen 
Tudor, the grandfather of King Henry the Seventh. In 1589, the 
manors of .Merdenne, and Wolkamsted, alias Godstone, with the 
capital messuage called Leigh Place, in Wolkamsted, were purchased 
for 3,1007. by George Evelyn, esq., of Wotton. This gentleman had 
sixteen sons ; four of whom, at least, survived him ; and of these, 
John, the third son, was settled at Godstone. His second son, John/ 
obtained the honour of knighthood before 1637 ; but on the occurrence 
of the civil war, he joined the opponents of the king, and, being a 
member of the House of Commons, he was employed with others to 
present an address to his Majesty for peace, in 1642; but Charles 
excepted against Sir John Evelyn because he had proclaimed him a 
traitor, which so much offended the parliament, that it was voted a 
refusal of the treaty. Yet the subsequent conduct of Sir John excited 
the suspicions of his jealous colleagues so much that, in consequence 
of an intercepted letter, he was charged with treachery, and committed 
to prison ; but he was soon released. 

The Godstone estate descended to his eldest son/ John, who in 1660 
was created a baronet He was twice married, but had no legitimate 
issue; and dying in 1671, he settled all his disposable estate on one 
.Mary Gittings ; 10 the manors, lands, and tenements here, devolving on 

7 Mr. Manning says, — when the Godstone estate of Richard de Lucy was divided, Odo 
de Dammartin took the north end of the parish where Marden is situated ; and St. John 
took Lagham, the southern part. But this must be a mistake; for it appears from 
Manning's own narrative, and references to escheats in the reign of Edward the Second, 
that the family of St. .John held Lagham of the Dannnartins and their representatives, 
and the other part of the vill of Godstone, which was Marden, of the king in capite. 
Therefore it may be concluded, that in the division of the vill of Godstone, St. John took 
Marden, and Dammartin LagftaT" ; bat the latter manor, or estate, was held by St. John 
Bl a tenant of the Dammartins, and Lagham became the seat of the St. John family, 
sonic of " bom were summoned to parliament by the title of Barons St. John de Lageham. 

.Marden Park is marked in the Maps as an extensive demesne; yet in Manning and 
Bray's Surrf.v, it has almost escaped notice; onl\ among the Additions to vol. iii. p. cxliv. 
Sir Robert Clayton's plantations at Marden are mentioned, in an extract from the 12th 
volume of the Arch.eoloe;i;i. 

8 See inscription on the monument in the church. 

' Or grandson. See B corrected Pedigree of the Evelyn family, iii the account of 

Wotton, in this work. 10 See Tandxidge. 



136 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

his brother, George Evelyn, in pursuance of a settlement made by his 
father. The brother, George Evelyn of Nutfield, died in 1699 ; and 
this estate was held in succession by three of his sons ; the last of 
whom, Edward Evelyn, finding the property saddled with various 
incumbrances, procured an act of parliament, the 7th of George the 
Second, 1734, vesting the estate in trustees for sale. It was accord- 
ingly disposed of, and the surplus of the produce, after the payment 
of debts, was laid out in purchasing the estate of Hedge-court, to be 
subsequently noticed. Charles Boone, esq., became the purchaser ; 
whose son and heir, Daniel, married Anne, a niece of Edward Evelyn. 
Daniel Boone, in 1751, sold to Sir Kenrick Clayton the manor of 
Walkhamsted, his share of the tithes of Godstone, being the North 
Borough and Tandridge, certain farms and lands in Godstone and 
Tandridge, and the great town-pond, yielding altogether a rent of 
nearly 600/. a year. The property descended from Sir Kenrick 
Clayton to his son, Sir Robert ; who gave, during his life, the pond 
and lands in Godstone to Mr. Grseme his steward ; and dying in 1799, 
he devised the manor, with his other estates, to his cousin, Sir William 
Clayton ; whose son, Sir Wm. Robert Clayton, is the present owner. 

The advowson of the vicarage and some other possessions devolved 
on the daughter and sole heiress of Daniel Boone, who died in 1802, 
or 1803, when her uncle succeeded to the estate; and he sold it to 
his brother, Charles Boone, to whom it belonged in 1808." 

Flore, or Flower, a reputed manor in Godstone, was held in the 
reign of Henry the Sixth by Richard Dene; and in the 19th of 
Elizabeth, by Thomas Potter, esq. In 1632, Sir John Rivers, bart., 
with his son and heir, conveyed it to George Evelyn and others, in 
trust, to raise portions for his four daughters ; one of whom Mr. Evelyn 
married. It was transferred, in 1634, to John Evelyn of Godstone; 
whose son and heir, Sir John Evelyn, bart., resided at Flore with his 
mistress, Mary Gittings, to whom he gave it at his death ; and she 
sold it, in 1677, to Sir Robert Clayton and John Morris ; and it 
having descended to Sir Robert Clayton, who died in 1799, he gave 
it to the Hon. George Henry Nevill, brother of the late earl of 
Abergavenny. Mr. Nevill married Caroline, daughter of the Hon. 
Richard Walpole ; by whom he had issue one surviving son, Reginald 
Henry. The Hon. G. H. Nevill, who still resides at Flower-house, 
Godstone, sold the estate to Charles Hampton Turner, esq., of Rooks- 
nest, retaining a life-interest in it for himself and his son. 

The manor, or reputed manor of Norbrith, Noubrith, or Norbright, 
now a farm, about two miles south of the village, is mentioned as one 

11 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 323 — 30. 



HEDGE-COURT AND COVELINGLEY. — FELLBRIDGE H0U8E. 137 

of the manors settled by Sir John Evelyn, in 1653, on the marriage 
of his son with Mary Farmer. It has been some time the property of 
the Snow family, and is now in the occupation of Mr. Hall, farmer." 

The manors of Hedge-court and Covelbtgle//. — These manors, 
which are partly in the parish of Home, belonged in the beginning; 
of the fourteenth century to John de Berewyk, who died seised of 
the estate in 1313. Hedge-court seems to have been held of John de 
St. John of Lageham; and Covelingley, of the Clares, earls of 
Gloucester. The right of inheritance devolved on Roger Husee, a 
minor, the cousin of de Berewyk; and in 1327, having attained his 
majority, he had possession of the property. He was a member for 
the county of Surrey in the parliaments of the 7th and the 17th 
of Edward the Third ; and he served in the wars with Scotland and 
France during the reign of that prince. In the 22nd of Edward's 
reign, Roger Husee was summoned to parliament as a baron of the 
realm; and he died in 1362, seised of these manors, and other lands 
and tenements in Surrey and elsewhere. His brother and heir sold 
Hedge-court and Covelingley to Hugh Craan ; who resold them, in 
1366, to Sir Nicholas de Louvayne ; from whom they descended to 
the families of Seyntcler and Gage. The latter held this property 
till the death of Sir William Gage, bart., in 1744; and he devised his 
estates to trustees for sale. They were conveyed, in 1747, to Edward 
Evelyn, esq. ; whose son and heir, James, left two daughters ; one of 
whom died unmarried, and the other, to whom these manors descended, 
became the wife of Sir George Augustus William Shuckburgh, bart., 
who assumed the surname of Evelyn ; and, dying in 1804, left a 
daughter, Julia, who inherited his estates. She married, in 1810, the 
Flon. Charles Cecil Cope Jenkinson, the present earl of Liverpool, 
by whom she had three daughters. She died April the 8th, 1814, a 
few days after giving birth to her third daughter. The earl of Liver- 
pool is the present owner of the property. 

Fellbridge-house, at the southern extremity of the parish, in a park, 
bounded on the south by a stream called Fellbridge-water, was the seat 
of the late James Evelyn, esq.; who, in 1787, built and endowed a 
new chapel for the benefit of the inhabitants of the southern part of 

12 In 1337 (10 Edward III.) John de Latimer died seised of the manor of Norbrith, 
held of John de Ifield and Margery his wife, as of the manor of Lagham, (to which 
Margery was entitled for life, the reversion belonging to John deSt. John), leaving John 
his son and heir, aged fifteen. In 1353, on the death of the last-mentioned John, it was 
found that some years before he died, he had sold this estate to William Fillol and Mary 
his wife, and their heirs; but Sir Robert Latimer, aged thirty, was his son and heir. — 
Vide Manning's SuBREY, vol. ii. p. 330 ; from the Escheats of 10 and 20 Edward III. n. 
i:> and 33. 

VOL. IV. T 



138 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

the parish of Godstone. This gentleman, who succeeded to the estate 
on the death of his father, in 1751, erected the present mansion on 
(or near) the site of an old house called Heath-hatch. This, also, is 
the property of the earl of Liverpool. It was leased, about eighteen 
years ago, to — . Raikes, esq., whose widow is the present occupant. 

Marden-Park, the principal seat in Surrey of the Claytons, and now 
belonging to Sir YV. R. Clayton, bart., is situated in a valley, at the foot of 
the chalk-hills, distant about one mile and a half north from the town. 
The mansion, erected on the site of an old farm-house, is a large and 
conveniently-arranged building, but much out of repair. Its present 
occupant is Mrs. Ricardo. The park is extensive ; the house standing 
upwards of a mile from its entrance. 13 Nearly at its extremity, to- 
wards Godstone, is a quadrangular edifice, called the Castle, with a 
wooden tower, surmounted by a flag-staff in the centre. The front 
of this building is fitted up as a summer-house ; from the windows of 
which is obtained an expansive and delightful view of part of the 
weald of Sussex and Kent. 

Leigh (or, as it is now written, Lee) Place, once a seat of the 
Evelyns,' 4 is the property of C. H. Turner, esq., of Rooksnest, in the 
adjoining parish of Tandridge. Having been recently placed in a 
state of complete repair, it is in the occupation of the widow of Mr. 
Turner's son. 

On the south side of Tilburstow-hill is a villa called Tilburstow- 
Lodge, the residence of Captain Fanshawe, R.N. 

Advowson of the Vicarage, &c. — Reginald de Lucie is said to have 
given a moiety of the church here to the abbey of Lesnes, founded 
by Richard de Lucie, chief-justice of England, in 1178. The priory 
of Tandridge became possessed of the other moiety, previously to the 
year 1304, at which time a vicar was instituted. Subsequently, the 
priory and the abbey presented alternately to the church, until their 
respective dissolutions. The present patron (and also incumbent), is 
the Rev. Charles James Hoare, A.M., archdeacon and prebendary 
of Winchester, and rural-dean of the south-eastern division of the 
deanery of Ewell. 

13 In the garden is a monument, erected by Lady Clayton, with the concurrence of 
her husband, Sir Robert, the first baronet, to the memory of their intimate friend, Thomas 
Firmin, the philanthropist. Firmin was an Unitarian ; yet he lived in habits of friend- 
ship with Archbishop Tillotson, and many of the most eminent clergy of the church of 
England. The memorial is a marble pillar of about eight feet in height, with an urn and 
flowers at the top, and the motto — Florescit funere virtus. Affixed to one side of the 
column is a marble table bearing a long panegyrical inscription. The monument was 
repaired, and the inscription renewed, by John Hatsell, esq., a former occupant of 
Marden. — Vide Life of Thomas Firmin, pp. 85, 86, 87 : also, Manning's Surrey, 
vol. ii. p. 805. " See page 133. 



st. Nicholas' church, godstone. 139 

Vicars of Godstone in and since 1800: — 

Charles Edward De Coetlogon. Instituted in 1794: died 

on the 16th of September, 1820, aged seventy-four. 
The Rev. and Venerable Archdeacon Charles James Hoare, 
A.M. Instituted in March, 1821. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, is in the deanery of Ewell. 
In the 20th of Edward the First, it was valued at 27 marks. It 
stands in the King's books at 91. lis. 5%d.; pays bishop's synodals, 
2s. Id. ; and procurations, 7*. l^cl. 

The exterior of the church is rough-cast ; and it is roofed, partly 
with tiles, and partly with Horsham slate. The building consists of a 
nave, a chancel, and a projection, or south aisle, added in the year 
1824. By this enlargement, the expense of which was partly defrayed 
by a grant from the Society for promoting the building and enlarging 
of churches and chapels, 120 additional sittings were obtained; 78 of 
which are to remain free and unappropriated for ever, besides 138 
free sittings in the old part of the edifice. Having been thoroughly 
repaired and ornamented in the year 1839, the appearance of the 
church is unusually prepossessing. It is warmed by means of hot- 
water pipes ; the fire and cistern for which are in the belfry. 

The pulpit, against the wall on the south side, is of mahogany, and 
hexagonal in form. The pews, and the galleries on each side and at 
the west end, are painted in imitation of wainscot ; and the pews are 
capped with mahogany moulding. In the west gallery is a small organ. 

The belfry is near the east end of the church, on the south side. 
It contains five bells ; and over it is a square tower, partly of wood, 
surmounted by a shingled spire. The south entrance is under the 
tower : there is, also, a door at the west end. On the north side of the 
chancel are two close rooms, chapels, or cemeteries, appropriated to 
the sepulture of the Evelyn and Boone families. 

The font that has been in use for several years is a marble basin 
with a mahogany lid, on a pedestal, and was presented by the late 
vicar, the Rev. C. E. De Coetlogon. The ancient stone font, however, 
injudiciously superseded by this, has been repaired, and is intended to 
displace the present. It is massive, hexagonal in form, (on a square 
pedestal), with cinquefoils, roses, &C, sunk in the panels. 

On the north side of the communion-table, against the east wall 
of the chancel, is a handsome mural tablet, beneath which, in a vault, 
lie the remains of Mrs. Frances GlanviUe, daughter and sole heiress 
of William Glanville, esq. She was married to William, the 5th and 
youngest son of George Evelyn, of Nutfield, esq., who, on the 
occasion, took the name and arms of Glanville. By him she had one 

T 2 



140 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

daughter. " With a very plentiful estate she enjoyed a pure, charita- 
ble, and noble mind, free from all passions ; and possessed of every 
virtue. She died a remarkable pattern of Christian patience and 
resignation, July 23, anno Dom. 1719, aged 22 years." 

On the north side of the chancel, is another mural tablet, with a 
pediment, in party-coloured marbles, the arms and crest emblazoned, 
to the memory of George Raymond Evelyn, esq., who died on the 
23rd of December, 1770, aged thirty-two. He was the youngest son 
of William Evelyn Glanville, esq., of St. Clere, in Kent, and married 
the Lady Jane Elizabeth Leslie, 15 eldest daughter of John, 8th earl 
of Rothes, by his first wife, Hannah, youngest daughter and coheiress 
of Matthew Howard, esq., of Thorpe, in the county of Norfolk. 

The first chapel, or cemetery, on the north side of the church 

westward from the chancel, contains the chief memorials of the 

Evelyn family. Here is a superb black-and-white marble altar-tomb, 

on which are finely-executed figures of Sir John Evelyn and his 

lady, at full length; he in armour, she in a loose gown. Against 

their feet are the crests of their respective families ; his, a griffin ; 

her's, a bird with its wings displayed. On the south side of the 

monument is the following inscription : — 

Hereunder resteth y e Bodyes of S r John Evelyn, Knt. (second son of John Evelyn 
of Godstone, Esq. one of y e six Clerkes of y e Chancery) and Dame Thomasin 
his wife, one of y e daughters and co-heirs of William Haynes, of Chesington in 
y e county of Surrey, Esq., whom he espoused y e 24th of November, 1618; by 
whom he had issue, foure sons and three daughters : George, his eldest son, 
borne 26th of March, 1629, and died 29th May insuing; Jane, his eldest 
daughter, borne 3rd of June, 1631, married Sir William Leech, of Westram, in 
the county of Kent, Knt.; John, his second son, borne 12th March, 1633, married 
Mary Farmer, daughter of George Farmer, Esq. ; Thomasin, his second 
daughter, borne y e 19th Feb. 1635, died 1 Aprill, 1643; Richard, his third son, 
borne 20th Aprill, 1637, died 28 October following; Elizabeth, his third daughter, 
borne 23 June, 1638; married Edward Hales, of Boughton Malherb, in the 
county of Kent, Esq. ; George Evelyn, his fourth son, borne 4th Dec. 1641. 

At the east end of the monument is a large sculpture of the 

armorial bearings of the Evelyn and Haynes families : — 

1st and 4th, a Griffin, pass, and a Chief: 2nd and 3rd, two Bars between six 
Martlets ; impaling a Fess wavy between three Annulets. 

In this chapel are two handsome mural tablets, of white marble, for 
other members of the family. One of them is surmounted by an 

15 This lady afterwards married Sir Lucas Pepys, bart. ; and, on the death of her 
brother John, ninth earl of Rothes, without issue, she became countess of Rothes. By Sir 
Lucas Pepys, she had two sons, viz., the late Hon. Sir Charles Leslie, bart., of Juniper- 
hill, in this county ; and the present Hon. and Rev. Sir Henry Leslie, bart., of the same 
place. She had, also, one daughter by Sir Lucas, namely, Harriet, (late wife of the Earl 
of Devon,) who died in December, 1839. 



MONUMENTS IN GODSTONE CHURCH. 141 

urn, with a wreath of flowers hanging over it transversely, and a small 

whole-length female figure leaning upon the urn, in an attitude of 

grief, with these words below : — 

Multis ille bonis flebilis occidit, 
Nulli flebilior quam ruihi. 

Also the following inscription: — 

In hoc sacello reconduntur reliquiae Jacobi Evelyn, armigeri, nuper de 
Felbridge in hue Provincia et Parochia, LL.D. Edwardi et Julice filii unici, ex 
antiqua prosapia clari, Virtute sua clarioris : Quippe vir fuit animo acer et 
indefessus, ingenio perspieax, eo candore ut omnes laudaret, eo pudore ut laudari 
erubesceret. Per longum vitae studium leges administravit et studiose servavit ; 
adeo ut propter amorera erga patriam, fidelitatem erga regem, benevolentiaru 
erga pauperes, pietatem erga Deum et Parentes, nunquam non laudandus est. 
E. vivis excessit ll mo die Julii anno Domini 1793, et a2tatis suae 75. Geo. Aug. 
Gul. Shuckburgh Evelyn, Bar tus , qui unain e duabus filiani et tandem heredem, 
uxorem duxit, hoc quale quale est grati animi testimonium dicari voluit. 

The other tablet referred to, is inscribed to the memory of Edward 
Evelyn, third son of George Evelyn, of Nutfield, esq., who died on 
the 20th of November, 1751, aged seventy-one years. 

Formerly, there were some inscribed plates in the floor ; but they 

have been removed into the chancel. One of them, recording the 

death of Richard Evelyn, the third son of John Evelyn, of Godstone, 

who was born on the 20th of April, 1 637, and died on the 20th of 

October following, is now on the south side of the communion-table, 

partially covered by a raised floor. It is thus inscribed : — 

" Why should Death's voyage longe or hard appeare, 
When as this infant went it in one yeare." 

The Boone chapel, or cemetery, adjoins that of the Evelyns, 
further to the west. Over the door is a white-marble urn, with a 
wreath of flowers, on a white tablet, bearing the subjoined subscrip- 
tion : — 

In the vault, near this spot, lie the remains of Sarah, the wife of John Smith, 
and daughter of Thomas Boone, esq. She died the 23rd day of September, 17!)4, 
in the 21st year of her age, in the 10th month of her marriage, and in the full 
bloom of artless youth, leaving one infant daughter, -who survived her three 
months and sixteen days only, and whose coffin lies deposited on that of her 
mother. Few young women were ever more sincerely or more deservedly 
lamented ; few have left this world with a fairer prospect of future happiness. 

In the chapel, is a white-marble tablet to the memory (but without 
dates) of Charles Boone, esq., of Kooksnest, and Mary his wife, 
widow of George Evelyn, esq.; — of Daniel Boone, esq., and Anne 
his wife, daughter of the said George Evelyn ;— and of Francis and 
Anne-Elizabeth Boone, daughters of the said Daniel and Anne. 

Arms: — Az. a Bend, <>r, cotised of the same, charged with three Escallop-shells. 

Gu. betw. six Lions, ramp. Or. Motto: Nee dejecta, ncc ahita. 



142 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

On another marble tablet, surmounted by armorial bearings, the 
same as on the preceding, is an inscription to the memory of Lieut.- 
Col. Thomas Boone, of the first regiment of foot-guards, only son 
of Thomas Boone, esq., and Sarah his wife, who died August 17th, 
1798, in the thirtieth year of his age, of a fever and inflammation of 
the lungs, contracted on the expedition to Ostend in the same year. 

Against the north wall of the church, is a small black-marble 
tablet indicating the burial-place of the Rev. Thomas Pakenham, 
vicar of Godstone, who died November the 3rd, 1675. 

Opposite, on the south wall, is a small white tablet to the memory 
of the Rev. Rowland Bowen, vicar of Godstone, who died on the 
9th of February, 1762; and of Christiana his wife. 

Adjoining the tablet for Mr. Bowen, is a brass-plate in a frame, 
inscribed to the memory of the Rev. Chas. Edward De Coetlogon, 
who died September the 16th, 1820, in the seventy-fifth year of his 
age ; and of his son, Charles Frederick De Coetlogon, who died on the 
27th of February, 1836. 

Some inscribed plates of the Hohnan and Bay families, mentioned by 
Aubrey, have either been lost or placed out of sight. Of Suzan Hol- 
man, one of the daughters of William Bay, of London, grocer, and 
wife of George Holman, it was said, that " she was in her life-time 
loving to all, and pittifull to the poore ; wittness the weekly pension 
shee hath given for ever to the poore of this parish." The amount of 
the pension is not mentioned ; but, according to a note in Manning 
and Bray's Surrey, (vol. ii. p. 336), " the parish laid out the money 
thus given in purchase of land on which they built the poor-house, so 
that the poor have no benefit from it." 

Against the outside of the north wall of the chancel, is a small stone 
tablet to the memory of Henry Martyn Hoare, second son of Charles 
James Hoare, A.M., the present vicar of the parish; who was born 
on the 18th of February, 1819, and died on the 11th of January, 
1826. — In front, within rails, is a little plantation of evergreens. 

The Vicarage-house was rebuilt, in a pleasant well-protected situa- 
tion, by the late vicar, the Rev. Charles Edward De Coetlogon. 

The Benefactions to the parish of Godstone have been neither great 
in number nor extensive in amount. All that we find upon record 
are as follow : — 

1626. Henry Smith, esq., by deed of gift, a portion of the rents and proceeds of 
certain estates in Sussex, to be annually expended in linen and woollen for the poor. 
[The yearly income is uncertain : in Manning and Bray's Surrey, it is stated at 
51. 12s. 6r7. : in 1^10, it was 20/. 6s.] 

Sir William Gardiner, bart., from the rectorial tithes at Ewell, 3/. annually, for six poor 
widows of Godstone. 



CHARITIES AT GODSTONE. — EVELYN'S SCHOOL. 143 

Sir John Evelyn, knt., to keep his vault in repair, and the rest to be distributed amongst 
twelve poor persons of the parish, 6/. annually. 

Mr. Thomas Davy, 20s. in money, annually, to the poor. 

1709. Mr. David Maynard, of Tandridge, by will, 200/. in trust, to be invested in an 
estate, the profits of which to be expended in the education of so many poor children in 
the south part of Godstone and Tandridge as the trustees may think proper. [Certain 
lands, called Platts and Whitefields, in the parish of Caterham, were purchased, and the 
produce has been thus applied.] 

To be given in money, the produce of lands, 15s. a year. 

1825. John Cole, of Godstone, 100/. in trust to the minister and churchwardens of 
Godstone for the time being, to be laid out in real securities at interest ; and the said 
interest to be paid to and divided amongst four poor widows and four poor widowers, on 
Christmas day in every year, immediately after Divine service. 

The most distinguished benefactor of Godstone was Mr. James 
Evelyn, who, as mentioned at page 137, built and endowed a new 
chapel at Fellbridge, and also a school, for the benefit of the southern 
part of the parish ; some of the inhabitants of which are seven miles, 
or upwards, from the church. The chapel is a small, plain, unpre- 
tending edifice. 16 — The present officiating minister is the Rev. George 
Bird, A.M., the gentleman who holds the curacy of the new church at 
Blindley-heath, in this parish. 

Mr. Evelyn's school, built in the year 1783, was founded and 
endowed for the instruction of twelve poor children of Godstone, 
Home, East Grinstead, and Worth, in reading, writing, arithmetic, 
&c. 17 Both chapel and school are kept in a state of perfect repair. 

18 Mr. Evelyn "endowed it with 30/. a year for the officiating minister; 2/. 10s. for the 
clerk ; 2/. 10s. to find bread and wine for the sacraments, and the remainder for repairs of 
the chapel. For which purposes he invested money in the funds, in the names of 
trustees. The minister is to be a clergyman of the church of England, in priest's orders ; 
he is to perform Divine service every Sunday morning, beginning at 11 o'clock, and on 
Good Friday and Christmas-day ; the sacrament to be administered on Good Friday, 
Christmas-day, Easter-day, and Whit-Sunday, and on every first Sunday in the month, 
except such Sunday should follow those festivals. The minister is also to catechise the 
children every Sunday." — Vide Manning and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. p. 332. 

" " Of the boys, three were to be of Godstone, two of Home, one of East Grinstead, 
and two of Worth ; the girls were to be one from each. For this purpose, he built a 
house, and inclosed an acre and half of Fellbridge Heath, and, in 1783, conveyed the 
same to the Rev. George Bethune, of Rowfant (in Worth), and his heirs ; and he granted 
to him a rent charge of 21/. per annum, clear of all deductions, charged on a messuage 
called Stockland's House, and 12 pieces of land called Stockland in Blechingley, then let 
at 35/. per annum. The house so built was to be appropriated to the use of a school 
and of the school-master ; and the annuity was to be applied first in repairs of the 
school-house and fences of the ground, and in insuring the building, and subject thereto 
to the master. To the conveyance Mr. Evelyn subjoined very good rules for the 
management of the school ; the master was to be nominated by Mr. Evelyn during his 
life, then by his wife, then by his heirs, and if they should be infants, by the rectors and 
vicars of the four parishes above-mentioned ; the parents to be at no charge except for 
Primers, Testaments, and writing books. The master may teach other children not 
exceeding twelve, on his own account. The boys on the foundation to be not under six 



144 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Blindley-heath Church. — At Blindley-heath, between three and 
four miles below the town of Godstone, on the Lewes road, and adjoin- 
ing the parish of Home, a new Church was erected, in 1842, by Messrs. 
Whichcord and Walker, architects, of Maidstone in Kent. It is built 
of the yellowish sand-stone of the district, in the pointed style, 
buttressed, with lancet windows. Externally, its chief recommenda- 
tion is the regularity of the building,, A south porch forms the 
principal entrance : the situation of a north porch is occupied by a 
small but neat vestry, to which there is a private entrance on the west 
side. There is a square tower at the west end ; with a belfry, and 
one bell ; and an octangular spire covered with lead. The west 
entrance is under the belfry. At the east end are two lancet windows, 
nearly contiguous ; and one similar light in each of the bevilled cor- 
ners. There are five lights on the north side, and five on the south ; 
and five in the tower. Its dimensions are as follow : — length of the 
body of the church, sixty-nine feet ; width, twenty-eight feet six 
inches : the tower, thirteen feet six inches in length, and the same in 
breadth. 

The interior of this edifice is remarkable for its tasteful neatness: 
the ceiling is coved, with an ornamental timber frame-work. The 
east windows are bordered with stained glass. At the west end is a 
commodious gallery for the singers, with an external staircase. The 
pulpit, painted in imitation of wainscot, is octagonal, and situated 
nearly against the north wall. The pews are painted white, and 
capped with a wainscot-coloured moulding. In the centre of the 
church is a handsome and massive octagonal stone font, with pedestal 
to correspond. Its faces are enriched with sunk quatrefoils ; each 
alternate quatrefoil having a shield in front : pointed niches ornament 
the shaft of the pedestal. 

years old, and not to stay beyond ten ; the girls not to be under six, nor stay beyond 
thirteen ; their residence not to be more than two miles from tbe school. The master to 
be a Protestant of the Church of England, and not to practise any mechanical trade. 
When the children are assembled, he is to say the Lord's Prayer, and teach the children 
to repeat it after him. After Mr. Evelyn's decease, the rectors and vicars of the four 
parishes, and his heirs, to be governors, and have power to suspend or displace the master 
on just cause, and make other rules for the government, if they think fit." — Manning 
and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 338. 

Moreover, Mr. Evelyn, "by his will directed that there should be dressed by the 
school-mistress, every Sunday, for a number of poor persons, not less than 12 nor more 
than 14, a quantity of good beef not exceeding 4 stone 4 pounds, nor less than 4 stone 2 
pounds ; the school-mistress to have Id. a head for bread, and Id. a head for beer, for 
those to partake of the meat. 4 stone of beef to be boiled and made into broth for the 
poor from first Thursday in November to the first in April, both inclusive. 200 faggots 
to be provided for dressing this ; and the school-mistress to have 6c?. a week for her 
trouble." — Ibid, p. 332. 



PARISH OF HORNE: ITS SITUATION AND EXTENT. 145 

This church, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, was consecrated 
and opened by the Bishop of Winchester, on the 21st of June, 1842. 
It is subordinate to the mother-church of Godstone ; the Rev. George 
Bird holding the curacy (as already mentioned), under Archdeacon 
Hoare. It was built, at a cost of about 1800/. including the church- 
yard wall and all fittings, by a general subscription of the parishioners, 
with the aid of a grant from the Society for building and enlarging 
churches and chapels. In accordance with that grant, it has one 
hundred and thirty-four free sittings ; the entire number of sittings 
amounting to two hundred and fifty-four. The free sittings are at 
the west end of the church. 

HORNE. 

This parish is situated on the border of the county where it adjoins 
Sussex. It is bounded on the north by Blechingley ; on the east, by 
Godstone ; on the south, by East Grinstead and Worth in Sussex ; 
and on the west, by Burstow. There is, also, a detached portion of 
the parish, called Harwardesley, westward of Burstow, lying between 
that parish and Horley, adjoining to Thunderfield-common, which 
extends into both those parishes. Here is a tract of land, encom- 
passed by ditches, called Thunderfield-castle, or Horne-castle ; and 
this is supposed by Mr. Manning to have been the site of a house 
which, according to some tradition, King Athelstan had at this place. 

The soil, in general, is a stiff clay, approaching in some places to 
the character of fuller's-earth, which is found in abundance in the 
neighbouring parish of Nuffield. The land towards the south, border- 
ing on Copthorne-heath, is poor and gravelly. Formerly, there were 
many places here, the surface of which was not sufficiently firm to 
support the weight of a horse. By superior drainage, however, this 
evil has been in a great measure remedied. Few sheep are kept ; but 
many beasts are fattened besides those which are bred and reared in 
the parish. According to the latest survey, the extent of Home is 
4531a. 2r. lOp. ; a considerable portion of which is woodland. 

A person of the name of Ridley, observe Manning and Bray, 1 who 
died in 1774, at the age of eighty-two, remembered the time when 
there was no poor-rate in the parish. " The first rate that was made 
was at Ad. in the pound ; and at the end of the year the overseers had 
10/. in hand. On the small-pox coming into the parish it was raised 
to 6d., which created much murmuring. In 1794, it had been for 
some years from 5s. to 6s., and even more, in the pound." In 1843, 
there were four rates of one shilling in the pound each. 

1 Surrky, vol. ii. |). .'SIT. 
VOL. IV. U 



146 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

At the " Sheriff's Tourn," a constable used to be appointed for this 
parish ; a headborough for the gildables, a division not now recognised; 
and a headborough for the upper borough. 8 

Home is not mentioned in the Domesday book, as it was anciently 
included in the manor of Blechingley. There was, in the reign of 
Edward the Third, a manor called Home, which belonged to Sir John 
de Home, knt. ; whose son John, in conjunction with Alice his wife, 
in 1347, levied a fine of this manor to William de Roderham; and 
three years afterwards, this grant was confirmed by Henry de Home, 
the son and heir of John and Alice. Roderham left two daughters 
his coheirs; and by them, or their representatives, this estate was 
transferred to John Gaynsford, in or about 1418. " We find no 
further mention of this estate, which is probably that belonging to 
Jesus College, Cambridge, and now called Home Court." 3 

In the 20th of Edward the Third, the Countess of Pembroke 
obtained letters patent, authorizing the foundation and endowment of 
a convent of the Carthusian order, at Home ; but it does not appear 
to have been built. 4 

The Manor of Bysshe-Court. — Bartholomew de Burghersh, in 
1356, died seised of tenements called La Bysh, in Horne and Hurle, 
consisting of a capital messuage, and two hundred acres of land, held 
of the heir of Hugh le Despenser, then a ward of the crown, by the 
service of a quarter of a knight's fee. He served in the war in Scot- 
land, in the reign of Edward II. ; and having been one of the con- 
federates with the earl of Lancaster, in the insurrection against that 
king, he was taken prisoner after the skirmish at Boroughbridge, in 
1321, and was committed to the Tower, but was released by the 
queen, when she came from France in 1326 ; and he was afterwards 
employed, both in a civil and a military capacity, by Edward the 
Third. His son and heir, the next Baron de Burghersh, distinguished 
himself in the French wars under King Edward ; and he was made 
one of the knights of the Garter, on the institution of that order. 
He left a daughter his sole heiress, who married Edward le Despenser ; 
but this manor had, probably, been alienated before his death ; and in 
the 5th of Richard the Second, it belonged to Sir Thomas Byshe of 
Burstow. 5 

In the reigns of Elizabeth and James the First, Bysshe-court was 
the property of persons of the family of Colepepper, who appear to 
have had considerable estates in Sussex. Edward Bysshe, esq., of 

2 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 317. 3 Ibid, p. 318. 

4 Vide Calend. Rot. Pat. p. 153. 20 Edw. III. p. 2, m. 18. 

5 See account of Burstow. 



MANOR OF BYSSHE-COURT. HARWARDESLEY. 147 

Smallficld-placc in Burstow, was the owner of this estate in 1658; 
and it was sold about 1675, by his son Sir Edward Bysshe, to Thomas 
Turgis, esq. This gentleman gave it, by will, to Turgis Newland, a 
kinsman ; from whom it descended, on the death of his brother, Sir 
George Newland, in 1749, to the daughters of another brother; whose 
representatives, in 1769, sold the property to Robert Bulkeley, esq. 
In 1788 it was resold, by the trustees under his will, to John Ewart, 
esq., who took down the old mansion of Bysshe-court, and erected 
another near the site. This estate belonged, in 1808, to his grandson, 
John Manship Ewart, esq. 6 Subsequently, it was purchased of the 
Ewarts, under the authority of the Court of Chancery, for Willett 
Willett, esq. The mansion, a substantial brick building, is situated 
about twenty yards from the moat which surrounded the former 
residence, and which now incloses a small garden. It has been some 
time used as a farm-house. The present occupier is Mr. Thomas 
Hudson. Other portions of the Bysshe-court property are occupied 
by Mr. Lee and Mr. James Cowdry. 

Home Park, consisting of two hundred acres of land, was held in 
the reign of Edward the Third, of Hugh de Audley, (who had 
married a co-heiress of the Clares, earls of Gloucester), by John de 
Wysham, by the service of one-thirtieth part of a knight's fee. He 
died seised of the estate in 1334, leaving a son and heir of the same 
name. It is probable, that this estate is now included in that of 
Bysshe-court, as there are two farms belonging to it, one of which is 
called East-park, and the other West-park. 

Harwardesley, supposed to have been at one time in the possession 
of King Harold, and to have been then known as Harold 's-legh, is a 
tract of land of about five hundred acres, separated, as mentioned 
above, from the rest of the parish, and surrounded by the parishes of 
Burstow and Horley. Within this tract is the spot named Thunder- 
field-castle ; the site, according to tradition, of an ancient fortified 
structure. It is added, that a battle was fought here, when the castle 
was razed to the ground, and the inmates killed, or buried in the 
ruins. Corroborative of this tradition, it appears that a Mr. Smith, 
who held the farm about twelve or fourteen years ago, in making 
some clearance, discovered a considerable quantity of human bones ; 
and, in repairing the moat, at the same time, some large pieces of 
timber were thrown out, nearly black, and partially charred. Portions 
of this timber are still preserved in the neighbourhood. 

The Thunderfield-castlc estate is now the property of Charles 
Morris, esq., by whom it was purchased of General Popham. The 

Manning and Bray, u. a. p. 319. 

u 2 



148 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

mansion has been a farm-house for a number of years. Harwardesley 
is now a member of the manor of Blechingley, where a constable, or 
headborough, is chosen for this district. 

The manor of Right, now unknown, was, in the reign of Henry 
the Seventh, held of the prior of Tandridge, by a family of the name 
of Covert. 

Home Church, dedicated to St. Mary, was a chapel-of-ease to 
Blechingley until the year 1705, when an act was passed for making it 
a distinct rectory. 7 However, it is without either parsonage-house or 
glebe. The present patron is Thomas Poynder, esq. 
Rectors of Home in and since 1800: — 

The "notorious" John Kidgell, 8 who also held the living of 

Godstone previously to Mr. De Coetlogon, was instituted as 

the successor of Mr. Stileman, under the patronage of Sir 

Kenrick Clayton, bart., on the 24th of June, 1762. 

Henry Poynder, A.M. Instituted January the 2nd, 1819. 

His predecessor, the Rev. John Grindlay, LL.D., enjoyed 

the living more than twenty years. 

The Church is old, and, from the thickness of its walls, which are 

rough-cast, it impresses the observer with an idea of its being larger 

than it is found on entrance. It consists of a nave and a chancel, 

separated by an open wooden screen, painted white. The nave is 

tiled ; but the chancel is roofed with Horsham slate. Exteriorly, the 

west end of the church is chiefly of wood. It has a low wooden 

tower, surmounted by a low, clumsy, shingled spire. In the belfry 

are three bells ; formerly, there were five, but two were removed to 

7 " The Commissioners appointed in 2 Edward VI. to take an account of chantries, 
&c, in Surrey, returned that in Blechingley there was one stipendiary priest found and 
maintained hy the parson of Blechingley, to minister within the Chapel of Home, heing 
distant two miles from the Parish Church ; which was huilt long time past for the ease 
of the parishioners, for that there he within the same Parish 360 housling people, and no 

more priests there hut the Parson. That was then incumbent of the said 

Chapel, and had towards his finding [maintenance] at the will and pleasure of the same 
Parson, in one yearly stipend, 6?. 13*. 4d. Mr. Stileman, who was presented in 1728, 
bought a house adjoining to the Churchyard, resided, and did the duty. If his successor 
did not follow so good an example, it will not be wondered at, when it is mentioned that 
he was the notorious John Kidgell."— Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 320. 

8 Mr. Kidgell appears to have been appointed morning preacher at Berkeley chapel, 
London, in 1756 ; and to have published a sermon, preached there on a fast-day in 1761. 
In June, 1766 — " Came on at Doctors' Commons before W. Hay, Dean of the Arches 
Court of Canterbury, a cause instituted by the churchwarden of the parish of Home, in 
the county of Surrey, and diocese of Winton, against the Rev. Mr. Kidgell, rector of 
that parish, for non-residence ; when, after many learned arguments by the civilians on 
both sides, the cause, as being improperly begun, was dismissed for the present." — Dods- 
ley's Annual Register, vol. ix. p. 105. According to Manning and Bray, (Surrey, 
vol. ii. p. 337), he was obliged to fly the county, and at last died in Flanders. 



HOHNE CHURCH, AND ITS MONUJIENTS. 149 

Blechingley. Beneath the belfry, in the south-west angle of the 
tower, is a sort of closet, appropriated as a vestry. The only entrance 
is by the south porch. At the east end is a small window ; on one 
side of which are, the Lord's Prayer, and the Creed ; and on the 
other, the Ten Commandments, on board. There is no painted glass. 
At the west end is a gallery for the singers; but no organ. The 
pulpit, against the south wall, between two windows, is square, and, 
with the reading-desk, is painted in imitation of mahogany. The 
pewing is of oak, and very old ; the church containing, altogether, 
about three hundred sittings. Near the entrance is an ancient 
octagonal stone font, ornamented with quatrefoils, &c, within square 
panels ; in two of which are rude figures of angels ; and, in the other 
six, various devices of flowers, &c. The chancel is paved with square 
bricks. 

The monument against the north wall of the chancel, described by 
Aubrey, and by Manning and Bray, as of black marble, guarded by 
iron rails, with the figures of a man and woman kneeling, a table 
between them, has not a particle of marble, or of any other stone, in 
its construction. The frame-work is of wood, carved, and painted in 
colours; the protecting rails are, also, of wood; and the figures, &c, 
with the basement moulding of the monument, are of composition, or 
cement, coloured. Even at present, however, the monument, which 
is considerably more than two hundred years old, might deceive the 
eye of an unpractised observer. — Beneath the figures is a shield, 

Arg. a Chev. betw. three Martlets, Sa. Ward. Over them is a shield, Gu. two 
Bars Or, betw. six Lozenges Arg. three, two, and one. Goodwine. 

The inscription follows : — 

Here lyeth the body of John Goodwine, Esq. who departed this life the 

30 Day of December, 1618, being of the age of 3 score and eleven years and 
3 quarters; who married Margaret Ward, the daughter of Niuian Ward of 
Cuckfield, in the County of Sussex, Esquire ; who dyed at East Grinstead the 

31 day of January, 1611, being of the age of 3 score and ten years ; and had 
issue 2 children, Edward and Elizabeth. 

A tablet against the north wall records the memory of Thomas 
Wallop, esq., 3rd son of Richard Wallop of Bugbrooke, Northamp- 
tonshire, and Mary his wife, one of the daughters and co-heirs of 
Thomas Spencer, of Everton in the county of Northampton, who 
died in 1629. — Over the inscription are shields of arms with quarter- 
ings; under it, a small skeleton lies at length, with a dart in the left 
hand. 

Also against this wall, arc several tablets for different members 
of the Searle family, settled at Home for nearly a century. 



150 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

On a black stone, partly within the rails of the communion-table, 
appears the following inscription : — 

Here lyeth the body of Timothy Stieeman, B.D., and Anne his wife, rector 
of this Parish 34 years, and 20 years in the Commission of the Peace. He died 
Feb. the 14th, 1762, aged 82 years. She died April 9th, 1738, aged 58. On 
their right lyeth their son John, who died Mar. 21, 1730, aged 8. On their left 
lyeth their maiden sister, Rebecca Stileman, who died Nov. 21, aged 52. 

In this church are various memorials of the Hope family, of Horne- 

court, in which a play upon the name, in Latin as well as in English, 

is not forgotten. On a tablet against the north wall : — 

Near unto this place lieth interred the body of Ralph Hope, of Home 
Court, Gent, who departed this life the 13th of July, anno Dom. 1681, aetatis 
su;u 24. 

Optimus heu periit ! cum nomine ; nominis hseres, 

Sanguine praeclarus, clarus ab ingenio. 
Artibus ingenuus, et mentis dotibus auctus, 
Charus erat cunctis, charior ille Deo. 

and at the bottom of a brief inscription, on a stone over his grave, in 
the body of the church : — 

I BEST IN HOPE. 

On another stone, over the resting place of Mrs. .Elizabeth Hope, 
who died in 1690, and of her husband, Ralph Hope, who died in 
1693:— 

In faith and love these two lived all their days, 
And live in Hope to live and love always. 
" In spes requiescimus." 

Against the south wall, on the right of the entrance, is a tablet of 
white marble, to the memory of Ann, wife of J. D. Neal of London, 
and daughter of W. R. Hardy of Home, who died on the 11th of 
October, 1841, aged twenty-three. 

In the Church-yard are several recently-planted yew-trees. 

The Registers of Home commence in 1614, for baptisms and 
burials ; and in 1 643, for marriages : the early books are defective. 

Benefactions : — 

Henry Smith, esq., by deeds of settlement in 1625 and 1641, the profits arising from 
certain lands in Sussex, to be distributed annually amongst the poor not receiving 
constant parochial relief. This charity has risen in amount, value from 8/. to 25?. or 26l. 

An annuity of 20s. (donor unknown), chargeable on Packmir's farm, to be distributed 
amongst poor widows not receiving constant parochial relief. 

Here is a Sunday-school for about thirty or forty children, supported 
entirely by the Rev. Henry Poynder, the rector. 

As mentioned in the account of Godstone (page 143), two boys 
and one girl, children of inhabitants of Home, have the benefit of 
the school at Fellbridge, in the former parish, founded by the late 
James Evelyn, esq. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF LIMPSFIELD. 151 

LIMPSFIELD. 

This parish, containing, by recent admeasurement, 3819 a. lr. 39 p. 
is situated on the eastern confines of the county, adjoining the parish 
of Westerham in Kent ; and bounded, on the south, by Tandridgc 
and Crowhurst ; on the west, by Oxted ; and on the north, by Titsey 
and Tatsfield. It is about 4^ miles in length, by 1\ in breadth. The 
soil, in the northern part, consists of sand and gravel, and in the 
southern part, of clay. 

At the " Sheriffs Tourn " for the hundred of Tandridge, it was 
customary to choose a constable for the parish of Limpsfield, and a 
constable for Langhurst, 

The manor is thus described in the Domesday book : — 

" Tn Tenrige Hundred, the Abbot of Batailge holds Limenesfeld. Herald held it in 
the time of King Edward ; and it was then assessed at 25 hides, but since the Abbot 
obtained it, no assessment has been made. The arable land amounts to 12 carucates. 
There are 5 carucates in the demesne ; and twenty-five villains, and six bordars, with 14 
carucates. There is one mill, at 2 shillings ; and a Fishery ; and a Church ; and 4 acres 
of meadow. The wood yields one hundred and fifty swine for pannage. There are two 
stone quarries, at 2 shillings ; three nests (or eyries) of Hawks, in the wood ; and ten 
bondmen. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 20 pounds; afterwards at 15 
pounds ; now at 24 pounds. To this manor belonged Bramselle, in the time of King 
Edward, as the Hundred Jury testify." 

This manor formed part of the original endowment of Battle abbey, 
founded by William the First, as a thank-offering for his victory over 
Harold at Hastings. In the reign of Henry the Fourth it was taxed 
at 33/. lis. 7frf. This manor reverting to the crown after the sup- 
pression of monastic establishments, Henry the Eighth, in 1539, in 
consideration of the sum of 1007/. 13s. 4d., granted to Sir John 
Gresham, his wife, and his heirs, the manors of Limpsfield and Brod- 
ham in Oxted, with court-leet, free-warren, &c, and a pension of 2s. 
a year paid by the rector of Lymnesfield. The grantee died in 1557, 
having bequeathed this manor, with those of Titsey and Brodham to 
his eldest son, William; on whose death, in 1578, Limpsfield was held 
in dower by his widow, Beatrice, the daughter of Thomas Guybonn 
of Lynn. This estate descended to Sir Marmaduke Gresham, bart., 
who died seised of it in January, 1742 ; and by his will, dated June 
4th, 1741, he devised all his estates in Surrey and Kent, certain 
advowsons excepted, to trustees, for sale ; and they sold the whole of 
the property, except the manor of Titsey, and some farms in that 
parish, and the advowsons of Titsey and Limpsfield. Bourchier 
Clceve, esq., became the purchaser of the manorial estate of Limps- 
field in 1750; after whose death, in 17(50, it repeatedly ehanged 
owners; and in 1778, was sold to John llcaton, esq., by Mr. (after- 



152 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

wards Sir) Robert Mackreth and Mr. Dawes, who had bought it on 
speculation. In 1779, Mr. Heaton sold it to Sir John Gresham, the 
son of Sir Marmaduke, who thus recovered his ancestral property. 
In 1804, it went in marriage with Sir Thomas Gresham's daughter 
and sole heiress, Catherine Maria, to William Leveson Gower, esq., 
third son of the Hon. John Leveson Gower, an admiral in the Royal 
Navy. It is now the property of William Leveson Gower, esq., of 
Titsey-park, eldest son of the gentleman just named, who succeeded 
to the estate when he came of age, about the year 1827. 1 

Hoohvood. — This was an old house which belonged to the Gresham 
family, one of whom sold it to John Godfrey, esq. ; who gave it, by 
will, to Marmaduke Hylton ; and he bequeathed it, with his estates, 
in reversion, after the deaths of his three maiden sisters, to Vincent 
Biscoe, esq. The house was rebuilt by Vincent Hylton Biscoe, esq., 
son of the preceding, from whom the property was purchased some 
years ago by William Leveson Gower, esq., its present owner. The 
house is a handsome villa residence, pleasantly situated in a small 
park near the church. It is now in the occupation of William Butter- 
worth Baily, esq., one of the directors of the Hon. East India Com- 
pany. 

The family of Heath, from which is believed to have descended 
Roger Heath, of Shalford in this county, father of Sir Richard Heath, 
of East Clandon, appears to have been settled in Limpsfield and its 
neighbourhood in early times. 2 

Fenchleys, now called Tinsley-park, at a short distance from the 
village, was formerly the habitation of a family named Holmeden. It 
was subsequently occupied by a Mr. Rauleigh ; and it is at this time 
the property and residence of Anthony Teulon, esq. 

Stockenden, or Storkenden, a farm of about one hundred acres, was 
once the residence of a branch of the Holmedens. It was purchased 

1 William Leveson Gower, esq., is a member of the noble family of Gower ; springing 
from John, first Earl Gower, who, by his third wife, Mary, widow of Anthony, earl of 
Harold, and daughter and co-heiress of Thomas, earl of Thanet, had a son, John Leveson, 
the Admiral above-mentioned. Admiral Gower married, in 1773, Frances, the daughter 
of Admiral Edward Boscawen ; but has long been deceased. 

2 " Robert, grandson of John Heath, was Solicitor General to King James I., Attorney 
General in 1 Charles I., and Chief Justice of the Common Pleas in 7 Charles I., but 
was removed four years after. He was made a Judge in the Court of King's Bench in 

1640, and Chief Justice there in 1643. He married a daughter of Seyliard, of 

Brasted Court, in Kent." — Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 395. According to 
Clarendon, Sir Robert Heath was made Lord Chief-Justice of the Court of King's Bench 
for the purpose of attainting the Earl of Essex, and many others who were then in arms 
against the King. It is certain that he was obnoxious to the parliament, and that he fled 
into France. He died at Caen in 1649. He was the author of " Maxims and Rules of 
Pleading," published in 1694. 




N 






rS 



■ad 



mm 



' 





■ 








. ^ 




> 


X 


c 







BENEFICE AND CHURCH OF LIMPSFIELD. 153 

by Henry Smith, esq., and given to the parish of Croydon in the 
year 1622. 

In the centre of the village, near the church, is a house which 
once belonged to the ancestors of Mr. Glover, of Reigate, and after- 
wards to Richard Savage, esq. It was purchased by Mrs. Eugenia 
Stanhope, widow of Philip Stanhope, esq., a natural son of the last 
earl of Chesterfield, whose well-known Letters to his Son were 
published by her. On Mrs. Stanhope's death, in the year 1783, it 
descended to her eldest son ; and it is now the property of Charles 
Stanhope, esq., but in the occupation of the Rev. Clement Strong. 

In the street of Limpsfield are the pleasant residences of the Misses 
Bailey, and E. Perronet Sells, esq. ; and in the immediate neigh- 
bourhood, Peeble-hill Cottage, belonging to W. L. Gower, esq., but 
occupied by Matthew Forster, esq. M.P.; and Trevereaux, and Moor- 
house, respectively the property and residence of Henry Cox, esq., and 
Mrs. Storey. 

The Benefice of Limpsfield is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell ; 
valued, 20th Edward the First, at twenty-one marks ; in the King's 
books, at 20/. 0s. 5d. ; paying synodals to the bishop, 2s. Id. ; and 
procurations to the archdeacon, 6s. 8d. A pension of 2s. used to be 
paid to the abbot of Battle. The present patron is William Leveson 
Gower, esq. 

Rectors of Limpsfield in and since 1800 : — 

Leigh Hoskins Master. Instituted in 1781. 

Robert Mayne, A.M. Instituted October the 30th, 1806: 

died March the 7th, 1841, aged sixty-three. 
Thomas Walpole, A.M. Instituted in July, 1841. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Peter, is, exteriorly, a clumsy old 
structure, plastered, and roofed partly with tile and partly with Hors- 
ham slate. At the south side, nearly at the east end of the aisle, 
rises a low square tower, with a pyramidal shingled spire, surmounted 
by a cross. In the tower are four bells. The general entrance is by 
a south porch, near the west end ; the north door having been stopped 
up. The building further consists of a nave ; a south aisle, separated 
by obtuse-pointed arches resting on round pillars ; and two chancels, 
separated by two similar arches also springing from a round pillar. 
The principal chancel is divided from the nave by a high and 
similarly-turned arch ; the second chancel being contiguous, and at 
the end of the aisle. 

On the south side of the main chancel arc two niches; in the 
smaller and more eastern of which is a piscina. There is a place for 
holy water also in the south side of the tower. 

VOL. IV. x 



154 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

The vestry is in the south-east angle of the church. In the gallery, 
at the west end, is a neat organ. Another gallery occupies a portion 
of the north side of the church. On the left of the south entrance 
is a plain, square, massive stone font, supported by a stout fluted pillar 
in the centre, and a small pillar at each corner. The pulpit and 
sounding-board are hexagonal, and of oak : most of the pews are, 
also, of oak. The pulpit, and the communion plate, were presented 
to the church by Samuel Savage, esq., in 1766. 

The small Brass, with the representation of a chalice, and the 
resemblance of a spread fan on the top, mentioned by Manning and 
Bray as at the entrance of the chancel, has disappeared. 

The memorials of the Hilton and Biscoe families, and also of the 
Harrisons, in this church, are numerous. 

In the north chancel, which is kept in repair by William Leveson 
Gower, esq., is a mural monument of white and grey marble, with a 
pediment, and a shield of arms (nearly obliterated) below. It bears a 
long inscription to the memory of Marmaduke Hilton, esq., of 
London, merchant, who died on the 3rd of January, 1768, at the age 
of fifty-seven. 

Immediately beneath, on the floor, is a black marble, marking the 
burial-place of " Dame Martha Gresham, relict of Sir Edward Gres- 
ham, bart, daughter of John Mainard, knt., Serjeant at Law, and one 
of the Lords Commissioners of the Great Seal of England," who died 
January 14th, 1711-12. Here are, also, several other memorials of 
the Greshams ; but most of them are nearly covered by the pews. 

Around the principal chancel are various tablets, which record the 

memory of the following persons : — 

Philip Stanhope, esq., who died on the 18th of October, 1801, aged thirty-eight. 
Elizabeth Stanhope, his widow, who died October 20th, 1818, aged fifty-two. 
Eugenia Stanhope, widow, who died in 1783, aged fifty-three. 
Thomas Rtjdsdell, esq., Lieut.-Col. of the 61st regiment of Foot, Lieut.-Governor 

of Sheerness : died May the 11th, 1813, aged sixty-three. 
Edmund Hammond Biscoe, esq., who died October 24th, 1798, aged twenty-nine. 
Frederick Mayne, esq., late of H. M. St. Fiorenzo Frigate ; who being sent home 

in a French prize, unfortunately lost his life in a storm off Ushant, a.d. 1798, in 

the nineteenth year of his age. 
Thomas Henry Biscoe, esq., eldest son of Vincent Hilton Biscoe, of Hookwood, 

esq. ; who died at Antwerp, June the 10th, 1834, aged twenty-three. 
Clement Samuel Strong, esq., who died February 2nd, 1827, aged eighty-four; 

and Ann his wife, who died February 25th, 1839, aged eighty-five ; residents of 

this parish fifty-two years. 
Barbara Streatfield, sister of the above-named Ann Strong, and daughter of Robert 

Streatfield, esq., of Wandsworth in this county: died March the 17th, 1843, aged 

eighty-three. 

In the south-west corner of the church is an old white-marble 



SEPULCHRAL MEMORIALS AT LIMPS1 IELD. 155 

tablet, representing a curtain fringed with gold, having the arms em- 
blazoned ; and recording the death of Mr. Thomas Harrison, who 
died suddenly of apoplexy, May the 8th, 1718, in the twenty-ninth 
year of his age ; with this admonitory distich: — 

" How necessary it is to be 

Prepared for death, pray learn by me." 

The only monument in the church-yard claiming particular notice, 

is a raised tomb close to the chancel window, with this inscription : — 

Memorise Sacrum : 
Anna, Ricardi Campion de Newton in comitatu Hantonia; armigeri, uxor 
uniee dilecta, prope has sacras .ZEdes, proximeq ; quam per parietem licuit, D'ni 
Edv. CJresham Equitis Aurati, ipsiusq. ; conjugi D'na> Maria; sepulchra (quorum 
alteri privigna, alteri fuit filia per Gabrielem Wight de Brockam in com. Surriaj 
armigerum) depositum sub dio suum recondi voluit. Voti compos, in spe beata 
resurgendi requiescet. Nihil est ultra, Viator, tecum : Solitudinem (ne invideas!) 
hanc sibi deposcit. Mors sequat. Obiit Lond. Aug. 19, 1679 ; setatis sua? 56. 

Forma venusta fugax, vitaeq ; fugacia dona 

Ca;tera : perspexi singula, nulla tuli. 

In the north-east part of the church-yard are several railed-in burial 
places for the Biscoes, &c. : also one, with an inscription, to the memory 
of the Rev. Robert Mayne, (and of his wife and family), for thirty- 
four years rector of this parish, who died March the 7th, 1841, aged 
sixty-three. 

There are two yew trees in the church-yard. 

The Registers of this church commence in the year 1539, and are 
nearly perfect to the present time. 

The following are the only recorded Benefactions to the poor of 
Limpsfield: — 

1627. Henry Smith, esq., by will, a rent-charge to the amount of 2/. annually, for the 
relief of the poor. 

1696. John Brett, from the rent of a cottage, 5s. annually, for bread to the poor, at 
the discretion of officers and vestry. — No payment is now received. 

1710. John Wood, from a farm called Plum-park, to the poor who are not burthen- 
some, 10s. annually. 

There is a Sunday-school in Limpsfield ; and, also, a school sup- 
ported by William Leveson Gower, esq., who has built a handsome 
school-house on the road to Titsey. 

On Limpsfield-common is a chapel for dissenters of the Baptist 
persuasion. 

LINGFIELD. 

This is a very extensive parish, containing, according to a recent 

survey, 9008 acres of ground. It borders on the county of Kent, 

from which it is separated by the river Edon, a branch of the Med- 

way : on the north, it adjoins Crowhurst and Tandridge ; on the east, 

\ 2 

x „ 



156 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Edon-bridge and Cowden, in Kent; on the south, East Grinstead, in 
Sussex; and Tandridge and Godstone, on the west. The soil is, 
chiefly, clay. 1 In Hooper's farm, towards the eastern extremity of the 
parish, is a quarry of good building stone, the property of Sir Thos„ 
Edward Michell Turton, bart. 

Manning and Bray speak of several extensive commons in this 
parish : " Felcote Heath, about 600 acres ; Lingfield Common, 300 ; 
Dorman's Land and Paeon's Heath, 2 500 ; Simpiere's Green, 20." In 
reality, these wastes never were so extensive as is here represented ; 
and, of late years, they have all been disposed of, in small parcels, to 
various individuals. On Lingfield common was an open chalybeate 
spring, reputed to possess the same properties as the waters of Tun- 
bridge Wells ; but, within the last year or two, it has been covered 
over by the person to whom this part of the common was allotted. 

In the middle of Plaistow-street in this parish, and in the centre of 
four crossways, stands a stone obelisk, called St. Peter's Cross, with 
niches in its sides. It is understood to have been surmounted by a 
cross ; on the top of which was a basin, as a recipient of holy water 
for the use of the church. Within these few years, the basin, which 
was of iron, was in use at the chalybeate spring just mentioned. It 
was seen on the common not long since, and is supposed to be still 
in existence. St. Peter's cross, with a picturesque old oak adjacent, 
forms an agreeable object to the eye. 

Manning and Bray mention a field called Chapel-field, the supposed 
site of a chapel dedicated to St. Margaret ; and also an adjoining 
field, called St. Margaret's field : these are not now recognised ; but 
there is a field known by the name of Margetts-hill. 

Two inconsiderable annual fairs are held here : one in Plaistow- 
street, on the feast of St. Peter, to whom, and St. Paul, the church is 
dedicated ; the other, at Dorman's Land, on the 1st of May. 

1 The water which runs through the meadows of Lingfield has three branches ; two of 
them deriving their source from a little rivulet, or spring, on Copthorne common, in the 
parish of Burstow, one of which runs over Felcourt-heath, in Lingfield, in a south-eastern 
direction from Copthorne common, and then due north. Another runs in a north-eastern 
direction over Blindley-heath, in the parish of Godstone, and joins the other branch at 
the bottom of Lingfield common, where they form a deep though narrow river, called the 
Edon. The third branch comes from Oxted, and joins it ; when the whole, passing 
through Edon-bridge, joins the Medway at Pensburst. By means of this river, the 
meadows all through Lingfield are watered, and rendered highly productive without 
other manure. Sometimes, however, it overflows its banks, and carries off the hay which 
it has been the means of producing, or, otherwise, deteriorates its quality by an inter- 
mixture of sand. The hay is a valuable addition to the upland farms, being, when well 
got in, so nutritious in quality as to fatten a bullock without other aid. — Manning and 
Bray, (with variations), vol. ii. p. 339. 

2 Supposed to be a corruption of Beacon's Heath ; as, according to tradition, a beacon 
formerly stood there. The lofty and commanding nature of the spot favours this opinion. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF LINGFIELD. 157 

Aubrey speaks of the inhabitants of Lingfield as fond of garlands 
made of the little herb called Midsummer-silver, which is common in 
the neighbourhood ; but the custom is not now remembered. 

The custom of appointing certain officers for the parish, at the 
" Sheriff's Tourn," has also been discontinued. 

iElfred, a Saxon duke, gave, by will, seven hides of land in Ling- 
field to his wife, Werburga, for life ; and afterwards to his daughter 
Alhdryth, and her issue ; in default of which, to his nearest paternal 
relatives. He, also, gave one hide at this place to Berhtsige. 3 Athel- 
fleda, the wife of King Edgar, and mother of Edward the Martyr, 
gave Lingedefeld, with six hides, and the church, to the abbey of 
Hyde. 4 It is somewhat extraordinary, that though the manor of 
Lingfield, which was of considerable extent, was held by the abbot of 
Hyde long after the Norman conquest, there is no mention of it in 
the Domesday book ; yet the abbot of St. Peter's, Winchester, as he 
is styled, is mentioned in that record among the landowners in Surrey, 
as tenant under the crown of Sandestede, in the hundred of Wale- 
tone. According to the Testa de Nevill, Robert de Manekeseyc held 
half a knight's fee in Lingefeld, of the abbot of Hyde, in the reign of 
Henry the Third. From some legal proceedings in the time of Edward 
the First, it appears that the abbot had the manor and church of Ling- 
field, with an inn in Southwark. 5 Reginald de Cobham, who died 
in 1362, held this manor of the abbot of Hyde; and it was held by 
other persons in 1408, and in 1417." The advowson of the living, 
which the abbot had held with the manor, must have been alienated 
in the 9th of Henry the Sixth, 1431, when Reginald, lord Cobham, 
being about to found the college of Lingfield, a license was granted 
to the abbot of Hyde to appropriate the advowson for that purpose. 
The land of the abbot at Lingfield is mentioned in a deed dated in 
1489 ; and therefore it was, probably, among the conventual estates at 
the dissolution of the monastery. 

There are in this parish the manors of Sterborough (or Prinkham), 
Billeshurst, Padinden (or Puttenden), Bloxfield, Ford, Felcourt, and 
Sheffield Lingfield. 

The Manor of Felcourt may here be noticed, as having anciently 
belonged to the abbey of Hyde. After the suppression of the Con- 
vent it was granted by Henry the Eighth to Sir John Gresham ; one 
of whose descendants, in 1589, sold it to John Valentyne. In the 
seventeenth century, it was held by the family of Turner till 1684 ; 

3 Mb. D. Test. Sax. Manning, vol. ii. p. 840. 

4 Dugdale, Monasticon Anglican \.m, Art. Hyde Abbey. 

5 Plaeit. cor. apod Guldeford. 7 Edward I. 

8 Vide ESCHEATS of 35 Edward III. , 'J Henry IV. ; and 1 Henry V. 



158 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

when part of the estate was purchased by Anthony Farindon ; whose 
grandson sold Felcourt to Mr. John Field, in 1787. Mr. William 
Tooke, of Gray's Inn, bought it in 1802, and afterwards sold it to 
Francis Lawrence Dillon, esq., who resided there in 1808. By that 
gentleman it was sold to Sir Thomas Turton, bart., who died in 
April, 1844, and was succeeded by his only son, Sir Thomas 
Edward Michell Turton, the present baronet, and owner of the 
estate ; who is now in India. 

The Manor of Sterborough, alias Prinkham. — The mansion, or 
castle of Sterborough, is in the parish of Lingfield; but the land 
belonging to the manor is partly in the parish of Home, and partly 
in Edon-bridge, Westerham, and Cowden, in Kent. By the custom of 
this manor, the freehold estates held thereof are subject, on the death 
of the tenant, to a heriot of the best live beast, if there be any, and 
if none, to a payment of 3s. Qd. as a dead heriot ; and the same on 
sale, if the freeholder sell his whole estate. That part of the manor 
which extends into Kent is subject to the law of Gavelkind. William 
de Hevere, of Hevere castle, had a grant of free-warren in Lingefeld, 
in 1281. His daughter and sole heiress married Reginald de Cobham, 
of the family of Cobham which was settled at Cowling in Kent ; and 
Reginald, the grandson of the preceding, founded the castle of Ster- 
borough, in 1342. He held an important command at the battle of 
Cressy ; was engaged in that of Poictiers, with the Black Prince ; and 
was a commissioner for the conclusion of the treaty of Bretigny, in 
1360. This baron was one of the victims to the pestilence which 
ravaged this country in 1361, and which proved fatal to many persons 
of distinction in the church and state. 7 His grandson, Reginald, lord 
Cobham, founder of the college of Lingfield, who died in 1446, left 

7 See Stow's Chronicle, p. 418. Reginald, lord Cobham, married Joan, daughter of 
Thomas, lord Berkley, (by Margaret, daughter of Roger, earl of March), who brought him 
a portion of 2000/. in money, and the lordship of Langley-Burrell, Wilts. After his decease, 
that lady held Sterborough castle, with other manors, for life ; and died seised thereof 
October 2nd, 1369; her son, Reginald, being then 21 years of age. " By her will, she 
bequeathed her body to be buried in the churchyard of St. Mary Overey, Southwark, 
before the church -door, where the image of the Blessed Virgin sitteth on high over that 
door, appointing a plain marble stone to be laid over her grave, with a cross of metal 
thereon, and in the circumference these words in French to be cut : ' Vous qui per ici 
passietz pur V alme Johane de Cobham prietz •' that forthwith after her death 7000 masses 
should be celebrated for her soul by the Canons of Fauconbrigge and Tanrigge ; and the 
4 orders of Friers at London, for which they were to be paid 29?. 3s. 4c?. ; that, upon her 
funeral day 12 poor people clothed in black gowns and hoods should carry 12 torches : to 
the church of Lyngefeld she gave a frontore, with the arms of Berkley and Cobham 
standing on white and purple ; to Reginald her son, she bequeathed a ring with a diamond, 
having given him all the arms and ammunition in the wardrobe at Sterburgh." — Dug- 
dale, Bar. ii. 68. Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 341. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF STERTJOROUGII. 1 .",!' 

two sons and four daughters ; among the latter of whom, Eleanor 
became noted as the mistress, and afterwards the wife, of Humphrey, 
duke of Gloucester, the brother of King Henry the Fifth." 

Reginald, their eldest son, had only one child, Margaret, who 
became heiress of the family estates, and married Ralph Nevill, earl 
of Westmorland, but left no surviving issue ; and, on her death, the 
inheritance devolved on her cousin Anne, the daughter of Sir Thomas 
Cobham. This lady was betrothed in infancy to the son and heir of 
Lord Mountjoy ; but he dying before the marriage was completed, Sir 
Thomas Borough, (a descendant of Hubert de Burgh, earl of Kent), 
obtained from King Edward the Fourth, the wardship of the heiress, 
and gave her in marriage to his son, Sir Edward Borough ; whose son 
and heir, Thomas, was summoned to parliament among the peers of 
the realm, in 1530. Sterborough, with other estates, was held by the 
descendants of that nobleman until the reign of Elizabeth. Thomas, 
lord Borough, who succeeded to the title in 1594, held various em- 
ployments, civil and military ; and in 1597, being appointed Lord- 
deputy of Ireland, he died there shortly after. His only son, Robert, 
dying while a minor, in 1602, his four sisters became his co-heiresses. 
The shares of three of those ladies in the manorial estate of Sterborough 
were purchased by Sir Thomas Richardson, knt., chief-justice of the 
Common Pleas, and afterwards of the King's Bench, who died in 
1634; and lies buried in the south aisle of Westminster abbey. 9 He 
had two wives ; by Ursula, the first of whom, he left one surviving 
son, and four daughters ; but he had no issue by Elizabeth Beaumont, 
his second wife, relict of Sir John Ashburnham, knt., who died in 
1621. That lady was created Baroness Cramond in Scotland, by 
letters patent of Charles the First, in February, 1628 ; and the title 
was limited to Thomas Richardson, (afterwards knighted), son of the 
Judge by his former wife ; and the heirs-male of the Judge. Sir 

8 Eleanor was the unfortunate lady, who being accused of Witchcraft by those who 
sought her husband's ruin, was sentenced to do public penance in St. Paul's cathedral, on 
three successive days ; and afterwards to be imprisoned for life. 

9 Fuller, in his brief notice of Judge Richardson, (Worthies, vol. ii. p. 130, edit. 
1811), hints that he lived too near his own time to be spoken of fully, " seeing many will 
be ready to carp." Dart, in his History of St. Peter's, Westminstkr, explains this 
" by telling us that he was the Judge who, to please the faction of the time, issued an 
order against the ancient custom of Wakes, (generally held on a Sunday, and in the 
church-yard), and ordered every minister to read it in his church. This encroachment 
on Ecclesiastical authority was complained of by Laud, then bishop of Bath and Wells, 
[afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury], who got a Certificate, signed by Seventy of his 
ablest Clergy, of the inofFensiveness of those diversions ; which beiug reported at the 
Council table, Richardson was then so severely reprimanded, that he came out complaining 
that he 'had been almost choaked with a pair of lawn sleeves.'" — Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. 
p. 345. 



160 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Thomas, who became a baron of the Exchequer in Scotland, dying in 
1642, before his mother-in-law, never had the title ; which, however, 
devolved upon his son Thomas, called lord Richardson. That gentle- 
man, who represented the county of Norfolk in parliament from 1661 
until his decease in April, 1675, sold the property to Wm. Saxby, esq.; 
who also obtained the remaining fourth part of the manor, in the year 
last mentioned. The Saxbys retained possession until 1751, when the 
entire estate was purchased by Jas. Burrow, esq., afterwards knighted, 
who was master of the crown-office, and published " Reports of Cases 
in the King's Bench," from 1757 to 1772. He died in 1782, having 
devised this estate to his nephew, Robert Burrow, esq., who died in 
1793. The Sterborough property was vested in trustees for sale, and 
was bought by Mr. (afterwards Sir) Thomas Turton; who, in 1812, 
sold it to Christopher Smith, esq., alderman of London. After the 
decease of Alderman Smith, it was sold by his executors to John 
Tonge, esq., who is the present owner and occupant of the castle. 10 The 
house built by Sir Jas. Burrow, and to which Sir Thos. Turton added 
a dining-room and a drawing-room, has been pulled down, with the 
exception of the drawing-room, and a new mansion has been erected 
by Mr. Tonge. A room built by Sir James Burrow, within the moat, 
yet remains; and a court was held in it on the 13th of May, 1842. 
It is usual to hold a court once in about nine years. 

The Manor of Padinden. — This manor, (the name of which is 
variously spelt in different records), belonged in the reign of Edward 
the First to a family called Padynden, or Potyndene. John, the son 
of Adam de Podyndene, died in 1362, seised of this manor, which 
was divided between his cousins and heirs. In 1477, Reginald Sand, 

10 Sterborough castle was in such a state in the time of Charles the First as to receive 
a garrison ; and it was occupied by the Parliament's forces. After the king's death, the 
House of Commons, (in 1648-49), ordered that it should be referred to the Committee at 
Derby House to take care of this castle, amongst others, and to put it in such a condition 
that no use might be made of it to the endangering the peace of the kingdom. — Sir James 
Burrow had a rude drawing of the ichnography of Sterborough castle, and of the moat 
by which it was surrounded. He had, also, a very rude ancient map, intended to shew 
the general situation of the castle with respect to the three nearest churches, Lingfield, 
Edon-bridge, and Cowden. In the corner of the map was a small sketch of the elevation 
of the castle. It appears to have had a round tower, with a dome, at each corner. The 
drawbridge was shewn ; and, also, that there was a court in the centre. The area, 
including the moat, was an acre and a half, and half a rood ; exclusively of the moat, 
half an acre and two square poles. Sir Thomas Turton had the moat cleaned out, 
preserving exactly its original lines ; and it " is now a fine piece of water, supplied by a 
spring rising in one of the farms, about two miles distant, and brought the last quarter of 
a mile under ground by a wide drain. It has a constant current, and, after supplying the 
house and offices, falls into the river Edon." — Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 
346, 347. 



MANORS OF BLOKESFIELD AND FORD, IN LINGFIELD. 161 

or Sond, held this manor; which, in 1640, belonged to Sir George 
Sondes, K. B. ; and from him it descended to Lewis Watson, earl of 
Rockingham, who died in 1742. His nephew, Watson lord Sondes, 
sold the estate to Abraham Atkins, esq. ; who left it to his nephew, 
Edwin Martin Atkins ; whose son, of the same name, was owner of 
the property in 1808. Since the death of that gentleman, the property 
has been in the hands of his executors. — By the custom of this manor, 
the best live beast is due for a heriot ; and if there be no live beast, a 
dead heriot of 3s. 4d. 

Manor of Blokesfield, or Shovelstrode (pronounced, according to 
Manning and Bray, Shosterwood) . — Roland de Acstede, or Oxted, 
whose family had an estate at Oxted, from the time of the Conquest 
till 1291, was lord of this manor; and on his death, his daughters 
became his coheirs. It afterwards belonged to the family of Gayns- 
ford ; and in 1679, William Gaynsford, esq., died seised of the manor, 
leaving two daughters only. Edward Johnson, who married one of 
them, purchased the share of the other daughter ; and his grandson, 
Wm. Johnson, in 1727, sold the estate to Percival Lewis and others. It 
was again sold, in 1764, to John Major, esq., afterwards made a 
baronet, who had two daughters ; Anne, married to John Henniker, 
esq. ; and Elizabeth, to Henry, duke of Chandos. Sir John Henniker 
Major, son of the former, was created an Irish baron in July, 1800, 
and dying in 1803, was succeeded by his son, the 2nd lord Henniker, 
who held this manor jointly with the duchess of Chandos, in 1807. 
It was afterwards the property of Patrick Byrne, esq., who left it, at 
his death, to Mrs. Gwilliam, the present owner. 

The Manor of Ford, or La Ford, belonged to the Gaynsfords before 
1582. William Gaynsford, who died in 1679, held Ford as well as 
Blokesficld ; and the former of these estates came into the possession 
of his son-in-law, Edward Johnson ; who, in 1682, conveyed it to 
Robert Linfield ; whose brother and heir, in 1692, sold this manor 
to Anthony Farindon. It descended to James Farindon ; of whom it 
was purchased, in 1777, by Sir James Burrow. The trustees of his 
nephew, Robert Burrow, sold it to Sir Thomas Turton in 1794; and 
he resold Ford, in 1801, to Col. Henry Malcolm. Subsequently, 
Colonel Malcolm sold it to the present owner and occupier, J. F. 
Elphinstone, esq. 

New-Place was the estate of a family named Turner, in the 17th 
century. In 1729, John Wicker, esq., alienated lands in the manor of 
Ford to John Hopkins; and this estate was devised by him to his 
cousin, John Hopkins, who died about 1754. By the trustees of the 
latter it was conveyed, in 1777, to Benjamin Bond Hopkins, esq., of 

VOL. IV. Y 



162 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Pains-hill ; whose daughter and sole heiress married Richard Mansell 
Phillips, esq., (sometime deceased), in whose family the property still 
remains. 

The Manor of Browns is partly in this parish, partly in Limpsfield, 
and extends into the parish of Edon-bridge, in Kent, where is situated 
the mansion, or manor-house. This estate anciently belonged to a 
family named Brown, from whom it passed, in 1538, on the marriage 
of John At-Lee with the daughter and heiress of Henry Brown. It 
came, at length, into the possession of Beecher Walter, who dying 
intestate and without issue about 1757, the Surrey portion of the 
manorial estate descended to his eldest brother, and the Kentish 
portion to his two brothers jointly, by the custom of gavelkind. They 
sold it to John Boddington, esq. ; on whose death, it descended to his 
daughter, married to the Hon. Frederick Lumley, to whom it belonged 
in 1808. 

The Manor of Sheffield. — Sir John Dalyngrigge was lord of this 
manor in 1408. It was one of the estates of Thomas, duke of Nor- 
folk, executed for a conspiracy against Queen Elizabeth, in 1572; and 
the manor of Sheffield, having thus escheated to the crown, was 
granted by James the First, in the 16th year of his reign, to Thomas, 
earl of Arundel. It belonged, in 1808, to Thomas Trevor, Viscount 
Hampden. 

The Manor of Billeshurst, purchased several years ago by the 
trustees of Robert Ladbroke, esq., is still in the family of that gentle- 
man. 

A district called the Gildable, now unknown, is supposed to have 
been the Queen's Woods, in which certain persons claimed estovers. 
" In 25 Elizabeth, Thomas Kente and George Holmden paid money 
to her Majesty's surveyor within this county for their more quiet 
possession of their customs in the woods and underwoods, on certain 
Commons called Dorman's Lands, Baldyes-hili Common, Hilde 
Heath, and Pakin's (Paeon's, or Beacon's) Heath, within her Majesty's 
Gyldable in Lyngfield. It was agreed that the said Kente, and the 
lady his wife, during such time as they should inhabit and keep houses 
at their then mansion called Apesselystowne in the Gildable in Ling- 
field, should have certain quantities, and Holmden others, whilst he 
lived at Battners in Lyngfield." " There is still a messuage called 
Apsleytown, in this parish. In 1808, it was the property and residence 
of Robert Bostock, esq. ; and it has descended to the nephew of that 
gentleman, of the same name, its present owner and occupier. 

Dorman's Land.— In 1489, John Underhelde, sen., of Lingfield, 

" From information communicated to Manning and Bray by the late Mr. Glover. 



LINGFIELD COLLEGE : COLLEGIATE SEAL. 



163 



granted to Alice Croker, daughter of John Croker, formerly of that 
parish, certain lands called Newhachecroft and Dermannyslond, " on 
condition that she find yearly, for ever, a wax taper of two pounds 
weight before the Trinity in the church of Lyngfield. The seal is 
annexed, tied with a piece of rush, perhaps as livery of the land." ' 2 

Amongst the seats in the parish of Lingfield may be mentioned 
Wilderwick, belonging to Mrs. Gwilliam, and occupied by E. Driver, 
esq. ; — Farindons, the property of T. Lane, esq., occupied by W. P. 
Smith, esq.; — Chortham, belonging to Mrs. Rupal during her life, in 
the occupation of her son, the Rev. Francis Pooley Rupal ; — Felcourt, 
already mentioned as the property of Sir T. E. M. Turton, bart. ; — the 
Grange, belonging to C. N. Hastie, esq. ; — Battners, belonging to John 
Turner Kelsey, esq. ; — and Old Lodge, to E. R. Pickering, esq. 

Lingfield College. — In 1431, the 9th of Henry the Sixth, Regi- 
nald, lord Cobham, obtained a license to found a college, and convert 
the parish church of Lingfield into a collegiate establishment, endowed 
with lands to the value of 40Z. a year. He 
then erected, at the west end of the church- 
yard, a house, containing apartments for a 
provost or master, six chaplains, and certain 
clerks of the Carthusian order. When 
Aubrey wrote, this building was perfect; but / 
in the reign of George the First, most of it j 
was taken down, and a farm-house was built ! 
on part of the site. 13 Additions were made ■ 
to the original endowment, in 1449, by Ann 
Cobham, lady of Sterburgh, and Sir Thos. 1 
Cobham. 

According to Manning, the Collegiate 
Seal " has on one side, St. Peter with a 
crosier and keys; and on the other, the 
Virgin Mary." In the annexed cut, the 
Seal of one of the Provosts is represented, which is attached to a deed 
in the Augmentation office. 14 

12 Manning and Bray, Sitrrky, vol. ii. p. 352. 

" Aubrey says he had seen no remains of a religious house so entire. " The first 
story was of free-stone ; above that brick and timber. Within was a square court with 
a cloister round it. In the west window of the Hall was, Orate pro />t»i<> statu John 

Gaynsford el fenestram. There was a convenient handsome Hall and Parlour; 

above the Priest's table was the canopy of wainscot, as in Lincoln's Inn Hall. In one 
of the windows, Auxilium mihi semper a- Domino." 

14 No account of Lingfield College was given by Dugdale ; and the brief notice in the 
last edition of the Monasticon, (vol. vi. p. 1469). is scarcely worth a reference. 

Y 2 




164 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

The estates belonging to this foundation consisted of a collegiate 
church, with the glebe, value 267. ; Neuland mill, and Byhall, with 
some lands, 37. 13s. 4rf. ; the manor of Hexted, with lands called 
Innetts, 14/. ; a garden there, with a messuage, 10s. ; another mes- 
suage, 10s. ; a tenement and lands called Martens, 1/. ; certain parcels 
of land, Is. ; quit-rents and services of divers tenements of Lynge- 
feld, 27. 2s. 2\d. ; the park of Lyngfeld, called Byllies Park, with the 
lands called Jordan's Land, 67. ; tenements and lands called Calcots, 
in Tattesfield, 37. 6s. 8d. ; an inn called the Green Dragon, in South- 
wark, 3/. ; in Kent, lands called Paynters, in Westram, 17. 6s. &d. ; the 
manors of Pyriton and Broke, with lands, 37. ; lands called Coll Aleyns, 
13s. 4<7. ; the manor called Squyres in Westram, and lands adjoining, 
57. 17s. 8d. ; quit-rents of the manor of Squyres, 21. ; land called 
Littlecote, 17. 3s. ; land called Forlesland, 12s. ; the manor of Hooth- 
lyght in Lamberhurst, Kent and Sussex, with other lands in the same 
parts, 57. : in all, 797. 15s. \0^d. ; subject to deductions amounting to 
47. 15s. 10^d. ; leaving a clear income of 757. per annum. 
Provosts of the college : — 

John Acton, the first appointed. 

John Wuche, died May 22nd, 1445. 

John Bow, master April 18, 1469. 

John Swetecot, died May 19th, 1469. 

David William, died in 1491. 

John Knoyle, admitted to office December 12th, 1491 : died July 4th, 1503. 

Robert Blynkynsop, resigned on a pension of 5l. March 30th, 1520. 

John Robson, M.A., admitted master April 21st, 1520. 

Edward Colepeper, LL.D., admitted July the 20th, 1524. He surrendered the 
College to the King's Commissioners April the 26th, 1544. 

In May, 1544, Thomas Cawarden, gentleman of the privy-chamber 
to the king, obtained a grant of the collegiate church of Lingfield, 
with the estate belonging to it ; which he resigned in 1547, for the 
purpose of having it renewed with additions ; and in the reign of 
Edward the Sixth, the grant was confirmed by act of parliament. He 
was the first " Master of the Bevels at Court," to which office he was 
appointed in 1546.. Win. Cawarden, nephew and heir of Sir Thomas, 
in 1560, had a license to alienate the manor of Lingfield, with other 
estates, to William, lord Howard, of Effingham. This property de- 
scended to Francis, the 7th baron of Effingham, who settled it on his 
2nd wife, Anne Bristow ; and she having survived his lordship, devised 
these estates by will, in 1774, to trustees for sale. In 1776, Dr. Frank 
Nicholls became the purchaser of the manor or college of Lingfield, 
the manor of Billeshurst, the rectory, the patronage of the vicarage, 
all tithes, &c. ; a capital messuage, and site of the college, with certain 
farms and lands. He died in 1778; and his son and heir, John 



DESCRIPTION OF LINGFIELD CHURCH. 16,0 

Nicholls, esq., after having disposed of part of the tithes, sold the 
remainder of the rectory, the farms and lands, and the manor of 
Rilleshurst, to the trustees of Robert Ladbroke, esq., in 1803. 15 

The Benefice of Lingfield is now regarded as a perpetual curacy. 

Curates of Lingfield in and since 1800: — 

William M'Kinstry. Appointed in 1788. 
Robert Fitzherbert Fuller, A.M. Appointed on the 23rd 
of November, 1819. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul, is situated about 
a quarter of a mile from Plaistow-street, the principal street in the 
parish. It is built of a darkish-coloured stone, and covered with Hors- 
ham slate ; and is very large and massive : its length is one hundred 
and forty feet, and its extreme width, seventy feet. It consists of a 
nave, with north and south aisles and a large chancel. At the west end 
of the south aisle is a cumbrous tower, surmounted by a low shingled 
spire, with five bells. The north aisle, the entire length of the church, 
is separated from the nave by seven pointed arches ; the south aisle by 
four ; the latter extending only from the end of the chancel to the 
south porch. In the east end are three large and handsome windows ; 
in the west are two windows : on the north side are seven windows ; 
on the south, five. Between the third and fourth windows on the 
north side, is a small stone tower to the height of the roof. It has a 
door on the outside, but does not appear to have any internal com- 
munication. Interiorly, the church is light, open and spacious ; with 
an effect somewhat imposing ; yet, from the want of galleries, naked, 
cold-looking, and cheerless. The only gallery, which is modern, and 
contains an organ, is at the west end of the nave. The church is 
paved with square red bricks. There are two steps into the chancel, 
which is separated from the nave by a wooden screen ; a similar 
screen, on each side, dividing the chancel from the north and south 
aisles. Amongst some remains of painted glass in the centre light of 
the great east window, is a woman sitting, with a musical instrument 
in her hand ; and in each of the side lights are remnants of pinnacled 
buildings, &c. Several of the windows contain portions of ornamented 
borders in painted glass ; and in the windows of the north aisle are 
some female faces. Of the various inscriptions and arms of the 
Cobham and Gaynsford families, mentioned by Aubrey, in the east. 
west, and north windows, scarcely a relic now exists. 

The nave and aisles are wagon-roofed, with timber. The com- 
munion-table is plain. Within a square compartment, over the altar, 

11 Manning and Bray, Sukkkv, vol. ii. pp. 339 — 367. 



166 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

are the letters I.H.S. in gold; and at the sides are the Decalogue, 
Lord's Prayer, and Creed. 

The pulpit, of carved oak, with a sounding-board, is hexagonal. It 
stands against the pillar of the arch which separates the chancel from 
the nave. Two or three of the old oaken pews in the south aisle have 
elaborately-carved panels. Eight or ten of the collegiate stalls, with 
seats to turn up, have been removed into pews : on the lower side of 
these seats, are representations of angels, grotesque heads, shields, &c. 
carved in very bold relief. 

The font is octagonal, large, massive, old, and much decayed. Its 
sides are ornamented with quatrefoils ; in the centre of each, a rose ; 
and in each of two of the roses, is the representation of a human or 
angelic face. The pedestal, also octangular in form, is relieved with 
niches. 

At the east end of the south aisle is an oaken desk, on which are 
a black-letter Bible and Prayer-book. At the side hangs a chain, 
formerly attached to the Bible, which, for its preservation, has been 
lately, but injudiciously, re-bound : the style of the ancient binding 
ought to have been preserved. At the end of the desk is a small 
aperture, within which, according to tradition, the holy-water used to 
be kept in a basin ; and was supplied from the basin anciently on the 
top of St. Peter's cross, in Plaistow-street. 

In the floor of the chancel, on each side of the rails of the com- 
munion-tablets a rude figure embedded in the red tiles of the pavement; 
one figure is green, the other yellow. They are supposed to be collegiate 
remains, and were, not long since, placed in their present position. 

Against the wall, on the north side of the principal east window, 
hangs an ancient helmet, with its crest ; a memorial, probably, of the 
Cobham family. 

This church contains various costly and noble memorials of the 
departed great; several fine Brasses, some perfect, some nearly so, 
and others seriously injured, not only by the hand of time, but by that 
of fanaticism and wanton mischief. 

In the nave, immediately before the chancel, is a large and 
elaborately-executed altar-tomb, considerably mutilated, on which are 
whole-length figures of a knight and his lady, beautifully sculp- 
tured in white marble. The knight is in armour ; his head sustained 
by a helmet, his feet resting on a dog, and a glove lying by his right 
side. He is without a beard ; and his hair is bound over the temples 
with a fillet : crest, — a man's head, barbed. The lady's head is sup- 
ported by two angels ; her feet rest on a winged dragon. At the 
east end are four shields of arms, viz. : — 



MONUMENT OF REGINALD, LORD COBHAM. 



i<;; 



3[Df^tn , Hbnrabflomi'itP-ScDbamCicHt9)ap.i:mg'Mci6t)thuno , iunj 



I 



1. Gu. a Lion ramp. Arg. 2. Gu. ou a Chevron, Or, three Stars, Sah. 3. Az. 
three Cinquefoils, Or. 4. Az. a Sea-horse, winged, Or. 

At the west end are seven shields ; and the same number on the north 
and south sides. In the 
hollow of a moulding 
round the upper part of 
the tomb, are several 
pins by which a brass 
fillet bearing an inscrip- 
tion appears to have been 
fastened. 

Against the north wall 
is an old altar tomb, 
covered with a slab up- 
wards of seven feet long, 
on which is a Brass full- 
length figure of Regi- 
nald, Lord Cobham, 
who died in July, 1403. 
He is represented in 
plate armour, with a 
pointed helmet, or skull- 
cap, and a hood of mail : 
he has, also, a skirt of 
mail, and wears a sword, 
dagger, and large spurs, 
This figure, which is five 
feet eight inches in 
height, is in excellent 
preservation ; but part of 
the crested helmet on 
which the head reposed 
has been removed, to- 
gether with two small 
shields of arms. The in- 
scription is as follows : — 

Be StcmburgJ) Aomin' Be CTobfoam, sir Bcginattms + Trjic iacet hit ualititts + 
Jtliles fait ut leoparUu3 — hods + En cunctis tcrris famam picHabit Ijonoris 
+ Bapstlis -f in mensis + formosus -f moregcrosus + Uargtts in cvpensis 
tmpcrtcritus + gencrosus -f et quantio 4- placuit + messie + qtJ + mortvctiu -f 
Icxpirans -f obijt + in celts -+- glorificctur' -f millc + quaUringeno 4- tvtno 

3ullii + .{tligrabit -f telo + sit + tibi + ucra + quits -f Smcn 

+ ^Jater -f- nosttr. 




sa >Tui3i»l'tqb-.ffli?ni iim»nt'i!ja»iiu w*mownf-s 



168 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Here are several monuments, grave-stones, and brasses of the 
Barons Howard of Effingham, and their families. — Against the south 
wall of the chancel, over the vestry door, are two elaborately-carved 
white-marble shields ; between the upper parts of which, is a 
baron's coronet over the arms (richly emblazoned), of Howard impaling 
Pelham. The inscription, on one shield, records the memory of 
Francis, Lord Howard, (of Great Bookham, in this county), fifth 
baron Effingham, whose first wife was Philadelphia, daughter of Sir 
Thomas Pelham, bart. (of Laughton, in Sussex), great grandfather of 
Thomas, duke of Newcastle. 16 This nobleman, who was governor of 
Virginia in the reign of Charles the Second, died on the 30th of 
March, 1694. The second shield is inscribed in memory of the lady 
Philadelphia, mentioned above, who died on the 13th of August, 1685, 
aged thirty-one. Beneath the inscription are two hands supporting a 
heart, with the word " Resurgemus" 

Westward, against a pillar between the nave and the south aisle, is 
another large white-marble tablet, richly sculptured with flowers and 
foliage, and the arms emblazoned ; with this inscription : — 

Here lyeth interred the body of the truly noble and religious Lady Mary 
Howard, late wife of Thomas, Lord Howard, Baron of Effingham ; 17 by whom 
shee had two daughters, Ann and Mary. She was the only child of Rushia 
Wentworth, Esquire, of Cleave in the Isle of Thanet, in Kent. Her piety 
towards God and charity to the poor, her sincere affection in her conjugal state, 
her tender love and parental care in the education of her children, her pleasing 
gravity, courteous and affable behaviour in being generously just to all, were 
very conspicous to every one that truely knew her ; and as shee was happyly 
endowed with all the vertues that adorn the great and good, so they never for- 
sook her till, with true humility, under the stroak of a cruell distemper, shee 
patiently resigned her life the 29th day of May, anno Dom. 1718. 

North of the communion-table, adjoining the screen which separates 
the east end of the nave from the north aisle, is a large marble altar- 
tomb, with the whole-length effigy of a man in armour ; his head in 
mail, resting on a cushion, originally supported by two marble figures, 
now much mutilated ; his feet resting against a small figure of a man 
with a long beard, and a turban on his head, which is supported by 
his right hand. This eastern figure is supposed to refer to some 
exploit in the Crusades. On the north side of the tomb are four 
shields : 1. a cross flory ; 2. a chevron, impaling the same : the bear- 
ings on the two others are obliterated : those on the west end, and 
at the south side, are also nearly obliterated. There is no inscription. 

16 His lordship's second wife was Susan, daughter of Sir T. H. Henry Felton, of Play- 
ford in the county of Suffolk, and widow of Thomas Herbert, esq. 
" Son of Francis, the fifth baron, by the lady Philadelphia his wife. 



MONUMENTS IN LINGFIELD CHURCH. L69 

In the nave, westward of the Cobham monument, described in a 

preceding page, is a small female figure in Brass ; her hands as in 

prayer, her mantle fastened with two roses on her breast: this is 

supposed to be a memorial of the Howards, but the inscription is 

lost. Still further towards the west, is another small mutilated brass 

figure, the inscription of which is also lost. On the south side of 

the first of these brasses is a flat blue stone, with the arms of Howard, 

and thus inscribed : — 

Hie dormit corpus Caroli Howard, militis, filii Francisci Howard, militis, 
amborum de Bookham Magna, in hoc comitatu, qui, heu! animam expiravit 
vicesimo die Martis, anno Dom'i 1672, annoque Eetatis quinquagesimo septimo. 

Besurgemus. 

On another flat blue stone, southward of the Cobham monument, is 
an inscription to " the deare memory of the hon ble Charles and Phila- 
delphia Howard, son and daughter of the right hon ble the Lord 
Howard of Effingham and Philadelphia his wife," who died in 1684, 
"to the perpetual greefe of their surviving father ; and of their second 
daughter, Margaret, who died in 1685." 

In the north aisle, on a brass-plate, beneath the figure of a woman 
praying, is the inscription — 

Orate pro anima Katerine Stokett. 

On a black marble grave-stone in the chancel, with armorial bear- 
ings displaying, on a chevron between three ostriches, as many 
mullets, Widnell', between three birds, impaling three cinquefoils, in 
chief a lion passant, is this inscription: — 

Vana salus hominis. Pietati sacrum. Siste gradum, Viator, et hoc sepulchrum 
cerne, et quern cepit comprehendere. Gulielmus Widndlvs w hie jacet mortuus, 
antiqua sobole prognatus. Theatrum humilitatis itemque scoena squalida virtutis 
inest : charitatem sanguinis hie exuperavit candoris, probitatis dotibus, quern 
decimo octavo die Novembris mors eripuit immatura. Denatus a.d. mdclxii. 

Desist those prophane feet, forbeare 
To fowle this hallowed marble, where 
Lies Vertue's, Goodnes', Honour's heire. 
'Cause the world not worthy him to have, 
The great Jehovah shut him in this grave. 

Memorials of the Farindon family, of Battners in this parish, are 

numerous from the year 1730. The most recent are two tablets; the 

first of which, in the north aisle, records the memory of 

Anthony Farindon, esq., who died on the 5th of September, 177'?, aged fifty-seven. 
James Farindon, esq., son of the preceding, who died March the 8th, IS in, aged 

sixty-two. 
Elizabeth Farindon, widow of the above-named James, who died September the 29th, 

1818, aged sixty-four. 

The other tablet is to the memory of Louisa, the wife of Thomas 
IH Of a family formerly residing at Shaves, in Tandrid 

VOL. IV. Z 



170 



HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 



Lane, esq., and eldest daughter of the late James Farindon, esq., who 

died May 2nd, 1832, aged fifty-seven. 

On a white-marble tablet, against the north wall in the chancel, is 

the following inscription to the memory of Sir James Burrow : — 

Born 28th Nov. 1701, O. S. Died 5th Nov. 1782, N. S. 
Underneath lie the remains of Sir James Burrow, of Starborough Castle in this 
parish, knt. ; many years Fellow, and ahove 30 years Vice President, and twice 
occasional President, of the Royal Society ; also Fellow and once Vice-President 
of the Antiquarian Society of London ; and honorary member of the Societe des 
Antiquites de Cassell; Master of the Crown Office, and Senior Bencher of the 
honourable Society of the Inner Temple. Few or none perhaps have passed 
through life better contented with their lot, or have enjoyed it with more satis- 
faction and thankfulness. The convivial character was what he chiefly affected, 
as it was his constant wish to be easy and cheerful himself, and to see others in 
a like disposition. 

Arms: — Az. three Fleurs-de-lis, Erm.; between the two upper, a Mullet, of the last. 

Amongst numerous tombs and grave-stones in the church-yard, is 
one to the memory of Frances, relict of Charles Howard, knt., of 
East-wick in Great Bookham, and daughter of Sir George Courthop, 
knt., of Whyly in Sussex. Also, some to the Saxby family, of Ling- 
field, in this county. 

The Registers of this parish are in a good state of preservation : the 

Baptisms commence in January, 1559 ; the Burials and Marriages, in 

June, 1561. In the beginning of the oldest register are the following 

singular lines : — 

" Dayes of marriage, 

Conjugium Adventus prohibet, Hilarique relaxat, 
Septuagena vetat, sed Pascha; Octava relaxat, 
Rogamen vetitat, concedit Trina potestas. 

Infcelix multis, Otjto. est mihi Litera foelix ; 
Si davarov scribit, scribit et ilia deov. 
Infcelix multis est mihi Jona. 

Mors til a, mors Christi, Fraus Mundi, Gloria Coeli, 
Et Dolor Inferni, sint meditanda tibi." 19 

The recorded donations to this parish, all the annual produce of 

land, and all by will, are as follow : — 

1G27. Henry Smith, esq., for the relief of aged poor and large families, 10/. 

1659. John Hole, esq., for the relief of poor people, 2/. 8s. 

1709. William Saxby, esq., for ten poor people, in coats and gowns, on Good Friday, 

10/. 10s. 
1716. John Piggot, esq., for 120 poor people, on Good Friday, 2/. 

The only foundation for a school in Lingfield, observe Manning and 
Bray, 20 consists of an annuity of 21. 10s. issuing out of a house in the 

19 Thy death, y e death of Christ, y e world's temptation, 
Heaven's joy, and Hell's torments be y y meditation. 
"" Surrey, vol. ii. p. 357. 



SITUATION OF OXTED, OR OXTEAD : — ITS MANORS. 171 

parish, given by some person now unknown, for the purpose of teach- 
ing five poor children of the parish, to be nominated by the minister, 
churchwardens, and overseers. On the 27th of November, 1734, 
William Carmichael, A.M., was licensed by the bishop to teach, being 
lawfully nominated and appointed master of the Free-school in 
Lingfield. 

OXTED, or OXTEAD. 

This parish is pleasantly situated below the chalk-hills, bordering 
on Wbldingham and Chelsham, on the north ; on Limpsfield and 
Titsey, on the east; on Tandridge and Crowhurst, on the south ; and 
Tandridge and Godstone, on the west. The soil, to the north, is 
chalk ; in the centre, sand, or sandy loam ; and in the south, clay ; 
forming nearly equal divisions, and running from east to west. In the 
digging of wells, oyster-shells of large size are frequently found at a 
depth of thirty feet ; and then water is obtained in abundance. Here 
is some of the best irrigated meadow-land in the county. — The parish 
contains 3407 acres: viz. — roads and waste, 110; arable, 1875; 
meadow and pasture, 958 ; woodland, 347 ; common-land, 32 ; hop- 
ground, 46; glebe, 36. The tithes were commuted, in 1839, for the 
sum of 770/. ; and 10/. for the glebe. 

Barrow-green, in Oxted, derives its name from a large barrow, 
supposed to have been thrown up after some battle with the Danes, by 
whom this part of the country was much infested. It adjoins the 
old Pilgrims' road. A spring which rises at Barrow-green, and 
another to the north-east, under the hill, at Titsey, meet in this parish, 
and run into the Medway. These waters are celebrated for trout. 

In the Domesday book the manor is thus described : — 

"Earl Eustace (of Bologue) holds Acstede, which Githa, the mother of Harold, held 
in the time of King Edward. It was then assessed at 20 hides : now at 5 hides. The 
arable land amounts to 20 carucates. There are 2 carucates in the demesne ; and thirty- 
five villains, with 18 carucates. There are 2 mills, valued at 12 shillings and t> pence ; 
and 4 acres of meadow. The wood yields one hundred swine for pannage. In Southwark 
is one messuage, valued at 2 pence ; and six bondmen, and nine bordars. There is a 
Church. In the time of King Edward, it was valued at 16 pounds; when it was 
received, at 10 pounds; and at present, at 14 pounds." 

The parish includes five manors, or reputed manors, namely, those 
of Oxted, Birstead, Broadham, Foyle, and Stocketts. 

The Manor of Oxted. — In the reign of John, a part of this manor 
was held of the king in cajrite, as of the Honour of Bologne, by the 
service of two knights' fees, by Hugo de Nevill ; and a certain part of 
the manor was held of the same Honour, and by the same service, 
from the conquest of England, by Roland de Acstede.' In 1216, 

1 Testa de Nevill, p. 225. 

z 2 



1 72 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

King John granted to Nevill the land of Roland, who was probably a 
ward of the crown, for he afterwards had possession of the estate, and 
died seised of it in 1240. That portion of Oxted which had belonged 
to Hugo de Nevill was transferred with his daughter in marriage to 
John de Cobham, of Sterborough, in Lingfield. It descended to Sir 
Thomas Cobham, who died in 1471, leaving a daughter, Ann, his sole 
heiress, who married Sir Edward Borough. The estate of Roland de 
Acstede here had been purchased of one of his descendants by one of 
the Cobham family ; in consequence of which, the entire manor of 
Oxted came into the possession of Sir Edward Borough, as part of 
his wife's portion. This manor descended, together with Sterborough, 
to William, lord Borough ; who conveyed it, with the advowson, to 
John Rede, esq., in 1578 ; and he transferred it, in 1587, to Charles 
Hoskins, a merchant of London, descended from a family in Mon- 
mouthshire. It remained in the possession of the Hoskins family for 
nearly two centuries. William Hoskins, who died seised of it in 
1762, left it to his son Charles; whose daughter and heiress, Susanna 
Chicheley Hoskins married Richard Gorges, esq. ; and subsequently, 
Mr. Faulkner, and Mr. Roe. She died in 1798, without issue, and 
the inheritance devolved on Mrs. Master, her father's sister, who died 
in 1807, and left it to her son, the Rev. Legh Hoskins Master; 2 to 
whose son and successor, Charles Legh Hoskins Master, esq., it now 
belongs. According to a survey taken in the 19th of Elizabeth, the 
manor of Oxted contained, at least, six hundred and five acres, besides 
the commons and waste grounds. 

The residence of C. L. H. Master, esq., the lord of the manor, is 
Barrow-green house, a substantial and handsome brick mansion. 

The Manor of Birstead, Biersted, or Bursted, anciently belonged 
to the priory of Tandridge. At the dissolution, it was granted to 
John Rede, esq. ; whose son sold it to Richard Bostock, esq. ; from 
whom it passed by sale, in 1577, to Edward Johnson, esq. ; who, in 
1582, conveyed it to Richard Hayward, of Oxted. From Richard 
Hay ward, it passed to his son Henry ; whose son, John, settled it, in 
1613, on his wife Elizabeth, for life, with remainder to his heirs-male. 
By a new settlement, however, in 1630, he limited this manor and 
Westhall to his son, John, by a former wife. Sir William Hayward, 
the eldest son of the above-mentioned Elizabeth, purchased Biersted 
and Westhall (also in this parish) of John, in 1649 ; and, in 1681, he 
sold this property to Burrough ; who devised it to Edwards ; by whose 
family it was sold to Sir Joseph Jekyll. Sir Joseph died in 1738 ; 
and, under his will and the act passed for carrying it into execution, 

- Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 383 — 5. 



SOME PARTICULARS OF THE GRESUAM FAMILY. 173 

the manor of Biersted was sold to John Godfrey, esq., of Limpsfield, 
who died in 1757, and left it to Marmaduke Hilton, esq., a merchant 
of London ; who, dying in 1768, gave it by will to Vincent Biscoe, 
esq. By that gentleman, it was devised to his second son, Vincent 
Hilton Biscoe, esq., who held it in 1808. From him it was purchased, 
as was also the Hall estate, by their present owner, Sir William Weller 
Pepys, bart. 

The Manor of Broadham, situated nearly in the centre of the 
parish, anciently belonged to the abbey of Battle. It was granted, 
with Limpsfield, in 1539, to Sir John Gresham ; 3 from whom it de- 
scended to his eldest son, William, in 1557. "In a rental of Oxted, 
in 1568, William Gresham is said to hold this manor, and that there 
were three hundred acres in demesne."' From him it passed, with 
the Titsey estate, to Sir Marmaduke Gresham, (son of Sir Edward 
Gresham, by his second wife), who represented East Grinstead in 

3 Sir John Gresham was descended from an ancient family settled at Norfolk so far 
back as the time of Edward the Third. He was the third son of John Gresham, of Holt 
in that county, by Alice, daughter and heiress of Andrew Blyke. He was an eminent 
merchant in London. His elder brother, Sir Richard, also a merchant, was the father of 
Sir Thomas Gresham, who built the Royal Exchange, and founded Gresham College. Sir 
John was sheriff of London in 1537, and lord-mayor in 1547 ; in both of which offices 
his brother, Sir Richard, had preceded him a few years. He died on the 23rd of October, 
1557, seised of the manors of Titsey, Limpsfield, Broadham, Oxted, Warlingham (with 
the rectory), Sanderstead, and the Burgh of Langhurst, Rowholt, and Woldingham ; 
leaving William his son and heir, aged thirty-four. This "William had issue, two sons, 
William and Thomas, and three daughters; and, by will dated October 20th, 1575, he 
devised the manors of Titsey and Limpsfield, with other estates, to his wife Beatrice, for 
her life ; with remainder to his younger son, Thomas Gresham, to whom he gave estates 
in Limpsfield and other places. William, the eldest son and heir at law, had only one 
child, named Elizabeth. By deed, dated February 20th, 1593, he ratified the will of his 
father ; by which Titsey, Limpsfield, and other estates, were given to his younger brother, 
Thomas. Elizabeth, the daughter of William, died without issue. Thomas, her brother, 
was knighted ; and was succeeded by his son John, who was also knighted, and who, by 
a deed dated November the 13th, 1630, is described as his second son, though no elder 
son is named. John died in 1643; and, leaving no issue, his brother Edward, mentioned 
as his third son, succeeded to his estates. 

The first Sir John Gresham mentioned in this note, founded a free-school at Holt, in 
Norfolk ; gave to every Ward of the city of London 10/. to be distributed amongst the 
poor; to one hundred and twenty poor men and women, each three yards of broad cloth, 
at eight or nine shillings a yard, made into gowns ; and to maids' marriages, aud hospitals 
in London, he gave 200/. From Stow's account of his splendid and costly funeral, it 
appears that he died a Roman Catholic. "A sermon," observes that writer, "was 
preached by Mr. Harpsfield, archdeacon of Canterbury ; and after it all the company 
came home to as great a dinner as had been seen for a fish-day, in which nothing Mas 
lacking for all that came. He was buried in St. Michael Bassishan church, London, 
where an ancient marble is in the south aisle of the quire." — See Manning and Bray's 
Sukrey, vol. ii. p. 402. For further particulars of the Gresham family, see the account 
of Titsey, in this volume. 

1 Vide Manning and Bray's SuBBJET, vol. ii. p. 387. 



174 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

parliament in 1660, and was created a baronet in the same year. 5 Sir 
Marmaduke, by his will, dated January 14th, 1695, devised this 
manor, with that of Tatsfield, and various other property, to his son 
Charles, and his daughter Alice, on trust to raise money to pay his 
debts and legacies ; and subject thereto, he gave the same to them 
and their heirs, as joint tenants. Having sold Lusted-farm, (which 
proved sufficient to pay off all incumbrances), to Roger Glover, they, 
in 1711, made a partition of what remained: Sir Charles taking the 
Tatsfield estate as his share ; and his sister, Alice, the manor of Broad- 
ham, a farm in Oxted called diaries or Charges, and the rectory or 
parsonage of Stonegrave (alias Edon-bridge) in Kent. Alice Gresham, 
dying unmarried, devised her estates to her brother, William Gres- 
ham, esq.; who, in 1718, conveyed the manor of Broadham, the 
Charges farm, &c, to John Blundell, of Godstone. Through the 
intestacy of one of Mr. BlundelPs successors, the property of the 
manor became divided into two thirds and two sixths ; one sixth of 
which was purchased of John Bedford, esq. of Reigate, by Mr. Wm. 
Bryant, in 1796; the remaining five sixths having, partly by devise 
and partly by purchase, become vested in the late Admiral Sir Richard 
Hughes, bart. ; 6 on whose death, Mr. Bryant became possessed of the 
whole, but subsequently surrendered it to the executors of the duke 
of Norfolk, who had a mortgage on it; and from them, it was pur- 
chased by Colonel Clayton. After his death, it was sold to Edward 
Kelsey, esq., the present owner. 

The Manor of Foyle, (Foyllye, or Fuyllye), was, in 1362, granted 
by John de Watesham to Wm. de Staffhurst; two of whose daughters, 
Margaret and Catherine, appear to have been married to John 
Marchant and William Marchant. In 1401, the said John Marchant 
granted to Stephen At-Lee and Simon Dane all such lands as de- 
scended to him on the death of Dionysia Parker, his mother, and 
such lands in Okested as he stood possessed of by feoffment in 
Stalkynden. In 1420, At-Lee and Dane granted to Sir John Gayns- 
ford and others, in trust for him, all lands, rents, and services, &c, in 
Okested called la Foyle. In 1424, all the parties except Gaynsford 
re-conveyed to At-Lee ; and, two years afterwards, Gaynsford con- 
veyed to him, reserving a road to his mill at Crowhurst, and a rent of 
twenty-two shillings. In April, 1608, Thomas, earl of Dorset, died 
seised of the manor of Foyle in Okested, Godstone, Lingfield, and 
Tanrige. 7 It afterwards belonged to Anthony Farindon, esq., of Ling- 

5 See the account of Titsey. 

6 See Manning and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. p. 388. — Edward Hughes Ball Hughes, esq., 
the proprietor of Oatlands in this county, (vide vol. ii. p. 385, et seq., of the present 
work), is the nephew and heir of the late Admiral Sir Richard Hughes, bart. 

7 Inqois. post Mortem. ; 5 Sept. ; 7 James the First. 



MANOR OF STOKETTS. — HECTORS OF OXTED. 175 

field ; whose son, James, sold it to Thomas Streatfield, of Stone-hall, 
in Oxted; who left it to his widow, during her life. By her, con- 
jointly with Henry Streatfield, esq., of Chiddington in Kent, the next 
heir, it was sold to John Wells, esq., a banker, of Wigmore, near 
Bromley. On Mr. Wells's bankruptcy, in 1841, it was again sold; 
William Leveson Gower, esq., of Titsey, being the purchaser. 

Of the manor, or reputed manor of Stoketts, little appears to 
be known. In 1345, John Stoket granted land to Sir Robert Stan- 
grave and Dame Joan his wife, lying between their wood on one 
part, and the abbot of Battle's land on the other. In the following 
year, " Roger at Stoket, son and heir of John, was in ward to the 
lord of the manor of Okested ; and the bailiff charges, as paid for his 
commons going to school, 10c?. a week for 30 weeks (seven weeks being 
deducted when he was at Sterborough), and lie?, paid for cloth for one 
pair of hose, and Id. for sewing, and lOd. for two pair of shoes." 
John Stoket's daughter and heir, Dionese, left three daughters and 
coheirs, who married, respectively, John Gens, John Ounsted, and 
William Banaster. Banaster appears to have parted with his third. 
In 1577, William Causten held one third; James Gens, one third, 
(i.e. the manor-house and thirty-four acres) ; and John Ounsted, the 
other third. Causten's part continued in his descendant, William, of 
the fourth generation, in 1690. 9 

Stone-hall, a seat in this parish, was purchased, after the death of 
Col. Clayton, by its present owner and occupier, Edward Kelsey, esq. 

Amongst other seats, &c, may be mentioned Perrysjield, a hand- 
some modern mansion, the residence of Charles M' Niven, esq., by 
whom it was purchased of Joseph Wilks, esq. ; — Oxted Cottage, the 
residence of Henry Norman, esq.; — East-hill, of the Rev. — . Wilkin- 
son ; — and Woodhurst, of Col. Robert Martin Leake. 

Oxted is a Rectory in the deanery of Ewell ; rated in the Valor of 
Edward the First, at 161. Is. 4d. ; in the Liber Regis, at 24/. 6s. O^d. ; 
paying 2s. Id. for synodals, and 6s. 8d. for procurations. Patron, 
C. L. H. Master, esq. 

Rectors of Oxted in and since 1800: — 

Thomas Thorp. Instituted February the 17th, 1794. 
W. Master Pyne, M.A. Instituted January 19th, 1827, after 
the death of Thomas Thorp. 

Oxted Church, dedicated to the Virgin Mary, is situated about half 
a mile from the street of the village, on the top of one of those 

s Manning and l.ray, Si'kkf.y, vol. ii. p. 389. 

" This family has been long lure, ami of some note ever Bince tin.' Reformation." — 

Manning and Bray, SUBRET, vol. ii. p. 391. 



176 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

beautiful knolls with which this part of the country abounds. It is 
built of stone, with a tiled roof; having, at the west end, a large low 
tower, surmounted by a turret containing five bells. It has a nave, 
a chancel, and a north and a south aisle, separated from the nave by 
columns supporting three obtuse-pointed arches on each side. Tradi- 
tion states, that the chancel was injured by lightning a little previously 
to the year 1637, which date (over the east window) records a restora- 
tion; but, from the following entry, copied from the parish register, 
the church appears to have been more severely visited in 1719: — 
"Oxted church and chancel was burnt by a great tempest of lightning 
July 17th, 1719. The fire began about one o'clock in the morning, 
in the top of the spire, and melted the five bells." — " The present five 
bells were hung, and first rung in peal, on the 5th Nov. 1729." The 
first, second, third, and fourth, bear this inscription : — 

Ricardds Phelps me fecit, 1729 : 

Ab Omni Furgure defenda nos Domine. 

The fifth is thus inscribed : — 

Good Folks with one accord 
We call to hear God's Word 
We honour to the King 
Joy to Brides do sing 
We Triumphs loudly tell 
And Ring your last Farewell. 

After the second fire, a wooden-framed window was placed in the 
chancel ; two similar windows in the south aisle ; and two in the north 
aisle. The east window, and those in the north aisle, were taken out 
in 1838 ; and the present handsome ones, presented to the church by 
the rector, placed in their stead. At the same time, C. L. H. Master, 
esq., presented one for the south aisle ; and the expense of another 
was defrayed by a subscription of the parishioners. The east window 
is pointed, and consists of four principal lights, with ten small orna- 
mental compartments above. In the upper lights, the painted glass 
is very tastefully arranged. It represents the Virgin and Child ; Our 
Saviour ; female figures ; an eagle ; a griffin, and other heraldic 
devices. In the upper compartments of the windows of the south 
aisle, are several pretty specimens of modern painted glass, in small 
panes. Most of the windows are pointed. 

The entrance is by the south porch ; on the right of which is a sun- 
dial, re-erected in 1815. The interior of the church is now one of 
the most pleasing and respectable in this part of the county. The 
chancel is lined with polished oak, to the height of six feet ; and the 
fronts of the galleries are also of polished oak. In the west-end 



MONUMENTS IN OXTED CHURCH. 177 

gallery is a handsome organ, erected by Brycesori in 1838. The pews 
are all of wainscot, and in excellent preservation. The pulpit, with 
its sounding-board, against the wall at the east end of the nave, is 
hexagonal, and of plain oak, about the date of 1720. The font is a 
small square stone basin, supported by a cylindrical pillar. The 
vestry, entered from the chancel, is at the east end of the north aisle. 
Against the north wall is a large painting of the royal arms, of the 
time of Queen Anne ; and below, in compartments, the Lord's Prayer 
and the Creed : on the right and left of the altar are the Ten Com- 
mandments. The number of sittings is about five hundred; the 
whole of which, excepting the rectory pew, and the pew belonging to 
the patron of the living, are free. 

There are numerous hatchments in the chancel, and also in the 
aisles, in memory of deceased parishioners. 

The number of monuments in this church, particularly of the 
Hoskins family, long lords of the manor, is unusually large. 

At the west end of the south aisle is a plain marble slab, thus 

inscribed : — 

Hie jacet Edmundds Hoskins, filius secundo-genitus Caroli Hoskins de Oxted 
in Comit. Surriae, armigeri ; natus est xii° Februar. an'o salutis MDcxxxiin , 
mortuus x° denatus xii° Junii mdclxxvi . Non sine ingenti animi mcerore sensit 
se ab irato patre quasi exhscredatum ; noluit igitur inter familise cineres sepeliri 
sed hunc semotum requiescendi elegit locum. M. H. charissimo conjugi 
mcDStissima conjux. F. C. 

On a large blue grave-stone in the chancel, is an inscription to the 

memory of Ann, twenty-five years wife of Charles Hoskins, esq., 

daughter of William Hale, who died December the 22nd, 1651, aged 

forty-two. Below : — 

LET THIS 

PATTERNE OF PIETY 

MAPP OF MISERY 

MIRROVR OF PATIENCE 

HERE REST. 

On the north wall of the chancel, over the entrance to the vestry, 

is a small white-marble tablet, representing a curtain, supported by an 

angel, with this inscription to the memory of another lady of the 

Hoskins family : — 

Let those of after-ages know, 
This virtuous woman here below 
Was stable in religion, pious in life, 
A charitable creature, and humble wife ; 
In her afflictions dolorous and many. 
Her patience scarce!] parallel'd by anj ; 
< >f perfect happiness slic could not miss, 
l,ed by such graces to eternal] bliase. 

VOL. I\ . AA 



178 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

A brass-plate, with the figures of two youths, and the following 
quaint inscription in capitals, within the altar-rails, is now partially 
covered : — 

Here lyeth enterred the body of Thomas Hoskins, Gent, second sonne of 
Sir Thomas Hoskins, Knight, who deceased y e 10th day of Aprill A D'ni 1611, 
at y e age of 5 yeares, who aboute a quarter of an houre before his departure did 
of himself, without any instruction, speak thos wordes, ' and leade us not into 
temptation, but deliver us from all evill,' being the last wordes he spake. 

Between the windows, against the south wall of the chancel, is a 
handsome tablet of veined marble, with a pediment, and the armorial 
bearings emblazoned, to the memory of William Finch, esq., son of 
the Hon. William Finch of the Inner Temple, who died December 
the 12th, 1728, aged forty-seven. Also, of the Hon. Anne Finch, his 
mother ; and of Mrs. Esther Finch, spinster, his sister. 

On the north wall of the chancel, on a brass-plate, gilt, and en- 
chased in white marble, is the following inscription : — 

Radulphus Rand, Theologo Iatros, Concionator Orthodoxus, istius Ecclesise 
Pastor vigilantissimus, (anima triumphante) corpore expectat adventum Domini, 
in plenam utriusque partis gloriam. Tabernaculum deposuit die xix mensis 
Febr. anno Christogeniae, 1648, setatis suae a duplici climacterico liiii. viz. a 
nativitate octogesimo octavo. Nee omnia, nee omnes mihi placuere ; sed quibus 
veritate approbante, virtute persuadente, amicitia invita'te, addictus fui. 

On a plain stone in the floor of the chancel : — 

Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Utrick Fetherstonhaugh, 42 years 
Rector of this Parish. Ob. 26 Dec. 1738, aged 70 years. 

On a brass-plate (now partly covered) in the middle of the chancel, 
under the representation of a man, standing, and holding his hands 
joined as in prayer : — 

l?u jacet Johannes ^uge, qnonUam Bettor huj's tccl'tc qui ofattt xij° tile mens' 
Sulit anno ©'nt mill'o ctcaxinii tujus a't'e p'pittetur 3B's. 'amen. 

Another brass-plate, mentioned by Manning and Bray, 10 as bearing 
the portraiture of a lady, standing, in the same devout posture, has 
been removed, or it is covered. Over her, in an escutcheon, were the 
cross, nails, pillar, ladder, and other instruments of Christ's passion ; 
and beneath, were two children, with the inscription here subjoined: — 

Orate pro anima Johanne Haseldenn, que obiit xxj° die mensis Octobris 
anno Domini miU'imo cccc octoagesimo cujus anime p'p'cietur Deus. Amen. 

On the north wall is a monument, in colours, much faded, repre- 
senting, under an arch, the figures of a man in a gown and his wife ; 
both in black, and praying before a fald-stool. Beneath these figures 

10 Surrey, vol. ii. p. 390. 



MEMORIALS IN OXTED CHUBGH-YABD. 179 

arc their ten sons and seven daughters, in a similar posture ; and over 
them, in capitals, this inscription: — 

Joh\ Aldersey, haberdasher and merchant venturor of London, being son of 
John Aldersey of Bunbery in y e County of Chester, gent. dep. y 8 lyfe y c 26 day 
of July a 1616, being of the age of 75 years, and having lived w th his wife Anna 
in the holy /Estate of matrimony 46 years, and had issue 17 children. 

In the Church-yard, on a brass-plate against, the iron rails of an 
inclosed tomb under the east window, is the following brief record: — 

Here lyeth the body of John Hoskins, Esq. late of Red Lyon Square, London, 
who dyed May 16, 1717, in the 77th year of his age." 

Facing the first north window westward from the chancel, is a 
railed-in burial-place, with the annexed inscription, neatly engraven 
on a brass-plate, and fixed against the rails on the west side : — 

"Within this Vault is deposited the Mortal Part of Robert Martin Leake, 
Esq. of Woodhurst in this Parish, formerly Senior Registrar of the High Court 
of Chancery & since Master of the Report Office in that Court. He was the 
fifth son of Stephen Martin Leake, of Thorpe Hall in the County of Essex, 
& Mile End in the County of Middlesex, Esq., Garter Principal King of Arms, 
by Ann, daughter of Fletcher Powell, formerly of New Radnor in Wales, & 
afterwards of Marshalls in the County of Herts, Esq. Born the third day of 
September 1749, Old Style. He departed this life on the 9th day of February 
1833, in the 84th Year of his age. 

Here also are interred the Remains of Elizabeth Martin Leake, his Wife, who 
died on the 24th day of June 1831, in the 73d Year of her age. 

In another railed-in burial-place, on the west side of the south 
porch, is a large brass-plate, handsomely engraven, to the memory of 
Lieut.-Col. Fkancis Bellis, who died January the 23rd, 1824, aged 
seventy-two ; — of Susannah his wife, who died September 8th, 1842, 
aged sixty-three; — and of others of the family. There is a yew tree 
near the west end of the church. 

The Register of this parish commences in 1603, for burials; but 
for baptisms and marriages, not until 1613; where there is a note, 
(signed "Daniel Bellamy, rector"), stating that the marriages had 
occupied four leaves, the christenings twenty-five leaves, and the 
burials eighteen leaves, in a pre-existing register. From 1613, down- 
wards, the register is perfect, excepting the years 1683 to 1600, and 
from 1700 to 1704, inclusive. These portions, it is stated in the 
register, were lost by a Mr. Shepherd." The register contains entries 
of several marriages performed by Justices of the peace timing the 
Commonwealth. In an inventory of goods belonging to Oxted church, 

" This gentleman's only daughter ami heiress, Catherine, became wife of William, 
third duke of Devonshire; by whom .she had four suns ami three daughters. 

'-' The Rev. John Shepherd, M.A., was instituted i<> the rector; on the 16th of 
September, 1681 ; and was mho id. d by the Hev. 1>\mi.i. I!i:u,nn, August 29th, I7u.">. 

LA 2 



180 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

is recorded the following gift of the duchess of Devonshire, who 
appears to have resided in the parish about the year 1750; viz. — two 
large silver flagons, a silver cup and cover, a large embossed silver 
dish, and a silver plate. 

The recorded Benefactions to the poor of Oxted are, in substance, 
as follow : — 

1627. Henry Smith, esq., 15?. annually, arising from the rent of a farm at Worth, in 
Sussex. 

1786. Mrs. Jane Linwood, 100/. ; part of which was laid out in the purchase of 100/. 
stock, and producing 3/. annually. 

1794. Mrs. Jane Piggott, 150/. invested in the 3£ per cents., and producing 5/. 5s. 
annually. 

1830. Lady Bcnsley, by will, 50?.; the whole of which was distributed in clothing, by 
an order of the vestry. 

1834. Mr. William Peters, the interest of 200/. stock, in the 3 per cents., producing 
annually 6/. ; to be distributed amongst poor resident widows not receiving parochial 
relief. 

TANDRIDGE. 

This parish is bounded by that of Godstone, on the west and north- 
west ; by Crowhurst, on the south ; and by Oxted and Limpsfield, on 
the north and east. In the middle of the parish the land is sandy, 
with clay on the north and south. 

Two manors here are thus described in the Domesday book : — 

" The Wife of Salie holdes of Richard (de Tonbridge) the manor of Tanrige, which 
Torbern held of King Edward. It was then assessed at 10 hides : now, at 2 hides. There 
are 10 carucates of arable land. In demesne are 3 carucates ; and there are 20 villains, 
and 10 bordars, with 11 carucates. There is a mill, at 50 pence ; and 8 acres of meadow. 
The wood yields forty hogs for pannage ; and eleven for herbage. In the time of King 
Edward it was valued at 6 pounds ; afterwards, at 40 shillings ; and now, at 11 pounds. 

" The Wife of Salie also holds of Richard, Tellingdone. Alnoth held it of King 
Edward; and it was then assessed at 10 hides: now, at 1^ hides. The arable land 
amounts to 4 carucates. In the demesne are 2 carucates ; and five villains, and eight 
bondmen, with 2k carucates. There is a Church. The wood yields forty hogs for 
pannage. In the time of King Edward it was valued at 7 pounds; afterwards, at 3 
pounds ; now, at 6 pounds, yet it yields 7 pounds." 

Odo, the son of William de Dammartin, appears to have held the 
manor of Tandridge at an early period ; and in the Testa de Nevill it 
is stated, that Alicia de Dammartin, (probably a daughter or grand- 
daughter of Odo), held one knight's fee in Tanrugge, of the Honour 
of Gloucester, in the reign of Henry the Third. In 1315 the estate 
had passed, apparently by marriage with the heiress of Dammartin, to 
the family of Warblentone ; in which it remained vested until the time 
of Edward the Fourth. Sir George Putnam, in 1509, held his courts 
as lord of the manor ; which was afterwards styled Tandridge Court, 
to distinguish it from another manor in the parish called Tandridge 
Priory. 



ACCOUNT OF THE MANORS OF TANDRIDGE. 181 

The manor of Tandridge Court descended from Sir George to 
Robert Putnam, who, in 1543, suffered a recovery of this manor, with 
three hundred acres of land, fifty of meadow, two hundred of pasture, 
sixty of wood, and 4/. rent. It was afterwards purchased by Thomas 
Bradshaw ; by whom it was transferred to Richard Bostock, who had 
previously become the owner of the Priory manor. In 1627, Edward 
Bostock Fuller, the grand nephew of Richard Bostock, levied a fine 
of the manor of Tandridge-court. This estate descended to Francis 
Bostock Fuller, serjeant-at-law, who held the Priory manor also, which 
he gave, by will, to his three daughters, and this to his son Francis, 
who sold it, in 1711, to Sir William Clayton. That gentleman died 
in 1744; and this and other estates which he had purchased of the 
Fuller family, were sold, under the authority of an act of parliament 
passed in 1766, to Sir Kenrick Clayton; whose son and heir, Sir 
Robert, bequeathed Tandridge-court to his cousin, Sir Wm. Clayton, 
who held it in 1808 ; but afterwards sold it to Matthias Wilks, esq. 
That gentleman erected a handsome residence on the estate, but left 
the old court-house standing ; and it is now in the occupation of some 
labourers. Mr. Wilks subsequently disposed of the property to Sir 
William Weller Pepys, bart., who resides in the new mansion. 

The Manor of Northall, or Tandridge Priory. — Odo de Dam- 
martin, who held the manor of Tanrige, which had belonged to 
Richard dc Tonbridge, and who is supposed to have been the founder 
of the hospital or priory of Tandridge, endowed that institution with 
part of his estate here, which subsequently constituted the Priory 
manor. It fell into the hands of the king on the suppression of the 
monastery, and, together with the other monastic estates, it was given 
by Henry the Eighth to John Rede, in exchange for Oatlands. 1 John 
Rede, son and heir of the preceding, in 1576, conveyed to Richard 
Bostock his manor of Tanrige (alias Northall), and Oxted, &c, which 
afterwards passed to the family of Fuller, and was bought of the 
daughters of Serjeant Fuller, by Sir William Clayton, who had pur- 
chased the Tandridge-court estate also. The subsequent descent of 
these manors to Sir Robert Clayton has been already noticed. He 
conveyed, during his life, the manor (or reputed) manor of Northall, 
with the priory-farm, to Mr. Robert Graeme, the son of his steward, 
as a reward for his services. 8 It is now in the occupation of Capt. 
Robert Welbank. 

Tillingdon. — Though, at the time of the Domesday survey, 

Tillingdon was a manor which included about one halt* of the 

parish, it has long since been divested of its manorial attributes, and 

1 See account of Oatlands, in Weybridge, vol. ii. p. 382, et seq. 
- Sw p. 136, of the presen.1 volume! under Godstone. 



182 HISTORY OF SURREY, TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

has dwindled to a single farm. It appears that in the reign of Edward 
the First, Tillingdon belonged to Thomas de Warblentone, or War- 
bleton, who also held Tandridge-court ; and he sold the lands and 
tenements of Tillingdonne to Gilbert de Clare, earl of Gloucester; 
whose ancestor, Richard de Tonbridge, had been lord of the fee. 

This manor descended, with the estate of the earl of Gloucester at 
Blechingley, to the earls of Stafford; and through the attainder of 
Edward Stafford, duke of Buckingham, in the reign of Henry the 
Eighth, it escheated to the crown. Temporary grants were made to 
Sir Thomas Cawarden and other persons, at different times ; and at 
length, in the time of Charles the First, this manor formed part of 
the estate of George Evelyn, esq. Tillingdon afterwards came into 
the possession of Sir John Evelyn, of Godstone ; who, by will dated 
in 1671, devised this estate, with others, to one Mary Gittings, by 
whom he had a daughter, not born in wedlock. This woman sold the 
property to Sir Robert Clayton and John Morris, esq. ; and Tillingdon 
fell to the share of the former ; in whose descendant, Sir William 
Robert Clayton, the present baronet, who holds nearly the whole 
property of the parish, it still remains. 

The Manor of Newland (or Newlands), partly in this parish, and 
partly in Crowhurst, Lingfield, &c, formerly was included among the 
estates of the family of Gaynsford; and in 1554, it was vested in John 
Gaynsford, an idiot, with other lands and tenements, as mentioned in 
the account of Crowhurst. 3 In 1608, Thomas Thorp died seised of 
Newlands, in the parish of Tandridge, held of the manor of Okested, 
leaving Richard his son and heir, a minor. 

Tandridge Hall. — The mansion thus named, having been included 
in the grant from Henry the Eighth to John Rede, was sold to one 
of the family of Haward; and in 1649, it came into the hands of Sir 
William Haward ; whose representatives, in 1681, sold this, with other 
estates, to John Burrough, esq. After other transfers, it was pur- 
chased, together with the manor of Garston in Blechingley, by the 
lady of Sir Kenrick Clayton ; and in 1808, it belonged to Sir William 
Clayton, bart. From that gentleman it was purchased by Joseph 
Wilks, esq., who converted the old farm-house into a residence for 
himself. More recently, it has undergone a thorough repair: it 
presents a handsome appearance ; and is now the property, by pur- 
chase, of John Pearson, esq. Many of the rooms are ancient, and 
appear to be nearly in their pristine state. One apartment is wains- 
coted throughout: over its carved mantel-piece is the date 1598; and 
on each side, are the initials of the Haward family. It is probable, 
that this mantel-piece, which is of a handsome character, formerly 

3 See ante, p. 125. 



HOOKS-NEST. — TANDRIDGE PRIORY. 183 

ornamented the dining-room, as that apartment is said to have been 
wainscoted previously to the time when Mr. Wilks effected his 
alterations. Mr. Wilks then heightened the dining-room; and is 
believed to have removed the panelling to a bed-room of suitable pro- 
portions. Fragments of carving, similar to that of the mantel-piece, 
are found in other parts of the house. 

Rooks-nest, a handsome mansion, situated in a well-wooded park of 
about one hundred and forty acres in extent, at the base of the chalk- 
hill, anciently belonged to the priory of Tandridge. It was sold by 
John Rede, the son of the grantee of the priory estates, to Richard 
Bostock ; and it afterwards belonged to the family of Roffe} 7 . Soon 
after 1711, it was purchased by Charles Boone, esq., who resided at 
Rooksnest ; and dying in 1735, left it to his son Daniel, who, in 1758, 
conveyed the estate to trustees for sale. John Cooke, esq., the pur- 
chaser, becoming a bankrupt, it was resold to Richard Becher, esq., 
who expended much money in improvements; and having involved 
himself in difficulties, the place was again sold, in 1781, to Col. George 
Clarke; who died in March, 1788, and left it (by will) to Henry 
Strachey, esq., who was created a baronet in 1801, and died on the 
3rd of January, 1810. It was purchased by Matthias Wilks, esq.; who 
resold it, in 1817, to Charles Hampden Turner, esq. This elegant 
residence adjoins that of Flower, in the adjoining parish of Godstone. 4 

The Priory of Tandridge. — This religious institution appears to 
have been at first an hospital for three priests and several poor 
brethren ; but it was afterwards regarded as a priory of Austin Canons. 
It is uncertain when it originated ; but in the reign of Richard the 
the First, Odo (or Eudes), the son of William de Dammartin, became 
a considerable benefactor to the priory, and has been generally looked 
upon as the founder. In 1352, Walter de Merstham, parson of Limps- 
field, had license to alienate lands and tenements in Tandridge and 
elsewhere to the prior and convent. It is stated in a rescript of the 
bishop of Winchester, dated in 1308, that the rents of the priory were 
hardly sufficient for the support of the officiating ministers. The 
following account of the manors, lands, tenements, and quit-tents, 
belonging to the priory of Tandridge, is given in the Valuation of 
Ecclesiastical Property by the king's commissioners in the 27th of 
Henry the Eighth : — 

Firm-rents in the parish of Tandridge, 47/. 3*. 1 \il. ; in Oxted, 1 1/. \2s. 3d, ; 
in Crowhurst, 8/.; in Godstone, 3/. 1 8.v. \d. ; in Rlechingley, 5/. 8*. ; in W arlijig- 
bam, 47. 13*. -id; in Chipsted, 16s.; in Ilartfield, Sussex, 4/. Is. S</. ; in Chid- 
dingstone, Kent. 7*. lOd, ; and in Long Sutton, Hants, 12*.: in all, S(j/. 7s. Bid, 
Reprisals or deductions, 7l. 10*. 1 1 :,''/.: — leaving a clear revenue of 78/. 16*. f. ■ '(/.•'■ 



* See, under Godstone, p. 136. ' Valor Ecclesiasticus, vol. ii. p. 68. 



184 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Priors of Tandridge : — 

Walter, appointed in June, 1306. 

Thomas de St. Albans, in June, 1309. 

Henry de Peckham, elected February the 10th, 1322-3. 

John Hansard, inducted in 1324, but in consequence of bad conduct, he was 

interdicted the administration of the affairs of the Priory, and Lawrence de 

Hustington was appointed his coadjutor. 
Philip de Wokyngham, appointed in 1335. 
John de Merstham, elected in 1341 : resigned in 1380, 
Richard French, died December the 9th, 1403. 
William Sonderesh, appointed in March, 1403-4. 

[Registers wanting from 1415 to 1446.] 
John Hammond, resigned in 1460. 
John Grannesden, elected in 1460 : resigned in 1463. 
John Odierne, appointed sub-prior by the Bishop : died in 1464. 
William West, appointed December the 22nd, 1464 : resigned in 1467. 
John Kirton, elected in April, 1467 : resigned in 1469. In the same year the 

sequestration was granted to Hugh Heghstall, or Hextall, rector of Blechingley. 
John Forster, was prior in 15**. 

Robert Michell. resigned February the 20th, 1524-5. 
John Lyngfield, elected February the 21st, 1524-5. 6 

The Priory was situated not far from the foot of the chalk-hill, at a 
spot where paving tiles have been found, but the conventual buildings 
have long since been destroyed. What is now called the Priory, is a 
respectable mansion, erected near the site of the ancient religious 
establishment. It was purchased by C. H. Turner, esq., at the same 
time as Rooksnest ; and is now in the occupation of Capt. Welbank, 
as noticed before. Joseph Wilks, esq., built a house in this neigh- 
bourhood, to which he gave the name of Southland : it now belongs 
to Sir William Weller Pepys, bart. ; but is occupied by Mrs. Trower. 

Tandridge is now a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of Sir 
William Robert Clayton, bart. In 1576, John Rede (mentioned in 
a preceding page) conveyed to Richard Bostock, esq., with the site 
and lands of the priory, the site of the then late church and church- 
yard of Tandridge, with the rectory and vicarage, &c. In 1603, 
Mr. Bostock settled the rectory and vicarage "on his nephew, Bostock 
Fuller, and his son Edward, directing that with all the tithes belonging 
to this Rectory, except of certain parts there mentioned, there should 
be for ever maintained a godly learned Curate or Minister to serve the 
Cure of the Rectory, and say Divine service, and administer the sacra- 
ments in the parish church of Tandridge, according to the laws of the 
Church of England ; and to teach the children of the inhabitants of 
Tandridge and Blechingley gratis. Unluckily for the Clergyman, a 
proviso was inserted, that, after Mr. Bostock's death, Mr. Bostock 
Fuller might revoke the uses of this deed, and declare them to himself 
6 Manuingand Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 377, 8. 



DESCRIPTION OF TANDRIDGE CHURCH. 185 

in ice; a power which Mr. Fuller did not forget to avail himself of; 
and the Clergyman who serves the Cure receives to this day 16/. only." 
At present, the stipend of the curate is mentioned at 80/. In 1711, 
Elizabeth, Anne, and Letitia Fuller, spinsters, conveyed to their 
nephew, Francis Fuller, their reversion in the rectory, and the tithes 
of certain lands in Tandridge ; he covenanting with them to find a 
proper person to serve the cure of the rectory, and to save harmless 
therefrom the lands and tithes devised by Serjeant Fuller to his 
daughter Elizabeth. 8 Subsequently, those ladies conveyed their 
interest to Sir William Clayton, the ancestor of the present baronet, 
by whom it is now enjoyed. — The Registers commence in the year 
1680. 

Curates of Tandridge in and since 1800: — 

John Waters, LL.B. Appointed in 1784 : died September 
the 17th, 1833. 

Henry Brown, his successor. Appointed April 12th, 1834: 
retired in 1839. 

Andrew Ramsay Campbell, the present curate. Appointed 
November the 1st, 1842. 
The Church, dedicated to St. Peter, occupies an elevated site in the 
manor of Tillingdon. It is small, built with stone, mostly covered 
with rough-cast, and presents a remarkably neat and fresh appearance. 
The south porch, and a southern projection from the chancel, forming 
the vestry, built about the year 1818, are richly mantled with ivy. 
Near the west end is a small wooden tower, with a shingled spire, and 
three bells. The church consists of a nave, chancel, and north 
transept, built in 1836, but is without aisles. 

Interiorly, the chancel is separated from the nave by a semi-circular 
arch. The transept has a neat pointed window, in three compartments, 
with five lights at the top. The east window is small: there is, also, a 
small window at the west end ; but no door. On the right of the 
entrance by the south porch, is a piscina, now inclosed in one of the 
pews. The pulpit, against the south wall, is hexagonal, of oak ; and, 
with the pews, is freshly painted as wainscot. The communion table, 
and a gallery at the west end, correspond in plainness and neatness. 
In front of the gallery, which contains a small organ, are the royal 
arms, carved in wood with much excellence. Over the vestry fire-place 
is an oak carving, from Tandridge Hall, and in the same style as the 
mantel-piece noticed in that mansion. It is in three compartments; 
flowers, scrolls, &c, occupying the north and the centre : and the 
south, what appears to be the head of a jester. Its age is, probably, 

7 Surrey, vol. ii. p. 376. N I < I - p. •'*77. 

VOL. iv. lili 



186 HISTORY OF SURREY, TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

that of the mantel-piece — 1598. Over the communion-table, and 
also over the vestry door, are shields of arms, of the Bostock and 
Fuller families. 

The font is octagonal, plain, massive, and ancient. The number of 
sittings is about two hundred. 

There are several grave-stones in the floor ; memorials of the 
Bostocks, Fullers, Wyatts, Saxbys, and others ; but no brasses. The 
only monument, is a white-marble tablet to the memory of the Rev. 
John Waters, nearly fifty years minister of this parish, who died 
September 17th, 1833, in the eightieth year of his age. 

In the north-east corner of the church-yard is a large table-tomb, 
recording the memory of Charles Hampden Turner, jun., esq., of 
Lee-place, Godstone, who died on the 23rd of September, 1842, in 
the fortieth year of his age. 

At the east end, is a range of four ancient table-tombs, (the second 
from the north much decayed, and the inscription illegible), for the 
Saxby and Wyatt families. One of them is for Margaret Wyatt 
Saxby, of Oxted, spinster, who died in 1738; another, for the second 
and third wives of William Wyatt, of whom, Ann died in 1747, aged 
fifty-eight, and Elizabeth in 1775, aged seventy-six; and a third, for 
Margaret, wife of William Saxby, esq., of Penshurst, and for himself, 
who died in 1775, in the eighty-fifth year of his age. 

At the west end, is a large decayed yew-tree, split into four or five 
parts, and in a state of rapid decay. At five feet from the ground, its 
circumference is nearly thirty feet. 

The following appear to be the only recorded charitable donations 
to this parish : — 

Henry Smith, esq., by will, an annual rent-charge of 4/. 10s., to be distributed in linen 
and woollen for clothes. 

Mr. David Maynard, by will, October 3rd, 1789, 3/. annually from land, to send poor 
children to school. 

CATERHAM. 

This parish is situated on the chalk-hill between Croydon and 
Godstone. It is bounded by Coulsdon, on the north, and the west; 
by Woldingham, on the east ; and by Godstone and Blechingley, on 
the south. The soil, towards the south, is a poor gravel ; about the 
village, there is a good black soil ; on the common, in some parts, is a 
thin layer of heath-mould (sometimes called peat), and towards the 
northern part, is a stiff loam or clay. 

Caterham, or Katerham, is one of four parishes on the hills, (Wold- 
ingham, Chelsham, Warlingham, and Caterham), which, observes Mr. 



CATERHAM, AND ITS SEVKHAL MANORS. 187 

Bray, 1 it is very difficult to explain from Domesday. Camden does 
not notice them. Bishop Gibson slightly mentions a camp on Bottle 
[Battle?] hill, which is in Chelsham, but without naming the parish ; 
and another at Caterham. Cough, in his " Additions to Camden/' 
says only that Bottle hill is in Chelsham, and that the camp at Kater- 
hain is near War-coppice. Aubrey says, that at War-coppice is a 
camp or fortification on the top of a hill, said to have been made 
against the Danes. That Caterham " has been the scene of some 
warlike operation is manifest from the fortified ground [here referred 
to] sometimes called the Cardinal's Cap, on the top of Whitehall, near 
a place called War-coppice, looking directly to Woodcote on the 
north, and overlooking Blechingley, Godstone, and all the country 
below to the south." 8 

The parish of Caterham contains about two thousand four hundred 
and sixty acres, viz. — arable land, 1462; meadow, 269; woodland, 
175 ; common pasture, 468 ; gardens, 12 ; and water and buildings, 74, 
The land is appropriated amongst the trustees of the late Charles 
Day, esq. ; Sir Wm. Robert Clayton, bart. ; William Hewetson, esq. ; 
W. Dyer, esq. ; and a few smaller owners. 

" The Roman road which came out of Sussex by Godstone (where 
is Stretton and Stansted-borough) passed through this parish; the 
name is preserved in Stane-street, or Stansted-heath, which is the first 
common after ascending Whitehill and passing a public house called 
the Harrow. This house and a small piece of land belonging to it is 
called in the title-deeds Stone-street, generally called Stoney-street." 3 

No manor occurs in the Domesday book under the designation of 

Caterham ; but Mr. Manning conjectured it to have been the 

anonymous manor thus described in that record : — 

" Robert de Watevile holds of Richard (de Tonbridge) a Manor, which Azor held of 
King Edward. It was then assessed at 14 hides : now at 2 hides. There are 4 carucates 
of arable land. In demesne are 2 carucates ; and there are eleven villains, and seven 
bordars, with 3 carucates. The wood yields five swine for pannage. There is ;i Church. 
In the time of King Edward, it was valued at 8 pounds, as at present : when received, at 
100 shillings." 

There were formerly considered to be two manors in this parish 
called Caterham; a manor, or reputed manor, Styled Salmons; and 
the lands of Porkele, Upwode, Galiere, and Halingbury. At present, 
only one manor is recognized. 

first Manor of Caterham. — In the reign of King John, the manor 
of Caterham, with the advowson of the church, was given by Everard 
lie Gaist to the abbot and convent of Walthain ; who, in the 37th of 
Henry the Third, obtained a grant of the right of free-warren in 

' Manning, Subset, vol. ii. p. 415. Id. vol. ii. p. 434 ' ibid. 

mi 2 



188 HISTORY OF SURREY. TAND RIDGE HUNDRED. 

Katerham, which was confirmed by charter of Richard the Second, in 
1389. 4 After the dissolution of the monastery, this manor falling into 
the hands of the king, he conveyed it, by patent dated July 10th, 
1545, to William Saville, esq., together with the rectory, the advowson 
of the vicarage, and a farm at Chaldon which had belonged to the 
abbot of Waltham. This estate was sold by the grantee to Robert 
Hartop, citizen and goldsmith of London ; and it having descended 
to John Hartop, of Kingston-on-Thames, he conveyed it to George 
Evelyn, esq., of Godstone, in 1608. He settled a moiety of the 
impropriate rectory on the vicar of Caterham, and his successors ; and, 
dying about 1636, was succeeded by his son, Sir John Evelyn, knt. ; 
who sold this, with certain estates at Windlesham and Chobham, to 
James Lynch, of White Parish, Wilts; whose grand-daughter trans- 
ferred it to the family of her husband, Robert Hussey; and his 
descendant, of the same name, in 1699, sold the property to George 
Roffey, gent. It passed, through a contingent remainder in his will, 
to George Roffey, a laceman in London ; by whom the advowson was 
sold, in 1764, to the Rev. Joseph Hodgkin, and the manor of Cater- 
ham, and farm at Chaldon, in 1778, to Mr. Matthew Robinson, of 
Charterhouse-square, London. In 1780, the estate was purchased by 
a Mr. Hewetson; 5 from whom it descended to his nephew, Henry 
Hewetson, esq. The latter gentleman is believed to have laid claim 
to the lordship of the manor. William Hewetson, esq., the nephew 
of Henry Hewetson, esq., succeeded to the estate six or eight years 
ago ; but he is not considered to hold the manor. 

Second Manor of Caterham. — It appears from the Inquisitiones 
post Mortem, that in the 3rd of Edward the First, Sir John Haunsard 
died seised of "a manor of Katerham, held of the Honour of Banstead;" 
and in the 29th of the same reign, Hamo de Gatton and Margery his 
wife held a tenement and one carucate of land in Caterham. But 
whether both, or either, of these notices refer to this manor is 
uncertain. In 1511, it belonged to Richard Best; and from the 14th 
to the 34th of Elizabeth, William Richbell was lord of the manor. 
In 1607, it was held by William Jordan, esq., of Gatwick; and it 
remained in the possession of his family, at least, till 1703. Sir Isaac 
Shard, knt., 8 afterwards purchased it, and held his first manorial court 
in 1726: by his successor, William Shard, esq., it was sold, in 1793, 
to Thomas Clarke, esq., lord of the manor in 1808.' 

The superiority of the manor of Caterham long pertained to the 

4 Vide Calend. Rotcl. Chartar. p. 78. 

5 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 434, 5. 

,; See Nichols' Biographical Anecdotes of Hogarth, p. 59. 
' Manning, &c. u. a. pp. 435, 6. 



THE SEVERAL MANORS OF CATERHAM. 18 ( J 

descendants, or representatives, of Richard de Tonbridge. Ralph, 
earl Stafford, who married one of the coheiresses of Gilbert de Clare, 
earl of Gloucester, died in 1373, seised, inter alia, of the fee of Cater- 
ham, and Porkele in Caterham parish ; and in the 38th of Henry the 
Sixth, Humphrey Stafford, duke of Buckingham, died seised of the 
same estates, pertaining to the Honour of Clare. Edward Stafford, 
duke of Buckingham, in the reign of Henry the Eighth, was the last 
of his family who held the Caterham property ; and after his attainder, 
in 1521, his estates escheating to the crown, the lands of Porteley, 
Upwode, Halyngbury, and Gater3, in Caterham, were granted by 
Henry the Eighth to Sir John Bourchier, lord Berners. He died in 
1532, and those lands reverted to the king, but in what manner is 
uncertain. They came, at length, into the possession of Sir Isaac 
Shard ; and were sold by William Shard, with the manor of Caterham, 
to the above-named Mr. Clarke, 8 who held it in 1808. The manor 
was subsequently sold by that gentleman to Charles Day, esq. ; who 
is now dead, and the whole of his property is in Chancery. 

The mansion near the church, called Caterham-court Lodge, with 
about four hundred acres of demesne land, anciently belonged to one 
of the manors ; from which, however, it was separated many years 
ago, and purchased by Mr. Henry Rowed; whose grand-daughter, 
Katherine Rowed, held the estate in 1808. At a later date, it was 
bought by Charles Day, esq. ; and is now in Chancery with the rest 
of that gentleman's property. It is in the occupation of R. Simpson, 
esq., as lessee. 

The reputed manor of Salmons, consisting of a mansion and farm, 
belonged, in the reign of Edward the Third, to Roger Saleman ; from 
whose family it, apparently, derived its appellation. In 1605, this 
estate was the property of William Jordan, of Gatwick ; and more 
recently, of Mr. Richard Rowed ; whose nephew, Henry Rowed, a 
lieutenant in the navy, held it in 1808. This estate, also, was pur- 
chased by Charles Day, esq. 

Manor Cottage, by the side of the Godstonc road, nearly opposite 
the entrance to Marden park, belongs to the Day estate ; but is rented 
by Henry Aglionby Aglionby, esq., M.P. 

Some land, which belonged to St. Thomas's hospital, Southwark, 
now forms part of a farm called Stansted, or Fryern, in this parish, 
Chaldon, and Coulsdon. 9 The abbey of Chertsey, also, had land in 
this parish belonging to its estate in Coulsdon. The monastery of 
Leeds, in Kent, had a grant of a fair in Caterham, 13th Edward the 
First. 

8 Manning, &c. u. a. |>. 136 Sec page 33 of ilii^ volume. 



190 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Rectory and Advowson of the Vicarage. — It has been seen that, in 
the reign of King John, the advowson of the church was given, with 
the manor, by Everard de Gaist to the abbot and convent of Waltham; 
that the rectory and advowson of the vicarage went with the manor 
till one of the Evelyn family settled a moiety of the great tithes on 
the vicar and his successors, by whom they have been ever since 
enjoyed ; that the advowson went with the manor till it was separated 
by the children of the second George Roffey ; and that they sold it 
to the Rev. Joseph Hodgkin in 1764. Of that gentleman it was 
purchased by Mr. Solomon Hesse ; who gave it to his grandson, the 
Rev. James Legrew ; in whose family it remains. Patron, the Rev. 
James Legrew. 

Rectors of Caterham in and since 1800 : — 

Charles Hodgkin. Instituted February 1st, 1776. 
James Legrew. Instituted on the 20th of July, 1831. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Lawrence, is a low structure, of stone 
and flint, repaired some years ago with brick, and now neatly stuccoed 
on the east end and south side ; the remainder is rough-cast. The 
roof, now tiled, appears to have been originally covered with Horsham 
slate, of which there are some slight remains. At the west end is a 
wooden belfry, containing two bells. The entrance is by the south 
porch. The building consists of a chancel, nave, and north aisle ; the 
nave and aisle are separated by two pointed arches supported by a 
round pillar. The chancel, ascended by three steps, is separated from 
the nave, and also from the aisle, by a similar arch. 

The pulpit is octagonal, and, with its sounding-board, is fixed 
against the north wall : the pulpit and reading-desk are painted in 
imitation of oak. The pews are old ; partly of oak, but chiefly of 
fir : the number of sittings is about two hundred and fifty. At the 
west end of the nave is a small singing-gallery. A compact vestry 
has been formed by an apparently modern projection from the north. 
The font, very old and rude, is a large circular stone basin, supported 
by a central pillar and four smaller ones. 

Against the south wall of the church are three small brackets, in- 
tended, probably, for the support of images ; the base of the eastern- 
most bracket rests on some remains of old carving. 

On the north wall of the chancel, deeply cut in the stone, is a cross, 
with remains of antique letters. In the south wall, immediately 
opposite, a small stone is inserted, with a rude inscription, indicating 
the burial-place of " John Lambert, yeoman of His Ma ties Chamber, 
who departed this life the 11th day of Aprill, anno Domini 1647." 
In the floor are memorials of former rectors : Joseph Guibert, or 



CHURCH OF CATERHAM. — CHELSHAM. 191 

Cuthbert, died in 17G9, aged sixty-five; and John Jones, who died 
in 1 770, aged seventy-six. 

Against the north wall of the chancel, is a chaste and elegant 
white-marble monument, representing, within a pointed arch, a female 
in full relief, with a book placed before her, and in the attitude of 
prayer. Inscribed on the pages of the book are the words — " Thy 
will be done." On a panel, or tablet, beneath, is an inscription as 
follows: — 

Sacred to the Memory of Elizabeth, the beloved wife of the Rev. James 
Legrew, A.M., Rector of this Parish. She was born at Wetherden, in the 
County of Suffolk, on the 16th of January, 1771 ; and expired at Ramsgate after 
a lingering illness, on the 6th of September, 1825, supported by the hope of a 
joyful resurrection through the merits of her Redeemer. 

" Blessed are the dead ivhich die in the Lord." 

Against the south wall of the aisle, a small white-marble tablet 
records the memory of Mr. William Bull, who died May the 10th, 
1823, aged sixty-six; and of Mary his wife, who died August the 
28th, 1809, aged forty-three. 

In the church-yard is the enrailed burial-place of the family just 
mentioned; and another for the Simpson family, of Caterham-court 
Lodge. 

Opposite the south porch, is an ancient yew-tree, much decayed, 
and overrun with ivy on the north side. More to the east, is one of 
younger growth. 

Donation to the parish of Caterham : — 

Henry Smith, esq., by two deeds confirmed by will, October 20th, 1620 ; January 20th, 
1626 ; and April 24th, 1627 ; 3/. annually from land, for the relief of aged poor or infirm 
people ; married persons with more children than they can maintain ; orphans, &c The 
property is vested in between thirty and forty noblemen and gentlemen ; who, when 
reduced to six, have others added to them by the Archbishop of Canterbury and the 
Lord-chancellor. 

At the end of the village street, on the edge of the common, is " a 
School for the Improvement of Children," which was built by Thomas 
Clarke, esq., lord of one of the manors of Caterham, about forty 
years ago. It is now principally supported by the lord of the manor 
and the rector. 

CHELSHAM. 

This parish, which is situated on the hills south-east of Croydon, is 
bounded on the north by Farley and Addington ; on the east, 1>\ 
Cudham, in Kent; on the south, by Tatsfield, Titsey, and Wolding- 
ham; and on the west, by Warlingham. 

Salmon remarks, that Chelsham is contiguous to Warlingham, and 
was given very anciently t<> the abbey of Chertscy; and he thinks 
the monks had dexterity enough to get the church made a ehapelry to 



192 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Warlingham, that they might save the charge of a curate, or it might 
be with the monks of Tandridge, who had some consideration. 1 Mr. 
Bray, on the contrary, asserts that Chelsham "never did belong to the 
Abbey of Chertsey ; the churches of Chelsham and Warlingham were 
given by Watevile to the Abbey of Bermondsey in 4 Henry II., 1158, 
he having before, viz. in 1144, given them the manor of Warlingham, 
but not the manor of Chelsham." 2 

Bishop Gibson, Aubrey, and Salmon, all mention the camp on 
Bottle (or Battle) hill, which is in Chelsham. This camp, "oblong 
and single-ditched," 3 is on the top of the hill, in the road leading into x 
Kent. A small portion of Warlingham common is in Chelsham ; the 
larger part in the parish from which it takes its name. On a piece of 
waste called Worms-heath, are scattered numerous round and oblong 
banks amongst pits, some of which are said to be twenty feet deep. 4 
This place is also commonly called the Camp, though no lines can be 
traced. The soil here is very poor, full of round smooth pebbles, 
resembling those on the sea-shore. A little to the south of Worms- 
heath, is an eminence called Nore-hill, which commands a fine view 
of the circumjacent country. About forty years ago, it was one of 
the government telegraph stations. In the neighbourhood are found 
large quantities of Breccia, or what are called plum-pudding stones. 

Two manors, probably in the parish of Chelsham, are thus described 
in the Domesday book : — 

" Robert de Watevile holds of Richard (de Tonbridge) Celesham, which Uluuard 
(Wolf ward) held of King Edward. It was then assessed at 10 hides : now at 2 hides. 
The arable land amounts to 4 carucates. There are 2 carucates in the demesne ; and 
there are six villains, and eleven bordars, with 3 carucates. There are four bondmen. 
One hog is paid by custom. In the time of King Edward, it was valued at 6 pounds ; 
afterwards, at 3 pounds ; now, at 8 pounds. 

" The same Robert holds of Richard Chelesham, which Tochi held of King Edward. 
It was then assessed at 10 hides : now, at 2 hides. There are 4 carucates of arable land. 
In demesne are 2 carucates ; and there are eleven villains, and seven bordars, with 4 
carucates. There is a Church : and three bondmen. In the time of King Edward, it was 
valued at 7 pounds, as at present ; but when received, at 4 pounds." 

There were, formerly, two manors in this parish, namely, Chelsham 
Watvile and Chelsham Court, now consolidated. Mr. Manning 

1 Surrey, vol. ii. p. 415. 2 Ibid. 3 Id. p. 422. 

4 Tradition ascribes these pits to the time of the Danish irruptions. However, they 
resemble those called Cole's pits, near Little Coxwell, Berks., which are described by the 
Hon. Daines Barrington, in a Letter to the Rev. Dr. Douglas, in the 8th volume of the 
Arc.hcEologia, p. 236. The Berkshire pits, two hundred and seventy-three in number, were 
(in 1784), from seven to twenty-two feet in depth ; the diameter of some of them not less 
than forty feet. In a field of forty-five acres, fourteen, or nearly one-third, are excavated. 
Mr. Barrington conceived the excavations to have been made in remote ages, previously 
even to the construction of Stonehenge, before the inhabitants of this island were in the 
least civilized. He supposed these pits to have been dug for the purpose of habitations. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF CHELSHAM-WATVYLE. 193 

questions whether these are the manors just described from the 
Domesday book, supposing one of them to have corresponded with 
the adjoining parish and manor of Warlingham, which, indeed, may 
have been included in Chelesham, or Celesham, at the time of the 
Domesday survey. 

The Manor of Chelsham-Watvyle. — The fee, or superiority, of this 
manor was vested in the representatives of Richard de Clare, or de 
Tonbridge, until the latter end of the reign of Edward the Third ; for 
Edward le Despenser, grandson of Eleanor de Clare, sister and coheir 
of Gilbert, earl of Gloucester, died in 1375, seised of the fee of 
Chelsham-Watvyle. The usufructuary property of this manor also 
continued to be held by the Watvyles long after the Domesday survey; 
since William de Watervill, or Watvyle, obtained a charter of free- 
warren for his lands in Chelsham, about the 38th of Henry the Third. 4 
But the manor had, probably, been transferred to another family in or 
before the reign of Edward the Second; for in the 10th of that reign, 
John de Burstowe had a grant of free-w T arren in Chelsham. 5 

In 1458, the manor of Chelsham-Watvyle belonged to Sir Thomas 
Cook, an alderman of London ; who conveyed it to Robert Harding, 
citizen and goldsmith. 8 After repeated transfers, it appears to have 
been purchased by the Uvedale family, who held the other manor 
called Chelsham-Court ; and the two have ever since been united, and 
known as the manor of Chelsham. This estate, in 1639, was the 
property of Sir William Uvedale, whose son died without issue, 
leaving two sisters his coheirs ; but Chelsham was vested in trustees 
for sale, and in 1673 was bought by Harman Atwood, of Sandersted ; 
together with which it descended to Atwood Wigsell Taylor, esq.; who 
assumed the name and arms of Wigsell. This gentleman died in 
1841 ; and was succeeded by his posthumous son, Atwood Dalton 
Wigsell, esq., the present lord. 7 The farm of Chelsham-Court now 
comprises about one thousand four hundred acres ; four hundred of 
which were, formerly, a rabbit warren. 

The representatives of Robert Harding, who alienated the manor 
of Chelsham-Watvyle to the Uvedales, in 1587 conveyed the mes- 
suage (or farm) of Fickleshole in Chelsham, &c, with the demesne 
lands, constituting a considerable estate, to Richard Hawarde of 

4 Vide Calend. Rotul. Chartar.; p. 83. 5 Id. p. 150. 

Robert Harding was owner in the 12th of Henry the Seventh, 1497. At his court, 
held by the style of Chelsham Watevyles, an order was made to distrain William Uvedale 
to do fealty for his manor of Titsey, said to be held hereof by the rent of 6*. and 4 white 
capons, and also to do fealty for Hardolf's court, and deliver one bushel of corn called 
Park corn. — Manning ami Bray, SURREY, vol. ii. p. 423 ; from Court Rolls in possession 
of the late Mr. Glover, of Reigate. 7 See page 42. 

VOL. IV. ( < 



194 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Oxted. He died seised of this estate, in 1608, leaving Catherine, 
the wife of William Roffey, his daughter and sole heir ; who, with her 
husband, in 1610 levied a fine, and settled the principal part of her 
inheritance on her children by a former husband, named Bickerstaff, 
reserving to herself a life-interest. Her son, Haywarde (or Haward) 
Bickerstaff, held this estate ; and his eldest son and heir, Charles 
Bickerstaff, esq. (afterwards knighted), who is said to have been cup- 
bearer to Charles the First, or Charles the Second, dying, involved in 
debt, in 1704, left the Fickleshole property to trustees for sale. Sir 
William Scavven, of Carshalton, became the purchaser ; and his grand- 
nephew, James Scawen, esq., who was chosen M.P. for the county of 
Surrey in 1774, disposed of this estate the same year, by sale, to Sir 
Robert Mackreth and Mr. Dawes. 8 They sold a house called Broome 
Lodge, with some land, to Michael Wood of Chelsham-court ; and 
the remainder of the property afterwards belonged to Philip Stanhope, 
esq.; and in 1809, to his heirs. 9 The Fickleshole farm now belongs 
to Lawrence Keir, esq., of Chelsham. 

There was in this parish a capital house, with about four hundred 
acres of land attached, which in the time of King Edward the Second, 
was held by John Fairchild ; from whom, or his successors, the estate 
was denominated Fairchilds. It passed to the Leighs of Addington, 
to whom it belonged for several generations ; and being sold by one 
of that family about 1770, it has since repeatedly changed owners. 
On removing the wainscot of a large hall, when the house was pulled 
down many years ago, paintings of men in armour are said to have 
been found on the walls. The present mansion is called Chelsham- 
Lodge ; and the estate belongs to George Robert Smith, esq. 

Roivholts Manor, or farm, belonging before the Reformation to the 
priory of Shcne, was granted in the 37 th of Henry the Eighth to Sir 
John Gresham; who died seised of the estate in 1557. It has since 
been divided, and sold in parcels. 

The Manor, or reputed manor, of Chevelers, charged, in a rental of 
the manor of Chelsham, in 1568, at 61., was purchased by the late Sir 

8 Near the house " is a considerable pond, which from the scarcity of water on the 
high grounds of Chelsham and the country hereabouts, appears to have been resorted to 
by the neighbours so long ago as 16 Edward II. 1323 ; a deed of that date (in Mr. Glover's 
hands) describes land as abutting on a highway which led to a place called Veckellesholes- 
water. A short distance from the house was a wood of about eighty acres called Watvyles- 
wood, as appears by a plan of the estate drawn in 1682 ; in the south-west part of this 
wood stood the church of Chelsham, and the churchyard. The wood was grubbed up about 
the year 1718; and with it the name of Wat-vyles is probably so far lost." — Manning 
and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 423. 

" Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 423, 4. 



DESCRIPTION OF CHELSIIAM CHURCH. 195 

John Gresham, bart, of Titsey; and was part of his estate at the 
time of his death. 

The Manor, or reputed manor, of Doivdales, charged at 51. in the 
same rental, is thought to be now part of Chelsham-court farm. 

The Manor of Creivses, which extends into this parish, is chiefly in 
Warlingham ; and will be noticed in the account of that parish. 

The Church of Chelsham having long been considered only as a 
Chapel to that of Warlingham, and as the impropriation and advowson 
of both have gone together, the incumbents will be mentioned in the 
account of Warlingham. 

Chelsham Church, dedicated to St. Leonard, stands on a consider- 
able eminence, amongst fields and plantations, at a short distance from 
the farm of Chelsham-court. Built with flints, covered with plaster, 
and white-washed, it has a clean and neat appearance. It consists of 
a nave and a chancel ; with a small square tower, leaded, at the west 
end. The tower formerly contained two bells ; on the larger of 
which, according to Manning and Bray, 10 was the inscription — Sit 
nomen Domini benedictum ; on the smaller, the letters, R. W. R. C. In 
the year 1834, however, whilst the sexton was digging a grave, some 
persons were observed to enter the church ; and, on the night follow- 
ing, one of the bells was stolen. Perhaps a more remarkable theft 
was never committed ; neither bell nor thieves were ever traced. 

The chancel window is pointed, with two lights. On the exterior 
of the eastern wall of the chancel, are the letters O. A. on one side of 
the window, and the date 1679 on the other. In the north and south 
windows of the nave, are some slight remains of painted glass. 

The entrance to the church is through the south porch, near the 
west end : the tower opens to the nave under a large pointed arch. 
The nave and chancel are separated by a carved oak screen, on which, 
formerly, were several heads on roundels, in has relief; but of these 
not one is remaining. The chancel is higher, by two steps, than the 
nave ; and the floor of the communion-table is additionally raised. 

South of the rails of the communion-table was, formerly, a stone 
seat, or tomb ; and, on the same side, nearly level with the floor, was 
another stone scat; these have been removed, probably to allow of 
the partial wainscoting of the chancel wall. A piscina, however, under 
a pointed arch in the eastern wall of the chancel, with a hole in a 
projecting part for carrying oil' the water, has been suffered to remain. 

At the west end of the church is an ancient square font of Sussex 
marble, raised on three Steps, and white-washed. It rests upon a 
central round pillar; four smaller pillars at the corners having been 

"' Srniu.v, vol. ii. p. 425. 

cc 2 



1 96 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

cut away. The pulpit, near the south window of the nave, is 
octagonal, of oak, painted. The pews are mostly of deal, unpainted. 

The church was repaired in the year 1839 ; at which time, a gallery 
was erected at the west end, by the Rev. R. Crampton Fell, curate. 
Exclusively of those in the gallery, the number of sittings is about 
one hundred. 

In this church are sepulchral memorials of the Woods, Alwins, 
Glovers, Willeses, &c. 

Under the east window, in the church-yard, is the much-mutilated 

tomb of William Leigh, of , who departed this life in July, 1715, 

in the forty-sixth year of his age. 

On the south side of the church-yard, near the east end, are four 
or five table-tombs of the Glover family. — Not far distant, is a spacious 
and modern railed-in burial-place for the Keirs, of this parish. 

Here are some flourishing yew-trees, planted by Mr. VVm. Phillips, 
a schoolmaster, of Chelsham, in the year 1746. 

Benefaction to this parish : — 

Henry Smith, esq., 1l. annually, from land, vested in the same trustees, and to be 
applied to the same purposes, as that gentleman's bequest to Caterham. 

The Registers of Chelsham commence in the year 1669 : one of 
them is a small octavo volume, begun by the Rev. Joseph Till, M.A., 
the incumbent, in 1680. 

FARLEY, or FARLEIGH. 

This is a small parish, situated on the chalk-hills, adjoining Adding- 
ton on the north ; Cudham, in Kent, on the east ; Warlingham and 
Chelsham, on the south ; and Sanderstead, on the west. 

iElfred, a Saxon duke, is said to have given lands in Fearlege to 

Eadred his cousin, charged with the payment of thirty measures of 

corn to the monks of Rochester. The manor is thus described in the 

Domesday book, among the lands of Richard de Tonbridge : — 

" Robert (de Watevile) holds of Richard Ferlega, which Tovi held of King Edward. 
It was then assessed at 6 hides : now, at half a hide. The arable land amounts to 2^ 
carucates. There is 1 carucate in demesne ; and there are four villains, and one bordar, 
with 1 carucate. There is one bondman, and one ox. In the time of King Edward, the 
manor was valued at 60 shillings, as at present ; when received, at 20 shillings." 

The manor of Farley appears to have been held by the family of 
Watevile until 1240 ; when Peter de Codington, alias de Maldon, with 
the consent of William de Watteville, heir to the said Peter, conveyed 
it to Walter de Merton, the founder of Merton college, Oxford ; who 
settled it, with other estates, for the support of that institution. 1 In 
the 7th of Edward the First, 1279, the master and scholars of Merton 

1 See account of Maldon, vol. Hi. p. 161. 



RECTORY AND CHURCH OF FARLEY. 197 

arc stated to have claimed a park in Farnelegh, as having existed from 
the Conquest ; and the right of free-warren, granted or confirmed to 
them by a charter of Henry the Third. These privileges being dis- 
puted, a trial took place at Guildford, on a writ of " Quo Warranto," 
when the claims of the collegians were allowed. 

A capital farm called Farley-court, near the church, belongs, to- 
gether with the manor, to Merton college ; which farm was held on 
lease by Sir Christopher Willoughby, who died in 1808. The present 
lessee of Farley-court is George Robert Smith, esq., of Selsdon ; by 
whom it is re-let to Mr. George Langford, the present occupier. The 
house is surrounded by the remains of a moat. A constable for the 
parish of Farley was formerly appointed at the Sheriff's Tourn. 

The rectory was conveyed with the manor to Walter de Merton, 
and by him settled on Merton college. In 1264, a license was procured 
for an appropriation of the living, which was presented to as a vicarage, 
with some exceptions, until 1483; when Henry Newell was instituted as 
rector: in 1518, William Jervase received institution as vicar; but 
the next incumbent, and all his successors, have held the benefice as 
a rectory. It is valued at ten marks, in the Taxation of Pope 
Nicholas ; and is one of the livings discharged in the King's books ; 
paying for procurations, 3s. ; and for synodals, 2s. Id. 3 The presenta- 
tion remains in Merton college. The parish Registers commence in 
1678. The present rent-charge, including 51. on twenty-eight acres 
of glebe, is 182/. 4s. 9d. The parish contains about 1060 acres; of 
which, 640 are arable; 30, meadow; 314, woodland ; 38, commons; 
and 28^ glebe land. It is in the deanery of Ewell. 3 

Rectors of Farley in and since 1800: — 

Joseph Kilner. Instituted on the 20th of July, 1767. 
Richard Lowndes. Instituted July the 1st, 1814. 
John Combe Compton. Instituted June the 10th, 1828. 
George Edwards Cooper Walker. Instituted on the 13th 
of December, 1835. 

The Church, which is a small, barn-like fabric, dedicated to St. Mary, 
is built with flints, and plastered. It consists of a nave and a chancel, 
divided by a pointed arch ; and the chancel is lighted by two lancet 
windows at the east end. Without either tower or spire, it has one 
bell in the roof: the entrance is by the west porch. The church was 
newly-pcwed in 1814 ; and at the same time, a small gallery was 

2 Manning and Bray, SuRBET, vol. ii. p. 412. 

3 The churcli of Farleigh would seem to have been assigned by the prior and convent 
of Tortington, near Arundel, in Sussex; and for which, in the year I254j Walter de 
Merton gave five and thirty marks, besides a further satisfaction in LS6S. 



198 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

erected at the west end, at the expense of William Coles, esq. The 

pulpit, which is hexagonal, is fixed against the south wall, at the east 

end of the nave ; and, like the pews, it is of deal, unpainted. There 

are about fifty sittings, besides those in the gallery. The font is of 

stone, small, and rests on a round ornamented pillar. 

The only tablet in the church, is one of black and grey marble, 

against the north wall of the nave, thus inscribed : — 

Near this place lyeth interred the body of Mr. Robert Shallcrass, late 
of Banstead in this county, who died October 11th, 1772, aged sixty -four years. 
Also, the body of Mr. William Shallcrass, of this parish, brother of the 
above, who died June the 3rd, 1780, aged seventy-six years. 

Also, Sarah, wife of the above Robert Shallcrass, who died March the 3rd, 
1807, aged ninety-six years. 

Also, Ann, wife of the above William Shallcrass, who died June 21st, 1805. 

On a blue marble grave-stone, within the rails of the communion- 
table, is this inscription: — 

Samuel Bernardus, Sacrse Theologise, Doctor, Pastor fidus, vir nullo fcedere 
foedatus, hie Resurrectionem expectat. Cursum peregit August. 5, 1657, set. 67. 
Heic etiam Elizabethan uxoris ejus desideratissimse conquiescunt reliquiae, quse 
postquam viduitatam vitam annos 48 religiosissime egisset, tandem obdormivit 
in Christo Sept. 8, 1705, annos nata 96. 

On the floor in the chancel is a Brass, with figures of a man and 

woman standing, but with their hands joined, as in prayer ; at his 

side some beads are hanging; and beneath, is this inscription, together 

with the figures of four sons and one daughter : — 

Tkic jactnt 3oh'es U3rocR riots Hum ou.it et IQutor 1'onUon. £t Snna uxor ejus 
qui q'B'm 3ob'ts obtit primo Die nunsis JNatt, a Bomtnt miirimo cccclxmb" 
quorum aVab? p'picut'r Qcus. 

In the church-yard are two yew trees ; one of which is very large. 

Benefaction to the parish of Farley : — 

Henry Smith, esq., 18s. 8d. annually, from land, for the same purposes as this gentle- 
man's bequests to the parishes of Caterham, Chelsham, Warlingham, and Woldingham. 

TATSFIELD. 
This is a small parish, on the eastern border of the county, adjoining 
Westerham, in Kent ; having the parish of Chelsham on the north ; 
Woldingham, on the west ; and Titsey and Limpsfield, on the south : 
the soil is calcareous. A road extends through this parish, at the 
foot of the chalk-hill, from the village of Titsey into Kent, called the 
Pilgrims' road ; having been traversed in former times by pilgrims to 
the shrine of St. Thomas a Bccket at Canterbury. Manning in- 
correctly says, it is " not nine feet wide," perfect, and still used " as a 
road." It is, in fact, about fifteen feet in width, and without any 
appearance of having been widened. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF TATSFIELD. 199 

The manor, which belonged to Odo, the half-brother of William 
the Conqueror, is thus described in the Domesday book : — 

" Anschitil de Ros holds of the Bishop (of Baieux) Tatelefelle, which Aluric held of 
King Edward. It was then assessed at half a hide ; and now, at the same. The arable 

land is There is 1 carucate in the demesne ; and there are five villains, and 

nine bordars, with 1 carucate. There are twelve bondmen. In the time of King Edward, 
it was valued at 30 shillings ; afterwards, at 40 shillings ; and now, at 60 shillings. 

" Hugh holds of the Bishop one manor, which Cana held of King Edward. It was 
then assessed at 4 hides : now, at half a hide. The arable land amounts to 4 carucates. 
There is one carucate in the demesne ; and five villains, and two bordars. In the time of 
King Edward, it was valued at 4 pounds; subsequently, at 20 shillings; and now, at 40 
shillings." 

Roderic Fitz Griffin was lord of the manor of Tatsfield in 1309, 
when he presented to the rectory ; and in 1322, it had descended to 
Thomas Fitz Roderic ; whose son Owen, in 1367, during the war 
with France, went to that country, and joined the king's enemies. In 
consequence of this act of disloyalty, an inquest was taken to ascertain 
whether he had any lands in England, as they would be liable to for- 
feiture ; and the return of the Jury was, that he had neither lands nor 
o-oods ; but that his father had been seised of the manor and advowson 
of Tatlefeld, which had been transferred to Stephen Bradpull, or 
Bradpole, the rector, Roger de Stanyngdenn, and Alan Lambard, who 
had jointly conveyed the estate to Thomas Dovedal [D'Uvedale] and 
his heirs, for their lives ; and that Owen, before he left England, had 
released his reversionary right in the property to Roger de Stanyng- 
denn and his heirs : it was added, that the manor was held of the 
archbishop of Canterbury, as of his manor of Otteford [in Kent], and 
was valued at 11. 

The manor of Tatsfield long remained vested in the family of Uve- 
dale; and in 1634, it had descended to Sir William Uvedale, who, 
soon after that time, appears to have sold it to the Greshams. On 
a partition of the family estates in 1711, this fell to the share of Sir 
Charles Gresham, who sold it to Sir Isaac Shard ; and in 1775, it 
was, by his heir, advertised for sale, under the description of the 
manor of Tatsfield, with the courts, quit-rents, &c, and three farms, 
of about five hundred acres, let at 190/. per annum, and forty acres of 
wood in hand. The devisees of the purchaser sold it to Sir John 
Gresham, who died in 1801; and his daughter and sole heiress married 
William Levcson Gower, esq., owner of the property in 1808.' The 
manor is now in the occupation of the eldest son of that gentleman. 
of the same name, together with the manors of Titscy and Limpsfield. 

1 Manning and Bray, Surest, vol. ii. pp. -jus, 9. 



200 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

A court-leet is held for the Tatsfield manor; and a constable was 
formerly appointed for the parish at the Sheriff's Tourn. 

The ancient manor-house, called Tattesfield-court Lodge, stood on 
an eminence near the church. Manning and Bray mention the 
demolition of that mansion, by Sir John Gresham, and the erection 
of a new house at the foot of the hill, near the Pilgrims' road, on the 
way to Westerham. 

Salcotts, or Calcotts, anciently a capital mansion belonging to the 
college of Lingfield, was granted by Henry the Eighth to Thomas 
Cawarden, esq. ; by whose heir it was sold to William, lord Howard ; 
who, in 1564, conveyed it to Sir Richard Sackville. From his son, 
Thomas, lord Buckhurst, it passed to Walter Henley ; by whom it 
was, in 1597, conveyed to Sir Thomas Gresham. With the rest of 
the Gresham property, the estate passed into the Leveson Gower 
family ; by whom it is now held. 

The Benefice of Tatsfield is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell ; 
rated, in the Valor of Edward the First, at A.I. 6s. 8d. ; and in the 
Liber Regis, at 51. 0s, 5d. It pays synodals, 2s. Id. ; procurations, 5s. ; 
and a pension, 1/. 13s. 4d. Patron, W. Leveson Gower, esq. The 
oldest Register commences in the year 1689, but is imperfect. 

Hectors of Tatsfield in and since 1800 : — 

Granville Leveson Gower. Instituted on the 19th of 

December, 1816. 
H. Annesley Tyndale. Instituted in 1842. 

The Church is of flint, small, and consisting of a nave and chancel ; 
with a square tower rising from the roof at the west end, in which 
are two bells. The chancel is stuccoed ; the roof of the building 
tiled : the only entrance is by a south porch. Having been some 
time in a dilapidated state, the church has been lately repaired ; the 
interior stuccoed in resemblance of smoothed stone ; and the pews 
painted white. The nave and chancel are divided from each other 
by a large arch ; beneath which is a wooden screen. From the thick- 
ness of the walls, and narrowness of the windows, which are mere 
loop-holes, the edifice is unusually dark. The east window, corres- 
ponding in size with the smallness of the church, has been ornamented 
in two compartments, with modern painted glass, displaying handsome 
scrolls ; the one on the north bearing the words " Glory to God in 
the Highest"; that on the south, "Peace on Earth, Good Will towards 
Men." In the point of the arch of this window, is the portraiture of 
a female, with wings, and her hands raised in the attitude of prayer. 
The altar is now extremely plain ; the " beautiful painting in per- 
spective, representing the inside of a gothic church," mentioned by 



TATSFIELD CHURCH AND MONUMENTS. 201 

Manning and Bray, having long been removed; and also "the 
Decalogue, Lord's Prayer, and Creed, written in a most curious but 
very small hand." 8 

The pulpit, small, square, and of wainscot, is on the south side of 
the nave, at the east end. The font is a small, rude, octagonal stone 
basin, supported by a pillar in the centre. There do not appear to be 
more than sixty or eighty sittings. 

There are two or three grave-stones in the floor of the nave ; but 
the only monument in the church is one of wainscot, mentioned by 
Manning and Bray as on the north side of the arch against the east 
wall: it is now fixed against the middle of the south wall. This 
memorial is in colours : between two columns of the Doric order, 
supporting a pediment surmounted by an urn, is a black tablet with 
the following inscription : — 

Alice Corbett, 2d daughter of George Meers, Gent, of Millbrook, com. 
Hampshire, ob. 23 of Oct. an. 1710, aetat. 70, who was exemplary virtuous ; and 
John Corbett, of St. Saviour's, Southwark, carpinder, obiit 13 of Feb. anno 
1711, setat. 72. A person truly ingenious, to whose memory thire eldest son of 
three only living, John Corbett, Citizen and Paper Stainer of London, gave this 
monument with the Altar-piece and Queen's Armes an. 1712. 

On each side of the monument is a shield ; that on the dexter side 
bearing the arms of Corbett — Or, a Raven proper ; the other having 
the same arms, impaling those of Meers — Gu. a Fess between three 
water-bougets, Erm. On the base is the following couplet : — 

" Thy death, Christ's death, the World's temptations, 
Heaven's joyes, Hell's pains, be still thy meditations." 

The " Queen's armes," mentioned above, as well as the altar-piece, 
have been taken away. 

The church stands on the ridge of the chalk-hill, looking, on the 
north, towards the metropolis, and on the south, over the weald, upon 
the South-downs. The parish contains about nine hundred and 
seventy acres, extending from the arable land on the summit of the 
chalk-hills, across the gait, to the foot of the green-sand hill. There 
is no stream of any kind in the parish ; and the only gentleman's 
house, (tenanted by Mr. Perry), belongs to Wm. Champion Strcat- 
field, esq., but the chief portion of the estate attached to it, is in 
Westerham and Cudham, the adjoining parishes, in Kent. 

T I T S E Y. 

This parish, situated at the eastern extremity of the Downs of 
Surrey, borders on Chelsham, on the north ; on Tatsfield, on the east ; 

2 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 409. 
vol. iv. nn 



202 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

and on Limpsfield on the south and west. The soil is chiefly cal- 
careous, except in the direction of Limpsfield, where it consists of 
clay. The parish comprises 1936 acres, 1 rood, and 30 perches: of 
which, 620a. 2r. 21 p. are meadow and pasture; 31a. lr. are hop- 
grounds; and 328a. 2r. 9 p. are woodland: the rest is arable. 

A turnpike road from Croydon passes through Titsey, and joins the 
road from Godstone to Westerham. At the foot of the hill, near the 
manor-house, a spring breaks out, and runs to Oxted. 

The parish is thus described in the Domesday book : — 

" In Tenrige Hundred, Haimo the Sheriff holds Ticesey, which Gottovi held of King 
Edward. It was then assessed at 20 hides : now, at 2 hides. There are 8 carucates of 
arable land. Four carucates are in the demesne ; and there are fourteen villains, and 
thirty-one bordars, with 5 carucates. There is a Church ; and there are nine bondmen. 
The villains pay one hog out of seven (or the seventh hog) for their feeding. In the 
time of King Edward it was valued at 10 pounds ; afterwards, at 6 pounds ; and now, at 
11 pounds." 

It appears that the tenant-in-chief of this manor was Richard de 
Tonbridge, who granted two knights' fees here to Haimo de Valoines, 
called Haimo the Sheriff; and two more knights' fees to a family 
designated, from the place, de Tichesy, or de Titsey. 

It is stated in the Testa de Nevill, that Thomas de Valoniis 
(Valoines) held a certain part of Tycheseye of the Honour of Glou- 
cester, by the service of two knights, from the conquest of England ; 
and that Hugh de Nevill had the custody of the land : and in another 
section of the same record, that William de Cantelupe held two 
knights' fees in Tycheseye, which had belonged to Hamon de Valeynes. 
The estate which had been granted to Haimo reverted to the family of 
Clare, probably in the reign of Edward the First; for in 1295, Gilbert 
de Clare, earl of Gloucester, died seised of the manor of Tichesy, 
held of the king ; and his son and heir, Gilbert, who was killed at 
Bannockburn, in 1313, leaving no issue, the family estates were 
divided amongst his three sisters, when Titsey became the property of 
Hugh de Audley, who married Margaret de Clare, one of the co- 
heiresses, after the death of her first husband, Piers Gaveston. Mar- 
garet, their daughter and sole heir, transferred her inheritance to the 
family of Stafford, by her marriage with Ralph, earl Stafford ; and the 
manor of Titsey descended, with that of Blechingley and others, to 
Edward Stafford, duke of Buckingham, who was attainted of treason 
and executed in 1521. His estates having thus escheated to the 
crown, Henry the Eighth, by letters patent dated February the 15th, 
1528, granted Titsey, inter alia, to John Bourchier, lord Berners, "after 
which," says Manning, " we hear no more of it." ' 

1 Surrey, vol. ii. p. 400. 



DESCENT OF THE MANORIAL ESTATES IN TITSEY. 203 

In the Testa de Nevill, John de Ticheseye and Geoffrey de Tiche- 
seye are mentioned as tenants of two knights' fees in Ticheseye. This 
estate descended to Thomas de Tichesey, who died, seised of it, in 
1297 ; and his three sisters were his coheirs. The manor of Tichesey 
subsequently came into the possession of Sir Thomas de Uvedale, a 
maternal descendant of Alice, a sister of Thomas de Tichesey, who 
had married Gilbert Etton. He was four times married; and dying 
in 1367, 8 was succeeded by his only son (by Benedicta, his last wife), 
John Uvedale, who was sheriff of Surrey in 1417. His grandson, 
Sir Thomas Uvedale, who inherited the property, was also sheriff of 
Surrey in 1437, and again in 1464. Sir VVm. Uvedale, the grandson 
of Sir Thomas, was treasurer of the privy-chamber to King Henry 
the Eighth ; and by his grandson, the manorial estate appears to 
have been alienated to Sir John Gresham, alderman of London, whose 
daughter Ellen he had married. 

Sir John Gresham, of the same family with the founder of the 
Royal Exchange, was sheriff of London in 1537, and lord-mayor in 
1547 : he died on the 23rd of October, 1557 ; and was interred, with 
great funeral honours, in the church of St. Michael Bassishaw, London. 
He was seised of Titsey, Limpsfield, and many other estates in Surrey ; 
and left, besides other children, a son and heir, William, aged thirty- 
four. Sir Edward Gresham, knt., who succeeded to the possession of 
this and other estates, on the death of his elder brother, Sir John, 
without issue, in 1643, having survived his eldest son, Thomas, who 
had no male issue, was succeeded by his son Marmaduke, created a 
baronet in 1660. That gentleman, on the marriage of his eldest son, 
Edward, with the youngest daughter of Serjeant Maynard, in 1672, 
settled the manors of Westerham, Titsey, and other estates, on them ; 
with certain remainders, in default of male issue. Sir Edward Gres- 
ham had no children except a daughter named Elizabeth ; and on his 
death about 1709, his title and estates devolved on his next brother, 
Charles, who died in 1718, leaving to his eldest son, Sir Marmaduke, 
the estates affected by the settlement ; and to his seven younger 
children such estates as were under his own control ; an act of parlia- 
ment having been obtained in 1715, authorizing such arrangement. 

Sir Marmaduke Gresham, by will dated in 1741, vested all his estates 
in Kent and Surrey, except Titsey, for a term of five hundred years, 
in trustees, to raise money by mortgage or sale, for the payment of his 
debts and legacies; and gave the remainder to his eldest son, Charles; 

2 See Nicolas, Testamknta Vetusta, p. 70, for the will of this Sir Thos. de Uvedale, 
who appears to have commenced the erection of the church of Titsey, which was taken 
down and rebuilt in another situation, by Sir John Gresham, in 1775-6. 

DD 2 



204 HISTORY OF SURREY, TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

and afterwards to his second son, John. The trustees found it 
requisite to apply to parliament for an act to enable them to sell the 
fee-simple of so much of the property as would clear the incum- 
brances; and such an act having been passed in 1745, all the estates, 
except Titsey and the advowson of Tatsfield, were sold. Sir Charles 
died unmarried ; and his brother, Sir John Gresham, came into 
possession of the comparatively small remnant of the family estates ; 
to which, through prudent management and some fortunate circum- 
stances, he made considerable additions. He died in 1801 ; leaving 
his estates to his lady, during her life; and then to their only daughter, 
Catherine-Maria. Lady Gresham died in 1804; and, in the same 
year, Miss Gresham was married to William Leveson Gower, esq., 
third son of the Hon. John Leveson Gower, an admiral in the Royal 
Navy; and eldest surviving son of John, 1st earl Gower, by Mary, 
his third wife, relict of Anthony Grey, earl of Harold, and daughter 
and co-heiress of Thomas, earl of Thanet. She died in 1808, leaving 
issue one son and two daughters, Catherine and Frances-Elizabeth. 
The son, Wm. Leveson Gower, esq., who, in 1841, filled the office of 
high-sheriff of the county, is the present owner of the Titsey and 
other estates, which he inherits from his grandfather: he is, also, 
patron of the living of Titsey. He was married, in 1834, to Emily 
Josephine, second daughter of Sir Francis Hastings Doyle, bart., by 
his lady, Diana Elizabeth, eldest daughter of the late Sir William 
Mordaunt Milner, bart. 

Titsey-Place, the residence of William Leveson Gower, esq., is a 
modern structure, pleasantly situated at an angle of the road from 
Limpsfield to Croydon, through Warlingham, and opposite to the 
present church. 3 The ancient manor-house was razed to the ground 

3 There are preserved in the house at Titsey some specimens of ancient oak-carving, 
bearing on each panel the motto of the Gresham family, " Fiat Voluntas tua," in old 
English characters. There is, also, a coat of arms, bearing the arms of Gresham, viz. — 
a chev. Erm., betw. 3 mullets, pierced ; quartered with the arms of Ipstvell, a chev. wavy, 
betw. six birds' heads ; crest, a grasshopper, with the initials W.G. Sir John Gresham, 
who was knighted in 1537, and was lord-mayor of London in 1547, married Mary, 
daughter and co-heiress of Thos. Ipswell ; and the above arms were borne by his son 
William, who succeeded him, and who was buried in Titsey church. 

In 1738, whilst this estate was in the possession of Sir M. Gresham, bart., a curious 
silver Ring was found in the gardens, closed, as it were, by conjoined hands, and inscribed 
thus + Stye + na^aren -f- 31lex. in the Gothic character common to the middle ages. 
This is supposed to have been a bridal ring, or, possibly, a testimonial of friendship; 
and the inscription, however improperly applied to such occasions, may be regarded as 
accordant with the religious feelings of those times. — Several stone monuments have, 
likewise, been found in the grounds at Titsey-place : they are without any inscription, 
or any other ornament than a rude cross sculptured on the stone ; and are, probably, of 
the 13th century. 



DESCRIPTION OF THE OLD CHURCH AT TITSEY. 205 

by Sir John Gresham, the last baronet, who erected the new mansion 
on its site. It has been greatly improved by its present owner; 
and has now, from the extensive plantations by which it is surrounded, 
a very handsome appearance. In the library is a very fine portrait of 
Sir Thomas Gresham, the founder of the Royal Exchange, painted 
by Sir Antonio More. It represents a man of a mature age, clad in a 
rich black suit, with a small cap on his head, and a pair of gloves in 
his right hand : this portrait has been engraved by Thew. 
Rectors of Titsey in and since 1800: — 

Robert Dolling. Instituted March the 19th, 1776. 

William Moreton. Instituted in 1804. 

Thomas Linwood Strong. Instituted in 1811. 

The Hon. John Evelyn Boscawen. Instituted in 1813. 

Granville Leveson Gower, A.M. Instituted in February, 
1818 : died at St. Mabyn's, Cornwall, Sept. 28th, 1841. 

George Brodrick. Instituted in 1842. 
The Church. — Sir Thomas de Uvedale, lord of the manor in the 
time of Edward the Third, began to rebuild the ancient church at 
Titsey; and, by his will, in 1367, 'he "ordered that his wife should 
finish it, and that his body should be buried in it, in St. James's 
chapel there." 4 The parish register describes it as" a noble structure, 
about 100 feet from east to west, and 45 feet from north to south, with 
a strong tower and lofty steeple." More recently, it was thus described 
by Mr. Manning, with, apparently, greater accuracy : — 

" It is small, but has a Nave and two Ayles, as also two Chancels. An Altar-piece of 
wainscot of the Doric order, with two Pilasters supporting a Pediment. In the East 
window are the remains of a large figure with blue drapery, a book in its hand ; and 
round the whole light, a bordure of lions rampant Sable, in a field Or. In the North 
window is Or, a cross engrailed Sable. In a window on the South side, Argent, a cross 
moline Gules [Uvedale] ; round the whole window a verge of red, intercharged with 
Fleurs de Lis Or, and Castles triple-towered Argent. In the other South window. Argent, 
a cross double ponnnetty Gules. In the East window of the South aisle is, Gules, a 



4 This will was proved by Benedicta his widow; William Ilagham and W illiam 
Tirwhite, the other executors, refusing to prove it. Sir Thomas had four wives, the last 
of whom was this Benedicta, who survived him ; and it appears, that he settled Titsey on 
her, for life, and had conveyed other estates to her in fee. Sir William Uvedale, one of 
the descendants of Sir Thomas, was one of the Justices who, in the 5th of Henry the 
fcjghth, were appointed to inquire of treasons in the county of Salop. It was this gentle- 
man who, as already stated, was Treasurer of the Privy-chamber to King Henry, and 
who married Ellen, the daughter of Sir John Gresham, alderman "f London, to whom he 
is supposed to bare sold the <siatc of Titsey. Burton, in his Leicebtebshxbe, speaks of 

him as " One Of the finest COUrtiers for figure and personage in the whole court." — See 
Manning and Bray's Suniu.Y, vol. ii. pp. 401,402; Nichols's LEICESTERSHIRE, vol. iii. 
p. 634 ; and page 203 of the present volume. 



206 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

saltier Verry. Also the remains of, Azure, a fesse dancette Ermine between six Griffins' 
heads erased Or, being the- arms of Ipswell. At the East end of the North aisle is a 
Chapel, which is the burial-place of the Greshams. In the North window is St. George 
on foot, armed ; on his left arm: a 'shield, Argent, across moline Gules [Uvedale], with the 
same on his breast-plate^nd in his right hand a spear with a banner of the same arms. 
In this window is also 4h0 : i ? ortrait of a Bishop. In the East window of this Chapel the 
Almighty is portrayed as an old man sitting on a throne, our Saviour before him on the 

cross; below them, on the right hand is the Virgin Mary, on the left Jesus." "At the 

west end of the old Church a stone tower with a wooden spire and two bells, on the 
largest of which is the date of ' 1640.' " 5 

Sir John Gresham pulled down the old church ; the site of which 
was about thirty-five feet from his mansion, and two hundred yards 
from the present church, which he erected on the opposite side of the 
road. In effecting the removal, Sir John left one raised altar-tomb 
belonging to the Staples family undisturbed ; and this, railed in, and 
surrounded by shrubs, now forms an ornamental clump on the lawn, 
in front of the house. The foundation of the present church was 
laid on the 27th of July, 1775 ; and, when finished, it was consecrated 
by Dr. Thomas, bishop of Winchester, on the 19th of July, 1776. 

It must be regretted that, in the new structure, more attention was 
not paid to respectability of appearance, as well as the accommodation 
and comfort of the congregation. It is a singularly mean-looking 
edifice, of brick and stone, consisting merely of a single room, with a 
tiled roof, and an embattled tower with two bells at the west end : 
the only entrance is through the tower. The pulpit, square, and 
painted white, is fixed against the centre of the north wall : a few 
pews are also painted white ; but most of the sittings, one hundred 
and twenty in number, are open and unpainted. The font is a large, 
massive, square basin, from the old church. 

Most of the sepulchral memorials were brought from the old church, 
and re-arranged in the present building. An altar-tomb of the 
Greshams, mentioned by Aubrey as in a chancel at the south-east end 
of the church, was not replaced ; but the brass-plates, described by 
that author as " above it, under an arch," are now on the north wall, 
close against the east end of the church. They present " the figures 
of a man and woman kneeling before two fald-stools bearing books 
on them ; behind him, four sons ; behind her, three daughters ; all 
kneeling. Over his head, a chevron Ermine between three mullets : 
Crest, a grasshopper : over her [now gone] a chevron, wavy, between 
six birds' heads erased: in other places both quartered together." 6 

5 Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 404, 405. — The figure here called St. George was, most probably, 
a knight of the Uvedale family. 

6 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 405. 



MONUMENTS IN TITSEY CHURCH. 207 

Under the figures is the following blundering inscription : — 

Near this lyethe Wyix'm Gresham, sone and hayer unto Syr John Greshani, 
Knyght, late Shryfe of Surrey and Susseks ; ho [who] toke to wyffe one Beatrys 
Gybone, by home [whom] he had issewe Jaymes, Will'm, Thomas, and John, 
Mary, Elizabeth, and Sysselley ; an [on] whose soule Jesus have mercy, 1579. 

In a corresponding situation, on the opposite wall, is a large black- 
marble tablet, enchased in white, (surmounted by the Gresham arms), 
and thus inscribed: — 

Near this place lyethe the body of Sir John Gresham, of this parish of 
Titsey, knt. ; whoe married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Sir Thomas Bishopp, 
of Parham in the county of Sussex, Knight and Baronet, with whom having 
happily liv'd in a conjugal estate 31 years and 5 months, he dyed without issue 
in the 56th yeere of his age, the 26th day of May, 1643, to whose merits Truth 
gives this impartial character, that he was an Orthodox Christian and an 
obedient sonne of the Church of England, a loyall subject to his Soveraigne, an 
affectionate lover of his lady, a noble and bountifull entertayner of his friends 
and neighbours, a charitable releever and benefactor to the poore: to whose pious 
memory his deere consort and relict hath erected this monument, as well to 
expresse her own affection, as to preserve his virtues for the imitation of 
posterity j shee having continued his widdow ever since theire separation, desires 
to be conjoyned againe in the same tombe when God shall please to call her out 
of this mortal life. 

This monument was erected in the yeare of our Lord 1660. 

The companion inscription to the above is as follows : — 

On Trinity Sunday, June 5th, 1664, Dame Elizabeth Gresham, relict of 
the said Sir John Gresham, surrend'red her soule into God's hands, and lyes 
interred in the same tomb. Her piety, prudence, sequanimity, and charity, out- 
live her person ; and when y e memory of man ceases to retaine her excellent 
virtues, they shall be found upon record in Heaven. 

Aged 74 years. 

On a white-marble tablet, now fixed against the south wall of the 
church, is an inscription to the memory of Anne, the "most dear and 
deservedly beloved wife of John Wright," citizen, linen-draper of 
London, daughter of the Reverend and pious Mr. John Holbrooke 
and Joan his wife; who died on the 11th of March, 1713, in the 48th 
year of her age. 

Also on the south wall, is a black-marble tablet, with the following 

inscription, in gold letters, to the memory of the above-mentioned 

lady's father: — 

H. I. S. Johannes HoLBBOOK hujus EcclesiiK nuperrime Rector, vir pins 
et sobrius, pastor fidus, pater et niaritus, vir obstinata- integritatis, legis ail apicem 
observator, doctrioft et moribus \\\ mmonim ipatio gregifl gas dux, nunc inorU' 
concionatur. Mors optima magistra (parate sequi, nam vera sunt, qua dixi, mei 
unici, vera sunt). Valetadine Bemper vitrei, Iliads, aliisque doloribus diu 
vexatus, festac niortalitatis exuvias hie deposuit vn. id. August, anno octatis lvi. 
tan KCI. 



208 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Amongst the memorials of the Basset family, in the church-yard, is 

a stone, with an inscription nearly obliterated, to the memory of 

Fanney, the daughter of John and Elizabeth Basset, who died on the 

9th of October, 1794, in the forty-first year of her age. 

" You, whose fond wishes do to Heaven aspire, 
Who make those blest abodes your sole desire, 
If you are wise, and hope this bliss to gain, 
Use well your time, live not an hour in vain ; 
Let not the Morrow your vain thoughts employ, 
But think this Day the last you shall enjoy." 

The old parish Register commences in 1579, for baptisms and 

marriages; and in 1586, for burials. 

Benefactions to the parish of Titsey : — 

Henry Smith, esq., by will, 1633, vested in the hands of trustees 21. annually, for the 
benefit of the poor. — For the same purpose, by some person not known, 3/. annually, was 
vested in the parish officers for the time being. 

Between Titsey-Place and the church, there was formerly a rectory 
house ; which accidentally took fire a year or two ago, and was totally 
destroyed. A new and commodious house has been since erected for 
the resident clergyman, at a convenient distance from the church, and 
adjoining the Pilgrims' road, which has been noticed under Tatsfield. 

Titsey has a day-school and a Sunday-school, built and maintained 
at the expense of Wm. Leveson Gower, esq. 

WARLINGHAM. 

This parish, consisting of about eleven hundred acres, is bounded 
by Farley and Sanderstead, on the north ; by Chelsham, on the east ; 
by Woldingham and Oxted, on the south ; and by Coulsdon, on the 
west. 1 The chief soils are clay and chalk. 

Besides the manor of Warlingham, which comprises the greater part 
of the parish, here are the manor of Creuzes (or Carewses), and the 
reputed manor of Westhall. 

Warlingham manor is not noticed by name in the Domesday book ; 

but it was probably included in Chelesham, thus described among the 

lands of Richard de Tonbridge : — 

" Robert de Watevile holds of Richard Chelesham, which Tochi held of King Edward. 
It was then assessed at 10 hides ; now, at 2 hides. The arable land amounts to 4 caru- 
cates. There are in demesne 2 carucates ; and eleven villains, and seven bordars, have 
4 carucates. There is a Church ; and there are seven bondmen. In the time of King 
Edward, it was valued at 11., as at present ; when received, at 4/." 



1 "A gentleman," observes Mr. Bray, " who had lived at or near this place, about the 
year 1730, told me that he remembered the custom of the boys of the parish going early 
in the spring to the several orchards, and whipping the apple-trees to procure a plentiful 
crop of apples ; after which they carried a little bag to the house, and the good woman 
gave them some meal." — Surrey, vol. ii. p. 427. 



DESCENT OF THE MANORS AT WARLINGHAM. 209 

The Manor of Warlingham. — This manor was given by William 
de Watteville, or Watevile, and Robert his son, in 1144, to the prior 
and monks of Bermondsey ; and in 1158, Watteville, with the consent 
of his sons, gave the church of Warlingham, and that of Chelsham, to 
the same fraternity ; which grants, in the next year, were confirmed 
by Henry the Second. It appears, from certain legal proceedings in 
1276, that the prior, as lord of the manor, had erected a gallows for 
the execution of criminals at this place. 2 

Warlingham, with other conventual estates, falling into the hands 
of the king on the suppression of the monastery, he granted the 
manor, rectory, and advowson, in 1545, to Sir John Gresham; who 
died seised of the manor, valued at 20/., and also of the rectory, 
October 23rd, 1557. He bequeathed both to his wife Catherine, for 
her life ; with remainder to his youngest son, Edmund, who held his 
first court here in 1577. Richard Gresham, esq., son and heir of 
Edmund, in 1591, sold Warlingham, together with Sanderstead, to 
John Ownsted, esq. ; but the transfer having been made without the 
queen's license, the estates were seized and retained by the officers of 
the crown, and a fine was exacted, on the payment of which the con- 
veyance was completed March 2nd, in the 36th of Elizabeth. Mr. 
Ownsted died without issue in 1600, and left two-thirds of his estates 
in Surrey to his cousin, Harman Attwood ; and the remainder to his 
two sisters, whose shares were purchased by Mr. Attwood; from 
whom the whole of this manor descended, with Sanderstead, to the 
family of Wigsell, 3 in which it still remains. Atwood Dalton Wigsell, 
esq., is the present lord. 4 

The Manor of Creuses, which seems to have been dependent on 
that of Warlingham, was held at an early period by the family of 
Sander, or Saunders, of Sanderstead; for Watkin Saunders had this 
manor and Sanderstead, in the reign of John, or Henry the Third. 
One of his descendants, in 1353, conveyed Creuses to Sir Richard 
Wyloghby; whose daughter, Lucia, married, 2ndly, Nicholas Carew. 5 
The manor reverted to the family of Saunders, through the marriage of 
Joan, the grand-daughter of Nicholas Carew, with William Saunders; 
from whom it descended to Sir Thomas Saunders, remembrancer of 
the Exchequer, in the reign of Edward the Sixth; who died in 1565, 
seised, inter alia, of this manor, value 3/. ds. 8d., which had been held 
of the abbot of Bermondsey. His eldest son, Edmund, conveyed this 
estate to his brother, Thomas Wite Saunders; by whom it was sold, 

Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 427: from Award's Red Book. 
■ .Manning, SUBRBY, vol. ii. pp. 128, 569, ">7u. 

' See Sanderstead, \>. i", el seq., of this volume, 5 Sec Bcddin^ton, p. ;>.■?. 

VOL. IV. EE 



210 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

in 1590, to Edward Weston ; and after repeated transfers, it was pur- 
chased, in 1717, by John Heathfield of Croydon; one of whose 
descendants sold Creuses, in 1804, to William Coles, esq. It is now 
the property of G. R. Smith, esq., of Selsdon. 

In the session of 1806-7, an act of parliament was passed for in- 
closing that part of Warlingham common which lies in this manor, to 
the extent of one hundred and thirty-two acres. 

The Manor of Westhall belonged, in the time of Richard the First, 
to Odo de Dammartin, and was bestowed by him on the prior and 
convent of Tandridge. After the dissolution of monasteries, it came, 
with other conventual estates, into the hands of John Rede ; 6 whose 
son sold this manor to Henry Haward, alderman of London. At a 
subsequent period, Westhall was purchased by Sir Joseph Jekyll ; and 
after his death, having been sold to Sir Wm. Clayton, bart, it passed 
with Blechingley to the owner of that estate in 1 808. It belongs at 
this time to his son, Lieut-Col. Sir William Robert Clayton, bart. 

In the Valor of Edward the First, Chelsham is valued as a Chapel 
with Warlingham, at 27 marks. In 1158, William de Wateville, who 
with his son had already given the manor of Warlingham to the 
monks of Bermondsey, gave them, also, the churches of Chelsham and 
Warlingham. In the 28th of Edward the First, 1300, the monks 
obtained the bishop's license to appropriate them ; but it was not until 
1315, that the prior and convent procured the king's license. Sub- 
sequently, on account of some irregularity, the right of the convent 
to hold the appropriation was disputed; and, in 1330, on the visitation 
of the archdeaconry by Bishop Stratford, the monks were ousted, on 
the ground that they had been long in possession without any legal 
or canonical title; and Thomas de Abyndon was instituted to the 
rectory, on the bishop's own collation as Ordinary. Against this 
decision the prior and convent appealed ; and their appeal appears to 
have been successful, as, from that time, vicars only were instituted. 
In 1332, the bishop instituted a vicar on his own collation, it having 
devolved on him pro hac vice. The rectory was granted with the 
manor, and passed therewith until 1675, when Harman Atwood, esq., 
conveyed to trustees the great tithes of Warlingham and Chelsham, 
in order that the churches might be better served, subject to certain 
restrictions; to which he added 10Z. a year out of the demesne lands 
of Warlingham, and a like sum out of the demesne lands of Chels- 
ham, for the better payment of a curate ; but 207. per annum was 
intended to be charged by him on lands for the maintenance of four 
poor people in two almshouses which he had built; two of whom 

8 See account of Oatlands, in this work, vol. ii. p. 382. 



DESCRIPTION OF WARLINGHAM CHURCH. 211 

were to be taken from Warlingham, one from Chelsham, and one 
from Sanderstead.' These almshouses are still supported/ 

The present patron is Atwood Dalton VVigsell, esq. 

Rectors of Warlingham and Chelsham in and since 1800 : — 

ThOiMAS Wigsell, LL.B. Instituted on the 1st of August, 

1778 : died in 1805. 
John Courtney, A.M. Instituted in 1805. 

Atwood Wigsell Wigsell, A.M. Instituted in : died 

July the 5th, 1821. 
James Hambleton. Instituted on the 3rd of October, 1821. 
John Dalton. Instituted on the 30th of October, 1829. 

The Church, dedicated to All-Saints, is in the deanery of Ewell ; 
rated in the King's books at 11/. 12s. lie?.; paying 2s. Id. for synodals, 
and 7s. l\d. for procurations. It stands in a field, at some distance 
from any house, is built of flint, and rough-cast, with a tiled roof; 
and, at the west end, a small wooden turret, containing one bell. It 
merely consists of a nave and chancel, separated by a wooden arch. 

The building was repaired in 1842; and has now a very neat 
appearance. It has a small gallery under the belfry, erected in 1764. 
The pulpit, with its sounding-board, against the south wall of the 
nave, is of oak, carved, and freshly-painted. The pews, ranging on 
each side, are also neatly-painted as wainscot. The font is an 
octagonal basin, of white stone, on an octagonal pillar and basement: 
on each side of the font is a quatrefoil ; and in the centre of the 
eastern face is a rudely-carved head. In the east window, of three 
lights, are some fragments of painted glass. There is a small window 
at the west end of the church, under the belfry ; with five windows on 
the south side, and four on the north. In one of the windows of the 
nave, near the pulpit, are some remains of architectural painted glass, 
representing, under a three-light window, a porch, on each side of 
which a head, with yellow hair, appears from a window. 

Manning and Bray mention a piscina, within an arch, on the north 
side of the chancel ; and, westward of the piscina, a single seat under 
a round arch. 9 These have disappeared ; and the arches referred to 
are now occupied by lancet-windows. 

7 Manning and Bray, Scbrey, vol. ii. i>. 430. 

8 Amongst the Poems of John Oldham (usher of the school at Croydon), printed in 
1721', is a Pindaric Ode, in nine stan/as, -To the memory of that worthy Gentleman 

Mr. Barman Atwood." It speaks of his integrity in his profession of the law, his eourtesy, 
liberality, and unbounded charity ; and of his linn well-grounded piety. The deed 
relating to his benefactions at Warlingham (which is somewhat curious), has been printed 
in the 13th report of the Commissioners on Charities, pp. 548 — 560. 

■ Sorbet, vol. ii. p. 430, 

ee 2 



212 HISTORY OF SURREY, TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Amongst the memorials in the floor are those of Frances, wife of 
Richard Clements, and daughter of the Rev. Mr. Rucker, rector of 
Sanderstead, who died in 1719; — Richard Clements, her husband, 
who died in 1721 ; — and the infant son of the Rev. Thomas Brath- 
waite and Mary-Eliza his wife, who died in 1795. 

The only mural tablet in the church is one on the north side of the 

chancel, with the following inscription : — 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth, wife of John Tyler, of Castle-street, 
Southwark, gent., who died 16th May, 1781, aged fifty-two. 

Also, the above John Tyler, who died 17 th May, 1769, aged sixty-eight. 

John Tyler, of Newington, Surrey, Gent., their son, who died 21st July, 
1772, aged thirty-six. 

Mary Andrews, of Keston, Kent, widow, the daughter of the first-mentioned 
John Tyler, died 19th October, 1783, aged fifty-one. 

Robert Tyler, Esq., of St. John's, Southwark, and Stockwell, Surrey, who 
died 12th September, 1810, aged sixty-nine; and Elizabeth, his first wife, the 
daughter of Henry Fosset of St. John's aforesaid, who died June 7th, 1791, 
aged forty-five ; and was buried at Bristol. 

Martha Tyler, widow ; born the 19th day of February, 1757 ; and died the 
13th day of July, 1833. 

In the church-yard, westward of the porch, is a railed-in burial- 
place for the Nash family. 10 — Here are three yew-trees, one of them 
very large. 

The Register of Warlingham parish commences, for baptisms, in 
1653 ; for burials, in 1666 ; for marriages, in 1667. 

Benefactions to this parish : — 

Henry Smith, esq., 2l. annual produce from land, in the same manner, and for the same 
purposes as his benefactions to Caterham and Chelsham. 

Harman Atwood, esq. (by deed, dated November the 18th, 1675), a house and four 
tenements ; the house for the curate of Chelsham, and the four tenements for four poor 
aged persons, two of the parish of Warlingham, one of Chelsham, and one of Sander- 
stead ; with an allowance to each poor person in money of 8s., the calendar month. — 
The lord of the manor upholds the premises, and pays the poor. 



10 Manning and Bray, (Surrey, vol. ii. p. 432), preserve the following singular inscrip- 
tion, not now to be seen, from a stone in the church-yard : — 

In memory of Mr. Lionel Gregory, late of Mitcham in this County, 
Miller, who died a batchelor the 29th of March, 1773, aged 42 years. 

O cruel Death what hast thou done, 
To take from us our mother's darling son ? 
Thou hast taken toll, ground and drest his grist, 
The bran lieth here, the flour is gone to Christ. 
By desire of Edward Nash. 
Servants come near, observe the ashes of a good man, who lived with his 
master thirty years, and never said " No" by night nor day : he died worth 
four thousand pounds, which he humanely divided. 
The interest of this epitaph is heightened by the discovery of the fact, that, according 
to the authors above-cited, it was found in the miller's chest, "written by himself!" 



WOLDINGHAM, AND ITS MANORS. ^lij 

Here is a School, supported by subscription, at which upwards of 
sixty poor children are educated. On Warlingham-green is a neatly- 
built Wesley an chapel, bearing the date of 1839. 

WOLDINGHAM, or WALDINGHAM. 

Although Woldingham has been erroneously considered as one of 
the smallest parishes in Surrey, its area is stated in the Population 
Returns for 1841, to be 1570 acres. It is situated on the high 
ground between Croydon and Titsey ; bordered on the north by 
Warlingham and Chelsham ; on the south, by Oxted, Tandridge, and 
Godstone ; on the west, by Godstone and Caterham ; and on the 
east, by Titsey and Tatsfield. 

Respecting this parish, the early authorities are nearly, if not alto- 
gether silent. Aubrey mentions Woldingham only as a small incon- 
siderable village, in which a copper coin of Constantine the Great had 
been found. 1 Salmon and Willis state, but incorrectly, that it once 
belonged to the priory of Merton. 

The following statement from the Domesday book appears to relate 
to this place : — 

"John holds of Richard (de Tonbridge) Wallingham, which Ulstan (Wolfstan) held of 
King Edward. It was then assessed at 8 hides ; now, at 1 hide. The arable land is ... . 
One carucate and a half is in the demesne ; and there are six villains, and three bordars, 
with 3 carucates. There are three bondmen. In the time of King Edward, it was valued 
at 4 pounds, as at present ; and when received, at 20 shillings." 

John, the holder of the manor of Wallingham, or Woldingham, 
under Richard de Clare, or de Tonbridge, is supposed to have been 
the ancestor of a family styled de Wanton, or de Walton, to whom a 
part of the estate belonged until the reign of Edward the Third. 
The demesne lands, with the manorial jurisdiction, were retained by 
the Clares, and their representatives, the Staffords, forming the estate, 
or manor of Upper-court Lodge ; while the lands held by the Walton 
family and their successors constituted the manor of Nether-court 
Lodge. 

The Manor of Upper-court Lodge. — In the reign of Henry the 
Third, we find from the Testa de Nevill, that Ilamo the son of Philip 
held half a knight's fee in Woldingham of the Honour of Clare, with 
the wardship of the heir of John de Wauton. In 1290, John de 
Wanton, knt., enfeoffed John, son of John de Wauton, of the manor 
of Woldingham, and gave him seisin; but the bailiffs of Gilbert de 

1 Aubrey's Surrey, vol. iii. p. 6. Two brass fibula 1 , and some iron arrow-heads and 
celts, found on the Upper-court Lodge farm, were formerly in thepossessioi. of Mr. Glover, 
of Reigate. — Manning and Bray, vol. ii. p. 410. 



214 HISTORY OF SURREY. TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

Clare, earl of Gloucester, took possession of the manor in behalf of 
their lord. John de Wauton, the son, held his courts here, and 
received the amerciaments and fealty of his tenants, and their rents ; 
in consequence of which they were distrained to appear in the earl's 
court at Blechingley. At length, de Wauton released the manor to 
the earl, who obtained the king's writ, directing Roger le Poleter and 
Matthew Fitz Wlayne de Nutfield, to take possession. They accord- 
ingly went to Woldingham, where they found Gilbert de Woldingham 
acting as bailiff for de Wauton, who being commanded in the king's 
name to quit the premises, he obeyed ; and the earl was restored to 
his right. Gilbert, earl of Gloucester, died in 1296, seised of one 
hundred acres of pasture at Woldingham, held of the king, in capite ; 
and 32^. rents of assise ; together with the advowson of the chapel of 
Woldingham, valued at 205. Joan de Wauton, the daughter and 
heiress of Sir John, claimed the manor, notwithstanding the above- 
mentioned proceedings; and in 1338, conveyed her interest in it to 
others ; but it remained in the possession of the Clares until the reign 
of Edward the Second ; when Earl Gilbert dying without issue, his 
estates were divided between his sisters ; and Woldingham ultimately 
became the property of the lords Stafford, and their descendants, the 
dukes of Buckingham. On the attainder of Edward Stafford, duke 
of Buckingham, in 1521, his vast possessions escheated to the crown; 
and in 1528, this manor, with Effingham and other lands, was granted 
by Henry the Eighth to John Bourchier, lord Berners, who died about 
four years afterwards, when the whole reverted to the crown. 2 

Sir John Gresham then obtained a grant of the estate, and having 
purchased the other manor in this parish, the two have been united, 
forming the manor of Woldingham. He died in 1557 ; and Sir Thos. 
Gresham, one of his descendants, by deed dated November the 13th, 
1630, conveyed Woldingham to trustees for sale ; and it was purchased 
by Henry Bynes, esq. It remained in his family until 1795 ; when it 
was sold to William Bryant, esq., who held it in 1808. It was sub- 
sequently purchased by William Jones, esq. ; whose wife, lady Jones, 
some time resided here. It next became the property of his son and 
successor, George Frederick Jones, esq. That gentleman died lately, 
but the estate remains in the family. 

The Manor of Nether-court Lodge. — Though the ancient manor 

2 " How this happened," says Manning, " as the grant was to him and his heirs 
generally, has not been found with certainty ; but Blomefield, in his History of Norfolk, 
states a circumstance which may account for it. He says that Lord Berners was indebted 
to the King in £500., and that some estates in Norfolk were given as a security, or in 
satisfaction for the debt ; he does not name those in Surrey, but they might be seized to 
make good a deficiency." — Surrey, vol. iii. p. 418. 



ADVOWSON AND RECTORS OF WOLDINGIIAM. 215 

of Woldingham was vested in the Clares, carls of Gloucester, and 
their representatives, a considerable estate there belonged to the 
family of Wauton, which was reckoned a distinct manor ; and in the 
reign of Edward the Third, it had come into the possession of John 
de la Mare de Woldingham. In 1363, it was conveyed to Thomas de 
Uvedale, esq., afterwards knighted; 3 whose family held it until 1529, 
when Arthur Uvedale sold it to Sir John Gresham, mentioned above, 
as lord of the entire manor of Woldingham. His son and heir, 
William, had two sons, William and Thomas ; the former of whom, in 
1590, conveyed the manor, the upper farm, and the advowson, to his 
younger brother, Thomas ; from whom the principal estate passed as 
before stated; and at the same time, he conveyed the Nether-court 
Lodge to Richard Hayward, whose family held it till 1731 ; when 
Richard Hayward, who died seised, was succeeded by his sister, the 
wife of Mr. Hodsden ; and her eldest son and heir, Richard Hodsden, 
who resided near Bradford in Yorkshire, died a few years before 1808, 
leaving a daughter his heiress, then unmarried. The manor of Nether- 
court Lodge is at this time the property of a Yorkshire gentleman of 
the name of Carrol. 

The village of Woldingham now consists of only the two farm- 
houses known as Upper-court Lodge, and Nether-court Lodge ; and 
four other houses, occupied by labourers and their families. 

The advowson of the Rectory belonged to the lords of the manor 
of Woldingham in the fifteenth century, who presented to the living 
in 1468, and probably later; but many of the bishop's Registers of 
subsequent dates are lost, and no more records of institutions have 
been discovered. The benefice is now presented to as a donative, by 
the lord of the manor of Upper-court Lodge, whose lessees have hail 
the appointment of the minister. The last patron was George 
Frederick Jones, esq., recently deceased. 

Rectors of Woldingham in and since 1800: — 
Richard Smith. Instituted in 1794. 

George Edw. Cooper Walker. Instituted in June, 1839. 

3 See ante, under Titsey, p. 203. Sir Thos. de Uvedale settled Woldingham, in fee, on 
Benedicta, his fourth wife, who survived him. Some disputes afterwards arose between 
that lady, and John, the son and heir of Sir Thomas ; which were finally adjusted by a 
compromise ; and in the 43rd of Edward the Third, (1870), she surrendered to him the 
Uvedale estates in Chelsham, Woldingham, Blcchingley, Merstham, Chalvedon, South- 
wark, and elsewhere, on condition of being herself allowed to hold Titsej daring life. In 
1386, John de Uvedale granted a lease of this manor, with the Stock thereon. \iz. — a 

good plough; 8 oxen, value 12*. each j 220 sheep, value 1 7<f. each, &c, at a reserved rent 

of 17 marcs sterling. 



216 HISTORY OF SURREY. — TANDRIDGE HUNDRED. 

The Church, standing by itself in a field, at a considerable distance 
from the Upper-court Lodge, (occupied by Mr. Moore), which is the 
nearest house, was erected about twelve or fourteen years ago, by 
G. F. Jones, esq., in lieu of a rude old structure then taken down, 
which had neither tower, spire, nor bell. The present edifice, built 
of flint, with brick dressings, consists of only one room, about twenty- 
six feet in length, with a western porch at the entrance. At the west 
end is a small wooden tower, with one bell ; the roof, like that of the 
body of the church, tiled. The interior, stuccoed, contains about 
fifty or sixty sittings, mostly open seats. The pews, with the 
pulpit and reading-desk (against the south wall, near the east end), are 
of deal, painted of a light colour, to correspond with the casing of the 
communion-table. 

The only sepulchral memorial is a stone inscribed as follows: — 

Here lyeth the body of Richard Glover, yeoman of this parish, who died 
19th March, 1772, aged sixty-eight years. 

Also, Mr. John Glover, who died September 23rd, 1818, aged seventy years. 

Likewise, Mrs. Frances Glover, wife of the above Mr. John Glover, who died 
March 3rd, 1826, in her seventy-second year. 

In the church-yard, at the east end of the church, are some 
crumbling remains of the tomb of Richard Haward and Alice his 
wife; the former of whom died October 14th, 1731, at the age of 
sixty-one; the latter, on the 19th of November, in the same year, at 
the age of seventy-eight. 

The church-yard is distinguished, on its south side, by a large and 
beautiful old yew-tree ; and fronting the porch, somewhat too close, is 
a very fine ash. — There is no churchwarden chosen for this parish. 

Benefaction to Woldingham : — 

Henry Smith, esq., 20s. annually, issuing out of lands, to be applied in the same 
manner as the other bequests of this gentleman to the parishes of Caterham, Chelsham, 
and Warlingham. — In this parish his gift is expended for clothing : in Warlingham, for 
bread. — In all the parishes here named, the sums given issue from a rent-charge of 130?. 
per annum, upon a farm at Bexhill, and Cowding, in the county of Sussex. 



THE 
HUNDRED OF REIGATE, OR REYGATE. 



PARISHES IN THE FIRST DIVISION, VIZ. : 

REIGATE. EAST BETCHWORTH. BUCKLAND. CHARLEVVOOD. — LIBERT Y 

OF KINGSWOOD, IN EWELL. — UORLEY. — LEIGH. NEWDIGATE. 

IN THE SECOND DIVISION : 

BURSTOW. CHIPSTEAD. GATTON. MERSTHAM. NUTFIELD. 



eigate Hundred, 
(anciently called 
the Hundred of 
Cher chef elle), com- 
prehends a vast 
tract of diversified 
and undulating ground on 
the south-eastern side of 
the county ; including, also, 
a portion of the Weald. 
Its present name was, un- 
questionably, derived from 
that of the town of Rei- 
gate ; but at what time it 
first received the appella- 
tion, or what was the precise origin of the name, are questions which 
have not yet been resolved. We read of a John de Reygate, who was 
one of the justices-itinerant in the reign of Edward the First, as early 
as the year 1279; and in the Taxatio Ecclesiastica of Pope Nicholas, 
circa 1291, Reygate is mentioned several times. 

This Hundred is bounded by that of Wallington, on the north; l>\ 
those of Copthorne and Wotton, on the west; by the Rapes of Lewes 
and Bramber, in Sussex, on the south ; and by Tandridge hundred, 
in this county, on the cast. The Geological structure of this district 
is exceedingly interesting, extending from the firestone, gait, ami 
chalk, about Merstham and Eleigate on the north, to the Shaiiklin 
sands, and deep clays of the Wealden. The magnificence of the 
views from the summit of the chalk-hills, on the north of Eleigate, has 

VOL. IV. II 




REIGATE ClIUKCH. 



218 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

already been described in the Sketch of the " Geology of Surrey," by 
Dr. Mantell. 1 They include, indeed, a great variety of extensive 
prospects over a richly-diversified and well-wooded country. 

REIGATE, or REYGATE. 

Reigate, called anciently Cherchfelle, or Church-field, is situated in 
the valley of the Holmsdale, at the foot of that long ridge of chalk- 
hills which, commencing near Farnham, on the west, extends across 
the entire county, and enters Kent, on the east, near Westerham. In 
reference to the appellation Cherchfeld, Mr. Salmon intimates that it 
might have arisen from some church (or churches), erected here by 
the South-Saxons soon after their conversion to Christianity : 2 and 
this conjecture is considered by Manning as sufficiently plausible to 
be adopted. He afterwards remarks, that " the church or churches so 
erected were possibly destroyed by the Danes when they over-ran 
this county, a.d. H41 ;" and as no notice is taken of an endowment of 
this sort by the Commissioners for the General Survey, it is probable 
that no new one had then been erected. 3 — There can, however, be no 
doubt of a church having existed here in the time of King John, 
about whose 1st year (1199) the advowsons of Crechesfeld (Church- 
field), Betchworth, and Leigh, were given by Earl Hamelin to the 
priory of St. Mary Overy, in Southwark. In the next century, Church- 
field obtained the name of Reygate, as stated in the account of the 
hundred ; the spelling of which has been long altered to Reigate. 

This extensive parish is bounded on the north by Kingswood 

liberty, in Ewell, and the parish of Gatton ; on the east, by Nutfield ; 

on the south, by Horley and Leigh ; and on the west, by Betchworth 

and Buckland. The parish comprises about six thousand acres, and is 

locally divided into two parts, namely, Reigate Borough and Reigate 

Foreign ; and the latter is subdivided into the districts, or boroughs, 

of Linkfield, Ilowleigh, Colley, Santon, and Woodhatch. The manor 

is supposed to have originally included the present parishes of Leigh, 

Newdigate, Charlewood, Horley, and Burstow. It is thus described in 

the Domesday book, among the manors belonging to the crown : — 

" The King holds in demesne Cherchefelle, which had been held by Eddid the Queen 
(Dowager). It was then assessed at 37| hides : now, for the King's work, at 34 hides. 

The arable land is There are 3 carucates in demesne : and sixty-seven 

villains, and eleven bordars, with 26 carucates. There are two mills, at 12 shillings, 
wanting 2 pence ; and 12 acres of meadow. The wood yields one hundred and forty 
swine for pannage, and forty-three for herbage. It is now valued at 40 pounds, which is 
the amount it yields." 



1 Vide the Geological Sketch, and Map, in vol. i. of the present work, p. 147. 

- Salmon, Antiquities of Surrey, p. 68. 3 Manning, Surrey, vol. i. p. 272. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF REIGATE. 219 

Reigate was, probably, granted by William llufus to William, earl of 
Warren and .Surrey ; although Earl llamelin, who lived in the reigns 
of Henry the Second, Richard the First, and John, was the first of the 
earls of whose possession of the manor there is any positive evidence. 
William, the son and heir of that nobleman, is mentioned by Dugdale 
as having held this estate, which descended to John, earl of Warren 
and Surrey, who died in 1347, leaving no lawful issue ; in consequence 
of which, the inheritance of his family devolved on Richard, the son 
of his sister Alice, by Edmund Fitz-Alan, earl of Arundel. Thomas, 
earl of Arundel, who died seised in 1415, being childless, his estates 
were shared amongst his three sisters ; and Elizabeth, the eldest, who 
was the wife of Thomas Mowbray, duke of Norfolk, had the manor of 
Reigate. On the failure of male issue in the family of Mowbray, the 
estates were again divided amongst the descendants of the four 
daughters of Elizabeth, duchess of Norfolk. Margaret, one of these 
coheiresses, married Sir Robert Howard, ancestor of the ducal family 
of Howard ; and her sister Isabel became the wife of James, lord 
Berkeley ; whose son, William, marquess of Berkeley, released his 
fourth part of the manor of Reigate to his cousin, Thomas, earl of 
Surrey, who thus obtained a moiety of the manorial estate ; and his 
son and heir, Thomas, duke of Norfolk, having been attainted just 
before the death of Henry the Eighth, all his estates escheated to the 
crown. 4 

Edward the Sixth, in the fourth year of his reign, granted the 
moiety of Reigate, and the moiety of the manor of Howleigh, in this 
parish, with other estates, to William, lord Howard of Effingham. 
His son and heir, Charles, carl of Nottingham, had by his first 
countess a son, whose death preceded his own, and who left a daughter 
his sole heiress, to whom descended the priory estate, in this parish, 
as will be subsequently noticed. But the manorial estate was settled 
by Lord Nottingham, as a jointure, on his second consort, Margaret, 
who, after his decease, married William Monson, esq., created Lord 
Monson, and Viscount Castlemain in Ireland; 5 and he, having thus 
become tenant of one moiety of the manor, in right of his wife, 
obtained the other moiety by purchase. 

When the manor was divided amongst the representatives of the 

four daughters of Elizabeth Fit/-. Man, one-fourth was allotted to 

1 Sec vol. i. pp. 72 — 112; Memoirs of the Earls of Warren ami Surrey. 
5 It is said that tin- surname of Monson, Mounson, or Munson, is derived from the 
German, Muntz, signifying in English, money, or in Latin. Nunmuu; or, according to 

somi\ from tin- (Ionium, Mitntzum, rich. The first scttleincnl of the family, in England, 

is understood to have been at East fteson, in the count] of Lincoln, w lure a John Monson 

was living A.D. 1878. 

if 2 



220 HISTORY OF SURREY. RE1GATE HUNDRED. 

Thomas Stanley, created Earl of Derby, the son of Sir John Stanley, 

by Joan, the third of the coheiresses ; 6 and the remaining fourth part 

6 This Thomas Stanley had summons to parliament, as Baron Stanley, in the 1st of 
Edward the Fourth. He was steward of the household to that king; and, preserving 
his allegiance to the young king, Edward the Fifth, he was committed to prison by 
Richard the Third. His imprisonment was only of short duration ; and, when released, 
he was again made steward of the household ; constable of England, for life ; and knight 
of the Garter. However, having married Margaret, the widow of Edmund Tudor, earl 
of Richmond, and mother of the young earl, who was afterwards Henry the Seventh, he 
was naturally an object of suspicion to Richard the Third. Accordingly, on the rumour 
of the Earl of Richmond's intention to assert his claims, Lord Stanley was commanded 
to discharge all his servants; and was strictly prohibited from holding any communication 
with his step-son. Subsequently, he obtained permission to retire into the country, but 
was obliged to leave his son and heir, George, lord Strange, as a hostage. Notwith- 
standing the critical nature of his position, he and his brother brought their dependants 
into the field, to the amount of five thousand men. His son was then a prisoner in King 
Richard's camp. Just before the battle, Lord Stanley received a message from Richard, 
accompanied by an oath, that he would behead Lord Strange if he did not instantly join 
him. His reply was brief, energetic, and heroic : — " He had more sons, and could not 
come !" He instantly rushed into battle for Richmond. " The tyrant," observes 
Holinshed, " as he had sworn to do, ordered the Lord Strange to be beheaded at the 
instant the two armies were to engage ; but some of his council told him, ' now was a 
time to fight, and not to execute ;' and the Lord Strange was remanded to the tents till 
the battle was over." After which, his father (or his uncle), Sir Wm. Stanley, placed on 
Richmond's head the crown taken from Richard's helmet ; not, in fact, the royal diadem, 
as has been erroneously stated by some writers, but what Lord Bacon more correctly 
describes as " a crown of ornament," or distinction. In the first instant of the new reign, 
the young nobleman regained his liberty. Henry the Seventh summoned him to parlia- 
ment by the title of Lord Strange, (he having married Joan, the daughter and heiress of 
John, lord Strange, of Knokin). Henry, also, made him a privy-councillor, and knight of 
the Garter. — Lord Stanley was created Earl of Derby in 1485 ; and he died in 1504. 
His son, Lord Strange, having died during the life-time of the earl, left a son, Thomas, 
who succeeded his grandfather as second earl of Derby. His lordship married Anne, 
daughter of Edward, lord Hastings, of Hungerford ; died in 1522 ; and was succeeded by 
his second son, Edward, as third earl. This Edward held offices of great honour and 
trust in the reigns of Henry the Eighth, Edward the Sixth, Queen Mary, and Queen 
Elizabeth. He married Dorothy, daughter of Thos. Howard, duke of Norfolk. Dying 
in 1572, he was succeeded by his eldest son, Henry, as fourth earl. This nobleman sat on 
the trial of Mary, queen of Scots ; and, in the 23rd of Elizabeth, (1590), he was appointed 
Lord High-steward on the trial of Philip Howard, earl of Arundel ; and afterwards 
received the honour of K.G. His lordship married Margaret, the only child of Henry 
Clifford, earl of Cumberland, (by his first wife, Alianore, daughter and coheiress of 
Charles Brandon, duke of Suffolk, and Mary, sister of King Henry the Eighth, and 
dowager-queen of France). He died in 1593; and was succeeded by his eldest son. 
Ferdinand, or Ferdinando, as fifth earl. Having been tampered with by a man named 
Hesket, said to have been an agent of the Jesuits, he indignantly rejected the proposition 
that he should assume the title of king, in right of his grandmother: in consequence of 
this refusal, he was thought to have been poisoned by the conspirators. By his wife, Alice, 
daughter of Sir John Spencer, of Althorp, he left three daughters, co-heiresses, mentioned 
above : Mary, who was married to Grey, fifth Lord Chandos ; Frances, to John, earl of 
Bridgewater ; and Elizabeth, to Henry, earl of Huntingdon. On his death, the baronies 
of Stanley and Strange fell into abeyance ; but the earldom devolved upon his brother 
William, sixth earl, and K.G. 



NOTICE OF THOMAS SACKVILLE, EARL OF DORSET. 221 

\\ as assigned to John Wyngfield, whose mother was the youngest 
daughter of Elizabeth Fitz-Alan. This share, as well as his own, 
belonged, in 1496, to Thomas, earl of Derby, who probably purchased 
it. The moiety of the manor thus acquired descended to Ferdinand, 
earl of Derby, who died in 1594, leaving three daughters his co- 
heiresses ; in behalf of whom it was sold by certain trustees to 
Thomas Sackville, earl of Dorset; and his son and successor, Earl 
Richard conveyed it to trustees, for sale, to pay his debts. 7 It was 

7 Thomas Sackvillk, 1st earl of Dorset, purchaser of the Derby moiety of the manor 
of Reigate, was descended from an ancient Norman family ; one of his ancestors, 
Herbrand de Salkaville, having come over to England with William the Conqueror. His 
father, who had been bred to the law, after an Oxford education, married the aunt of 
Queen Anne Boleyn ; and, in 1548, he was appointed Chancellor of the Court of 
Augmentations ; knighted, and made one of the Privy-council ; honours which were 
continued to him by Queen Mary. The subject of this note, while at college, became 
an excellent Latin and English poet. Conversant, also, with the continental languages, 
he was employed abroad, and much noticed by Queen Elizabeth. In 1566, he was 
knighted by the Duke of Norfolk in her Majesty's presence ; and, at the same time, 
created Baron of Buckhurst, the name of an estate in Sussex, which had been long in 
his family. He sat on the trial of Thomas Howard, duke of Norfolk ; on that of Mary, 
queen of Scots; and also on that of Philip Howard, earl of Arundel. The year after the 
trial of Mary, he was sent ambassador to Holland. In 1591, he was one of the Com- 
missioners of the Great-seal, and Chancellor of Oxford, where he had the honour of 
entertaining Queen Elizabeth in a most sumptuous style; and, in 1599, he was made 
Lord High-treasurer ; an office in which he was continued by King James. On the 13th 
of March, 1 603, he was created Earl of Dorset. He died suddenly at the council table 
at Whitehall, on the 19th of April, 1608, at the age of seventy-two ; and, on the 26th of 
the following month, his remains were interred with great solemnity in Westminster 
Abbey. "Few ministers," observes Horace Walpole, "have left so fair a character." On 
the death of his father, he came into the possession of a large fortune ; notwithstanding 
which, from the profuseness of his expenditure, he soon became involved in pecuniary 
difficulties ; when, according to Fuller, " happening to call on an alderman of London 
who had gained great pennyworths by former purchases from him, he was made to wait 
so long, that he was resolved to be no more beholden to wealthy pride, and presently 
turned a thrifty improver of the remainder of his estate." — Conjointly with Thomas 
Norton, with whom he is supposed to have become acquainted whilst a student in the 
Temple, the Earl of Dorset wrote a tragedy intituled " Ferrex and Porrex," (published, 
also, under the title of " Gorboduc "'), which has excited much attention amongst the 
critics. Of this production, the plot of which is from the English Chronicles, Norton, a 
fellow labourer with Sternhold and Hopkins, wrote the first, second, and third Acts, and 
Lord Dorset the fourth and fifth. It was first represented before the Queen, at White- 
hall, by the gentlemen of the Inner Temple, at a grand Christmas festival in 1561. (See 
Dugdale's Okigines Judicialks, page 150.) sir Philip Sydney, in his "Defence of 
Poesie," speaks favourably of it, with certain exceptions, as "full of stately speeches and 
\\ til-sounding phrases, climbing to the height of Seneca his style, and as full of notable 
moralitie, which it doth most delightfully teach, and so obtain the very end of poesie." 
Rymer observes, that " Gorboduc is a fable doubtless better turned for tragedy than any 
on this side the Alps, in his time; and nii^ht lia\r been a better direction to Shakspeare 
and Ben Johnson, than any guide they have had the luck to follow." " Corboduc " was 
republished in 1786, by Dodsley, in his "Collection of Old Plays," with a Preface b\ 
Spence, written at the solicitation of Pope, who wondered that its " propriety and natural 



222 HISTORY OF SURREY, REIGATE HUNDRED. 

purchased by Lord Monson in 1628, as above stated. That nobleman 
was one of those who sat in judgment on King Charles the First; 
and on the restoration taking place, although he escaped capital punish- 
ment, his estates were confiscated, and he himself was degraded and 
condemned to perpetual imprisonment. 8 

Lord Monson was seised, in fee, of one moiety of the manor of 
Reigate, (having acquired it by purchase), and he held the other 
moiety as a tenant for life : hence, on his attainder, the whole manor 
escheated to the crown, the fee-simple of one moiety being forfeited 
altogether, and also Monson's life-interest in the other. The manor 
was granted to the duke of York, (afterwards James the Second), in 
or before 1662, and he held it entire until 1672, when John Goodwin 
became associated with him as lord of the manor. That gentleman, 

ease " had " not been better imitated by the dramatic authors of the succeeding age." 
Besides other things, the Earl of Dorset wrote a " Life of the Unfortunate Duke of 
Buckingham in the Reign of Richard III." This appeared in a work intituled " A 
Mirrour for Magistrates, being a True Chronicle History of the Untimely Falls of such 
unfortunate princes and men of note, as have happened since the first entrance of Brute 
into this island until this latter age." 

Thomas, first earl of Dorset, who married Cecile, daughter of Sir John Baker, knt., of 
Sissinghurst, was succeeded by his eldest son, 

Robert, the second earl, who founded an hospital at East Grinstead, in Sussex, and 
endowed it with 330l. per annum. He married Margaret, daughter of Thomas, duke of 
Norfolk. Dying the year after his father, he was succeeded by his eldest surviving son, 

Richard, the third earl, mentioned above. This nobleman procured a conveyance of a 
moiety of the manor of Reigate from Margaret, the daughter and heiress of John Gawber, 
and had a license of alienation from her, dated April the 1st, 1614. In the interim, he 
further obtained a grant from the crown, by the description of a moiety of the manor of 
Reigate, three hundred messuages, one dove-house, three hundred gardens, three hundred 
acres of land, one hundred acres of meadow, three hundred acres of pasture, sixty acres 
of wood, two hundred acres of furze and heath, and 10/. rent, in the county of Surrey : 
the consideration was 1700/. — (See Manning's Surrey, vol. i. pp. 279, 280.) While in 
possession of his moiety, the Earl employed one Thomas Clay to make a survey. This 
survey, dated 1622, and intituled " The View and Survey of the Manor of Reigate, Parcel 
of the Possessions of the Right Hon. Richard, Earl of Dorset," is believed to be yet 
extant. As mentioned above, the Earl conveyed this, with many other estates, to Sir 
George Rivers, knt. ; Richard Amherst, serjeant-at-law ; and Edward Lindsey, esq., of 
Buxted, in Sussex, upon trust, to sell, and pay his debts : the sale, however, was not 
completed before his death. His lordship married Lady Anne Clifford, daughter and sole 
heiress of George, earl of Cumberland ; but, dying without issue-male, in 1624, the 
honours devolved upon his brother, 

Edward, the fourth earl. On the 14th of February, 1627-8, this nobleman joined with 
Rivers, Amherst, and Lindsey, in conveying the manors of Reigate and Howleigh to Sir 
John Monson, of Burton, in the county of Lincoln, knt., and Robert Goodwin, of Home, 
in the county of Surrey ; the consideration for which was, 200/. paid to the earl, and 
2,350/. to the trustees. On the 9th of May, 1646, Sir John Monson and Robert Goodwin, 
in consequence of a trust reposed in them by William, lord Monson, conveyed to his 
lordship the moiety of the said manors of Reigate and Howleigh. 

8 See Collins's Peerage, vol. iv. p. 276. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF REIGATE. 2'I'.\ 

doubtless, had bought the reversion of the moiety after the death of 
Lord Monson, which had now taken place ; and from him the estate 
passed to Deane Goodwin, (M.P. for Reigatc from 1678 to 1681), who 
is mentioned as joint lord with the duke of York in the court-rolls, 
in 1683. But after his accession to the throne, James purchased of 
the Goodwins the moiety of the manors of Reigate and Howleigh, for 
the sum of 4,466/. 

In consequence of the abdication of James the Second, the entire 
manor came into the hands of his successor, William the Third ; who, 
in 1697, granted the manors of Reigate and Howleigh, with their 
appurtenances, &c, of the annual value of 396/. 2s. 3d., to Joseph 
Jekyll, esq., his heirs and assigns, in free and common socage, at a 
rent of 6s. 8d. a year. This grant was made to Mr. (afterwards Sir) 
Joseph Jekyll, as trustee for the celebrated statesman, John, lord 
Somers, 9 one of whose sisters he had married. After his death, the 
manor was held by his two sisters and their husbands ; and on the 
decease of Lady Jekyll, without issue, in 1745, it descended to her 

9 This nobleman was the son of Mr. John Somers, an attorney, of Worcester, where he 
was born in 1652. He represented his native city in the Convention Parliament of 
January 22nd, 1688-9. Having been regularly educated for the legal profession, and 
having distinguished himself on various important occasions, he was appointed solicitor- 
general, and knighted, on the 4th of May, 1689 ; in April, 1692, attorney-general; on 
the 23rd of March, 1692-3, lord-keeper of the Great-seal ; on the 22nd of April, 1697, 
lord high-chancellor of England ; and, on the 22nd of December, in the same year, he 
was advanced to the dignity of a peer of the realm, by the style and title of Baron 
Somers, of Evesham, in the county of Worcester. In earlier life, this great lawyer and 
statesman distinguished himself by his opposition to the measures of Charles the Second, 
and James the Second. So high was his reputation as an advocate, that he was engaged 
in the important case of the seven bishops ; and his speech upon that occasion was 
regarded as one of the boldest, most impressive, and constitutional, that was delivered at 
the bar. He was a strenuous promoter of the Revolution. On the 19th of May, 1701, 
he was impeached by the House of Commons as the projector of the ('anions Partition 
Treaty, and for alleged mal-administration in his office as chancellor; but, to the 
confusion of his enemies, who shrank from the prosecution of their charge, he was 
honourably acquitted at the bar of the House of Lords, on the 17th of June following. 
After the death of King William the Third, his lordship passed his time in literary 
retirement ; and was chosen president of the Iioyal Society, of which he had been lorn; a 
member. In 1706, he drew up a plan for effecting an Inion between England and 
Scotland; and it was so mueli approved, that Queen Anne appointed him one of the 
commissioners for earning the measure into effect On a change of ministry , in irns],, 
was appointed president of the Council ; from which office, however, in consequence of 
another change, he was removed in L710. 

Amongst the literary productions of Lord Somen maj be mentioned, " \ Vindication 

(in 1681) of the Proceedings in the two last Parliaments, in Answer to kin^ Charles the 

Second's Declarations of his reasons for dissolving them"; — "Plutarch's Life of Alcibiades 

in English"; — " The Epistle of Dido to .Eneas, translated from < >vid"; — several excellent 

Papers, published in the latter part of the reign of Charles the Second, &c. Walpole, in 
the second volume of his " Catalogue of Rojal and Noble Authors." remarks, "That all 



224 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

nephew, James Cocks, esq., whose nephew, Chas. Cocks, was created 
Baron Somers, of Evesham, in 1784; and dying in 1806, was suc- 
ceeded by his son, John Somers Cocks, created Viscount Eastnor 
and Earl Somers, in July, 1821. ,0 His son, the 2nd earl (of the 
same name), is now owner. 

the traditional accounts of him, the historians of the last age, and its best authors, repre- 
sent hirn as the most uncorrupt lawyer, and the honestest statesman ; a master orator ; 
a genius of the finest taste ; and as a patriot of the noblest and most extensive views ; as 
a man who dispensed blessings by his life, and planned them for posterity : at once the 
model of Addison, and the touchstone of Swift." 

Lord Somers, however, survived his great mental powers, and died unmarried, in 1716, 
when the title became extinct, and his estates descended to his sisters ; Mary, the wife of 
Charles Cocks, esq., of the city of Worcester ; and Elizabeth, wife of Mr. (afterwards 
Sir) Joseph Jekyll ; in whose names, and those of their husbands in their right, a court 
was holden for the manor of Reigate on the 4th of April, 1717. Mrs. Cocks dying in 
the latter end of that, or early in the next year, Sir Joseph Jekyll appears as lord at the 
succeeding court, holden on the 28th of April, 1718 ; and, also, from that time until his 
death. 

10 The family of Le Cock, Cokkys, or Cocks, were seated in Kent in the reign of 
Edward the First; but removed to the counties of Gloucester and Hereford in the 16th 
century. Subsequently, by their alliance with the Somers family, their property extended 
to the counties of Worcester and Surrey. Charles Cocks, esq., a younger brother, settled 
as an attorney at Worcester, of which city he was one of the representatives in parlia- 
ment in 1692. He married Mary, the eldest of the two sisters and co-heirs of John, lord 
Somers; and died in 1725, leaving issue two sons, James and Charles, and three 
daughters, Katharine, Mary, and Margaret. Katharine, the eldest of the daughters, 
became the wife of James Harris, esq., of Salisbury, father of James Harris, the author of 
" Hermes," &c. Mary became the wife of Sir Nicholas Williams, bart. Margaret was 
married, first, to William Lygon, esq., of Madresfield, in the county of Worcester, who 
died in 1716 ; and, secondly, in 1719, to Philip Yorke, afterwards Earl of Hardwicke, and 
Lord High-chancellor of England, who died in 1764 ; his lady having died in 1761. 

James, the elder son of Charles, succeeded, on the death of Lady Jekyll, his mother's 
younger sister, September the 29th, 1745, to "the inheritance of the manor of Reigate; 
and he was one of the representatives of the borough in every parliament (excepting that 
of 1710) from the 6th of November, 1707, until the dissolution of the third parliament of 
George the Second, June 18th, 1747. He married, first, in September, 1718, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Richard, earl of Bradford, by whom he had one son, James, who died March 
10th, 1734-5, in consequence of a wound he received from a plough which he had been 
directed to follow for the benefit of his health. His second wife was Ann, daughter of 
William, lord Berkeley, of Stratton, whom he married in 1737, and who died in childbirth 
of her first son, James, in the following year. On the death of his father, in 1750, this 
James succeeded to the Reigate property ; but he died unmarried, in the twentieth year 
of his age, being killed in the affair at St. Cas, on the French coast, in September, 1758. 

John, the second son of Charles, inherited the manor of Reigate on the death of his 
nephew, just mentioned. By marriage with Mary, daughter of the Rev. Thomas Cocks, 
and sole heiress of the elder branch, he had become possessed of Castle-ditch, one of the 
ancient estates of the family, in Herefordshire. On the death of Sir Robert Cocks, bart., 
the last heir-male of Richard, a younger brother of his grandfather, in 1765, he also 
succeeded to another of the family estates, at Dumbleton, in Gloucestershire. He died in 
1771, leaving seven sons and one daughter. 

Charles, his eldest son, was the next possessor of the several estates of the Cocks 
family. As one of the representatives of the borough of Reigate, he served in every 



FLANCHFORD-PLACE : ITS VARIOUS OWNERS. 225 



Flanchford. — In the district called Santon, about two miles south- 
west of the town, is Flancliford-Place, a messuage, or tenement, per- 
taining to the manor of Reigate. It was anciently held of* the earls 
of Warren and Surrey by Hugh de Flenesford ; and when the estates 
which had belonged successively to the families of Warren and Fitz- 
Alan were divided on the death of Thomas, earl of Arundel, in 
1415, amongst his three sisters, Flanchford appears to have fallen to 
the lot of Elizabeth Fitz-Alan, the eldest of those ladies ; from whom 
it descended to John Mowbray, duke of Norfolk, her grandson, by 
her second husband, This nobleman, by deed dated July 4th, 1446, 
granted the messuage of Flanchford, with all lands, woods, &c, in 
fee-simple, to John Tympirley, esq., who was M.P. for Reigate in the 
31st and the 38th of Henry the Sixth. It was several times trans- 
ferred before the middle of the ensuing century ; and in 1539, Ann, 
the widow of Reginald Cobham of Blechingley, conveyed this estate, 
with other lands and tenements, to Thomas Sanders of Charlewood, 
from whose family it passed, by sale, to Martin and Christopher Free- 
man ; and they, in the same year, resold the property to Thomas 
Bludder, esq., afterwards knighted. His son and heir, Sir Thomas 
Bludder, who died in 1655, mortgaged his estates, and left them for 
sale ; in consequence of which, they came into the possession of Sir 
Thomas Hook, who, in 1666, conveyed them to Sir Cyril Wyche, 

parliament from the time of the general election, in 1747, until the dissolution, which 
took place in 1784. He married, first, on the 8th of August, 1759, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Richard Eliott, esq., of Port Eliott, in the county of Cornwall ; by whom he had two 
sons, John, and Edward Charles, and two daughters. His second son was unfortunately 
drowned, in 1781, when at Westminster school. "He grew," said his brother, in his 
monumental inscription, "as a lily in the field." — Charles Cocks, esq., married, secondly, 
on the 20th of May, 1772, Anne, daughter of Reginald Pole, esq., of Anthony, in the 
county of Cornwall ; by whom he had two sons, Philip James, and Reginald, and one 
daughter, Anna Maria. He was, on the 19th of September, 1772, created a baronet; and, 
on the 11th of May, 1784, he was elevated to the peerage, by the style and title of Baron 
Somers, of Evesham. His lordship died on the 30th of January, 1806, and was succeeded 
by his son, 

John, who, on the 14th of July, 1821, was created Earl Somers, and Viscount Eastnor, 
of Eastnor-castle. His lordship married, on the 19th of March, 1785, Margaret, only 
daughter of the Rev. Treadway Russel Nash, D.D., the historian of Worcestershire. By 
this lady, who died on the 9th of February, 1831, his lordship had issue, three sous and 
one daughter: Edward Charles, a major in the army, born July 27th, 17sf>, and killed at 
the assault of Burgos, in Spain, October 8th, 1812 ;— John, the present earl;— and .lames, 
prebendary of Hereford, born January 9th, 1790. Be was Lord -lieutenant of the county 
of Hereford, recorder of the city of Gloucester, and high-steward of the city of Hereford ; 
and dying in 1841, was succeeded by 

John, his elder surviving son, the present earl. His lordship was horn March the 19th, 
1788; married, March 4th, 1815, Caroline Harriet, 4th daughter of Philip, third earl of 
Hardwieke, by whom he has had issue one son, Charles, born July 14th, 1819; and lour 
daughters, Caroline Margaret, Harriet Catherine, Isabella Jemima, and Emily Marin. 
VOL. IV. GG 



226 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

(one of the six clerks, in Chancery), for the sum of 8,400/. ; and of 
him they were purchased by Thomas, lord Windsor, who, in 1682, 
was created earl of Plymouth, and who died in 1687. This estate 
having been settled on his second wife, and her heirs-male, the entail 
was barred by a recovery having been suffered, and it was sold to Sir 
William Scawen, knt. ; from whose family it passed again, by sale, to 
Sir Merrick Burrell, bart., and descended to Sir Peter Burrell, who 
obtained the title of Lord Gwydir in 1796. He sold Flanchford, in 
1790, to William Browne, yeoman, of Reigate; and it is now in the 
hands of the trustees under the will of that gentleman. 

The manor of Combe, Combe-Colvin, or Free-Combers, adjoining 
Flanchford, has for several centuries been held with it. Both were 
included in the transfer by sale, in 1790, to the above-named William 
Browne ; consequently, Combe, as well as Flanchford, is in the hands 
of the trustees. 

Wood-Hatch. — This district, extending southward and south-east- 
ward of the town, where the sandy soil ends, and the clay and woody 
country begins, derives its name from a gate, or hatch, which led into 
the great common, or wood, still called Earl's- wood, as part of the 
demesnes of the earls of Warren. At the entrance of this common, 
on the north side, is a tenement with land, called " The Hatch." By 
an undated deed, supposed to be of the time of Edward the First, 
" Adam de la Waldhache de Reygate granted to Alice, daughter of 
William le Tanner de Reygate, one croft and one lane adjoining, with 
the hedges and all appurtenancies, in the parish of Reygate ;" and in 
a "deed of 6th Edward III., stated under the manor of Combe, Combe 
Colvin, otherwise Free Combers, 'John atte Waldhach,' and a meadow 
called ' Waldhachmed,' are mentioned."" Here was formerly a capital 
messuage called Wood-hatch Place, belonging to the family of Poyntz. 
John Poyntz, esq., of Reigate, conveyed it, in 1617, to John Oade. 
The estate afterwards became the property of the family of Cudsden ; 
in 1714, it was sold to Sir Richard Oldner, knt. It then passed to 
the Scawens ; and it was sold by the trustees of James Scawen, esq., 
to William Bryant, esq.,' 8 who, about the year 1786, pulled the house 
down, and sold the ground to Mr. Carter, who built a smaller house 
near the site of the old one, and sold it to the late Mr. Rees Price ; 13 
by whose son, who is the present owner, the house has been much 
altered and enlarged, under the direction of Mr. Knowles, architect of 
the new church at Red-hill. The grounds are very agreeably laid out. 

11 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. i. p. 309. 

12 This gentleman died on the 14th of September, 1844, in the eighty-fifth year of his 
age. He had been many years engaged in making collections for a History of this county. 

13 See Manning and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. p. 810. 



UNION-HOUSE, AND ESTATES IN REIGATE P/ USII. 227 

In the immediate neighbourhood, is Wood-hatch Lodge, the seat of 
Mrs. Charrington ; and the residences of Mrs. Foskett, Mrs. Wood, 
and W. J. Til ley, esq. 

On Earl's-wood common, in 1794, a large red-brick building was 
erected for a Poorhouse, under the act of 22nd George the Third, 
for the poor of Reigate, and several other parishes. Ten acres of the 
common were given by the lord of the manor for the site of the house ; 
and a woollen manufacture was established within its walls. Since 
the introduction of the new poor-law, it has been enlarged, by the 
addition of wings, and converted into an Union-house, for the parishes 
of Burstow, Betchworth, Buckland, Chaldon, Charlewood, Chipstead, 
Gatton, Headley, Horley, the Liberty of Kingswood (in Ewell), Leigh, 
Merstham, Nuffield, Reigate, and Walton-on-the-Hill. By these 
parishes twenty-three guardians are returned, in addition to the 
magistrates of the district, who are ex-officio members of the board of 
guardians ; and it is now conducted in accordance with the instructions 
of the poor-law commissioners. 

Howleigh. — This manor was granted with Reigate to Sir Joseph 
Jekyll, for John, lord Somers; and in 1803, it belonged to Charles, 
baron Somers. The manor-house was separated from the demesne 
long previously to the grant just mentioned; and when Manning wrote, 
it was the property of Henry Byne, esq. It afterwards belonged to 
Mr. Tucker; and it has lately been purchased by the railway com- 
panies ; the Brighton and Dover lines both passing through the 
estate. 

The Manor of Redstone. — Within the district, or borough of 
Howleigh, is this manorial estate, which belonged at one time to Sir 
George Colebrooke, who sold it to Sir William Mayne, afterwards 
Lord Newhaven. It next came into the hands of George Graham, 
esq., a near relative of his lordship's. — " It was put up to sale by Mr. 
Christie (with several other farms in Reigate) in 1786, by the 
description of the manor of Redstone, with a Court Baron, quit-rents, 
reliefs, and heriots, an elegant mansion, garden, orchard, and 109 
acres, 3 roods, 1 perch of land, of which 12 acres were copyhold, held 
of the manor of Reigate." " The property was left by Ebone Whiting, 
esq. (whose widow held it about 1803), to trustees, for sale ; but, in 
consequence of the death of one of the trustees, no sale was effected, 
and it is now in Chancery. 

Linkfield. — This district, which extends to the east and north-e;ist 
of the town, towards Merstham, had a mansion, now removed, held of 

M Manning and Bray, SuBBEY, vol. i [>. 810. 

GO 2 



228 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

the priory manor. Nicholas de Lynkefeld held this estate in the reign 
of Edward the Second; and, at a later period, it belonged to the 
Newlands of Gatton ; of whose representatives it was purchased by 
Sir James Colebrooke. He died, without issue, in 1761 ; and it 
came into the possession of his brother, Sir George Colebrooke, by 
whom it was sold to Lord Newhaven. The property was afterwards 
vested in John Graham, esq., who conveyed it to Robert Ladbroke, 
esq. ; by whom it was left to Miss Ladbroke. That lady married Mr. 
Weller, who took the name of Ladbroke, and is the present owner. 

Frenches. — This is a capital mansion, with a manor, in the hamlet 
of Wiggey, and district of Linkfield. As a part of the Ladbroke 
property, it descended with Linkfield, and now belongs to the above- 
mentioned Weller Ladbroke, esq. 

The Manor of Colley. — This manor is included in the district of 
the same name, situated to the north and north-west of the town of 
Reigate. It appears to have been detached from the principal manor 
of Reigate, in consequence of a settlement made about two years 
after the death of the last earl of Surrey of the Plantagenet family, 
which took place in 1347. In pursuance of directions left by him, 
this manorial estate was conveyed by Edward de St. John and others, 
(probably trustees), to the earl's nephew, Richard Fitz-Alan-, earl of 
Arundel ; from whom it descended to Henry, earl of Arundel, who 
died in February, 1579-80, having by his will, dated December 30th, 
1579, confirmed the grant which he had previously made of the 
greater part of his estates to John, lord Lumley, who had married one 
of his daughters and coheirs. This estate was, probably, alienated by 
Lord Lumley, and at length came into the possession of Thomas 
Copley, esq., who died in 1584, leaving a son and heir, named 
William; on whose decease, in 1643, the inheritance devolved on 
his two grand-daughters. Mary, the elder of those ladies, married 
John Weston, esq., of Sutton, near Guildford, who, in her right, 
became proprietor of the manor of Colley, which descended with 
other estates of the Weston family to John Webbe, esq. 15 of Sarns- 
field-court, in the county of Hereford, who afterwards took the name 
of Weston. His son, John Joseph Webbe Weston, esq., sold it, in 
1842, to its present owner, Henry Lainson, esq., brother of the late 
Alderman Lainson, of the city of London. 

Reigate Castle. — This fortress, which was situated on the north 

side of the town, within the precincts of the borough, is supposed by 

some to have been founded before the Norman conquest. Others, 

however, from the pointed character of the remaining subterraneous 

15 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. i. p. 313. 



ACCOUNT AND DESCRIPTION OF REIGATE CASTLE. 22U 

vaults, refuse to assign for it an earlier date than the termination of 
the twelfth, or commencement of the thirteenth century. It probably 
owed its origin to the earls of Warren and Surrey, who, on acquiring 
estates in this county, made Reigate their principal residence. 18 The 
ground plot suggests the idea of its having been the original site of a 
Roman fort ;" and it is not improbable that, in later times, it may have 
been one of a chain of forts commanding the vicinal or cross road 
which may be traced from Ightham, in Kent, to Farnham, in Surrey ; 
and still known, in parts, by the name of the Pilgrims' road. It is 
certain that, under the earls of Warren, Reigate castle was of con- 
siderable note, and constituted one, at least, of the capital seats of 
their barony in England. William, earl of Warren, by whom it was 
held in the time of King John, is the first of his family mentioned by 
Dugdale as its owner; Dugdale, however, acknowledges his title to 
it to have been derived from his earliest ancestors. 18 The wavering: 
policy of this nobleman, in the contest between King John and his 
barons, is thought to have occasioned him the temporary loss of the 
castle; which is also said to have been, for a time (1216), in pos- 
session of Louis, dauphin of France. 18 

The castle was in a decayed state in the 21st of James the First, 
as, in a survey then taken, it was presented as follows : — " Sir Roger 
James holdeth from year to year, at will of the lords, the site of the 
Castle of Reygate, with the Warren and Lodge there, called the 
Castle Warren, containing 17 acres, rood, 16 perches, worth, 
together with the profit of the Connyes there xl. for which he payeth 
yearly viii/." And, "That the Lords of this house have a decayed 
Castle with a very small house and a Connie Warren belonging 
thereto, now in the occupation of Sir Roger James." Notwithstanding 
the dilapidation here indicated, the castle is presumed to have been in a 
state capable of being rendered defensible ; since the House of Com- 
mons judged it necessary (July 4, 1648), to refer it to their committee 
at Derby-house, 20 " to take care of it, and to put it into such a condition 
that no use might be made of it to the endangering of the peace of 

16 See " Historical Memoirs of the Earls of Warren and Surrey," in vol. i. of this 
work, p. 72, et seq. 

17 Manning, in his account of Reigate, (Surrey, vol. i. p. 294), refers to a view of the 
castle, and a plan of its site, in Watson's " Memoirs of the ancient Earls of Warren and 
Surrey," vol. i. pp. 28, 29. 

18 Some traditions relating to Reigate castle, in the reign of King John, have been 
noticed in the General History, vol. i. pp. 39, 40, of tins work. 

19 Jettons, or French coins, have been found amongst the ruins. In 1802, a spur of 
extraordinary size, (afterwards in possession of the late Mr. Glover, of Reigate), «:i> 
found in the castle butts, at the depth of three feet in the ground. — Manning, Si BBET, 
vol. i. pp. 294-5. 

-° Journals of the Souse of Commons, v. > 



230 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

the kingdom." The castle is supposed to have been at that time 
demolished ; but some remains of the outer walls were standing within 
the last half century. 

The site of the castle is the property of Earl Somers, as lord of the 
manor. It comprises an eminence of about fifty feet above the general 
level of the town, and nearly surrounded by a dry fosse of consider- 
able breadth and depth : at some distance, northward, is a moat. 
The area, perfectly level, and forming a lawn of very fine turf, is an 
oblong, with rounded angles, about one hundred and sixty paces from 
east to west, and one hundred from north to south. It is entered by 
a stone gateway of an antique form, over a bold escarpment at the 
east end. This gateway, erected in the year 1777, by Mr. Barnes, 
attorn ey-at-law, of Reigate, who then occupied the premises, was in- 
tended to bear the following inscription, but it was never placed : — 

NE. 

Will'i comitis Warren 

Veteris hujusce loci incolse 

Fidique libertatum nostraruni Vindicis 

MEMORIA 

Temporuin injuria 

cum ipso Castello 

Intercederet 

Propriis R. B. impensis 

H. S. E. 

Anno mdcclxxvii. 

On the lawn formerly stood a summer apartment, in a style corres- 
ponding with the ancient design of the fortress; but it has been 
several years removed. 

In the centre of the eminence, or platform, is a pyramid of stones 
of modern construction, marking the entrance to the subterraneous 
caverns. The descent is by a flight of steps, hewn out of the sand- 
stone rock, to the depth of eighteen feet ; and thence by a regular 
slope, without steps, twenty-six feet more. The entire descent, of 
two hundred and thirty-five feet, terminates in a cavern, or chamber, 
twenty-three feet long, thirteen feet wide, and eleven feet high to the 
crown of the arch: this was, probably, a dungeon for prisoners. 
Returning, on the left hand, is a spacious gallery, or crypt, nearly 
one hundred and fifty feet in length, having a semi-circular end, and 
a seat all round. This chamber, finished apparently with more care 
than the other parts of the excavation, is termed the Barons' cave ; 
and, according to tradition, was occasionally the scene of secret con- 
sultation amongst the barons : 21 it might serve, also, as a repository 
for treasure and military stores. The pointed roof is twelve feet in 

21 See vol. i. p. 40. 



REIGATE PRIORY, AND LIST OF PRIORS. 



231 



height, and springs from a well-defined off-set, or ledge. An arch, 
supposed to have formed a private communication with the town, fell 
in some years ago. Nearer to the entrance-steps is an apartment, 
five-and-twenty or thirty feet in length, which, possibly, might have 
been occupied by the guard of this secluded retreat. The vaultings 
throughout the caverns assume the figure of the pointed arch ; the 
whole having been hewn out of the solid rock, which, however, is soft 
and of a peculiarly fine texture. In the different chambers and 
passages, there is no indication of damp ; nor is the air in the slightest 
degree close or oppressive.* 2 

Strangers desirous of visiting these interesting remains of " the 
olden time," may, for a slight gratuity to the cottager who has them 
in charge, be accommodated with lights and a guide. 

Reigate Priory. — William de Warren, the son of Hamelin, earl of 
Warren and Surrey, who died in 1240, is said to have founded a 
monastery here, dedicated to the Virgin Mary and the Holy Cross, 
and to have endowed it for the support of a prior and canons of the 
order of St. Augustine. — The revenues of this convent consisted of 
firm-rents, &c, in Reigate, 18/. 2s. 8c?. ; quit-rents there, 4/. 14s. \0d.; 
rents in Horley, 11. 19s. 5\d.; the 
rectory of Dorking, with certain quit- 
rents, 17/. 3s. ; firm-land in Capel, 
4/. 13s. Ad.; firm-land in Burstow, 
1/. 13s, 4c?. ; the firm of a mill, &c, 



in Betchworth, 21. 17s. lid.; firm- 
land in Hedley, 21. 18s. 8d. ; firm- 
land in Nutfield, 21. ; the manor of* 
West Humble, in Mickleham, &c, l] 
51. 5s. ; quit-rents, and firm-land in ^D 
Gatton, 11. 13s. 5d.; and the manor 
of Eastbrook, in Sussex, 8/. 13s. 4c?. : 
in all, 77/. 14s. ll^c?. From this 
gross amount deductions being made 
for fees, pensions, &c, of the sum of 
8/. 17s. 4i"rc?., a clear income is left 
of 68/. 17s. 7c?. 23 

List of the Priors of Reigate : — 

Adam, about 1298 ; when two citizens of London assumed the religious habit 
under his authority. 

R. de Froyle, resigned March 15th, 1308-9, when an annual pension was assigned 
to him out of the revenues of his office. 




SBAL OP RBIG U'F. rilUillY. 



-- For some speculative and descriptive particulars relating to Reigate castle, see a 
paper, signed A. J. K., with an illustrative plate, in the Gent.'s Mag. for July, 1842. 
'•'' Valor Ecclesiasticus, Hen. VIII. ; 1814 ; pp. 66, 67. 



232 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Walter de Timberden, elected in June, 1309 : died in 1337. 

John atte Greth, elected September the 30th, 1337 : resigned in 1340. 

John de Pyrie, elected in March, 1340-1. 

Robert de Scotency, supposed to have been elected in 1349 : died in 1367. 

John de Kent, collated December the 9th, 1367 : died in 1374. 

Richard Warnham, elected Nov. 20th, 1374: died May 31st, 1395. 

John de Yakesley, elected August 14th, 1395 : resigned in 1397. 

John de Combe, elected September loth, 1397 : died in 1415. 

John Hervest, elected about 1450 : resigned July 17th, 1452. 

Henry Swetenham, collated January 6th, 1452-3 : resigned April 21st, 1459. 

John Morton, collated January 18th, 1459-60 : resigned April 7th, 1468. 

John de Aspley, collated May 27th, 1468. 

Alexander Shott, about the 11th of Henry the Sixth. 

John Chandler, 1496 or 1497. 

William Major, about 1517 : resigned in 1530. 

John Lymden, elected November 26th, 1530. 

After Prior Lymden had held his office about five years, an act of 
parliament was passed, granting to the king all religious houses whose 
revenues did not exceed 200Z. a year ; and this convent being con- 
sequently suppressed, the prior obtained an annual pension of 10Z., 
which he continued to receive in 1553. 

The site of the priory was granted to Lord William Howard, after- 
wards Lord Howard of Effingham, in exchange for the rectory of 
Tottenham, Middlesex, in 1541. 24 The mansion now called Reigate 
Priory, which occupies a part of the old site and precincts, is the seat 
of Earl Somers. This is an elegant modern structure, consisting of 
a centre and wings, at the southern extremity of the town: it contains 
some good apartments, with a small but valuable collection of paint- 
ings. 25 The grounds comprise about seventy-six acres. 

Reigate is both a market and a borough town ; the former privilege 
having been granted by a charter of Edward the Second, in 1313, at 
the suit of John, earl of Warren. Under this charter, the markets 
are held weekly, on Tuesdays, for corn and provisions. There was, 
also, a second market, which was granted by Charles the Second, in 
1673, (when his brother, the duke of York, was owner of the manor), 
and was held for cattle, on the first Wednesday in every month : this 
was discontinued about forty years ago, and a cattle market is now 
held on Tuesdays, in conjunction with the weekly corn and provision 
market. There were fairs, likewise, for horses, cattle, &c, on Whit 
Monday ; September the 14th, and December the 9th ; but, within 
these few years, the fair at Whitsuntide has been discontinued. 

24 Dugdale, Monasticon Anglicandm, vol. vi. pp. 517, 518. 

25 There is, also, a very curious Chimney-piece in the hall, the jambs and transom 
of which, containing the arms of the Howard family, were originally in Nonsuch palace, 
erected by Henry the Eighth; and removed to Reigate when the old priory-house was built 
by Lord William Howard, after the dissolution of the monasteries. — An engraving of this 
cliimney-piece is given in Manning and Bray's Surrey, vol. i., under Reigate. 



MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT FOR REIGATE. 



233 



This borough was first represented in parliament in the 23rd of 
Edward the First; and it returned two members from that time until 
the passing of the Reform act, in June, 1832, when its future repre- 
sentation was restricted to one member. It was altogether a nomination 
borough, under the control of the Earl of Hardwicke, (the first of whom, 
viz., Philip Yorke, when solicitor-general, obtained influence here about 
the year 1721), and Earl Somers ; nearly all the burgage freeholds, 
scarcely two hundred in number, being their property, and the 
elections were determined by a few parchment voters. Under the 
Reform act, the right of election is extended to the entire parish, 
(forming a rectangle of about three miles and three-quarters from 
east to west, and two miles and a quarter from north to south) ; yet, 
even at the present time (1844), the registered electors are only one 
hundred and seventy-four in number ; and the political influence 
appears to have been conceded to Earl Somers. — This is one of the 
polling places appointed by the act (2nd & 3rd Gul. IV. cap. 64), for 
the eastern division of Surrey. 

Members of Parliament for Reigate in and since the year 1800. 
The dates here given are those of the first meeting of each parlia- 
ment. — 



September 27th, 1796, 



November 16th, 1802, 



December 15 th, 1806 



June 22nd, 1807 



November 24th, 1812 
Jauuary 14th, 1819 .. 



The Hon. John Somers Cocks, eldest son of the 1st Lord 
Somers, of this family. 

Joseph Sidney Yorke, capt. R.N., 3rd son, (by his 2nd mar- 
riage), of the Rt. Hon. Chas. Yorke, Lord High-chancellor : 
he was afterwards an admiral, and K.C.B. 

The Hon. John Somers Cocks, who succeeded his father, as 
Lord Somers, in January, 1806 ; and was created Viscount 
Eastnor and Earl Somers, in July, 1821 : in his room, in 
February, 1806, was elected, 

The Hon. Philip James Cocks, Lieut.-Col. in the 1st regiment 
of Foot Guards. 

Joseph Sidney Yorke, Capt. R.N. 

Hon. Edward Charles Cocks, eldest son of the 2nd Lord 
Somers, a lieutenant in the 16th Light Dragoons. 

The Right Hon. Philip Yorke, commonly called Lord Vis- 
count Royston. 

The Right Hon. Philip Yorke, commonly called Lord Vis- 
count Royston, who was lost in a storm off Lubeck, April 
1st, 1808 ; and in his room was elected, 

James Cocks, esq., of Chesterfield-street, May-Fair. 

Hon. Edward Charles Cocks, a captain, and afterwards a 
major, in the 16th Light Dragoons. 

James Cocks, esq., of Charing Cross. 

Hon. John Someks Cocks, a captain in the 2nd regiment of 
Light Dragoons. 

VicE-Aimn: ai., Sir Joseph Sydney Yohkk, K.C.B. 

Hon. James Somers Cocks, of Eastnor Castle. 



VOL. IV. 



IIII 



234 



HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 



November 14th, 1826 . 
October 26th, 1830. . . 
January 14th, 1831 .. 



February 19th, 1835. 
November 15th, 1837 



April 21st, 1820 : — New Parliament on the decease of George the Third. — 

Vice-Admiral, Sir Joseph Sydney Yorke, K.C.B. 

Hon. James Somers Cocks, who accepted the Chiltern 
Hundreds ; and in March, 1823, 

James Cocks, esq., of Charing Cross, was again returned. 

Vice-Admiral, Sir Joseph Sydney Yorke, K.C.B. 

James Cocks, esq., of Chesterfield-street. 

Admiral, Sir Joseph Sydney Yorke, K.C.B. 

James Cocks, esq., as before. 

Admiral, Sir J. S. Yorke, K.C.B. : he was drowned in the 
Southampton Water, on the 5th of May, 1831, through the 
upsetting of a small yacht, in a sudden squall : in his room 
was elected, 

Charles Philip Yorke, capt. R.N., his eldest son, who suc- 
ceeded his grandfather, as fourth earl of Hardwicke, on the 
18th of November, 1834. 

Joseph Yorke, esq., of Forthampton-court, co. Gloucester. 
February 5th, 1833 : the first reformed parliament, and restricted to one member. — 

Hon. John Somers Cocks, commonly called Lord Viscount 
Eastnor, 2nd son of the 1st Earl Somers ; his elder brother, 
a major in the army, was killed at the assault of Burgos, in 
October, 1812. 

The Same. 

The Same. His lordship succeeded his father, as second and 
present Earl Somers, in 1841 ; and in February, the same 
year, his eldest son, the 

Hon. Charles Somers Cocks, commonly called Lord Viscount 
Eastnor, was elected. 

The Same ; and present member for Reigate. 

The town of Reigate gave the title of baron to the earls of Peter- 
It stands upon a rock of fine sand-stone, in which, beneath 
several of the houses, curious excavations have been made. From 
wells dug in this rock, the place is supplied with water. Towards 
the east end of the town, some years ago, a tunnel was cut through 
the rock, materially shortening the distance from London. 

The town, situated at the base of the ridge of chalky downs, 

26 The Mordaunts, earls of Peterborough, descended from Sir Osbert le Mordaunt, a 
Norman knight, of Radwell, in Bedfordshire. Sir Osbert possessed that estate by the 
gift of his brother, who obtained it from the Conqueror, in consideration of his own and 
his father's good services. John Mordaunt, the fifth baron of the family, was advanced 
to the dignity of earl of Peterborough, by letters patent, on the 9th of March, 1628. 
His youngest son, John, (by Elizabeth, only daughter and heir of William Howard, lord 
Effingham, son and heir of Charles, earl of Nottingham), distinguished himself, as Lord 
Clarendon has shewn, by the most active exertions, attended by wonderful perils, in 
bringing about the restoration of Charles the Second. By that sovereign, he was 
created, July 10th, 1659, Baron Mordaunt, of Reigate, in the county of Surrey, and 
Viscount Mordaunt, of Avalon, in the county of Somerset. His son, Charles, 2nd Viscount 
Avalon, was created Earl of Monmouth soon after the revolution of 1688. Celebrated 
as a wit, and as the friend of Swift and Pope, he acquired extraordinary military fame, 
by numerous gallant achievements in Spain, and in other parts of the continent ; and he 
was most successfully employed on various foreign embassies. " He was," observes 



August 4th, 1841 .... 



borough. 



DESCRIPTION OF THE TOWN OF REIGATE. 235 

which crosses the county, consists of two streets ; the principal, or 
High-street, running nearly east and west ; and the other, called 
Bell-street, north and south. Anciently, the market-place was at the 
west end of the town, near the entrance of a road called Nutlcy-lane. 
The site, beneath which is a vault, or crypt, ribbed with free-stone, is 
still recognized as that of " The Owlde Market Place." About the 
time of the Reformation, as is supposed, the market was removed to 
the opposite end of the town ; and a chapel, which had been dedi- 
cated to St. Thomas a Becket, was then used as the market-house : 
as the assizes were formerly held here, this chapel was also used as a 
court for the trial of prisoners. The present market-house and town- 
hall, united in a small brick building, were erected about the year 
1708 ; and in 1801, on the removal of the old prison, (for the better 
accommodation of the prisoners who are brought hither at the Easter 
sessions), which stood to the east of the town-hall, the workmen came 
to the foundation of the chapel. The remains of that foundation were 
then cleared away ; the prison (or cage) was rebuilt in the Mint-yard ; 
and the clock was placed in the turret of the town-hall. The large 
upper room of the latter building is used for various purposes ; and 
the lectures of the Reio;ate Mechanics' Institution are delivered there. 
Immediately opposite the market-place is the Swan inn, records 
relating to which are extant as far back as 1452. 

A little below the neighbouring inn, known as the White Hart, and 
at the upper end of Bell-street, leading southward, was a chapel said 
to have been dedicated to St. Lawrence ; the walls and roof of which 

Horace Walpole, "one of those men of careless and negligent grace, who scatter a 
thousand bun mots, and idle verses, which we painful compilers gather and hoard, till the 
owners stare to find themselves authors. Such was this lord : of an advantageous figure 
and enterprising spirit; as gallant as Amadis, and as brave, but a little more expeditious 
in his journeys ; for he is said ' to have seen more kings and more postilions, than any 
man in Europe.' His enmity to the Duke of Marlborough, and his friendship with Pope, 
will preserve his name, when his genius, too romantic to have had a solid foundation 
for fame, and his politics too disinterested for his age and country, shall be equally 
forgotten. He was a man, as his poet said, ' who would neither live, nor die like other 
mortals.' Yet even peculiarities were becoming in him, as he had a natural ease, that 
immediately adopted and saved them from the air of affectation." His lordship died at 
Lisbon, in 1735, at the age of seventy-seven. His great-grandson, Charles Henry 
Mordaunt, fifth earl of Peterborough, and third earl of Monmouth, died unmarried, in 
1814; when the earldom of Peterborough, and the earldom of Monmouth, -with the 
viscounty of Mordaunt, and the barony of Mordaunt, of Reigate, became extinct ; while 
the barony of Mordaunt, of Turvey, devolved upon his lordship's half-sister, Lady Mary 
Anastasia Grace Mordaunt, as Baroness Mordaunt; and at her ladyship's decease without 
issue, in 1819, it passed to Alexander Gordon, fourth duke of Gordon, as heir-general of 
Charles, third earl of Peterborough ; and was enjoyed by his Grace, the late duke of 
Gordon. — The Mordaunts, baronets, of Massingham, in the county of Norfolk, are of 
this family. [Vide Walpole's Works, vol. i. pp. 438-39.] 

nil 2 



236 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

were entire, as those of a dwelling-house, into which the building 
had been converted, when Manning's first volume of his " History of 
Surrey" was published, in 1804. On the north side of High-street, 
towards the west end, was a third chapel, dedicated to the Holy Cross. 
This was converted into, or gave place to, a barn, of which there are 
no remains. 

Until about a century ago, the inhabitants of Reigate carried on a 
considerable trade in oatmeal ; in the manufacture of which nearly 
twenty mills were employed ; one of them within the remains of the 
chapel of the Holy Cross: the trade gradually died away, and the 
mills were demolished. The general trade has, also, greatly suffered 
since the opening of the Brighton railway. 

Reigate Park, forming an elevated terrace of more than half a mile 
in length, and commanding extensive views, lies on the south side of 
the town, from which it is divided by the priory estate. It consists of 
one hundred and fifty acres, and is part of the manorial demesne. 
From a survey taken in 1622, it appears that the "old park was well 
stored with timber trees, and replenished with deer." About the year 
1635, the Lord Monson, who then held the manor, disparked it, and 
felled the timber. Formerly, it presented a fine turf; but, although 
the soil is poor and sandy, the summit of Park-hill, and a great portion 
of the southern side, were converted into arable by Mr. Carter about 
forty or fifty years ago. Subsequently, turf was again laid on the 
summit, and the southern side occupied by furze, as a cover for game. 
The furze has been removed during the present year (1844), probably 
with a view of restoring the turf. The turf on the northern side has 
never been disturbed. 

The wastes of Earl's-wood, Reigate-heath, the Wray, Red-hill, and 
Peteridge-wood, were formerly covered with timber, which is supposed 
to have been cut down by Lord Monson about the same time that he 
threw open the park. Instead of trees, he is said to have filled them 
with rabbits : however, there have been no rabbit-warrens here within 
memory. 

On Reigate-heath, westward of the town, is an Italian villa, lately 
erected from designs by Mr. Knowles. It is the property and 
residence of Henry Lainson, esq., brother of the late alderman of 
that name, of London. 

The other principal residences in and around Reigate are — Reigate 
Lodge, the handsome seat of Thomas Smith, esq., at the entrance of 
the town from London. The mansion was erected, and the grounds 
were first laid out, by Mrs. Harriet Clements ; after whose death, the 
estate was purchased by George Purling, esq. ; who, dying in 1840, 
left it to his nephew, Nathaniel Hastings Middleton, esq. ; by whom 



REIGATE, DESCENT OF THE ADVOWSON. 237 

it was sold, about two years ago, to the present owner. — Great Doodes, 
the adjoining estate, is the property and residence of Mrs. Hume. 
Near these are the residences of James William Freshfield, esq. ; — the 
Recess, of J. L. Anderdon, esq. ; — and the Parsonage-house, occupied 
by the Rev. Richard Filewood Snelson, with two acres of glebe. 

Advoicson, &c. — No notice is taken by the Commissioners for the 
General Survey, of a church at Reigate ; nor does any mention of 
one occur till the time of Richard the First, or John. The advowson, 
originally in the crown, was, with the manor, vested in the family of 
Warren. About the year 1199, Hamelin, the second husband of 
Isabel, daughter and heir of William, earl of Warren and Surrey, gave 
it, by the name of the church of Cherchfield, to the prior and canons 
of St. Mary Overy, in Southwark, who afterwards obtained license to 
appropriate the benefice to their own use. This appears to have been 
previously to the taxation of benefices, which took place in the 20th 
of Edward the First, in which the rectory is found taxed separately 
from the vicarage, at twenty marks per annum ; as it is, also, in that 
of Bishop Beaufort, in the time of Henry the Fourth, or Fifth. The 
priory continued in possession until the time of its dissolution, on the 
14th of October, 1539 ; soon after which, the impropriation was given 
to the family of Skinner, of Reigate. John Skinner, who represented 
this borough in the parliament of the 14th of Queen Elizabeth, 1558, 
possessed it at the time of his decease, in 1584 ; it being then held of 
the queen, as of the honour of Hampton-court, by fealty only in free 
socage. Alice, his widow, daughter of John Pointz, esq., of Alderley 
in the county of Gloucester, and sister of William Pointz, esq., of 
Reigate, held it for the term of her life in part of her dower. On her 
decease, it devolved on Richard Elyot, of Reigate and of Albury, in 
right of Elizabeth his mother, sister and heir of the aforesaid John 
Skinner. Of the heirs of Elyot it was purchased by Sir Roger James, 
knt., a descendant of Jacob (or James) Van Haestricht, who came 
into England from Holland in the time of Henry the Eighth, and 
whose son, Roger, and his posterity, took the surname of James. The 
rectory descended with the family of James ; one of whom, Roger, in 
1715, suffered a recovery thereof, and of the advowson; and, by deeds 
of lease and release, in July, 1720, conveyed the tithes to Richard 
Iloldich and William King, in trust to convey the same to Sir William 
Scawen, knt., of Carshalton. Sir William, on his death in 1722, 
devised them, with other estates, to Thomas his nephew, and his heirs- 
male ; which Thomas, in 1740, conveyed them, in exchange for other 
estates, to Robert, his younger brother. Previously to this, in 1730, 
Sir Thomas Scawen, their father, having purchased of the Jameses 
the parsonage, glebe, and manor of the rectory, had devised them, on 



238 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

his death in that year, to Robert, who thus became possessed of the 
whole rectory. This Robert, who died without surviving male issue, 
in 1778, devised these estates to trustees, to be sold for the benefit of 
his daughter, Louisa Scawen. The manor, parsonage, and glebe, were 
accordingly purchased by Gawen Harris Nash, esq. ; who, on his 
death in 1785, devised them to his first cousin, Charles Goring, esq., 
of Wiston in Sussex ; who afterwards sold them to Charles Birkhead, 
esq., formerly of Walton-upon-Thames. In 1787, the tithes were sold 
to George Rogers, esq., a commissioner of the navy; who, in 1798, 
sold them to Mr. Griffith, an auctioneer, in Southwark. 

In 1715, Roger, the son of Haestricht James, esq., separated the 
advowson from the rectory, as shewn above, and sold the former to 
the Rev. John Bird, M.A., at that time vicar of Reigate. Mr. Bird, 
who died in February, 1727-8, devised the next presentation to 
William Edmondson and Robert Lambert, doctors in divinity, and 
fellows of St. John's college, Cambridge, in trust for the benefit of 
John, his son. This said John, however, dying in his twenty-third 
year, did not arrive at the proper age for institution to the vicarage ; 
but being of lawful age for other purposes, and having suffered a 
recovery of the advowson, he thereby became possessed of it, and left 
it, at his death, to Grace his mother. That lady, by her will dated 
October 16th, 1738, devised it to Richard Filewood, esq., of Lambeth, 
her second husband, and his heirs and assigns ; on whose death, in 
1786, it came to the Rev. Jeoffry Snelson, M.A. (instituted to the 
vicarage in 1782), who had married one of his daughters, 27 and in 
whose family the patronage still remains. 

The vicarage, which is in the deanery of Ewell, is rated in the 
Taxation of Pope Nicholas (20th of Edward the First), at 100s. per 
annum ; and in the King's books, at 20/. 5s. 3d. In the Valuation of 
the 26th of Henry the Eighth, it is discharged of first-fruits and 
tenths, but taxed with the payment of 2s. Id. for synodals, and 7s. 7^d. 
for procurations. The Registers of this parish are nearly perfect : the 
baptisms commence in the year 1556 ; the marriages in 1559 ; and the 
burials in 1561. 

Vicars of Reigate in and since 1800: — 

Jeoffry Snelson, M.A. Instituted in 1782. 

Richard Filewood Snelson. Instituted May 21st, 1812. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene, occupies an elevated 
site at the eastern extremity of the town, near the entrance from 
London. It is a handsome structure, of squared chalk or lime-stone ; 
the entire length of which is one hundred and twenty -five feet two 

27 Manning's Surrey, vol. i. p. 324. 



DESCRIPTION OF REIGATE CHURCH. 239 

inches; and the breadth, fifty-four feet six inches. The building 
consists of a nave, with north and south aisles ; a principal chancel ; 
and two smaller chancels, one at the end of the north, and the other 
at the end of the south aisle. The nave and principal chancel are under 
one roof; the roofs of the north and south aisles are separate, and un- 
connected with either nave or chancels : the north chancel has a distinct 
roof, considerably higher than the others ; the whole being covered 
with slate. At the west end of the church is an embattled tower of 
hewn stone, thought by some to be of later date than the body. It is 
of good height, double buttressed, and contains eight bells. 28 The 
buttresses of the church are of the same architecture and material as 
those of the tower. At the east end, on the north side of the chancel, 
is an unsightly building, of brick-work, erected by John Skynner, esq., 
in 1513, for a vestry. In an apartment over this is a Library, the 
collection of which, now comprising about seventeen hundred volumes, 
was commenced in 1701: it is for the use of the parishioners; the 
vicar is the librarian. 

The interior, as well as the exterior of the church, is handsome. 
The nave is separated from each of the aisles by five pointed arches, 
resting on round and octagonal pillars alternately. The north and 
south chancels are each separated from the principal one by two 
pointed arches, resting on elegant clustered pillars. The nave and 
chancel are, also, separated by pointed arches, and a screen of oak. 
There are four steps from the floor of the church to that of the chancel, 
and one more step to the altar. 

The pewing of the church, partly of wainscot, and partly of deal, 
is neat, and in good repair. 89 Against the south wall is a gallery, used 
by Earl Somers, of the Priory estate; and on the north side, is 
another gallery. These galleries are painted white, which, in some 

28 Formerly there were only six bells ; but, in 1784, they were re-cast to their present 
number through the liberal contributions of the Earl of Hardwicke, Lord Somers, John 
Somers Cocks (his lordship's son) ; Edward Leeds, and William Ballingham, esqrs., repre- 
sentatives of the borough in parliament ; Richard Ladbroke, esq., of Frenches ; Richard 
Barnes, esq., and other parishioners. The weights of the respective bells, (re-cast by 
Robert Patrick, founder, of London), were as follow: — the First bell, 6cwt. Oqr. 2 lbs. ; 
Second, 6cwt. 2qrs. 17 lbs. ; Third, 7cwt. 1 qr. 7 lbs. ; Fourth, 8cwt. 3qrs. 131bs. ; Fifth, 
lOcwt. 2qrs. 26lbs. ; Sixth, llcwt. Sqrs. 20lbs. ; Seventh, 14cwt. 2qrs. 2lbs. ; Eighth, 
19cwt. 3qrs. 2lbs. 

29 In 17G8, Mrs. Mary Okes, of Redstone in this parish, left by will 100/., to be paid to 
the churchwardens, to be laid out in repairing the pews and seats, if they should raise a 
like sum of 100/., by subscription or otherwise, within six months alter her death, and 
apply it to the same purpose. In accordance with the spirit of this bequest, the 
parishioners, with the members for the borough, raised by subscription, the sum of 
303/. 14s. Gd., with which, and Mrs. Okes's legacy, the body of the church, which is well 
paved with stone, was new-pewed. 



240 HISTORY OF SURREY. — RE1GATE HUNDRED. 

measure, impairs the effect they would otherwise have upon the eye. 
The pulpit is of oak, hexagonal, and supported by a central pillar. A 
stone font, at the west end of the south aisle, is small and unimportant. 
At the west end of the church is a large and handsome organ, with a 
gallery for the singers. The number of sittings is eight hundred and 
fifty. 

The chancel, with its monuments, hatchments, &c, of which an 
engraved representation is annexed, is pleasing in its effect. The 
great east window, with three tiers of lights, and containing some 
remains of painted glass, is also very fine. South of the communion- 
table, are four ornamental niches, in the easternmost of which is a 
piscina. 

A great portion of the wall of the north chancel is occupied by the 
costly monument of Richard Ladbroke, esq., of different coloured 
marbles, in the Corinthian order of architecture. In the centre, on 
the base, is a reclining effigy of the deceased, supporting himself on 
his right arm. In his left hand is a celestial crown ; on one side is 
the figure of Justice, and on the other that of Truth ; both the size 
of life. Above, are two angels, with trumpets and palm-branches; 
and in the centre, is a resplendent sun. On the upper part of a large 
grey-marble slab, are the armorial bearings of the Ladbroke family ; 
below which are the following inscriptions : — 

To the memory of Richard Ladbroke, esq., late of Frenches in this Parish : 
a zealous Member of the Church of England as by Law Established : true 
to the Interest and Constitution of this Kingdom : a sincere Friend, and a 
generous Benefactor to the Poor. He died on the 14th day of March, 1730, 
in the forty -ninth year of his age. 

Richard Ladbroke, esq., his kinsman, who died on the 15th day of April, 
1765, in the forty-ninth year of his age. 

Elizabeth Ladbroke, widow, (relict of the last mentioned Richard Ladbroke, and 
by whom he had two sons and seven daughters), who died on the 19th day of 
October, 1794, aged eighty-one years. 

Richard Ladbroke, esq., their elder son, who died a bachelor, on the 11th of 
September, 1793, aged fifty-one years. 

Sarah, Letitia, Robert, and Catherine, children of the said Richard and Elizabeth, 
all of whom died unmarried. 

Nearly adjoining this monument is a neat plain tablet, 

Erected from motives grateful and affectionate, by her Children, to the memory 
of Elizabeth, relict of Osbert Denton, merchant of Lynn Regis, in the county 
of Norfolk ; and sister to Richard Ladbroke, of Frenches in this parish : she 
died 17th July, 1807, aged 64 years ; and, at her own request, was interred in 
the adjoining vault of her ancestors. Also, in the same vault are deposited 
the remains of two unmarried sisters, namely, Ann Ladbroke, of Chelsea, in the 
county of Middlesex, who died 22nd January, 1800, aged 53 years ; and Hannah 
Ladbroke, of Russell Square, London, who died 29th December, 1817, aged 
66 years. 




s 
o 

32 

S 
O 

I 

y 

e 

I 
s 



MONUMENTS IN REIGATE CHURCH. 241 

Over the vestry-room door is a brass-plate, thus inscribed : — 

Memorand' q'd in An' D'ni mcccccxiij, Joh'es Skynner, Gentilman, tain 
cu' decern libris p'a'ia Ric'i Knyght, & cu' quadraginta solidis p'a'ia Will'i 
Laker, ac cu' xviijs. vi<£ p'a'ia Alicie Holmeden, necno'cu' xiij.v. iiijrf. p'a'ia 
Geokgii Longevile, p' ip'm JonEM Skynner disponend' q'm cu' ciijs. iiijrf. 
de p'priis suis denariis p'aia'b' Parent' suor' i' honore' Dei Omnipote'tis istud 
Vestibulu' fecit edificari : q'o'm om'm a'ia'm p'piciet' De'. 

As this inscription, from its numerous contractions, cannot be readily understood, and 
as it is in itself very curious, from indicating a marked approximation towards the change 
then close at hand, we shall here insert a translation. A few years earlier, money for the 
good of departed souls would, doubtless, have been expended in masses, rather than in the 
building of a useful appendage to the church. — 

Be it remembered, that in the year of our Lord 1513, John Skynner, gent., 
as well with 10/. for the soul of Richard Knyght, and with 40s. for the soul of 
William Laker, and with 18s. 6d. for the soul of Alicie Holmeden, and also 
with 13s. 4d. for the soul of George Longvile, to be disposed of by the said 
John Skynner, as with 103s. Ad. of his own proper money for the souls of his 
Parents, caused this Vestibule to be built in honour of Almighty God— on all 
whose souls God have mercy. 

Above, is a small marble tablet, with the following inscription : — 

Reader, until thou knowest how to prize 
These neyb'ing ashes, passe and spare thine eyes. 
Ere thou art priviledg'd to weep, thou must 
Be brought acquainted with this noble dust : 
And know so elegant a worth lyes heer, 
'Twere wrong to stain it with a common Teare. 

Sir Thomas Bludder, of Flanchford in this county, approved for faithful 
service to two renowned Kings ; admired for noble hospitality to his Neybours ; 
beloved ingenious sweetnesse to all his Friends ; now rewarded for loyalty to his 
King, constancy in Religion, reverence to God's Church and Ministers, charity 
to the Poor, and scarce exampled patience in his Imprisonment and Sicknesse, 
resteth heer. His most observant wife, E. B., the last of three, ever desirous to 
enjoy him (tho' but in his memory), caused this marble to a;ternize him. 

Over the columns supporting the tablet, are the armorial bearings 

of the Bludder family, namely : — 

Gu. a dexter Arm bent, Or, the hand proper; impaling Gu. a Fess indented 

between six Billets, Or. 

At the end of the north chancel, is an ancient monument of the 
Bludder family, now greatly dilapidated : when perfect, it displayed the 
recumbent figures of a man and a woman, in white marble, beneath a 
canopy of the same, enriched with roses, &c, and supported by Ionic 
columns of black marble ; but the canopy is gone, and the mutilated 
figures are, from damp, almost covered with green moss. At the feel 
of the statues is a small and somewhat grotesque figure of a female 
child. On the front plinth of the tablet are the following words: — 

Debemur Morti nos nostuaq. 

vol. IV. 1 1 



242 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

And at the back of the recess, on a black marble, over the figures, is 

the subjoined inscription, now read with difficulty : — 

Hoc tumulo reponitur (foelicem expectans Resurrectionem) corpus Thom^ 
Bludder, nuper de Flanchford in hac parochia, Militis, qui olim Regiac Classis 
cibatui prsefuit; una cum Domina Maria Uxore fidelissima, filia Christoph. 
Herris, de Shenvills in Com. Essex, Armiger'. Uterque eadem septimana. 
spiritus suos in manus Domini deposuerunt : Hsec, die Sabbathi, 25 Octobr' anno 
Dom. 1618; iEtatis suae, 48 : Ille, Sabbatho proxime sequenti, primo die Novembr. 
iEtatis suae, 56. — 27 Annis amice, fideliter, & prospere in matrimonio peractis, 
liberos (filio Christophero prius defuncto) decern reliquerunt superstites ; filios 4, 
Tho. militem, Henr. Juliu. Charol. et filias 6. Dominam Maria, uxor' Roger. 
Nevenson de iEstry in Com. Cantii Milit' ; Elizab. uxor' Tho. Higgs de Col- 
burne in Com. Glocestr' Armig"; Sara. Martha. Annam. Margaret. — Tho. 
perdilectus eorum films natu Max. & Miles, hoc Monumentum memoriae sacrum 
lugens posuit. 

Amongst various memorials of the Tharland family, is one on the 
north side of the principal chancel, which is a large monument, 
exhibiting two full-length figures. 

On the opposite side, against the south wall of the chancel, is a neat 

marble tablet, thus inscribed : — 

In the adjoining vault, near the remains of Lord William Howard, first Baron 
of Effingham, are deposited those of his immediate descendant, and next male 
heir, Henry Howard, esq., 2nd son of General Thomas Howard, of Great Book- 
ham in this county. He died September 10th, 1811, aged seventy -five years. 
He was twice married ; first, to Catherine, daughter of John Carleton, D.D., of 
Colchester, by whom he left two daughters ; and secondly, to Mary, daughter 
of Kenneth Mackenzie, Lord Viscount Fortrose of the Kingdom of Scotland, by 
whom he left an only son, Major General Kenneth Howard, then serving in 
Spain. His integrity and mild manners conciliated the esteem of all who knew 
him ; and by his domestic Virtues, he was particularly endeared to his own 
family and friends. 

The Major-General Howard, mentioned in this epitaph, succeeded 
to the barony of Effingham in December, 1816 ; and in July, 1838, 
he was created Earl of Effingham. 

There are several tablets against pillars in the principal chancel. In 

the north-east corner is a tablet — 

To the respected memory of John Sanders, Esquire, of the Rectory in this 
Parish, who died at Tours in France, January 26th, 1826, aged fifty-seven years. 

In the south-east corner is a similar tablet, to the memory of Anne 
Birkhead, wife of Charles Birkhead, esq., who died on the 30th of 
June, 1812, aged fifty-seven ; and to Charles Birkhead, of the Inner 
Temple, their eldest son, who died March 11th, 1807, aged 28. 

In the south chancel is a marble monument, the chief portion of 
which is in the form of a heart, inscribed : — 

Near this place lieth Edward Bird, Esq. Dyed the 23d of February, 1718. 

His age 26. 
Above the heart is a marble half-length of the deceased, in armour, 



MONUMENTS IN REIGATE CHURCH. 243 

with a full-flowing wig, a truncheon in his right hand, and various 

warlike instruments in the back ground. 30 

Not far distant is a black grave-stone, with the following inscription 

to the memory of Mr. Bird's wife, who died before him: — 

Heare lyeth y e body of Catherine y e wife of Edw. Bird, Gent. & daugh' of 
Haestrick James, Esq.; departed this life July y e 11, 1714, aged 27, deserving 
truly this Epitaph, 31 

" Underneath this stone doth lye 

As much Vertue as could dye ; 

Who [which] , when alive, did vigour give 

To as much Beauty as could live." 

In the south aisle, against the wall, is a tablet thus inscribed : — 

To Captain George Lewis, of the Royal Engineers, late of the Castle Estate 
in the Island of Trinidad, who died on the 29th of March, 1802, on his passage 
to England, aged 32 years. He was the second but eldest surviving son of 
Colonel George Lewis, of the Royal Artillery, who was interred at Chiselhurst, 
Kent ; and he married at Reigate, Jane, the second daughter of William Deacon, 
Esquire, of Portsmouth, Hants, by whom he left two sons, George Charles 
Degen Lewis, of the Royal Engineers ; and William Lewis, solicitor, of Gray's 
Inn Lane, London ; by the elder of whom, George, this tablet is erected as a 
grateful recollection of an affectionate Father. 

Beneath, is a tablet to the memory of George Holroyd, who died 
October 15th, 1789, aged fifty-one ; and also his wife, Eleanor, who 
died June 8th, 1827, aged seventy-seven. 

Against the wall of the north aisle are several modern tablets ; one — 

To Harriet Clements, (late of Reigate Lodge), who died on the 25th July, 

1831, aged 51 years. 

Near this, an elegant tablet — 

To George Purling, Esquire, of Hertford Street, May Fair, London ; of 
Bradford Peverell, in the county of Dorset; and of Reigate Lodge, in this 
county : died 28 April, 1840, aged 75 years. 

The next tablet is of white marble, representing a scroll suspended 

30 From a note in Manning's Surrey, (vol. i. p. 318), it appears that Mr. Bird was a 
lieutenant in the Marquis of Winchester's regiment of Horse ; and that in September, 
1718, he " had the misfortune to kill a waiter at a bagnio by Golden Square." In the 
January following, he was tried and convicted of that murder, and executed on the 23rd 
of February, 1718-19. Originally, there was a further inscription on the monument, 
censuring the conduct of the Judge and Jury, but it was afterwards obliterated. 

The armorial bearings of the Bird family, which was formerly of note, and well con- 
nected in this parish, are on the monument, and are thus described by Manning : — 

Quarterly, for Bird, 1 and 4. Argent, on a Chevron, Gules, three Fleurs de Lys, Or, 
between three Lions rampant, Sable; 2 and 3, Argent, on a Bridge over a River, a Castle, 
Gules, flag flying : Impaling James, viz., Quarterly, 1 and 4, Argent, two Bars crenelle 
or counter-embattled, Gules; 2, three Fers de Moulins, bar-ways, Sable; 3, Barry-wavy, 
Argent and Azure; on a Chief, Sable, three Birds volant, Or. 

31 This epitaph, as will be recollected, is merely an adaptation from the lines written by 
Ben Jonson on the Countess of Pembroke, sister to Sir Philip Sidney. 

ii 2 



244 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

from the wall, the lower part resting on the Bible and a volume of 

Linnasus's Works, thus forming a fold in the scroll, and appearing to 

conceal a portion of the inscription, which is as follows : — 

M.S. Roberti Salusbury Cotton, arm. JEtat. lxxiii, ex ornata et per- 
vetusta, in agro Cestriensi, prosapia oriundus in vicino rure suo plurimos annos 
commoratus est. Omnium bonarum artium supellectili comparanda, instruenda, 
designanda, honorem nulli secundum, (jure vero sibi ascitum,) tarn apud suos, 
quam apud exteros, egregie vindicavit : elegantiarum cultor, patronus. mdcccxxi. 

Another: — 

To Joseph Foskett, Esquire, of Woodhatch, in this parish ; who died 
August 22, 1840, in the 80th year of his age. 

Another : — 

To Robert Petrie, M.D., many years a Physician of great eminence and 
successful Practice at Lincoln. He departed this life on the 11th September, 
1803, in the 76th year of his age. 

On the wall is, also, a Brass-plate, with this inscription : — 

Ecce jacent subter pedibus simul ossa duorum, 
Anthonii Gilmyn, conjugis atque suae : 
Quos pietas, quos vera fides conjunxit amore, 
De quorum Carolus sanguine solus erat. 
Obiit hie 23° die Augusti, 1575 : Ilia, 25 Decembris, 1580. 
Hereby is buried Alice, wife of said Charles, y e 16 May, 1617. 

Under the principal chancel is a large vault, belonging to the manor 

of the Priory. It was built by the Lord Howard of Effingham, the 

first grantee of that estate, as the final resting-place for his family. 

Amongst other remains, it contains those of the following persons : — 

William, first Baron Howard of Effinghani, January 29, 1572-3 ; — Margaret, 
his widow, daughter of Sir Thomas Gamage, knt., May 19, 1581 ; — Catherine, 
his fourth daughter, September 22, 1598 ; — Sir William Howard, of Lingfield, 
a younger son of the Baron, September 2, 1600; — James, son of Charles, 
earl of Nottingham, who died young, in 1608 ; — Lady Howard, relict of Sir 
William Howard, of Lingfield, March 1, 1615 ; — Sir Edward Howard, eldest 
son of Sir William, of Lingfield, August 11, 1620; — Charles, first earl of 
Nottingham, December 23, 1624; 32 — Charles, second earl of Nottingham, 
1642 ; — Mary, relict of the said Charles, daughter of Sir William Cockayne, 
February 11, 1650-1 ; — Sir Charles Howard, a younger son of Sir William 
Howard, of Lingfield, March 14, 1652-3 ; — Charles, third earl of Nottingham, 
April, 1681. 

On a Brass-plate, affixed to a black-marble grave-stone, before the 

32 On the left-hand side of the leaden coffin of this nobleman, was the following 
inscription : — 

Heare lyeth the body of Charles Howarde, Earle of Nottinghame, Lorde 
High Admyrall of Englande, Generall of Queene Elizabethe's Navy Royall att 
Sea agaynst the Spanyards' invinsable Navy in the yeare of our Lorde 1588 ; 
whoe departed this life att Haling Hows the 14 daye of December in y e yeare 
of our Lorde, 1624, iEtatis sve, 87. 



MONUMENTS IN REIGATE CHURCH. 245 

communion -rails, is the following inscription ; the poetical portion of 
which, from its quaint beauty, merits preservation : — 

Here lyeth interred the body of Anne Worly, the daughter of William 
Worly, esq., and of Alice his wife, who departed this life the 3d day of 
September, Anno 1653, being about the age of 8 years. 

In quiet sleepe here lyes the deare remayne 

Of a sweet Babe, the Father's joye and payne : 

A prytty Infant, loved and lovinge, she 

Was Bewtye's abstract, Love's epitome. 

A lytle Volume, but devine, whearein 

Was seen both Paradice and Cherubin. 

While she lived here, w ch was but little space, 

A few short yeares, Earth had a heavenly face : 

And, dead, she lookt a lovely peice of Claye, 

After her shineinge Soule was fled awaye. 

Reader, hadst thou her dissolution seen, 

Thou would'st have weept, hadst thou this Marble been. 

In the Church-yard, towards the north-east, is a tomb of Portland 

stone, erected by Dr. Fellowes to the memory of Francis Maseres, 

esq., Cursitor-baron of the court of Exchequer, and bearing this 

inscription: — 

H.S.E. Franciscus Maseres, armig. Aul. Clar. apud Cantab, olim socius. 
Quinti Baronis, in curia Scaccarii, munus, annos 50, executus est. Viri hujus 
egregii et amabilissimi fides, integritas, sequalitas, liberalitasque omnibus qui- 
buscum erat versatus innotuere. Eximiis his virtutibus accedebant, tanta 
sermonis, morumque sauvitas, tanta comitas, facilitasque, ut nihil supra. 
Humanitatis studiiset Uteris reconditioribus colendis omni pracconio dignissimus. 
Exemplaria Gra;ca et Latina, quorum juvenis fuerat perstudiosus, sencx in 
deliciis habebat. Sui seculi Mathematicorum clarissimis parem indubitanter 
dixeris. Multa quae accurate, copiose, cogitateque scripserat, prelo dedit, et 
in communem fructum attulit. Articulos fidei qui dicuntur, in minimum 
reduxit. Deum Uncm, Ens entium, omnium patrem, Christo duce, sanctissime 
adoravit. Quam immortalitatem, toto pectore cupierat, placida lenique senectute, 
et integra mente consecutus est anno Domini 1824. iEtat. sute 93. 

Vale, vir optime ! Amice, vale, carissime et siqua rerum humanarum tibi 
sit adhuc conscientia, monimentum quod in tui memoriam, tui etiam in mortuis 
observantissimus Robertus Fellowes poneudum curavit, soliui benevolent id 
tuearis. 

The Benefactions to this parish have been very munificent. The 
first that we shall mention, though latest in point of time, is that of 
Francis Maseres, esq., Cursitor-baron of the Exchequer, in 1820, as 
an endowment for the preaching of a sermon on the afternoon of 
every Sunday throughout the year. The bequest is thus recorded in 
a frame suspended against the south wall of the chancel : 

In the year One thousand eight hundred and twenty, I'iiamis Mam:iii;s, Esquire, 
Cursitor-baron of His Majesty's Court of Exchequer, an [uhabitant of the parish of 
Reigate, by way of making an Endowment, for the purpose of having an Afternoon 

Sermon preached in the Church of that parish, immediately after the Evening Service, 



246 HISTORY OF SURREY, REIGATE HUNDRED. 

on every Sunday throughout the year, and as a compensation to the officiating Minister, 
who shall actually preach such Sermon, did invest Nine Hundred and Ten Pounds, stock, 
in the 3/. per cent. Consolidated Bank Annuities, in the joint names of the Rev. Martin 
Benson, rector of Merstham ; the Rev. Jarvis Kenrick, rector of Bletchingley ; the 
Rev. Peter Acbertin, rector of Chipsted ; and the Rev. Edmund Sandford, rector of 
Nutfield; upon Trust, that they and their respective successors should apply the Dividends 
in payment of Ten Shillings and Sixpence to the Minister for the time being officiating 
in the Parish-Church of Reigate, whether such minister should be the Vicar or a Curate 
engaged by him to perform the duties of the said church, or other Minister temporarily 
engaged for that purpose, for every such Sermon as he should so preach ; and if such 
Vicar, Curate, or Minister, should omit to preach such Sermon, Then upon Trust that the 
said Rectors and their respective successors should divide so much of the Dividends as 
shall not have been so applied into four equal parts, and that each such Rector should 
distribute one-fourth part in Bread on Christmas-day, yearly, at their respective parisb 
churches, immediately after the morning service, unto and amongst such poor persons, 
residing in their respective parishes, as such Rectors should severally deem proper objects, 
without any regard being had to the places of the last legal settlement of such poor 
persons. 

And the said Francis Maseres, at the same time, invested 100/. Stock, in the same 
Annuities, in the joint names of the said Rectors, upon Trust, that the Dividends might 
accumulate for the purpose of forming a Fund for defraying the charge and expense of 
renewing the Trusts of the above Nine Hundred and Ten Pounds, 3/. per cent. Annuities ; 
and if, after any such renewal, there should be a surplus of such last mentioned 
Dividends, and of the accumulations thereof, the Donor has directed that eacb of such 
Rectors, and their respective successors, shall distribute one-fourth part thereof in Bread 
to the poor of their respective parishes, on the same day, and in the same manner as is 
above directed, as to so much of the first mentioned Dividends as shall be applicable to 
that purpose, in case there should be an omission in preaching such Sermon. 

The Deed executed by the Donor and the above-named Rectors, declaring their Trust 
as above, is dated 18th day of November, 1820 ; and is enrolled in Chancery. 

A table of Charities, in substance as follows, is also suspended 
against the south wall of the church : — 

1627. Henry Smith, esq., by will, 1,000/. in money, invested in the hands of trustees, 
to be laid out in land, for the benefit of the poor. [In 1641, the trustees purchased of 
Henry Johnson, gent., a farm called Gardner's, in Rusper, in Sussex, consisting of a 
house, seven acres of meadow, and thirty -nine acres of land ; and about ninety acres of 
poor land, called Cowick, or Cowis, of Sir Thos. Gresham, of Newdigate in this county. 
Those lands, &c, passed with the other estates till 1689, when they were given into 
possession of the town. A memorandum mentions, also, the sum of 200/., arising from 
the sale of timber from off the estate, laid out in government securities, and bringing in 
the annual sum of 8/.] 

Another gift, in money, by deed, from Henry Smith, esq., to be laid out in land, con- 
verted, in 1642, into a rent-charge for the benefit of the poor; but neither the date of 
the deed, nor the amount of the gift, is stated. [By way of correction, the following 
note, on the authority of information from the late Mr. Glover, is given in the first 
volume of Manning's Surrey, p. 327 : — " Mr. Smith's trustees, in 1641, allotted 20/. per 
annum, to Reigate, out of the rent of an estate at Stoughton, in Leicestershire, which 
they had purchased with the trust money of Mr. Smith. It was then let at 220/. per 
annum. In 1781, the rent was increased to 315/., when the allowance to Reigate was 
increased to 28/. ; and on re-letting, in 1802, it was raised to 558/., in consequence of 
which a further allowance will be made to this parish."] 



THE CHURCH AT RED-HILL, REIGATE. 247 

1663. Philip Booker, by will, 100/. for the use of twelve poor widows. 

1675. Magdalen Cade, widow, by will, 100/. in money, for bread for the poor. 

1698. Robert Bishopp, by will, two houses, which were sold, about forty years ago, for 
700/. ; the produce to be laid out in land, for bread for the poor. 

1698. Robert Bishopp, by will, a house, valued at 4/. a year, for teaching four poor 
boys to read, &c. 

1717. Susannah Parsons, spinster, by will, an annual rent-charge of 2/. to the Girls' 
Charity School ; and in default thereof to poor widows. 

1718. John Parker, esq., by will, 500/., to be vested in land (which was done in 1786) 
for the support of the Boys' School. [Mem. There is, also, the sum of 154/. 1 Is. 3</. laid 
out in South Sea Annuities ; the remainder of interest, after expenses of a Chancery suit 
(entered into to establish the decree) were deducted, and which brings in 4/. 12s. 8d. a 
year.] 

1730. Richard Ladbroke, esq., by will, an annual rent-charge of 5/., to keep his 
monument clean, and take care of the same, and if not so employed, then in bread to the 
poor. 33 

The return of benefactions, made to parliament in 1786, makes the 
gross amount 2,400/. ; producing, annually, the sum of 104/. 12s. 8d. 

Previously to entering upon an account of the new Church at Red- 
hill, it may be proper to state that there is only one dissenting place 
of worship in the town of Reigate ; a plain, neat, and commodious 
structure, in the High-street, for the Independents. — There is at a 
short distance from the town, near the old church, a Meeting-house of 
the Society of Friends, with a burial-ground contiguous to it. 

The principal streets and buildings of Reigate are lighted with 
gas ; a company having been formed here, a few years ago, for that 
purpose : their works are situated near the old castle grounds. 

A Mechanics' Institution has recently been established in this town; 
and, under the patronage of Earl Somers, and presidency of Thomas 
Martin, esq., is in a very flourishing state. 

Red-hill Church. — The extent of the parish of Reigate, and the 
increase of its population, having long rendered an additional place of 
worship desirable for members of the Establishment, it was at length 
determined by the lord of the manor and other influential inhabitants, 
to open a subscription for supplying the want. To the honour of all 
parties concerned, the plan proved eminently successful ; as, by the aid 
of a donation of 600/. from the Winchester Diocesan Church Building 
Society, and a grant of 400/. from the Incorporated Society for the 

33 In addition to the above charities it should be stated, that in 1796, William Cooke, 
of Buckland, left by will, leasehold and other property to trustees ; the income arising 
from which was to be expended in the purchase of Bread, to be distributed every Sunday 
to the poor of the parishes of Reigate and Bockland. In pursuance of this benefaction, 
the sum of 5/. 4s. was laid out, annually, for bread for the poor of the Horough, in Reigate ; 
and the same sum for those of the Foreign ; a surplus being left to accumulate, for the 
continuance of the charity after the expiration of the lease. 



248 HISTORY OF SURREY. — RE1GATE HUNDRED. 

building and enlarging of churches and chapels, the sum of 6,472/. 
2s. Id. was speedily raised. Earl Somers, who gave the ground, and 
William Price, esq., of Woodhatch, were munificent contributors to the 
subscription. 

The entire expenses of erecting the new structure, on which 
occasion the services of James T. Knowles, esq., architect, of London 
(but a native of Reigate), were engaged, amounted to 4,995/. 3s. 5d. 
The sum of 1,300/. was invested for the endowment; and 176/. 16s. 8c?. 
was set apart for a repairing fund. 

The Church, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, occupies a 
beautiful and commanding site on Red-hill, and constitutes an agree- 
able and interesting object from various points. It consists of a nave 
and chancel ; with an octagonal tower and spire at the west end, rising 
to the height of one hundred and twenty feet, and supported by four 
lofty open arches; the thrust of which is counterbalanced by the 
same number of buttresses placed against the angles of the piers, and 
surmounted by pinnacles. 

The nave, sixty-five feet long, thirty-four feet wide, and forty-one 
feet high, has five windows on each side ; and is covered with a roof 
of open timber-work, the principal compartments of which are filled 
in with tracery. — At the western end is a gallery for the school 
children. 

The chancel, twenty-three feet wide, and sixteen feet long, com- 
prises in its plan five sides of an octagon ; and is lighted by five lofty 
windows enriched with tracery and carved transoms. It is raised one 
step from the nave ; and there are three more steps to the altar. 

Throughout the building, the architect has adopted, for the most 
part, the forms which began to prevail very early in the fifteenth 
century ; and in the ceiling of this portion of it especially, a consider- 
able degree of elegance and richness has been obtained by the intro- 
duction of the beautiful fan-groining so frequently met with in the 
ecclesiastical structures of that period. 

The reading-desk is on the north, and the pulpit on the south side 
of the wide and lofty arch which divides the nave from the chancel. 
They are both low, and so placed as to allow the whole of the con- 
gregation to see, and hear distinctly the officiating clergyman ; whilst, 
at the same time, an uninterrupted view of the chancel and com- 
munion-table is obtained from every part of the church. The pulpit, 
octagonal in form, rests on a central pillar. The communion-table is 
handsomely carved; and over it are three tablets, each in double 
columns; the central tablet, containing the Lord's Prayer and the 
Creed ; the two others, the Decalogue. 



PARISH OF EAST BETCHWORTH. 249 

The pews, and also the open seats, range on each side of the church, 
leaving an uninterrupted passage from the vestibule to the chancel. 
They are so constructed as to afford the greatest possible amount of 
accommodation, without being either cramped, inconvenient, or un- 
sightly ; the backs being in no instance more than two feet eight 
inches in height. Originally, the number of sittings was as follows : — 
on the ground plan, appropriated, 128; free, for adults, 220, and for 
children, 146, and for children in the gallery, 154; making an aggre- 
gate of 648 : by some new arrangements, however, respecting room, 
that number has been augmented to 700. 

The church is in all respects most substantially built. The external 
facings of the walls are of white Suffolk brick ; and the windows, 
copings, pinnacles, string courses, &c, of Caen stone. 

On the right of the entrance is a circular stone font, supported by 
eight pillars, clustered, and rising from a square basement. The font, 
presented by the Countess Somers, is from a design by Mr. Moule. 
The communion plate was presented by Mrs. Price, of Woodhatch ; 
and the bell, by Mrs. and Miss Martin, of Reigate. 

This church was consecrated and opened by the Right Rev. C. R. 
Sumner, D.D., Lord-bishop of Winchester, on Friday, the 29th of 
September, 1843. The Rev. Wm. Pullen, M.A., is the incumbent 
(curate), nominated by the bishop of the diocese, in whose hands the 
patronage is placed. 

The district legally assigned to St. John's church includes the 
population residing at Red-hill, Linkfield-street, and Woodhatch, 
numbering about twelve hundred. 

Here is a Sunday-school ; and a National and Infant day-school, 
with about one hundred and fifty children. The two cottages at 
present used for these schools are gratuitously lent by Peter Martin, 
esq. They are fitted up for boys and girls separately ; but the accom- 
modation proving inadequate, immediate steps are to be taken for the 
erection of a suitable building, and also a parsonage house. 

EAST BETCHWORTH. 

This parish is bounded, on the north, by that of ITedlcy ; on the 
east, by Buckland; on the south, by Leigh; and on the west, by 
Dorking. It extends along the south side of the central range of 
chalk hills, at the summit of which it adjoins Hedley. Manning 
says there can be little doubt that West Betchworth was anciently a 
part of this parish, though it has been long since included in that of 
Dorking, and in the hundred of VVotton. 

VOL. IV. KK 



250 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Betchworth is thus described in the Domesday book : — 

" Richard (de Tonbridge) holds in demesne Becesivorde, which Cola (Nicholas?) held 
of King Edward. It was then assessed at 6 hides ; now at 2 hides. The arable land 
amounts to 7 carucates. One carucate is in demesne : and there are six villains, and ten 
bordars, with 3 carucates. There are six bondmen ; and a mill at 10 shillings; and 3 
acres of meadow. The wood yields eighty swine for pannage, and six for herbage. 
There is a Church. In the time of King Edward, and afterwards, it was valued at 9 
pounds ; and now, at 8 pounds." 

Richard de Tonbridge also held six hides in Becesuurde, which 
were assessed with his manor of Tornecrosta. 1 

There are at present in the parish of Betchworth four manors; 
namely, East Betchworth, Brockham, Wonham, and the reputed manor 
of Agl and- Moor. 

The Manor of East Betchworth. — This manor was anciently 
held by the earls of Warren and Surrey ; but it does not appear how 
they obtained possession of it. Earl Hamelin, in conjunction with 
his countess Isabel, who died in 1199, gave the advowson of the 
church of Betchworth to the prior and convent of St. Mary Overy, 
Southwark. This manorial estate descended to John, the last earl of 
Warren and Surrey of that family ; who, leaving no issue at his death, 
in 1347, was succeeded in his titles and estates by his nephew, Richard 
Fitz-Alan, earl of Arundel ; whose son and heir, of the same name, 
was attainted of treason, and beheaded, in the latter part of the reign 
of Richard the Second ; and a great part of his estates was bestowed, 
by the king, on his son-in-law, Thomas Mowbray, created duke of 
Norfolk, who died in exile, in 1413. Thomas Fitz-Alan, the son of 
Earl Richard, was restored in blood, and recovered the family estates, 
of which he died seised in 1416 ; and, leaving no children, his three 
sisters became his coheirs. East Betchworth was assigned to Joan 
Fitz-Alan, who married William Beauchamp, lord Abergavenny ; from 
whose family the title and estates passed, through the marriage of an 
heiress, to the Nevills ; one of whom conveyed this, with other 
property, to trustees, for sale. This manor was purchased, in 1632, 
by Sir Ralph Freeman, knt., one of the masters of the court of 
Requests, and master of the Mint ; from whom it descended to the 
family of Bouverie, in consequence of a marriage connexion. Mrs. 
Elizabeth Bouverie, of Teston in Kent, died seised of it in 1798, 
having devised the estate to her cousin, the Hon. W. H. Bouverie, a 
younger son of the first Earl of Radnor; who dying in 1806, it came 
into the possession of his only son, Chas. Henry Bouverie, esq. ; who 
sold it, in 1817, to the Right Hon. Henry Goulburn, now Chancellor 
of the Exchequer. 

1 See Notice of Thorncroft, in Leatherhead. 



MANORS OF EAST BETCHWORTH, BROCKHAM, AND WONHAM. 251 

The manor of East Betchworth appears to have been held of the 
manor of Reigate, by the service of the tenants of the former mowing, 
yearly, a meadow on the east side of Bell-street, in the town of 
Reigate. This piece of land, forming part of the demesne of the 
manor of Reigate, was called Friday's mead, and contained about 
four acres. 

The Manor-house, known as Betchworth-Place, was built by Sir 
Ralph Freeman, in the reign of James the First. It formerly con- 
tained portraits of Sir Ralph Freeman ; his wife, before marriage, and 
another after marriage, with a child ; Martin Freeman, esq. ; Sir 
George Freeman ; Sir Thomas More, and others. Here are casts 
from several of the finest ancient statues, brought from Italy by Mr. 
John Harvey ; and, inserted in the chimney-piece of the gallery on 
the ground-floor, is a curious piece of sculpture, from Herculaneum, 
representing boys riding on bulls and horses. 

The Manor of Brock a am, which belonged to the earls of Warren, 
was granted by Earl William, early in the reign of Henry the Third, 
to Thomas, the son of Ralph Niger. In 1254, John Fitz- Adrian 
obtained a grant of this land of Brocham ; and from his family it 
passed, in the time of Edward the Third, to the family of Frowick. 
In 1522, Thomas Frowick died seised of the estate, and leaving no 
issue, was succeeded by his sister, the wife of John Coningsby, esq. ; 
whose grandson, Sir Philip Coningsby, in 1605, conveyed the manor 
to Thomas Wight, citizen of London. It descended to Henry Wight, 
who dying seised of it in 1793, left a will; in consequence of which, 
part of the estate came into the possession of Mr. John Wight, of 
Braybceuf, St. Nicholas, Guildford, who was not akin to the testator ; 
and the other part fell to the share of distant relatives. 2 Brockham is 
now (1844) the property, by purchase, of Henry Thomas Hope, esq., 
of the Deepdene. 

The Manor of Wonham was formerly held by a family styled de 
Wonham; from the last of whom it passed to Andrew Cade, about 
1648; and after various transfers, it was purchased, in 1787, by the 
Hon. Charles Marsham, afterwards earl of Romney, who rebuilt the 
manor-house. Having succeeded to the earldom on the death of his 
father, in 1793, he sold this estate to John Stables, esq.; whose son, 
in 1804, re-sold it to John Henry Upton, viscount Tcmpletown, its 
present owner. The house is unoccupied, and unfurnished. The 

2 " Mr. .Jolm Wight, to whom Mr. Henry Wight gave an estate for life in sue moict\ . 
and a contingent estate for life in tin' other, was not personally know □ to him ; hut it is 
supposed that he accidentally heard his name, and on enquiry found that he bore the 
same arms, and apprehended that he might be descended from one of his family." — 
Manning and Hray, Surrky, vol. ii. p. 212. 

KK 2 



252 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

grounds are pleasingly diversified ; and a fine conservatory is kept in 
excellent order. When bought by Lord Templetown, the estate was 
described as containing in the whole, one hundred and twenty acres ; 
of which, seven were occupied by the mansion, offices, kitchen garden, 
and pleasure ground ; and sixty by the park, which is in part skirted 
by the river Mole. 

The Manor of Egland, or Agland-Moor, was sold in 1739, by 
Richard Woodman, (whose family had long held it,) to John Bouverie, 
esq. ; and it has passed, with the manor of East Betchworth, to its 
present proprietor, Henry Goulburn, esq. 

Moor-Place, an ancient mansion and demesne, part of Egland or 
Agland-Moor; it adjoins Wonham park. The house is said to be of 
the date of Henry the Sixth, but had fallen into much dilapidation ; 
from which it was recovered by a large expenditure, partly by the 
late Colonel Stables, who occupied it upon his return from India, 
until his death, which took place in September, 1830; — the restora- 
tion and improvements were continued by the present occupier, J. W. 
Freshfield, esq., the representative in several parliaments for Penryn and 
Falmouth, who came to reside at Moor-Place in 1833. It is now a 
mansion of comfort and elegance, and adds materially to the pic- 
turesque character of the neighbourhood. The style in its present 
state is Elizabethan ; and the interior corresponds. It contains much 
ancient furniture, and particularly an elaborately-carved oak bedstead ; 
the posts consist of large figures, representing King David and King 
Solomon ; the tester and head-board are carved, and the latter has the 
sentence — lif tltf Itttirr tf)2> iHlltr — in old English character. This 
bedstead is supposed to have belonged to Cardinal Wolsey, and to 
have been used by him during his residence at Esher. — The river 
Mole passes along the southern extremity of the property ; and from 
thence to Mr. Goulburn's park. 

Broome-Park, (formerly named Tranquil Dale), is the residence of 
Sir Benjamin Collins Brodie, bart., Serjeant-surgeon to the Queen, 
and an eminent practitioner in London. 3 The park consists of about 
eighty acres, laid out with considerable taste and variety of effect; 
and the attached grounds, extending upwards to the Betchworth hills, 
comprise between five and six hundred acres. The house, distin- 
guished more by internal comfort than by beauty, occupies a some- 
what elevated site, and appears to have been built at three different 
times. In the dining-room is a curiously-carved white-marble 
chimney-piece, brought from an old building in the park, called the 
Temple. From its subject, the crest of the Briscoes, (a greyhound, 
3 Sir Benjamin's patent of creation as a baronet bears date on the 30th of August, 1834. 



ADVOWSON AND VICARAGE OF BETCIIWORTH. 253 

coursant, Sab. seizing a hare, proper), it probably once belonged to a 
member of that family. 

Nearly in front of the house are two fine cedars of Lebanon ; and, 
dispersed, are several equally-fine elms, chestnuts, &c. The grounds 
are diversified by a small stream, and a sheet of water occupying about 
six acres. Here is, also, a mineral spring, a mild chalybeate. 

The Benefice of Betchworth is a vicarage in the deanery of Ewell; 
valued at twenty-four marks in the 20th of Edward the First ; and is 
discharged of tenths in the King's books. The church was given by 
Hamelin, earl of Warren and Surrey, and Isabel his wife, to the priory 
of St. Mary Overy, in South wark. In 1286, the priory obtained an 
appropriation from the archdeacon of London, they providing a com- 
petent vicar, with a suitable stipend ; and in the same year, an endow- 
ment was made. In 1288, it was decreed by the bishop, that the 
vicar should have all the oblations, obventions, and small tithes ; and 
the priors, as rectors, principale et legatum in live animals, with the 
great tithes of corn and hay. In 1544, the rectory and advowson of 
the vicarage were granted by Henry the Eighth to Thomas and 
William Burnell, to hold in capite, under the rent of 19s.; in July, 
1546, they were regranted to Roland Hill; and (those grants having 
been revoked) they were given by Edward the Sixth, in 1547, accord- 
ing to the design of Henry the Eighth, to the dean and canons of 
Windsor. In 1637, the vicarage was augmented; 10/. by the crown, 
51. by the dean and canons, and 51. by their lessee ; notwithstanding 
which, the parliamentary committee, in 1646, reported that Morgan 
Haynes, minister of Betchworth, had only 16/. a year; and in con- 
sequence, they ordered that the reserved rent of 24/., payable out of 
the impropriation to the dean and canons of Windsor, should be paid 
to him. The poor knights of Windsor complaining of this, it was 
ordered that if no other means could be found, they must be satisfied 
out of the rent granted to Mr. Haynes. Other means, however, were 
found. In 1647, the committee having been informed that, besides 
the rent reserved in money to the dean and chapter, there were other 
rents of provision, particularly a carcass of mutton, or 13s. 4c/., they 
ordered that all such be paid to Mr. Haynes. It would seem, how- 
ever, that the rents were not paid as ordered; for, in the return made 
in 1658, by the Jury of the hundred of Reigatc to Cromwell's com- 
missioners, the annual value of the vicarage was stated at only 16/. 
In 1729, Edward Fellowes, esq., executor of Mrs. Ann Tarlton, gave 
200/. to the governors of Queen Anne's bounty for the augmentation 
of this vicarage. The dean and chapter sold the impropriation to the 
Hon. W. II. Bouverie, under the Act for the redemption of the land tax. 



254 



HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 



Vicars of Betchworth in and since 1800: — 

James Keigwin. Instituted on the 12th of July, 1762: died 

in February, 1805. 
George Heath, D.D., canon of Windsor. Instituted in 1805. 
John F. Doveton. Instituted May the 24th, 1815. 
George Robert Kensit. Instituted February 18th, 1835. 




BETCHWORTH CHURCH. 



The Church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a large stone building, of 
Norman origin, partly rough-cast, and covered with Horsham slate. 
It consists of a nave ; north and south aisles, divided by three pointed 
arches resting on circular columns ; and a spacious double chancel at the 
end of the nave and south aisle, divided by three pointed arches in the 
same manner. The nave is separated from the chancel, first, by a wall 
with a square passage through it, and then, eastward, by a pointed 
arch, with wainscot and glass doors : there is a new window at the 
west end of the church. On the north side of the building, nearly in 
the centre, is a large square tower, in which are five bells. The 
height of the tower is sixty-two feet; the length of the nave is 
sixty-two feet ; the length of the chancel, thirty-three ; and the 
breadth of the whole, forty-two feet. 

The pulpit is hexagonal, and of oak. An old font, merely a basin 
in a mahogany case, was removed in the summer of 1844; and one 



INSCRIPTIONS IN BETCHWORTH CHURCH. 255 

of stone, octagonal, with pointed arches, and its three easternmost 
faces sculptured with different devices, was substituted : it rests on a 
large circular pillar, and four smaller columns, rising from a square 
base. There is a music gallery at the west end, with a seraphine ; and 
over the south entrance is, also, a small gallery. On the right of the 
south entrance is a niche for holy water, or piscina ; and against the 
east wall of the chancel, south of the communion-table, is a square 
recess, also for the reception of holy water. South of the com- 
munion-table is a modern robing-room, or vestry. In the chancel is 
a remarkable old oak chest, in a single piece, except the lid : its length 
is seven feet, and its width two feet eight inches ; the sides are from 
four to five inches in thickness, and the ends about ten inches. 

On the floor of the chancel, north of the communion-table, is a 
whole-length representation of a beardless priest, in brass, with the 
following inscription : — 

mt facet Uomtnus JUiU'mus (KSartJnstoortI), quonUam bftarius fiuj's lEccl'u, qui obiit 
b° Bie 3Januarij anno ©'ni mcccccxxiiij, tujus anitne p'puutur Beus, Smcn. 

The robes of the priest are curiously ornamented. Over a chalice, 
which he appears to be holding with both hands, is a paten, with a 
representation of the host, or consecrated wafer, viz. — a small cross, 
and, below it, the letters I.H.S. The whole is in good preservation. 

In the chancel is an altar-tomb, of black marble, to "Andrew Cade, 
esq., late alderman of the city of London, and a benefactor to the 
Poore of this parish and of Rygat. Obiit sexto die Octobris, 1662." 
Near this are other memorials of the Cade family. 

Against the wall of the south chancel is a black-marble tablet, with 
a Latin inscription, to " Gabriel Wight de Brockha' armigr. " ; who 
died on the 20th of December, 1621. 

On a black-marble monument of the Harvey family, on the north 

wall of the chancel, is the following inscription : — 

Corpora hie subjacent intumulata Stephani Harvey arm'i (e familia 
Harveiorum perantiqua de Thurleigh in agro Bedfordiensi oriundi), et DoroOuece 
uxoris ejus (Alia? Gul. Congers de Walthamstow in provincia Essexiiv Servientis ad 
Legem et Dorothea; uxoris ejus), quorum felicem sperant resurrectionem 
charissimi eorum liberi Stephanus, Dnrothaa, etElizabetha lugentes, heu nimium 
cito amissos parentum optimos. 

Hie 1 obiit J 6 Dec. 1688, set. 66. 
Hsdc I t 27 Dec. 1694, a;t. 63. 

In codem etiam tumulo requiescit quod mortale fuit Olivcri Contjers armigeri. 
fratris unici ejusdem Dorothaa, qui obiit 6 to Aprilis 1698. 
Oiancs codem cogimur : omnium 
Versatur urna : serins ociiis 
Sors cxitura, et nos acternum 
Exiliuin impositura cymbEB. ' 

1 The above lines are an adaptation from Horace: vide Lib. II. Ode 3: 1. 25. 



256 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

On the north wall is a plain marble tablet, thus inscribed — 

To the memory of the Hon. William Henry Bouverie, 2nd son of William, 
earl of Radnor; horn October 30th, 1752 ; and died August 23rd, 1806. 

Also, the Lady Bridget Bouverie, his wife, daughter of James, 14th earl of 
Morton : born May 4th, 1758 ; died February 26th, 1842. 

Also, of their two only sons, and one daughter : William John, born November 
23rd, 1778, and died February 28th, 1791: Charles Henry, born February 
23rd, 1782; died unmarried, May 27th, 1836: Emma Bridget, born March 
2nd, 1780; died April 9th, 1827. 

Their remains are deposited in a vault adjoining the north eastern corner of 
the Chancel of this Church ; in which are, also, deposited the remains of 
Bridget, relict of James, 14th earl of Morton ; and also of Gertrude and 
Herbert A' Court, who died in infancy. 

There are hatchments on the wall commemorative of Lady Morton, 
Mrs. Freshjield, and others. 

In the south chancel, on the ground, is a brass-plate, recording the 

memory of the following members of the family of Stables, 5 of Wonham 

in this parish ; above the inscription is the family crest, and against 

the wall, near this spot, are three hatchments of the Stables family : — 

Edward Stables, died June 18th, 1815 ; and whose body lies near the field of 
Waterloo. — Frederick Stables ; died July 11th, 1815. — Maria Stables ; died 
May 23rd, 1821. — Harriet Stables; died August 11th, 1827. — Col. Henry 
Stables; died 11th September, 1830. — Frances Dorothy ; died March 21st, 
1832. — Louisa ; died 6 th April, 1834. 

In the nave, are several hatchments on the north wall ; and a neat 
marble tablet to the Rev. William Clarke, A.M., of Ubbilee in the 
parish of Bucknall, Staffordshire ; late of Brockham-Green in this 
parish; who died the 18th November, 1830, aged sixty-seven. 

Donations. — On the wall separating the nave and chancel, are two 

marble slabs, the first of which is thus inscribed : — 

Mr. John Turner, late of the parish of Betchworth, did, by his last will and testament, 
give and bequeath to the Poor of the said parish, the sum of Five Hundred Pounds, 
South-sea Stock, in the three per cent. Old Annuities, together with a house in Nassau- 
street, St. Ann, Westminster, at the yearly rent of thirty pounds per year, subject to a 
ground rent and other deductions. Said lease expires in the year 1795. The will directs 
that the Executors in trust are to receive the rent and interest of the said Estates and 
Stock, and to pay it into the hands of the Churchwardens and Overseers of the Poor for 
the time being, to be by them given and distributed to and amongst tbe most necessitous 
poor persons of the said parish as do not receive relief of the said parish in the monthly 
pay, or in buying them Cloaths, or putting poor children to School, at the discretion of 
my Trustees and the Churchwardens and Overseers of the poor of the said parish : and 
the Churchwardens and Overseers for the time being are to give an account in writing, 



5 The battle of Waterloo appears to have proved fatal to three of the members of this 
family : Edward, who was killed in the field ; Frederick, who died in the neighbourhood, 
of his wounds, in the following month ; and Colonel Henry Stables, who (although he 
lived till the year 1830) ultimately fell a victim to the severe injuries which he received 
in the battle. 



CHARITABLE DONATIONS TO BETCHWORTH. 257 

inserted in a book for that purpose, of their disposal of the said Charity by the said 
Churchwardens and Overseers, what sum, for what and to whom given, that the Trustees 
appointed in the will may see and examine the said account according to the will of the 
donor. And this stone is erected by order of the Testator, to perpetuate and to keep the 
said Charity from being perverted and misapplied. 

Edward Flint I churchwardens. 
April 2, 1779. Robert Arthur J 

Thomas Russell | 0verseers . 
Joseph Reynolds j 

The second tablet bears the following inscription : — 

Mrs. Margaret Fenwick, late of Betchworth Castle, widow, deceased, having, by her 
will, left to the parish Two Hundred Pounds, to be laid out in purchasing a freehold 
estate, the rents whereof are to be applied to the following uses : — 

1. In binding out poor children of this parish to some manual trade, and towards 
setting them up in their respective trades. 2. In preferring in marriage such maid- 
servants born in this parish as shall respectively live seven years in any one service, and 
whose friends are not able to do it. 3. For such poor of this parish as shall not be under 
the common relief thereof, who, by sickness, accident, age, or numerous family of children, 
or otherwise, shall, without such relief, be likely to come under the alms of this parish. 

And an Estate in Leatherhead, in this county, having been accordingly purchased to 
perpetuate the said Charity, and to the intent that the same may never be perverted or 
smothered, this stone was erected anno Dom. 1737. 

William Smallpeice 1 Churchwardens 
John Russell J 



John Russell 

}' 



Richard Bonwicke i. 0vergeers . 



Henry Felton 

Against the south wall of the nave, on a black board, the following 
donation is recorded : — 

Tn pursuance of Mrs. Ann Reynolds's will and the proceedings had, 500/. Stock reduced 
3 per cent. Annuities is vested in the names of Richard Burberry the elder, and John 
Harman. The dividends of this sum are to be paid, pursuant to the directions of Mrs. 
Reynolds's will, dated 31st May, 1802, to the Treasurer for the time being of the Charity 
School, established in this parish, and to be applied by the Subscribers to the said School, 
with their Subscriptions for the Education of the children of the poor Inhabitants of this 
parish. — £100. Stock of Navy 5 per cent. Annuities, is vested in the names of Robert 
William Spragg, and John Redford, purchased with the principal sum of 100/. bequeathed 
by this said Mrs. Reynolds, by a Codicil, dated 25th May, 1815, to her said will, to the 
Churchwardens and Overseers of the Poor of this parish, and directed to be vested in 
Government Security, to hold to them and their successors for ever : 

Upon the Special Trust that the Interest thereof be applied to the relief of Poor 

Widows belonging to the parish, of sober life and conversation, and distributed to them 

in Bread or money, every Christmas, at the discretion of the said Churchwardens and 

Overseers. 

Robert William Spragg 1 •>, , , 

r bo y Churchwardens. 

November, 1818. John Redford 

John Ede 

Edward llainpshar 



V Overseers. 



On the opposite wall, on a black board, the following Charities are 
set forth : — 

Henry Smith, 10/. per year out of the Worth estate. 

VOL. IV. LL 



258 HISTORY OF SURREY, REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Andrew Cade, esq., alderman of London, gave 112/. 10s. to buy Bread for the Poor, iu 
the 4 per cent. Annuities. 33 George II. 

Mr. Richard Arnold, 8/. a year for Clothing the Poor, from land called The Poor's 
Brook, 6 in Steyning, subject to deductions, such as land-tax and river taxes ; and from 
the same family, ll. 10s. to buy bread for the Poor, from lands at Medley-Bottom in East 
Betchworth. 

Besides the above, the following is mentioned in the Parliamentary 
Returns of 1786: — 

1706. William Hutton, by will, the rent of a house, to be distributed in Bread, 6s. 
[The house here mentioned has been pulled down, but the 6s. rent is still paid by the 
holder of the premises, which are copyhold of the manor of Brockham ; and is expended 
in small loaves, distributed to the poor on Good Friday.] 

Near the east end of the church, in the burial-ground, is the grave 
of Captain Morris, the celebrated lyric and anacreontic bard, and 
bon-vivant of the last age. It is simply marked by a head and foot- 
stone; the former being thus inscribed: — 

Sacred to the Memory of Charles Morris, esq., of London, and Brockham 
Lodge in this Parish ; who died on the 11th day of July, 1838, aged 93 years. 

Brockham-Lodge, which for a long series of years formed the 
summer residence of the above gentleman, and became eventually his 
final retreat in the winter of his age, is very pleasantly situated at a 
short distance from Brockham-Green ; the grounds being skirted by 
the irriguous banks of the river Mole. It now belongs to his daughter, 
Georgina Frederika, the wife of Lieut. -Colonel Arthur Morris, of the 
14th regiment of Foot. — As a Lyric poet, and perfect master of his 
craft, Captain Morris shone unrivalled; and many of his convivial 
songs are without a parallel for their glowing cheerfulness, rich and 
racy humour, good sense, and true social feeling. But his muse was 
not always restrained by decorum ; and some of his most witty pro- 
ductions are for ever, and properly, banished from the family circle. 
He was an influential member of several musical societies. The 
Beef-Steak Club presented him with an elegant silver Bowl ; and the 
Harmonic Society, with a gold Cup ; — and his poetical talents were 
still vivid when, at the great age of ninety years, he thus alluded to 
the former gift in one of his last lyrics : — 

" When my spirits are low, for relief and delight, 

I still place your splendid Memorial in sight ; 

And call to my Muse, when Care strives to pursue, 

' Bring the Steaks to my Memory, and the Bowl to my view.' 



6 In a note to Manning and Bray's Surrey, (vol. ii. p. 217), it is stated that the land 
itself of Poor's Brook belonged to the poor ; that, in 1808, it was let at twelve guineas a 
year, but was worth considerably more ; and that in that year, the parish proposed to sell 
it, in order to vest the purchase-money in the funds. 



PARISH AND MANOR OF BUCKLAND. 259 

" When brought, — at its sight all the blue devils fly, 
And a world of gay visions rise bright to my eye : 
Cold Fear shuns the Cup where warm Memory flows ; 
And Grief shamed by Joy, hides his budget of Woes. 

" 'Tis a pure holy fount, where for ever I find, 
A sure double charm for the Body and Mind ; 
For I feel, while I'm cheer'd by the drop that I lift, 
I'm Blest by the Motive that hallows the Gift." 

There are several respectable cottage residences on the borders of 
Brockham-Green ; originally, perhaps, called Brookham-Gveen, from 
the brook, or streamlet, which flows into the river Mole. Brockham 
bridge, of four arches, is partly kept in repair by the county, which 
pays two-thirds of the expense, and partly by the hamlet of Brock- 
ham, which defrays the other third. 

BUCKLAND.' 

This small parish is bounded, on the north, by Walton-on-the-Hill ; 

on the east, by Reigate ; and on the south and west, by Betchworth. 

It now contains the manor of Buckland, and the reputed manor of 

Harts wood. The former is thus noticed in the Domesday book : — 

"John holds of Richard (de Tonbridge) Bochelant, which Alnoth held of King Edward. 

It was then assessed at 5 hides ; now at 2 hides. The arable land is One 

carucate and a half are in the demesne : and there are seventeen villains, and eight bordars, 
with 10 carucates. There is a Church: and there are ten bondmen ; and one mill, at 6 
shillings. In the time of King Edward, and afterwards, it was valued at 100 shillings : 
now at 8 pounds." 

The Manor of Buckland. — From the Testa de Nevill it appears 
that, in the reign of Henry the Third, five knights' fees and a half in 
Surrey were held by Alice de Dammartin, of the Honour of Clare ; 
and one of these fees was in Bocland. In 1279, John de Wauton, or 

1 Salmon, after stating that this name will bear several etymologies, observes, that there 
are two Bucklands in Norfolk, which have been thought to be so called from their having 
been once forest, as the county of Bucks; whilst some have given the Beech-wood the 
honour of the name, which one part of that county abounds in ; but, he continues, "I 
shall leave the matter to be decided by the curious in thai sort of knowledge ; mentioning 
only one other which may have as good a Sa.nm title as the rest. 

"This Nation had a distinction of Falkland ami Bockland. Folkhind was held by 
Rusticks and Clowns, paying an annual rent, or performance of Services, such as 
ploughing the Lord's land, and bringing in his corn in harvest ; and the farmers still call 
Servants in Husbandry, the Folk. — Bockland was free and hereditary, and passed bj l>eed 
with Livery and Seizin ; which was made bj taking a Turf from the Land and delivering 
it with the Deed ; — or it passed by Will, unless the first Purchaser had prohibited ; then 
it must go to the nearest of Kin. Camden shews the form of the grant of CtodwaUa, 
king of the West Saxons, to Arehhishop Theodore, ' I CeadwaUa have put this Turf of 
Earth upon the Holy Altar, and for want of Learning have with m\ own hand made and 
subscribed the Sign of the Boly Cross.' A Nunnery in the Lie of Tlianet was in the 
same manner endowed by Withred, king of Kent." A.HTIQUJ rn - 01 ScRUY, p. 81. 

i.i. 2 



260 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Walton, vindicated his claim to the right of free-warren in all his 
lands here, under a grant from Henry the Third. Guido de Ferre 
was owner of the manor in 1291 ; and died seised of it in 1323. It 
afterwards came into the possession of John, earl of Warren and 
Surrey, who died in 1348 ; and from him it descended to the Fitz- 
Alans, earls of Arundel. Henry Fitz-Alan, the last of his family who 
enjoyed the title, died in February, 1581, leaving two daughters his 
coheirs ; and Buckland became the property of Lord Lumley, who 
had married one of the earl's daughters. This manorial estate had 
been settled by Lord Arundel on Lord and Lady Lumley in 1566 ; 
and in the following year, they sold the manor of Buckland, with the 
land called Hartswood, in Buckland, to Herbert Pelham and Roger 
Dallender ; the manor falling to the share of the former, but Dallender 
afterwards purchased it. 

Ralph Dallender, the grandson of Roger, in 1651, sold the estate 
to Gamaliel Catelyn, esq. ; whose son and heir, in 1654, conveyed it 
to George Browne, esq. It remained in the possession of his family 
until John Browne, having died without issue, gave it by will, dated 
in 1733, to his sister's son, Thomas Jordan, of Gatwick. This gentle- 
man died in 1750, leaving his two sisters his coheirs; and on the 
division of his estates, Buckland fell to the share of his sister Eliza- 
beth, widow of William Beaumont, esq. ; from whom it descended to 
Thomas Beaumont, esq., who held it in 1808. 2 His son, Sir George 
Howland Willoughby Beaumont, bart., of Staughton-Grange, in the 
county of Leicester, succeeded to this estate, and is its present owner. 3 

The manor-house, called Buckland- Court, adjoins the church-yard. 
It is a neat though plain building, in the occupation of the Misses 
Carbonell. The stables and coach-house, of a peculiar form, are 
conspicuous objects from the road. 

The Manor of Hartswood. — John de Walton, mentioned above, 
who held Buckland in the time of Henry the Third, granted lands in 
Buckland, including Hartswood, to Robert de Herteswode. In 1539, 
Anne, the widow of Sir Reginald Cobham, conveyed to Thos. Saunder, 
of Charlewood, (afterwards knighted), the manor of Hartswood, with 
lands in Buckland and Reigate. This manor must have been sub- 
sequently purchased by Lord Lumley, as it was sold by him, with 
Buckland, to Pelham and Dallender ; the latter of whom appears to 

2 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 218 — 21. 

3 Sir George, born December 16th, 1799, succeeded to the title, as eighth baronet, on 
the decease of his cousin, Sir George Howland Beaumont, bart., D.C.L. and F.S.A., on 
the 7th of February, 1827. Sir G. H. W. Beaumont married, June 16th, 1825, Mary 
Anne, eldest daughter of his Grace, the most Rev. William Howley, D.D., archbishop 
of Canterbury ; by whom he has issue. 



ADVOWSON AND RECTORS OF BUCKLAND. 261 

have transferred the estate, by sale, to John Skinner, who died in 
1584, seised of the manor, demesne lands, and park of Hartswood. 
Thomas Moore held it in 1676 ; and by will, dated July the 6th that 
year, he devised it to trustees for his wife and only child, Susanna, 
who married Robert Bristow ; and in 1718, the trustees and family 
conveyed Hartswood to Sir W. Scawen ; whose grand-nephew, James 
Scawen, esq., in 1781, sold it to Sir Merrik Burrell ; and Peter 
Burrell, afterwards Lord Gwydir, having succeeded to the possession 
of this manorial property, it was purchased of him, in 1790, by Mr. 
William Clutton. 4 That gentleman died on the 8th of May, 1839 ; 
when the estate devolved on his son, Robert Clutton, esq., who is the 
present owner, and resides in the manor-house. 

Advowson, &c. — Until Henry, earl of Arundel, transferred a portion 
of his estates to John, lord Lumley, in March, 1565-6, this advowson 
had always accompanied the manor, but Lord Lumley, prior to his 
decease in 1609, devised it to his sister Barbara ; with remainder, in 
succession, to Henry and Splandian Llyud, her sons by Humphrey 
Llyud, her first husband. In 1630, the above Henry Llyud settled it 
on his son Henry, on his marriage : and the latter, having barred the 
entail, sold the advowson, in February, 1638-9, to the Warden and 
Fellows of All-Souls college, Oxford ; in whom the patronage still 
remains. The living, which is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell, is 
rated at thirteen marks in the Valor of Edward the First. In the 
King's books it is valued at 117. 12s. lie?.; paying synodals 2s. Id., 
and procurations 6s. 8d. 

Rectors of Buckland in and since 1796 ; all of whom were fellows 
of All-Souls college: — 

Olipii Leigh Spencer, B.D., was appointed in December, 
1786; and died on the 9th of December, 1796. 5 

Willoughby Bertie. He died on the 4th of July, 1820. 

Charles Edmund Keene, his successor, vacated the living in 
1836. 

Thomas Hulse, LL.B. Instituted April 27th, 1836. 
The Church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, is a small edifice, 

* Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 221, 222. 

3 This gentleman was author of" A Life of Archbishop Chichele, Founder of All Souls 
College, Oxford," published in 8vo., in 178."?. His brother, Woolley Leigh Spencer, and 
two other persons, claimed Fellowships in that College, as Founder's kin; and on then- 
claim being resisted by the Warden and Fellows, an appeal was made to the Visitor. The 
case was argued before the Visitor's a-sessors, one of whom was Mr. Justice Wilmot, 
afterwards Lord Chief-Justice of the Common- Pleas, who, in a very luminous argument, 
supported the right of the appellants ; in consequence of w hich, the Visitor gave sentence 
for Mr. Leigh Spencer, who was admitted a fellow in 1761. Mr. Bray has given a 
succinct and interesting account of this curious suit. Vide SuRBET, vol. ii. pp. 225-6. 



262 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

and situated close by the high road from Dorking to Reigate. It 
is rough-cast, and partly covered with Horsham slate. The building 
consists of a nave with a chancel, which were formerly separated by 
a screen to the ceiling. At the west end is a wooden tower, with a 
shingled spire, surmounted by a cross, and containing four bells : the 
entrance is by a small south door, with a round arch, and a porch. 
There is a small double window at the west end ; but no door. The 
entire length of the structure is forty-four feet; of the chancel, 
twenty-three feet ; the breadth, twenty-one feet six inches ; and the 
height of the tower, fifty-one feet. 

In 1782, the church was uniformly and neatly new-pewed, at the 
expense of Thomas Beaumont, esq., lord of the manor ; and, having 
been unusually well kept, is still in excellent order. At the same time 
that the church was new pewed, the floor was paved with stone. The 
ascent from the nave to the chancel is by one step ; and there are 
three more steps to the altar. At the west end is a gallery. The 
pulpit is hexagonal, of oak, and placed against the south wall, between 
two windows. The font is octagonal, plain and neat, with pointed 
arches : this appears to be the old font, mentioned by Manning and 
Bray as having been thrown aside in the vestry, and succeeded by a 
small marble basin on a slender mahogany pillar. For this judicious 
restoration, the parish is indebted to the archdeacon. 

Formerly, according to Aubrey, there were several portions of 
painted glass in this church ; and, in the south window of the chancel, 
are still some remains of a representation of the Virgin and Child. 
In the central north window are whole-length figures of St. Peter and 
St. Paul, each about a foot in height ; and, in the upper compart- 
ments are pinnacles of a canopy. 

Against the north wall are two pedimented tablets, with the Lord's 
Prayer, Creed, and Decalogue, in double columns. 

Near the communion-rails, on the floor, is a stone to the memory of 
Peter Priaulx, D.D., a rector of this parish, who died November 
3rd, 1713, in the fifty-first year of his age. 

Over the south entrance to the chancel is a tablet, of white marble, 

thus inscribed : — 

Here lyes Celia, y e daughter of Dr. Peter Priaulx, near the body of her 
said father. She dyed y e 8th of May, 1719, in the 19th year of her age. Her 
sorrowful Mother put up this Monument, designing to be buried by her. 

On the north wall, are tablets to the memory of — 

The Rev. Oliph Leigh Spencer, B.D., rector of this parish, who died on the 

9th of December, 1796, in the 47th year of his age. 
The Rev. William Rugge, A.M., rector of this parish, died November 2nd, 

1786, aged 46 years. 



MEMORIALS IN BUCKLAND CHURCH. — CHARLEWOOD. 263 

Near the latter is a tablet to the memory of — 
William Clutton, esq., late of Hartswood in this parish, who departed this 

life on the 8th of May, 1839, in the 74th year of his age. 
Elizabeth, first wife of the above, who departed this life September 6th, 1797, in 

the 31st year of her age. 
Maria, to whom he was afterwards married ; and who died September the 1st, 

1831, aged 59 years. 
Of their children, Elizabeth died January 26th, 1798, an infant ; — Jane died 

November 15th, 1821, aged 14 ;— Elizabeth died October loth, 1822, aged 19 ; 

— Sarah died September 11th, 1825, aged 14; — Catherine died January 7th, 

1826, aged 13. 

By the communion-table, is a tablet to the memory of the Rev. 
Willoughby Bertie, late rector of this parish, who died July 4th, 
1820, aged sixty-one. 

In the Church-yard (which is surrounded by a number of fine large 
trees), is a railed-in tomb, to the memory of James Warre, esq., who 
died at Buckland-Court in this parish, on the 16th of June, 1833, 
aged seventy-seven years. 

The Register of this parish begins in the year 1560; being, as is 
expressed, " a transcript from the old book," and apparently made early 
in the eighteenth century. It contains two entries of marriages that 
were solemnized in the church here, before Law. Marsh, esq., during 
the time of Oliver Cromwell. 

Benefactions : — 

Henry Smith, esq., by deed, date unknown, a rent-charge to the annual amount of 
2/. 4s. lOrf. ; for poor persons receiving no weekly parochial relief; and also for the 
assistance of poor industrious families, in putting their sons apprentices at the age of 15. 

1704. Laurence Denton, conveyance mislaid, and for what specific purpose unknown, 
one acre of land, producing annually 30s. 

1733. — . Brown, esq., by deed, three acres of land, producing annually 5/. ; for the 
benefit of two or three persons annually, not receiving common parochial relief. 

CHARLEWOOD. 

This parish, which is situated in the southern part of the county, 
adjoins Horley and Leigh, on the north; Ilorley, on the east; New- 
dio-ate, Leigh, and Rusper in Sussex, on the west ; and on the south, 
it borders on Ifield and Crawley, also in Sussex. The soil throughout 
the parish is a deep clay. The land is supposed to have been in 
ancient times covered with wood ; from which circumstance the dis- 
trict received its name.' 

Charlewood is not mentioned in the Domesday book ; it having, 

1 In the time of King Charles the First, when the several parishes in this county were 
subject to the charge of carucage, or the obligation to provide carts and horses for the 
conveyance of wood and other articles of fuel, &c, for the royal household, the people of 
Charlewood paid, as a composition for the Service, a tax of two shillings for ererj twenty 
acres of land. 



264 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

probably, been included in the manor of Merstham, when the survey 
took place. Part of the parish is still reckoned within that manor; but 
there are, also, the several manors of Gatwick, Hook, Shiremark, and 
Charlewood, besides the manor of the Rectory of Charlewood. The 
four first mentioned were at one period consolidated, under the 
appellation of the manor of Charlewood; but John Sharp, esq., to 
whom they belonged previously to 1806, when he sold part of the 
estate, reserved the manor of Gatwick, with the manorial services 
belonging to it ; and thus it again became a distinct manor. 

The Manor of Gatwick. — At an early period this manor belonged 
to a family which took their name from it; and in 1304, John atte 
Longbrugge granted to John de Gatwicke and his heirs, for his fealty 
and sixteen shillings of silver, a yearly rent of sixteen pence received 
of William de Eggelonde, for his capital messuage and two acres of 
land near the church-yard of Horley. The estate appears to have 
been transferred to the family of Jordan, by the marriage of an 
heiress, at the beginning of the reign of Richard the Second ; and it 
continued in that family for nearly two hundred and seventy years. 
In February, 1716-17, William Jordan, of Gatwick, was elected M.P. 
for Reigate ; and on his decease in 1720, his son Thomas succeeded 
to the representation of that borough, The latter was the father of 
Thomas Jordan; on whose death without issue, in 1750, his two 
sisters became his heirs ; and, on the division of his estates, the 
manors of Gatwick, Charlewood, Hook, and Wykeland (or Weekland, 
in Newdigate parish), fell to the share of Philippa, the wife of John 
Sharp, esq. In 1755, a fine having been levied, the property was 
settled on Mr. Sharp, in fee ; and, his wife having died childless, he, 
by will dated September 29th, 1770, disinherited his eldest son by a 
former marriage, and entailed it on his grandsons, John and James, 
the sons of his second son, Wm. Jennings Sharp, in succession, with 
remainders, &c. Dying in 1771, his eldest grandson, John Sharp, 
succeeded; and that gentleman, in 1785, barred the entail by suffering 
a recovery ; after which, in 1806, as before stated, he sold a portion 
of the estates, but retained Gatwick. The site of the old manor- 
house is in the eastern part of the parish, near the turnpike-road from 
Reigate to Crawley ; but Mr. Sharp erected a new mansion still 
nearer to the road, which acquired the appellation of Timberham, 
from its vicinity to a bridge anciently styled Kill-man bridge, "now 
corrupted into Kilberham, or Timberham bridge, near which there 
was a great slaughter of the Danes, by the inhabitants of Surrey and 
Sussex, who fell on the rear of their forces, and gave them an entire 



MANORS OF CHARLEWOOD AND SHIREMARK. 265 

defeat."' — Timberham-house is now the seat of William Miller, esq. 
Gatwick-house, a large and substantial brick mansion, was recently 
sold by John Sharp, esq., to Alexander Fraser, esq. 

The Manor of Charlewood. — In 1304, John de Benested, or 
Bansted, had a grant, by charter from King Edward the First, of the 
right of free-warren in his manor of Charlewood. 3 He was appointed 
one of the Justices of the court of Common-pleas in the 3rd of 
Edward the Second ; and in the 8th of the same reign, had summons 
to parliament as a baron. From the Inquisitiones post Mortem it 
appears that he died seised of lands in Kent, Devon, and other 
counties ; but as none are mentioned in Surrey, 4 it is probable that 
this manor had been transferred to some other proprietor, although 
we meet with no further account of its descent until the 1st of 
Edward the Sixth. In that year, 1547, Sir Robert Southwell and 
Lady Margaret his wife, daughter and heiress of Sir Thomas Nevil 
deceased, conveyed to Henry Lechford, of Charlewood, gent, this 
manor, with those of Shellwood and Wykelond, with the bondmen 
and their families, lands called Hills and Slaughter-wick in Leigh, and 
the advowsons of the livings of Charlewood and Leigh. Henry 
Lechford died in 1567, leaving a son and heir named Richard, who 
was knighted ; and from him the estate descended to his grandson, 
Sir Richard Lechford, knt. ; who, in 1625, sold to Edmund Jordan, 
and Thomas Cole, gent., the manors of Charlewood and Wykeland, 
but retained the rectory and parsonage of Charlewood, the advowson, 
and the manor and wastes pertaining to the rectory. Mr. Jordan, 
who held Gatwick, having become possessed of these estates, they 
descended to Thomas Jordan, whose sister married Mr. Sharp ; and 
his grandson, who inherited under his will, sold the manor of Charle- 
wood, together with Hook and Wykeland, to Mr. Thomas Kerr, in 
1806. 5 By that gentleman, it was sold to James Woodbridge, esq. ; of 
whom it was purchased by the present owner, Michael Clayton, esq., 
of Charlewood-park, where he resides. 

The Manor of Suiremark. — This manor is supposed to have 
derived its name from a stone here marking the separation between the 
counties of Surrey and Sussex. It belonged to the family of Mul- 
caster in the beginning of the reign of Charles the First, when it was 
sold to Edmund Jordan, esq., above-mentioned ; and it has since 

2 Manning. Surrey, vol. ii. p. 187. — The name of Slaughter-wick, or Slaughter-ford, 
belonging to lands in the neighbouring parish of Leigh, is supposed to have been derived 
from the same event. 

3 Calend. Rotue. Chaktah. p. 13G. 

1 Caeend. Inquih. post Mortem, vol. i. p. 319. 
5 Manning and Bray, Suhkev, vol. ii. p. 188. 

VOL. IV. MM 



266 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

passed with the Gatwick estate. When Sir Richard Southwell, in 
1547, sold Charlewood, the manor of Shiremark was held by Henry 
Hancotts, citizen and alderman of London, by the rent of 1 3s. 4c?. and 
other services ; but it is not stated of what manor it was then held. 8 

The Manor of Hook. — This is a small manor which, in the reign 
of James the First, belonged to William Hewett, gent., who died 
seised of it in 1608, leaving a son, a minor; who, in 1627, conveyed 
the estate to — . Symonds; and it subsequently came into the 
possession of the Jordans of Gatwick, and passed with the Charle- 
wood estate to Mr. Sharp, as above-stated. 

Hookwood, in 1808, belonged to John Sanders, esq. ; in whose 
family it had been vested since 1651. It is now the property of his 
successor, Melanchthon Sanders, esq. 

Hidehurst, formerly with a capital mansion moated round, and a. 
farm, belonged to Henry St. John, of Epsom ; who devised it to his 
grandson, Attwood Wigsell, esq., of Sanderstead. Mr. Wigsell died 
without issue, in 1795, and was succeeded by his brother, the Rev. 
Thomas Wigsell; who died in 1805, also without issue. On his 
demise, his sister, Susanna Wigsell, spinster, succeeded to the pro- 
perty ; which she afterwards sold to Mr. Cuddington. That gentle- 
man died in 1827, leaving it to his niece, married to Chas. Middleton, 
esq., of Longfield in this parish. This gentleman, the present owner, 
has a handsome villa residence on Longfield-heath. 

Sanders-Place, or Charlewood-Place. — The family of Sanders 
was settled here as early as the reign of Edward the Second ; before 
which, they held an estate at Sanderstead. The property here con- 
sisted of the mansion called Charlewood-Place, and about six hundred 
acres of land ; and afterwards, they had the advowson of the living. 
Sir Thomas Sanders, Remembrancer of the Exchequer, held the estate 
in the 4th of Edward the Sixth; and, dying in 1565, was succeeded 
by his son Edmund. 7 In the inquisition taken on the death of Sir 

6 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 188. 

7 Nicholas Sanders, the famous Jesuit, a writer on Theology and Ecclesiastical 
History in the middle of the sixteenth century, was a native of Charlewood, and a 
member of the family settled at Sanders-Place. He was, according to Wood, the son of 
William and Elizabeth Sanders ; and was educated at Winchester school, and New college, 
Oxford, where he was admitted to a Fellowship in 1548 ; and in 1551, he took the degree 
of Bachelor of Laws. On the accession of Queen Elizabeth, the young student's zeal for 
the ancient faith induced him to relinquish the profession of law for that of divinity ; 
and having quitted his native country, he went to Rome, where he was ordained a Priest, 
and created Doctor of Divinity. He attended Cardinal Stanislaus Hosius at the Council 
of Trent, on which occasion he displayed to advantage his talents for controversy. 

When the Spaniards invaded Ireland in 1579, to support the Earl of Desmond in his 
insurrection against the English government, Father Sanders accompanied the expedition, 
with the character of papal Nuncio ; and in that country he died ; but the time and 



SANDERS-PLACE. — NOTICE OF FATHER SANDERS. 267 

Thomas, it is stated that he held his estate, or manor, of Sanders- 
Place of Henry Lechford, as of his manor of Charlewood. Edmund 
Sanders was succeeded by his son Thomas, who died in 1623; and 
his only son, Edward, who died without issue, in 1662, left all his 
lands in Charlewood, and the advowson of the living, to his sister, 
Elizabeth Bradshaw, in fee. She sold the estate to Sir Wm. Throck- 
morton ; who, in 1673, conveyed it to Sir Andrew King; and from 
him it passed, by sale, in the following year, to Lord Aungier, earl of 
Longford. In pursuance of the will of that nobleman, dated August 
9th, 1700, the property was sold in 1716, together with the advowson 
of the living, to Henry Wise, esq., of Brompton-park, Middlesex. 8 
He died in 1738 ; and on the death of his son and successor, Matthew 
Wise, without issue, in 1776, the estate devolved on his brother 
Henry ; whose son and heir, Henry Christopher, died January 14th, 
1805, having devised his property here to his son, the Rev. Henry 
Wise, rector of the parish of Charlewood ; who still holds the estate, 
patronage, and benefice. 

Several extensive portions of common-land in this parish were 
enclosed during the autumn of 1844; and some of the old foot-paths 
were, in consequence, done away with. 

Advowson, &c. — The advowson of the church of Charlewood, before 

manner of his death have been variously represented. Camden says, that after the defeat 
of the Irish Insurgents, Sanders " was miserably famished to death, when forsaken of all, 
and troubled in mind for the bad success of the rebellion, he wandered up and down 
among woods, forests, and mountains, and found no comfort or relief." — [Annales Reg. 
Elizabeth, sub ann. 1583.] But this vague statement is inconsistent with the circum- 
stantial narrative of Philip O'Sullivan, in his " Compendium of the History of Catholic 
Ireland," quoted by Wood ; from which we learn, that the death of Father Sanders was 
owing to disease, probably occasioned or aggravated by hardships, but that he died in his 
bed, surrounded by friends and brethren in the faith, which he had so zealously professed. 
Camden asserts, that he died in 1583; but others date his death in 1580 or 1581. — He 
published various works in defence of the doctrines of the Catholic Church ; but is 
chiefly known as the author of a treatise, "De Origine ac Progressu Schismatis Anglicani, 
Lib. tres": which has been repeatedly printed. The object of this production was to 
shew, that what is termed the Reformation of the Church of England, was entirety 
owing to the passion of Henry the Eighth for Anne Boleyne j and in the execution of his 
task, he has endeavoured to degrade the characters of that prince and his consort, by 
absurd and virulent calumnies, which serve to shew that the writer's zeal far exceeded 
his judgment. Burnet's "History of the Reformation" was professedly written to 
counteract the effect of the treatise of Sanders, of which a French translation appeared 
in 1673. — Wood, Athene Oxonienses, vol. i. col. 204 — 6 : Manning and Bra] , Si &REY, 
p. 191. 

8 In Aubrey's Natural History and Antiquities ot Si iuikv, published in 1718, 
(vol. iv. p. 255), it is stated that the " Lord of the Manor and Patron was Robert Wise, 
an eminent Gardener, who had the chief care of the royal gardens at Kensington." — In 
this passage Aubrey has erroneously inserted the name of Robert, instead of Henry Wise. 
The latter was partner in the Brompton>park Nursery with Mr. George London, and, 
also, the designer of the grounds at Blenheim. 

MM 2 



268 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

the Reformation, belonged to the Priory of Christchurch, Canterbury ; 
and Henry the Eighth, in 1539, granted it by letters patent, together 
with the advowson of Leigh, to Sir T. Nevil and Sir R. Southwell. 
There is a manor connected with the rectory, for which courts have 
been held by most of the rectors. The advowson was conveyed by 
Southwell to Henry Lechford, in 1547 ; Thomas Sander, or Saunders, 
held the patronage of the living in 1658 ; it afterwards came into the 
possession of his daughter, Mrs. Bradshaw, who sold it to Sir William 
Throckmorton ; and at length it passed, with the Charlewood-Place 
estate, as already mentioned, to the family of Wise, and is now vested 
in the Rev. Henry Wise, A.M., who was instituted on the 13th of 
November, 1805. 

The Benefice is a rectory 9 in the deanery of Ewell ; valued in the 
Taxation of Pope Nicholas at 13/. 6s. 8d. ; and in the King's books, 
at 19/. 16s. 8d. ; paying a pension of 10s., and 6s. 8d. to the Dean of 
the Peculiar, the living being in the peculiar jurisdiction of the arch- 
bishop of Canterbury. In the return to the Ecclesiastical commission, 
issued by Cromwell in 1658, the value of the tithes is stated at 120/., 
and that of the glebe at 16/. 

The Church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, is of stone, rough-cast, and 
roofed with Horsham slate. It consists of two spacious aisles (the 
interior of which is in a remarkably antiquated and rude style), with 
a chancel at the end of each. In the centre of the north side is a 
large, low, embattled tower, containing six bells, but without a spire. 
The entire length of the building is fifty-seven feet ; of the north 
chancel, thirty-two ; and of the south, twenty-seven : the breadth is 
forty-three feet ; and the height of the tower, fifty-two feet six inches. 

Over the south porch is a sun-dial, bearing this inscription : — 

Orate pro anima Thome Sander et Johanne uxoris ejus, et pro animabus 
omnium fidelium defunctorum. 

The porch is lighted on one side by a quatrefoil opening ; and on 
the other, by a double lancet window. Here is a niche for the 
reception of holy water. 

Interiorly, the aisles are divided from the chancels by two obtuse- 
poinled arches, resting on an octangular column. The south aisle is 
further separated from its chancel by a curiously-wrought oaken 
screen, on which are carved the arms of Sanders, impaling Carew 

9 " It seems," observe Manning and Bray, (vol. ii. p. 192), quoting from the Court 
Rolls, on the authority of Mr. Glover, " as if there had been formerly a Vicar as well as 
a Rector, for in 8 Henry IV., Richard, Vicar of Charlewood, held lands of the manor of 
the Rectory. 17 Henry VII. the Queen was in possession of 7 acres of land called Col- 
mansham held of this manor ; but as she could not be called on to do fealty, the entry on 
the Roll by the Steward is, that the Lord must be consulted on that point." 



CHARLEWOOD CHURCH AND MONUMENT9. 269 

twice, with the letters R. S., supported by two angels. In the centre 
is the letter M., under a crown, also supported by two angels. On 
each side of this, the letters R. S., supported by griffins, are repeated. 
Over the screen are the Lord's Prayer, Creed, and Ten Command- 
ments ; above which, are the royal arms. The chancel to the north 
aisle, in which the communion-table is placed, has a wagon roof, and 
is separated by a semi-circular arch from the belfry, which is separated 
from the aisle by a pointed arch. 

The pulpit, against the centre of the south wall, is of oak, 
octagonal, and carved. On three of its sides are texts of scripture 
inscribed on tablets ; and, close to the bottom, in the wall, is a niche, 
or piscina, of ornamental workmanship. 

The font is a plain stone, octagonal in form, and supported by a 
rude square pillar. The pews are of oak, very old, and much shattered. 

There is a gallery for the singers at the west end of the south aisle ; 
and, against the north wall, opposite to the pulpit, is a small gallery, 
supported by plain posts of wood. Various texts of scripture are 
inscribed upon the walls in different parts of the church. In one of 
the east windows are slight remains of painted glass. In the north 
and south aisles are several indents of brasses, evidently those of the 
Sanders family mentioned by Aubrey. 

Against the north wall of the north chancel is a white-marble tablet 
to the memory of David Knox, esq., who departed this life the 26th 
of March, 1793, aged fifty-two years, and lies buried beneath the pew 
belonging to Charlewood-house. 

Here are, also, several memorials of the Jordan family, of Gatwick. 

On the east wall of the south chancel, is a white marble, thus in- 
scribed : — 

This Monument was erected by John Sharp, esq., of Gatwick in this parish, 
out of pure love and pious memory of his late dear wife, Mrs. Philippa Sharp, 
who departed this life December 22, 1759, aged 61 years. She was the daughter 
of the late William Jordan, esq., Barrister at Law, of Gatewick, the ancient seat 
of the family of Jordans, who possessed the same upwards of 800 years. She 
was a truly pious and worthy woman, and was Lady of the following Manors : — 
Kings-nympton, Devon; Gatewick, Shearinark, Weekland, Charlwood, Hook wood 
and Bonus in this Parish and County ; who lies buried near this Stone, with her 
Ancestors. 

Here is, also, a monument inscribed to the memory of — 

Paulina Sharp, daughter of John and Elizabeth Sharp, who died July 5th, 1831, 

aged twenty-nine years. 
John Sharp, died December 15th, 1815, aged fifty-three years. 
Elizabeth Cooler, his wife, died April 12th, 1837, aged sixty-five years. 

On the south wall is a Brass of a man and a woman kneelincr. a 
desk between them ; on a scroll before him arc the words — " In te 



270 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Une speravi"; before her — " Miserere met Deus "; behind him, four 

sons ; and behind her, six daughters ; with this inscription : — 

Here is buryed Nicholus Saunder, Esquyer, and Alys his wyfe, daughter of 
John Hungate, of the Countey of Yorke, Esquyer, father and mother to Thomas 
Saunder, Knyght, Kyngs Remembranc r of the Excheker; which Nicholas 
decessed the xxix day of August, in y e firste yeare of the reigne of Quene 
Mary, an. Mv c liij. 
Armorial bearings : — Sab. a Chev. Erm. between three Bulls' Heads cabossed, Arg. 
Sab. three Lions passant, Or. His wife's : — Gu. a Chev. engrailed between three Talbots 
sejant of the same. 

In the south aisle is a tablet to the memory of Richard Cudding- 
ton, esq., who died August the 1st, 1829, aged sixty-eight years: also 
Mary his wife, who died June 23rd, 1809, aged fifty-five years. 

In the course of a thorough repair to which the east end of the 
church, with the chancels, was subjected during the autumn of 1844, 10 
two niches were uncovered, one on each side of the great window in 
the north chancel, apparently for the reception of statues : they were 
found ornamentally painted in blue and red, and the colours quite 
fresh. 

In the Church-yard, which is crowded with memorials, are several 
elaborately-wrought marble tombs of the Saunders family. — On the 
south side, is a decayed yew tree. 

Donations : — 

Three houses, with orchards, supposed to have been bought by the parish, for the 
benefit of the poor. 

One house, in two tenements, without an orchard, (donor unknown), for the benefit of 
the poor. 

Mr. Smith, by deed, dated in 1626, producing (1786) 5?. 12s. 6d., for the poor, having 
no weekly allowance. 

Earl's Gift, by will, date unknown, issuing out of land, for the poor, 2/. annually ; 8s. 
being deducted for land-tax. To be given at the discretion of the officers of the parish. 

The Rev. John Bristow, by will, June 12, 1637, a school-house, with about five acres 
of land, for the education of four poor children. 

KINGSWOOD LIBERTY. 
Under the account in the Domesday book, of JEticelle, or Eivell, is 
this passage : — " The men or jurors of this Hundred declare that 2 
hides and 1 virgate, which belonged to this manor in the time of King 
Edward, have been detached from it, the Bailiffs having appropriated 
the lands to their friends, as they did likewise a tract of wood and one 
croft." This, as remarked in Manning and Bray's Surrey, " was 
probably no other than that tract of land which lies on the southern 
extremity of this parish, and still retains its ancient name of King's- 
wood." Salmon conjectured that Odo, bishop of Bayeux, added this 

10 It was intended that the body of the church should be repaired in the summer of 
1845. 



KINGSWOOD LIBERTY. — EARLS OF NOTTINGHAM. 271 

land to the neighbouring manor of Bansted, which belonged to him. 
But whoever may have appropriated the land, it must have reverted 
to the crown as early as the reign of Henry the Second ; who gave it, 
together with Selwood, (both as portions of the manor of Ewell,) to 
the prior of Merton. Henry the Third, in the 36th year of his 
reign, granted to the prior, the right of free-warren here ; and 
Edward the First, in 1291, a license to inclose Kingswood, therein 
stated to be a hamlet in the parish of Ewell, and beyond the bounds 
of the forest of Windsor. 

After the dissolution of the priory of Merton, in 1538, this manor 
reverted to the crown, and, together with the capital manor of Ewell, 
was annexed to the Honour of Hampton -court. Queen Elizabeth, by 
letters patent dated January 31st, 1563, granted it, with the mansion- 
house, &c, to William, lord Howard of Effingham, lord-chamberlain 
of the royal household, the Lady Margaret his wife, and their heirs 
male. That nobleman died at Hampton-court, January 21st, 1572-3 ; 
but Lady Margaret Howard survived until May, 1581, when the estate 
came into the possession of her son Charles, lord Effingham, who was 
Lord High-admiral of England in 1588, when the country was 
threatened by the Spanish Armada ; and for his important services on 
that occasion, and at the capture of Cadiz in 1596, he was rewarded 
with the title of Earl of Nottingham. He retained the post of High- 
admiral in the reign of James the First; who appointed him to the 
office of Lord High-steward of England, at his coronation. His 
death took place on the 14th of December, 1624, in the eighty-seventh 
year of his age, at Haling-house, near Croydon. The eldest son of 
this peer having died before him, leaving no male issue, this manor, as 
well as his titles and his other entailed estates, devolved on his son 
Charles; who died without issue, October 3rd, 1642, and was suc- 
ceeded by his half-brother, Charles Howard, jun. ;' who also died 
childless, in 1681; when the title of Earl of Nottingham became 
extinct. On the decease of the second consort of the second Lord 
Nottingham, February 11th, 1650-1, the manor of Kingswood, which 

1 Charles Howard, the second baron of Effingham, and first earl of Nottingham, was 
twice married : first, to Catharine, daughter of Lord Hunsdon ; and secondly, to Margaret, 
daughter of the Earl of Murray ; by the former he had two sons, William and Charles : 
by the latter, four sons, one of whom was named Charles. This circumstance of the 
same baptismal name being borne by two of the sons of Lord Nottingham, who succes- 
sively inherited his titles, has occasioned some confusion in the history of his family. 
Manning has given two pedigrees of the Howards; in one of which, (SURBSY, vol. ii. 
p. 355), Charles Howard the third earl of Nottingham is represented as the son of Charles 
the second earl, who, in fact, had no children. In another pedigree, (p. G'JO), the half- 
brothers are properly described. 



272 HISTORY OF SURREY. — RETGATE HUNDRED. 

she had held in dower, is supposed to have come into the possession 
of Sir John Heydon. That gentleman was the son of Sir William 
Heydon, a military officer, who lost his life in the expedition to the 
Isle of Rhe, in 1627 ; and in consideration of his services, his son, in 
1630, obtained a grant, under letters patent, of the reversion of the 
fee-simple of this manor, to trustees for his benefit. It seems probable 
that Sir John Heydon had sold his reversionary interest in this 
manorial estate, for Mr. Manning says, he "continued so short a time 
in possession that his name does not appear upon the rolls." 

Sir Thomas Bludworth, knt, alderman of London, held a court- 
leet and court-baron here, as lord of the manor, October 14th, 1660. 
He died in 1682 ; and was succeeded by his son, Charles Bludworth, 
esq.; who held the manor till 1701. Thomas Harris, esq., was the 
next proprietor; and held his first court April 15th, 1708. His son, 
Thomas Harris, gent., of Bansted, was lord of the manor in 1730; 
and from him it passed to his nephew, John Hughes ; whose father, 
Isaac Hughes, esq., of Bansted, held a court in the name of his son, 
then an infant, July 28th, 1746. The manorial estate was sold by 
Mr. Hughes, in 1791, to William Jolliffe, esq. ; who, dying in 1802, 
left it to his son, Hilton Jolliffe, esq. ; since which, it has been pur- 
chased by Thomas Alcock, esq., its present owner, and the chief 
landed proprietor in this Liberty. 

There was formerly a chapel in the hamlet of Kingswood ; but the 
time of its foundation is uncertain. It is not noticed in the Valuation 
of ecclesiastical benefices, by Pontissara, bishop of Winchester, towards 
the close of the reign of Edward the First ; nor in that of Bishop 
Beaufort, in the 25th of Henry the Sixth ; but in the deed of endow- 
ment of the vicarage of Ewell, in 1458, it is expressly mentioned, it 
being stipulated that the vicar of Ewell, for the time being, should be 
under no obligation to celebrate mass in this chapel, or go to the 
hamlet of Kingswood to perform any offices of the church ; but that 
the prior of Newark, who held the rectory, should provide a priest to 
do duty as chaplain of Kingswood. It was further ordained by this 
deed, that on the decease of any inhabitant of Kingswood, if the 
corpse were removed to Ewell for interment, the vicar should meet 
the funeral procession at Provost's Cross, on the south side of Ewell, 
which is alleged to have been the custom from ancient time. 8 In the 
return made to Cromwell's commissioners in 1658, it is stated that the 

2 Register of Bishop Wainflete, I. p. 2, fol. 52 a, &c. — " This shews," says Manning, 
'* that though there was a place of Worship at Kingswood, there was no place of Inter- 
ment; and indeed, to this day, the inhabitants of this Hamlet marry, christen, and bury, 
at the Church of Ewell, and contribute to the repairs of the same." — Surrey, vol. i. p. 462. 







£3 

Q 



b, 



^1 






2 



S3 
2 



KINGSWOOD LIBERTY, AND CHURCH. 273 

living of Chipsted was worth 1121. per annum, and that the Liberty 
of Kingsioood, "(a member of Ewell), was fit to be united to that 
parish, lying five miles from the parish church of Ewell, and within 
two of Chipsted church ; paying all taxes with Chipsted, except 
church and poor ; having 12 families, and the tithe worth 28/. a year." 3 
Nothing further, however, was then done ; but about the termination 
of the same century, the great tithes of this Liberty we r e purchased 
and annexed to the vicarage of Ewell. This was effected by Henry 
Compton, bishop of London, by means of a sum of money which had 
been placed at his disposal for the benefit of the vicarage, by the Lady 
Dorothy Brownlow, daughter and coheiress of Sir Richard Mason, 
knt., of Sutton in this neighbourhood. 

At what time Divine service was discontinued in the chapel men- 
tioned is not recorded; but the conveniency of the inhabitants of 
this Liberty was recently provided for by the erection of a small but 
very neat district Church, in the year 1835, from designs after the 
Norman style of architecture. It is substantially built; and was 
consecrated and dedicated to St. Andrew ; the cost of its erection, 
(including the expense of consecration, and of every thing necessary 
for Divine service), being no more than 1,1 107. It contains one 
hundred and fifty sittings, all equally convenient and appropriate ; and 
the ecclesiastical district annexed to it includes a part of the adjoining 
parish of Bansted. The present incumbent is the Rev. Richard 
Knight, B.A., who was instituted on November the 8th, 1839: his 
annual stipend is 31/. 6s. 8d., arising from 15/. charged by the vicar of 
Ewell on the living, and the interest of 500/. given by Mr. Alcock, 
and invested in the funds. That gentleman gave 250/. also, towards 
the building of a parsonage-house ; and two grants of 200/. were 
made from Queen Anne's Bounty ; with which sums, a neat edifice 
was completed a year or two ago, and is now occupied by Mr. Knight. 

This Liberty comprises about eighteen hundred acres ; of which, 
four hundred acres arc woodland, and the remainder almost wholly 
arable. The style of farming is of a very moderate character ; yet 
still on a par with the general agricultural management of the neigh- 
bourhood. 

Kingswood- Warren is the pleasant scat of Thomas Alcock, esq., 
the owner of the manor. The mansion has recently been much 
improved under the direction of Mr. T. It. Knowles, architect; and 
is embattled and ornamented with turrets in the castellated style. 
Here is a neat conservatory, and every appropriate convenience of a 
gentleman's residence. On these premises is a Well (the only one in 

' Manuscripts, in the Archiepiscopal Library at Lambeth. 
VOL. IV. NN 



274 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Kingswood), which was sunk a few years ago ; its depth is three 
hundred feet, being entirely through chalk; and there is usually 
within it about a hundred feet of water. 

HORLEY. 

This parish, which is situated in the Weald of Surrey, is bounded 
on the north by Reigate and Nutfield ; on the east, by Buckland and 
Home ; on the south, by the parish of Worth, in Sussex ; and on the 
west, by Leigh and Charlewood. — It is one of the largest parishes in 
Surrey, comprising 7,640 statute acres. The general soil is a strong 
deep clay ; and travelling, in the winter season, by any cross-road, is 
almost impossible. A powerful Spring, forming one of the branches 
of the river Mole, which rises at Merstham, runs through Mason's- 
bridge farm in this parish, and unites with another branch from 
Tilgate in Sussex. 

No notice of Horley occurs in the Domesday book. The parish 
now comprises the manors of Horley, Beeres, Lodge, and Kinnersley ; 
and also parts of the manors of Reigate and Bansted. 

The Manor of Horley. — This manor anciently belonged to the 
monastery of Chertsey ; and after the reformation, it appears to have 
been given by Henry the Eighth to Sir Nicholas Carew ; on whose 
attainder, in 1539, it must again have reverted to the crown. Sir Rob. 
Southwell is supposed to have obtained a grant of this estate in the 
reign of Edward the Sixth ; and in the 35th of Elizabeth, he, in 
conjunction with his wife Margaret, conveyed the manor, rectory, and 
advowson, with various lands and rent, to Robert Bristow ; of whose 
family, or representatives, the property was purchased by Matthew 
Carew, a master in Chancery. He sold it to James Crowmer, esq. ; 
who, in 1602, conveyed it to the Governors of Christ's Hospital, 
London, who have held it ever since. There is, also, a manor, or 
reputed manor, formerly called Dackehurst, but now Duckhurst, partly 
in this parish, and partly in Capel, which belongs to the same hospital. 

The Manor of Beeres, or Buries. — As early as the 14th century 
this manor was held by a family named deBures. In 1546, a manorial 
court was held here in the name of Andrew Norman, to whom the 
estate was let to farm ; and in 1557, Richard Bray was lord of the 
manor, which was alienated by his son and heir, John Bray ; and after 
having had several successive owners, it became the property of 
Nicholas Charrington, esq., who held a court here in 1625. In 1808, 
the estate was held by his descendant, John Charrington, an eminent 
brewer, of Mile-end road, London ; and it still remains in his family. 
The river Mole divides this estate from Hartswood, in Buckland. 



MANORS OF KINNERSLEY AND LODGE. 275 

The Manor of Kinnersley, or Kinwarsley. — Edward Stafford, 
duke of Buckingham, who was executed and attainted of treason in 
1521, held this manor, which having escheated to the crown, Henry 
the Eighth granted it to John Scot ; whose son and heir, of the same 
name, died in 1558. The estate afterwards became the property of 
John Cowper, esq., whose family held lands at Horley in the reign of 
Edward the Fourth. In 1566, it was purchased by John More, esq., 
of Worth, in Sussex ; and at length, it came into the possession of 
Sir Win. Monson, a naval officer, who died at Kinnersley in February, 
1643-4. He gave this estate to a younger son; whose daughter and 
sole heiress, in conjunction with her mother and her husband, Sir 
Francis Throckmorton, sold the property to Arthur Ketleby and 
George Petty; who, in 1675, conveyed it to Benjamin Bonwicke, an 
officer in the train- bands of the county. His son, who was a barrister, 
residing at Reigate, left two daughters his coheirs, who, with their 
mother, sold this estate to Mr. Richard Ireland. He settled it on his 
niece, Ann Jones, for her life; with remainder to her son, Arthur 
Jones, in tail. This gentleman, having purchased his mother's interest, 
and barred the entail, in 1797, sold to Mr. Robert Piper of Dorking; 
who died in 1803, and left the manorial estate to his four sons. Since 
that period, it has been successively the property of — . Gibson, esq., 
and Henry Fosket, esq. ; by the latter of whom it was sold to the 
present owner, John Clark, esq. 

The Manor of Lodge.' — John Bury, esq., died in the 11th of 
Edward the Fourth, seised of the manor of Loge in the parishes of 
Horley and Home, and of the lands of Uham, Lockynlane, Stapil- 
ham, Smitham, Blakemores, Joyners, and Speresland, in the parish of 
Horley. 2 In 1582, Thomas Twyner died seised of a fourth part of 
this manor ; and the whole of it belonged to William Fromondes, of 
East Cheam, in the 5th of James the First. This estate was after- 
wards held by the family of Bristow ; by whom it was transferred to 
Mr. Cowper ; and he conveyed it to Henry Bonwicke, who died in 
1663, having devised it to his cousin, John Shove, in fee. The latter 
sold it, in 1769, to John Yeoman ; from whom it descended to his 
grandson, Wm. Yeoman, esq.; who, in 1791, conveyed it to the late 
William Bryant, esq. It was afterwards purchased by Henry Byne, 
esq. ; who sold it to — . Spiller, esq. ; and he resold it to Mr. Adams, 
an attorney in London. Subsequently to the year 1808, that gentle- 

1 From the Inquiritiones tost Mortkm, (17 Edw. III.), it appears that Roger Sale- 
man and Alice his wife held lands and tenements at 1-ogge, in Ihirstow and llorlee. In 
the parish church, the armorial hearings of the family of Saleman are displayed in several 

of the windows, and on a tomb, which will he subsequently noticed. 
- Calend. Inquis. post Mortem, vol. iv. p. 553. 

NN 2 



276 



HISTORY OF SURREY, REIGATE HUNDRED. 



man sold it to the Rev. H. Des Vceux ; of whom it was purchased by 
George Birch, esq. The house is a handsome villa residence, situated 
in a pleasant park. 

Aldhagh. — There was an estate called Aldhagh, consisting of a 
messuage and land, in Horley, which, in 1316, was granted by John 
de Hever to Henry and Nicholas Redstone. It seems to have been 
alienated by John, the son of Henry Redstone, in the 28th of Edward 
the Third; and after having had intermediate proprietors, it was held, 
in 1508, by Roger att Gate, and Lettice his wife, by the name of 
Esthevers, alias Redstons, late the property of Henry Saunder, gent., 
of Ewell. 

Erbridge. — This is a borough or section of the parish of Horley, 
but belonging to the manor of Charlewood. In the beginning of 
the reign of Edward the Sixth, Sir Robert Southwell and Margaret 
his wife conveyed to Henry Lechford, inter alia, the estate of Erbridge, 
which had belonged to the monastery of Christchurch, Canterbury. 
In the 44th of Elizabeth, it had come into the possession of Richard 
Bonwicke, of Horley ; from whose family it passed to the Spences, of 
South-Mailing in Sussex ; and at length, after repeated transfers, it 
was conveyed by John Mitchell, esq., in 1758, to John Sharp, of Gat- 
wick in Charlewood; whose grandson, of the same name, in 1805, 
sold Erbridge to Mr. Thos. Packham. That gentleman died in 1810, 
leaving it to his daughter, Sarah Lucy Guise; by whom the estate 
was left, at her death in 1839, to William Nunn, esq. 

The Estate of Herewaldesle, Harrowsleyd, or Harwardesley. — It is 
stated in the Testa de Nevill, that the Countess of Warren held the 
fourth part of a knight's fee in Harwaldesle, of the Honour of Clare, 
in the reign of Henry the Third. In the 23rd of Edward the Third, 
the fee of this manor belonged to Hugh le Despenser, a maternal 
descendant of the Clares, earls of Gloucester; Reginald de Cobham 
was lord of the manor in the reign of Richard the Second; and in 
the 18th of Henry the Sixth, Isabella, countess-dowager of Warwick, 
daughter of Thomas Spenser, earl of Gloucester, died seised of the 
third part of a knight's fee in Herwaldeslee. 3 The estate, at length, 
became the property of John Covert, esq. ; who died seised of it in 
the 18th of Henry the Seventh, leaving three daughters his coheirs, 
the eldest only five years of age. 4 

The Rectory and advowson of Horley anciently belonged to the 
abbot and convent of Chertsey ; and in the 5th of Edward the 

3 Calend. Inquis. post Mortem, vol. iv. p. 195. 

4 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 194—200. For further particulars, see 
under Home, in the present volume, pp. 145 and 14 7. 



RECTORY AND ADVOWSON OF HORLEY. 277 

Second, abbot John de Rutherwick obtained the appropriation, and 
was inducted into the church by the archdeacon Barthon. Henry the 
Eighth, by his letters patent dated in July, in his 31st year (1539), 
granted both the rectory and advowson to Sir Robert Southwell and 
Mary his wife, in exchange for the rectory of Horsham, in Sussex; 
and after several intermediate possessors, they became the property of 
the governors of Christ's hospital, as already stated. In distributing 
their patronage, the governors generally present this benefice, (as they 
do, also, their other livings), to one of the masters of that institution, 
in requital of services, and as a means of ultimate retirement. 5 The 
nett produce of this vicarage is 325/. per annum ; the curate having a 
yearly stipend of 150/., with the vicarage-house, garden, and glebe of 
two or three acres. 6 The present curate is the Rev. William Hollet 
Hughes, who has been resident there nearly twenty-four years. The 
Registers (five in number) have been well kept, and are considered to 
be perfect from the year 1578. 

Vicars of Horley in and since 1800 : — 

William Sparrow, A.M. Instituted on the 22nd of July, 

1791: died December 10th, 1816. 
Frederick William Franklin, A.M. Instituted February 
19th, 1817 : resigned, for Albrighton, in 1827: died on the 
17th of February, 1836, aged sixty-one. 
Edward Rice, D.D., of Trinity college, Cambridge. In- 
stituted on the 8th of August, 1828. 
During the incumbency of Dr. Rice, (who, having other resources 
besides the living of Horley, has been enabled to effect many things 
here which could not otherwise have been done), there have been 
established National schools, for boys and girls; with two school- 
rooms, and a house for the master and mistress ; — a Clothing club, for 

5 Thus the present incumbent, the Rev. Dr. Rice, -who is now head-master of Christ's 
Hospital, (and, likewise, preacher to the Philanthropic Society, St. George's Fields), was 
inducted in 1828, when only third master; he had been then ten years in the service of 
the Hospital. His immediate predecessor, the Rev. F. Wm. Franklin, had been classical 
master at the Hertford branch of Christ's Hospital, and was subsequently presented by 
the Governors to the Vicarage of Albrighton, in Shropshire, which is one of six livings 
in the alternate presentation of the Governors of Christ's Hospital, and of the Haber- 
dashers' Company. Mr. Franklin had been educated at Christ's Hospital ; from whenc< 
he proceeded to Pembroke-hall, Cambridge, and graduated P. A. in 17!»7, and M.A. in 
1800. His ingenuous disposition may be estimated by the denomination " Frank-hearted 
Franklin," bestowed on him by his school-fellow and friend, the late Charles Lamb. 

6 The approach to the vicarage-house was always very bad at all seasons, and in the 
winter months it was nearly or altogether impassible. Put the Rev. Dr. Rice, by making 
a carriage-drive in the garden, and repairing the lane from the garden-gate to the turn- 
pike-road, has remedied that evil, and the vicarage been thus rendered accessible, at an 
expense of 200/. 



278 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

the benefit of the poor ; — and, also, a Medical club, for the same pur- 
pose ; in which latter object Horley is associated with Burstow and 
Charlewood ; the clergy of the three parishes subscribing upwards of 
20/. yearly, among themselves. 

The Church, which is in the deanery of Ewell, is dedicated to St. 
Bartholomew, and stands about a quarter of a mile from the road 
leading from Reigate to Crawley, on the eastern side ; but is of 
difficult access. It consists of a nave, chancel, and north and south 
aisles, substantially built with stone ; and the roofs are covered with 
slate-stone obtained from the neighbourhood. On the south side, an 
additional part, a sort of transept, was erected about sixty years ago ; 
and fitted up with pews belonging to Gatwick -house. The exterior 
is neatly stuccoed. At the north-west angle is a shingled tower, sur- 
mounted by an octagonal spire, also shingled, and crowned by a vane ; 
the whole rising to the height of one hundred and thirteen feet. The 
tower underwent a thorough repair about six years ago : it contains 
eight bells ; two additional bells having been added by a subscription 
of the parishioners, about the year 1840 ; together with a clock, 
which, by ingeniously-constructed machinery, shews the hours within 
the church, as well as externally. — The general entrance is by the 
porch on the north side. 

There is a neat singing-gallery at the west end of the nave. The 
pulpit, on the left of the entrance to the chancel, is octagonal, and 
of oak. The font, on the left of the entrance from the north, is a 
square shallow basin of Sussex marble, supported by a circular 
pedestal, and quite plain. The pews are partly of oak, partly of 
unpainted deal, and partly painted to resemble wainscot. The number 
of sittings is two hundred and fifty. 

Formerly, the upper compartments of three windows in the north 
aisle, and the north window of the chancel, were ornamented with 
shields of arms ; and there were, also, the figures of two knights 
kneeling upon cushions. Of these, there are still some richly-coloured 
remains. In the east window is the triangle, an emblem of the 
Trinity. 

On a stone in the chancel, is a small brass figure of a man in a long 
gown, and with long flowing hair : the inscription is gone. 

Within an ornamental arch in the north aisle, is a brass figure, 
about two-thirds of the size of life, perfect, and though not elaborately 
engraven, remarkably handsome. It represents a woman, with her 
hands lifted as in prayer : the top of the head-dress is flat, but much 
swelled out at the sides. At the feet is the following inscription : — 



SEPULCHRAL MEMORIALS IN HORLEY CHURCH. 



279 



@f pour (Eharite prap for the soule of 3tohan iFenner, late topf of 3iofjn 
JF enner, (Bent. tohiche 3iohan ttcccssctj the 2 Ban of 3ulp, in the near of our liorU 
1516, on toftosc soule 3Thu haue mertn. amen. 

Within the north aisle, and behind an open, ornamental arch on 
the north side of the chancel, is an ancient effigy of a man in armour, 
in stone ; his head covered with mail, his legs lying straight, covered 
also with mail in straight ribs ; the feet resting on a lion, whose tail 
is curled over his side and back. The right arm is broken off; the 
left hand rests on a spread eagle charged with a leopard's face, carved 
on the stone. This monument has no inscription ; but there is a 
vague tradition that it was raised to the memory of Lord Sonds, or 
Sanders, resident at Coulsdon-court, and thought to be the builder 
of Horley church. The arms mentioned above, however, appear to 
be those of Saleman, and the same as were formerly in several of the 
windows, viz. — Arg. a spread eagle, double-necked, Sab. charged with 
a leopard's face, Or. 

Against the north wall of the chancel is a Sussex-marble tablet, 

with the following inscription : — 

MEMORLE SACRUM 

Gulielm 1 Brown pastor' hu's ecl'e p' spacium quinquagint' annorum obiit 14° 
Novembris, 1615 ; Magdalene uxor ejus prima expiravit septimo Septenib' 1604, 
et Margareta sponsa ultima cecidit 17° Febr. 1611. 



E lumbis 
GULIELMI 

et 

Magdalene 

oriuntur 



filii 



Joseph 
et ejus 



! 



Benjamin 
- et ab illo 



nati . . . . 
natae. . . . 

mares .. 
i fcemimc 



{ 



Gulielm" Stepii 8 
Joseph' et Joh's. 
Sara Susa 1 Phoebe. 



filisc , 



J Phcebe, 
I Sara. 



Doctrina vitaqve gregem constanter alebat 
Christi servvs amans atqve fidelis erat. 



{Joseph, Benjamin, 
Gulielm', John, 
Barnabas, Tho. 

fSara, 
Maria, 
Elizabetha. 



GLORIA 
DEO. 



Also in the chancel, is a tablet to the memory of — 

The Rev. Steele, thirty-one years curate of this parish, who died 

February 22nd, 182.3, aged sixty-five. 
Mr. John Steele, son of the above, died May 3rd, 1815, aged twenty. 

Over the Gatwick pew is a tablet to the memory of — 

Sarah Lucy Guise, late of Holyland in this parish ; born May the 27th, 1770; 
died July 25th, 1839. 

Opposite to which is another, to the memory of — 

Mr. Thomas Packuam, who died July 19th, 1810, aged fifty-six. 



280 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

In the south aisle is a tablet to — 

William Jarvis Birch, esq., late of Estwick in this parish ; who died on the 
12th of December, 1835, aged forty-nine. 

In the Church-yard are two large yew-trees : one, measuring seven- 
teen feet eleven inches, at four feet from the ground ; and the other, 
seventeen feet two inches at three feet, and eighteen feet at four feet 
from the ground. 

The Register of this parish begins in the year 1578. 7 
The only benefaction that we find recorded to the parish of Horley, 
is a gift of land, producing (1786) 51. 12s. 6d. annually, from Mr. 
Henry Smith, in 1626; for "poor persons who do not receive regular 
pay from the parish." 

LEIGH. 

This is a small parish in the \veald of Surrey, bordering, on the 
north, on Reigate and Betchworth ; on Buckland and Horley, to the 
east; on Charlewood, to the south ; and Newdigate, to the west. The 
soil is a deep clay ; and the roads, until of late, were nearly impassable 
in winter and rainy weather. As this parish is not mentioned in the 
Domesday book, it was probably included in the royal manor of 
Churchfelde, or Reigate, at the time of the Norman survey ; — or, 
otherwise, it might have been reckoned a part of Ewell, which was 

7 In Manning and Bray's Surrey, vol. ii. p. 202, various entries are quoted from a 
churchwarden's account-book for this parish, the earliest date of which is 1505. The 
book, says Mr. Bray, " is bound in boards covered with leatber curiously embossed, and 
was bought at a broker's shop by Mr. Brand, and given by him to the Editor." Some of 
the entries, as given in the History of Surrey, are curious : — 

"In 1518 the wives of two of the parishioners kept the light of St. Katharine, and 
had in their hands 47s.; another year, 3l. 10s.; and another, 4 marcs; another, 3/. 2s. 9d. ; 
another, 3/. 3s. They changed every year. Two men were employed about the light of 
St. Nicholas. Two of them had in hand, in 1518, 33s. 8%d. ; another year, 43s. 8d. ; 
another, 51s. Id." 

On the feast of St. John Baptist, 1507, the churchwardens "were charged with arrears 
at Whitsonday 1505, 3/. 10s. 5%d. ; increase of church goods and lands in the two years, 
22s. 6d. ; the paschall pennies for the two years, 8s. Ad. ; and St. Swilhine's farthings the 
two years, 3s. 8d." 

On one occasion, is mentioned " a yearly rent of &d. for finding a lamp, which hath 
been paid, and is paid yerely to the Queen's bailiff : and likewise 3s." 

" We find an obit of 8s. a year out of lands called Folgons and Stokecroft, to be 
bestowed in bread and drink for the poor. Also an obit out of a stock of two kine 
which was given by John Wechestur ; and so from John to Kaynol Wechestur ; and 
from Kaynol by William, to John Bray the elder, 4s. yerely." 

"In 1563 there was a house and land belonging to the Clarke: and a croft at Plott's 
Bridge, lett by the Churchwardens to Philip Islyngeton at 26s. 8d. for a year, he felling 
no timber. The evidences for this house are in several places mentioned to be in the 
Churchwardens' hands." 



MANOR OF SHELWOOD, IN LEIGH. 281 

another of the crown manors, and of which Selewode, or Shelwood, 
now the principal manor in Leigh, was a member in the time of King 
Henry the Second. 

The Manor of Shelwood. — In the year 1156, Henry the Second 
gave to the prior of Merton, in this county, Selewode and King's- 
wode, in frank-almoigne, together with the manor of Ewell, to which 
they pertained ; — and in 1252, (36th Henry the Third), the Convent 
obtained a grant of free-warren for all their lands here. 1 — After the 
suppression of the priory, Henry the Eighth, in 1539-40, granted 
Shelwood, with other lands in this parish, to Sir Thomas Nevil, for 
his life ; with remainder to Sir Robert Southwell, lent., and his wife 
Margaret, the daughter of Nevil. After the decease of Sir Thomas, 
in 1547, Southwell and his wife conveyed this manor, with Charle- 
wood and other estates, to Henry Lechford, esq., in whose family 
they remained until November, 1634; when Sir Richard Lechford, 
knt., transferred all his landed property in Surrey to Sir Garret 
Kemp, knt., and John Caryl, esq.; by whom, in 1649, Shelwood 
was alienated, in trust, for Edward Alston, M.D., who obtained full 
possession in 1653. In the following year, Sir Ambrose Browne, knt., 
of Betchworth Castle, was owner ; and his three sons, Sir George 
Browne, Ambrose, and John, succeeded each other in this property ; 
which, however, had been separated from the demesne lands, under 
the provisions of an act of parliament obtained in the 13th of Queen 
Anne, 1714. All the brothers died without issue; respectively, in 
the years 1685, 1729, and 1736. John, the last survivor, devised this 
manor to his nephew, Thos. Jordan, of Gatwick, who died (unmarried) 
in 1750; leaving two sisters and co-heiresses. Three years after- 
wards, the manors of Shelwood and Buckland were, on a partition? 
allotted to Mrs. Elizabeth Beaumont; whose grandson, Thomas, sold 
Shelwood to Charles, duke of Norfolk, in 1806. — The demesne lands* 
which had several intermediate owners, after the decease of John 

1 In the 10th of Henry the Third, an Inquest was taken for the purpose of determining 
the customs and services of tenants in Selewood, at the time of the original grant to 
Merton Priory. It was alleged that they ought to repair in harvest-time to the Bid-ripe 
(reaping in harvest,) of the manorial lord : the Jury disallowed this, hut found " that the 
Tenants of those lands could not marry a son or a daughter out of the precincts thereof> 
without licence of the Prior : but that they might so marry within the same : it appeared 
also that they were subject to the payment of Peter-pence and other rates." — In May 
1635, at a Court -baron held for the manor of Shelwood, the Homage present, among other 
customs, that "Copyhold estates descend to the eldest son; and if no son, to all the 
daughters equally: but the widow to have one-third of the copyhold of which her husband 
died seised, for life, if she claim it at the next court." The heriot, on the death of copy, 
holder, or freeholder, or on the alienation of a copyholder, was the best live beast. — 
Manning and Bray, Surrky, vol. ii. p. 180. 

VOL. IV. OO 



282 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Browne, in 1736, had been purchased by the same nobleman, in 
1799, of Elizabeth, the widow of Cornelius Cayley, to whom her 
husband had devised them, in May, 1798. 2 

Leigh-Place, now a farm-house, which stands about a furlong north- 
eastward from the church, is surrounded by a moat, and has, evidently, 
been a mansion of some importance, 3 In the reign of Henry the 
Sixth, it was the property and residence of the Arderns, who had 
estates in Sussex ; and one of whom, John, was sheriff of Surrey and 
Sussex in the year 1432. 4 His son, John, was esquire of the body to 
Henry the Seventh ; and was interred, with several of his family, in 
a vault below the chancel in Leigh church. In 1530, this estate was 
sold by Sir John Dudley (duke of Northumberland), to Edward 
Shelley, of Findon, from whose family it passed to the Copleys on 
the marriage of Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Shelley, knt., 
(made a Justice of the Common-pleas by Henry the Eighth), with Sir 
Richard Copley, afterwards of Sutton. William Copley, his grandson, 
died in 1643, when the inheritance devolved on his grand-daughters, 
Mary and Anne ; to the former of whom, married to John Weston, 
esq., of Sutton-place, this estate was allotted on a partition, but subject 
to a settlement in jointure. In 1649, the Westons assigned their 

2 This manor of Shelwood comprises the chief part of the parish, but the manors of 
Bansted, Reigate, East Betchworth, Brockham, and Beers, extend into it ; and there is a 
strip of Leigh parish, called Dunshott, running down near the church, for which a head- 
borough is appointed at the court of Bansted, it being in that manor. — Manning and 
Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 180. In Leigh parish is a farm-house called Swains, which, 
according to tradition, was inhabited by Ben Jonson, the poet ; and a room within it is 
still called the Study. — Id. 

3 At Leigh-Place, in a small frame, are the following particulars of the early owners of 
this estate, as collected by the late Mr. R. C. Dendy : — 

" The first inhabitants of this place which I can trace were the great family of Brewse, 
or Brewose, who followed the fortunes of the Conqueror from Normandy in 1066. They 
were possessed of many lordships in Surrey, and of 42 manors in Sussex. Jno. de 
Brewse having escaped from the tyrant, King John, who starved two of his brothers to 
death in Windsor Castle, married a daughter of Lewellyan, prince of Wales, and died 
in 1232. Lord William his son was of Findon in Sussex. Sir Peter de Brewse, third 
son of this William, had a younger son, Sir John, who resided here. The next who 
succeeded was Sir George his son, who died 1419 ; he possessed the manors of Imworth, 
Walton and Bookham in Surrey, and Crawley, Sedgwick, and Nuthurst in Sussex. John 
de Arderne was the next resident (1420) ; he was sheriff of Surrey and Sussex [in 1432] ; 
[whose son John was] Esquire of the body to Henry VII., a great favourite, and 
succeeded to many of the manors of the Brewses. 1500 : Thomas, earl of Surrey, next 
he came to the estate in the paternal line of the Brewses." — 

4 It appears from Sir William Bunnell's "Collections for Sussex," in the British Museum 
(Rape of Hastings, p. 93), that the estates of Sir Thomas Arderne were seized by the 
crown, on account of* his having killed Nicholas de Poynings, and committed a rape on 
Margery, widow of Nicholas de la Beche. The widow was pacified by his marrying her, 
and the lands were restored : the murder seems to have been forgotten. — Surrey, vol. ii. 
p. 183. 



ADVOWSON AND RECTORS OF LEIGH. 283 

interest to John Woodman, who had been a tenant here many years, 
and who, in 1651, again sold to Robert Bristow, of Horley, gent. 
The latter had already purchased the lien under the marriage settle- 
ment; and, in 1655, he also paid a sum of money to the Copleys of 
Gatton, " who thereupon conveyed the estate to him, and levied a 
fine." In 1700, it was re-sold to James Budgen, esq., of Newdigate; 
whose descendant (in the fourth degree), Thomas, a captain in the 
2nd regiment of Surrey Militia, transferred this property, in 1806, to 
Richard Caffyn Dendy, esq., its late owner ; and it is still vested in 
his family. — On this estate, and in the moat surrounding the mansion, 
various coins of Edward the First, and subsequent monarchs, have 
been found ; together with a cannon ball and other military relics ; an 
antique silver cup was, also, discovered in one of the wings of Leigh- 
place, when under repair about twenty years ago. 

Advoivson, &c. — Leigh is a rectory in the deanery of Ewell. In 
the Valor of Edward the First, it was returned at twelve marks ; and 
in a survey made in the 4th of Edward the Sixth, at 15/. 15s. S^d. ; 
paying for procurations 7s. l^d., and for synodals 2s. Id. The advow- 
son was given by Hamelin, earl of Warren, and Isabel his wife, to the 
prior and convent of St. Mary Overy, Southwark, in the reign of 
Richard the First. It was afterwards exchanged with the priory of 
Newark, in this county ; and becoming vested in the crown at the 
time of the suppression, was granted with the manor of Shelwood, to 
Sir Thomas Nevil, in 1539-40, by Henry the Eighth. In 1790, after 
having had various intermediate possessors, the advowson and rectory 
were transferred to Charles, duke of Norfolk ; whose devisee and 
executor, Henry Howard, esq., caused this, with much other property 
of the late duke, to be sold by auction in May, 1819. The purchaser 
was the Rev. Joseph Fell ; who transferred it to the Rev. Joseph 
Flodgson, in 1823; and in the same year, the latter again sold the 
property to R. C. Dendy, esq., of Leigh-place; in whose trustees the 
patronage is now vested : the rectory comprises both the great and 
small tithes of nine hundred and thirty-two acres of land in this 
parish. The Registers commence in 1579, for baptisms; and in 1584, 
for marriages and deaths. 

Rectors of Leigh in and since 1800: — 

Joseph Fell. 

T. D. Haslewood. 

Joseph Hodgson. Instituted on the 8th of September, 
1823. 

John Herbert, A.M. Instituted on the 15th of July, 1843. 

oo 2 



284 



HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 




LEIGH CHURCH. 



Leigh Church, dedicated to St. Bartholomew, is a substantia] 
and not unhandsome fabric, constructed of Merstham stone and 
rubble-work. It consists of a nave and chancel ; a south porch ; and 
at the west end, a square tower, surmounted by a wooden belfry 
containing four bells. The walls are strengthened by low buttresses ; 
and the roof is chiefly covered with Horsham slate. Within the 
tower, which opens to the nave by a wide obtuse arch springing from 
massive piers, is a piscina, in the south wall. The nave is occupied 
by a rude kind of low pewing, but little posterior, possibly, to the time 
of the Reformation : that in the chancel is mostly higher, and has the 
date 1679. At the angle entering the chancel on the north side, is a 
small pulpit ; and at the west end, is an old gallery, beneath which is 
the font, a large circular basin, of lead, for immersion. 

In the floor of the chancel, and partly crossed by the communion 
rails, are several indented slabs in memory of the Arderns, of Leigh- 
place ; who appear, from the arms, to have been originally of Warwick- 
shire. On the more southern slab, are indents of a man and woman, 
with attached supplicatory labels, and underneath is the following 
inscription : — 

©rate pro antmabus Btcartii "artlem, (Kenttlman, et Siohannte uioris eius, qui 
quititm Huartous obtit mi Ute .piensis jjlotmnbrts anno JB'nt mill'mo ccci°I«xxtx. 
€Juoru antmabus propicict' HBots. Qmtn. 
Arms, on small shields of brass : — A Fess Chekie betw. three Crescents, Ardem ; impaling 

a Chev. betw. three Stags, trippant. 

On another slab, to the north, are whole-length Brasses (each 



BRASSES IN LEIGH CHURCH. — NEWDIGATE. 285 

measuring three feet four inches), of ^Of)tt ^ttjevtlt and 13li*at)ftf) 

his wife, with smaller figures below them of their six children, viz., 
three sons and three daughters. The male figure is habited as a 
merchant ; the female wears a horned head-dress, and a long cloak, on 
the skirts of which is a talbot dog : there is no date on the inscription, 
which is crossed by the rails. Between the above slabs, in the middle 
of the chancel, is a smaller brass (only nine inches in length), of 
Susanna, one of the daughters of the above persons. Here, also, is a 
small brass, with a curious representation of the Trinity ; God the 
Father being exhibited as holding the Saviour on the Cross, whereon 
the Dove is sitting. — In the south wall of the nave, under a window, 
is an old monument within a recess, but this is closed up by the pews. 
The only memorials of recent date, is a mural tablet of white marble, 
in memory of Richard Caffyn Dendy, esq., of Leigh-place, who died 
on the 22nd of October, 1832, in the seventy-fourth year of his age; 
— and another in memory of Samuel Wilton, esq., who died June 
15th, 1825, aged fifty-seven years. — The number of sittings is two 
hundred and forty. 

The houses, which are scattered around Leigh green, (or rather Lie 
green, as the name of this parish is pronounced by the inhabitants), 
form the chief part of the village ; the entire parish containing no 
more than between eighty and ninety houses. — The income from 
charitable benefactions amounts to about 12/. or 13/. annually. At 
Stumblehole, in Leigh, (now a farm) was a messuage and virgate of land, 
which was held of the king in chief, and paid castle-guard to the 
castle of Rochester. 

NEWDIGATE, or NEWDEGATE. 
From the situation of this parish on the southern limits of Surrey, 
and in the Wealden district, it will be more properly described here 
than in any other place, although it is chiefly included in the hundred 
of Copthorne ; the hamlet of Parkgate only being in that of Reigate. 
On the west it is bounded by the parish of Capel ; on the south-east 
and north-east, by Charlewood and Leigh, which parishes are said to 
unite with Newdigate at one particular point: on the south, it is 
adjoined by Rusper, in Sussex ; and on the north, by Dorking, in this 
county. According to a recent survey under the tithe commutation 
act, it contains somewhat more than 4,027 acres, 2 roods, and 10 poles 
of land; of which, 2,297a. 3r. 10p. are arable, 854a. lOp. meadow, 
866 a. 3r. woodland, 5 a. common, or waste, being slips near the high- 
ways, and 4 a. are glebe. The farms vary in size from twelve to three 
hundred acres ; but are chiefly from about eighty to one hundred 



286 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

acres in extent : the farm-buildings are of timber. The oak and ash 
are the sole indigenous trees met with: the former thrive well through- 
out the Weald. The Duke of Norfolk ; Lee Steere, esq., of Jayes ; 
and Jas. Shudi Broadwood, esq., of Lyne, are the chief landholders. 1 
Newdigate is not noticed in the Domesday book ; 2 probably, because 

1 When Wheat was almost wholly produced from the strong soils, and the " old saw " 
was a truth, — 

" When the Clay doth feed the Sand 
Oh, then 'tis well in fair England, 
But when the Sand doth feed the Clay 
Alack, alack, ah Well away," 

Then the rental was large, and the parish was benefited by the expenditure of several 
resident gentlemen and yeomen. The introduction of turnips, and the improved culture 
of the light soils, which began about the middle of the last century, has almost reversed 
the " old saw"; and the rents in Newdigate, if not decreased, have remained stationary ; 
indeed, some farms are now (1844) let at 25 per cent, less than at what they were in 1726. 

2 Many vestiges of old Saxon customs are still retained in this and other parishes of 
the Weald; and the Saxon smock-frock is generally worn by the men. On St. Thomas's 
day, the poor families proceed to the dwellings of their more wealthy neighbours, soliciting 
assistance towards improving their own house-keeping during the approaching Christmas. 
Mummers appear about Christmas, and on Christmas-eve, and during the holidays, parties 
go round singing carrols and Was-hail songs, (>ar-hael, i.e. " Be in Health"), the remains 
of the ancient practice of Wassailing, expecting refreshment in return, or a largess in 
money. The following is a specimen of a " Was-hail Song." — 

" A wassail, a wassail, a washail bowl we sing, 
With cinnamon, peppermint and other spices in ; 
A wassail, a wassail, with jolly sugar'd ale, 
And joy come to you from our wassail. 
Good Master and good Mistress, as you sit by the fire, 
Oh think of us poor Wassailers who tramp it through the mire. 
A wassail, a wassail, &c. 

" We'll wassail increase to your store, — we'll wassail sheep & kine, 
We'll wassail bees and apple trees, — we'll wassail horse and swine. 
A wassail, a wassail, &c. 

" Hang out your silken handkerchief upon your golden spear, 
And welcome in your Wassailers to taste your Christmas cheer. 
A wassail, a wassail, of jolly nappy ale, 
And joy come to you from our wassail. 

A wassail, a wassail, a washail bowl we sing, 
With cinnamon, and peppermint, and other spices in." 
In wassailing Apple-trees, the tree is struck with a stick, and all the party shout — 
" Stand fast root, bear well top, 
Pray God send a good howling sop : 
On every bough, twigs enow, 
On every twig, apple big. 
" Hats full, caps full, half quarter sacks full, 
Holloh boys, holloh"— 

on which a horn is blown, and the whole throng hurrah joyously. 

On a marriage, flowers, if in summer ; wheat, if in winter, are strewed before the bride 
on her return from the altar. On a death, the body is covered as it lies in the coffin, with 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF NEWDIGATE. 287 

it pertained, at the time of the survey, to the extensive manor of 
Churchfield, or Reigate, then belonging to the king, and afterwards 
granted to the earl of Warren. Ilamelin Plantagenet, earl of Warren 
and Surrey, in the reign of Henry the Second, gave the church of 
Newdigate to the prior of St. Mary Overy, Southwark. The manor 
appears to have been granted by this nobleman, or one of his 
descendants, to the family of Montfort ; for in the 21st of Edward the 
First, John de Montfort obtained the right of free-warren for his lands 
in Newdigate. His eldest son was slain at Striveling, in 1314, and 
being without issue, the estate came into the possession of his brother 
Peter, who was a clerk in holy orders, but having procured a dispen- 
sation, he was made a knight, and married Margaret, the daughter of 
Lord Furnival. His only son and heir, Guy de Montfort, married 
Margaret, a daughter of Thomas Beauchamp, earl of Warwick, in 
1358, (in his father's life-time); soon after which, this and other 
estates in Surrey and elsewhere were settled in such a manner as to 
vest the remainder in the earl and countess of Warwick, in default of 
issue from his daughter's marriage. 3 Guy de Montfort having died 
childless, the earl settled his estate in reversion on his own sons, 
Thomas and William ; the former of whom succeeded to the earldom 
on the death of his father, in 1369 ; 4 and he, also, had possession of 
the manor of Newdigate. This earl was arraigned before the peers, 
as an accomplice with Thomas, duke of Gloucester, and others, in an 
alleged conspiracy against the government in the reign of Richard 
the Second ; and having confessed himself guilty, and besought the 
king's mercy, his life was spared, but he was condemned to perpetual 
imprisonment, and his lands and goods were confiscated. Previously 
to this forfeiture, Sir Baldwin Freville, a grandson of Elizabeth, one 
of the two sisters and coheirs of Peter de Montfort, claimed this and 
other estates of the Montfort family ; and it appears that he succeeded 
in establishing his right to this manor, as well as to that of Ashtead. 
Sir Baldwin's son and successor, of the same name, died in 1401 ; 

flowers, evergreens, and sweet herbs. — Until within a few years, most parishes in the 
Weald had a Hunt of Southern hounds ; and packs are still kept at Charlewood, in 
Surrey \< and Slinfold, near Horsham, in Sussex. Each farmer kept a dog, which, on the 
huntsman blowing his horn, would be seen hurrying towards him ; but on the closing of 
the day's sport, those dogs would separate from the pack, as they came near their 
respective homes, and return thither : — the men run on foot, with leaping poles. 

3 This match between Guy de Montfort and the Earl's daughter was negociated by 
their parents, with a view of ending " many suits which there had been between the 
families, |who were related, and whose estates lay contiguous." — Manning and Bray, 
Surrky, vol. ii. p. G26. 

4 Thomas de Beauchamp, earl of Warwick, is stated in the Inquisitiones post Mortem, 
to have died seised of the manor of Newdigate in the 43rd of Edward the Third. 



288 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

and his only son and heir dying without issue, in 1419, the family 
estates devolved on his three sisters, coheiresses ; one of whom, Joyce 
Freville, was married to Sir Roger Aston. She died in 1447 ; and, 
on a partition of the Freville's estates in 1453, "Ashtede and Newde- 
gate" were allotted to her son and heir, Robert Aston, who was after- 
wards knighted. His grandson, Sir Edward Aston, transferred New- 
degate to Henry the Eighth, in exchange for lands in Staffordshire ; 
and that sovereign granted the manor to the Master and Fellows of 
Trinity college, Cambridge; to whom it has ever since belonged: 
their lessee is James Shudi Broadwood, esq., of Lyne, in this parish. 

The ancient family of Newdegate, or Newdigate, (of whom a younger 
branch was long settled at Harefield, in Middlesex), had lands and 
tenements here as early as the reign of King John ; and several deeds 
referred to by Manning and Bray shew that various additions were 
made to the estate of the Newdigates at different periods. From the 
will of Thomas Newdigate de Newdigate, dated in 1482, it may be 
inferred, that he possessed much property here. His great-grandson, 
who died in 1576, left all his lands at this place to his son Walter, with 
directions that his younger son, Thomas, should be provided with a 
chamber, meat, drink, and apparel, and 40 shillings a year in money ; 
or the annual sum of 10/., in lieu of the provisions, at his option. 
Walter Newdigate died in 1590; and his son and successor, Thomas, 
died in 1612, leaving two daughters his coheirs; and having made a 
will, by which he gave his lands to his nephew, West Newdigate, on 
condition of the payment of 1,0007. to each of his cousins. This 
money, apparently, was not paid ; for the estates, including what was 
erroneously termed " the manor of Newdigate," came into the posses- 
sion of Mary, the elder daughter of Thomas Newdigate, and wife of 
William Steper; her sister having died without issue. In 1636, Mrs. 
Steper and her husband executed a conveyance of their manorial 
estate to Mr. John Budgen, in which they were joined by West 
Newdigate. From the purchaser, this property descended to Thomas 
Budgen, esq., (of Dorking), M.P. for Surrey in the last two parlia- 
ments of George the Second; whose grandson, in 1807, sold the 
estate, with Newdigate- Place Farm, to Charles Howard, 11th duke of 
Norfolk ; 5 and his remotely-allied kinsman, Henry-Charles Howard, 
the 13th duke, is now owner. 

5 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 170 — 172. Newdigate- Place, a large 
mansion consisting of divers buildings, inclosing a quadrangular court, was the seat of 
the Newdigates during many generations ; at least, from the time of King Edward the 
Third to that of James the First. But the greater part was taken down by J. S. Budgen, 
esq., about sixty years ago ; and the remaining portion converted into a farm-house. 



DESCENT OF 1WOOD PARK. — HENFOLD. 289 

Iwood, or Ewood Park. — A mansion and park of about six hundred 
acres in extent, in this parish, which had belonged to the earls of 
Warren and Surrey, descended to Richard Fitz-Alan, earl of Arundel, 
who died January 24th, 1374-5. His son and successor, of the same 
name, was beheaded and attainted of treason in September, 1397, in 
consequence of his having joined Thomas, duke of Gloucester, in his 
opposition to the arbitrary government of Richard the Second. 
Thomas Fitz-Alan, the son of this earl, was restored in blood, in 1399, 
immediately after the accession of Henry the Fourth ; but on his 
death without issue, his four sisters became his coheirs ; and one of 
them having married William Beauchamp, lord Abergavenny, this 
estate was transferred to her son, Richard Beauchamp, created earl of 
Worcester. His daughter and sole heiress, Elizabeth, became the wife 
of Sir Edward Nevil; whose great-grandson, Sir Henry Nevil, by 
deed dated March 24th, 1553, conveyed all his messuages, lands, &c, 
in Newdigate, and all the buildings, iron works, and offices within the 
same, to George and Christopher Darell. 

In the succeeding reigns of Mary and Elizabeth, this estate had 
several proprietors ; but at length, becoming vested in the crown, in 
default of some debts undischarged, it was granted, in the 2nd of 
James the First, to Mary Goche and her son, Barnaby Goche. In 
the time of William the Third, half the park belonged to Dr. Morton, 
a physician, who was succeeded by his son and grandson ; the latter 
of whom, having six daughters, left directions by will, in 1767, that 
his share of the Iwood property should be sold. Thomas Grimstead, 
esq., became the purchaser ; and his son and heir, Joseph Valentine 
Grimstead, esq., in 1786, transferred this portion of the estate to 
Charles, duke of Norfolk. The other part of the park, which had 
been converted into a farm, belonged to General Smith in 1783 ; and 
it was sold by him, about three years afterwards, to the same noble- 
man, who thus became proprietor of the whole estate. 6 

The adjoining property of Henfold, which once belonged to Sir 
Thos. Poynings, knt., and Ralph Fane, esq., and which extends into the 
three parishes of Newdigate, Capel, and Dorking, was also purchased 
by the Duke of Norfolk, in 1806. In the following year, he com- 
menced the erection here, on the brow of an eminence near Iwood, 
(commanding a fine prospect of the wood-clad heights around 
Dorking), of a spacious mansion, intending it for an intermediate 
occasional residence between Arundel-castle and the metropolis, li 
was constructed of the Limestone called "Sussex marble," obtained 
from the quarries at Charlewood; and the estate was afterwards let 

6 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 171. 
VOL. IV. PP 



290 HISTORY OF SURREY. — RE1GATE HUNDRED. 

on lease to F. Amand Clarke, esq., who had a neat cottage and 
sporting-box in the neighbourhood. 

The Manor of Cudworth, or Cudeford, in Newdigate, was held 
by Walter de la Poyle in the latter part of the reign of Edward the 
First ; and Henry de la Poyle died seised of it in 1361. It belonged, 
subsequently, to the family of Newdigate ; of whom it was purchased, 
in 1636, by a Mr. Ede ; and in 1775, the estate was sold by one of 
his family to Lee Steere, esq.; who died in 1785, and left the 
reversion, after the death of his widow, to his grandson, Lee Steere 
Witts, esq., who, in consequence, assumed the name of Steere, in 
place of that of Witts ; and to his son, Lee Steere, esq., the property 
belongs. 

Weekland, or Wykeland. — This is a reputed manor, supposed by 
Manning to have been the estate anciently held by the prior of 
Merton, who, in the 19th of Edward the First, had license to hold a 
messuage and sixty acres of land in Newdigate, ancient demesne of 
the crown. Henry the Eighth, in 1540, granted this property to 
Robert Southwell, esq. It was purchased, in 1625, by Edmund 
Jordan, esq., of Gatwick ; and it passed, with his Charlewood estate, 
in 1752, to John Sharp, esq., in virtue of his marriage with Philippa, 
one of the coheirs of Thos. Jordan. Mr. Sharp died in 1771, having 
disinherited his eldest son, and entailed the estates on his three grand- 
sons, in succession. John Jennings Sharp, the eldest of these, barred 
the entail in 1785; and in 1806, he sold Charlewood, Hook, and 
Wykeland, to Mr. Thomas Kerr; who re-sold to James Woodbridge, 
esq. ; of whom the property was purchased by Michael Clayton, esq., 
the present owner. 

Lyne, the residence of James Shudi Broadwood, esq., by whom 
the estate was purchased in 1799, is situated on the extreme south of 
the parish, on the verge of Sussex. The house, which stands on the 
boundary line of the two parishes of Newdigate and Capel, is a large 
modern erection, ornamented by a picturesque tower on the north, 
and some handsome Flemish gateways (which inclose the stabling and 
out-buildings), in the midst of a paddock and meadows interspersed 
with woodlands, and bounded on the north and south by extensive 
woods, which combine to render it an agreeable summer residence. — 
Mr. Broadwood was high-sheriff for Surrey in 1835; and is in the 
Commission of the Peace for both Surrey and Sussex. 

The Living of Newdigate is a rectory in the deanery of Stoke. It 
is valued in the Taxation of Pope Nicholas at 20 marks ; and in the 
King's books, at 81. 18s. 4rf. ; paying for procurations and synodals, 
8s. 9d. The advowson was given by Hamelin Plantagenet, earl of 


















\ 


































NEWDIGATE CHURCH AND MONUMENTS. 291 

Warren and Surrey, to the prior of St. Mary Overy, Southwark ; and 
since the dissolution of monasteries, it has been vested in the crown. 
The rent-charge is fixed at 580/. 10s. per annum. — The Registers 
commence in 1559; and have been regularly continued to the present 
time. 

Rectors of Newdigate in and since 1800:' — 

William Langford, D.D., canon of Windsor. Instituted in 

1799: died January 21st, 1814. 
Henry John Ridley. Instituted 3rd of March, 1814. 
Charles Vernon Holme Sumner. Instituted on the 29th of 

September, 1825 : resigned. 
John Young, LL.D. Instituted 12th of April, 1834. 
Newdigate Church is a small irregular structure, dedicated to St. 
Peter. It consists of a nave, chancel, and south aisle ; and at the 
west end, is a wooden tower, surmounted by an octagonal spire, 
shingled. The belfry, which is of unique construction, contains a 
peal of six bells, 8 hung within a massive frame-work of oak, based 
on the ground, and calculated from the strength of the timbers, 
and ingenuity of the carpentry, to endure for ages. 9 The nave is 
separated by two pointed arches from the aisle ; the east end of which 
was formerly a chapel pertaining to the manor of Cudworth ; and a 
trefoil-headed piscina yet remains in the south wall. Some vestiges 
of canopies and other painted glass are in different windows, including 
the arms of the Newdigate family, viz. — Gu. three lions' jambs, erect, 
erased, Arg. On the north side, is the pulpit, which was " made and 
set up in 1626 ; and in 1627 the gallery at the west end was bvilded 
by Henry Nicholson, gent." The font is of an octagonal form, and 
stands on a baluster pedestal. 

•Against the north wall of the chancel, is a memorial for Elizabeth, 
wife of the Rev. Wm. Bickerton, rector of this parish, who died in 
July, 1734, aged 31 years and 7 months. She was the daughter of 
Edw. Collins, " Merchant in Konigsbcrg," 

" Transplanted from her native soil to shew 
That Virtues in a foreign climate grow." 



7 The Rev. John Buckner, LL.D., was appointed to this rectory in December, 1789 ; 
and he retained it until his promotion to the See of Chichester, in 1798. Mis benevolence 
and hospitality endeared him to the parishioners, among whom he usually resided during 
the summer seasons. 

N The bells were re-cast about the year 1802 ; on which occasion an additional bell 
was given by Mr. Broadwood. The tones of these hells are considered to he rcmarkahU 
silvery. 

9 Some laborious feats of the Newdigate ringers, in i secnting two complete peals of 
5,040 changes each, in October and December, L841, are recorded here. The first peal 
was rung in 2 hours and 50 minutes ; the second, in 2 hours and ;J2 minutes. 

IT 2 



292 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Above the piscina in the south aisle, is a marble tablet in memory 
of Richard Morton, esq., of Ewood in this parish, who died in 
October, 1768, aged sixty-seven years; and Mary his wife, of the 
family of Ede of Cudworth, who died in May, 1778, in her seventy- 
third year. 

In the Church-yard was formerly a chapel, dedicated to St. Margaret, 
which appears to have belonged to the Newdegates, of Newdegate ; 
many of whom were buried in it. Aubrey says, that it was pulled 
down by one of the Newdegates, who were " of great antiquity and 
repute" here, to "give place to the building of a farm house"; — and 
he adds, with his accustomed credulity — " the Tradition was that this 
family soon after began to decay." 10 William de Neudegate was 
sheriff of Surrey in 1370. 

The number of houses within this parish scarcely exceed one 
hundred ; of which, a few comprise the hamlet of Parkgate. 

Among the several Charities connected with Newdigate, is a portion of the rental of 
an estate at Worth, &c, in Sussex, given hy Henry Smith, esq., in 1626 ; and expended 
in bread, meat, and clothes, for the indigent poor : the sum received for this purpose in 
1843 was 30/. 7s. 6d. Here, likewise, is a small School, which was originally established 
by the Rev. George Steere, A.M., who was appointed to this rectory in March, 1609-10, 
and held it nearly fifty years. The School-house having fallen into irreparable decay, 
was rebuilt and enlarged in 1838, at the expense of J. S. Broadwood, esq. ; who has 
recently added 200/. in the 3| per cents, to the sum of 114/. 3s. 3d., standing in the 
names of trustees, for the support of the school ; the total income of which, including 
20/. for the rent of a small farm at Worth, is now 31/. Is. per annum. Children of both 
sexes are taught to read, write, and cypher ; and are allowed to continue at school three 
years : the appointments are vested in the trustees. There is connected with it, also, an 
Exhibition to Trinity College, Cambridge. 

BURSTOW. 

This parish, situated in the weald of Surrey, consists of much 
woodland, the soil being a deep clay. It is bounded on the north by 
Blechingley and Nutfield ; on the east, by Home ; on the south, by 
the parish of Worth, in Sussex; and on the west by Horley. 1 

No notice of Burstow occurs in the Domesday book ; but at the 
time of the survey, that part of the parish which forms the manor of 
Burstow-Park was, most probably, included in the manor of Wimble- 
don and Mortlake. There are now four manors, or reputed manors, 

10 Antiquities of Surrey, vol. iv. p. 262. The same writer notices a " medicinal 
Spring," in the eastern part of this parish, " of the same nature with Ebbisham, or 
Epsom."— Id. p. 268. 

1 Near Smallfield-Place, on Smallfield common, is a Pond, "the water of which, if let 
out at the west end, will run into the river Mole, and so into the Thames, at Molesey 
[in this county] ; if let out at the east end, it will run into the Medway [in Kent]." — 
Manning, Suiirey, vol. ii. p. 279. 



MANORS OF BURSTOW-COUUT LODGE, AND PARK. 293 

namely; Burstow-Court Lodge, Burstow Park, and the reputed 
manors of Burstow Lodge, and Red-hall. 

The Manor of Burstow-Court Lodge. — According to the author 
of the account of Surrey in the " Magna Britannia," this lordship 
was held by Stephen Fitz-Hamon in the reign of Richard the First; 
and hence, he and his descendants obtained the designation of de 
Burstow. In 1247, John de Burstow obtained a grant, by charter, of 
the right to hold a market in his manor of Burstow, and a fair on the 
eve, feast, and morrow of St. Michael. The estate descended to 
Richard de Burstow; who, in 1367, granted the manor, with all his 
lands in the vill of Burstow, and in the parishes of " Home, Horle, 
and Wivelsfield," to Sir Nicholas de Louvaine and Henry Attefeld. 
The former, who was a descendant of the dukes of Louvaine, had a 
son and daughter; and the son dying without issue, the inheritance 
devolved on his sister, Margaret de Louvaine ; who transferred it to 
the family of her second husband, Sir Philip St. Clere, of Ightham, 
in Kent. Thomas St. Clere, the son and heir of Sir Philip, died in 
1434, leaving three daughters his coheirs ; one of whom married John 
Gage, and brought him this with other estates, which descended to 
Sir John Gage, K.G., distinguished as a military officer in the reigns 
of Henry the Eighth, and Edward the Sixth. His son and heir, Sir 
Edward Gage, K.B., was sheriff of Surrey and Sussex in the 4th of 
Queen Mary ; and John, the grandson of Sir Edward, was created a 
baronet in 1622. The Burstow-Court Lodge estate was transferred 
by Sir John Gage, bart., in 1613, to Sir Edw. Culpeper, knt., of Wake- 
hurst, in Sussex ; and it was purchased of one of his descendants, in 
1695, by Sir Richard Raines, knt., LL.D., Judge of the Prerogative 
court of Canterbury. His son devised this manor to Joseph Kirke, 
esq. ; who died in 1765, having bequeathed it to his relative, the Rev. 
James Harris, of Cheveley in Cambridgeshire ; with remainder to 
Mrs. Bridget Hand, whose son, the Rev. James Thomas Hand, held 
the property in 1808. 2 It now belongs to — Bainbridge, esq. 

The Manor of Burstow-Pauk. — This manor was formerly included 
in that of Wimbledon, belonging to the archbishops of Canterbury ; 
and in 1531, it was leased by the primate Warham, for the term of 
eighty years, to Sir John Gage, K.G. It was afterwards held, as an 
appendage to the manor of Wimbledon, by Cromwell, earl of Essex, 
who had a grant of that manor from the king, to whom it had been 
previously alienated by Archbishop Cranmer. On the attainder of 

2 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. :27'.> — si. Blanj freehold estate* are held 
of this manor by quit-rents, heriots, reliefs, and suit of court ; and the ancient ISIanor- 
house (taken down and a new one built about 1786), stood near the church, in which arc 
three pews belonging to it. — Id. p. 271). 



294 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Cromwell, Burstow-park escheated to the crown; and it remained 
among the royal demesnes until Queen Elizabeth, in the 32nd of her 
reign, gave to SirT. Cecil, afterwards earl of Exeter, the manor of Wim- 
bledon, to which this estate then pertained. He conveyed Burstow- 
park to Sir Thomas Shirley ; and, after several subsequent transfers, 
it belonged in 1701 to John Paine, esq., of Burstow ; who left this 
manor, with other estates, to his second wife, Ann Gage. Mr. Paine 
had an only daughter by a former wife, and a claim being made in 
her behalf, a compromise took place ; in consequence of which, the 
estate was conveyed to trustees for sale. In 1743, it was purchased 
by Walter Harris, esq. ; after whose decease, and that of his widow, 
the property devolved on his nephew, Daniel Hailes, esq., who, in 
June 1772, suffered a recovery; and, in 1779, sold Burstow-park to 
Thomas Dickson, esq. 3 By that gentleman it was sold to Henry 
Kelsey, esq. ; who, dying in 1827, was succeeded by his son, Henry 
Kelsey, esq., the present owner and occupier. The house is a large 
and substantial brick building. — There are freehold tenants holding 
of this manor by quit-rents, heriots, and other services. 

The Manor of Burstow-Lodge. — In 1330 this manor, or estate, 
was settled on Roger Saleman and Alice his wife ; the former of 
whom died seised of it in 1343. Thomas Saleman was lord of the 
manor in 1374 ; but it is uncertain how long it remained vested in 
this family. In the 9th of Henry the Sixth, it was transferred to 
Thomas Codynton, esq., of Codynton ; and in the time of Henry 
the Eighth, it belonged to the family of Fromonds ; from whom it 
passed, by an heiress, to that of Walmesley. At length, it came into 
the possession of Catharine, the daughter and sole heiress of Bartho- 
lomew Walmesley, who was twice married, and, after having survived 
both her husbands, and held this estate seventy-four years, she died 
in January, 1785 ; and it descended to her grandson, Robert Edward, 
lord Petre, who suffered a recovery of this and other estates the same 
year, and sold Burstow-Lodge to Melancthon Sauders, esq. ; who held 
it in 1808. 4 — The manor-house was formerly moated round, the moat 
being crossed by a draw-bridge. 5 

3 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 281 — 3. 4 Id. pp. 283-4. 

5 The following note from Manning and Bray, (vol. ii. p. 283), derived from the 
Escheats of the 17th of Edward the Third, n. 45, and from Court-rolls, communicated 
by Mr. Glover, is curious, as shewing the extent of the manor in the time of Edward 
the Third ; the nominal. value of land, &c. : — 

" Michaelmas, 3 Edward III., 1330, Indenture of Fine between Roger, son of Ralph 
Saleman [one of whose family has a tomb in Horley chnrch] and Alice his wife, plain- 
tiffs ; and Richard, the parson of the parish of Burstow, defendant ; of 1 messuage, 260 
acres of land, 10 acres of meadow, 10 acres of woodland, and 20s. rent in Burstow and 
Ilorlee ; which was to enure to Roger and Alice for lives ; remainder to Roger son of 



SMALLFIELD-PLACE. NOTICE OF SIR EDW. BYSSHE. 295 

Red-hall, or Rede-hall. — This manor, or reputed manor, con- 
sists of a messuage and a farm. It belonged in 1329 to John de 
Wvsham ; and it appears to have been transferred by his son to John 
Pecche, an alderman of London, who died seised of it in 1381. — 
Thomas Holies Paine, esq., who held this estate, died about 1802, 
having left it by will to a Mrs. Beard, who was owner in 1808." The 
present owner is — . Bainbridge, esq. 

Smallfield-Place. — This is the name of a mansion on Smallfield 
common, which was anciently a seat of the family of the de Burstows. 
Sir Edw. Bysshe, in his notes on Upton's 'Treatise on Military Affairs,' 
says that this estate was given to John de Burstow, by Bartholomew, 
lord Burghersh, as an acknowledgment for assistance received from 
him when thrown from his horse, in a battle, during the wars in 
France.' This must have been in the reign of Edward the Third, 
when there were two barons named Bartholomew de Burghersh ; one 
of whom died in 1355 ; and the other, in 1369. Smallfield afterwards 
belonged to the family of Bysshe ; and an embattled house, part of 
which is yet standing, is supposed to have been built by Edward 
Bysshe, esq. (the father of Sir Edward Bysshe), who was a bencher at 
Lincoln's Inn, and a great practitioner in the Court of Wards, in the 
reign of James the First. In allusion to his practice and its success- 
fid results, as well as to the folly of his clients, he used jokingly to 
remark, that he had built his house " with woodcocks' heads." s 

Roger, and Emma his wife, and the heirs of their bodies ; remainder to Walter brother 
of Roger the son ; remainder to the heirs of Roger son of Ralph. 17 Edward III., 1344, 
Roger Saleman was found to have died in the preceding year, seised, with Alice his wife 
(who survived him) of lands in Burstow called La Logge, described as a capital messuage, 
ft score acres of arable land, of which two parts may be sown when well tilled, then worth 
3r/. an acre, otherwise 2d. for pasture ; the residue of the land Id. an acre, being barren 
and wet ; 10 acres of meadow, 18rf. an acre, held of John de Burstow ; 6 acres were held 
of the Archbishop of Canterbury, and some lands in Horlee of the Prior of Merton's 
Court of Ewell. He had also lands in Nutfield, Gatton, and Colesdon ; Roger his son 
and heir being of the age of eighteen. Thos. Saleman, esq., son and heir of Thos. Sale- 
man, knt., held his court in 47 Edward III., 1374, and enfeoffed Reginald Cobham, John 
Burgh, and others; yet in 35 Edward III., 13G2, a Court was held in the name of 
Thomas son and heir of John de Burstow ; and in the 50th of that reign, in the name of 
Thomas Burstow." 

It appears that the name of Burstow, corrupted into Bristow, continues to this day in 
the neighbourhood; and the family have to recent times possessed landed property lure, 
though perhaps no part of the original estates, and not to any considerable amount. 

6 Manning, SURREY, vol. ii. p. 284. 

7 Aubrey, Suurkv, vol. iv. p. '_'4H : the extract is curious. 

8 Manning, SURREY, vol.ii. p. 2x:>. — Si it Ki>\vahi> ByBSHB, Claroneieux, King-at-arms, 
was bom at Smallfield-Place about the year n;i<',; and hiring been admitted a 
commoner of Trinity College, Oxford, in Hi.'!.'!, ami Studied the law at Lincoln's Inn, he 
was called to the bar. In 1640, he was chosen a member of parliament for Blechingley ; 
and in 1643, having taken the covenant, he was made Garter, King-at-arms, in the place 



296 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

The remains of Smallfield -Place are still in substantial repair as a 
farm-house : the front is of stone, with two bow windows. In 
Aubrey's time, there were various armorial bearings in the windows ; 
and the date of 1661 was on the knocker of the door. On one of 
the leaden pipes the arms of Bysshe still remain, viz. — a Chevron 
between three Roses, with the initials, 

M. 
E. B. 

The staircase is of oak, curiously carved, and in excellent preserva- 
tion. There is much oak panelling in different parts of the house ; 
and in the kitchen, which was formerly much larger than it is at 
present, are still some portions of carving: the whole is perfectly 
sound, and likely to endure for many years. 

Edw. Bysshe, Clarencieux, King-at-arms, of whom some particulars 
are given in a preceding note, left a son of the same name, who was 
knighted, and died in 1665. It does not appear at what time, or to 
whom, the estate passed from the Bysshe family; but, in the early- 
part of the present century, it belonged to Isaac Martin Rebow, esq., 
of Colchester ; and it is now the property of Gen. Francis Slater 

of Sir John Borough, who had followed the king to Oxford. In Octoher, 1646, he was 
made both Garter and Clarencieux, by a vote of the House of Commons. Tn 1654, he 
was chosen a burgess for Reigate, in the brief parliament which met on the 3rd of 
September ; and in that of 1658-9, he sat as a member for Gatton. On the restoration, 
he was deprived of both his heraldic offices; but afterwards, in March, 1661, he was 
re-appointed Clarencieux, (which was then void by the lunacy of William le Neve), in 
reward for his having preserved the library of the College of Arms during the Inter- 
regnum. In the same year, he was knighted, and again returned for Blechingley, " to 
serve in that Parliament that began on the 8th of May ; and which continuing 1 7 years, or 
more, he became a Pensioner (as 'tis said), and received 100/. every Session, and yet was 
very poor. In the rebellious times, he was a great gainer by being a Parliament man, and 
thereupon became an encourager of learned men, particularly that noted critic John 
Gregory, of Christ Church ; — but after the King's restoration, running much in debt, he 
became necessitous, and not only took dishonest courses, by issuing out divers grants of 
Arms, under hand, as Clarencieux, to the undoing of the Heralds' Office, but sold many 
of his choice library of books, which cost him much, for inconsiderable prices. He 
understood arms and armory very well, (but could never endure to take pains in 
genealogies), and in his younger years was esteemed a worthy and virtuous person ; but 
in his latter not, being then much degenerated as to manners." [Wood's Athene 
Oxonienses, vol. ii. pp. 648, 9.] He died on the 15th of December, 1679, and was 
obscurely buried in the church of St. Olave's, Jewry. Wood states, that he gave out 
that he would write the "Survey, or Antiquities of Surrey"; and he appears to have 
collected some little information on the subject, which is interspersed with his notes on 
Upton, "De Studio Militari", published in 1654. Dallaway remarks, that "notwith- 
standing he is so acrimoniously mentioned by Wood, the praise of a profound critic in 
the science of Heraldry cannot be justly denied to him. He is more learned and 
perspicuous than his predecessors, and was the first who treated the subject as an 
antiquary and historian, endeavouring to divest it of extraneous matter." — Origin of 
the Science of Heraldry in England, p. 342 : 4to. : 1793. 



RECTORS AND CHURCH OF BURSTOW. 297 

llebow, (who served both in the West Indies and in the Peninsula), 
of the same place. The house and farm are in the occupation of 
Mr. Hooker. 

Advowson, &c. — The benefice of Burstow is a rectory in the ancient 
deanery of Croydon, now included in that of Ewell. It was valued 
at twelve marks in the 20th of Edward the First ; and it stands in the 
King's books at 15/. 13s. Ad. It is a peculiar of the archbishop of 
Canterbury, in the presentation of the crown. The earliest Registers 
of this parish commence in the year 1547. 

Hector of Burstow in and since 1800: — 

Arthur Edward Howman. Instituted on the 6th of January, 
1799. 9 

The Church, dedicated to St. Bartholomew, consists of a nave, 
chancel, and a short south aisle ; with a small wooden tower, (con- 
taining four bells), from which rises a neat shingled spire, at the west 
end. The building is chiefly of stone, and is roofed with Horsham 
slate. An American creeper, covering a considerable portion of the 
roof, imparts to the edifice an agreeable rural, if not highly pic- 

9 Amongst the rectors of Burstow was John Flamsteed, M.A., the celebrated 
astronomer; instituted February 7th, 1684. That gentleman was born at Denby, in 
Derbyshire, on the 19th of August, 1646 ; and he received his education at the Free- 
school of Derby. So far, however, as astronomy was concerned, he appears to have 
been self-taught. He is said to have been led to the study of that science by the perusal 
of De Sacrobosco's work, "De Spha:ra." His abilities were first brought into notice by his 
calculating an eclipse of the sun, which was to occur on the 22nd of June, 1666. This 
was followed by his making a calculation of some remarkable eclipses of the fixed stars 
by the moon. The latter was sent to Viscount Brouncker, president of the Royal Society, 
and was highly approved of by that body. Mr. Flamsteed prosecuted his astronomical 
studies with so much assiduity, as, ultimately, to be inferior only to his great con- 
temporary, Sir Isaac Newton, with whom he was intimate, and who availed himself of 
some of his calculations in his " Principia." It was not, however, until the year 1670 that 
he entered himself a student of Jesus College, Cambridge. He there took the degree of 
M.A., intending to go into the church. In the interim, in March, 1674-5, his friend, Sir 
Jonas Moore, procured him the appointment of King's Astronomer, with a salary of 
100/. per annum. But this did not prevent his taking holy orders ; and he was ordained 
the Easter following. In 1684, he was presented to the living of Burstow, which he held 
until his death. 

On the 10th of August, 1675, the foundation of the Royal Observatory at Greenwich 
was laid ; and, during the building, Mr. Flamsteed resided there. His indefatigable 
application to his studies, and his numerous publications are well known. He was 
intimate with the most learned men of his time ; and, notwithstanding his intense and 
incessant study, with an originally delicate constitution, he lived to the age of seventy- 
three, dying on the 31st of December, 1719. Prince George, of Denmark, intended to 
print his great work, " Ilistoria Ccelestis Britannica," at his own expense ; and ninety- 
seven sheets were so printed before the Prince's death. The remainder was printed at 
Mr. Flamsteed's and his executor's expense ; it not being completed at the time of the 
author's own decease. 

VOL. IV. QQ 



298 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

turesque, effect. The lower portion of the church, beneath the tower, 
is of wood, and comparatively modern : the entrance is by a south 
porch, of brick. 

In the interior, three pointed arches, supported by clustered pillars, 
divide the nave from the aisle. The chancel is separated from the 
nave by a pointed arch ; on each side of which, in the nave, is a 
niche for a small statue. There is a neat east window ; with a smaller 
window on each side of the chancel, a small one on the north side of 
the nave, and another in the aisle. In the middle compartment of 
the east window is a handsome shield of arms, of three quarters, one 
being lost. The 1st, Or, a chevron between three roses, Gu. Bysshe: 
2nd, Gu. a lion rampant, Arg. gorged with a ducal coronet, Or, 
Wokindon : [3rd lost] : 4th, Per saltier, Or and Az. Redinghurst. On 
a label is the motto — Prudens simplicitas. In a lozenge below, are 
other remains of painted glass. 10 

On the south side of the chancel is a piscina ; adjoining which, is 
a stone seat, under an obtuse arch : there is another piscina at the 
south-east angle of the nave. On the north side of the chancel is a 
small, square, deep, two-arched recess. The pulpit, irregularly 
hexagonal in form, is fixed against the north wall, near the chancel, 
and painted in imitation of mahogany. Adjoining the pulpit, east- 
ward, is a pointed arch, with a stone seat, in the wall. 

The font is of stone, octagonal, and ancient: it has on each side, a 
rose deeply cut in a quatrefoil ; and rests on a plain octagonal pillar. 

At the west end of the church, is a small gallery for the singers. 
The pews are of deal, unpainted, but very good and substantial. In 
the chancel are some ancient oak seats ; and, also, a long oak chest, 
apparently of great age ; with another old chest, covered with strong 
iron -bands. The altar-piece, with the Lord's Prayer, Creed, and 
Decalogue, in compartments, is very old. The number of sittings is 
about two hundred. 

On a black grave-stone, under the altar, is a long Latin inscription 
to the memory of Ralph Cooke, S.T.P., who was instituted rector 
of this parish October the 19th, 1637. He was, also, a prebendary of 
Rochester; and died on the 6th of January, 1684, aged seventy-eight. 

The only other monumental record in the church, is a tablet on 
the south wall of the aisle, to the memory of Henry Kelsey, of 
Burstow-park, who died February 8th, 1827, aged eighty-five. 

10 " In the south window of the chancel were formerly the arms of Archbishop 
Chicheley, who in right of his see had Burstow Park, as before mentioned. These are 
said to have been taken down by Sir Edward Bysshe, who is also accused of having 
altered the cinquefoils in the Archbishop's coat to roses, and put them up again for his 
own." — Manning, from Aubrey, Surrey, vol. iv. p. 245. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF CHIPSTEAD. 299 

In the south-eastern part of the church-yard are two ancient yew 
trees. The parsonage-house, in which the curate has long resided, is 
immediately opposite the south side of the church. 

Donations : — 

January 21st, 1627. Henry Smith, esq., by deed, in land, producing (in 1786) from 
3/. to 4/. annually, *' for the relief particularly of the aged and infirm." 

January 12th, 1684. Dr. Ralph Cooke, rector of Burstow, by will, the interest of 
25/. per annum, " to buy two large upper garments for a widow and a widower." 

The last day of February, 1717. John Flamsteed, by will, the interest of 25?. per 
annum, " to purchase two new coats for two poor Christian people." 

December 23rd, 1728. Margaret Flamsteed, by will, the interest of 25/. per annum, 
" to buy two new gowns and petticoats for two poor widows." 

CHIPSTEAD, or CHIPSTED. 

This parish, containing about two thousand acres, borders on 
Bansted and Woodmansterne, on the north ; on the east, on Coulsdon 
and Merstham ; on Gatton, on the south ; and on the west, on the 
Liberty of Kingswood, in Ewell. The land consists of arable and 
woodland, with some upland pastures : chalk, in general, forms the 
subsoil. 

No courts-leet being held, a constable for Chipstead was formerly 
appointed at the Sheriff's Tourn for the hundred of Tandridge, 
which was held at Undersnowe until 1705 ; and since that time, the 
Tourn having been discontinued, the appointment of the constable 
takes place at the Quarter sessions. 

Two manors called Tepestede, probably by mistake, for Cepestede, 

are mentioned in the Domesday book, and are thus described : — 

" William de Watevile held Tepestede, in Cercefelle Hundred, of the Abbot of Certsey. 
Turgisius and Ulf held it in the time of King Edward : the land of the former pertained 
to the Abbey ; but the latter was independent. The manor was then assessed at 5 hides ; 
now at 1 hide. There are two villains, and one bordar. It was, when William quitted 
it, at a fenn-rent of 40s. The whole manor, in the time of King Edward, was valued at 
16 pounds: now, the portion of the Monks is valued at 12/. 10s.; and that of the men 
at 60s." 

In the same Hundred, — 

" William, the nephew of Bishop Walchelin, holds of Richard [de Tonbridge] 
Tepestede, which Ulnoth' held of King Edward. It was then assessed at 15 hides : now 
at 2 hides. The arable land amounts to 7 carucates. Two carucates are in demesne, and 
eight villains, and three bordars, with 5 carucates. There are five bondmen ; and one 
mill, at 20s. A wood yields five swine. There is another grove, which Richard himself 
retained. In the time of King Edward, this manor was valued at 7 pounds; afterwards, 
at 100 shillings ; and now at 6 pounds." 

The manor of Chipstead, held by Richard de Tonbridge, descended 
with other estates, through the carls of Gloucester, to the family of 
Stafford; Ralph de Stafford, created carl of Stafford in 1351, having 

1 Probably a son of Earl Codwin, slain in the battle of Hastings. 

QQ. 2 



300 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

married Margaret, daughter and heiress of Hugh de Audley, by 
Margaret de Clare, a sister and coheiress of Gilbert, earl of Glou- 
cester. Humphrey, earl of Stafford, who was created duke of Buck- 
ingham by Henry the Sixth, lost his life in the service of that prince, 
in the battle of Northampton, in 1460. This nobleman, in 1427, 
conveyed the manor of Chipstead to Humphrey, duke of Gloucester, 
and others, probably in trust for his second son, John, who was 
created earl of Wiltshire shortly after the accession of Edward the 
Fourth; and in the 13th of that king's reign, he died seised of this 
manor, which was held as part of her jointure by his widow, 
Constance, countess of Wiltshire, who survived him about two years. 
Edward, earl of Wiltshire, who succeeded to the estate on the death 
of his mother, died without issue in 1499, when the inheritance 
devolved on his cousin, Edward Stafford, duke of Buckingham, who 
forfeited it, having been convicted of treason, executed, and attainted, 
in 1523. The manor of Chipstead having thus fallen into the king's 
possession, he, by letters patent, dated February 15th, 1527-8, granted 
to Sir John Bourchier, lord Berners, 2 this, with other manors, lands, 
and messuages, in Surrey and elsewhere. The estates thus bestowed 
on Lord Berners appear to have reverted to the crown, on his 
decease, which happened in in 1533. 3 The manor of Chipstead sub- 
sequently came into the possession of John Ledes, esq., and Anne 
his wife, manorial courts having been held in their names in the 31st 
and again in the 34th of Henry the Eighth. They are said to have 
sold the estate to Thomas Matson ; who, by deed dated November 
29th, 1557, in consideration of two chains of angel-gold weighing 38 
ounces, conveyed the manor and advowson of Chipstead, with the 
advowsons of Coulsdon and Walton, to Thomas Copley, by way of 
mortgage, for securing the sum of 115Z. 4 In 1563, this manor was 
sold by William Frank to John Turner; by whom it was, not long 
after, transferred to Sir Richard Sackville, and Winifred his wife, and 
the heirs of the former. That gentleman, who had been chancellor 
of the court of Augmentations in the reign of Edward the Sixth, died 
April 21st, 1566, seised of the " manor of Chipsted, and of the fairs of 
Chipsted and Tanrige, waifs, strays," &c, held of the king, by fealty 
only, of the annual value of 71. 18s. 2d. Lady Sackville, who re- 
married Sir John Powlett, lord St. John of Basing, held the estate 

- See vol. ii. of the present work, p. 74. 

3 See Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 242. 

1 From the statement in the text, it may be concluded that Copley pledged (or mort- 
gaged) to Matson the two gold chains, (worth, at 4/. an ounce, 142/.) as security for 115/., 
part of the purchase-money, left unpaid. 



DESCENT OF TI1E MANOR OF CHIPSTEAD. 301 

for life ; and her son, Thomas Sackville, lord Buckhurst, afterwards 
earl of Dorset, 5 sold the reversion, in 1571, to John Skynner, esq., of 
Reygate, for 340/., granting him, besides, an annuity of 10/. out of 
his manor of Sheffield, in Sussex, during the life of his mother, Lady 
St. John. 

Mr. Skynner, on the 1st of May, 1584, in consideration of a ring 
of gold, conveyed the reversion of this estate, together with a mes- 
suage and land called Ihurst, in Chipstead, to William Poyntz and 
George Holmden, and their heirs. All the parties in this transaction 
were related by marriage ; and the conveyance appears to have been 
executed for the purpose of making a settlement: for Skynner having 
died on the 19th of the same month, Poyntz and Holmden gave the 
estate for life to Alice, the widow of the grantee, and probably 
daughter of Poyntz; with remainder, in succession, to the sons of 
Skynner. John Pointz, or Poyntz, perhaps the son of William, held 
his first court as lord of the manor, September the 18th, 1606. Sir 
Henry Burton, K.B., was lord of the manor in 1616; and in 1636, it 
belonged to Samuel Owfield, esq., afterwards knighted, who died in 
1644: his widow then held it until her death, in 1664. William 
Owfield, or Oldfield, the eldest son of Sir Samuel, survived his mother 
but a short time ; and though he left two sons, they probably died 
young, as this estate, with others, came into the possession of his wife's 
brother, Sir John Thompson, afterwards Lord Haversham, 6 who held 
his first court here May 19th, 1681. He sold Chipstead with other 
property, in 1704, to Paul Docminique, a merchant; whose son and 
successor died unmarried in 1745; and Paul Humphrey, esq., his 
nephew, on whom the estate devolved, dying not long after, it came 
into the possession of his sister Rachel, the widow of Simon Tuncks. 
She re-married the Rev. John Tattersall, on whom, a fine being levied, 
she settled her estates. He having no issue, they passed to his brother, 
the Rev. James Tattersall ; whose trustees sold the Chipstead estate 
to Wm. Jolliffe, esq., M.P. for Petersfield, Hants. Dying in 1802, in 
consequence of an accidental fall, that gentleman was succeeded by 
his son and heir, Hylton Jolliffe, esq., who died in January, 1843. 
In 1826, he had given this property, as well as the manors of Pir- 
bright, Merstham, &c, to their present owner, Sir Wm. Geo. Hylton 
Jolliffe, bait. 

Beauchamp's Estate. — John, lord Beauchamp of I Iaeehe, who died 
in 1283, settled on his wife Cecilia, a daughter of William de Kvine, 

5 Sackville was a dramatic writer of eminence in the rei^n of Elizabeth. See Payne 
Collier's History of Dramatic Literature to the time of Shakspeare : Index. Manning, 
vol. i. p. 279. 

8 See account of Gatton. 



302 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

certain tenements in Chipstead. But this and other estates were 
claimed by William Inge, who had purchased them of Fulk de 
Archiaco, the son of Mabil de Kyme, the sister of Cecilia; and he 
appears to have established his claim, as in 1315 he obtained a grant 
of free-warren in this manor. It must, however, have reverted to the 
family of Beauchamp ; for John, lord Beauchamp, (great-grandson of 
John mentioned above, )who died in 1360, left this and other estates 
to his wife Cecilia,' a daughter of Thomas Beauchamp, earl of War- 
wick; and in 1364, she died seised of the "manors of Woodmersthorn, 
Gayton, Chepestede, a mill at Kersalton, and 5 acres of meadow at 
Nutfield." 8 Her husband having died without issue, the family estates 
descended to his sisters, Eleanor, the wife of Sir John Maryet, or 
Merriet; and Cecilia, who married Sir Roger Seymour, and after- 
wards Richard Turberville. The latter, having survived both her 
husbands, in 1382, under the style and title of Cecilia Turberville, 
lady of Hacche Beauchamp, in conjunction with William Lye, (who 
may have been a trustee for the Maryet family,) conveyed to Hugo 
Quetche, all their right in certain lands and tenements in Chipstead, 
Merstham, Nutfield, Kersalton, and Ewell. Quetche was knight of 
the shire for Surrey in the 11th of Richard the Second ; and in that 
year, he conveyed to John Gardiner and others, all his right in this 
estate. The parliament of which he was a member, acting under the 
influence of the duke of Gloucester, the earls of Derby and Warwick, 
and other persons of distinctions, prosecuted with the utmost severity 
the favourites and ministers of the king ; who afterwards took ample 
vengeance on his uncle, the duke of Gloucester, and his associates. 
It is probable that the conveyance of Chipstead to trustees, by 
Quetche, was therefore intended to preserve the estate from confisca- 
tion, which he might apprehend, as the result of the king's displeasure 
on account of his conduct in parliament. But whatever may have 
been his motive for executing the deed, he did not relinquish the 
estate, for in the 4th of Henry the Fourth, he is stated to have died 
seised of the " manor of Chipstede, in Chipstede, Merstham, and Nut- 
field ; of a tenement in Chipstede called Ihurste ; and of the manor 
of Wodemersthorne." 9 

Joan, the daughter and heiress of Hugo Quetche, married John 
Norton, by whom she had a daughter of her own name, who became 
the wife of Richard Colkoke. Two daughters were the issue of this 

7 Dugdale names this lady, Alice. 

8 Calend. Inquisitjones post Mortem, vol. ii. p. 265. " A meadow in Nutfield, 
called Chipstead Mead, now part of Hale Farm, was held of the manor of Chipstead by 
the payment of five arrow-heads." — Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 243. 

9 Calend. Tnquis. post Mortem, vol. iii. p. 284. 



BEAUCHAMP'S ESTATE, — AND PIRBRIGHT. 303 

union, Eleanor and Joan ; and the former having offended her father, 
by marrying a bondman, he gave all his estates to her sister, the wife 
of John Skynner, of Reigate ; whose descendant, Richard Skynner, 
of Camberwell, had three daughters ; and the Chipstead property 
came into the possession of John Scot, of Camberwell, who had 
married Elizabeth, one of these co-heiresses. He died August 15th, 
1558, seised of a moiety of the manor of Chipstead, and one messuage, 
with 34 acres of land, held of the king, (belonging to the late monastery 
of Merton,) by fealty, and the rent of one pepper-corn. Richard Scot, 
his son and heir, died December 16th, 1560, leaving one son, Thomas, 
aged seven years; on whose death, on the 19th of the following 
month, his uncle, Edward Scot, became owner of the estate, and in 
1571 he presented to the living. 10 

Perifrith, or Pirbright. — This is doubtless the manor, or estate, 
mentioned in the Domesday book as having been held of the abbot of 
Chertsey, by Wm. de Watevile ; and it obtained its name, apparently, 
from a family settled at Pirbright in Woking, as tenants of the suc- 
cessors of Richard de Clare, or de Tonbridge. Among the persons 
who are stated to have held lands of the monks of Chertsey, in the 
12th of Henry the Second, by knight's service, occurs the name of 
Ate or Adam de Perfrith, holder of the fourth part of a knight's fee. 11 
In the reign of Henry the Third, Peter de Perifrith held one-fourth 
of a knight's fee in Chipstead of the abbot of Chertsey, as appears 
from the Testa de Nevill; and in 1253, he gave 10 librates of land 
("Decern librat' terrae")," in Chipstcd, to Joan, daughter of Henry 
Lovel. In 1292, Hamo de Gatton died seised of the manor of Pury- 
brith, held of the abbot of Chertsey, in capite, consisting of a capital 
messuage, value 2s.; 60 acres of arable land, 10s.; 2 acres of meadow, 
2s.; 2\ acres of wood, Is.; a several pasture, 6s. 8d. ; assised rents 
of free tenants, 5s. 6d. ; of customary tenants, 4s. 6d. ; pleas and 
profits of courts, Is. ; heriots and reliefs, 2s. ; works of customary 
tenants, 5s. ; customary tallage, 6d. In 1 360, this estate seems to 
have been held by Gilbert Malevile ; and in 1389, by Sir Thomas de 
Brewes, knt. 

On the suppression of monasteries, the fee of this estate must have 

10 Mr. Manning says — "We cannot trace this estate any further, and can only suppose 
it was afterwards purchased by the owner of the manor, and having descended therewith, 
is now one of Mr. JollihVs farms in this parish, called Courtlodge, near the church: 
unless it may be supposed to be that which is called A<j/,t, a farm adjoining to Chipstead 
Court and the Church, and which might be part of the demesne lands." — Surrey, vol. ii. 
p. 244. 

" See under Chertsey, vol. ii. p. 180. 

12 Placit. coram Regina et Concil. Regis, in crast. B. M. 37 Henry III. Rot. 15. 



304 HISTORY OF SURREY. REIGATE HUNDRED. 

become vested in the crown ;" but it does not appear how it was 
subsequently transferred until 1637, when William Best, of Coulsdon, 
Joan his wife, and Sarah Smith, conveyed it, under the title of the 
manor of Pirbright, or Purbett, to Samuel Owfield, esq., and Catha- 
rine his wife. In 1667, James Owfield, a son of "Samuel, conveyed 
the estate to Thomas Manning and Samuel Salter, who are supposed 
to have acted as trustees for Sir John Thompson, previously mentioned 
as owner of the manor of Chipstead, which he sold, with this property, 
in 1704, to Mr. Docminique. Both estates have since successively 
passed to the same proprietors, as stated under Chipstead. 14 

A headborough for Pirbright is appointed at the court of the lord 
of the manor of Coulsdon, to whom a heriot is paid. 

Shabden, a house with about five hundred acres of land, was the 
seat of John Fanshawe, esq., in 1808. That gentleman died in 1816 ; 
after which it was sold, by his three daughters, to the present owner, 
Archibald Little, esq. The house, although a plain structure, has a 
handsome appearance ; being surrounded by thriving plantations of 
beech, larch, and fir. 

Noke, or Noak, a house near the church, with a good deal of land 
around it, belonged to John Short; who, in 1692, sold it to Sir John 
Thompson, lord Haversham. He settled it, in 1699, on his daughter 
Elizabeth, on her marriage with Mr. Grainge, a brewer, who becoming 
a bankrupt, the estate was sold, in 1704, to Mr. Porter; whose widow 
left it to her nephew, Mr. Dewye Parker ; of whom it was purchased, 
in 1786, by John Fanshawe, esq. 

Ihurst, or Eyhurst, a farm in this parish, sometimes termed a manor. 
It was held, as already stated, by Hugo Quetche, in the reign of 
Henry the Fourth ; and it formed part of the estate of the late Hylton 
Jolliffe, esq. 

Advowson, &c. — The patronage is in the gift of Sir William George 
Hylton Jolliffe, bart., of Merstham, whose predecessors bought it of 
the late Mr. William Bryant, about sixty years ago. During a long 
period, it had been attached to the manor ; but after the reign of 
Queen Elizabeth, it became dissevered, and had divers owners. — The 
Registers commence in the year 1656, and are regularly continued to 
the present time. 

Rectors of Chipstead in and since 1800 : — 

John Griffies. Instituted on the 26th of May, 1753 : died 
in 1808, after enjoying the living upwards of half a century. 
Peter Auberton, B.A. Instituted April 26th, 1808. 

13 See account of the lands of the monks of Chertsey, in Dugdale's Monasticon. 

14 Manning, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 244, 245. 



J ■'■■**■-' 



Jllll§i 




■ s&nZ&d by Sb&Hevrl'. riui 







* 1 



&C>26CVi 







atc/is. 



DESCRIPTION OF CHIPSTEAD CHURCH. 305 

The Church, which is dedicated to St. Margaret, is an ancient 
structure, occupying a very commanding spot, overlooking Bansted 
and Woodmansterne, near the north-eastern extremity of this hundred. 
The oldest part is of the early Norman times, as appears both from 
the round columns in the interior, and from the semi-circular arches, 
enriched with zig-zag sculpture, at the west end and northern side ; — 
but the whole has undergone great alterations. The building is con- 
structed with flints and freestone intermixed ; of which latter material 
there are considerable quarries in the neighbourhood. Its original 
plan was that of a cross ; but the southern transept has been mostly 
destroyed, and the end, which is walled up, strengthened by a massive 
buttress. At the central intersection is a low, heavy, square tower 
(containing five bells), surmounted by a lofty vane. By an inscription 
on one of the window sills, it appears that the church was restored in 
the year 1827. 

The interior is fitted up in a plain and convenient style, without 
any pretension to ornament. The nave and chancel are separated 
by a pointed arch ; beneath which, is an oaken screen, with the royal 
arms placed on it. The nave and south aisle are divided by four 
pointed arches, resting on round columns. The pulpit is hexagonal, 
and of oak. The font, near the entrance, is a large octagonal basin, 
for immersion, with sides ornamentally sculptured, and standing on a 
short thick column. 

In the east window is a shield of painted glass, — Or, a chev. Gu. 
A helmet, with a crest surmounting it, hangs from the wall of the 
chancel ; and near, is the fragment of a banner. The arms and crest 
appear to be those of the family of Stephens, of Epsom, of whom 
there are several memorial slabs in the floor. The chancel, on the 
north side, is lighted by five lancet windows ; and on the south side, 
by four of a similar form, and one of later date. 

Among the sepulchral memorials requiring notice, is a handsome 
white-marble tablet, recording the decease of the late Sir Edwakd 
Banks, who lies buried within a vault in the church-yard. Sir 
Edward was one of the most extraordinary men of the age. Born in 
the humblest rank of life, he commenced his career as a common 
labourer ; yet by his own natural talents and abilities, which had not 
been cultivated to any extent, and by the practice of the strictest 
integrity in all his multifarious dealings, he raised himself to great 
wealth, as well as superior station of life. His name will be ever 
memorable as the builder of three of the noblest bridges in the world ; 
— those of Waterloo, Southwark, and London ; besides many other 
public works. lie first became known at Chipstead about forty-four 

VOL. IV. RR 



306 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

years ago, as a labourer on the Merstham railway, which was then 
under construction ; and taking a great fancy to its retired and pic- 
turesque church-yard, he chose it for the depository of his ashes. 

In the centre of the tablet is a large niche, containing a bust of the 
deceased resting on a representation of an arch of the new London 
bridge : on the right appears an arch of South wark bridge ; and on 
the left, one of Waterloo bridge. The inscription is as follows : — 

Sir Edward Banks, Knight, of Sheerness, Isle of Sheppey ; and Adelphi 
Terrace, Strand, Middlesex ; whose remains are deposited in the family vault 
in this church-yard. Blessed by Divine Providence with an honest heart, a 
clear head, and an extraordinary degree of perseverance, he rose superior to all 
difficulties, and was the founder of his own fortune: and although of self- 
cultivated talent, he in early life became contractor for public works ; and was 
actively and successfully engaged during forty years in the execution of some 
of the most useful, extensive, and splendid works of his time ; amongst which 
may be mentioned, the Waterloo, Southwark, London, and Staines Bridges, over 
the Thames ; the Naval Works at Sheerness Dock-yard ; and the new Channels 
for the rivers Ouse, Nene, and Witham, in Norfolk and Lincolnshire. He was 
eminently distinguished for the simplicity of his manners, and the benevolence 
of his heart : respected for his inflexible integrity, and his pure and unaffected 
piety : in all relations of his life, he was candid, diligent, and humane ; just in 
purpose, firm in execution ; his liberality, and indulgence to his numerous 
coadjutors, were alone equalled by his generosity and charity, displayed in the 
disposal of his honorably-acquired wealth. He departed this life at Tilgate, 
Sussex, the residence of his daughter, Mrs. Gilbert East Jolliffe, on the fifth 
day of July, 1835, in the 66th year of his age. 

Nearly opposite, on the south wall, is a large mural monument, — 

To the memory of the Rev. James Tattersall, A.M., late rector of 
St. Paul's, Covent Garden, in the county of Middlesex ; and of Streatham, in 
this county : who died September the 12th, 1784, aged 72 years. 

Near this is another memorial to the Tattersall family ; of whom, 
the Rev. John Tattersall, (father of the above), was rector of this 
parish, and died September 3rd, 1740. 

Within the communion-rails are grave-slabs in memory of the Rev. 
Dr. John Hamden, formerly rector of this parish, who died on the 
26th of January, 1631, aged 55 years; — and of Alice Hooker, eldest 
daughter of the " Judicious Hooker," dean of Sarum, and. author of 
a much-esteemed work on Ecclesiastical Polity : she departed this life 
on December the 20th, 1649. 

In the Church-yard is a large tomb, mostly of marble, to the 
Tattersall family. — Near this is a square pedestal, surmounted by an 
urn, and thus inscribed : — 

To the revered memory of Thomas Walpole, esq., of Stagbury, in the 
adjoining parish of Woodmanstone ; who departed this life 3rd November, 1840, 
in the 86th year of his age. He was the eldest son of the Hon. Thos. Walpole. 



MONUMENTS IN CHIPSTEAD CHUKCII-YARD. 307 

Near the church, on the north side, is a tomb neatly sculptured, 

and surmounted with an urn, — 

To the memory of Sir James Little, knight, and also knight of the most 
illustrious Spanish order of Charles the Third, (sacred to Virtue and Merit). 
Possessed of a most amiable disposition, and being in the unwearied exercise of 
public and private benevolence, he was justly endeared to all who knew him. 
He obtained the distinguished honour above mentioned, from his Majesty the 
King of Spain, in testimony of that monarch's high sense of his humane 
exertions and active kindness towards the inhabitants of the Island of TenerifTe, 
in a season of unparalleled misery and distress. He died at Shabden Park in 
this parish, on the 17th day of October, 1829, in the 68th year of his age. 

On the same side, are memorials for the Docminiques, of Gatton, 
viz. — Paul Docminique, esq., M.P., ob. March 16th, 1734, aged 91 
years; Margaret, his wife, ob. March 11th, 1733, aged 70 years; and 
Charles, his son, (M.P. for Gatton), ob. June 16th, 1745, aged 56 
years. 

In the south-east corner is a tomb, — 

To John Fanshawe, esq., of Shabden in this parish, eldest son of Rear Admiral 

Charles Fanshawe, and Elizabeth his wife, daughter of Sir John Rogers, bart., 

of Blachford in the county of Devon : born July the 10th, 1738 ; and died 

March 26th, 1816. 
John, eldest son of John Fanshawe, esq., and Penelope his wife ; died in 1772 : 

and 
Robert Charles, their only other son ; died in 1789 ; both in the 9th year of 

their age. 
Penelope, daughter and sole representative of John Dredge, esq., of Reading ; 

wife of the above John Fanshawe ; who closed a life of Christian purity and 

virtue, April 17th, 1807, aged 69 years. 
Penelope, the eldest daughter of Penelope and John Fanshawe : born April 9th, 

1764 ; and died 23 April, 1833. 
Catherine Maria, their second daughter ; born 6th July, 1765 ; and died April 

17th, 1834. 

On the same side, is a tomb of a similar character, to the memory 
of the following persons : — 

Sir Edward Banks, knight; died July 5th, 1835. 

Nancy, his 1st wife ; who departed this life October 2nd, 1818, aged 42. 

Amelia, his 2nd wife; who died December 29th, 1836, aged 66. 

William Henry, aged 4 years ; — George Douglas, aged 8 days ; — and 

Edward, aged 25, a Lieut, in the Royal Navy : — sons of Sir Edward Banks 

and Nancy, his first wife. 
Julia Mary Milk \ dud May 8th, 1821, aged 21 years. 

Also in the church-yard, is a large and venerable yew-tree, still in 
a flourishing condition, and measuring (at four feet from the ground ) 
about twenty-four feet in circumference. 

Charitable Donations to this parish : — 

The annual rent-charge issuing out of lands in Chipstcad parish, given by Christopher 
Shaw, amounting to about 16.v. annually. 

Henry Smith's Charity ; amounting to about 4/. 10s. annually. 

RU 2 



308 HISTORY OF SURREY. — RE1GATE HUNDRED. 

A small Farm, given by deed dated April 4th, 1746, of Mary Stephens, for teaching 
six poor Children to read, providing them with a Bible, and putting out such apprentices 
from them as the trustees shall think most fitting ; producing 31/. annually. 

The Parsonage is an old house with gable ends, in the style of the 
16th or 17th century: it is situated in a most romantic spot; but 
nearly two miles from the church. There is much diversified scenery 
in this parish : as well of a rural, as of a picturesque character. 

GATTON. 

This parish is bounded by Chipstead on the north ; Merstham, on 
the east ; Nutfield and Reigate, on the south ; and by the latter 
parish, on the west. There are two districts, or divisions, namely, — 
Upper Gatton, and Lower Gatton: the first-mentioned is situated 
on the chalk-range ; the other, on strong clayey ground, with a sub- 
stratum of building-stone similar to that found at Merstham. 

Baxter (the antiquary) says, this place was well known to the 
Romans ; and that considerable quantities of their coins and other 
relics of antiquity have been found here. 1 The name Gatton, q.d. 
Gate-ton, or the town on the road, is supposed to have been derived 
from its situation on a Roman military way. A bridge in this parish 
called Battle-bridge is traditionally reported to have obtained that 
name from the slaughter, at or near the spot, of a body of Danish 
troops by the women of the country. Mr. Manning remarks, that those 
who were killed were probably fugitives from the field of Ockley, 
where the invading Danes were defeated by the West-Saxon king, 
Ethel wulf. 8 Aubrey says, there stood a castle on the site of the 
manor-house ; 3 but no traces of such a structure, or notices in history 
exist to corroborate his statement. 

In the time of Alfred the Great, a Saxon duke named Alfred gave 
land at Gatetune to his son iEthelwald. 4 

The manor is thus described in the Domesday book : — 

" Herfrid holds Gatone of the Bishop (of Baieux). Earl Leofwin held it, when it was 
assessed at 10 hides : now, at 2^ hides. The arable land amounts to 5 carucates. There 
are in demesne 2 carucates ; and there are six villains, and 3 bordars, with 2 carucates. 
There is a Church ; and 6 acres of meadow. The wood yields seven swine, for pannage 
and herbage. In the time of King Edward, it was valued at 6 pounds, as at present ; but 
when received, at 3 pounds. 

" Ansgot holds of the Bishop half a hide, in the hundred of Waletone ; which Epi held 
in the time of King Edward ; and he could remove whither he pleased. It is valued at 
5 shillings." 

Odo, bishop of Baieux, forfeited this with his other estates in 

1 Vide Glossarium Antiquitatum Britannicarum : 1719; 8vo. ; p. 76. 

2 See account of Ockley. 3 Surrey, vol. iv. p. 217. 
1 Maiming, Surrey, (vol. ii. p. 227), who refers to no authority. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF GATTON. 309 

England, in consequence of having joined Robert, duke of Normandy, 
in an attempt to dethrone his brother, William Rufus ; and Herfrid, 
and his successors, afterwards held Gatton of the king, as tenants in 
capite. From Hamo de Gatton, the son and heir of Herfrid, the 
manor descended to his posterity, in a right line, for several genera- 
tions, until the beginning of the fourteenth century. 

In 1301, Hamo de Gatton died seised of this manor, held of the 
king in capite, as of the Honour of Peverel, by the service of one 
knight's fee, and the payment of castle -guard to Dover castle ; also, 
20s. every twenty weeks, and providing one man with horse and arms 
in the said castle, in time of war, for forty days. He left an infant 
son, Edmund, who died in the same year ; and Elizabeth, his sister, 
became sole heiress to the estate. She appears to have married Simon 
de Northwood, (knight of the shire for Surrey in 1322, and again in 
1340), whose grandson, Thomas de Northwood, died without issue in 
1362 ; and after the death of another brother, shortly after, the Gatton 
property devolved on two sisters, Joan and Agnes, between whom it 
was divided. Agnes, to whom the estates in Surrey, namely, Gatton, 
Cattshill, and Ertington, were allotted, married Nicholas Hering ; who, 
by reason of the tenure of the manor of Cattshill, which he held in 
right of his wife, claimed to execute the office of Usher of the king's 
chamber, on the day of the coronation of Richard the Second. After 
his decease, his widow married John Legh, or Legge, who was a 
knight of the shire in 1378 ; and their daughter and heiress, Joan, 
became the wife of William de Weston, of Weston in Albury, and 
West Clandon, who held the above manors in her right, in the 16th of 
Richard the Second, 1393. 5 

About fifty years afterwards, Gatton was in the possession of John 
Tymperley, to whom Henry the Sixth, in his 27th year, 1449, "for his 
good and faithful services, and in consideration of 40s.", granted license 
" to impark his manor of Gatton, with 360 acres of land, 80 acres of 
wood, 20 acres of marsh, 80 acres of pasture, and 40 acres of meadow, 
at Gatton; and 40 acres of wood, 100 acres of land, 80 acres of 
pasture, and 30 acres of meadow, at Merstham, with pales and ditches." 
lie likewise gave him liberty of free-warren, and a full exemption, for 
life, from being impannelled on assizes, juries, &c. ; as well as from 
being sworn or compelled to appear before the king's justices, treasurers, 
and barons of the Exchequer. 8 Two years afterwards, in the 29th of 
the same king, Gatton was first authorized to return two members to 
the House of Commons; and it seems not improbable, but that even 

5 See the Pedigree of the Westons, in vol. ii. p. 84, of this work. 

* Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 230 ; from (art. 27 Henry VI. n. 41, m. 34. 



310 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

that privilege was conferred for Tymperley's services, — although their 
precise nature is now unknown. 

We next find this manor vested in the crown; and in January, 
1540-1, Henry the Eighth granted several estates, including his "Jirmce 
nostra de Gatton" to his divorced wife, Anne of Cleves, in part pro- 
vision for her maintenance during life. In the same year, however, 
but under what circumstances has not been traced, Gatton became the 
property of the knightly family of Copley ; with whom it remained 
until the decease of William Copley, in 1643, when the inheritance 
descended to his grand-daughters, Mary and Anne. Mary, the elder, 
married John Weston, esq., of Sutton, in Woking; and Gatton having 
been allotted to him and his wife, on a partition of the estates, they 
united in selling it to Thomas Turgis, esq. ; who became one of its 
representatives in 1660 and 1661. His son and successor, of the 
same name, also represented this borough in nearly all the parliaments 
from Charles the Second's reign to the last of that of William the 
Third. He died in 1704, and, being without surviving issue, be- 
queathed his property to his kinsman, William Newland, eldest son of 
George Newland, of Smithfield, scrivener; with remainder to his 
three brothers, Henry, Turgis, and George ; all of whom died sine 
prole. On the decease of George, the youngest, (who had proceeded 
LL.D., and was Fellow of Magdalen college, Oxford, and Professor of 
Geometry in Gresham college, London), in October, 1749, the entire 
inheritance devolved on the female representatives of the above 
William; and their situation was such that it became necessary to 
obtain an act of parliament for the sale of the estates. 

The act was passed in 1751, (24th of George the Second); and in 
November, the same year, the manor, mansion, and advowson of 
Gatton, with other possessions in Reigate and Gatton, were sold to 
James Colebrooke, esq., a banker, for the sum of 23,000/. In October, 
1759, that gentleman was created a baronet ; the title, in default of 
male issue, being limited to his brother, afterwards Sir George Cole- 
brooke, and his heirs-male. Sir James died in May, 1761 ; and his 
two daughters and coheiresses, (Mary, married to John Aubrey, esq., 
of Bucks ; and Emma, married to Charles, earl of Tankerville), trans- 
ferred this property to their uncle, Sir George Colebrooke; after 
whose failure, about 1774, it was sold by the assignees to Sir William 
Mayne, who was created Baron Newhaven, of Carrick Mayne, in the 
kingdom of Ireland, in July 1776. It was next purchased, on specula- 
tion, by Mr. Percy, a sugar-baker, and a Mr. Graham ; by whom 
Lower Gatton was sold to Robert Ladbroke, esq., a banker; and 
Upper Gatton, to William Currie, esq., M.P. for this borough in 1790. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF GATTON. 311 

Lower Gatton was next purchased by John Petrie, esq., M.P. in 1796 ; 
who entered into a contract for the sale of the estate to a Mr. Moffatt, 
by whom some part of the mansion was pulled down ; but as he did 
not complete the purchase, the estate was sold to Colonel, afterwards 
Sir Mark Wood, (who was made a baronet in 1808), about the com- 
mencement of the present century. 7 After his decease, the manor, 
park, and borough of Gatton, were purchased by the trustees (during 
his minority), of the late Frederick -John Monson, 5th Baron Monson ; 
but the pecuniary value of this property was afterwards greatly 
reduced, by the disfranchisement of the borough by the Reform act, 
in June, 1832. 

Upper Gatton. — In the reign of James the First, this manor be- 
longed to Samuel Owfield, or Oldfield, M.P. for Gatton in 1624, and 
in four subsequent parliaments. From his family, it passed to Sir 
John Thompson, who was M.P. for Gatton in 1685, and also in the 
three succeeding parliaments, until 1696, when he was created baron 
of Haversham, by William the Third, and made a lord of the 
Admiralty. He sold the property, in 1704, to Paul Docminique, who 
was a representative of the borough in several successive parliaments. 
He was a merchant of French extraction ; and possessing great know- 
ledge of mercantile affairs, was appointed, in 1715, a lord of trade 
and plantations. After the death of his son Charles, in 1745, this 
estate came into the possession of the Tattersall family, connected by 
marriage with a sister of the elder Docminique. The parties in whom 
the estates were vested conveyed them to trustees for sale, and they 
were purchased by Lord Newhaven. Upper Gatton was afterwards 
sold to William Currie, esq., as above-stated, but it was subsequently 
conveyed to Col. Mark Wood ; and has since passed in connexion with 
the principal manor. Here is a handsome mansion standing on the 
high ground towards Chipstead, and surrounded by a park of about 
one hundred acres. 

Gatton House, (formerly called Lower Gatton House), was the seat 
of the late Lord Monson, and is now the occasional residence of his 
mother, the lady Sarah Elizabeth Savilc, 8 the present countess of 

7 This gentleman had been chief Engineer in Bengal, in the East Indies, where he 
amassed a considerable fortune. 

8 The late Lord Monson was born on the 3rd of February, 1800, being the only child 
of John-George, 4th baron Monson, and the above lady ; and he succeeded to the peerage 
in his infancy, his father having died on the 14th of November in the year mentioned. 
After a widowhood of nearly sixteen years, Lady Monson married, 2ndly, Henry -Uichard 
Greville, earl Brooke and Warwick ; by whom, also, she has an only son, GeOTge-Giry 
Greville, the present Lord Brooke, who was born on the 28th of March, 1818. The 
late Lord Monson, who, in June 1832, was married to Theodosia, the youngest daughter 
of Lathom Blacker, esq., died without issue, at Brighton, on October the 7th, 1841. 



312 HISTORY OF SURREY, REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Warwick, occupies an exceedingly pleasant site in an extensive park, 
which is mostly appropriated to farming purposes. The grounds are 
much diversified, both in respect to surface and soil ; the hilly portions 
being of chalk, and the lower parts of a strong ground, upon freestone, 
similar to that of Merstham, and which is quarried for building pur- 
poses. — There is some good timber in the park ; and some fine elm 
and beech trees, of stately and luxuriant growth, combine in giving a 
picturesque character to the views from different points. 

Aubrey says, but without reference to any anterior authority, that 
" where the fine Manour House now stands, was formerly a Castle." 9 
Not the least trace, however, of such a building has been found, nor 
is there any mention of a castle here in our old historians : this situa- 
tion, indeed, when considered in connexion with the surrounding 
country, appears but slightly adapted for the site of a fortress. 

The present mansion is an extensive edifice, owing its chief 
attractions to the late Lord Monson ; by whom its exterior w r as greatly 
improved, and a new hall commenced on a magnificent design ; but 
of which, in its present unfinished state, no proper description can be 
given. The principal front commands an expansive range of fine 
scenery ; inclusive of a small lake, environed by rich foliage. Many 
valuable paintings and tasteful articles of vertu decorate the interior; 
which, also, contains an excellent library of rare and choice works in 
several languages, collected by Lord Monson, and affording strong 
evidence of the extent of his acquirements in elegant literature. 10 

Among the pictures of superior merit in the different apartments of 
this mansion are the following : — ' David, with the Head of Goliath ' ; 

9 Aubrey, Surrey, vol. iv. p. 217. He also states, that "the River Medway rises in 
this parish"; but this is only correct in respect to a tributary stream. 

10 His lordship was matriculated of Christ-Church, Oxford ; and he resided for some 
time at that University, having been subsequently admitted to the honorary degree of 
Doctor of Civil Law, at the Installation of its present noble Chancellor, the Duke of 
Wellington, in 1834. His lordship made the tour of the Continent, not only in pursuit 
of health, but to gratify his desire of knowledge ; and in 1839, he printed for private 
circulation among his friends, a Journal of a " Tour in Germany, through the Tyrol, 
Salzkammergul, the Danube, Hungary," &c, which furnishes ample proof of his abilities. 
His taste and proficiency as an artist were likewise displayed in the fine views of " The 
Passes of Tyrol," which were drawn on stone from his lordship's sketches, only a short 
time prior to his decease. It was that lamented event which prevented the fulfilment of 
his intention to form a select Gallery of the works of the most eminent English artists 
of his own time. He was fond both of literary and scientific pursuits ; and, with a 
generous desire of extending the principles of useful and interesting knowledge, he 
prepared and delivered lectures at Reigate, on Geology and Mineralogy, for the express 
purpose of conducing to the improvement of the youthful inhabitants of that town and 
its neighbourhood. His lordship was a magistrate for the county, and, when in sufficient 
health, a constant attendant on the Bench at Reigate ; being universally respected for his 
intelligence and impartiality in the administration of justice. 



PICTURES AND DECORATIONS AT GATTON-UOUSE. 313 

by Guido; ' Card -playing', by Metz ; ' a Battle-piece ', by Salvator 
Rosa; 'a Child and Dog', by Angelica Kaivffman ; 'a Holy Family', 
by Lionardo da Vinci, regarded as the finest painting in the 
collection; a very dark, but admirably-expressive portrait of 'Lorenzo 
de Medici', in a gown trimmed with ermine, b} 7 Sebastian del 
Piombo; a portrait of 'Raphael', by himself; the 'Infant Christ', 
by Murillo ; ' St. Jerome', by Titian ; the ' Descent from the Cross', 
by Annibal Caracci ; 'a Sportsman', by Dobson ; a 'Group of 
Angels' Heads', by Corregio ; and a half-length of the ' Countess 
of Mexborough', lady Warwick's mother, by Sir Joshua Reynolds. 
The above are in the late Lord Monson's sitting-room; and in the 
dressing-room and bed-room are, the ' Entombment of Christ', by 
Titian, a large picture; two 'Women with Fruit', by Rubens; a 
portrait of 'Lord Brooke', by Rosenberg; a three-quarter length of 
' Nell Gwynn', and a portrait of 'a Female', unknown, both by Sir 
Peter Lely; a painting of various kinds of 'Fish', by Steinwick, 
finely executed; two drawings of 'Tyrolean Scenery', by Lord 
Monson, and Miniatures of several of his lordship's family : here, 
also, is a marble Bust of Lord Monson, sculptured by Gibson, at 
Rome. In a small apartment adjoining (used as the back entrance), 
are two large Candelabra, and a rich suit of mail armour. 

In the breakfast-room is a series of ten very clever paintings in 
distemper, on panels (framed), by Claude, brought from Rome by 
Lord Monson ; and a chimney-glass in a frame, ornamented with 
finely-carved fruits and flowers, by Grinling Gibbons. The dining- 
room contains several portraits; and among them, 'Sir J. Monson', 
of the time of Charles the First ; and his lady, Ursula, (the daughter 
of Sir Robert Oxenbrey, of Husband, in Hampshire), by Cornelius 
Jansen, with the date 1628. Here, too, is a fine picture by Rem- 
brandt, of the ' Death of Lucretia', who is represented as lying 
prostrate, with the blood-stained dagger with which she had stabbed 
herself by her side. In the same apartment is an Etruscan Vase, of 
great merit and richness ; together with a beautifully-sculptured copy, 
in white marble, of the celebrated Warwick Vase ; and, also, another 
Vase of much elegance. 

The principal Library is most tastefully fitted up, and furnished 
with ebony stands, tables, &c. ; together with two large bronze Can- 
delabra, with clustered lights; and various small articles of rarity and 
value, in the same metal. The book-cases are inlaid with ivory; 
and in one part, connected with a glazed cabinet of minerals brought 
from Vesuvius. The chimney-piece, which formerly belonged to the 
emperor Napoleon, displays much enrichment ; and, in front of the 

VOL. iv. ss 



314 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

large looking-glass, which forms the mantle, is an ornamental clock ; 
the case is surmounted by a figure of Apollo ; and at the sides, are the 
figures of a Roman knight in armour, and a Phrygian warrior with a 
bow and arrows. In the inner Library, is a large chimney-glass in a 
frame, by Gibbons, with exquisitely-carved representations of birds, 
fruits, flowers, and fish, of various kinds. In the Justice-room, are 
two large views of 'Venice', by Canaletti ; and 'Bacchus and 
Ariadne', by Guido. 

In another apartment is a very fine full-length portrait of ' Lady 
Dysart', by Sir Thomas Lawrence: she is depicted as standing 
in a garden holding a rose, with a peacock behind. An old view of 
'Gatton House and Park'; a good half-length of the late 'Lady 
Essex', by Sir Thomas Lawrence ; and a picture of St. John, are in 
other rooms: and in the bath-room are half-lengths of James the 
First; Charles the First; Charles the Second and his Queen, Cathe- 
rine of Braganza ; and two Court Beauties of the latter reign. 

BOROUGH OF GATTON. — Among the many curious circumstances relating to 
this Borough, (which, as hefore mentioned, was first authorized to return two members 
to parliament, in the 29th of Henry the Sixth), is the existence of an Indenture in the 
Rolls Chapel, made between Thos. Dorrel, esq., high-sheriff of Surrey in the 33rd of 
Henry the Eighth, and Sir Roger Copley, knt. ; in which the latter, described as " Burgess 
and oonly Inhabitant of the Burrough and Town of Gatton," is specified to have " freely 
elected and chosen" its two burgesses for the Parliament to be holden on the viij of 
January 1541-2, viz. " Thos. Saunders, of Charlewood, and Thos. Bysshop, of Shenfield" ; 
and "furthermore, that y e s d Sir R. Copley, having sure and perfect knowledge of 
y e good discrec'on, laming and wysdome of y e s d Tho. Saunders and Tho. Bysshop, 
hath given unto y m full power and auctoritie to consent and do in all things for the 
s d Burrough and Town of Gatton according to y e generall consent and agreement of 
y e Common Counseill of y e Kings Majestyes Realme." " 

The proprietors of Gatton always took care to keep the power of election in their own 
hands, although the liberty of voting was twice or thrice extended to twenty persons and 
upwards ; — the electors on some occasions affecting to be freeholders ; and on others, 
inhabitants paying scot and lot. When Sir Mark Wood was owner of the borough, 12 
there were only six burgage houses in it ; five of which were let to weekly tenants, and 
he, himself, being the only freeholder, had the choice of members in his own person. In 
the last census, taken in 1841, the houses within the parish are enumerated at 41 only ; and 
the inhabitants at 219 ;— 120 males, and 99 females. Gatton was disfranchised in 1832. 

Members of Parliament for Gatton in and since the year 1800. The 
dates here given are those of the first meeting of each parliament. — 



" This Indenture bears date on the 18 th of November, 33rd Henry the Eighth. 

12 It was remarked of Sir Mark Wood, that he united in himself "the functions of 
Member of Parliament, Magistrate, Churchwarden, Overseer, Surveyor of Highways, and 
Collector of Taxes ; and appoints at his own Court-leet, the Constable, who is the 
Returning Officer." — This, however, was not strictly correct, the Constable being 
appointed at the Quarter Sessions for the county. 



MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT FOR GATTON. 



315 



November 16th, 1802 



December 15th, 1806 
June 27th, 1807 
November 24th, 1812 

January 14th, 1819 . 



September 27th, 1796 . John Petrie, esq., of Gatton. 

Sir Gilbert Heathcote, bart., who vacated for Lincoln ; and 

on the 7th of November, 1796, 
John Heathcote, esq., was elected, who accepted the Chiltern 

Hundreds in 1799 ; and in April the same year, 
Sir Walter Sterling, bart., was chosen. 
Mark Wood, esq., of Gatton. 
James Dashwood, esq., who accepted the Stewardship of East 

Hendred, in Berks ; and in January, 1803, 
Philip Dundas, esq., was elected : he, also, vacated by accept- 
ing the same Stewardship ; and in April, 1805, 
William Garrow, esq., barrister-at-law, was elected : he was 

raised to the Bench in May, 1817. 
Mark Wood, esq. 
John Athol Wood, esq. 
Mark Wood, esq., created a baronet in 1808. 
George Bellas Greenough, esq., of Parliament-street. 
Sir Mark Wood, bart. 
William Congreve, esq., who succeeded his father as a baronet 

in 1814, and having accepted the Chiltern Hundreds, 13 
Mark Wood, esq., was returned in June, 1816. 
Abel Rouse Dottin, esq. 
John Fleming, esq., M.D. 
April 21st, 1820 : — New Parliament on the decease of George the Third. — 

Jesse Watts Russell, esq., of Portland-Place. 
Thomas Divett, esq., of Wimpole-street. 
William Scott, esq., commonly called;the Hon. Wm. Scott, of 

Grafton-street, who accepted the Chilterns ; and in March, 

1830, 
Joseph Neeld, of Grittleton-house, co. Wilts, was chosen. 
John Villiers Shelley, esq., of Maresfield, co. Sussex. 
John Thomas Hope, esq., of Luffness, co. Haddington, North 

Britain. 
The Hon. John Savile, commonly called Lord Viscount 

Pallington, eldest son of the Earl of Mexborough. 
The Hon. John Ashley Cooper, fourth son of the Earl of 

Shaftesbury. 
Disfranchised by the Reform Act, in June, 1832. 

The Advowson. — Hcrefrid, who held the manor of Gatton at the 
time of the Norman survey, gave the living to the prior of St. Pancras, 
at Lewes, in Sussex ; who held the patronage until the suppression of 
the convent. In 1538, the advowson was granted to the Lord Crom- 
well ; and in the 5th of Edward the Sixth, it was held by Thomas 
Bille, esq. William, lord Howard, presented to the rectory in 1550; 
and the advowson afterwards belonged to the Copleys, lords of the 

13 This Sir William Congreve was the eldest son of Lieut. -Col. Sir William Congreve, 
and the inventor of the Congreve Rockets, to the scientific perfection of which the 
numerous experiments made by his father, whilst Comptroller of the Royal Laboratory 
at Woolwich, had most essentially contributed. He died at Thoulouse in May, 1828, and 
was buried there in the Protestant Cemetery. 

SS 2 



November 14th, 1826 



October 26th, 1830 



January 14th, 1831 



316 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

manor, but being Roman Catholics, they were repeatedly prevented 
from exercising their right of patronage. Since the sale of the estate 
to Mr. Turgis, about the middle of the 17th century, the advowson has 
been wholly vested in the lords of the manor. The living, which is a 
rectory in the deanery of Ewell, is rated in the Valor of 20th Edward 
the First at 15 marks ; in the King's books, it is stated at 91. 2s. 8^d.; 
paying synodals 2s. Id., and procurations 6s. 8d. The present com- 
muted rent-charge, (inclusive of 37. on about 12 acres of glebe), is 
2297. The entire parish comprises 1260.2.21 acres; of which, 
571.0.24 are arable land ; 452.3.4 meadow; 158 woodland; and 
65. 3. 15 water, and waste land. — The Registers commence in 1599, 
and are regularly continued. 

Rectors of Gatton in and since the year 1800 : — 

Thomas Pooler. Instituted 27th January, 1775: died about 
the 7th or 9th of October, 1809. 

William Paget. Instituted 21st of March, 1810: vacated 
in 1815. 

John Deake. Instituted about July, 1815. 

Charles Hodgson. Instituted on the 30th of March, 1827 : 
resigned in 1832. 

James Cecil Wynter, A.M. Instituted February the 19th, 
1833. 
The Church at Gatton had its origin in the Anglo-Norman age ; 
but to what saint it was dedicated is unknown. It had been greatly 
altered at different periods, and at length, in the year 1834, it was 
almost entirely renovated, under the direction and at the sole expense 
of the late Lord Monson ; of whose correct taste and liberality it 
presents an eminent example. It consists of a nave and chancel : 
with recesses on the north and south sides, forming a kind of transept ; 
there is, also, a small tower, with one bell, and a shingled spire : the 
exterior is neatly stuccoed. The general entrance is from a small 
church-yard on the northern side, by a Tudor-arched doorway : there 
is, also, a private entrance from Gatton-house, immediately contiguous 
to which the church is situated. 

The interior is elegantly fitted up with elaborate carvings, oaken 
stalls, and other ornamental work, procured in different parts of the 
continent; and the windows are enriched with stained and painted 
glass of great merit. The wainscoting of the nave, together with the 
canopies and painted glass, were brought from the cathedral at 
Aiirschot, in Louvain; that of the chancel came from Burgundy. 
The communion table and the pulpit were designed by Albert Durer, 
and brought from Nuremberg: the communion rails came from 



ACCOUNT OF THE PARISH OF MERSTHAM. 317 

Tongres, in Flanders. The stalls, (of which there are two rows, with 
turn-up seats, and larger and plainer benches in front of them), 
belonged to a Benedictine monastery at Ghent: the carved doors 
were brought from Rouen. At the west end of the nave is a Gothic 
screen, which was obtained by Lord Monson from an English church, 
after the more than asinine stupidity of a warden had consigned it to 
destruction : it is a fine specimen of open carved-work. Over the 
stalls, on each side, are small galleries ; and at the west end, is an 
organ-gallery and organ. In the west window, are the arms and 
supporters of Henry the Seventh, of modern execution, richly 
coloured ; but the supporters, the red dragon and the silver grey- 
hound, are seated on their haunches, somewhat contrary to heraldic 
order. At this end, also, raised upon a plinth and step, is an octagonal 
font, which belonged to the old church, and is supported by a central 
column, and four smaller columns at the sides. The pulpit is a half- 
hexagon, affixed near the chancel-entrance on the south side ; and is 
boldly carved with a representation of the Descent from the Cross, 
of admirable execution. On the same side, within the chancel, is a 
trefoil-headed piscina. 

The only sepulchral memorial is a sarcophagus tablet of white 
marble, commemorative of the late Sir Mark Wood, bart., who died 
on the 5th of August, 1837, aged forty-two years. 

In the Church-yard is a Mausoleum, of freestone, of an octagonal 
form, and designed with much simplicity. It was erected during the 
life-time of the late Lord Monson; and within it his remains were 
deposited when removed from Brighton, in June, 1841. 

MERSTHAM. 
This parish is bounded by Coulsdon, on the north ; by Chaldon, 
on the east ; by Blechingley and Nuffield, on the south ; and by Gatton 
and Chipstead, on the west. It is situated partly on the chalk-hills, 
(which intersect the county), and extends on each side, presenting a 
great diversity of soil in different parts. To the north of the line of 
chalk is found stiff clay with flints intermixed, ploughed with difficulty, 
but productive, under proper management, of excellent corn. On 
the calcareous soil, saintfoin has been cultivated with success ; and on 
the south side of the hill the soil, in some places, consists of a stiff 
bluish clay, and in others it resembles loam, while elsewhere there is 
a tendency to the production of peat. There arc, also, parts where 
sand predominates; and a tract, extending by Gatton towards Blech- 
ingley, affords a fine rich soil adapted to yield good hay or corn. A 
wood is mentioned in the Domesday book as existing here, which, 



318 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

from the number of swine fed in it, may be supposed to have been 
extensive, and the trees to have been chiefly oak. Manning says — 
" There are no woods of any extent, but oak trees thrive well." One 
of the branches of the river Mole takes its rise from the foot of a hill 
below the church-yard, and forms a small pond, whence it flows 
through the gardens belonging to the parsonage, and the meadows 
eastward of the village ; and in the parish of Horley, it joins other 
streams from Tilgate forest, in Sussex. There is, also, an occasional 
current, called the Bourne, which at uncertain intervals of time, in 
and after wet seasons, issues from the foot of Merstham-hill, and 
continues to flow for some weeks. 

Aldersted-Heath, the only common in the parish, lies at its eastern 
extremity, towards Chaldon. It consists of about forty acres of good 
grazing land for sheep. On a narrow tract of waste, called Worsted 
(or Wood-street) green, nearly half a mile in length, there formerly 
were houses ; but they have long since been demolished. A lane in 
this parish, retaining the name of Pilgrims'-lane, and running in the 
direction of the chalk-hills, was the course anciently taken by pilgrims 
from the west, on their way to Canterbury, to perform their devotions 
at the shrine of St. Thomas a Becket. This is part of the road 
mentioned in the account of Tatsfield. 1 

Merstham has long been celebrated for its stone-quarries, which 
are still of great value. Anciently they were considered of so much 
importance, that the crown kept them in its own hands, and placed 
them under the care of bailiffs. A patent, 33rd of King Edward 
the Third, yet extant, authorised John and Thomas Prophete to dig 
stone here for the use of Windsor castle, and ordered the sheriff and 
others to assist them ; and that should any men refuse to work, they 
were to be sent prisoners to Windsor. The stone, which is of a 
similar description to that found on Sir William Clayton's estate at 
Godstone, 2 "has been dug to great extent in various parts of the 
parish, but is of various quality." 3 The outward coat is a burr stone, 
useful for common buildings, when hardened by exposure to the air. 
Other stone more valuable is found at greater depth ; which, if 
properly managed, and protected from drips, affords a good material 
for building, and attains a good colour ; but the quality which 
occasions the extensive demand for it, is its effectual resistance of 
fire ; whence it is usually denominated fire-stone. King Henry the 
Seventh's chapel in Westminster abbey was built with stone procured 

1 See page 198, of this volume. 

2 See Dr. Mantell's " Sketch of the Geology of the County of Surrey," in the first 
volume of the present work, p. 140, et seq. 3 Ibid, p. 141. 



ACCOUNT OF THE MANOR OF MERSTHAM. 319 

from these quarries. It is very soft when first brought from the 
quarry, but hardens in the air; to which it should be exposed for 
several months before it is placed in the building ; and then care 
should be taken, (as indeed with all stone), that the same horizontal 
position of the strata be preserved in the building as was in the 
quarry. 4 

The chalk from this part of the Surrey hills burns into excellent 
lime, and is extensively used for work requiring more than ordinary 
strength of mortar. It seems to have been chiefly with the view of 
converting this material into a lucrative article of trade, that an iron 
tram-road, or railway, 5 was projected about 40 years ago ; the object of 
which was to open a direct communication between Merstham and 
the Thames, at Wandsworth. The undertaking was completed in 
1805 ; large quantities of chalk and lime were thereby conveyed to 
the vicinity of the metropolis ; and proportionate quantities of manure 
were returned to the country. As a speculation, however, the railway 
failed, and only small detached portions now remain. 

Another improvement was that of making a turnpike-road from 
Croydon, through Merstham, to Reigate. For this purpose, an act of 
parliament was obtained in 1807 ; and with such spirit was the work 
carried on, that the whole was very speedily completed. This road 
avoids the hills of both Reigate and Merstham, quitting the old road 
from Croydon before arriving at Merstham hill — going into the valley 
in which the iron railway was laid — and passing between that and the 
hill, and near the west end of the church ; then coining into and 
crossing the town, and going over some meadows, and through the 
skirts of Gatton park ; then over Ray common, into Reigate, not far 
from the church." 

The Manor of Merstham. — Ethelstan, or Athelstan, a younger son 
of King Ethelred the Second, gave Merstham, together with Cheam, 
to the monks of Christchurch, Canterbury, 1018.' The manor is thus 
described in the Domesday book, among the lands of the archbishop : 

" In Chercefelle Hundred, the Archbishop himself holds Merstham, for the clothing of 



4 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 253. 

5 To preserve the necessary level, the railway took a course through a natural break 
in the range of the chalk-hills to the east of Merstham church ; but in the highest part, 
it was sunk not less than twenty-six feet. In the whole extent of this cut no chalk was 
discovered, the soil in the very deepest part being uniformly a stiff gravelly clay, 
though lying between the chalk-hills in Coulsdon and those in Merstham, in both of 
which parishes there is only a very shallow covering of eartli above the chalk. — Manning 
and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 253. 

6 Manning and Bray, SURREY, vol. ii. p. 253. 

7 Dugdale, Monasticon Anglicanum, vol. i. : from Gervase of Canterbury. 



320 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

the Monks. In the time of King Edward, it was assessed at 20 hides ; now, at 5 hides. 
The arable land amounts to 8 carucates. There are 2 in demesne ; and twenty-one 
villains, and four bordars, with 8 carucates. There is a Church : and a mill at 30 
pence ; and 8 bondmen, and 8 acres of meadow. The wood yields twenty-five swine for 
pannage ; and sixteen for herbage. In the time of King Edward, the manor was valued 
at 8 pounds ; afterwards, at 4 pounds ; and now, at 12 pounds." 

This manor included a part of the parish of Charlewood. 

Among the customary payments by the tenants, were ten ploughshares, at 9d. each ; 
and they were also to furnish ropes, instead of harness for the oxen, or horses, in 
ploughing? Gavelsest, or the custom on brewing, yielded 13s. 4d. a year: each tenant, 
when he brewed, whatever might be the quantity, paid 3 potells of ale, value l|d. In 
the Hundred Rolls of the 7th of Edward the First, (No. 33), it is stated that this manor 
had been ancient demesne of the Crown, before it was given to the Prior and Monks of 
Christchurch ; and it was then valued at 20/. per annum. King Edward the Second 
granted them a license to buy land to the value of 20?. a year, to provide for seven 
Chaplains, who should celebrate divine service every day in the Chapel of the glorious 
martyr the blessed Thomas, archbishop of Canterbury, next the gate of the Priory. 
Edward the Third, in 1339, granted the right to hold a market at Merstham, weekly, and 
an annual fair. The market, if ever used, has long been discontinued. 

In the 19th of Richard the Second, 1396, the Prior and Convent granted a lease to 
John atte Dene, Nicholas Stoke, and John Jervais, of Merstham, of their manor 
there, with its member of Charlewode, and with certain live and dead stock therein 
named ; the tenants not to demise without leave of the lessors ; at the end of the term 
to deliver all the goods mentioned, or their prices specified, at the option of the lessors ; 
"and if the tenants break any of the covenants they shall pay to the lessors 100 marcs 
sterling, in the Church of Christ at Canterbury, without delay." By this lease (which 
is given in Manning and Bray's Surrey 8 ), it appears "that Charlewood was a member 
of Merstham ; that there was a chapel in or near the manor-house of Merstham, with all 
things necessary for the celebration of divine service ; that the court-rolls were kept in 
chests in the chapel : the rental and customary rolls of the manor in the "granary ; in 
the hall was only one chair, the rest sitting, as it must be supposed, on benches ; that 
cyder was made by grinding apples in a mill ; 9 that the Prior and Convent had the 
return of the King's writs within their manor ; that care was taken to preserve oaks, and 
to keep cattle out of the woods ; that the Convent had two stone-pits at Merstham, and 
used to dig at Charlewood for iron-stone, or for iron, the refuse of old furnaces ; that the 
tenant was not bound to repair the building, only finding straw, and carriage of materials ; 
and that there is no power reserved to sell distresses taken for rent : the inconvenience 
arising from this want of power remained unremedied till an act was passed in the 2nd 
and 3rd of William and Mary." 

Henry the Eighth, in the 31st year of his reign, gave this manor to 
Robert Southwell, esq., 10 in exchange for the churches of Warnham 
(in Sussex), and East Peckham (in Kent) ; which he bestowed on the 
prior and convent of Christchurch, who had previously surrendered 
Merstham. The prior and monks were soon afterwards replaced by 
a dean and chapter, to whom the site of the monastery was granted, 
by letters patent of April 8th, the 32nd of Henry the Eighth. 

8 Surrey, vol. ii. p. 255. 

" Merstham has long been celebrated for very productive apple orchards. The rectory 
orchard, of little more than two acres, has yielded above 800 bushels in a year." — Id. 

10 According to Dod, in his Church History, (vol. ii. p. 148), the Jesuit, Robert South- 
well, a member of the same family, (which was of good account), was born in Norfolk. 



DESCENT OF THE MANOR OF MERSTHAM. 321 

In 1541, Southwell was appointed to the office of Master of the 
Rolls ; and he obtained the honour of knighthood. Soon after the 
accession of Queen Mary, when the insurrection in Kent took place, 
headed by Sir Thomas VVyat, the insurgents met with the most 
strenuous opposition from Sir Robert Southwell, then sheriff of the 
county, by whom they were attacked and defeated. In the 10th of 
Elizabeth, a license was obtained by Francis Southwell, esq., to 
convey to Thos. Copley, esq., the reversion of the manor of Merstham, 
after the death of Margaret, the wife of Wm. Plumbe, esq. 11 Cople} r , 
the purchaser, who was made a knight, died September 25th, 1584, 
seised of the manor, and sixteen acres of land in Merstham, valued 
at 33/., held of the Queen in capite, as one-twentieth of a knight's 
fee. His son and heir, William Copley, sold the estate to Nicholas 
Jordan and John Middleton, in 1603; and in 1607, it was again 
sold, for 700/., to John Hedge and William Gregorie. 18 Anthony 
Hedge, the son and heir of the former, died seised of the manor 
and lands in Merstham, in 1639, leaving a son named John, who had 
two daughters, his coheirs ; Jane, married to Mr. Hoar, a surgeon of 
Croydon ; and Mirabella, married to Mr. Gainsford. The moiety of 
the estate inherited by Mrs. Gainsford was sold to Sir John Southcote, 
knt., previously to the year 1685, when it belonged to his son and 
successor, Sir Edward Southcote. In 1705, a division of the property 

He became a Jesuit in 1578, at the age of eighteen, and was sent into England on the 
mission. His chief residence was with Anne, countess of Arundel, wife of Earl Philip, 
who died in the Tower. He was apprehended in 1592, and kept in prison three years, 
during which he was several times put to the torture, and at last was tried, convicted, and 
executed. He wrote several books. — Father Constable, under the name of Clerophilus 
Alethes, in his specimen of amendments to Dod's History, further states, that Southwell, 
in his infancy, was taken out of his cradle by a gipsy, but was soon found again ; that, at 
the age of sixteen, he conceived a most ardent desire to consecrate himself to religion, 
and was received into the society of the Jesuits ; and that he reclaimed his father, who 
had been induced to go to the Protestant churches, although in his heart a Catholic. 
Among his works were " Mary Magdalene's Funeral Tears," and other poems. 

11 The estate thus transferred consisted of the manor of Merstham, and forty messuages, 
two water-mills, two wind-mills, two dove-houses, forty gardens, forty orchards, five 
hundred acres of [arable ?] land, two hundred acres of meadow, two hundred of pasture, 
one hundred and twenty of wood, three hundred of furze and heath, and 16/. rent, in 
Merstham, Gatton, Chipstead, Coulsdon, Chaldon, Blechingley, Nuffield, Charlewood, 
Horley, and Reygate. 

12 Mr. Hedge, who appears to have been the purchaser, also paid a certain sum to the 
widow of Sir Thomas Copley, who had a life-interest in the estate ; and he was obliged 
to disburse a considerable sum besides, in consequence of the conveyance having been 
made without license from the king, the land being held by knight's service : nor was 
this all, for Anthony Copley, the brother of William, was intitled to an annuity of 30/. 
a year out of this estate, and having been attainted of high-treason, his annuity of course 
escheated to the crown ; and for this Mr. Hedge was required to make a further payment, 
on which, in 1609, he obtained a grant of the annuity to himself. 

VOL. IV. TT 



322 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

was made between that gentleman and Mr. Hoar, when the manor 
and certain lands here were assigned to the former ; and other lands 
to the latter. The manor came into the possession of John Southcote, 
the son of Sir Edward; and his estates being sold in 1727, this and 
others were purchased by Paul Docminique, esq. That gentleman 
died March the 17th, 1734, aged ninety-six; and his son, Charles 
Docminique, esq., dying (unmarried) in 1745, the estate devolved on 
Paul Humphrey, whose mother was the sister of the elder Doc- 
minique. He died in 1751, and was succeeded by his sister Rachel, 
the widow of Simon Tuncks, re-married to the Rev. John Tattersall, 
and on him and his heirs she settled this with other estates ; which, 
on his death without issue, passed to his brother, the Rev. James 
Tattersall, who died in 1784, having left his estates to trustees for 
sale. They sold Merstham and Chipstead to William Jolliffe, esq., 
(M.P. for Petersfield, Hants), in 1788 ; and on his death in 1802, 
they came into the possession of his son, (by Eleanor his wife, 
daughter of Sir Richard Hylton, bart.), Hylton Jolliffe, esq., who 
died in London, in January, 1843, and was interred at Merstham. 
His nephew, Sir Wm. Geo. Hylton Jolliffe, who was created a baronet 
on the 20th of August, 1821, is the present owner, and has long been 
resident here : he is the present member for Petersfield, and a captain 
in the Bourbon regiment. 

The Manors of Alderstead and Albery, in Merstham. — These 
manors anciently belonged to the family of Passele, or Passelew ; and 
Sir Edmund Passelee, who held them in 1327, gave the manor of 
Aldstede (or Alderstead) to a younger son, Robert, and Albery to his 
eldest son, John Passelee. The latter, in 1340, made some settlement 
of the property; and in 1366, Fulk Horwood, citizen of London, 
released to Sir Nicholas de Lovayne, and his heirs, all his right to this 
manor and that of Nutfield. 

In the reign of Henry the Sixth, John Tymperley obtained a grant 
of the manor of Gatton, and lands there, with license to impark them, 
together with certain woodlands, pastures, and meadows, in Merstham. 
From the court-rolls it appears that Tymperley held this manor ; and he 
alienated it to John Elmbrugge, who died in 1473. His grandson, of 
the same name, left a daughter and heiress, Ann, the guardianship of 
whom was granted to John Danett, who held a manorial court here in 
1513, the 4th of Henry the Eighth ; and he afterwards married his 
ward. He obtained the honour of knighthood, and Manning states, 
that he was lord-mayor of London ; but he does not mention the date 
of his mayoralty, and is most probably in error respecting his office, 
for the name of Danett is not recorded in any list of the mayors 



MANORS OF ALBERY AND ALDERSTEAD, IN MERSTIIAM. 32.3 

now extant. Leonard Danett, who was lord of the manor in 1578, 
sold it to John Southcote, a Justice of the Queen's Bench, who 
died April 18th, 1585. His son and heir, John Southcote, died in 
1637, seised of the manor of Albery, in Merstham, a capital messuage 
and lands there, called Thornfrith, a messuage and lands called the 
Deane, and other lands there, and in Gatton, Blechingley, and 
Chaldon, which had been purchased of Leonard Danett. The 
property descended to Sir Edward Southcote; who, in 1709, settled 
this with other estates on the marriage of his son John with Mary, 
the daughter of Edward Paston ; but Mr. Southcote, wishing to raise 
money, obtained an act of parliament in 1727, by which an estate at 
Witham (in Essex) was settled in lieu of this, which was vested in 
trustees for sale. Under this authority, Albery was sold to Paul 
Docminique, and at length came into the possession of Mr. Jolliffe. 
The manor is now united with that of Merstham. 13 

Alderstead, in Merstham. — It is uncertain to whom this manor 
belonged after it was given to Robert Passelew, (as before stated), until 
1487, when William Best died seised of it. In 1511, Richard Best 
enfeoffed John Scott and others of this manor and that of Caterham, 
but for what purpose does not appear : he was charged as owner in 
a rental of the manor of Merstham in 1523 ; and it remained in the 
possession of the same family until 1678, when it was sold to Joseph 
Reeve, gent. He died seised of the manor of Alderstead in 1689; 
and his son and heir having died in 1696, it devolved on his sister 
Sarah, the wife of — . Wessell, esq. She becoming a widow, re-married 
George Ballard, esq., on whom she settled this estate. He died in 
1746; and his son, of the same name, in 1749, sold it to Samuel 
Nicholson, esq. ; by whom it was resold to Sir James Colebrooke, who 
died in 1761, having devised this property to trustees for sale; and by 
them, it was conveyed to Sir George Colebrooke ; of whom it was 
purchased by Lord Newhaven. Mr. Tattcrsall, who was then lord of 
the manor of Merstham, released to Lord Newhaven the quit-rents 
and services due on account of this estate. It was next sold to John 
Lefevre, esq. ; who gave it, by will, to Chas. Shaw, esq., who married 

13 Some farms included in the settlement of 17(> ( .>, being limited to the younger sons of 
Sir Edward Southcote, were sold to Sir James Colebrooke, hart., in February, 1758, 

There was formerly a capital mansion in Albery, called the Plan, the residence of the 
Southcotes. The family were Roman Catholics, and are said to have quitted Chipstead 
in disgust on being refused a burial for one of tlieni in the chancel, by the then rector. 
The house was " taken down about the year 1750: it stood in what is now called the 
Great Meadow (containing about tlurty acres) ; ami on the opposite side of the road, a 
field of three acres still retains the name of the Walks ; and some stews for fish remain 
in a field adjoining." The last Lad; Southcote is reported to have been extremely 
benevolent and charitable. — See Manning, SUBSET, vol. ii. pp. 259, 260. 

TT 2 



324 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

his only daughter, and assumed the name of Lefevre ; and to him it 
belonged in 1808. 14 

Chilberton. — The manor, or reputed manor, of Chilberton, or 
Chilverton, in the 14th of Henry the Eighth, belonged to Sir John 
Leigh. In 1625, Henry Drakes conveyed to William Franke, of 
Merstham, his manor and farm of Chilberton. In 1677, the Frankes 
conveyed the estate to Richard Bowman ; of whose family it was 
purchased, in 1735, by Chas. Docminique; and it afterwards passed, 
with other estates, to the Tattersalls, and since to the father of the 
late Hylton Jolliffe, esq. It is now the property of Sir W. G. H. 
Jolliffe, bart. — The House belonging to this estate is on the west 
side of Merstham-street, and has on it the date 1598. 

Neddar, or Netherne, is the name of a farm at the north-east 
extremity of the parish, adjoining Coulsdon. Robert de la Neddre 
was witness to a deed in the 15th of Edward the First. It is reported 
to have been formerly held by the family of Gawton; and in 1616, 
Henry Best sold it to William Tatnall, said to have been master of 
the military band in the Tower: he was buried here in 1620, and is 
styled in the register — " Generosus Musicus." It belonged to his 
descendants in 1808. 

Merstham-Place, the seat of Sir Wm. Geo. H. Jolliffe, bart., is 
situated at a short distance from the church. It is an irregular building, 
but surrounded by pleasing grounds ; and its general effect upon the 
eye is good. The house was much improved a few years since, under 
the direction of Mr. Knowles. With regard to comfort, the apartments 
are well arranged, and elegantly furnished. The hall is handsome, 
and connected, by a flight of stone steps, with the gallery, which is 
also of stone ; from which are the entrances to the principal bed- 
rooms, &c. The mansion contains a few pictures; but the family 
portraits are at the seat of the present baronet's mother, who was the 
daughter and coheir of Sir Abrm. Pytches, knt., of Streatham. 

Advowson, &c. — The benefice is a rectory in the ancient deanery 
of Croydon, a peculiar of the see of Canterbury, and has been from 
the remotest time in the patronage of the archbishop. Formerly, it 
paid 6s. 8d. for procurations and synodals, to the archdeacon of 
Surrey ; and a perpetual quit-rent of Is. Ad. to the prior of Christ- 
church, Canterbury : it now pays 6s. 8d. for procurations, to the dean 
of the Arches. In the 20th of Edward the First, it was valued at 
thirty-five marks; and it stands in the King's books at 22/. Is. 8d. 
In the return of Cromwell's commissioners it was valued at 160/. a 
year. Formerly, the glebe land consisted of fifty-seven acres: of 

14 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. pp. 260, 261. 



REGISTERS, AND CHURCII AT MERSTHAM. 325 

these about thirty, being in various slips in the different common- 
fields, and inconvenient for occupation by the rector, were sold in 
1803, under the land-tax redemption act, to the late Hylton Jolliffe, 
esq., and with the produce thereof, the land-tax on the rectory, 
amounting to 491. 15s., was redeemed. 

The parish Register, commencing in the 30th of Henry the Eighth, 
is chiefly in English, except during the short reign of Queen Mary, 
when it is in barbarous Latin. It was well kept until the year 1638 ; 
from which period to 1661, it was kept in a very slovenly manner, 
and with considerable interruptions. "From the year 1792 anew 
method of keeping it has been adopted, whereby the facility of 
reference has been consulted, and the condition of the parties is 
accurately specified, together (in cases of death) with the age, and the 
disorder which occasioned the decease." 15 It does not appear that 
the plague reached Merstham in either of the three great instances 
of its raging in England, in 1603, 1625, and 1665. It is not 
noticed in the register ; and the number of deaths, respectively, ten, 
seven, and five, in those years, is below the usual average. At the 
end of the old register, are the entries of several certificates to his 
Majesty, about touching for the evil, from 1673 to 1680, signed by the 
rector and churchwardens of Merstham. 

Hectors of Merstham in and since the year 1800: — 

Martin Benson, A.M. Collated on the 4th of June, 1791 : 
died on the 1st of April, 1833. 

John Adolphus Wright, A.M., son-in-law to the archbishop 
of Canterbury. Collated April 10th, 1833 : now rector of 
Ickham, in Kent. 

John Manley, A.M. Collated May 15th, 1839. 
The Church, dedicated to St. Catherine, is a picturesque old building, 
standing on an elevated knoll above the village, on the road between 
Croydon and Reigate. It is a regular, well-proportioned structure, 
built with the stone of the country, and is, apparently, of the age 
of Henry the Sixth. It consists of a nave, two aisles, a principal 
chancel, and a smaller chancel on each side. The entrances are by a 
door at the west end, and a south porch. On each side of the porch, 
which has a timber roof, is a stone seat; above which is a quatrefoil 
opening in the wall : over the doorway is a small niche, ornamentally 
sculptured. At the west end, is a large handsome tower containing 
five bells; on one of which is the inscription, — Sancta Katharina ora 
pro me. A short octagonal spire, shingled, rises from the tower, and 
is surmounted by a cross. 

15 Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 264. 



326 HISTORY OF SURREY. — REIGATE HUNDRED. 

Interiorly, the aisles are separated from the nave by pointed arches 
resting on columns ; those on the north side round, on the south 
octagonal. Each of the smaller chancels is separated from the 
principal one by an arch springing from clustered shafts. Formerly, 
there was much painted glass in this church : in the east and north 
windows of the chancel, were St. Catherine, St. Paul, &c. ; and over 
a figure kneeling, in a blue robe, was the inscription, in large charac- 
ters, — Robert de Sacra. " These vanished," observes Mr. Bray, 
" whilst Dr. Jer. Milles, dean of Exeter, was rector here." 16 Over 
the arch which divides the nave from the chancel, are the royal arms 
of the Stuarts. On the south side of the principal chancel, is a 
double piscina; and there is, also, a piscina in the south chancel. 
The north chancel belongs to, and is repaired by, the owner of the 
manor of Albery ; the other is an appendage to that of Alderstead ; 
and each contains a vault, as a family burial-place for the lord of either 
manor. Under an arch in the wall of the north chancel, now appro- 
priated by the Jolliffe family, (and partly occupied by a large and 
commodious pew, or gallery), is a table monument of a former pro- 
prietor of the estate, of the name of Elmebrugg, who, from the position 
of his tomb, is thought to have been the founder of this chancel. 

About forty years ago, on removing the pavement in the south 
chancel for the purpose of opening or sinking a vault, an oblong 
stone, of unusual bulk and weight, occasioned considerable difficulty 
to the workmen. It was at length ascertained to comprise an effigy, 
in a recumbent posture, which had formerly occupied a place on a 
table monument. Having been reversed, and sunk in the ground, 
the back of the stone formed a part of the pavement. The effigy, 
which was much mutilated, was represented as in scarlet robes ; the 
head resting on a rich pillow ; a bird with extended wings at the feet ; 
and the hands in the attitude of prayer. A purse attached by a girdle 
to the right side indicated the mercantile character of the deceased; 
and, from the place where this effigy was found, it was thought to 
have been intended for Mr. Alderman Jamys, whose daughter was 
married to John Elmebrygge, or Elmebrugg ; or for Sir John Danett, 
who married the heiress of Elmebrygge. 17 This relic is now lying in 
the south chancel. 

At the top of the arch of the west window, has lately been fixed a 
stone shield of arms, which was found in removing the foundations of 
the old London bridge. 

16 Between the years 1745 and 1785. 

" Manning and Bray, Surrey, vol. ii. p. 262. — Dean Milles was also President of the 
Society of Antiquaries, and author of various papers in " Philosophical Transactions," 
and " Archseologia." He likewise published an edition of the Poems attributed to Thomas 
Rowley. 



MONUMENTS IN MERSTHAM CHURCH. 327 

In 1839, the French print representing the Last Supper, and 
mentioned by Manning and Bray as occupying a space over the com- 
munion-table, about six feet wide and five feet high, was replaced by 
a handsomely-sculptured altar-piece, of Merstham stone, at the 
expense of the Rev. John Adolphus Wright, the late rector. 

The church is well-pewed ; but the pews are of deal, unpainted. 
The pulpit, on the right of the entrance to the chancel, is hexagonal, 
and of oak. The font is a large square block of well-wrought Sussex 
marble, with an excavation sufficiently large for the convenient im- 
mersion of an infant. It rests on a central column, rising from a 
square basement ; and formerly, there was a smaller shaft at each 
corner. At the west end of the building is a singing-gallery. 

Within the altar-rails are several memorials of the Newdegate, Elme- 
brugg, and other families. On the floor of the south chancel is a 
small Brass of a boy in petticoats, standing, with his hands joined ; 
and a child in swaddling clothes ; with this inscription : — 

Here lyeth the bodyes of Peter Best and Rtchard Best his brother, 
sonnes of Nycolas Best and Elizabeth his wyfe, of Aldersted in the Parryshe of 
Merstham, in the Countie of Surrey ; w ch Peter deceased the xij. day of August, 
a D'ni 1585 ; and the said Ry chard his brother deceased the xxij nd of June, a 
D'ni 1587. 

Against the north wall of the north chancel is an altar-tomb, partly 

within a niche, on which are two shields, arms chequee ; and, also, 

the indent of a man between the Brasses of his two wives; by one 

wife — Vivus Deus; by him — Sancta Trinitas; by the second wife — 

Miserere nobis. Both the women have hoods; and their hands are 

joined, as in prayer. Beneath,